Reviews by MauroR

85

Solid DLC!

MauroR | Feb. 7, 2014 | Review of Kings Bounty: Warriors of the North - Ice and Fire

If you've enjoyed the advetures of Olaf you surely will enjoy this DLC who brings the main protagonist in a small island covered by Ice and Fire (hence the name of the DLC). You have to help ice spirits and snow elves to face these changes in the climate and I'll stop here with the main plot since, surely, you don't a review spoiling the entire game story, a thing that you want to experience by yourself. If you didn't play the previous games of this franchise I suggest to try them if you're into this genre because these games have a pretty solid and awesome gameplay, this is me saying this, just think also that this genre wasn't my genre at all but I've changed my mind when I've started playing the King's Bounty franchise titles. Even if you're not in this kind of game I suggest you to at least try these titles, you won't be disappointed I assure. And they are also quite long, so you'll get your hard earned money spent worth the purchase. Happy gaming :)

90

One of the best!

MauroR | Jan. 28, 2014 | Review of Hitman: Contracts

Hitman franchise hold that kind of games which offer a lot variety from a gameplay standpoint and the approach to complete objectives. Are you a killing machine type guy? You can do it. Do you want to move in the shadow and remain undetected while completing your objectives? You can do this too. Also consider that this particular instalment features some flashbacks from the original "Hitman 47", the title that started all, this means that you'll find yourself playing some of the original missions which you've played in the first title, it's this particular thing that makes this title special, and it's one of the best of the franchise also, together with the sequel which I'll review in the appropriate page. This game has everything for everyone, it's up to you if it's the game right for you or not, but just follow my suggestion, grab it, it's just a few bucks for tons and tons of fun.

It's a though game for though people, are you up to the challenge?

90

This is where it started..

MauroR | Dec. 21, 2013 | Review of BioShock

When I've watched the first Bioshock gameplay 6-7 video years ago my mind was blowing I thought " This game will be awesome", and in fact I was right.

Bioshock was intended as a spiritual successor of the famous System Shock 2, hence the "shock" word in the name, it's been like a homage to a great game being released years ago (System Shock 2 has been released on 1999).

Anyways Bioshock has been released at last and the game didn't betray the expectations. The story, the atmosphere, the environments, the enemies, the original weapon systems (you also have a photo camera to spot the weak points of an enemy allowing you to use the proper weapon for every situation and every enemy) combined with the plasmid powers give you a lot to choose to face the enemy and defeat him, it's your choice.

You can also upgrade your weapons and plasmid powers, giving you a sort of roleplaying elements, so for being essentially a FPS you have several thing to choose from. And I suggest you to search the audio diaries there are scattered around the levels, the give you a lot of clues about the story and plus they immerse you more in the game world.

What can I say more? If you didn't played yet until now I suggest you to buy it, the game deserve the praise it got, you have FPS with a great story, RPG elements with creepy atmoshpere, you can't wrong with Bioshock.

See you in Rapture.

90

Great Reboot!

MauroR | Dec. 6, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider

Normally when a software house decide to make a reboot of a famous franchise the risk of failing it's very high, but in this case Tomb Raider has exceeded my expectations. I've liked the very human aspect they gave to our beloved Lara Croft, the game it's very adult oriented and this shows that developers start going in another direction (I know there are a lot of violent and adult oriented game, but they're very few with this style) making games much more than a simple fun experience, just take a look at Bioshock Infiniten, maybe who knows, in the coming years people will start to give videogames more consideration instead of thinking of videogames like a children enternainment only, let's see.

I've enjoyed also the various added features of Tomb Raider, especially the RPG elements where you earn experience and the ability to improve your main protagonist upgrading her weapons and much more.

I won't spoil you anything because you have to try it for yourself and discover yourself, believe me, it's worth it, you won't regret it.

I strongly recommend this game to anyone, don't miss it.

95

Started as a mod and ended being a multiplayer legend!

