Reviews by Mondu

82

An Old Classic

Mondu | Sept. 19, 2011 | Review of Sonic the Hedgehog CAP

This game is brilliant from the get-go. As it's an old game it feels old in the gameplay but the gameplay is still absolutely incredible. I much prefer the 2D 'speeding through the levels' Sonic than the current gen Sonic which plays in 3D and doesn't have the same feel of speed as the older games. The only downside is that the game can feel boring if you're not sure what to expect, each level is just you starting on the left and finishing on the right after lots of obstacles; much like many platformers of the time. It also feels like for most of the levels you can just hold down the fowards button and get to the end of the level without much opposition - aside from a few jumps or enemies. Great game nonetheless.

83

Not as Good as the Second

Mondu | Sept. 16, 2011 | Review of Assassins Creed Brotherhood

Personally I feel the 2nd game is the best out of the series, Brotherhood improves upon the model of Assassin's Creed but doesn't really feel like it adds anything new. The story is basic and not as indepth, which I found disappointing, Combat has been improved slightly but it is still easy as ever with the 2 button system for countering.

You can rennovate the districs in Italy in order to unlock new places of interest and shops which can sell specific items or give you quests to carry out - changing how the city looks with each rennovation you do. The newest addition is the assassin recruiting system, allowing you to recruit townsfolk once you save them from guards. Unfortunately I feel this could have been carried out in a more exciting way instead of dispatching a group of guards every time. You can then send these recruits to carry out missions and in time they will level up to become master assassins.

Overall, AC:BH is a brilliant game and one which shouldn't be missed. Well worth the price and one of the better games this generation.

80

Brilliant

Mondu | Sept. 16, 2011 | Review of Tomb Raider: Legend DNS

Legend is a truly great Tomb Raider game full of platforming, puzzles and combat. Animations are smooth but this is let down by the jumpy camera which will end up being the cause of many deaths, rather than the perilous traps. The controls can be a little difficult to get used to but after a few hours you will be playing the game with no difficulties at all. It definitely feels a lot more refined and polished than the previous games and isn't a title you should miss if you've played the others or if you are a Tomb Raider fan.

86

Even Better Than the First

Mondu | Sept. 16, 2011 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition

I loved the first game but after playing this I can see how much the game has improved. The story in AC2 is brilliant and engaging, offering more than just 'go kill this guy because we said so'. The story alone will take around 10 hours to complete, maybe more; and there's still all the exploration to do and collectables to find. The graphics look great and the architecture on the buildings really does make you feel like you're in Italy.

With many more additions compared to the first game there really is no reason for you to dislike this game if you enjoyed the first. This is definitely a game you don't want to miss!

43

Duked

Mondu | Sept. 16, 2011 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

Considering this game took over a decade to make it's a pretty terrible game. I imagine the only reason this game is selling is because of the Duke Nukem series name, once people actually play this game themselves they will be severely disappointed. The story is boring, cliche and predictable, which I suppose is to be expected as it's a Duke Nukem game, but it's not fun either. Everything feels same-y. Walk to point B from point A via a straight and linear path while shooting enemies and prattling off some obscene comment. This isn't the Duke we have been waiting for.

55

Unique But Boring

Mondu | Sept. 16, 2011 | Review of The Ball

I bought this game a while back and just haven't had the heart to play it since I tried it the first few times. It has you using a special gun to push and pull a large ball around the maps to complete puzzles in order to progress. Once hostile enemies got introduced into the game I started losing interest. The ball doesn't always react in the way you want it to or expect it to, so as soon as these enemies come along you will find yourself dying as the ball hasn't responded in the way you wanted it to. It's not a terrible game, the soundtrack is nice, graphics are good and the atmosphere suits your environment. But it feels a little bland and boring at times. Honestly, I feel this game would have been better if it was purely a puzzle game with all the enemies omitted.

