Reviews by Mscigniew

100

The fighter i was waiting for

Mscigniew | April 8, 2014 | Review of Injustice: Gods Among Us - Ultimate Edition

Its currently the best fighting game available for PC.

If you played Mortal Kombat imagine that, but with DC Superheroes! The game is brilliant, very brutal, but bloodless. Every arena consists of couple of hidden passages to another arena, which makes every single fight much more interesting.

Single player campaign has a great story, that really surprised me being one of the best story involving JLA ever. I highly recommend Injustice.

70

Did not met the Expectations

Mscigniew | Jan. 24, 2014 | Review of Deus Ex: Invisible War

Invisible War is a second tittle in Deus Ex series,sadly it didn't rise the weight of first Deus Ex.Character development is simplified compared to the first game,which is a flaw...enemies aren't as challenging as well.

The strong part of the game is its story,not as great but good and kept me in front of the monitor.Graphics...hmmm for some reason,even that their newer than the first game didn't stand their ground against the time.To summarize Invisible war is decent just not as good as the first Deus Ex,although if you enjoyed first game you might somewhat like it.

60

Old SQL Fighter

Mscigniew | Jan. 24, 2014 | Review of Guilty Gear Isuka

Guilty Gear Isuka is the newest tittle in the Guilty Gear series(aint the most fresh fruit out there),which is a series of 2D fighting games.Guilty Gear has some unique challengers,as it is Japanese game,its strongly influenced by Anime,so don't be surprised to see cute demon girls,huge swords and such.The drawn graphics ain't anything special,controls are easy to play but it takes time to master all the characters.For me the whole series is medium in quality and Isuka does not stand out.Grab it if you like fighting games,theres not a lot of em on PC.

98

GTA Hong Kong

Mscigniew | Jan. 23, 2014 | Review of Sleeping Dogs Digital Edition

Sleeping Dogs is a GTA - like sandbox game taking place in Hong Kong.You play as an undercover police officer,on a quest to bring down the triads.Story is an action packed,wild ride through the streets and underground world of Hong Kong.If you ever liked John Woos movies,you definitely gonna like the atmosphere of the game.Theres plenty of funny easter eggs,bringing old Hong Kong movies to mind.Character customization could have been a lil better,cause its limited to outfits and jewellery. Fighting and shooting are very well done,as you lvl up and progress with the story you learn new skills and fighting moves,that comes in handy on your adventure.Overall the game is very good,worth attention and I cant really find any serious flaws in it.

60

Just a Re-Release

Mscigniew | Jan. 21, 2014 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VIII

Thats exactly what FFVIII is...Personally I am disappointed with it.It was a great game back in the day,but at the moment you can spend 10£ on something...well more fresh.Its still a piece of great J-RPG but everything in the game is outdated,graphics,sounds,controls...Get it only if your sentimental about it,or are into old sql games,otherwise take The Last Remnant.

80

Enter the Dragon

Mscigniew | Jan. 21, 2014 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Zodiac Tournament

Zodiac tournament is a DLC for Sleeping Dogs,its based on the movie with Bruce Lee titled Enter The Dragon.Dlc is fun theres mostly fighting in it,like in the movie you take part in a martial arts tournament taking place on an island.this DLC also includes new clothing set,and new fighting moves.Its fun DLC and worth the price.

85

Heart of Darkness

Mscigniew | Jan. 17, 2014 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line

Spec Ops : The Line ,is a game inspired by the book "heart of Darkness" by Joseph Conrad and boy the screenwriters did their homework.The surreal,dark atmosphere is all over this game.The action takes place in Dubai,you and 2 of your men are send as a rescue mission,which shortly becomes a journey into your own heart...your own darkness.There are no easy choices in this game,whenever presented with a choice you gonna feel the weight of the consequences.The story is powerful,along with the graphics it makes a very suggestive combination so I recommend it only to more mature gamers.As for the gameplay its fun and satisfying,the game forces you to be a bit of a tactician on a battlefield.Graphics and sounds are well done and the game is well optimized,meaning it will run smoothly on older machines.

