Reviews by MarkDeejay

70

Enjoyable platformer

MarkDeejay | April 24, 2014 | Review of Contrast

Contrast is a stylish platformer that doesn't entirely manage to convince. Let's start with the graphics. They\re quite stylish, '30-'40's style, but they're also a bit dark sometimes. As a result fine details aren't sometimes clear enough. Nothing gamebreaking but a bit disappointing. And while the game makes you think the world is open there's usually only one correct path to follow. You can run around a bit and try to collect orbs or collectibles, but it's nothing fancy. Where Contrast shines, however, is the fact that it allows the main character to use shadows in order to solve puzzles. It's unique and usually works quite well, but there were a few times where the game got glitchy, getting the character stuck in the environment or switching to your 3D form while still using these shadows. There's also a story which is actually fine, just not very well realized. There's a connection with the little, physical girl but whenever there's a shadow conversation it's hard to connect with these characters, because they're just that; shadows. The music is actually well done, with some nice jazzy tunes in it. The voice acting is also done extremely well for a game of this caliber. The game ended after about 3 hours, which gave me mixed feelings. I kinda wished it was longer, but, you know, bigger and better. But because it's not I was actually glad it was over. It felt a little bit too gimmicky. Which is a shame, because you can clearly see the game was created with passion.

85

Best South Park game so far

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | Review of South Park: The Stick of Truth

Ah, South Park The Stick Of Truth. It took a year longer to release than it should've, but it's finally here. Is it the South Park game we've been waiting for ? 'Yes, absolutely !' is what I would say.

Let's start with the graphics. The graphics are similar to the TV show, meaning they are 2D and have a bit of a grainy look. It's like watching the 2D show, there are basically no differences here.

Gameplay wise it's similar to games like Paper Mario. You walk around the town completing quests, searching for loot and taking part in battles. Quests are handed out by the people of South Park and normally consist of defeating certain enemies or finding specific items. Most of these quests are simple and relatively easy to complete, which fits the game in a way, but thankfully the main quest has a bit more variation and depth.

Note that the whole game can be completed in 10-15 hours so it's not the biggest game we've ever seen or played. And that's a good thing, because near the end of the game it starts to overstay its welcome with its repetitive nature. 'Why', you ask ? Well, the battles are turn-based and except for some stronger enemies halfway through and near the end they never become exciting or very difficult. The special powers and summons are fun to use but you've probably seen most of it, or maybe all of it, within a couple of hours. And the fact that summons can't be used for boss fights is slightly disappointing.

The humor is just fantastic, as is the voice acting. You can tell a lot of work and love was put into it. This is one of the reasons you should play The Stick Of Truth. There's some hilarious stuff in it.

One small thing that doesn't really affect my opinion of the game but should be said anyway is the fact that some of the collectibles can't be collected anymore once you've finished the story. So, to all completionists out there; make sure you grab everything before wrapping up the story.

Anyway, to wrap up my review: South Park The Stick Of Truth is the South Park game we've been waiting for and if you even remotely enjoy the show you owe it to yourself to play it at least once. You'll have a good time with it, believe me.

60

Worst RE since years

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | Review of Resident Evil 6

This must be one of the most boring games I've played in years. Where Resident Evil 1-3 were all about horror, 4 more about action/horror and 5 more action than horror, 6 has finally come to the point where there's no more horror at all, and it's all about the action. Granted, it's campaigns are long and to complete them all will take you well over 20 hours (1-1,5 hours per mission). But I couldn't even finish the journey. So far I've finished Leon's campaign and am near the end of Chris', but it's mostly shooting, with an awkward co-op partner at your side. The animations of Leon were wooden and there will tons of QTEs, yet Chris' animations were fine and his campaign had practically no QTEs. It's like they were made by entirely different teams. The Japanese influences can be seen in all of the campaigns and maybe that's what makes the game so boring. Instead of moving forward it looks like they went backwards when compared with Western developers. I can't really explain, it's just a feeling, and the fact that it's absolutely not scary at all, when, well, it should be. I heard good things about the Mercenaries mode so I'll be sure to give that a try, and I might finish the campaign over the next couple of weeks/months, but for now it's just too damn boring.

80

Good but too long for its own good

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | Review of Magrunner: Dark Pulse

Magrunner is too long for its own good. But it's a good game that deserved more recognition because it's in many ways similar to Portal and Q.U.B.E. But instead of using portals or cubes you'll be solving puzzles using your Magtech glove, a glove that allows you to magnetize stuff. The puzzles are creative and challenging (most of the times) but there are just too many of them. About 6-7 hours in I got bored. Some of the puzzles just take too long to solve, which, as a result, made me lose interest. Before that happened I actually had a great time with it. If you love FP puzzle games I'm pretty certain you'll love this one, too. It has nice visuals, good gameplay mechanics and a fun story. What's not to love?

76

Room for improvement

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | Review of GRID 2

Grid 2 is nothing groundbreaking, but it's still a great racer. Let me sum some things up for you:

  • Beautiful environments, great graphics
  • You get to choose which car you want to drive; freedom of choice.
  • Objectives give the races variety
  • Not quite an arcade racer...

  • Lack of diversity in tracks

  • No cockpit view
  • And yet not quite a sim...

75

Surprise hit

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | Review of Marlow Briggs and the Mask of Death

Marlow Briggs is a rather unknown game but become recently popular due to its low price and word of mouth advertising. And, I have to admit, it's actually damn fun to play. Marlow plays like some sort of Devil May Cry or God Of War, but where these other games usually take a little break in-between the action packed moments Marlow moves full speed ahead. There's hardly ever a dull moment in this game. You move from one crazy action packed scene to the next, with usually just a few seconds of breathing room before hacking away at the next group of enemies. This game isn't extremely long, about 5-6 hours, which is more than enough. After finishing it you're probably done with it anyway. It's fun for a first playthrough, then you'll just delete if off your PC most likely. It doesn't have any replay value. Which might actually be the reason why it's just non-stop action. The graphics look good, the voice acting is decent and the gameplay solid. Marlow Briggs is something you just have to play if you love action games. Especially considering the price these days.

65

Poorly executed

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | Review of Lucius

A great idea, executed in a not-so-great way. That is Lucius, a horror-focused action adventure. So, the idea is great; a free roam game where you get to kill people like in those famous horror movies we've all seen. You'll be using items and powers to kill off these people. It's not all that straightforward though. You have to solve little puzzles to complete objectives. And every time you complete one of these objectives you're one step closer to killing a certain someone. But it's all executed in a mediocre way; the inventory is cumbersome to use, but manageable. The 'stealth' missions are terrible; there's no way to see where a certain character is so you'll bump into someone frequently. And sometimes the hints you get just aren't clear enough, which results in you doing the wrong thing. And when it's Game Over you have to start the mission all over again (including sidequests).

It's an interesting idea though. And I would love to see a(n improved) sequel someday.

81

Batman Arkham City 2.5 ?

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | Review of Batman Arkham Origins

Batman Arkham Origins doesn't fix what already worked in the previous games, so Warner Bros. is playing it safe really. The last 2 Batman games were awesome, especially the first. The second one was a bit too ambitious, throwing you into the deep way too soon. Arkham Origins fortunately doesn't do this, but it doesn't hold your hand either, which is a good thing. But the city is a bit too similar to Arkham City, and yes, even though it is Christmas time, it also feels way too empty, with hardly a civilian to be found anywhere and empty cars standing on the middle of the road. Thankfully, there's plenty of content, with lots of sidequests and collectibles and a beefy storyline. Just like the other 2 games. And there's more than enough variety as far as the villains are concerned. Just like the other 2 games. And, of course, there are plenty of gadgets. ... Just like the other games... Sure, there are a few new ones but most of them work the same way as some of the gadgets found in the previous games (like the glue gun). Graphically it all looks amazing, with that dark Batman vibe dating back to Batman Returns on the SNES. The voice acting and music are also all very solid and gameplay wise it all works very well. It's just that Origins doesn't show enough innovation. It all feels and looks very similar. They should really try and expand the game for possible sequels. Give us something new, something to get excited about. Anyway, you will, once again, get plenty of content for your money by buying this. That's also not the thing that you should be worried about. The thing is, can you look past its flaws and enjoy a game that's basically Arkham City 2.5 ?

70

Cute remake

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | Review of Castle of Illusion

I don't want to waste too much time writing a review for Castle Of Illusion because it might take me more time to write than it took me to finish the game (yes, it's really, really short). So, let's do this:

  • Graphics
  • Cute story (typical Disney but I enjoyed the 'lesson' anyway)

  • Short, as in, 2 hours or so.