66

Love Space - This Game... Not so Much

Mondu | Sept. 15, 2011 | Review of Space Station Sim

I find space fascinating so as soon as I saw this game I bought it. My love for this game is nowhere near as long as my love for space. It's not a terrible game but I did feel disappointed.

The game has you maintaining your space station and upgrading the parts in order to create the most efficient and effective space station for your astronauts. As well as monitoring essential supplies and crew behaviour.

It's a fun little game, especially for space enthusiasts and people wanting to learn about space station equipment and regulation, but don't expect a deep, long and engrossing game.

77

Quite Expensive

Mondu | Sept. 15, 2011 | Review of Railworks 3: The Northeast Corridor DLC

This expansion is a little expensive for what it is. I agree it's worth more than the other expansion packs as it adds a huge new environment as well as more trains, but £25 just for an expansion is very costly. If you've bought the full game or any other expansions you know what to expect - this offers hours more gameplay with miles of the Northeast Corridor railway lines.

There's not deny it's well made, detailed and a lot of fun to play but I feel the £25 price is a little too much for what's given. Buy this if you're knowing what to expect.

15

Waste of Money

Mondu | Sept. 15, 2011 | Review of JoJo's Fashion Show

I bought this game for my little sister who proceeded to spend 1 hour playing at get bored. The story is terrible and nonexistant and the constant dressing up of models is boring and repetative rather than something which should be fun.

The £10 price is absolutely ridiculous considering the game plays exactly like the hundreds of other dress-up games you can find for free on the internet - not to mention it even looks and plays worse than those free games. Avoid this game at all costs.

74

Great Game

Mondu | Sept. 15, 2011 | Review of Combat Wings

This game is a lot of fun whether you play singleplayer or multiplayer, dog fights in the air certainly are something you don't see in a lot of games.

It's a thrill to shoot down a plane and fly though the explosion you have created - gameplay itself is smooth and feels fairly natural on a keyboard but it may take a while to get used to it. The difficulty is a little questionable, even on the hardest difficulty the game isn't too challenging.

It's a lot of fun for a small pricetag.

69

Weirdly Fun

Mondu | Sept. 15, 2011 | Review of High School Dreams

I bought this game for my girlfriend as a joke, it actually turned out to be pretty enjoyable and worth the money. The game has you completing lots of minigames, going to the shops, dressing up in outfits and trying to impress boys - all the typical teenage girl pasttimes.

Dialogue feels like a cliche American highschool movie most of the time but there are moments which are genuinely funny and will give you a smile. The graphics may not be great and are more like something you would expect on the internet but the gameplay itself is fun. This game may not be everyones cup of tea but definitely don't diss it just from how it appears.

86

Brilliant With Friends

Mondu | Sept. 14, 2011 | Review of Killing Floor

Originally, I bought this on Steam during one of the indie bundle packs. It was a game I wasn't very interested in but I had heard good things about it, and soon after I had played I could see where the praise was coming from. The game itself is quite limited with only one game mode - waves of monsters. But it can keep you playing for hours at a time and with friends the experience is even more enjoyable.

The guns feel and work brilliantly (grenades are another story however) and you will be able to distinguish between each unique enemy in no time, each with their own special abilities. The graphics aren't great but this is forgiven as it's originally a mod and the fast-paced gameplay makes up for this fact. With several difficulties the challenge can appeal to any FPS gamer - whether you play FPS games religiously or if you are a beginner.

Definitely worth the purchase but only if you plan to play with friends. Alone the game can be very boring and you will either have to play by yourself or with strangers.

96

Excellence

Mondu | Sept. 13, 2011 | Review of Red Orchestra 2: Heroes of Stalingrad

After playing the beta I can say this game is absolutely incredible and worth more than the £21 price tag. RO2 is miles more realistic than most shooters in the market right now. Run and gun gameplay is pretty much non-existant; instead you will want to be working with your team, strategising and thinking up tactics. Something rarely seen in multiplayer FPS's now.