MauroR | Nov. 29, 2013 | Review of Counter Strike

This game has started as a mod about 13-14 years ago (we're talking about June 1999 to be precise), the same modder didn't expect all this success. The mod has started gaining popularity in the growing multiplayer scene very fast, thanks to this popularity the Game Designer Minh "Gooseman" Le has been employeed by Valve to develop a standalone version of Counter-Strike, in this way Counter-Strike wasn't anymore a simple mod for Half Life but a full featured multiplayer game which many people still play today. The game put you in the shoes of 2 teams: The Terrorists and the Counter-Terrorists, and each team must eliminate all the enemies or completing the map objectives to win the round, the team who has won more rounds when the time runs out wins the entire match. In doing this you'll earn money (e. g. when you kill an enemy or win a round), this money is needed to buy weapons by pressing the assigned key at the start of the match, there are several weapons as rifles, guns, shotguns, grenades etc, but you can't buy weapons from everywhere and you always must go to the "buy zone" to be able to do this. Another thing, if you die you must wait to end of the round before spawning in game again so be careful and stay in cover.

I suggest to try this game (those who haven't played) because it deserve the praise it gets, it's one of the greatest multiplayer shooter ever created, and if you're also into multiplayer FPS, this game it's for you. If you can't get past the outdated graphics (come on guys, it's 13-14 years old, no one can't complain on this aspect) there are updated iterations of the game, such as Counter-Strike: Source or the most recent Counter-Strike: Global Offensive, as you can see there's something for everyone, but give this one a try, it's worth it.

90

This game it's tough and hard like iron, but it's soooo good!!!!

MauroR | Nov. 28, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

If you're looking for though 2D platformer, one of those games who make you want to throw the controller from the window, a game that will test your patience and timing skill, well you found it: It's Super Meat Boy. The game controls are great even with a simple keyboard and I was surprised by this fact, usually this kind of game are a nightmare without a gamepad controller, but this game instead Super Meat Boy it's excellent even from a control view. Of course it plays the best with a gamepad controller, never forget this, but you'll get a great experience even if you want to play with a keyboard. There are also several playable characters to unlock from several other known indie game like Minecraft.

If you are up to the challenge, this game is waiting for you, and once you're in you can't stop playing it, so, what you're waiting for? Super Meat Boy needs your help, his girlfriend it's in danger.

85

If you want more Doom in your life just take a Painkiller!

MauroR | Nov. 27, 2013 | Review of Painkiller: Black Edition

If you loved and still love Doom this is the game that you're looking for. Imagine a good graphics engine, fast paced gameplay, and tons, tons , tons of monsters, here you are served a fresh Painkiller. This game recreate the the Doom gameplay style perfectly, at least in my opinion, also the story it's quite good for a fast action shooter like this one. I've really enjoyed at the time of release and I've enjoyed it now, there's also a remake powered by the Unreal Engine 3 released few years, you should check it out that too if you're interested or you don't have the original title.

Also the expansion (included in the Black Edition) it's quite enjoying so you'll get the full experience of the title with this pack. Just grab a copy and start slaying monsters, you'll never want to stop.

85

A Parody of the nowadays game world.

MauroR | Nov. 27, 2013 | Review of DLC Quest

This little game just parodies the nowadays situation with games, you buy a game then tons and tons of DLCs will become available and you have to pay for them, again. Sometimes they want you to pay for content already in the game but that you need to pay to make it visible and usable, absurd, right? Where the good old times when you bought a game and the full content was already included without additional money to pay? And the expansions? Do you remember how where the games expansions? Many times the expansions were better than original game and added a lot of things for the price you paid for. But now time has changed, in several games you have to pay even to get a new skill, or more agility (Tomb Raider 2013, I'm looking at you) or to unlock a particular thing.

DLC Quest just mock in an elegant and polite manner this situation where you have to spend money on money to experience a certain game fully (many things could be implemented since the release without any additional cost) by buying DLC, DLC, and...more DLC. This game it's funny and entertaining, and at this price you really can't miss it. It's not that long, for sure, but you're not paying €60 euros for a 4 hours long game, but less than €3, there's a very big difference, don't you think?

80

Not a masterpiece but surely a good game.

