Reviews by MorphineBear

90

Surprised how fun this is

MorphineBear | Feb. 17, 2013 | Review of iBomber Defense Pacific

Normally I doubt playing tower defense games because they're normally bad quality and so plain. This game is different. The game quality and graphics alone differentiate this from those flash games. Gameplay is smooth and clean. Plenty of turrets to use (and upgrades) so there are a couple ways to beat each level but still require a large strategic level of thinking. It's also worth noting that levels get progressively harder so you can't just stack what you think is the best.

For a tower defense game, this is one of the best.

65

It's not too different than the other tower defense games except

MorphineBear | Jan. 19, 2013 | Review of Unstoppable Gorg

a couple of features. You can move towers around because the enemies will change courses etc. It's more tedious than the other TD games you can find online because you have to pay attention to what you're doing.

Other TD games (almost all) allow you to just start the next wave and watch the enemies die, this however requires you to constantly stay and control your towers.

With that said, I don't think this is worth the $9.99 price. A proper value would be $1.99 to $4.99.

88

Think of it like a comic-style video game

MorphineBear | Jan. 17, 2013 | Review of Borderlands Game of the Year Edition dns

This game is fun on many levels. I like the way that the game looks very much like a comic book. There are heavy outlines and sort of a "scratchy" feeling.

Even on a "bad" PC, this game runs decently well (well better than other games). It's also on sale quite often. Buy it.

90

One of the best games of 2005?

MorphineBear | Dec. 30, 2012 | Review of F.E.A.R -

It's scary, a bit challenging, and a whole lot of fun. Unlike many games out there, there's an actual storyline to follow.

I would call it the scary version of Half Life 2 (FEAR seems to copy HL a lot).

It's definitely a good purchase if you don't mind the outdated graphics and high similarity to the Half Life series.

Some small things that bother me: - High recoil of guns - A couple more controls that is more than comfortable (it's uncomfortable) - Some areas are impossible to get out of (some holes in the ground with no way out so you have to restart from the last checkpoint)

45

Should I expect more from an indie game?

MorphineBear | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Frozen Synapse DNS

During the short while I played this game, I was horribly confused. There were buttons everywhere and even the tutorial was confusing. Just the tutorial itself got me bored of playing. It is an indie game afterall, so I could be biased since I had high expectations from a game that retails twenty dollars. It's completely overpriced, I think, and should really cost in the seven to fifteen range.

It's more of a "Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell" TBS title than any other. There's no action scenes or serious espionage.

70

A difficult start

MorphineBear | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Red Orchestra 2: Heroes of Stalingrad

I had a really rough start with this game. I couldn't get myself to familiarize the controls, let alone the sniper's sights. There's the sniper scope and then there's the iron sights which is ridiculous. In the boot camp/tutorial, it took me forever to shoot out the very first targets because of the distance and use of sights.

I look over the that problem, there really isn't any other negatives. There's a cover system that I enjoyed using (this was my first PC game with a cover) and really adds to the game style.

I'm beginning to believe that all Tripwire Interactive games have some minor flaw. Very good games (Killing Floor) but contains problems that shouldn't be there.

88

This sets a fairly high standard on sandbox games

MorphineBear | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third dns

I want to describe it as the obvious "Grand theft auto-esque game" but that wouldn't cover it all. There's kicking, punching, dildo-ing, too much to count madness. Cutscenes are somewhat interesting.

An open sandbox has never been so... fun? No duh.

Requires a somewhat decent (meaning good) PC to run without frame rates dropping down to 2.

This game also goes on sale pretty darn often, which doesn't really make sense because it's been released for just over a year. Hopefully this has nothing to do with THQ going bankrupt, nonetheless, take the time to pick up this great game. Sale price is usually <$10!

75

A new way to play music and game

MorphineBear | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Beat Hazard

One of the comments above describes it as "not a ordinary Asteroids-like game." I agree fully.

The game runs primarily on your music choice so you can have many different choices for levels.

One problem that I really, really hate is the flashes. During the game and menu screens, all of that, you have the flashing and exploding in the background. You can lower the amount, but it's still blinding. After an hour or two of playing, I was forced to stop because it's hard on the eyes. Plus, this adds to the challenge of actually seeing where the other enemies are.

90

It's like a brand new way of playing

MorphineBear | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year -

This game is one of the best I've seen, visually and gameplay wise. The attack styles are near-perfect and combos are easy to connect. The story is decent and even the voice acting is pretty darn good.

I'm really not surprised that this game has scored well with other game critics.