The guns feel great to use, each having their own unique feel and realistic to their WW2 counterparts. It's the little things which make this game great. (Such as sniper rifle scopes working realistically and characters reacting to gunshot wounds.) The realism of the game can make it quite challenging when playing, this just leads to even more satisfaction each time you get a kill and a feeling of accomplishment

If you're a fan of multiplayer shooters then I wholeheartedly recommend you to pick this game up, it's cheap and will give you hours of fun.

70

Nothing To Lose

Mondu | Sept. 12, 2011 | Review of Rift - Free Trial

With a free trial you really have nothing to lose (aside from a HDD space and some time). Rift may not be the mmo for everybody and so this free trial is perfect for you to decide whether you like the game and are willing to buy the full game and pay the monthly subscription fee. Overall, Rift is a nice MMO but it could use a little polish, something I'm sure the developers are aware of and look to fix in the future.

50

MMO for Young Children

Mondu | Sept. 12, 2011 | Review of City of Heroes: Going Rogue Complete Collection

This MMO isn't for the hardcore gamers out there, more for their sons or daughters or someone new to the MMO experience and wants something relaxing. City of Heroes offers a hero/villian experience in which your character is able to make their own decisions. The graphics aren't exactly pretty, more like from something you would expect 5+ years ago and the gameplay isn't very engaging but it's not terrible for someone new to the MMO genre to try. Just don't expect to be playing this for months on end.

The environments aren't varied so you will soon get bored of seeing the same buildings over and over as you fight enemies in the grey jungle of the cities. £20 is not a bad price to pay for the game on top of all the extra content and expansion but I don't feel this price is justifiable on top of the monthly subscription fee.

I would recommended people to buy this game should it be for a small child, but even then you would probably get more moneys worth from buying different games or even allowing them to play the more 'grown-up' mmos with your guidance.

95

Best Pc Game of All Time?

Mondu | Sept. 12, 2011 | Review of Deus Ex: Game of the Year Edition DNS

Some regard Deus Ex as the best pc game of all time, mixing open level design with stealth gameplay and shooting. While the graphics look old now (and they were even a little behind the era when it was released) the fun gameplay makes up for this and once immersed in the game you will soon forget the hinderance of the graphics. The story is great and engrossing and will give you hours of gameplay with many different ways to play- stealth or guns blazing, it's up to you. Definitely a classic none should miss and one of the greatest pc games ever created.

78

Easy To Pickup

Mondu | Sept. 11, 2011 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

The whole menu and controls are easy to pickup even if you haven't played this type of game before. With tutorials and tips this really is a game you won't feel intimidated by and is perfect for someone new to the series or someone who is returning.

Graphics are nice to look at and the game will run on fairly old machines. The only downside is that sometimes the game can feel fairly unbalanced, but this has been addressed with lots of patches. Depending on your stance on DLCs; there are plenty to buy for this game, each offering something new and all are vastly different.

While maybe not as great as the previous games, Civ 5 still offers a lot of gameplay and is very enjoyable for the amount it costs.

51

Tired of Driving IRL? Try Driving Ingame!

Mondu | Sept. 3, 2011 | Review of Euro Truck Simulator Gold cap

As mentioned in the details, the locations are fairly realistic and it's nice to drive the roads found in Europe, seeing the landmarks ingame; but ultimately it becomes boring as you're doing nothing but a second job and not getting paid for it. The graphics at times can look beautiful which is partly down to the fact that it's fun to see the landmarks known IRL, but at other times they can look horrible compared to other areas. The world is pretty big too, which is understandable as you're driving around Europe, but a lot of the time the roads will be blocked and you wont be able to go down them. But this is a game so I understand the limitations.

Maybe not worth the full price but this could be a game you would enjoy if you can't drive IRL.