60

Incomplete classic

Mscigniew | Jan. 16, 2014 | Review of Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara

Chronicles of Mystara is an old school,arcade platformer/fighting game set in fantasy world of D&D.there`s six characters to choose from,those are:Thief,Fighter,Elf,Dwarf,Cleric,Mage,each one have slightly different moves and abilities.The game is still very fun,but I recommend playing with somebody cause due to the fact that game is pretty short it might get boring pretty fast.Its hard to find an online match unfortunately and its a shame that it doesn't have the Tower of Doom included.As a plus prolonging the game the devs included the Vault,where you can unlock features like time attack mode,and concept arts.

65

For younger generation

Mscigniew | Jan. 13, 2014 | Review of Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes

Clash of heroes is a port from Nintendo DS,and a port well done.The game is much more simple than any other Might & Magic tittle but that is not a flaw,its just different.Graphics are animated and compliment the gameplay a lot.Fights are puzzle like,you have to set soldiers in a row of the same color in order for them to attack,its a fun system once you get use to it and some fights can be pretty challenging.Overall the game is fun but I felt like its meant for younger gamers...

95

Welcome to Pandora

Mscigniew | Jan. 13, 2014 | Review of Borderlands Game of the Year Edition

Borderlands is a FPS/RPG game,taking place on a planet called Pandora.The planet is occupied by bandits,vagabonds and all kinds of bizzar creatures.We start our journey as either a soldier,assassin/sniper,psychic or a tank and we become a "vault hunter",which is a treasure hunter.On our journey we gonna visit couple of settlements and towns,we gonna meet some pretty original characters,collect tons and tons of loot and kill a lot of enemies.The game is made in a comic-book style,and looks awesome!Quests are fun and so is the character development,One of my favourite games and GOTY edition has all DLC`s included,just buy it!

95

Your Majesty

Mscigniew | Jan. 13, 2014 | Review of Majesty 2 Collection

Majesty is not really a RTS game,Majesty is what the developers called it: Fantasy Kingdom Sim.What does that mean in practice?Well you take the role of a ruler of the kingdom called Ardania,your job is to take care of economy,hire heroes,make sure they get the best equipment,you also have to enable them to earn some gold.You dont have a direct controll over heroes,they do as they please,but you can set rewards for objectives(exploring,destroing,killing)if the reward is high enough your heroes gonna do what you want them to do.Majesty is one of my favourite games,part 2 has improved graphics and sounds,the game is not as hard as other people are saying,once you get a hold of game mechanics,its quite a ride.I love this game and hopefully you will as well.

90

Flawless RPG and RTS combination

Mscigniew | Jan. 13, 2014 | Review of Spellforce 2: Gold Edition

Spellforce 2 is a hybrid of RPG and RTS and Im not talking about RTS with couple of leveling up units,in Spellforce you got an actuall RPG missions and RTS missions.The story is long and very good,actually if you played Dragon Age,you cant miss how many things guys from Bioware"steal" from Spellforce 2 story,dont want to give you any spoilers but it doesnt take a genius to see all the similarities between those two tittles.Spellfroce 2 was the first game that used "shining" technology and graphics still look nice.Finished the game 3 times and deffinitly gonna give it another go.If your not familiar with this game,just buy you wont regret it.

95

Axe to the head

Mscigniew | Jan. 12, 2014 | Review of Mount and Blade Collection

Now were talking,Mount & Blade came as a surprise when it first came out,(Im not sure but I think it was one of the first games that started this whole Indie boom)graphics are poor,theres no real goal,no big personalities...and yet it worked.The game is a one big medieval sandbox,without a specific goal,your just thrown on the map,there are some wars going on,bands of bandits hunt you,there are some kings and nobles wanting something from you...There you are,you,your men and your axe(thats what i Choose).Boy this game is fun,battles are pretty epic,especially later in game,not only you lvl up but your men as well,it forces you to be a lil of a tactician,cause losing men hurts. Awesome game,instant classic buy it if you havent yet.