  • Controls could've been better/smoother
  • Collision detection can be awful

65

Short, sweet nostalgia

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | Review of DuckTales: Remastered

Ah, I remember playing Ducktales way back on the NES. It was great and I still have fond memories of it. But I wasn't sure a remake would give me the same memories... On the one hand it's pretty much an exact remake of the original, but with improved graphics. On the other hand it' might not translate well enough, and, because of that, might scare gamers off. I'm sorry to say it's the latter. First, let me talk about the things Ducktales does right. The graphics haven been upgraded with 2D HD sprites in a 2.5D world. It looks excellent, even if the backgrounds don't fit with the rest of the graphics. I personally think it would've been better if it was entirely in 2D. But that's a different story. The levels are exact replicas of the originals. Epic ! The gameplay is also kept the same. It's tough. But not too tough. Back when I was a kid it literally took me hours to complete a level. Maybe it was because I was too young and didn't fully understand games just yet, maybe because games were really more difficult back then. Ducktales Remastered tested my patience when I had only just started it. I was rushing through levels carelessly and I died several times in a matter of minutes. This is a good thing, mind you. It makes the game feel old school, in a certain way. But despite the game being somewhat difficult it's also very short. Levels can be finished within 30-60 minutes and since there are only 6 levels in total you should complete it in about 5 or 6 hours max. Then the controls. The controls are pretty good, but jumping on your pogo stick doesn't seem to work all the time. Plenty of times have I tried jumping down, followed by a pogo stick jump and the game just didn't register the button being pressed. It cost me more health than intended. Oh, and the voice acting... Man, the voice acting. The voice acting was cringeworthy. I understand it's based on the cartoon, but the dialogues in general were just terrible and childish. Same goes for the rest of the cutscenes. I skipped through them at one point because I couldn't take it anymore. Next time, no more voice acting please. Just a textbox would be sufficient. And maybe it's my memory, but I remember secrets being secrets in the original. Secrets in the remake are pointed out in obvious ways. All that's missing is a big arrow pointing to it. Like I said, it might just be my memory but I remember this differently. If I'd rate this game it would be a 6,5 or 7 at best. Ducktales is a decent game and still kinda fun to play, even now and especially if you have never played the original. But wait for a sale instead, because the current price is once again too high. Also, I think the Castle Of Illusion remake might be better in comparison. Let's just wait for that.

75

Could've been better

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | Review of Beatbuddy: Tale of the Guardians

Beatbuddy... The title suggests this game is all about music and in a way it is, but don't expect something like Bit.Trip Runner, Symphony or Audiosurf here. Beatbuddy is an action adventure where your enemies produce the sounds resulting in a track for each of the six levels. The levels themselves are big and should take you around 30-45 minutes to finish. So completing the game will take you about 5-6 hours. I can tell you that that's more than enough because Beatbuddy just doesn't have enough variety to keep things interesting for much longer than that. True, it introduces new puzzles and enemies in every level that you play, like so many other games really, but for Beatbuddy is just isn't enough. Plus, the fact that I experienced 2 game breaking bugs made me realize that Beatbuddy is a good game, but nothing groundbreaking. I can understand that a game has bugs, as long as they don't break the game but for a game that's 2D and somewhat linear it's unforgiving. Especially if it's such a short experience. On the other hand; the levels are well made and have beautiful art so it's not all bad. My advice to you: grab it when it's on sale.

85

FPS + Uncharted = Deadfall Adventures

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | Review of Deadfall Adventures

Man, this game is beautiful. Deadfall Adventures has the setting and story of Indiana Jones, the style of Uncharted and the gameplay of... a generic first person shooter. You play this game from a first person perspective which is actually a very nice twist on the genre. You'll be traveling to different parts of the world to find hidden treasures, solve puzzles and chase bad guys. Like I said, the game has the vibe of Indiana Jones. It all looks very colorful and very adventurous. It has awesome, detailed graphics and horrible, horrible voice acting. A damn shame, because the rest of the game is actually worthwhile, but the voice acting is one of the things that drags the game down. The other thing that drags the game down are the firefights. It's inaccurate and doesn't feel realistic. It's important, because near the end you'll be fighting off more and more enemies. The story is fun in that it doesn't take itself all that seriously. It will be fun as long as you keep that in mind. There are also loads of treasures to be found; some can be found in the open, some are hidden and can be found by simply exploring and some can be collected by solving puzzles. These puzzles are usually simple to solve and can be completed in just a few minutes. If some of these puzzles were only a bit harder it would've given you a better feeling of accomplishment. Doesn't take away the fact that it's fun to try and find these treasures. Treasures can also be used to upgrade your character, but I didn't notice much a difference when I first started the game and when I finished the game. He still felt the same to me. Checkpoints are sometimes awkwardly placed so if you die while trying to solve a second or third puzzle you might have to start all over from the beginning. This can be frustrating but usually it's just a couple of minutes. Still... annoying. Deadfall Adventures wants to be a first person Uncharted and in a way The Farm 51 has succeeded in doing this. Next time, keep the graphics, improve the voice acting and shooting aspects, make the puzzles (a bit) harder and you'll probably have a great, fun sequel in your hands.

76

A decent experience

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | Review of The Bureau: XCOM Declassified

A decent squad based third person shooter. Nothing more. The Bureau brings nothing new to the table but is still mostly enjoyable. The 60's style is done very well, even though the sci-fi elements detract from the experience at times making it feel like a 90's or even 00's game. It doesn't mix the settings properly I guess. The graphics are solid, nothing special, but not bad either. They get the job done, like most games. Same goes for the voice acting. The effects on the other hand are done very well. The gameplay itself is hit and miss. There's no research to be done, so if you pick up an alien's weapon you can fire it right away. It's something I missed, especially after playing last year's Xcom. There are mini missions to be completed and agents can be sent on different missions to level up and gather gear. Those missions can not be played so it basically comes down to selecting which agents you want to go. Each agent has abilities that can be unlocked by levelling up. They're all fun to use and there's plenty of variation to mix things up during battle. The battles play out in real time and with the press of a button time can be slowed down to make more tactical choices. Later on you'll have no choice but to use it as more and tougher enemies will be deployed. Without it you'll have a pretty hard time, let me tell you. Also, iIf you're agents are down you'll have a certain amount of time to help them up. If you don't help them in time they'll die and you'll lose them forever. So it's important that you work together and manage them in the best way you can to prevent them from dying. Near the end of the game this becomes much less important because you're other agents will be around level 4 or 5 already. The Bureau is actually pretty lengthy. I finished it in about 14-15 hours on Veteran so I guess it can be completed in roughly 13 hours or so, if you stay alive the entire time. That's actually pretty decent in an age where most action (adventure) games can be completed within 7-8 hours. If I had to rate The Bureau I'd give it a 7/10. It's frustrating at times, but fun enough to play and finish. The only issue here is the price, because even though there's plenty of content the game itself just isn't fun enough to pay full price.

93

Just excellent

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | Review of The Wolf Among Us

The Wolf Among Us took me by surprise. Just when I thought Telltale Games couldn't possibly surpass last year's The Walking Dead here comes The Wolf Among Us which is not only beautifully made (like a comic book in motion), but also well told and orchestrated, intriguing and exciting. This first episode has already won me over. I wonder how they're actually going to 1-up it. It seems almost impossible. Bravo Telltale Games, keep 'em coming!

92

The best of all Splinter Cells combined

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell - Blacklist

Splinter Cell Blacklist combines the best elements of Conviction and its predecessors into one fine package. A package that deserved more attention, because even though Splinter Cell is still popular, it didn't manage to sell enough copies. Anyway, Blacklist lets you play as Sam Fisher (who else ?), but with an all-new voice actor this time. Michael Ironside will be sorely missed, but I have to admit the new voice of Sam did a very decent job. The game has plenty of content, including single-player missions, co-op missions, multiplayer and even a metagame. The single-player portion can be completed in roughly 10 hours. I didn't have a chance to try the other modes just yet. The single-player missions can be played with a stealthy approach, as an action hero killing everyone you see or a mix of those two. Since this is Splinter Cell I'm thinking most of us will play this game in stealth mode and use a more action oriented approach if they're ever discovered. The graphics look extremely well and the game is a blast to play. It also runs at a solid 60FPS, something I personally adore. Blacklist looks like a compilation of all previous games and as a result it's, in my opinion, the best game yet, or the more complete one anyway.

84

Best since years

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | Review of Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition

A Mortal Kombat game with a good story, how about that ? This new Mortal Kombat is great fun. The story has a good pacing and lets you play with all your favorite characters. Only downside in the Story mode is the fact that there are no Fatalities. Because of that it sometimes doesn't feel like the Mortal Kombat we all know. But I guess that can be ignored, because otherwise they weren't able to pull off the story anyway. The characters look pretty detailed, especially when damaged and the new X-Ray feature is pure eye candy. There are plenty of characters, and a whole batch of secret characters as well. Moves are relatively easy to pull off and especially Fatalities are easily performed. Gone are the days of 10-button combos, now it's just 4 or 5. It makes the game fun, not frustrating like older MK titles. Defeating enemies and completing missions will earn you coins which can then be used to unlock outfits and things like artwork and background music. There's more than enough replay value here. And even though this new Mortal Kombat is already 2 years old, it still is good value for your money.

78

Enjoyable

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | Review of BioShock Infinite: Burial at Sea Episode 1

At last. The return of the Big Daddies. Burial At Sea is a short, but sweet experience that's not worth the asking price. It would be an awesome deal if it were about €7-8, but since they ask twice as much for it I would suggest to wait for a discount or to buy the season pass which is a lot cheaper. The world of Rapture has been successfully recreated with the Bioshock Infinite engine. Everything looks really sharp and clean and it's amazing to see the world of Rapture before its downfall. The story is truly interesting, but the whole experience is so short (it only last a few hours) that you can't help but feel disappointed. It would've been so much better if it were only a couple of hours longer. The action scenes feel too short and the story feels a bit too rushed. Which is a shame because it has yet another cool twist. That, and the fact that you get to battle a Big Daddy. Let's just see what episode 2 brings us.

