Reviews by McDoenerKing

75

iBomber Defense is a good solid Tower Defense

McDoenerKing | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of iBomber Pack

This game is your typical run of the mill tower defense. It has your typical weak normal tower, long-range high-damage tower and so forth. You can earn stars for your profile to upgrade your towers and at the last upgrade level you get to choose between two effects for the tower. Also you can unlock perks by achieving certain things. You can pick up to two perks, which will help you in defeating your next mission.

I can't say much about iBomber Attack since I am not a big fan of the genre, but it plays perfectly fine just like you would expect from screenshots and videos.

The game is perfect for tower-defense game lovers, who happen to have either a low-end machine or already have beaten most other tower-defense games they own. The game provides enough challenge for the beginner and the veteran.

79

The best Men of War title in the series.

McDoenerKing | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Men of War: Assault Squad - Game of the Year

This is the most polished and best title in the series.This is the title to rule them all, because the Men of War games are just more of the same. It isn't something bad, because you won't miss out much by not purchasing and playing other titles except for the campaigns.

Men of War is a squad-based tactical war game. You are in charge of a squad with each member having a inventory to manage. There are a lot of very realistic(and cool!) features like bullets ricochetting off tanks and using almost everything as a cover. Also your squad has the ability to repair vehicles. The different missions will usually start with a small map and expand as you progress through the objections. The mission objections are very varied and require different tactics to accomplish. A mission will take you from one to two hours depending on how fast you can figure out the game's mechanics.

Technically the game may be a little bit dated in the graphics department since it still uses the same engine as the first title from 2009. Nonetheless the game looks totally fine. The controls take some time getting used to because they do not follow your typical control scheme of other games. Especially camera controls will take a lot of time to get used to.

I'd recommend the game to strategy lovers, who love to manage a tight budget/squad in this case.

90

The best RPG-FPS out there!

McDoenerKing | Sept. 7, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex Pack

The series is well known for being great and the games are except Deus Ex: Invisible War.

The first game has a huge modding community and with their help you can greatly improve the looks of the game. The story of the first game is pretty great and when the game released it was very well presented and told too! Each level provides multiple approaches to be beaten. This is the reason I finished the game multiple times, because I wanted to know how the other route plays like and they all play very differently. You can distribute points toward different character attributes and at some point you will feel a bit too strong in the game, but the atmosphere will keep you playing.

The third game is story-wise a prequel and tells the story of the era before the first game. You are Adam Jensen and are working for a biotechnology firm. You try to find out whats behind of the death of one of your friends and discover more than you originally wanted. This game is essentially a stealth game. You can play it with pure firepower, but it is much more tense to sneak and hack your way through the levels. This game features again a level design with multiple approaches and routes. One level leaves you the choice of a hidden passage accesible by brute strength, jumping over the roofs with increased jumping power, sneak through the front door or climb down from the roof without making too many sounds and not getting hurt too much. The only thing that holds this game a bit back are the poor boss battles, which require pure fighting power.

Do not miss this great opportunity to play one of the best franchise there is on the PC.

85

The best TD-FPS game there curently is available!

McDoenerKing | Sept. 7, 2013 | Review of Sanctum Pack

Sanctum 1: You will have about 12 maps to pick and lots of interesting new tower mechanics. For example there is a tower that boosts the damage of other towers by letting them shoot through it. You have full control about building mazes in this game to complete your masterplan. The blocks you need to build a tower upon are very cheap and let you easily maze the way you want. You can pick three weapons out of about eight and each weapon can be upgraded multiple times to provide more damage.

Super Sanctum TD: It was included as a bonus for preorders of Sanctum 2. It is a simple good old TD in the universum of Sanctum. You can assign your towers to different priorities like shoot the weakest, first, last, strongest, etc. Each map can give you up to four points to invest in the techtree. One of the points have to be gotten by beating a maps survival mode.

Sanctum 2: Coffee Stain Studios picked up where they left off: Refining the TD-FPS genre. They took a look at the weaknesses of Sanctum 1 and improved them. The initial release wasn't well receive for certain design decisions, but the developers took the criticism very seriously and correct those decisions in patches. There are now five classes to pick from with each having a certain role in a team. They also introduced a little leveling system to give you the feel of progression that Sanctum 1 lacked. The story mode also adds to giving you the feel of progression. The campaign is split up in four acts of about 4 levels each. In some levels there are now marines standing at your core and shooting if alieans come near. All in all I think that Sanctum 2 is a sequel how it should be done: Improved on the weaknesses of the prequel.