80

Your evil but you have a choice

Mscigniew | Jan. 12, 2014 | Review of Overlord

Overlord surprised me many times,especially by giving me the choice of either doing something evil,or something good.I expected the slaughter of the innocent villagers sheeps and...everything else but the game is giving me a possibility to actually help creatures around me.Gameplay is fun,you gonna enjoy it if you like to play necromancers or summoners in other games,cause here 90% of the game is summoning and ordering your minions.There are puzzles pretty funny humor and some challenging bosses,Im giving it a second go at the moment and game is still very fun!

77

Lovecraft - Do you need more?

Mscigniew | Jan. 12, 2014 | Review of Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth

I fall in love with Lovecrafts books and let me tell you in "Dark corners of the earth" I felt like I was a part of one.The game aint exactly AAA production and it has some age on its shoulders but its still hell of a ride!Throughout the whole adventure I found myself scared a lot and my heart was going way too fast!Yeah this game has the proper atmosphere of Lovecrafts books.There`s many disturbing moments in the story,if your into Lovecraft and horrors you'll like this game,just grab it!

95

SMTH Else

Mscigniew | Jan. 12, 2014 | Review of Dishonored

Thats how I see Dishonored,The graphic style of the game,is something new,havent seen that before,the overall atmosphere is kinda Baroque with steampunk elements(it works!)and a lil occult added to the mix.Its somewhat disturbing,but positive in the same time...Thats just the atmosphere part,the gameplay is very fun,stealth pays off,I was stealthy almost all the time,it just makes sense,since you are an assassin(kinda).The story is amazing and so worth experiencing...Either Your fun of stealth,RPG,FPS or just "SMTH Else",try it you might fall in love.

70

Bugs

Mscigniew | Jan. 12, 2014 | Review of Fallout 3: Game of the Year Edition

Yeah...we know Bethesda,they make an awesome game and never test it before release.If your familiar with Fallout universe,you gonna feel like in home,the creators did hell of a job with creating post apocalyptic,destroyed,world.On our journey to find the father of the main character,we gonna encounter mutants,ghouls,vagabonds and all other known stuff.Its a solid RPG taking place in a well known very climatic universe,but bugged,so buy it...if your patient.

90

Somewhat better,somewhat worse

Mscigniew | Jan. 12, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2

Yes second title from Borderland series got some improvements campared to the first game,but got some minuses aswell.The graphics got better,you gonna see much more colors on your screen,whole lot of new enemies(alongside the ones we already know),the whole Pandora changed.The characters are different,thats somewhat minus,I mean new guys and gals are pretty cool,but I didnt have as much fun with an assassin here,as I had with Mordecai in first Borderlands.Oh and prepare your wallet,cause theres a lot DLC`s and their all good adding alot to the game.If you like first Borderlands you gonna second aswell

88

Different

Mscigniew | Jan. 12, 2014 | Review of Far Cry 3

When I first learned that FC3 takes place on an island I hoped its gonna be like the first FC,it aint,FC3 is still different but its an awesome game,presenting some features I never seen before in an FPS.Here you gonna have to hunt animals,to lvl up or upgrade your tools.You even gonna go through an initiation involving shrooms. The whole Island is very big and fun to explore,hunting part can at times be very challenging,theres a lot of random events on the way.Almost countless side quests,and the story is pretty unique,I do recommend it.

84

Balanced

Mscigniew | Jan. 12, 2014 | Review of Aliens vs Predator Pre

Thats the best word I find to describe 3 completely different campaigns.Why?Well if you played AvP 2,you know exactly how easy the campaigns of Predator and Alien were.Here its different,playing even as Predator I had moments of fear and let me tell you for a game its a good thing.All 3 campaigns are challenging,all 3 have pretty good and logical story lines.I spend some good time with AvP and I do recommend it.