38

Basic and Fun

Mondu | Sept. 3, 2011 | Review of Create Your Own Model Railway Deluxe Edition

Create Your Own Model Railway is your generic train simulation game allowing you to create your very own railway to your liking; adding turns and multiple tracks through basic landscapes and towns you design. The game is more restricted and simple than other train simulators and feels more like it was designed for those who wish to have a model trainset at home but are unable to.

Unfortunately the variety is very limited. Only a small selection of sounds are used and so I quickly found myself turning the sound off rather than listening to the same train noises over and over. The graphics aren't great but they aren't terrible either, there's something about them which makes them friendly and warm. If I was to improve the game I would add more DLC to provide different types of trains and add modding tools so users can help create content. It's a shame the game lacks both of these things.

It's not a bad game by any strech but I don't believe the £10 is justifiable. It's a fun game while it lasts but it can become boring quick.

34

Unique. But Ultimately, Why?

Mondu | Sept. 3, 2011 | Review of Bungee Jumping Simulator

The gameplay is unique to say the least (and I won't be surprised if this is the only Bungee Jump simulator to exist) but the game becomes dull fast. Not really much of a simulator due to the fact its not realistic, it has you trying to get combo points as you fall in a manner such as diving in a pool. The environment varients offer no defining eyecandy and you will be so focused on your character that you won't notice anyway. Fun for about 5 minutes.

40

Typical MMO

Mondu | Sept. 3, 2011 | Review of Aion: Assault on Balaurea

This MMO still follows the growingly outdated model of grinding, grinding and more grinding. So much so that you MUST level on mobs for a few levels as there is not enought quests overall.No doubt you will get bored within a few weeks should you be new to the MMO experience or an MMO veteran. Graphics have been updated so they look better than before and you get new dungeons to run and new zones to explore - everything you would expect from an expansion. Armour becomes even more skimpy on the females and a 'summer clothes' pack has been added recently, allowing you to dress your character in bikinis and tight speedos. Why this has been added to an MMO, I had no idea. Despite the fact that this is an MMO and you're told you can go anywhere, invisible walls completely litter the place; preventing you from getting to that beautiful scenery you can see.

Aion offers nothing more than your typical Asian MMO. Grinding for hours for little reward and titillating action for horny teens. There are better MMO's out there.

55

Doesn't Deserve the 'Splinter Cell' Title

Mondu | Sept. 3, 2011 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction

For starters, this looks, feels and plays NOTHING like the previous Splinter Cell games. Stealth plays a minimal part in what should be a stealth game. Instead it's gone from stealth to action, rewarding you for fighting your enemies head-on. In all honestly it seemed like Ubisoft had tried to reach out to other gaming audiences to rake in a bigger profit while completely shafting the lovers of the original franchise.

The game itself is not bad if you aren't expecting the traditional Splinter Cell, the action is fast paced and will make you feel like a badass - but the older elements such as stealth and shadow play have been thrown out the window and a new game has been remade from the leftovers.

You probably would enjoy this game, just don't go expecting a Splinter Cell game. The reason I am rating this harsly is the fact that the game I played is not Splinter Cell, no matter what it's title says.

85

A Man Choose. A Slave Obeys

Mondu | Sept. 3, 2011 | Review of BioShock DNS

Bioshock is a great single-player experience, offering unique gameplay through the use of plasmids and a strong storyline full of memorable moments. The main story is compelling on it's own, but coupled with the finding of casette tapes you unlock more of the mysteries and gain a better understanding of others and yourself in the process.

The gunplay is everything you would expect from an FPS but combined with the use of plasmids it really feels like you are playing something special. The only downside is that you can't use your gun and plasmids at the same time, something which was rectified in the sequel.

My only other gripe with the game is the fact that you spend the game in a vast, atlantis style city but you never really feel the thread of the sea around you. Everything takes place indoors and you might as well forget the fact that you are even underwater. The rest of the game plays like a charm. Enemies can be cunning and challenging and you will be wanting to keep a close eye on your ammo. Characters are often memorable with their mannerisms and dialogue.

So, would you kindly, please purchase this gem of a game.