87

One of the best rogue likes for starters!

McDoenerKing | Sept. 7, 2013 | Review of Sword of the Stars: The Pit & Mind Games DLC pack

It is my first roguelike and I heavily enjoyed it. Its gameplay is very streamlined. At the end of every run you do not think "awww I had bad luck" but "okay this and that wasn't a good choice at that time to do". Short you will learn with every round you play something new and advance and advance further in the game. You won't feel like you do in many other roguelikes that the random number generator of the game messed you up.

The game itself gives you the choice of three different classes. Each class plays heavily different from the other ones. The pace in which you get levels are well done and keep you hooked. There are no new mechanics to be found here, but it takes all the known ones and polish them up quite a notch. The battle system is also very straightforward and doesn't need much of a tutorial. You will have to do smart decisions in combat about which weapon to use and if an enemy is worth wasting your ammunition.

The DLC provides more content in form of levels, weapons, items, enemies and psyonic powers. To play with the new psyonic powers is just immensly fun.

Summary: This is a great roguelike for starters but also for veterans!

82

A solid first-person puzzler in the spirits of Portal.

McDoenerKing | Sept. 7, 2013 | Review of QUBE pack

You are in a space station and have to solve puzzles using 4 different types of cubes. The puzzles are rarely plattforming or timing heavy, so that your puzzler heart got no obstacle to overcome. Many puzzles can be quite tricky, but are rewarding if you solve them in the end. The story is almost non existent, but usually you play puzzle games for the puzzles not the story. The length of the game like with most puzzle games depends heavily on your solving skills. The game's length should be around 3-5 hours depending on your solving skills.

The dlc adds about the same amount of content as the main game, but is very focused on the timing and plattforming part of the game. The DLC is a time trial DLC, so do not expect something else. Personally I felt the DLC to be very trial and error type of gameplay.

At the end I would still recommend this game to anybody who enjoyed Portal 1 or 2 or Quantum Conundrum.

84

DiddyKong Racing for the PC!

McDoenerKing | Sept. 7, 2013 | Review of SkyDrift Pack

This is a great arcade racer, which is heavily inspired by Diddy Kong Racing and MarioKart. The gameplay is fast and fluid. There aren't many powerups, but they are well balanced and fun to use. You can pick up a powerup twice to level it up to level 2. Level 2 power ups will do more dmg or shield from more dmg or just last longer. If you are into arcade racers, you can't miss this one.

80

The Description has some errors, but nonetheless a good game.

McDoenerKing | June 18, 2013 | Review of Shoot Many Robots

I bought this game, because it was advertised as having local coop support for up to two players: "4-Player Co-op Four players online and up to two players locally can work together to take down the robot armies."

Now I bought the game and installed it. When I first started the game I was searching for the option of local coop, but couldn't find it sadly. I then learned from the steam community, that it only supports local coop on the xbox360! So if you only want it for local coop do not buy it. Also there is no gamepad support unless you use software like xpadder.

Otherwise this game is pretty good! I already clocked several hours of fun with it. You are hunting items, shooting robots, collect stars, level your character up and try to beat insane eventually. It is light-hearted fun for the casual experience.

Besides the developers removing local coop and gamepad support, this game rocks nonetheless! Get it for its humor and the funny items you can collect through out the game. :)

88

Once upon a time...

McDoenerKing | June 7, 2013 | Review of The Book of Unwritten Tales - Deluxe Edition

I wanted to play an adventure and instead of grabbing Deponia I decided to go for this gem. Recently there has been the revolution of adventures and I quite like it! Especially this game has a great humor and many many references to pop culture. While the puzzles aren't too demanding their solution will still make you laugh a lot. I'd recommend playing this game without ever using the spacebar(it shows clickable items). Let's start with the gameplay! You will play as multiple characters while the story slowly unfolds. You can combine items in your inventory or with the environment. Also when having a dialogue with another character you can choose between multiple choices. All in all your classical adventure game, but very well done.

If you are a fan of adventure games or haven't played one in ages, then please go ahead and purchase this title it is worth every penny!

59

Boring, generic, short and has a weak story.

