Reviews by NiksBrotha

86

A nostalgic 8-bit style game.

NiksBrotha | March 27, 2015 | Review of Xeodrifter: Special Edition

This game from the very start reminds me of the Rockman/Megaman series. It has quite the similar feel to it and mixed in with contra pretty much and also metroid. The game has some nice tunes in it as well that make it much more enjoyable. Honestly the game is well balanced but some of my friends were having controller issues with their keyboard which seems to be a lot more reliable. Powerups in this game are useful and fun.

80

A decently priced DLC

NiksBrotha | March 27, 2015 | Review of Borderlands: The Pre Sequel - Claptastic Voyage and Ultimate Vault Hunter Pack 2

Most of the borderlands DLC in the past had been not-so-disappointing including this one. CL4P-TP is one of the funniest robot characters in gaming. You just can't stop to like that little yellow robot. As the description of the game suggests "The goal is simple: find the mysterious “H-Source” code and get out of Claptrap’s consciousness without going insane" you are bound to find hilarious moments involving claptrap and practically a comedic style campaign. The extra levels and skill points are also a bonus.

This DLC is just extra content and doesn't really serve much of a purpose other than giving you 10 extra levels ( you gotta earn the exp for them) as well as skill points as a result. I'd suggest getting it if you can because most of the Borderland dlc's are quite well done except for the fact it's the same old boring gameplay but the humor and well written dialogue makes up for it.

40

STAY AWAY FROM THIS.

NiksBrotha | March 27, 2015 | Review of Ninja Cats vs Samurai Dogs

No, just no. I will not support mobile game ports to PC and encourage other people to buy them. This is a very bad mobile cash grab game as usual but it has just been ported for PC. It's basically like a Plants vs Zombie style game in the sense there's 5 lanes and you put in 5 of your barracks per lane. Your troops are spawned through the barricade and blah blah blah.

All you really need to know is that this is a VERY BAD game that is really easy as well as ultimately just a cash grab on to PC from mobile. Please look up game play footage to see what I mean, very stale and dull "game".

68

A very short review.

NiksBrotha | March 27, 2015 | Review of The Tale of Alltynex

Pretty much retro style old school shooters. The games provokes nostalgia of me playing those random 90's 8 bit shooters that were super cool back in the days. I feel that this game is quite fun but after completing the 8 or so levels of it it doesn't have much to offer. The longevity of it is pretty much nullified once you've finished the games. There's little to no re playability I would suggest grabbing this only when it's half off and you can use the coupon. This game is pretty over priced in my opinion.

64

An OK expansion.

NiksBrotha | March 27, 2015 | Review of Dragon Age ™: Inquisition - Jaws of Hakkon (NA)

The expansion practically gives you a new area to explore, I was hoping it would introduce some new mechanics or character type but that doesn't seem to be the case. Overall though the aesthetics of the game and new expansion are as beautiful as ever. There are a lot of new quests to go through and enjoy including items, a new ability and what not. The storyline in itself isn't as interesting and feels very generic and predictable.

I feel that this DLC is only worth it if you're a big fan, otherwise not really worth the $. Your choice, look it up more with actual gameplay.

82

A decent zombie survival with RPG elements.

NiksBrotha | March 24, 2015 | Review of Trapped Dead: Lockdown

Honestly expected this game to suck as most recent zombie games have., specially with it being an Indie game. The voice acting is surprisingly good as well as the dialogue. The game is a zombie survival with rpg and questing as well as focusing on exploring the different areas presented to you.

The graphics are pretty alright and the AI seems to not be terrible which is what I was going to be most afraid of. The AI is surprisingly good, attacks feel like they aren't clunky at all. I think this game is fairly decent if you are looking to play some Zombie survival rpg element-type game to pass the time. I recommend buying it only if you have the spare cash to do so. I feel this game should have been $10 but hey even at $20 it's an OK deal.

80

A decent hack and slash.

NiksBrotha | March 24, 2015 | Review of YAIBA: NINJA GAIDEN Z

The game seems like a pretty decent hack and slash, I have played it a little and the game play mechanics seem to remind me of DMC and the art style is very vibrant and colorful. The art style is somewhat of a mix between the Borderlands universe and TellTale's TWD.

The story line is somewhat interesting with you fighting zombies while also having to avoid humans pursuing you for a couple of reasons. This game feels like a 3d side scroller and also has a little bit of spider man simulator with it's ninja rope swinging action. It's quite enjoyable for the 3 - 4 hours I have played so far. Has a fair bit of comedy to it as well.

75

A fun but repetitive shooter.

NiksBrotha | March 24, 2015 | Review of Zombie Kill of the Week - Reborn

This game is quite a fun zombie shooter for it being an Indie release. However, it is very repetitive and boring unless you have a group of people to play with. It has a decent variety of weapons and different zombie types, the game also gets progressively harder by the zombies becoming faster and stronger. It forces you to constantly move around and unlocking different parts of the game.

If not for it's boring single player gameplay, this game has a pretty fun vibe to it but as I said it gets very repetitive. There are currently only 4 maps which is also a bummer.

72

Meh..

NiksBrotha | Feb. 12, 2013 | Review of Aliens: Colonial Marines

I was very excited for this game the moment it was announced. Being an aliens fan and all. The game deserves a 7/10. I have played a couple of the campaign missions. It's not a great single player game by any chance. It was hyped up for sure. I purchased it simply because Borderlands 2 was great. If you are looking to purchase this, I hope you do so for the multiplayer.

The game is far more fun in co-op or multiplayer as you don't' face against mindless AI. The atmosphere isn't as scary as I anticipated. It's certainly a disappointment but multiplayer kinda brings back that feel. Just a little bit. The graphics are certainly outdated and there's very little room for customizing graphics. Overall I feel this game is just not really that great if you are getting it for Single player. Multi player is not as bad. I would recommend this game to you if you are an Aliens fan and are fine with an average shooter.

72

Meh..

NiksBrotha | Jan. 27, 2013 | Review of Darksiders II: Season Pass

The DLC honestly didn't add much to the game play experience. it only was more of a "Yeah lets just play a different campaign". I wasn't very pleased with it. I enjoyed Darksiders 1 A LOT and 2 was a bit of a disappointment overall. I don't recommend buying this DLC unless you just want maybe a couple of hours of extra gameplay. Other than that it's not that worth it, IMO.

84

A good game.

NiksBrotha | Jan. 27, 2013 | Review of DmC: Devil May Cry dns

This game is still very good. Regardless of what people say, I enjoyed it. I feel the game's new story isn't that bad but could have improved. The major problem I have is how they changed Dante's "classic witty" attitude to a new, teenager one.. I didn't enjoy that really but everything else about the game is great. Good graphics, good combos, new weapons, new enemies etc. Also their art and other concepts are nice to look at. The only good thing in the future would be to have the classic Dante character back or hopefully even include Nero. I would love to see those two again :)

If you are a heavy DMC fan then I suggest you to skip this one as it WILL NOT please you. Otherwise it's still a good game.