72

Not bad at all

MarkDeejay | June 19, 2013 | Review of Papo & Yo

Papo & Yo is a puzzle platformer that's light on the puzzles but heavy on the virtual button/lever pushing/pulling. The story is impressive for a puzzle game, though. No shallow stories here, this one actually has depth, giving the player indications on what might have happened in the past, leading to the events in this game. The graphics are acceptable. They're nothing special but not terrible either. At least they're colorful, and fit the environments you'll come across. The music and voice acting (gibberish ?) are done very well, by the way. Papo & Yo is a short game which you'll complete it in 3 hours. After that you can play the game again collecting hats, but to be honest that's not really incentive enough to play it again. Unless you're a fanatic of course. An ok game that's currently too pricey for what you get. The perfect price point for this game would be €7-8 or less. Your choice.

72

Ok-ish

MarkDeejay | June 19, 2013 | Review of Sacred Citadel PRE

  • Beautiful graphics (limited to 1600x900, which is a big letdown)
  • Good controls
  • Cool boss fights
  • Loot

  • Not much fun if you play it solo (haven't tried co-op as there were no games available)

  • Enemy variety
  • Repetitive
  • Short (about 4-4,5 hours)

70

Buy Of Orcs And Men instead

MarkDeejay | June 19, 2013 | Review of Mars: War Logs

Mars War Logs is a budget action RPG that reminded me, because of its involvement in development, of Of Orcs And Men. Of Orcs And Men was a sleeper hit for me personally. It was a game with terrific graphics and fun and exciting gameplay. Yes, it was light on the RPG elements, but that didn't matter. It was truly fun. Mars War Logs has none of that fun and exciting gameplay, and comes across as dull. First of all, the graphics are decent. They're in no way similar to the graphics in other RPGs or even OOAM, but that's to be expected for a budget game. It's perfectly understandable and they're perfectly serviceable. Besides, it has lots of stuff that other RPGs have as well. Think of crafting and sidequests, for example. But it all feels so similar to a low quality version of OOAM, I just can't help it. The interface reminds me of it, the way the story is cut up in chapters, the quick-skill menu, you name it. It's all feels the same, but... cheaper. The voice acting for the main characters is decent, but for most of the other characters it's just terrible. The quests, however, are somewhat fun so it's not all bad. Mars War Logs should take about 7-8 hours to finish. And that's including all or most of the sidequests. So it's not that long, but still long enough to keep you entertained. If I had to make a decision I'd pick up Of Orcs And Men, but, then again... that's me.

80

Old school entertainment

MarkDeejay | June 19, 2013 | Review of Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon

Blood Dragon is a more modern take on the games and movies of the 80's (and early 90's I guess). It's got lots of neon, dragons, a cheesy story, old school music and a lot, A LOT, of explosions. All combined into a neat little Far Cry package. Meaning it's an open world environment, and it has sidemissions and upgrades, too. If you're from the 80's theres's a high probability you'll instantly fall in love with this game. I did. It looks great in motion, the voice acting is great (although the story is purposely ridiculous) and it has tons of action in it, thanks to some awesome weapons in it. The world feels a bit empty, however. Where Far Cry 3 was filled with wildlife, I rarely saw wild animals in Blood Dragon. But it's possible that was because of the lighing and the fact that I didn't really explore like I normally do. Nothing big, it just caught my attention. Blood Dragon is, unfortunately, also a bit on the short side. Completing the game, doing only the main missions, took me about 3,5-4 hours to do. Enough for a downloadable game and more importantly, to keep things interesting. If you add the hunting missions and other sidemissions you can probably double that number. Upgrading your character also happens automatically (there are no skill trees) so replaying the game isn't all that interesting because you'll gain the same skills and perks every time, no matter what. Not that it mattered, because I had a blast playing Blood Dragon, and that's all that counts. Recommended !

78

Dead Island 1.5 really

MarkDeejay | June 19, 2013 | Review of Dead Island Riptide dns

Dead Island Riptide feels like an add-on to Dead Island. It looks and plays exactly the same, but has some minor improvements and fixes (not everything is fixed I'm afraid, it still has some weird bugs) in comparison to the original game. Plus, it's located on a different island and has an extra playable character. Since Riptide allows you to import your character using a savegame from the first game I haven't had the chance yet to play with this new character. The island itself doesn't differ that much from the first island. I mean, it's still some sort of holiday resort and yes, halfway through the game you'll be running around villages and old bunkers, similar to the original game. The game is best played with friends, or coop partners in general, because you'll mostly get slaughtered regularly when you're on your own. Playing with friends makes the game more fun and a bit more challenging and doing the sidequests feel less like a chore when played with others. Riptide has more than enough content to make it stand out as a retail game, and not as an add-on. There are tons of sidequests and you can level up to level 70. The main story should also take quite a while to complete, about 10-15 hours I'd say. Anyway, why change a winning formula, right ? The killing of zombies by using melee weapons just feels right, no matter if everything else looks and feels the same. This game has some great combat, really great. If you enjoyed DI you'll definitely enjoy this one as well.

85

Fun and challenging

MarkDeejay | June 19, 2013 | Review of Trials Evolution Gold Edition

Trials looks simple, but it's pretty dificult if you want to truly master it. Getting only Gold medals is going to take you a long, long time. The goal of Trials is to get your motorbike to the other side of the track as fast as possible and, if possible, without falling. The tracks are 2.5D, so it's all 3D but you'll be riding in one direction. Like I said, it looks simple, and it starts off simple, but gets hard really fast and certain tracks will take you hours, maybe even days, to master. The tracks, by the way, look awesome and are cleverly made. The game in general looks pretty sweet, but it does suffer from the occasional FPS drops, without good reason. Messy, but forgivable. Restarting a checkpoint or track is pretty much instant, which is important for a game like this. You'll keep playing and playing until you won that one bike or finished that one tournament. It's really addictive. In a good sort of way. I'd gladly recommend Trials. It's a game anyone can enjoy, even if it's for just a few tracks.

86

Improvement over the first one

MarkDeejay | June 19, 2013 | Review of Metro: Last Light

Metro Last Light is one gorgeous looking game. It just has so much detail in its environments, it's stunning. Besides graphics, the game has an excellent story and solid shooter mechanics and yes, even the stealth sections are handled better than it's predecessor. Stealth sections now require that you move only through the shadows, which are conveniently shown thanks to the many light sources in the rooms. The AI is particularly weak when playing stealth, since you can stand in front a guy and he won't notice you're there. Yes, this makes the game somewhat easier to play, but it also throws you out of the experience a bit. Of course, the game also has a fair share of 'just shooting things'. I think we all know what this means so forgive me for explaining. When you move to the outside (out of the tunnels), or if there's toxic laying around, you can put on your mask (or not, but you won't live long). Masks use filters so you only have a few minutes before you need to change filters or otherwise you'll die. And that's where the game disappoints again, because during my playthrough I never ran out of filters. This, too, throws you a bit out of the experience. It's nothing major, but still worth mentioning I think. The story is convincingly told and has some big over-the-top (think Call Of Duty) parts. Loved it personally. The voice acting is mostly solid, with every now and then a weakly voiced NPC inbetween. Thankfully, the more important characters are more impressive. Last Light is a very solid, enjoyable game that gives Metro the AAA status it always deserved, even if Metro 2033 wasn't polished enough to fit the description back then.

92

Challenging but always fair

MarkDeejay | June 19, 2013 | Review of Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition (EU)

Dark Souls is not a game for everyone. It will torture you, punish you and laugh at you, all at the same. But it will never be unfair. It will always play by the rules. Any mistakes you make are entirely your own. This game is hard. Maybe not all the time, depending on your build, but you will die. Not once, not twice. Hundreds of time. And you'll probably keep playing. Because the world of Dark Souls is something that needs to be experienced. I've rarely seen a world this detailed and this well executed. It reminded me a bit of a Metroidvania game, where instead of searching for upgrades you decide what to upgrade, thanks to the souls you'll collect from killed enemies. Before moving on to that part let me say that the textures in this game are simply amazing. As I said, souls allow you to upgrade your character. But only at a bonfire. If you get killed before reaching a bonfire, you lose your souls. You'll resurrect as an undead (again) and get another chance at collecting your lost souls. But the enemies will have respawned and if you die again before reaching them, you'll never be able to recover them. It's tough and frustrating. Enemies will attack you from all sides, there's danger everywhere. You have to remember when and how your enemy attacks, detect their patterns. With humanity you can become human again. This allows you to summon NPC's or friends. These allies are extremely helpful in tough situations. The only consequence of being human is the fact that other players can invade your world. This is frustrating if you haven't saved at a bonfire or/and the other player is simply too strong. Defeat them and you'll gain plenty of souls, though. It's a choice you have to make, but just remember that humanity is hard to come by, especially in the beginning, so summoning someone isn't always the proper solution. As of today I still haven't finished the game. It should take you at least 80 hours to beat, and that's a first playthrough. You'll never be able to see, do and collect all the stuff you want in your first playthrough. It's simply impossible. There's so much to take into account. Dark Souls is a brilliant game that only the strong will be able to finish. It's one of my personal goals, although I doubt I'll ever be able to finish it. It requires a lot of dedication. If you're one of those persons I strongly suggest you play this game. You'll not be disappointed.

(Use the Dsfix to improve the graphics and performance of the game. Don't start your first game without it.)

72

Alright...