McDoenerKing | June 7, 2013 | Review of R.A.W: Realms of Ancient War

It is very linear in its gameplay. There isn't loot to grind, well there isn't much loot to begin with. You can only level up when the game wants you to. So if you get in a new area you will likely level up after 10 monsters and after that level up your experience bar won't change for the rest of the area. It offers coop which is only local, but at least I was able to sit through it in coop, because otherwise I would have left it in my library sleeping for thousand years. The story is hilarious but not because it tries to. For example you will slaughter the dwarven army and after killing the dwarf kings bodyguards following dialogue comes up: "I humbly ask for your guidance...." Quests are fun too. Once there was a closed door and a quest popped up about seaching the key. Here is the fun part the key was RIGHT beneath the door.

The good? I liked the skill tree, character design and liked its graphics.

Buy it if it is cheap and you're desperate or really love coop gameplay.

73

Some more polishing would have made this game good.

McDoenerKing | June 7, 2013 | Review of Krater

It is a squad-based hack'n'slash RPG. The customization is done well, you can individually build your characters by choosing boosters and implants. Also you can build your squad how you like it. Do you want three mutant healers? Just do it the sky is your limit.

The crafting system is very cool. You can buy some recipes, but most of them you have to find yourself and materials has to be found from enemies too. Some materials can be bought, but it is rather expensive.

The graphics is cool and the names of the characters are funny. This apocalyptic sweden is very atmospheric. I would recommend to manually edit the ini file to finetune the settings, because the ingame settings do not allow much tuning.

So what is so bad about krater? It is monotonous. Very monotonous. Why? You will fight most of the time the same enemies in the same settings. Rats and bears all game long. Also it is very easy, but sometimes an enemy pops up and just kills you. Since your characters do not learn any new skills, you are set in stone from the beginning gameplay wise.

I would recommend it when you have absolutely nothing else to play or want some mindless hack'n'slash.

78

Another good map pack.

McDoenerKing | June 6, 2013 | Review of Sanctum: Map Pack 2

You liked Sanctum? You want more? Then sir you are at the right address! The second map pack provides maps that actually challenge you to yet again use new tactics and coop some rounds. As DukePaul said in his review Corporation is a typical coop map. I tried it solo, but it was more stressful than fun but had a blast when two friends joined me. :) I think this map pack is more difficult than the first so it is aimed at the more hardcore sanctum fans. All in all you can't go wrong with this DLC if you are a fan of sanctum, especially if you have friends for coop.

76

A good map pack for a good game.

McDoenerKing | June 6, 2013 | Review of Sanctum: Map Pack 1

This map pack contains one of my favorite maps. There isn't much to say about this DLC:

If you want more Sanctum, get it!

I loved it and on cavern I've bitten my teeth off. The maps aren't just more of the same, because they encourage new tactics and have interesting layouts. I promise you: you won't feel cheated by getting this. I would recommend to get the other map pack also since the price is fair and it is a developer who listens to their customers.

75

It is similiar to Dungeon Keeper, but don't expect DK!

McDoenerKing | June 6, 2013 | Review of A Game of Dwarves

I bought it one late night and suddenly it was noon... what happened? I got addicted to this game! It has simple but yet good looking graphics. Its gameplay is easy to understand and is fun. Unlike DK, where you could only dig in one level, you are able to dig deeper into the ground more similiar to Dwarf Fortress. There are a lot of different rooms to be built and units to try out. So it never gets boring. The huge issue I have with the title is, that it is flooded with DLCs. Some DLCs are purchasable in online stores like GMG or Steam, but most of them are only available via their ingame store. Personally I'd say make your mind up if it is not against your principles. If not you got yourself a fun addictive game!

When reading comments about this game keep in mind, that most people expected a Dungeon Keeper or a Dwarf Fortress and are made that it isn't. So do not have false expectation and enjoy this game for what it is. ;)

90

Are there still people who have never played this title?

McDoenerKing | June 6, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

Even if you only remotely like RPGs, you have to play this game! It has a huge deeply atmospheric world, which will enchant you. It is a sandbox game with so many characters and stories, that you can't believe that you are "only" playing a computer game. The DLC will even enhance this world even more. So prepare to lose some lifetime for this title but it will be worth it. For gamers, who played previous titles, this game makes them look very very very small. Skyrim is the behemoth of RPGs, so go play it or don't call yourself a RPG-Gamer! ;) Oh and by the way if you now think it is all serious business trust me it isn't, because some quests are so hilarious, that you will fall off your chair laughing. :)

76

This is one of the best coop brawlers for the computer!