77

Espionage RPG

Mscigniew | Jan. 12, 2014 | Review of Alpha Protocol

There is something very positive in this game,Alpha Protocol was kinda surprise for me,I bought it on sale not really knowing what to expect and boy I dont regret a penny I spend on it.In this game you gonna play as a spy working for organization called Alpha Protocol,you gonna encounter a series of missions around the globe,meet very interesting characters,which may become either your allies or enemies(make no mistake,here you decisions matter).Story is very good,overflowing with surprising twists,and slightly changing depending on your decisions.Graphics look nice,gameplay seems a bit stiff,but it aint bad.Every mission you can complete either by stealth or simply Rambo style.I had a lot of fun with it and recommend it.

90

The best game ever?

Mscigniew | Jan. 12, 2014 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VII

Thats the opinion of many gamers around the world.The game is a port from PSX,from 1997.Yes the graphics are outdated,but in a RPG game with that good story and pretty dynamic,even though turn based combat,graphics dont matter.Its a legendary game,that started something new in JRPG genre and I think every gamer should at least try it.So is it the best game ever?Not for me,but its pretty close.Oh and the game is long something like 120 hours is needed to finish it.

100

Dark Knight Rises

Mscigniew | Jan. 6, 2014 | Review of Batman Game of the Year Pack

And in style,Arkham City is better than Asylium in every aspect,which makes Arkham City one of the best games ever.The gameplay is the same as in the first part,we have sandbox-like area full of bonuses,mini-quests,challenges in a word things to do.And of course the main story,which is very good,has logical sense in introduce us to whole new banch of Villians.As a bonus we get Catwoman,with her part in the campaign,plus she also has challenges.The OST is breath-taking compliments the story so much...If you liked the first Batman game dont wait any minute longer and grab Arkham City.

90

For Sigmar!

Mscigniew | Jan. 4, 2014 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Dawn of War II: Retribution

Retribution is final title in DoW II series,and boy a worthy closer it is.Retribution gives you a choice between one of six available races,each with different heroes and units,most important each with a different campaign!Yes,Retribution gives you six campaigns for single player!And each has a pretty decent story,building into a logical whole.If you liked DoW II youll love Retribution.

96

Death Lives

Mscigniew | Jan. 4, 2014 | Review of Darksiders II

And he's at his best.Every single aspect of Darksiders 2 is better than the first one.You play as Death on a quest to save your brother War,its an epic quest and in your journey you will visit heaven,earth,the kingdom of the undead,even hell.Darksiders 2 is an amazing game,with great atmosphere tbh I dont remember any other game that would bring so much positive emotions in me,and just left me in awe afterwards.OST is one of the best game soundtracks of all times,just adds so much to the already great game.From the pure emotional and artistic point of view Darksiders 2 is a masterpiece and you should try it.

75

Aint Dungeon Siege

Mscigniew | Jan. 4, 2014 | Review of Dungeon Siege III

Its a very fun game,and it should have a different title because nothing in it in any way resembles the Dungeon Siege franchise.Forgetting about the title we have here,very fun and colorful hackn slash RPG,with some never seen before,fresh characters.The game is very fun experience didn't really care about the story cause gameplay was so fun.There is ton of equipment,and even more enemies to us it on.If you like Hn S genre you gonna like it I did.

80

Still Good

Mscigniew | Jan. 4, 2014 | Review of Project Snowblind

Snowblind takes place in Deus Ex universe but this time its not an RPG but FPS and it works.Gameplay is very fun but the most important and strongest part of the game is directing.At times I actually felt like I was the main character,part of that is that the cut scenes are made with games engine,and are semi-interactive.Story is interesting and fun to follow,as a part of the gameplay developers gave us some skills (invisibility for example)that really ad to the strategy,and theres almost always couple of ways we can do the mission.I still(2014) recommend this game.

100

All time classic

Mscigniew | Jan. 4, 2014 | Review of Deus Ex: Game of the Year Edition

Forget about the graphics,game is old,focus and the story and gameplay.Deus Ex was the first game that actually made me feel like my actions and decisions really shape the story,its more than a game,its an experience.Thanks to the fantastic,multiple lvl up choices,plus implants you can make your character in whatever you want to.Theres huge arsenal of weapons,enemies aint stupid dummies,they react to your game style.The atmosphere and climate of this game is one of a kind,for me DE 1 is still best part of the series.