MarkDeejay | June 19, 2013 | Review of Remember Me

  • Graphics are colorful and futuristic
  • Neo Paris looks awesome
  • Memory Remixes is a great idea
  • Creating your own combos

  • Controls in combat are unresponsive, and the combat isn't very fun

  • Only a couple of Memory Remixes
  • Drags a bit near the end, it becomes too repetitive
  • Grain filter makes the graphics look unsharp
  • Interiors are detailed but are mostly dull in design
  • Neo Paris isn't an open world
  • Combos are too long to remember during combat

94

Soooo good

MarkDeejay | April 24, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year -

Ah, I've finally managed to upgrade my original Arkham Asylum to the new GOTY edition. Now I could write an entire review explaining how great this game is (which it is !), but since I've already upgraded my existing version I see no reason why I should do this. Actions speak louder than words in this case. This is a game that should be played by any serious gamer, comic book lover or Metroidvania lover. An amazing experience. I envy the person who's going to be playing this for the very first time.

70

Mediocre

MarkDeejay | April 24, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil 6

This must be one of the most boring games I've played in years. Where Resident Evil 1-3 were all about horror, 4 more about action/horror and 5 more action than horror, 6 has finally come to the point where there's no more horror at all, and it's all about the action. Granted, it's campaigns are long and to complete them all will take you well over 20 hours (1-1,5 hours per mission). But I couldn't even finish the journey. So far I've finished Leon's campaign and am near the end of Chris', but it's mostly shooting, with an awkward co-op partner at your side. The animations of Leon were wooden and there will tons of QTEs, yet Chris' animations were fine and his campaign had practically no QTEs. It's like they were made by entirely different teams. The Japanese influences can be seen in all of the campaigns and maybe that's what makes the game so boring. Instead of moving forward it looks like they went backwards when compared with Western developers. I can't really explain, it's just a feeling, and the fact that it's absolutely not scary at all, when, well, it should be. I heard good things about the Mercenaries mode so I'll be sure to give that a try, and I might finish the campaign over the next couple of weeks/months, but for now it's just too damn boring.

94

Epic

MarkDeejay | April 3, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite Post

Bioshock Infinite is one of the finest games I've ever seen and played. It is THAT amazing. But you don't need me telling you that. I'm sure that, by now, you've read all the reviews and came to that same conclusion without ever having played it. So... why haven't you ? I don't want to spoil anything concerning the story or anything else. Bioschock Infinite is something you need to experience yourself. I started playing this game knowing only the basics. I knew that it would take place in a flying city and that you would have to use guns and powers like the first Bioshock, but that's it. In fact, it reminded me a lot of the first Bioshock game, gameplay wise. Yes, it has changed, it is more modern, but the general idea is still the same, even if this game is nothing like the first one. But this time you get to use the Skyhook. And let me tell you; this is one cool device. The Skyhook allows you to travel by rails and also acts as a melee weapon as well. The city of Columbia isn't an open world, not entirely, so you can't go anywhere you like, but it will occasionally give you that impression. Bioshock Infinite is still a linear shooter, even though there's more room to move around this time. The graphics are brilliant. I've rarely seen a city as detailed as this one. And the lighting, oh, the lighting. The lighting made such an impression on me that it stopped me from moving every now and then just to feast my eyes on the beauty of it all. Add to that that the music is awesome (there are some really cool covers of 80's songs in there) and your companion Elizabeth never annoys you, but actually helps you, and you have one of fhe best games there is. Must have, no doubt about it !

73

Getting there...

MarkDeejay | March 18, 2013 | Review of Sniper Ghost Warrior 2

One thing is certain: Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 is certainly more enjoyable than its predecessor. But is it that much better if you look closer ? No, but there are a few things that have been improved. First of all, the game now runs on the CryEngine 3. It's definitely visible as the game looks more vibrant and detailed, but faces are still a bit low poly. And the environments, while they look frequently beautiful, are still not open. The game lets you walk in only one direction, so, like the first one, it's still linear. Not a big deal at all, but it would've been cooler if you had the chance to kill people from more than one location. Another improvement is that it's more stealthy. In the first one there were a few moments where you had to kill (waves of) enemies using regular weapons, which was a bit odd considering the fact that it's a sniper game and it's called Sniper Ghost Warrior. SGW2 fixes that problem. You still get to switch to your handgun, but there are no other weapons besides that one and your trusty sniper rifle. Firefights are more intense because of that. Now, intense might not be the right word for it, because they aren't really, but you get the feeling you're playing as a real sniper. And while kills aren't as satisfying as sniping someone in Sniper Elite V2 it still does a good job of mixing up the action with some slow motion bullet kills. Even if they're not that spectacular. The game consists of three acts, with several missions in each act. Missions will take somewhere between 10-30 minutes, and most of us will finish the game within 5,5 hours. It's not overly long and therefore stays enjoyable all the way through. If you're into sniper games, like me, SGW2 might be worth your time and money. It all depends on how much of a fan you are. Still, if I had to choose between this game and Sniper Elite V2, Sniper Elite would win without a doubt. That doesn't mean it's bad, but it does mean there's still room for improvement.

89

Trine is just amazing

MarkDeejay | March 16, 2013 | Review of Trine

Most beautiful puzzle platformer I've ever played. Damn, I love this game. Seriously. I want to hug it and kiss it, it's THAT good. The game is simple. You complete levels by solving the puzzles. And these puzzles are mostly solved using physics. Depending on the puzzle, you choose one of three characters (you can switch between them on the fly) to solve them. Along the way you battle enemies and collect orbs to level up. You can also find chests with items, so it also has an RPG element to it. A shame the game is over too soon, I really did not want it to end. So I had to replay it several times since then, which, of course, I didn't mind at all. Yes, this is a must have !

90

A beautiful experience

MarkDeejay | March 16, 2013 | Review of Dear Esther DNS

Now this is art. It's a beautiful 'game', an adventure, where all you do is walk around, with a bit of exploring. At certain points in this adventure a narrator will try to tell you (bits of) a story. A cryptic one, mind you. In the end its interpretation is up you, the player. Some of the stories are random, meaning you might get a different one the next time you play. It's a short story, and it will take about 1-2 hours to 'complete', but, in my opinion, it's worth it. There's so much atmosphere in it, it's beautiful. Who would've thought the Source engine could still produce these kind of graphics ? It's breathtakingly beautiful. The little music there is is also perfect. The only little glitch I found was occasionally getting stuck in the environment, but it's not at all gamebreaking. And even though the price is steep for such a short experience, I would still gladly recommend it.

71

Bit of a disappointment

MarkDeejay | March 16, 2013 | Review of Krater

I knew Krater was going to be an action RPG, and I actually thought it would be a good 7 hours or so long, considering it's a downloadable game. But so far I've been playing for nearly 13 hours, without having done all the sidequests. It's fairly lengthy. It looks great, it sounds cool, it just works. 'Aren't there any downsides ?', I hear you ask ? Unfortunately, yes. Instead of using 3 main characters, you'll be switching them around several times during your playthrough. There's just no connection. And even though the upgrade system allows for a lot of custom builds; it's actually so diverse that you'll die quite often just because of this system. I'm stuck near the end and I just can't beat the final boss. It's impossible. Literally. Ok, I'm exaggerating. It IS possible, but you'll have to rebuild your characters entirely. It's just no fun. Also, the loot drops aren't all that great. Really, some of the design decisions... I just don't get them. Ok... I'll stop now. Really.

81

Simple and yet, so fun

MarkDeejay | March 16, 2013 | Review of 10 000 000

10,000,000 looks simple and, well, it is, but it's also fun to play. It reminded me of Henry Hatsworth for the NDS, without the manual platforming elements. Your character will run automatically until you bump into an enemy, door or chest. Then it's time to match key, staff, rock, wood, shield, backpack or sword tiles. Sword and staff tiles will damage your enemies, wood and rock tiles will help you build your castle, backpack tiles can give you items and shield tiles will give you a shield (did you expect anything else ?). A little counter in the top right will count to 10,000,000 while you journey along. That's right, 10,000,000. That's a lot. But in fact it will take several minutes to reach it. That is, if you upgrade your entire castle and know what you're doing. It also depends on a little factor called luck. Expect to finish it in 5-10 hours. A fun little game, worthy of your time.

77

Short, but fun

MarkDeejay | March 16, 2013 | Review of Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken

A short (around 3 hours long) action platformer starring a chicken. What's not to love ? There are 15 missions, and three of these missions will have you flying around with a jetpack (don't worry, you'll still be shooting). There are a few puzzles as well, but thankfully that's kept to a minimum. The game itself has the perfect length; any longer and it would've overstayed its welcome. The graphics look sharp and detailed; the blood splatters on the wall look quite amazing for example. You really can't complain about the art direction here. The gunshots and other sounds are pretty good and the little voice acting there is is average, but passable. All in all an enjoyable game.

85

An emotional journey

MarkDeejay | March 16, 2013 | Review of To The Moon Cap

To The Moon is an emotional journey, one that I haven't really ever experienced in games. It's a game with RPG Maker graphics so it looks simple, but its strength lies in its storytelling. The way the story is told is done in a way that will keep you (mostly) interested during the entire experience. While it lasts only 4 hours or so, there's very little gameplay involved (there's even a somewhat frustrating part near the end). Even though the game lacks in the graphics department, it makes up for it by its amazing soundtrack. I enjoyed it so much that I even bought it seperately afterwards. Keep an open mind, ignore the graphics and just enjoy the ride. A must own !

85

Unbelievably polished and fun

MarkDeejay | March 16, 2013 | Review of Puddle

I don't think many people will actually buy this because they're interested in it. It's just one of those games that doesn't draw much - if any - attention. 'Impulsive' is a word most of us will recognize here. Myself included. Before playing I had no idea what this game was all about. 'Why ?', I keep asking myself. Because this game is great fun.

