Reviews by Lunarsilkdragon

85

Really good game that could use some polishing.

Lunarsilkdragon | Oct. 27, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

This is a really good game. Solid and gritty combat, great sounds, good graphics, mediocre music. You can have really fun if you play this game with a few friends, be it in Duel Mode or in Team Objective.

My only problem with this game is that the servers are often pretty laggy, with high ping. That makes some swordswings not connect and some parrys or blocks will just not work. I also think they should add even more weapons and accesories so the players can finetune their individual playing style more.

Other than that, the game is awesome. Would recommend it to anyone.

85

Not quite as good as HoMM, but solid.

Lunarsilkdragon | Oct. 27, 2013 | Review of King's Bounty: The Legend

If you've played a lot of Heroes of Might and Magic and are looking for something similar, this is the game for you. It's the best HoMM clone I have seen so far. I you have not played ane of the HoMM-games, I recommend you play them first and then move on to this.

Now don't get me wrong, this is a solid game, although the universe and atmosphere won't drag you in like HoMM did. The graphics are good, and I have not noticed any bugs. The writing is mediocre and could use some work, but I don't feel like the story is that important in this game, as you will be mostly fighting.

That brings me to the best part of the game: The Combat! The combat is as solid as solid can be. A great variety of creatures to command, great UI, great magic system (especially the "Chest of Rage", but you will find out more about that if you play the game), reasonably good AI that can challenge you and overall combat goodness.

Although the rest of the game just feels a bit like ride to the next battle, they make it worth and once you get started with the fights, it's hard to put down the game.

85

Amazing visuals and good gameplay.

Lunarsilkdragon | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Beat Hazard

This game is based on a pretty cool idea. You import your own music into the game, and the game changes depending on the song you're currently playing. The more upbeat the song, the more enemies attack you and the better weapons you get.

The gameplay itself is nothing groundbreaking - it plays similarily to your average shoot-'em-up. The primary thing about this game is the visuals. They are AMAZING. Bright colors, neon lights and laser-like effects. I recommend playing this game in a dark room to get the most of it.

78

Pretty easy to learn, hard to master.

Lunarsilkdragon | Sept. 20, 2013 | Review of The Showdown Effect

This is a really good game to play with a few friends on LAN-night! As the title says, it's easy to learn the game, but very hard to master it. This is a good thing though as it allows for new players to keep developing their skills, while still having a chance to score a kill on the better players.

One perticular detail I like about the gameplay is that unlike other similar 2D-games, you actually have to have the enemy in your crosshair to hit him, instead of just shooting in his direction. It makes the game even more skillbased.

The whole game is inspired by 90s actionmovies and all the characters have hilarious one-liners that makes homage to Arnold Scwartznegger among others.

The only two real issues with this game is that it's pretty badly optimized and the netcoding leaves a lot to wish for. Lag is pretty common in matchmade games.

75

Comfort Simulator 2

Lunarsilkdragon | Sept. 19, 2013 | Review of Euro Truck Simulator 2 Gold

There isn't that much to say about this game, except that I have had some of the most comfy gamingmoments of my life within this game. Picture it. You're driving along some half-empty countryroad at night, you're listening to some of your favorite comfy music (you can set your own internet-radiochannels) and then it starts raining. It's a good feeling. Perfect for those dark, tea and a blanket-nights.

Other than that, the game is mostly about just driving, with some bussiness-managing at the side. The driving feels good. You can really feel that you're driving a big truck and it feels weighty. When you unload your goods, you have to do some more advanced driving. Backing the truck with your goods still attached can be difficult.

The graphics are pretty good. It does it's job at least. I have noticed some texture pop-in and other graphical bugs at times, but it's pretty rare.

Now, this isn't a game you play all day. The driving can get really monotone after a while since there isn't much else to do. I recommend starting it up and going for 2 maybe 3 trips at a time. Because of this, I feel the price for this game is a bit steep. It should cost about 10 £ instead of 25. I'll give this game a 75 out of 100 because the devs should have expanded a bit on the bussiness-managing part of the game to make it a little more than just driving from point A to point B. Maybe they could have added some events on the road as well, such as random car accidents and stuff, to make it less monotone. Plus as I said before, I don't really feel you get enough game for your money for this one. I recommend buying it on a sale.

60

A short review

Lunarsilkdragon | Sept. 13, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

I don't think a review of this game needs to be that long. I'll just summarise this as short as I can.

  • The dungeons suck. There are almost no unique dungeons in the game. Most of them are no more than a copy-and-paste job, and after a few of them, you feel like you've seen them all. And I don't know why they even bothered to add puzzles. They are always the same, and embarrassingly easy.

  • The quests suck. Most of the quest are linked to the dungeons I've described above. Often, the quests consist of: Go to this town, talk to this NPC, go to this dungeon, fetch this item, go back to the NPC and give him the item. The main questline is an abomination. It mostly follows the standard quest-recipe. I will give plus points for the finale of the main quest though. It's pretty cool.

It's the same with the guildquests. They all follow the same pattern and you won't know the difference between a Mageguild quest or a Companions quest. The Thieves Guild and the Brotherhood is a lot better though. With the Thieves guild quests you actually get to be a thief (except for the last missions where it's just dungeons again). Same with the Brotherhood quests. You actually get to be an assasin in those.

  • The combat is pretty good. If you compare it to Oblivion, it's way better. A lot more weight to the hits, better archery etc. etc. It can always get better though.

  • The graphics are pretty good, of course. There are a lot of quite breathtaking views to be found in the game, especially from the high mountains such as High Hrothgar. Although some of the textures are annoyingly low-res, you can mostly ignore it.