69

Not that bad

Mscigniew | Jan. 4, 2014 | Review of Aliens: Colonial Marines

Its a simple,old school,linear FPS,and as that its decent.The reason to all the hate toward this game is because the expectations were it gonna be "the Sh*" it aint.But as I said its decent simple FPS taking place in the Aliens universe and for all Aliens fans,it has some tasty bits.The game is really action packed aint the easiest out there,many times you gonna catch yourself with your pulse way too fast.If you lower your expectations toward this title it might surprise you.

88

Great Transition

Mscigniew | Jan. 4, 2014 | Review of The Darkness II

From comic book to a video game,as you can see on the screenshots above,the game is made with cell shading graphics and it works it really does.Im surprised this technique aint done more often,but back to the Darkness,its FPS game,with interesting story of a mob boss possessed by the demon called Darkness.Darkness is sort of a parasite,or a symbiont that gives our main character special powers(and does some pretty fun,gore fatalities).Game is narrated in somewhat noir style,story is very interesting and has some good twists to it,dont want to spoil it for you,Im just gonna write its worth experiencing.Plus there is a co-op multi mod which is also very fun.A game worth playing I recommend it.

95

Underrated as hell

Mscigniew | Jan. 4, 2014 | Review of Brink

Brink,is(mostly)online multiplayer FPS game,and as that it is great and bring some fresh breath to the genre.It does lack singleplayer(there is a campaign where you do the same as in multi but with bots),but it was never meant to be singleplayer game.You play as resisatnce or security on each map,and both factions got a series of tasks to do,to win.In order to do that you have to either have different classes teammates or switch your class during the match.The graphical style is original and looks awesome,you can customize your character with elements that are unlocked every couple of lvls.This game is simply underrated,dont listen to the critics just buy it have a hell lot of fun with it and you wont regret a penny!

90

Finish Him!

Mscigniew | Jan. 3, 2014 | Review of Mortal Kombat: Arcade Kollection

Oh the memories...Mortal Kombat is one of my favourite fighting series,and boy for that price MK1,2 and 3 is a bargain.For those who know it...well you probably already bought it,for those unfamiliar with MK,its a 2d fighting game overflowing with gore,the fight is fun easy to handle and after you win a fight,you are presented with possibility to finish your oponent by crashing his head,rip off his arms or take his heart.Its a piece of awesome old school fighting,buy it!

99

Hello Commander

Mscigniew | Jan. 3, 2014 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown

That game is G E N I U S,X-Com is the best tactical game I ever played.The whole base-phase of the game makes you feel like you are an actual commander during alien invasion.Graphics are very nice and build the atmosphere,most missions(if not all of em)take place during night which is also very climatic.Music and sounds are brilliant.The game often presents you with though choices cause you can answer only one cry for help at once,and the other countries which you choose not to rescue suffer incrised panic level.You can customize your squad,develope every single member to your liking,which makes you really care about those guys on the battlefield and every single loss,makes you want to restart the mission.Overall one of the best games I ever played and I highly recomend it.

70

Awesome Game,Terrible Fighting System

Mscigniew | Jan. 3, 2014 | Review of Of Orcs and Men

This game...I loved it and I hated it in the same time. The story and characters are fun and uniqe and makes you really wanna go on.But the fighting system...I hated it.Instead of giving you full control over one of two main characters,the game wants you to give comands(yes you can pause the game and give comands in sequnce)and let me tell you,it doesnt feel right.Which is a shame cause the game is awesome and really deserves attention.Graphics are very nice,the story is amazing,overall atmosphere...top notch.Do I recomend it? That depends,if your mostly about the story than yes buy it,if on the other hand,poor fighting system annoys you than probably dont.