46

Fun With Friends

Mondu | Sept. 2, 2011 | Review of Rift

If you plan on getting this game then try to rope one of your friends in too. This MMO offers nothing new to the MMORPG experience and nothing feels polished in the game. Questing is dull and monotonous, PvP is skilless and spam-y, dungeons are boring with no real memorable parts and the zones are fairly uninspired. Even with friends the game will feel particularly dull and you will require your banter to make the game somewhat fun.

The game offers no fun in a single-player experience. (Which is fair enough as it's an MMO). But if you want to continue playing when your friends log off, the enjoyment from the game plummets to rockbottom as you see how lifeless and unpolished the game really is.

It's one of the better MMO's out on the market but it's still not a satisfying game and a lot could be improved. Don't expect anything original; it uses mechanics from other MMO's such as WoW and WaR, but even these mechanics feel broken and underdeveloped.

49

Could Have Been Incredible

Mondu | Sept. 2, 2011 | Review of From Dust

I bought this game expecting a lot and receiving very little. What looked to be like a fun god game turned out to be nothing more than a terrible console port with mediocre gameplay.

You control the very land around you, forming gullys and mountains, digging trenches and controlling the very flow of water. You have the power to shape the world to your imagination, much like how a game developer would create the environment in many other games you play. So this begs the question, why on earth are the pc controls vastly inferior to using a gamepad? This blatent console port leaves controlling with the mouse counter-intuitive, no options at all to change video settings and runs poorly should you try to play using a pc which has the 'recommended' settings or below.

I did enjoy playing the game despite all of this but it was nothing more than cheap entertainment for a few hours. Even the term 'cheap' is being a little too generous to this underwhelming and rushed feeling game. On top of all this, Ubisoft lied about the DRM and is slowly helping to kill the pc gaming industry for legitimate buyers such as ourselves. Save your money and buy something else. If you really want the game then wait for it to go on sale.

79

Tonnes of Fun With Friends

Mondu | Sept. 2, 2011 | Review of Magicka

When I first tried the demo I wasn't blown away and felt like I couldn't justify the price tag, however, after buying the full game and playing with a group of friends I realised I couldn't have been more wrong.

By yourself the game is nothing special, but the game wasn't built with single player in mind. With friends the game is a blast. Lasting about 6 hours or so; you will find yourself questioning where your loyalties lie as your friend kills you for the tenth time, teaming up to take down large bosses and laughing a lot at the jokes and fun multiplayer gameplay.

If you were planning to get this game then I definitely recommend trying to convince your friends to do the same. You will enjoy it a hundred times more if you play through together.

55

Could Have Been Great

Mondu | Sept. 2, 2011 | Review of Sanctum

As someone who can spend hours on free, flash based tower defence games I was looking foward to this title - an interesting mix of tower defence and FPS. In reality I was severely disappointed.

Gameplay became dull and monotonous fast and, while the scenery is colourful and nice to look at, there are only a few maps to choose from. Zooming down your scopes for the umpteenth time on only a small handful of varied enemies makes it feel like the beautiful scenery has been done for nothing.

Personally I would only recommend this title if you are to play with friends or if you are a megafan of tower defence and FPS games, otherwise save your money.

95

Requiescat In Pace

Mondu | Sept. 2, 2011 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2

It's hard to describe this game without coming off as a fanboy. Assassin's Creed 2 is top contender for my favourite game of all time. Vastly improving upon its predecessor, AC2 starts the story of the young Florintine named Ezio. While the first game only focused on a few years of Altair's life, this game starts when Ezio is barely a man and finishes when he is late into his adulthood - many events take place which change his life forever and actually make you feel for the character.

The story is gripping and compelling with many turn of events and you will find yourself assassinating your targets in varied ways. Something the first game lacked. Combat is still fairly simple and easy in the fact that you still wait for your opponents to attack, then counter for an instant kill; but with a larger plethora of weapons (you can buy and exchange weapons this time round) you most likely won't get bored of the combat by the end of the game.