Essentially Puddle is a platformer game where instead of a character you control multiple fluids (sticky, explosive, you name it). You know the drill; getting from point A to B. But there are switches to be flipped, fluids to be split and more, and you have to tactically move your fluid because if the fluid get below a certain amount it's game over. Some of the later levels can be truly frustrating, but at the same time fun and, in a way, relaxing.

It looks great in motion, I truly adore the artwork. It's simple, yet sophisticated and colorful. Just check out the screenshots and you know what I mean. The sound effects get the job done, in a realistic way. It's what you'd expect.

To all my fellow impulse-buyers; please do check out this game. You won't regret it, I'm pretty sure (that's right; not 100% :P).

83

Imagine a different version of Portal...

MarkDeejay | March 16, 2013 | Review of Q.U.B.E.

Instabuy if you, like me, love the Portal games. It's almost an exact copy of Portal, except that you work with cubes instead of portals. Some of the puzzles are fiendishly hard though and I had to check YouTube once of twice to solve a couple of them later in the game. Unlike Portal it can at times become frustrating, but you'll most likely keep playing anyway. It's a fun, but short game (4-5 hours) without many flaws. There isn't really a story..., well, there is one. But it's very, very subtle. You'll only get glimpses of what happened. The graphics are clean and sharp and I'm a big fan of the minimalistic style. Sounds are minimalistic as well, but given the story, it only makes sense. This game is all about the puzzles and it does a great job at giving you easy, medium and hard puzzles (not necessarily in that order). And it keeps things fresh by slighly changing the environments and gameplay later on. One of my favorite games. Period.

78

Enjoyable roguelike game

MarkDeejay | March 16, 2013 | Review of Sword of the Stars: The Pit

Sword Of The Stars The Pit is a roguelike game where you pick a class - marine, scout or engineer - and work your way down a pit. The game's combat is focused on gunfights, but you can use melee (weapons) as well, or combine those two to mix things up. There's a lot of broken stuff to repair, unlock and decrypt and you will basically get experience for everything you do. The use of items is a bit of mystery when you play it for the first time (and even after then it's still confusing at times) but you'll keep trying to figure out what these things are for nevertheless. The Pit is a fun game where you'll die a lot. A. LOT. But it doesn't matter, you don't care; you just want to get to the bottom of the pit. A very enjoyable game !

89

See it as THE Uncharted for PC

MarkDeejay | March 12, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider Steam

The new Tomb Raider is the closest thing we PC gamers will ever get to an Uncharted(-like game). It's the combination of beautiful graphics, Metroidvania gameplay, great combat, and treasure hunting that makes this new reboot so much fun to play. The game starts off fairly slow, with a lot of QTEs. It will take about an hour or so before you get to fully control Lara and walk around completely freely. And the environments are actually very open later on in the game, with multiple paths to take and the occasional hidden tombs to find. There are also hundreds of things to find and collect, making you feel like a real treasure hunter. But the tombs... The tombs are the only thing that I can think of that I actually disliked. Let me explain: it's not that I hated them or anything, they were really fun to complete, but they were sooooo short. Think of them as one big puzzle, set in one big room. That's it. Complete this puzzle (which is mostly physics driven) and you're done and get to collect the treasure. I expected so much more in that department. Maybe they'll make them lengthier in a possible sequel ? I hope so, because it's wasted potential. But don't let that ruin the experience though, because it's a solid 15-20 hours game and there's so much else to enjoy. I completed the entire game, 100% (and I don't do that very often), so you can imagine that I was quite taken with it. The multiplayer isn't worth your time, however, it feels tacked on. It works, but that's about it. There's nothing more to say I guess. You'll just have to experience this wonderful game yourself. And that's not a bad thing by any means.

83

Great atmosphere

MarkDeejay | Feb. 17, 2013 | Review of Metro 2033 PRE

Metro 2033 has some of the best atmosphere I've ever seen in a game. It's dark and moody which adds a certain tension to the game. It also looks great in motion, apart from the faces. The faces could use some extra work, but thankfully most of the NPC's you meet have helmets on so it keeps you (mostly) immersed. The fact that you can use ammo for your weapons or as a way to trade for stuff is a great idea, and gives the player a sense of freedom. That's all the freedom there is though; the game is quite linear. I honestly expected the game to be a bit more open. After all: you're walking around in the underground, you're frequently being shown a map of this very underground, but unfortunately, the game keeps you from exploring any of the tunnels that are not part of the story. There are also a few stealth levels. These levels don't work as well as you would expect. I had to restart quite a few times. The game's just not build for this sort of gameplay. Then again, it's only a few levels so it's not a big deal. But still worth mentioning. Metro 2033 was a pleasant surprise for me. I'm glad I finally decided to finish it, after a 2 year long backlog delay ;) (Also, the game's framerate is all over the place. I had to change it to DX9 in order for it to give me a stable framerate. So in case you're experiencing the same thing...)

72

Not bad, but grab Lego Batman 2 instead

MarkDeejay | Feb. 17, 2013 | Review of LEGO Lord of the Rings

Well... it's mostly like Lego Batman 2. Lego LOTR uses an open world as well and follows the story of Frodo and his companions in order to destroy the One Ring. Lego Batman 2 felt fresh because it didn't try to tell a story that had already been told. We all know the story of LOTR. We've all seen the movies by now, right ? While the gameplay is shallow but fun, it's nothing groundbreaking. And might I say I'm a big LOTR fan, so you can imagine my disappointment when I started playing this. The classic Lego humor is still there, but mostly subtle though. And the gameplay is solid as always. But since it's a retelling you kinda know what to expect, making the whole thing... less exciting. Yeah yeah, there's no other way to have created this game, I agree. But still... By the way, the low quality voice acting truly bothered me. It's like they ripped the sounds straight from a DVD or something. Lego LOTR shows us that not every tale can or should be made into a Lego game (Lego Avengers does look pretty cool, however...). For now, I think you're better off playing Lego Batman 2.

75

Fun little puzzle game

MarkDeejay | Feb. 11, 2013 | Review of The Journey Down: Chapter One DNS

Fun little point-and-click adventure game with a focus on inventory puzzles, meaning it can be played by basically anyone. Even me. There's a nice atmosphere with cartoony (but somewhat realistic) graphics and some weird looking characters. Say what you want, but these characters do stand out. The music fits the game in a wonderful way, thanks to these same characters. The game can be finished in about 3 hours, and, let's face it, since this is episode 1 so there are (most likely) more to come (you have to pay for them individually though). It's reasonably priced anyway so you may want to add this to your collection someday.

78

Don't expect another Portal, but just another fun puzzle game

MarkDeejay | Feb. 11, 2013 | Review of Quantum Conundrum

It took me almost a year to finish Quantum Conundrum. I'm not even sure why because I was really excited to play it. So I pre-ordered it back then, and when it was finally available I played it for 2 hours and then... stopped. I guess it didn't pull me in like Portal once did. That doesn't make it a bad game, not at all. It just lacks that certain charm. The puzzles, however, are pretty cool. So, I decided to continue the game just recently and I have to say the game actually gets a lot better near the end, when you have access to all 4 dimensions (fluffy, weight, anti-gravity and slow). Switching between them while solving these puzzles can actually be very rewarding. It's a great feeling. And while the game lasts only about 6-7 hours, it's long and challenging enough to keep your attention (for most of us anyway ;)). Now that QC2 has appeared in the Steam registry I'm actually really excited again ! I ♥ first person puzzle games.

75

Where's the passion ?

MarkDeejay | Feb. 3, 2013 | Review of Assassins Creed III

For me personally Assassin's Creed III was a huge disappointment. The game starts off way too slow. It will take several sequences (and, therefore, hours) before you're actually able to freely move around. Add to that the uninspiring, sometimes frustrating and confusing missions, the boring, often cold and colorless setting in which the game takes place, the cumbersome way to fast travel, the (gamebreaking) glitches and bugs and there you have AC3. I can forgive the game for the smaller glitches and bugs, sure, because, let's face it, it's still a gigantic game world with lots of activity. But I just can't forgive them for the other mistakes, especially since 100+ people have been working on this game for at least 3 years straight. And now that the entire story has been told, it's time Ubisoft took the franchise in a different direction. It doesn't have to be groundbreaking, and there's no need to change genres, but at least come up with some creative and innovative things for your next AC games. I'm not talking about side activities here, there's plenty of that. Let's make the whole thing exciting again. Don't milk it like certain other franchises (guess that's a bit late since this is, like what, the 7th game or so ?). Well now, on to the good stuff. Yes, AC3 uses a new engine and it shows. It's pretty good. The environments look nicely detailed, as well as most of the characters. Some of the citizens and less important characters still have that low poly look though so it's not all great. Overall, despite the sometimes poor performance, the game runs and looks very well and I can only see it get better with future releases. There's more: hunting is a cool new feature that fits well in this game's theme. You could do nothing but hunt for hours and you'd still have fun. Hey, what do you know; I finally have something positive to say. Naval battles are also a great addition to the game. Granted, I didn't think they fit the theme that well, since your playing a Native American and all (have you ever seen one steering a ship ?), but they were fun to play and that's what's most important. Despite my ranting there were still times that I enjoyed playing this game, but ever since the brilliant Brotherhood I'm growing more and more tired of it with every new game they release. If I had to score this game right now it would have to be a 7,5. Judge for yourself if you can.