90

Bethesda and Bioware combined

Mscigniew | Jan. 3, 2014 | Review of Kingdoms of Amalur - Reckoning

If you like DA,ME or Oblivion/Skyrim,you gonna love Kingdoms.The game gives you almost endless possibilities of character design,combining classes,just whatever you want to do with your character you can do.The fighting is fun and looks very impressing no matter if your a rogue,knight or a mage.Dialogues are very similiar like in Bioware games,which is awesome.Graphics are beautiful,and so is the music.The story keeps you hooked up and makes you want to play. In short Kingdoms are awesome and you should at least try it!

90

One of the coolest FPS out there!

Mscigniew | Jan. 3, 2014 | Review of Bulletstorm

Yes Ladies and Gentleman,Bulletstorm is that cool! In how many FPS games can you actually perform a combo kill?Well in Bulletstorm you can!Shoot em,kick em and use your leash to grab em and shoot and kick em again!The graphics are nice,while in the same time not too heavy on your machine,coders did a great job with that.Story aint deep,but got me hooked up and was curious whats gonna happen next. I do recomend this game!

75

Decent RTS

Mscigniew | Jan. 3, 2014 | Review of Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3

Like the title says it is a piece of decent RTS,nothing really new or phenomenon about it,but still a very good strategy game.Units are fun(bears,heroes like sniper Natasha,theres even huge samurai robot!),sounds are ok,the gameplay(gather resources build an army destroy the enemy)pretty decent,the story is fun to follow(Theres Randy Cotour in it!),tbh I just dont understand all the hate towards this title.If you,like me,enjoy startegy game ,you should like it,I did,didnt play anything else while I was playing Red Alert 3.

85

CyberActionPunk

Mscigniew | Jan. 3, 2014 | Review of Syndicate

Imagine Deus Ex as an action movie and youll get Syndicate. It is narrated as a good movie,there`s even Rosario Dawson and Brian Cox in it!Graphics are very nice,sometimes(when I had the chance)I just stood and watched amazing buildings all around me!Sounds are great,whenever there was heavy action going on my ears got flooded by this amazing dubstep music.Weapons were awesome,especially the homing rounds gun.My overall feeling about this game is very positive,the only thing I didnt like was that I felt it was too short(but being that the only flaw,you can imagine how good this game is).

95

Carpenter style

Mscigniew | Jan. 3, 2014 | Review of Dead Space

DS is one of the best horror games I ever played.If you watched John Carpenter`s horror movies and you liked em,youll love DS.It has this thick,intense and disturbing atmosphere written all over it,from the intro(starting with "tinkle,tinkle little star")to the outro.Gameplay is fun(you have to cut the limbs of your opponents to kill em)but I dont recomend a gamepad,cause it needs precise shooting.Sounds and acting are top notch. If you havent try it yet,do so you wont regret.

80

50/50

Mscigniew | Jan. 3, 2014 | Review of Dragon Age 2

Ok this one is pretty hard to judge,why?Because the first Dragon Age is legendary,almost perfect.With that in mind expectations go high,and DA 2 does not meet them.The game came out simply unfinished,you can feel it you can see it,its all over the game.But looking at DA 2 without the burden of DA:O,its decent piece of RPG,the fighting is done very effective,its simply fun to slay enemies.Story aint bad but not as epic as first one.After I dealt with unfullfield expectations I must say that I did enjoy the game and will remember it for a long time.

If ill judge it by DA franchise standards I will give it 5/10 But as a solo RPG I give it 8/10

90

New Direction

Mscigniew | Jan. 2, 2014 | Review of Resident Evil 6

RE6 is different than the older titles,but is it bad?Hell no!It`s more of an action game,than puzzle but still a survival horror.We gonna meet a lot of familiar faces in 6th Resident Evil,which is nice and adds to the game.I liked the mechanics,Narration style,story is decent,what I didnt like were some enemies,"overdone" lets call em,like a overgrown fly...not really scary but just in a bad taste.Overall I find RE6 a very good game and I do recomend it.