If you bought the first game and were unsure about getting this game then I heartily recommend that you do. AC1 is nothing more than a diamond in the rough compared to this immaculate jewel. AC2 is a game packed with fun and should last you many hours.

63

Buy If You're Starting the Series

Mondu | Sept. 2, 2011 | Review of Assassins Creed

Assassin's Creed has got to be my favourite new games series to date. Unique gameplay has you assassinating targets Splinter Cell style, scaling buildings and free-running much like in Mirror's Edge(albeit with the option to go free roaming through the cities). The game feels and plays like one-of-a-kind.

As the first game in the series there are undoubtedly flaws, it acted as a testing ground to see if this concept of game would be popular and, at the time of release, these flaws could be overlooked due to the never before seen style of gameplay.

There's no doubt that I love this game and so you may wonder why my score seems particulary low; in hindsight now that the series has progressed it becomes more glaringly obvious how this game understandably falls short of it's successors. Mission types are few and most will just have you using your hidden blade to take out your target, each will first begin with collecting information from informants in the way of eavesdropping and pickpocketing - tasks which become menial by the end of the game as you wish you could be doing something more varied. Weapons consist of a series of different blades which all work in the same way and a small handful of throwing knives, meaning combat becomes more monotonous to look at and experience.

The free-running is what makes the game great. You could spend hours and hours just scaling every building and running across the rooftops in each city, as well as searching for tougher enemies, named the templar knights, scattered and hidden throughout the game. The story itself is pretty lackluster compared to the later games, consisting of nothing more than 'go kill X and once you get back go kill Y'. Altair never really develops as a person, only in the metagame does he become less bashful and more respectful; which is a shame as he could have been fleshed out more and developed past the point of being more than a solitary character.

Assassin's Creed 1 is not a terrible game by any means, the potential wasted in this title has been brought into the later Assassin's Creed games, but it leaves a lot to be desired and don't be surprised if you feel a little let down. I would recommend buying this game should you want to know what happens 'pre-ezio' or if you are starting the series - so once you get to the later games you can look back and see how much the series has improved and developed.

92

Incredible

Mondu | Sept. 2, 2011 | Review of Hitman: Blood Money Capsule

Hitman is a game like no other. Offering a unique stealth experience you will be faced with several different ways to finish each objective and there's no denying that you will be changing your tactics after several deaths after trying another method. The game is challenging, but once you finally workout a fool-proof plan, you will be satisfied as each piece of the puzzle falls into place and you relish the feeling as you finish the mission - novice turned master assassin.

The story is engrossing, the gameplay is fun and you will more than likely play through the missions several times trying alternate routes or trying to get through even more smoothly than before.

Hitman: Blood Money is a game which should be in everyones game library.

69

Brilliant Story, Lackluster Gameplay and Length

Mondu | Sept. 2, 2011 | Review of Mafia II dns

Right off the bat I will say that Mafia 2 has one of my favourite game stories out of everything I've played. While I admit that games fall far behind the brilliance of older mediums of literature, Mafia 2's story kept me captivated from beginning to end and I would find myself playing for hours on end just because I was so immersed in the story. Is the story a cliche mafia tale with parts taken from The Godfather movies? Sure. But did I enjoy it? Hell yes I did and I would definitely recommend this game to those of you who enjoy decent stories in the games you play.

Gameplay wise it falls short. I'm not a big fan of shooters so I feel the amount of gunplay in the game was perfect; but I understand that as a title focused around the mafia, people will be expecting a lot more gun fights for the amount which are ingame. Even I was a little surprised at the lack of it. Missions will have you doing all sorts of things you can imagine the mafia doing - stealing, fencing stolen goods, stealing cars, taking down the bad guys. But be prepared to spend the majority of your time driving as this is what nearly every mission will entail and if this is your idea of fun gameplay then expect to be thoroughly sick of driving by the end.