78

Fun, but not very innovative

MarkDeejay | Jan. 29, 2013 | Review of Virtua Tennis 4

I first started playing Virtua Tennis on the Dreamcast. And it quickly became one of my favorite games because of its casual, arcade-style gameplay. I didn't want to play a sports sim, I wanted to unwind and have fun. Virtua Tennis gave me that exact experience. Since then several 'sequels' have been released and, while they do improve upon certain aspects, they mostly haven't become any better; in fact, if you ask me the brand has stagnated. More celebrity tennis players, wacky minigames/training missions, realistic graphics, create-a-player and things like that are small additions that definitely should've been added, but they should've added more to make it stand out again. The game feels like Virtua Tennis+ as it is; it's still fun, but brings nothing new to the table. The World Tour mode now even plays like a boardgame, where you use tickets to take a certain amount of steps. It actually gave me a Mario Party vibe. Note that that's not necessarily a bad thing, because the World Tour is really fun to play, but it could've used a little more work. It should've been deeper, maybe with an experience system even. I'll shut up now. If you're new to Virtua Tennis, start with this game. It's the most complete version to date and if you like tennis even a little bit I'm sure you'll have a good time.

91

This is how it's done

MarkDeejay | Jan. 29, 2013 | Review of Far Cry 3

What a massive game this is. Huge islands to explore with just too many sidequests. You can just run/drive/fly around and do nothing or you can; hunt animals, craft items, free settlements, find relics and other secrets, take over radio towers, do some trials and a whole lot of other activities and (side)quests. It's seemingly endless and completing the entire game will take you probably well over 50 hours. Now that's some value right there. The graphics are just gorgeous, no matter what settings you use. You can't make this game look bad, you just can't. The animations and models are some of the best I've seen in a game. Wow. The same thing applies to the sounds and voice acting, which is brilliant and truly convincing. While doing the story and sidequests you'll earn XP to upgrade your skills. There are 3 skilltrees in total and the way you play the game is entirely up to you. The Shark skilltree will let you upgrade your assault and healing skills, while the Heron tree will help you with your sniper skills and speed and finally, the Spider tree will let you focus on your stealth and survival skills. There's no right way to play this. There are many ways to complete an objective. And that's what makes Far Cry 3 fun, but not necessarily unique. However, there aren't many FPS that give you this much freedom, while telling a realistic, focused, story at the same time. So I take my hat off to Ubisoft for creating this masterpiece. The commercial and critical success for this game is well deserved. Let this be a lesson - and example - for future first person shooters. Hooray for Far Cry 3 !

88

Action packed !

MarkDeejay | Jan. 29, 2013 | Review of DmC: Devil May Cry dns

I actually dislike most of the action (adventure) games like God Of War and Devil May Cry. They're usually all about the combat, which becomes a boring aspect for me a few hours into the game. And yes, they have great visuals most of the times, but visuals isn't a key aspect for me. Then again; they do help to pull the player into the game world. Anyway, DmC managed to surprise me because of it's environments, fluent combat and, maybe even more important for me; short campaign. You read correctly, a short campaign. It will take a player somewhere between 7,5-12 hours to fully complete one playthrough, which is a decent length and for me long enough to not become boring or overstay its welcome. The new Dante starts off as an annoying, run-of-the-mill character. But along the way I started caring for him. He grew more mature it seemed. Dante will start the game with some basic weaponry and will get new moves and weapons until late in the game, which keeps the combat fresh. Obviously, all weapons and moves can be upgraded. And there really are some amazing moves in there. Using a controller I was able to pull off some of the hardest combos. I'll admit, there was some button mashing involved, but most of the times I actually knew what I was doing. The environments steal the show though. Rarely have I seen environments this brilliant. The TV show (including boss fight) and nightclub levels are some of the best levels I've ever seen in a game. DmC uses a variety of bright colors, while still having a certain gothic feel to it. It's exceptional. You can tell they put some real love into the PC version since it will never dip below 60FPS. On Ultra settings things look (mostly) sharp and seeing the game in motion is a real treat, especially during the acrobatic (non-)combat sequences. The voice acting is top notch, but, unfortunately, the story is a bit on the light side. Time to wrap things up: I had a great time with this game and I would gladly recommend it to all serious gamers out there.

72

Return of the mindless shooter

MarkDeejay | Jan. 29, 2013 | Review of Painkiller: Hell & Damnation

I'm done with shooters like Painkiller and Serious Sam. I like mindless game as much as the next guy, but I also like a deeper experience at the same time. Painkiller couldn't offer me this. If you want to turn off your brain and shoot at everything that moves, this game is for you. The weapons are fun to use, the graphics are sharp, there's enemy variety, the boss fights are kinda cool and epic and the HUD is clumsy. What ? The HUD is clumsy. Maybe I wasn't paying too much attention to it but I had no idea where to look for my health, souls or ammo until a few hours into the game. That can't be right. Yeah yeah, 'Enough about the HUD already !' I hear you yell. And I agree. In fact, I'll stop talking about this game altogether.

To sum things up: Yay = if you like mindless shooters Nay = if you dislike mindless shooters

88

It's a hit, man

MarkDeejay | Jan. 8, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Absolution PRE

A straightforward, but great action/stealth game. The previous Hitman games (with the exception of the first Hitman) never caught my attention, because the controls were stiff and the games were never truly optimized making them buggy to begin with. After playing the Hitman Sniper Challenge DLC I was kind of blown away by the new (and surprisingly optimized) engine, even though the DLC had you sitting in one particular spot, without ever moving. But it showed great promise. And the end result shows. Like I mentioned; the game is, at times, (a bit too) straightforward with you moving from one location to another, but ocassionally there's a level where you have more freedom to try out different things. These are the best and the most fun levels in the game since there are multiple ways to complete your objective(s). Thinking of new ways to kill your targets is where Hitman Absolution shows its true potential. The level challenges and achievements also make it fun to replay them. There is so much replayability, it's unbelievable. it will take tens of hours to fully complete it. And then there's the part where you can create and play custom hitman missions. The graphics are nothing short of amazing. There's a lot of detail, variation and there are some great effects and cool animations. The voice acting is also done very well. Same goes for the music. Finishing the story will take you around 10-15 hours if you mix things up (stealth and combat). If you go stealth only it will probably take you double. Verdict: Hitman Absolution is absolutely worth your time.

80

A solid, but short, shoot 'em up

MarkDeejay | Nov. 12, 2012 | Review of Sine Mora

Gorgeous looking game with confusing storytelling. The voice overs are Japanese (I'm sure they can be switched to English, but I like to play games in the way they're intended) and the text is English so you have to pay attention to the subtitles in order to understand at least something of the story. But even then, it's extremely confusing, with all the different characters and the constant switching between them. It seems rather deep for a shoot 'em up, and who knows... it might actually be true. Sine Mora is a shoot 'em up, llke many other games out there. But it uses a time aspect, meaning you get extra time for killing enemies. Get hit and you'll lose time. It's a solid idea that works very well. You can also slow time down to guide your aircraft between tens of bullets safely. So, as you can see, it mixes things up a little. Enemies will drop points, subweapons and weapon upgrades as well. The environments are beautiful with some nice little touches and the game offers plenty of boss battles. It also runs at a solid 60FPS which helps add to the immersion of it all. But it's short. I finished it in 2,5 hours. After that you can try and go for the achievements. The achievement system is actually something I'd like to see more often in games. Here, you have to complete several objectives before getting awarded an achievement. So there's a high replay value if you're into that sort of stuff. If you like shoot 'em ups you should get this no matter what. But if you enjoy them from time to time I suggest waiting for a price drop. The price is a bit steep and it's still on the short side.

90

Even if you don't like strategy games, Xcom is great

MarkDeejay | Nov. 8, 2012 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown dns

I'm normally not that into strategy games, especially when they're turn based. Somehow they feel slow, and I just want to unwind without thinking about things too much. But Xcom managed to pull me right in. It succesfully mixes turn based strategy with a bit of management, and,... guess what ? It's great fun ! Xcom uses a certain graphical style, which reminded me a bit of Team Fortress 2. It's not super detailed by any means, but I still liked the clean look of things. The combat is brilliant, with the camera zooming in when a certain action is taken. It makes the combat feel exciting. Completing missions and killing enemies will level up your soldiers. You'll learn to take care of them, because when they're a higher level some of their abilities might just save you and your squad. The story is nothing special, but the way the whole game is executed is just amazing. You'll have to make some difficult choices (concerning building certain items/facilities and the missions you choose to accept), none of which are right or wrong. The sounds and music also add to the atmosphere of the entire game. Also, for a single-player game it's surprisingly lenghty as well. It should take most players well over 20 hours to complete, especially if you mess up your first few games (like me). Highly recommended !

91

Assassins Creed,... perfected

MarkDeejay | Nov. 8, 2012 | Review of Assassins Creed Brotherhood

Wonderful game. Beautiful graphics (with improved faces) and long lasting, open world gameplay. The game has some great new additions as well, in comparison to ACII. Running around also feels more natural this time. I continued playing this even after I finished it, and I don't do that very often. The multiplayer is great as well, very tense. Loved it.