MauroR | Nov. 27, 2013 | Review of RAGE

It was 1996. The first time I've seen Quake I was completely blown away, real 3D graphics at the time was revolutionary since most of the shooters in 1995-1996 era (and even in 1997) were in fake 3D with 2D sprites as enemies.

id Software was always ahead of time in terms of 3D engines, the genial programming skill of John Carmack were unmatched. Doing a fast forward we're here, talking about RAGE, the new IP from id Software. RAGE is powered by the last engine made by Carmack & C., the id Tech 5, and I have to say that at the moment it runs smooth even on less powerful PC since the engine scale automatically with your hardware, at least this what I know and since my PC is very old and the game runs pretty fine so I can assume that it's the truth. When the game has been released most people got disappointed since the game had several bugs, especially the textures pop in, which in a game made by id Software it was unforgivable because before this any Id's engine was perfect from a technological standpoint, creating everytime a landmark in 3D graphics(just think about the presentation of Doom 3 in 2001 at the MacExpo) and every engine has been licensed to make lots of games powered by id's engines, this isn't happened with their last engine, I don't think that there are other titles using the id Tech 5 as far as I know. Talking about the game itself I've enjoyed, the gameplay is smooth and fast paced, and the various missions (or quests if you prefer) are enjoyable and you have minigames too and the world is big enough even If in a id's shooter I'd preferred a less open world approach but it's a matter of taste so this won't influence my final score, maybe I've played too much Quake in the past :D.

In conclusion if you're looking for a game with classic run and gun game with open world elements, this is the game for you. There's also a Co-Op mode if want to play with your friends. MauroR out.

95

Call of Duty (or insert any other FPS) meets Diablo.

MauroR | Nov. 26, 2013 | Review of Borderlands

Every time we see a new franchise most of the times we're skeptical because we ask ourselves if a particular title it'll be good or not. Well in this particular case Gearbox Software has done a good job. Just imagine Borderlands like a mix of two popular genres which you love, FPSes as Quake, Unreal, CoD plus ARPGs as Diablo. I mentioned Diablo because the loot system and the leveling it's similar to that found in the popular ARPGs series. Now that the mix is ready, you can start having fun by killing monsters, leveling up and exploring the vast world of Pandora completing several missions (or quests if you prefer this term) in the meantime. This game it's fast, fun and it has one of the best Co-Op ever seen in a modern game. If you like First Person Shooters and you love Diablo, well this game it's what you're looking, don't stay here reading my review, just get it know if you didn't do it yet.

90

Can you survive and Don't Starve?

MauroR | Nov. 26, 2013 | Review of Don't Starve

This is a big question, isn't it? The first time I've seen some gameplay videos from this game I've fallen almost instantly. Don't make put yourself down by the graphics because this has so much depth that you can't even imagine. You're alone and you must eat, craft stuff and decide what you have to do to survive as much as you can. You don't have mission objectives, pointing arrows, hints or anything, but it's up to yourself to craft or eat or do the right thing to survive the world. In short, It's completely up to you. Are you up to the challenge? Well, if you want to know it, just buy this game and jump in. And please, don't forget to eat...

90

Good sequel (especially if you're a fan of multiplayer FPSes)

MauroR | Nov. 26, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 4 (EU)

Battlefied 3 was great, and this sequel it's quite good also. The graphics haven't improved that much but the previous had already (and still has) gorgeous graphics so it's difficult to get better when you're already at a maximum quality level. So, I give 10/10 from a technological standpoint. Talking about the game I can tell that the multiplayer it's the core and heart of this franchise, as it's been since the first Battlefield, yes, you have a single player campaign to get started, but all of you know very well that you buy Battlefield for the multiplayer component, not for the single player, that it's completely ignore by most people. I'll be short, if you want a great multiplayer game with a bit of tactical flavor and gorgeous graphics, this is the right game for you. If you buy it just for the single player, maybe you should choose another title with a stronger single player component even because Battlefield 4 single player it's quite short and the game (since it's been released not even 1 month ago) it's quite expensive. In any case the final decision it's your. I give it a 90/100 score.

80

Good game overall (at least in my opinion)!

MauroR | Nov. 26, 2013 | Review of Tank Operations: European Campaign

Turn based strategy aren't exactly my genre but I quite enjoyed this game. I don't know exactly the names and features of Real Life WWII weaponry but for me in the game the various military units (tanks, weapons) and everything else is quite faithful (at least according to my knowledge) but maybe veteran of the genre will be more precise than me and will give you a more accurate overview of the entire game aspect. To conclude ( I won't do a long review spoiling everything, this is that kind of game that you have to try yourself, it's a particular genre) I've enjoyed this game, and at the end it's what that counts, right? The price also is quite low, so nothing to regret.