The game in itself is very short, lasting 7 or so hours if you're lucky, and after reading initial plans I was disappointed in the amount of content which was cut. With almost limitless mafia mission ideas it was a shame that there wasn't more variability with tons more missions to make the game longer. Robbing a bank had been one of the larger missions which was ultimately cut from the game.

I would recommend this game to anyone who was interested but I would also suggest not expecting too much from it. If I hadn't enjoyed the story as much as I did, I would be singing a slightly different tune about the game overall.

77

Super Frustrating, Incredibly Satisfying

Mondu | Sept. 1, 2011 | Review of Super Meat Boy

Super Meat Boy is one of those indie gems which appear every now and then. I like to think this game is a tribute to the old school platformers where skill will ultimately see you through to the end - no handholding in this game.

With over 100 levels the game gives you a handful of quick, simple levels to allow you to get a basic grasp of how the game works, then drops you in at the deep end and waits for you at the finish. You will be completing this game alone, nothing and noone will help you.

Each level is neatly made and has nice scenery with various landscapes and the majority will leave you grinding your teeth and pulling out your hair. Saying this game is challenging is an understatement. Be prepared to die. A lot. Be prepared to start levels over and over due to stupid mistakes. When you do completely a hard level, after what could be hours of trying, the satisfaction and feeling of accomplishment you get will be tremendous. All the feelings on rage and frustration will be gone as you bask in the happiness you previously thought you would never feel.

If you want a challenge or wish to play a game which will give you overwhelming feelings of frustration and satisfaction, this is the game for you. Oh, and buy a gamepad. Trust me.

88

Deus Ex - An Augmented Review

Mondu | Sept. 1, 2011 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

A worthy successor to the first game which filled many gamers 'Top 10 Games of All Time' lists.

While it may not be seen to be as great at the first game it still holds its head high and alone offers an epic experience miles ahead of other modern day games. With numerous ways to play each mission you will find yourself replaying missions for hours on end to find rooms and routes which previously you may not have found.

I myself played as a pacifist, opting out of head-on combat and instead using stealth to my advantage; this was not only fun but also challenging, meaning life or death should I get caught - something many games seem to miss nowadays. However, by playing this way I was able to see that the stealth approach seems to be the way the game wants you to play (despite offering many different ways for you to complete your objectives). But I could be wrong on that front as I haven't tried run-and-gun as of yet.

Graphics are slightly sub-par but won't distract you from your immersion and are only slightly worse than today's high(?) standards, and really they only seem to be at fault when looking at the faces of non-important characters. Anyone who is a fan of the original Deus Ex shouldn't be put off by this fact anyway.

All together this title will give you 20+ hours of gameplay just from one single playthrough and then you still have the option to play again to experience the game in a different way. It's well worth the £30 price tag in my opinion.

79

Open World Brilliance

Mondu | Aug. 21, 2011 | Review of Just Cause 2

Just Cause 2 is one of those games you can pick up and play for hours at a time or simply for a short period thanks to the fact that there is always something to do in the game fitting for any time span you may have.

While the main storyline is almost non-existant and particulary weak this is something which can be easily overlooked due to the immense amounts of fun you are having purely from transversing over the island, blowing up huge structures and carrying out sidemissions such as eliminating enemy gang leaders. However, as expected, this can get repetative as you drive from district to district blowing the same things up over and over again while shooting your way through a seemingly endless wave of enemies - even with the vastly different environments and huge island to explore. And when I say huge I really do mean HUGE; Just Cause 2 bolsters one of the largest maps in all games and can take you minutes to fly from one side of the island to the other using a jet plane, as well as the fact that every single part of the island is open and reachable. Free-roaming the island will give you many hours of gameplay alone (if that is what interests you.)

All in all, Just Cause 2 is worth a purchase should you have some money spare or are looking for a new game to occupy for a moderate amount of time. Personally I've clocked over 15 hours of gameplay and still have much more to finish.