Reviews by Mates1500

75

Cool party game!

Mates1500 | Sept. 22, 2013 | Review of Worms Revolution

This is a very fun game to play with your friends, even with random people, but you know, with the people you know in real life, it's always better! The worms are as silly as ever, and it's this 2.5D style, 3D in looks, 2D in gameplay. The gunplay is really fun as well. The artstyle is pretty neat. The only huge problem I've got with this game is that the animations are for whatever reason made at 30 FPS. Even though the game itself runs at 60, except for the camera movement, the game feels like it runs at 30, sadly it takes out a lot from the game for me. Otherwise, it's really great, go get it, if you don't mind the clunky PC port!

70

Not a legendary game, a great base for mods!

Mates1500 | Sept. 22, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim® Legendary Edition

I've got mixed feelings about this game. It starts off with an interesting feeling that there's so much great stuff, well, not that awesome. As someone said, "an ocean of quests with depth of a puddle". Most NPCs don't even seem to care what you do, what "world changing" quests you have done, they still treat you like a peasant. It takes out from the immersion into the game greatly. The main story is pretty mediocre, as are all the elder scrolls games. The game contains hundreds of quests, some are fun, some are not. The outcome simply kinda sucks. The world, however is once again as in all Bethesda's games very good. It's just the rest that sucks. The graphical engine is really outdated. But except for the awful shadows, all of this can luckily be fixed by mods! Need better textures? Mods! Need better quests? Mods! Need some balance changes? Mods! It's like minecraft, the base game is not that awesome, but the mods can take your experience much further.

90

You always have a choice!

Mates1500 | Sept. 22, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

A stealth game done well. I haven't encountered a particularly large amount of AI bugs, if I'd have, this game wouldn't be as good, it's a very huge part of the game. Do you prefer to go sneaky sneaky somewhere, quietly assasinate someone, and then get out fast? Or just go shoot everyone in the place instead? That's all up to you! The graphics style is very interesting, I liked it. The graphical fidelity is very good as well. You have lots of choices in the character interactions, too. The only really bad part about the game I could point out are the boss battles, they're very linear and boring.

70

A nice little game for short bursts.

Mates1500 | Sept. 22, 2013 | Review of Cargo Commander

I wouldn't recommend buying the game for the full price, I simply think it's not worth it. It's, however a little game you can play in small bursts of time, explore a bit of space, find some treasure, beat someone else's score, upgrade your stuff. Nothing with very deep mechanics, but it's very fun to play nonetheless.

75

A nice entry into the MOBA genre without the hardcore drawbacks.

Mates1500 | Sept. 22, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts

Have you ever wanted to try out a MOBA, but you were discouraged by the negative community? Look no further, Awesomenauts is the game for you! While it's casual friendly, it's a nice choice for hardcore gamers, too. When compared to LoL or DotA2, it's cool to see there's also platforming involved, it adds another element into the game. There's no deep customization with thousands of item builds like in the other games, but for a good reason: this game knows what it wants to be. The matches last for about 10-15 minutes, making it much quicker than a regular MOBA's match, which is regularly 30-45 minutes. It's easy to get into. The custom themes for every single character in the game is a nice perk. The artstyle is very cool as well, I really dig it.

90

Epic game experience

Mates1500 | Sept. 22, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

This game is probably most famous for the narrator. Rightfully so, the voice is very enjoyable, and Rucks (the in-game name of the narrator) is a very interesting character. He commentates a lot of the action that happens on the battleground, including your own moves, sometimes he even makes a comment on the weapon that you're wielding. I think the story could be possibly somehow longer, but man, did the developers play with it, it's spectacular. It's quite linear, but you have a few choices during the game. There's some replayability with the idols system, that can make the game harder, give you more score, etc. Score hunting is not really my cup of tea, but it's nice that it's there. The gameplay mechanics themselves are not that great, but that's not what the game is about. The artstyle is very interesting and unique, and I really liked it, including the world building effect as you move. To top it off, there's just unforgettable amazing soundtrack that you should pay attention to.

Summary: Awesome experience that every person that calls himself/herself a gamer should have.

65

A great quality simulator, not for everyone

Mates1500 | Sept. 22, 2013 | Review of Train Simulator 2013

As a hardcore gamer, I didn't quit enjoy this as a "game", there's not a whole lot of stuff for you to do, it's more about enjoying the scenery and stuff, the graphics outside of the trains are not exactly top notch either. I think this is the number one choice for train fans, but as a harcore/regular gamer with no special interest in trains, do yourself a favor and avoid this.

80

Great game, sadly rushed

Mates1500 | Aug. 25, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 3

I love all the games in the Mass Effect series, but how good is exactly the third one? To start off, the shooting mechanics, effects, cover and all that stuff, it's polished the most, and the most satisfying in all of those 3 games, it's simply great. I never expected a multiplayer of this game, it's not really anything mindblowing, but it's still a pretty damn good job by Bioware, to extend the playtime of this game. It's simply waves of enemies coming at you, there are 4 difficulty levels, if I recall correctly. You can choose from all possible different races and classes, every combination has something unique in terms of the abilities/spells. Overall a satisfying experience, but the netcode is written very badly. When I wanted to play with two of my friends, I just couldn't, it never connected, even after 10 minutes of the boring "connecting..." screen. Don't count on playing this game's multiplayer with friends from countries far away from yours.

The visuals are gorgeous, this game is very well optimized. It's kind of a paradox, that this game looks the best from the series, and actually runs at the highest framerate of the 3. The only problem with the port to PC I've got is that many actions are bound to your spacebar and you can't separate them without modding the game's .ini files, why would you do that if you've got so many keys available on a keyboard compared to controller's buttons?

I really liked the story until the last 20 minutes. It all went nuts and a lot of stuff there didn't really make any sense from a lore standpoint if you think about what happened in the last 2 games. The ending was clearly rushed. Bioware has released a free DLC to explain why some things happened and some didn't, I give them props for that, but it doesn't change the fact that everyone just expected something more from the ending, the game was very clearly rushed.

The ending was kinda meh, but otherwise this game is just epic, recommended to all the Mass Effect fans. You can play it even if you didn't play the previous 2 games, but I wouldn't recommend it, there are lots of things you wouldn't know about in the story if you even in the slightest manner care about it.

90

The Deepest MMORPG I've ever played

Mates1500 | Aug. 25, 2013 | Review of Eve Online 30 Day Starter Pack - Asteroid Miner

I have played a lot of MMOs, including World of Warcraft, Guild Wars 2, RuneScape, SWTOR and more. I'm not saying those games were bad, all of them are actually quite good, but they are all so called "theme parks".

This MMORPG is unique in its nature that it's a sandbox. The content is mostly created by the players, the developers only give the players the tools. It's impossible to "consume all the content" like you can in most MMOs, there's just way too much of it. This game has so many mechanics and possible tasks to do, it's impossible.

Do you want to be a good guy getting rid of the space pirates and gate campers? Or perhaps actually one of those pirates to make some easy money? Explore the space? Relax while mining in high sec? Manipulate the market? Do some high-scale PVP? You can do all of this and much more.

The only both good/bad thing (whichever is your point of view) is that it's a massive time sink and requires a lot of time to do something than just mining or something, this game has a very steep learning curve, the tutorial covering the basics will most probably take you over 10 hours, this game isn't for the masses. Also, you control most of the game with a mouse, simply just giving your ship directions/targets. This game should be called a "space survival simulator", rather than "spaceship sim". If you are looking for an experience with spaceships where you actually aim yourself, and control a ship with friends etc, wait for Star Citizen.