85

A good sequel (and a critic to rabidchihuahua's review).

MauroR | Nov. 26, 2013 | Review of Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver 2

Every successful game (almost) has a sequel. If fact few years later here it comes, Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver 2. The WoW factor (at least for me) it isn't like the first Soul Reaver, but I've really enjoyed this game, I found it a good sequel with nice gameplay additions, and improved graphics. Do yourself a favor (yeah another one, hehe), don't miss this game, or buy the bundle here on greenmangaming, you won't regret a single penny spent on them counting the hours you'll play this franchise even without buying them on sales. Now about the rabidchihuahua's review critic:

Dear rabidchihuahua you can't complain about graphics in a game that it's 10/11 years old, really, it's just stupid (not yourself). You pretend that a 11 years old game has Crysis 3 graphics? You see the point I want to make? Every time I read a review of a old game criticizing the graphics I want to beat my head against the wall, really, it's completely unfair. You review a gold game for other reasons, you can't criticize the graphics since OF COURSE it's dated due to the age, even people, you can't compare a 70 years old woman to 20 years girl because it's unfair and undelicate at the start. Sure that a 20 years old girl is more beautiful, a nice body, and so on, but a 70 years old woman can't have the beauty of a 20 years old (well if you see Sophia Loren, a famous italian actress, this comparison it's not right in this case, there are exception in every thing) and the freshness, but she has other things that a 20 years old in any way can't have, for example the experience, the sapience and many other things. So don't treat wrongly a game just because the only "guilt" it has it's being old.

95

A classic of a game. Definitely!

MauroR | Nov. 26, 2013 | Review of Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver

When I've played for the first time Soul Reaver I was blown away by the atmosphere it gives you, the creepy environment, the fact you can travel between two realms to solve the puzzles, the great story, in short this game it's a masterpiece in every way, and the graphics (for the time) was considered very good also. The game features a lot of hours of gameplay, you won't be disappointed by the longevity of this gem, as happened most of the times with modern games. Less that €7 for countless hours of fun, you can't be wrong by buying this game. Do yourself a favor, if you didn't buy it yet just buy it right now, you won't regret it.

88

A good start for a small studio.

MauroR | Sept. 4, 2013 | Review of Rise of the Triad

I've heard people complain about this game due to the bugs o this game, but people have to think that this is a small studio with few people, it's not Ubisoft or Id Software or Bethesda. I think they did a great job bringing the old school feeling to the modern gaming audience. We must encourage these guys instead of bashing them. I liked the game, I'm sure that they'll do better with our support.

100

A great emotional experience.

MauroR | May 17, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

I won't talk about the story since you must experience it by yourself ( and in a story driven game where the story it's the main part of a game spoilers aren't really cool).

Let me tell you that this one of most emotional and well written game ever made. This is not a game, this is an experience that must be lived.

I admit that when I saw Telltale as developers I've been skeptical at first but when I've started playing the game I told myself that they really made a great job and felt a little bit guilty for having doubts.

Great voice acting, unique visuals and an emotional story make this game perfect, I don't say this often.

If you like story driven game and being emotionally involved this is the game for you, so don't wait and stop reading, just buy it and let the game sucks you in.

90

Great Surprise

MauroR | May 12, 2013 | Review of Metro 2033 PRE

I was skeptical at first when I've hear about this game for the first time, it seemed a S.T.A.L.K.E.R. clone but I wanted to give a try, and people, I've never repented. This game has character, atmosphere, tension, you feel always in danger, constantly, every little noise, every little thing can make you jump from your chair. It's been a great surprise, If I skipped this game it'll be a real big mistake. You play as Artyom, the main protagonist of the game. The story takes place in a post-apocalyptic Moscow, mostly inside the Metro system (the game title says all), I won't say one more thing about the story, the best way to get the real feel you have to experience it by yourself. Before concluding my review I'll give you some tips to play the game to get the best experience:

1)Install it with the Russian language (setting the subtitles in English if you're not Russian like me) 2) Play it in Ranger Hardcore difficulty 3)Play it at night

So, are you ready, you did everything I told you? Fine, now it's time to go. Ah...and wear the gas mask! Don't forget it

P.S. The game is based on a novel with the same title Metro 2033 by Russian author Dmitry Glukhovsky, buy it if you want to get more in depth information about the the Metro 2033 story.