92

So awesome, but unfortunately too short

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Mirror's Edge (EU)

One of my favourite games... ever. The whole concept was, back then, never done before and executed extremely well. Sure, it wasn't perfect by any means; it was very short, the cutscenes felt out of place, and there weren't that many ways to get to a certain point, but it was a very solid start nonetheless. I loved the style. It was realistic and futuristic at the same time, with very colorful interiors (oh, how I love those designs). Very cool. The story, in-game that is, was told convincing and the fact that you played it in first person view made it seem you were actually Faith. Bring on the sequel :D

90

Frustrating and fun, all at the same time

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Super Meat Boy

Frustrating and so much fun at the same time. In this game you'll die... A LOT. But the levels are fun and small, they usually take 1-2 minutes to finish; if you don't die. It just takes some skill (major skill if you're into unlockables actually) and a lot of precise timing. I'm normally not into the 'hard to beat' platformers, but somehow this one kept me hooked till the end. Loved the graphics, loved the presentation, loved the levels. Loved everything about it :D So... if you love your games like I do you simply HAVE to own this. Oh, and you get to see ALL your attempts in the replays, all at the same time, it's brilliant... BRILLIANT I tell you :D

89

Grab this before you decide to grab Armageddon

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Red Faction Guerilla

It's like GTA4 on Mars. Except the setting is a bit boring, there isn't really much to do besides the usual sidemissions and it's reddish all over the place. But the fun part is blowing up everything, LITERALLY EVERYTHING. Never had such a good time :D The sledgehammer kills look very satisfying and the multiplayer is tons of tun as well. Too bad it's a sloppy port so there were basically no people playing when it was just released (the controls are a bitch). The only downsides for me were the accidental kills (like when parts of the building fall down on you, thus killing you) and the extremely frustrating endsequence. Man, that part was tough. All in all I have really high hopes for Armageddon (they're handling the PC version with care this time), and I seriously hope they can pull it off to hook me once more.

92

Storytelling at its finest !

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of BioShock DNS

This game just oozes with atmosphere, it's brilliant. So is the storytelling. The graphics still hold up to this day and the sound is awesome. During the game you gain access to special powers and search for items, similar to RPGs. The powers are diverse and fun and switching between them keeps things fresh. The game manages to scare a few times in the beginning, but once you know what you're up against it pretty much stops being scary. Multiple endings give the game great replay value and it already is exceptionally long for a FPS. This should already be in everyone's collection.

88

An unpolished but awesome game

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Alpha Protocol

Excellent game. The execution of the entire game could've been a bit better, but what's there is fun. It actually manages to do something new and different in the RPG genre so for that, I applaud it. The game itself could've benefited with some better control schemes, because when you need to be really stealthy, you still move way to fast. And killing bosses can be a bitch. There are multiple solutions to finishing a quest (stealth, action, diplomacy) and with the experience gained you can upgrade your character. Nothing you haven't really seen before. Add multiple endings to that and a good story, and you've got yourself a great, fun game. Don't listen to the critics, try it yourself.

90

Much better than World At War

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Call of Duty: Black Ops

I liked the style in this game more than I liked the style in World At War. Less grey. Both are good games though but I did like this one better. It's over-the-top action with a good story, cool co-op zombie mode and fun multiplayer (way better than WaW since there are no vehicles). But it did feel different after all those hours playing Modern Warfare 2. I kinda expected the controls to feel the same, but they didn't (somehow it felt sluggish). But you'll adjust soon enough. Anyhow, the multiplayer will keep you entertained for months.

90

A bit more action oriented, storywise

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Great follow-up to Modern Warfare 1. More action-oriented if you ask me, and where the story in the first one was somewhat realistic this one takes an over-the-top approach (but it also has some great scenes). Multiplayer is still the same (and still great) with some slight tweaks and extra features. And then there's the co-op, which is kinda fun and sometimes challenging as well. The graphics still look pretty good and the sounds and voice acting are great. Not everyone may like this game, but if you like solid first person shooters this is a must-play.

92

The atmosphere, oh, the atmosphere

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV DNS

Still one of the best action adventure games I've ever played. The city in this game is so big and full of life, has so many details, it really is wonderful. The action is cool, the story is pretty good, driving around is great, the minigames are fun to play and it is looooong. One of the few games that is actually worth your money. It will take you about 25 hours to finish and it can be twice that if you just hang around and play around, doing nothing. It still looks great (the faces of the characters could use a little bit of work though) and the voice acting is splendid. You should have this one in your collection already, but if not, you should BY NOW... Go... buy it... Go !

85

Weird and beautiful at the same time

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Zeno Clash

It's a weird game, that's for sure. But the combat (in first person) feels SOOOO good. I like how the punches feel, there's a certain weight to them. Add to that the fabulous (but weird) graphics and you have one heck of a game. Unfortunately, it's short (about 4 hours). But that's about the only negative thing I can say about it. It's so unique that I suggest you get this while you have the chance. Can't wait for the sequel (will it ever come ?).

88

Developers, take note !

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City DNS

Developers, take note. This is how you create DLC. Two episodes that span around 15 hours of gameplay (more if you're going to do everything). It feels like a whole new game. Yes, the city is still the same, but the stories aren't and the missions are quite diverse. One thing I really liked was the fact that all important characters are in a way part of the other characters' stories. The graphics and details are still awesome to this day (and the faces could still use some work). The missions from The Lost And Damned (and the story itself) aren't as much fun when compared to The Ballad Of Gay Tony. The missions in Gay Tony range from racing to stealing and basejumping. There's also a few helicopter missions. Flying a helicopter is a pain in the ass though, and it's one of the things I really hate. But that can be overlooked. This game is great ! Recommended !

93

A game you just have to experience

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of The Witcher II: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition

One of the best RPGs I've ever played. It's a shame it had to end. My thoughts:

I loved the graphics (all the details and the way the game looked). I loved the steep learning curve, making combat rewarding. I loved the length of the game (wish it was longer). I loved the voice acting. I loved that it wasn't 100% linear (I'd say 75% open, 25% linear). I liked the fact that some quests sent you into the right direction from the start and others you had to discover by yourself (no hand holding). I disliked the ending (no, I won't spoil it). I hated that it ended. And I wish an expansion comes soon, or that they're working hard on The Witcher 3 already.

Everyone should own this one, yes, even for €50 !

74

A decent attempt to beat Call Of Duty

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Medal of Honor (EU)

Single-player: The whole game was ok. The modern setting I liked, the graphics were also pretty good. What I didn't like were some of the bugs. It's been a while since I played it, but the only thing I CAN remember (yes, short memory... I already forgot what I just typed) were the NPC's that stopped doing anything mid-game which resulted in replaying the entire level all over again. The story was ok, nothing special. It lacked a lot of suspense and action (which is, of course, realistic, but I'm not playing games for 100% realism). Nothing noteworthy.

Multiplayer: Not bad, but the fact that there is (was ?) so much spawnkilling killed this game very quickly for me. Is it that hard to create a solid spawn system (Modern Warfare 2 could do it) ?

If you don't like MW this might be for you. Otherwise, stick with MW (more action, faster gameplay, better controls, more polished and EXCELLENT multiplayer).

88

A very addictive and casual game

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Dwarfs!?

What a fan-tas-tic game ! I didn't expect something good, since it looked 'just' alright and I didn't exactly know what to expect. But it's the best €4,50 I've spent so far during this 2011 summer sale. Allow me to explain what you have to do in this game. You basically control (not directly, it's more like micromanaging) dwarfs who dig on their own. Along the way you find caves, which contain treasures (hooray !), water (nothing you can't handle, if you're quick), lava (prepare to spend your money), or enemies (boo ! boo !). Plus, you can get achievements by digging through 500 blocks, 1000 blocks, killing a shaman, things like that. It all adds up to your total score in the end. Even though it's a score-based game, I'm having lots of fun with the digging and managing. And it's always random. It's awesome ! It's similar to a lot of other sandbox games, since you have no real objectives. You just have to survive for xx minutes and try to do as much as you can. I LOVE IT !

88

So beautiful

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Bastion Cap

Finished it in 6,5 hours. Well worth the money, even though I think it's a bit short in the end (storywise). The graphics are outstanding by the way. They reminded me of Braid. The game itself plays like a linear action RPG. During your quest you'll receive lots of weapons, that you can upgrade several times. There are also idols to increase the difficulty, a distillery to equip potions with different effects and challenge rooms to earn extra items. There really is a lot to do in this game (never mind the story for now) so it could take you about 12-13 hours, maybe even longer, to 100% this game. To be short: this game should be in your collection, no matter what.

75

Had so much potential

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Space Marine (THQ)

Decent game. The single-player part is a bit boring at times, where you're just walking around, doing nothing. There are also a lot of lifts, with no real function. I think they're there to increase the playtime. Also, I wish there was more variation in environments. About 90% of the game you're inside a building. The shootouts and close combat are satisfying, but can become frustrating. And the reason for that is when you're executing an enemy, you're still open to enemy fire. So while an execution should increase your health again, most of the times it doesn't even help or even gets worse, resulting in too many deaths. And... well, there aren't too many bossfights. I think there are only 2-3. Disappointing. The graphics are sharp, and the voice acting is brilliant (Mark Strong !) though. But this game could've been so much more. Wait for a pricedrop before buying, unless you're into decent games, of course. (The multiplayer is supposed to be fun though, but I've yet to try it.)

91

Now, this is a stealth game

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

Not as good as I hoped, but still one heck of a game. The graphics are a bit dated by now, but the style is excellent; it just misses (some) details a lot of other games do have these days. Other than that, there are no complaints. The voice acting is excellent as well as the gameplay. I do wish there were more sidequests around though, and that they were longer. Some of them could be completed in a couple of minutes. The game itself takes around 25+ hours to complete, which is more than enough for a FPS RPG. I tried to play it stealthy but it was pretty hard to pull off so in the end a lot of people ended up being killed. I do think a second playthrough would be easier now, especially when playing stealthy, because you now know how the game works, and thus how the AI reacts. And although hacking was most of the times optional it would've been nice to see an insta-hack device. It became boring about halfway into the game. But despite all the minor flaws; highly recommended !