McDoenerKing | June 6, 2013 | Review of Kung Fu Strike: The Warrior's Rise

The gameplay is pretty simple you have two basic attacks, block, dodge roll and special attacks, but the execution is so flawlessly, that you will have great fun! It is just badass fighting lots of dudes and staying in the air because you keep stacking that combo for the whole level. The game isn't very innovative or has much variety, but what it does it does really well. I still keep playing it from time to time to unlock the last shop items and buying the last combo or just trying to beat some challenges I haven't beaten yet. It is quick and cheap fun so if you're in the mood to ruin some dudes day by fighting them grab this title and have a blast! For me this game has quick, but intense sessions and I never have the feeling that a session will be the last in the game. :)You can't go wrong at this price point with it.

65

Feels unfinished and rushed. :(

McDoenerKing | June 4, 2013 | Review of Frozen Hearth Capsule

It is one of the games you never heard of and pick it up cheap in retail. Then later at home after a couple of hours you will mourne about the lost money for years to come.

First you have to know that it tries to borrow too many gameplay mechanics from too many different games. Capturing for a bonus like in HoMM, RTS without building phase, lanes like in MOBAs and so forth. The interface looks like from a game from the early 2k's and the graphics feel kind of sterile.

The Good: It tries something new and is somewhat refreshing. The low price point lessen the fact that it needs some polishing, but maybe this game is lucky and the developer will support this game with a couple of patches to make it a round off experience. I like the character system, but wished there were a couple more characters to choose from. Every character plays differently so you may want to try out each character at some point. The campaign will entertain you long enough to say you got enough bang for your buck.

Try it if you have a friend and want a coop campaign or if you are a fan of dawn of war/company of heroes/dota/LoL/HoN. Do not expect too much, but the fact that they provide modding tools and are even on a site like moddb shows some promies for this small dev team. So show it some love if you got enough spare cash. It is unique so it won't appeal to everyone, keep that in mind when buying it. Sadly there is no demo as far as I know.

78

Never has a NDS port been this good.

McDoenerKing | June 4, 2013 | Review of Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes

It was initially released for the NDS and later ported to the pc, so I didn't really trust the game to begin with, but as I found out years later it was a big mistake. Here is why: This game is addictingly fun! I love puzzles now and then. Since I haven't played a puzzle game in recent time, I picked this title up while on sale and had a blast. The single player story is well told and the learning curve is very nice. Sometimes you will hit enemies you just can't beat and have to go fighting other enemies, but you want your revenge at some point! I promise! ;) The gameplay mechanics over really nice and different tactics depending on who you are facing. The different races and units are well done and offering nice abilities. I didn't like the leveling system much it felt a bit alienated though.

If you are on a dry road, when it comes to puzzle games, pick this game up and thank me later! Playing time is varying between 25-40 hours depending on your puzzle skills and number of sessions.

86

The dream of every HoMM3 fan!

McDoenerKing | June 4, 2013 | Review of Heroes of Might and Magic V

This game is gameplay wise almost the same as HoMM3. There are only few differences and you probably won't notice them. So what is the difference? The graphics of course! It has very good looking graphics and lovely designed characters and animations. Personally I fell in love with the art direction. Sadly the story telling isn't the best even for when it was released. When you couple this with the overall rather weak story, you will know the weakpoint of this title, but usually everyone plays skirmish after skirmish anyways so this isn't even a big problem to begin with.

I recommend this game with its addons to everyone, who loved HoMM3. It has good graphics, a lovely art direction and the gameplay of HoMM3. So grab it now! ;)

88

perfect casual puzzle

McDoenerKing | June 2, 2013 | Review of World of Goo

It got humor, simple but yet deep gameplay mechanics and enough levels to keep you busy, when you do not feel like playing one of the aaa titles!

I totally recommend to get this game for a weaker machine, which you might take with you while travelling. This game will even run on a netbook. :)

The gameplay is easy: Get the goo to the pipe and save as many as you can! How? By combining goos of course, but it is harder than it sounds, because almost every level introduces a new obstacle to master!

One level will consume about 2-5 minutes to complete depending on your puzzle solving skills. While I am at it: There is never only one solution! Most levels provide different paths to victory, some might not, but my feeling is that they're in the minority overall.

You take the train often? Get this game and taking the train was never this much fun! ;)

81

Interesting Hybrid.