There are some small glitches that don't affect the game but make some scenes look weird. Nonetheless, a very, very good game.

36

On the PC, this is just bad

MorphineBear | Dec. 22, 2012 | Review of Midnight Club II DNS

It's an okay racing game, but overall not good.

There are times when the other racers would completely beat you (going much faster than they should) and you'll end up losing many, many races. Turning can be a b#@$% and it'll often get you to last place if you slam into one building. On that note, turning at the wrong street will get you last as well.

Save yourself the cash and don't buy this game.

80

It's a decent RTS

MorphineBear | Dec. 22, 2012 | Review of Company of Heroes THQ

I've played a lot of RTS games in my day, mostly Starcraft and Warcraft (which are some of my all time favorites for games) so this game is probably outshadowed by a whole lot.

The game play can be a bit odd, because it was so different than those "-crafts" and it's hard to understand the controls. Sometimes you'll forget a key and then you're out of luck.

The levels on the otherhand are really well thought out. There are AIs that come out from hidden areas and vehicles you need to destroy with mines and grenades... there's more to it than just clicking Attack.

70

Horror at its best.

MorphineBear | Dec. 22, 2012 | Review of Dead Space (NA) DNS

It's one of the best horror games I have ever played, mainly due to its use of over the shoulder 3rd person shooting. There's an amazing plot and has great use of effects around the character.

There are some problems that really suck. It's (in a sense) made too realistic by limiting the amount of ammo in the game. What I mean is, once you're out of ammo, you're literally out of ammo. You cannot get anymore and you have to start over. There's one level (the asteroid one) where you have to shoot multiple asteroids in the sky before hitting you and it's extremely hard.

You're going to want a good PC to play or you're going to have a bad time [with mouse sync].

60

Could have been much, much better...

MorphineBear | Dec. 22, 2012 | Review of Call of Duty: Black Ops

I don't understand why they had to make a new series of Call of Duty.

The single player is decent, but really short. The multiplayer is in a sense an improvement from Modern Warfare 2 (Yes, I'm comparing it to that) but a hit-and-miss with weapon changes.

It requires a much higher end PC to play than MW2.

On the upside, there's the release of a better Zombie mode. Same as World at War's but just "better".

It's not worth $60.

80

Fun shooter

MorphineBear | Dec. 22, 2012 | Review of Killing Floor

It's like Black Ops zombies but much more strategy based. There are plenty of guns to choose from as well as 6 different classes to build upon.

It's annoying how you can't jump over small objects and there's only a few voice dialogues. Plus there's no running (but that's not really a problem).

All the achievements are based on beating levels on specific difficulties.

70

It's a Popcap classic

MorphineBear | Dec. 22, 2012 | Review of Plants vs Zombies Game of the Year Edition (NA) dns

Plants Vs. Zombies has been around for many years and has a cult following. It's very simple: you're a plant and you build defenses against the zombies. There are plenty of plants to choose from and different game styles. Play on the ground, water or roof. You can play as the zombies and much, much more.

It's a must have at the price.

It will definitely get boring after the first playthrough, so make sure you play through the minigames, etc before uninstalling!

90

Ronimo has done it again!

MorphineBear | Dec. 22, 2012 | Review of Swords and Soldiers

I played this on my friend's PS3 and I was able to get this game on PC. My god, it's amazing. It has humor and strategy all mixed into one.

Definitely a must have if you're a fan of games like Age of War on Addictinggames.

The only down side is the replay value. Once you finish the game, there isn't much playing, unless you want to do multiplayer. But multiplayer is the same exact thing as single player (except you're not playing against an AI!).

Included is 3 minigames which is fun, but hard.

60

Terrible port

MorphineBear | Dec. 22, 2012 | Review of Sonic CD

It's the same exact controls as you would expect. Jump and move.

But there's major problems. You can't change the controls (and you can't tell which key controls jump). In the options, you see a picture of an Xbox controller which makes no freaking sense.

If you're feeling nostalgic, this is definitely a good buy for the price.

70

Bit of good and bad

MorphineBear | Dec. 22, 2012 | Review of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 brings up old a new themes into the game. New guns, new maps, generally a new style... but not entirely. It has the same basic gameplay, wait. Actually, the exact same gameplay as Modern Warfare. Don't get me wrong, it's fun but as other has said, it's merely a "1.5" version of Modern Warfare.

There's something wrong with the multiplayer matchmaking and it's probably never going to be fixed. Games are extremely hard to get into and there's no "pick which server you want" type of connecting.

Word of advice: stick to the console version.