  • The soundtrack is good. It fits the game very well and adds depth to the enviroment and theme of the game.

  • The story is kinda bad. Not particulary well written, and very cliché.

Now for the best part of Skyrim:

  • The mods make this game much, much better. The active mod community actually improves a LOT on the vanilla game's faults. There are graphic mods, quest mods, dungeon mods, overhaul mods, combat mods, mods that add new and cool gameplay mechanics and yeah...mods for about anything.

The score I gave for this game is for the vanilla game. With the right mods, it can easily be a 85/100. I would recommend buying this game, but only when it's on sale. I would say it's worth 20 bucks maximum, and that's only because of the mods.

65

If Shogun II was a step forward, this is two steps backward.

Lunarsilkdragon | Sept. 13, 2013 | Review of Total War: Rome II Emperor Edition

To start off I want to say that this game definitely has a lot of potential, but it is plagued by a lot of bugs and wierd design decisions.

It has been a long time since I was this hyped for a game, and maybe that's why I was so dissapointed. As I said, there's a lot of bugs ruining the experience, such as AI pathfinding bugs, textures not rendering correctly, wierd battlefield and campaign AI and unit formations almost not working at all.

Some of the wierd design decisions I spoke about are the removal of loose/tight formations, no family trees, too large UI, simplified campaign map and capture points on ALL maps, not just in settlements.

Now, I think this game has a lot of potential to be good - it is pretty similar to the original Rome: Total War gameplay-wise. CA just have to fix the bugs (especially the AI bugs), and reimplement things like the family trees and loose/tight formations. I'll give this a 65/100, although it really does deserve a much lower score, because CA has announced weekly patches and I believe there is a chance that they will turn this game into something good.

95

I have never gotten so much game for my money.

Lunarsilkdragon | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of Mount & Blade: Warband

If you buy this game, you're in it for the long haul, I guarantee it! I played the original from early Alpha until final release, and then I bought this - Warband (which is essentially a really big patch for the original, adding new gameplay mechanics and improvements), when it came out. I think I have about 1000 hours total in both games.

Although it can be said that this game lacks a bit in the graphical department, do not fret! It does not matter (who cares that much about graphics anyway?), because it is the gameplay that matters above all.

After the character creation, you start out as a lonely mercenary, newly arrived in Calradia, with ambitions of glory and riches. You can choose to work as a mercenary for one of the factions in the game, or you can lead a bandit life. If you gain a certain level of trust with a faction, you can even become a lord and recieve your own village!

There isn't any real story in the game, except for the one you create for yourself, which is as it should be.

The combat is the second best thing about this game. Personal combat is pretty fluid and easy to control, while at the same time, it doesn't feel overly simple. The coolest thing though, is in late game when you control a much larger army than earlier in the game. Prepare to take part in some of the most epic battles you have ever seen!

The best thing of all with this game, though, is the mods! Oh god, the mods! Never before have I seen such a beautiful modding community for any game. You can find almopst anything you want. There are simple mods that only improve on the vanilla game. For example there are mods that add new textures for armors, weapons and the world; mods that improves the diplomacy aspect of the game and mods that fix bugs, generally improves on the overall game and the like.

The best part however, is the overhaul mods. The completely convert the games setting and gameplay. Here's some examples of some mods you can find:

A Lord of the Rings mod A Samurai mod A Crusade mod A Roman Empire mod A WW1 mod A Star Wars mod (Yes, that's right. STAR WARS) A Song of Fire and Ice mod A Viking mod Some completely original fantasy mods Other assorted historical mods

So basically, for this price, it'd be a crime not to buy this game. If you have seen this review, you have no excuse not to. Go on, do it.

95

I have never gotten so much game for my money.

Lunarsilkdragon | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of Mount & Blade: Warband

If you buy this game, you're in it for the long haul, I guarantee it! I played the original from early Alpha until final release, and then I bought this - Warband (which is essentially a really big patch for the original, adding new gameplay mechanics and improvements), when it came out. I think I have about 1000 hours total in both games.

Although it can be said that this game lacks a bit in the graphical department, do not fret! It does not matter (who cares that much about graphics anyway?), because it is the gameplay that matters above all.

After the character creation, you start out as a lonely mercenary, newly arrived in Calradia, with ambitions of glory and riches. You can choose to work as a mercenary for one of the factions in the game, or you can lead a bandit life. If you gain a certain level of trust with a faction, you can even become a lord and recieve your own village!

There isn't any real story in the game, except for the one you create for yourself, which is as it should be.

The combat is the second best thing about this game. Personal combat is pretty fluid and easy to control, while at the same time, it doesn't feel overly simple. The coolest thing though, is in late game when you control a much larger army than earlier in the game. Prepare to take part in some of the most epic battles you have ever seen!

The best thing of all with this game, though, is the mods! Oh god, the mods! Never before have I seen such a beautiful modding community for any game. You can find almopst anything you want. There are simple mods that only improve on the vanilla game. For example there are mods that add new textures for armors, weapons and the world; mods that improves the diplomacy aspect of the game and mods that fix bugs, generally improves on the overall game and the like.

The best part however, is the overhaul mods. The completely convert the games setting and gameplay. Here's some examples of some mods you can find:

A Lord of the Rings mod A Samurai mod A Crusade mod A Roman Empire mod A WW1 mod A Star Wars mod (Yes, that's right. STAR WARS) A Song of Fire and Ice mod A Viking mod Some completely original fantasy mods Other assorted historical mods

So basically, for this price, it'd be a crime not to buy this game. If you have seen this review, you have no excuse not to. Go on, do it.