McDoenerKing | June 1, 2013 | Review of Sanctum

I played this game mostly in singleplayer and still very much enjoyed it. At the first few sessions it was awkward to shoot at the waves, but the weakspots and behaviour of the different enemies make the shooting part the opposite of dull.

In this game you are encouraged to maze and it is very cheap to maze in this game. Also the tower are very different from each other and have their cons and pros going for them. Before each level you have to choose a set of weapons and towers. This is sometimes tricky and you will find yourself tweaking your builds and start evaluating your weapons and upgrade progression.

The graphics and animations are superb for an indie developer, although the artstyle won't suit everyone. I needed some time to get used to, but finally I thought it was a clean way to make gameplay mechanics more obvious e.g. weakspots.

In summary even if you can't find a coop buddy, grab it if you love TDs and do not mind the FPS part (although it is well done). This game is more TD than FPS so I'd rather recommend it to lovers of the TD genre. :)

90

Legend of a Game!

McDoenerKing | June 1, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Game of the Year Edition

This game was one of the best in its time and still is a pretty great game!

The atmosphere and the story this game provides is totally awesome but it is not easy to get into. If you loved Deus Ex: HR, you must play this title.

If you play this title, grab the new renderer and textures! It will make this game look much much better. If you have finished the main game already, you can start playing one of the two full conversion mods for Deus Ex. They are great too and very polished.

75

Shooter with some RPG elements.

McDoenerKing | June 1, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2

The game is a perfect match for coop players, but for singleplayer there is not much value in this title. The game has many funny jokes, but the actual gameplay never changes much after hitting level 5 and getting your only skill in the game. You will often laugh about the hilarious character this game offers and the content of the quests. Besides its humor it doesn't offer much gameplay wise. Here is why:

The gameplay never changes much until you can unlock one of the ultimate passives in the skill trees and the skill trees are filled with only passive skills, which is kind a boring. They improved the skill system from the first title by changing the use cases for the one skill you have based on the unlocked skills, but after all it is not much to really entertain someone for more than one playthrough. Another issue I have with this game is how it is only about grinding and I never heard from anybody having decent loot until level 20. Most of my friends and me found tons of pistols till level 20 and nothing else. This makes the game really a chore if you try to specialize, but using a pistol is better than using the preferred weapon type from which you only found one at much lower levels or even none so far.

The reason I wouldn't recommend it for singleplayer is because sometimes you will suddenly die, because in the next area enemies are that much stronger than before and mixing the various skills to your advantage is the biggest strength of this game.

I'd say grab it if you have a group of four and think twice if you want to play it alone. It isn't bad, but it isn't great either.

85

Pretty good game!

McDoenerKing | June 1, 2013 | Review of Rochard

I finished it in about 5hours and I enjoyed every second except the ending, but oh well they made it the way it is, because they want to make a sequel.

The Good: - the puzzles are great and often challenging - the combat is fun to and at later stages not too easy - lots of different mechanics for puzzles

The Bad: - the ending is abrupt - towards the end a bit too much combat - could have been a little longer

If you like plattformer and puzzle games this wil be a perfect match for you.

84

Best plattformer in years personally!

McDoenerKing | June 1, 2013 | Review of Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams

This game is very challenging at later levels, but due to the difficulty you get this feel of accomplishment I haven't experienced often in todays games.

The world changes whenever you switch the sisters and this works pretty pretty well. The game has a great atmosphere and good graphics.

The only negative things I have to say about this gem is that the options are only available outside of the game in the game launcher and some parts are just too brutally difficult for casual plattformers like me. ;)

If you call yourself a plattformer, then this game should already be in your game library! If not go grab it you will otherwise miss out something great!

66

Short and fun.

McDoenerKing | June 1, 2013 | Review of Fairy Bloom Freesia

There is not much to say about this game. You fight 15 or so levels in an arena and you have finished the game, but it got some replayability due to getting all upgrades and fun combo moves. There are only two game modes sadly: Story mode and Guardian mode.

Personally I found Guardian mode a bit too tough, but that is me.

Summary: If you need short fun with a arena brawler in cute graphics, pick it up. Otherwise you will not miss out much

72

First half great, but second half is tiresome!

McDoenerKing | June 1, 2013 | Review of Darksiders

While the first half is much fun, the second half will get you annoyed. For example the last dungeon will be almost the half of the game with annoying puzzles and reoccuring similiar puzzles. Then you have to go through the whole world again to find some pieces just to get to the final boss.