72

An old school shooter

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Hard Reset

My expectations were pretty low when I bought this last month. Why did I buy it anyway ? I don't know why, I guess it's because of my love for games. Anyway, the game didn't disappoint. Not entirely, that is. First the good stuff; the graphics are of extremely high quality, especially for a downloadable game. I'm sorry to say, though, that there are the occasional framedrops during hectic firefights and explosions. The shooting works like a shooter should (see what I did there ?). Enemies come from all directions so you have to be careful at all times. The weapons and the upgrades are cool as well. The energy weapon I haven't used during the entire game, which is, by the way, about 3,5 hours long, so in my opinion they should've removed it. The controls are fine and the sounds are excellent, but the voice acting and story were weak. And the game ended when I actually thought I was about halfway, which is a shame. Worth the full price ? Nope. Wait for a 50% price drop.

92

Where is Just Cause 3 already, I want more !

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Just Cause 2

One of the best summer games I've ever played. The atmosphere is so cool and there's so much to do. Sure, it might not always be that exciting, but you can play this for probably 30-50 hours without it ever getting dull. Blowing things up, doing stunts, racing, killing, collecting, just hanging around, you can do it all. The parachute and dual grapple are also awesome gameplay mechanics. It's bloody brilliant ! But there's only one downside to the entire game and that is that there aren't enough black market packages to be collected. You'll have unlocked everything about halfway through the game, so that's kinda disappointing. Now this, people, is a game you should own no matter what. Avalanche, bring us Just Cause 3 already !

90

Pure awesomeness !

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Dead Island

Once I got this game started (took me a short while, since I had to change my region) it was a joy to play and... I'm really sad it's over. It just does everything right; the level design, graphics (except for some small glitches), the number of quests, the collecting part, the hacking and the slashing, everything. Killing zombies with melee weapons just feels awesome. And in the beginning the zombies act really simple, like; they walk towards you and try to take a few simple swings at you. I was under the impression the zombies wouldn't change at all during the game (except for the mini/sub-bosses) but how wrong was I? Later in the game the zombies start charging towards you, and take multiple swings at the same time. They'll also throw and use weapons. And there's more, which I won't spoil. So you actually have to be careful. I mostly played solo, but I do think it was way more fun (but easier) with others. Highly recommended people !

85

A tower defense game pretty much anyone will like

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Plants vs Zombies Game of the Year Edition

What a charming tower defense title. The graphics are detailed and awesomely cute. Same goes for the sounds. And for such a low price you really get a lot of gameplay. There's just so much to do; puzzles, zen, adventure, mini-games, you name it. The game also has quite the zombie and plant collection, adding a lot of (strategic) depth to this already wonderful game. I'm not going to say anything else about it. You really have to experience it yourself.

80

It's getting there... again.

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Driver San Francisco

Honestly, I didn't meet my expectations. I had really high hopes for this game, because the idea in general sounded quite fun and refreshing. But now that I've played it I can't shake the feeling this could've been better. First of all, the story is ok, let's get that out of the way. It's a bit far fetched maybe, but ok nonetheless. The graphics get the job done as well, but this is one of the things that disappointed me. The models for the cars are solid, but there's just so little detail in them. I like my cars very detailed, like in GT5 or Forza. Of course I can't expect the same quality for an arcade racer, but it would've been nice to give the most important cars some extra detail. Same goes for the city. The VOs are pretty good, and the music is alright if you're into that kind of stuff. It wasn't really my taste. And the gameplay itself is solid; the shifting technique is actually pretty cool and adds a bit of strategy to the game. Still, it's not full-price-worthy.

77

Unfortunately, the world is not THAT open...

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Rage (EU)

I don't know, Rage isn't all that bad. The game does look great, but there are so many technical issues that prevented me from truly enjoying it. The fact that V-sync, at first, wasn't implemented was a bad choice. The texture pop-in was awful as well. Combine this with the freezing problem (every few minutes the game freezes for at least 1-2 seconds) and I'm sure you'll understand what I mean. The gameplay itself is like any other shooter. With some added RPG elements. You'll collect a lot of worthless junk (which is a shame) and complete simple, sometimes fun, quests. But since there is no real reward for the sidequests there isn't much incentive to do them at all. You'll gain money and some licenses for your vehicle, but no weapons, schematics or anything else. Not even XP. So in the end there's no feeling you're getting any stronger. A missed opportunity. The driving segments are actually ok, but quite easy. Anyway, I did have fun with it, but I expected more to be honest.

73

Old school Sonic is back !

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Sonic Generations

It's an enjoyable game with some frustrating mechanics and really, really, really cheesy CGI movies (like pretty much all Sonic games). The graphics are sharp, detailed and colorful, the sounds are nice and the voice overs are terrible. The gameplay itself is pretty fun, especially when playing as Young Sonic. The Old Sonic sequences reminded me of Sonic Adventure. They're, most of the times, fast and there are some cool chasing scenes in them as well. The bossfights, well, they're frustrating, especially the ones where you have to beat a rival. The last 2 bossfights can also be really frustrating. But there's fun to had as well of course. You just have to ignore some of the poorer mechanics. All in all, it's a good game, just don't play it for hours and hours and you'll be fine.

83

Fun but not with a capital F.

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third dns

I honestly expected more from Saints Row The Third. I expected a whole lot of over the top action and missions but, after the promising first few missions, was let down by the rest of the other, dare I say, mostly mediocre, missions. The city feels a bit empty and there isn't a whole lot to do aside from buying buildings and finding packages. It misses something and I can't quite put my finger on it. Maybe it's because of the trailers, which showed already pretty much everything you can do in this game. Yes, there are a lot of customization options (respect !), and yes, there are some nice (but repetitive) sidemissions, but that's it. In the end I was glad this game was over and I don't think that's what Volition would've wanted with this game. I do have to say I did enjoy the wrestling mission. That mission was spot on (including hilarious announcers). Now, it IS fun people, but only in small doses. Maybe my expectations were set too high, but still; see it as a friendly heads-up.

92

An endless RPG, does it even exist ?

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (EU)

Such a BIG game. I was a bit worried when I first started this game because the combat feels floaty at times, but you'll start ignoring it the more you play. There's just so much to do. It took me about 17,5 hours before I encountered my first dragon. For every quest you finish, you'll receive several more, it's unbelievable. I'm not sure I can ever completely finish it. I've done most of the things by now, and I still have about 30-40 misc sidequests open. And don't get me started on the fetch quests; the ones that aren't listed in the quest log. I was actually surprised by the amount of quality quests in this game. All the factions have their own storyline, and other sidequests can take well over an hour to finish. Exploring also just feels right. You're constantly being rewarded with treasures, hidden dungeons, new quests and more. There are several bugs, but nothing game breaking so far. If you have to buy one game this year, let it be this one. It is endless. ENDLESS !

80

Pure art

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Dear Esther DNS

Now this is art. It's a beautiful 'game', an adventure, where all you do is walk around, with a bit of exploring. At certain points in this adventure a narrator will try to tell you (bits of) a story. A cryptic one, mind you. In the end its interpretation is up you, the player. Some of the stories are random, meaning you might get a different one the next time you play. It's a short story, and it will take about 1-2 hours to 'complete', but, in my opinion, it's worth it. There's so much atmosphere in it, it's beautiful. Who would've thought the Source engine could still produce these kind of graphics ? It's breathtakingly beautiful. The little music there is is also perfect. The only little glitch I found was occasionally getting stuck in the environment, but it's not at all gamebreaking. And even though the price is steep for such a short experience, I would still gladly recommend it.

72

Shank 1 Plus

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Shank 2 DNS

If you ever played the first Shank, then you pretty much know what to expect from this sequel. It improves on some of the frustrations the first one had, but unfortunately not all. First of all there are more weapons included in this Shank adventure, which makes killing more fun overall. Second, they have included counter-attacks, meaning you can press a button when a red exclamation mark appears above your enemy. It looks cool in motion and works really well. On to the stuff that isn't quite alright... it's short. But I don't see that as a downside. When you finish the game (about 4 hours) you've probably seen it all. The game doesn't overstay its welcome, thankfully. And then we have the difficulty. One moment it's easy as I-don't-know-what, and the other moment (which can be seconds later) the difficulty ramps up making it practically unplayable. It's a good game nonetheless, and if you love beat 'em ups you'll love this one as well, I'm sure.

70

An average third person shooter

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | Review of Binary Domain

Binary Domain starts off with a truly interesting story which becomes a bit over the top near the end of the game. Up until that moment I honestly thought this could be good movie material. The ending did ruin it a bit, but I liked it, nonetheless. The graphics are nothing extraordinary; they get the job done (the faces are actually done very well), and even though the voice acting is wooden near the beginning, it becomes very acceptable later on. Gameplay wise it's just another third person cover shooter, like Gears Of War. There are some on-rails scenes too, so there's a bit of variation, but it still comes down to killing enemies. The squad mechanics are poorly executed; your squad shoots (and kills) enemies just like you do, but I hardly even had to use the squad menu to command them, and when I did it seemed to make no difference at all. The idea behind it was good though. Same goes for the loyalty system. It seemed to make no difference. At. All. So... an average game.