Reviews by Ninjer

80

Call of Battlefield

Ninjer | July 22, 2012 | Review of Battlefield 3: Close Quarters (NA) dns

Exactly what the game is, call of battlefield. This DLC isn't what makes battlefield unique, it's for people who like the straight up run and gun with no tactics. It's so easy to cap points and kill people (given you aren't a newb) that it's laughable. The reason I'm giving this a 80 because it combines CoD with BF3. Sometimes people need their mindless run and gun with no tactics, and this feeds that need for a short while. The guns are also amazing (Support FINALLY has a decent aiming machine gun after the MG36 nerf) and the destruction is ramped up (yes, you can tell a difference).

Suggestion: Turn off Network Smoothing Factor while playing these maps. DICE did a horrible job with client sided netcode so they added a quick fix (hopefully they fix this damn thing before actually releasing BF4). NSF is better for close quarters, as there is less visible rubber-banding with the game trying to compensate for netcode.

83

Back to BF2

Ninjer | July 22, 2012 | Review of Battlefield 3: Back to Karkand DLC (NA) dns

This DLC brings back memories. As an avid battlefield fan who loved the hell out of karkand (with vehicles, not infantry only), I had to buy this DLC. It brings back what battlefield was. They brought back the favorite maps and weapons of the community, what more can you ask for?

It's worth the $15, and it should be because most servers running require you to have b2k. You lose nearly half of the total battlefield 3 experience without this expansion

75

A game meant for coop

Ninjer | July 22, 2012 | Review of Magicka

This game is boring by yourself. It's made to be played with friends, and that's how it should be played. There are massive trolls online (people constantly harassing you at the worst times, so make sure you DO have friends with you). The friendly fire (with the game having a lot of AoE combinations) can be troublesome at times, but that's what makes the game. Die and laugh it off (only with friends though).

Otherwise, the gameplay is mediocre. It's an interesting game where you have to memorize your spell combos, as button mashing won't get you too far, but once you get it down and unlock/memorize spells, the game will be a blast.

Oh, and don't bother looking for major spells online, you unlock them as you progress further into your game (it unlocks for you character, so you can join your friend's game and you will still have it).

80

Decent game

Ninjer | July 22, 2012 | Review of Darksiders

I thought this game was decent. The story was interesting and the gameplay was similar to god of war with a mix of zelda (puzzle part). The more you play the game though, the more you get a little bored of it. It is interesting unlocking new skills and discovering the newer environments. I kinda wish they used the more "modern new york" environment though, I liked the beginning level.

If you buy the game, I suggest you play it with a controller. It does feel more like a console game and it's slightly more clunkier using mouse+keyboard.

It's worth a buy at a price less than $10, but any more, you should probably wait for the second one to be released and for the reviews.

86

Think about it

Ninjer | July 17, 2012 | Review of Battlefield 3 Premium Service (NA) dns

There's 5 DLCs not including Back to Karkand. This is worth it if you're going to buy all the DLCs. It's basically 50 dollars for 5 DLCs, and each DLC individually is $15, so you're saving $15 with some extra content (all vanity though).

It's worth it if you like battlefield. It's also worth it to wait, as Close Quarters wasn't the best (map wise, but weapon wise was great). When you buy this, make sure you want 4-5 DLCs and will be playing this until next year (when the last DLC is released)

90

Realism with graphics

Ninjer | July 17, 2012 | Review of Metro 2033

This game is great, not because of the shooting part though, but because of the immersion. Metro did a great job making it feel like a true apocalypse was happening outside of the metro and the safe havens were really safe (but we know this is impossible to do later on in the story). The scarcity of ammo (which is also the currency in this game) and mask filters (needed later on) makes this game challenging. I was extremely immersed playing this game, and I felt like I really was playing my character.

My only problem is that the AI (humans) aren't the best. They can spot you from nearly everywhere (making stealth more useless) and they don't really use flanking tactics.

If you buy this game, make sure your computer can run it, as it's HIGHLY demanding (especially if you want the best graphics, dx11 maxed out, etc)

66

Not exactly the best

Ninjer | July 17, 2012 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

Duke Nukem was about carrying every single weapon (they did implement this after a patch though in DNF) and shooting shit up everywhere without any care and a hint of adult humor. This game took more than a decade to release because of complications, but I seriously felt it was a cash-in. After a while, the game felt like a chore.

Multiplayer is also dead, so don't bother with that.

70

Mediocre, if you have someone to Coop with

Ninjer | June 21, 2012 | Review of F.E.A.R. 3

First, let me start it out like this. This is NOT even close to FEAR. Then again, I feel that FEAR already changed with FEAR 2 being more "action" than horror.

This game is fun with coop. It feels like a typical coop shooter after that, a game where you can mess around in with friend(s). There were no parts that were scary (just a few pop-ups). Take the action side of FEAR 2, and take out any horror that it had (if it had any in the first place), then ramp it up by 10.

The multiplayer mode is like Nazi zombies with much smaller maps.

I would recommend this game only if you have someone to coop with. The online community is already dead, so make sure you know you have someone to play with before you purchase this game.

70

A little repetitive

Ninjer | Aug. 16, 2011 | Review of Just Cause 2

The game starts out amazing. The thought of unlimited freedom is amazing, seeing how once you get the grappling hook, you could do whatever you want with it. Grappling a pedestrian to a car, then driving the car around seems hilarious, or just being a ninja with the hook is hilarious. The world of JC2 is full of immersion, but here's the thing; once you see it, you've seen it all. You soon realize that half the map is full of mountains, and traveling through helicopter, or hanging on a helicopter, is only fun after a while. True, there's a lot of freedom, but the terrain becomes so "deja vu" that you'd feel like taking a nap. The missions play out the same, and after a while there's no real incentive feel for playing out the missions.

JC2 is exactly what it is, a sandbox game. It's fun for the first 10 hours, but afterwards, it's the same thing over and over.

90

Great game

Ninjer | Aug. 16, 2011 | Review of Mount & Blade: Warband DNS

The learning curve of this game is around 1-3 hours, but once you past it, be amazed.

I admit, I was extremely frustrated learning the combat mechanism in the tutorial area. I nearly died by the first few people (on one on one). Once you feel ready to move on (which you should, because the tutorial will not be enough), then the true learning begins. You start off with recruiting your army, and bandits will be chasing you all over the place, killing your people over and over.

After a while, you will start feeling immersed, not because of the graphics (in my opinion, it's not that great), but because of the ability of running your army and doing what you want. You can take over the whole kingdom if you wanted to. Multiplayer is just as fun, but it takes a while to get used to (also, download the mod for MP of moddb so you can join the better protected servers). The tutorial isn't enough to get out of the learning curve in my opinion, but if you want to experience a unique game, buy this. (Also, I enjoyed Warband much more than the first)