The combat is great and you can upgrade your combos and skills. The puzzles are nice, but not really challenging. The first boss will get you annoyed, because the controls are just messed up for the fight. Other than this boss I very much enjoyed the boss fights in this game.

I'd say grab it when you want some mindless H&S game with nice graphics.

70

The humor will make or break it for you!

McDoenerKing | June 1, 2013 | Review of Grotesque Tactics: Evil Heroes

This game only is fun if you like the humor of this game. While a friend of mine found the humor just annoying and begged me to close this game, I really enjoyed it for its humor. There is not much gameplay wise in this game. It is just joke after joke after guess it .... yes joke ;)

81

A change of pace from usual ARPGs

McDoenerKing | June 1, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

This game takes a different view on ARPG and performs very well doing so. It is very story driven and if you're not into story-based game this game might not be for you.

The Good: - the story is really well told - amazing art style and the world is building up as you go - great atmosphere - good combat mechanics - many different weapons - really good soundtrack with which you will fall in love

The Bad: - this game is rather short if you are only playing it for the story (there is a newgame+ mode)

All in all a great game and if you're into ARPG this game was made for you. (Do not expect a H&S game!)

80

Perfect match for couch coop'ing!

McDoenerKing | June 1, 2013 | Review of Trine

This game has it all for couch coop! Three entirely different characters, stunning graphics, fun puzzles and some nice combat.

The Good: - 3player couch coop - amazing graphics - nice physic puzzles

The Bad: - it is rather short if you do not try to get 100% for every level (there are about 15)

If you can grab it and play it with your friends! :)

73

A good game for a couch coop evening with friends.

McDoenerKing | May 28, 2013 | Review of Party of Sin

This game supports couch coop for up to 4players and I can't stress enough how much this game benefits from being played in multiplayer.

The Good: It has fun mechanics every sin plays mostly differently and you will soon have a favorite. The puzzles can be very tricky alone, but in coop there are lots of fun solutions for a given puzzle. You can buy upgrades for the different sins.

The Bad: Its animations are very choppy and the models have a very low poly count. The combat isn't too much fun until you figured out and mesmorized how to switch quickly between sins. The game is very short and it is completed in about 4hours, so it is a perfect match for a couch coop evening. There are sadly only two upgrades per sin.

Summary: All in all a friend of mine and me had a blast playing it, because we had lots of fun situations, where we did something stupid and just laughed. If you can see over its technical flaws in animation and graphics, this should be on your list for a couch coop evening.

84

A DLC that you want to buy!

McDoenerKing | May 28, 2013 | Review of Dungeon Siege 3: Treasures of the Sun

This is exactly what a good DLC should be like:

  • adding a story arc
  • more items
  • higher level cap
  • new areas, maps
  • add new mechanics

If you had fun with the main game, then this will be a perfect fit for you!

81

Same name, but different gameplay.

McDoenerKing | May 28, 2013 | Review of Dungeon Siege III

The third installment of Dungeon Siege is very different to its prequels in that it is strongly oriented to using a gamepad. This means that the typical gameplay of a Dungeon Siege title can't be found in this installment, but it is still a very good game for what it tries to accomplish.

The Good: The combat feels fluent and engaging, but you do not need to master the combat until you try a playthrough on hard mode. The menus are very good designed. You can go through them pretty fast and you find all the information you want to have. This also makes comparing your current equipment with found loot very easy. The character progression is quite straightforward and easy to understand. You gain per level up a skill point, which you can use to enhance one of your skills in one of the two possibilities and a point, which is used to level passive abilities. Another thing I genuinely enjoyed was the scenes you will visit. They look pretty good and give this game very much atmosphere. There is a lot of variety in the areas you will visit so it won't be boring to move forward. The cutscenes are very well done. I like this art style very much personally. There is an ingame help which you can view at any point to look up what certain stats and effects do.

The Bad: It is very straightforward. There is almost no exploring and thanks to quest arrow you won't need to think much. It is a bit too easy on normal except certain encounters. Only 2-player couch coop, although 4 would have been easily possible.

Summary: If you got two gamepads available and a friend, you will have a very good experience with this title. Just don't expect a Dungeon Siege 1 or 2 type of gameplay, because this game takes a new direction. I personally liked this title more than the previous two, because DS1+2 were very passive in its gameplay especially the first game, which essentially played itself.