45

More of the same is always a good thing for a sequel?

MauroR | May 11, 2013 | Review of Dead Island Riptide dns

When the original Dead Island had been released was a good addition to the FPS genre (the game in truth is labeled like an Action Role Playing Survival Horror all in First Person view), fighting zombies with mostly melee weapon with a good implemented leveling system, giving you the sensation to progress acquiring more expertise and combat options. In fact the game received good reviews from users and critics, and it was well deserved because of the atmosphere and the feel of the game despite several bugs affecting the console versions. Anyways let's talk about this new game. The main problem I found with it's that feels more like an expansion pack more than a new sequel since the bugs affecting the first title are still here and the game it's basically the same with a new settings and a new name. So more of the same is always a good thing for a sequel? In this case it's not, when developing a sequel you have to keep the things that made the first title successful and well received trying to improve and add, if necessary, choices to make the game feel fresh and new, making a sequel offering the same it's not the way to go, and this is valid for every game, not only this one.

50

Very disappointing

MauroR | May 8, 2013 | Review of Star Trek (EU)

When I see a game based on a movie/TV series I have a strange sensation. Let's face it. Most of these game based on a famous movie/TV series franchise were all, at very best mediocre and bad executed, except really few ones (Golden Eye for the N64, the first Chronicles of Riddick, Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic and few more) and this new Star Trek game is not an exception. This game has bugs to sell, you AI companion (Spock) get stuck in every situation making this game almost unplayable and frustrating, in short another good idea poorly executed, reminds me of Aliens Colonial Marines. I give it a 50 score just just to be generous, but in truth it deserve less than that. I don't understand, you spend millions to get the rights to use a famous TV series like Star Trek and then you end up delivering a buggy and unfinished product like this one? Using a famous TV series it's not enough to make the game great, it takes much more than that.

80

Quite enjoyable, with a reserve (Italian version)

MauroR | May 2, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R. 3

I loved very much the first game in the series, great atmosphere, scary moments, a perfect blending of horror and shooting, in my opinion a small gem in the FPS category. Then Fear 2 has been released and it was clear that they have oriented it more for the console market, but I still found the shooting enjoyable experience enjoyable. Not the "WoW" factor of the first but I liked it in some way. Then let's talk about the third installment, Fear 3 or F3AR as they developers love to type the title. I mentioned the italian version in the review title because the localization it's been released with little attention leaving the intervals introductions with english audio when the rest of the game it's completely localized in italian language (audio and subtitles) even if the "localized" stuff it's not so perfect in the translation and dubbing (there some weird localized phrases, especially those spoken from the enemies), another reason to play in in the original language if you don't have problems understanding english language even if it's not your mother tongue. Told that, let's talk about the game. Also in this third (and last?) installment the "WoW" factor isn't here too, but I founf the game quite enjoyable to reach the end and finish it, so I haven't been disappointed after all, sure that it should have got more attention (especially in the italian localization 'cause of the problems that I've mentioned before. At the end what matters it's having fun playing a game, and I had it, so I give to it an 80, not a bad score considering the issues it has.

95

A masterpiece, in every way.

MauroR | April 27, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite Post

I want to tell you thing first. I was skeptical to buy it since I have a very old computer with 2GB and I still was using Windows XP. I was also very upset since I couldn't play it without Windows Vista or Windows 7. I told myself "I must try to install Windows 7 and play this great game" and I did it. I was worried that Windows 7 was too "heavy" for my PC, but I've tried several games Windows Vista/7 only and I found out that they worked great, so I loaded my credit card and bought this game. I was amazed that it ran smooth with medium/high detail without any issue and I let my mind immerse in thel world of Bioshock Infinite. I've loved the first two titles really much, the atmosphere, the settings, the storytelling, I've loved everything and this last one didn't disappoint me. Columbia it's a beautiful, dangerous, and mysterious world to explore even if you don't have the ultimate gaming machine, so stop reading my crappy review and buy it. :)