Reviews by Numbi

69

A Straight Port of a Fun Mobile Game

Numbi | Sept. 6, 2014 | Review of Commando Jack

As far as tower defense games go, Commando Jack is fun, but it does suffer from being a straight port. This means no resolution options and mobile stuff such as "daily coins" and such everywhere. At least all micro-transactions were removed, but this does mean the game is now almost too easy in normal mode. Fortunately, there are multiple difficulties and there is plenty of content to keep you busy. The "stunning graphics" bullet point in the killer features list is disputable, but I did find the enemy designs to be charming (apart from the worms which are just plain icky!) Overall fun, but know what you are getting into.

80

Do you remember that time...

Numbi | Nov. 29, 2013 | Review of Master Reboot

I bought Master Reboot on a whim because the graphics seemed very unique and the idea of mucking around inside the memories of people sounded very appealing. What I didn't expect was how creepy the game would be. Between the spooky atmosphere and the "person" that pop-ups from time to time to scare you I jumped quite a few times. The puzzles are a bit easy and the platform jumping towards the end somewhat tedious but don't let that stop you from experiencing this game for yourself.

90

There’s a new serif in town!

Numbi | Nov. 29, 2013 | Review of Type Rider

Type Rider has a much more relaxed pace compared to other platform games that all try to copy Super Meat Boy. The controls are a bit tricky but exploring the levels is loads of fun and there is a nice puzzle element to figuring out how to proceed. I have to admit that I skipped some of the lectures about the different fonts but overall the game is definitely very cool.

85

Quality 2D hack and slasher.

Numbi | Nov. 29, 2013 | Review of Rain Blood Chronicles: Mirage

I bought Rain Blood because it seemed to be a bit like the 2D Castlevania games but it turned out to be much more action oriented. You can switch between two characters while beating up enemies and racking up some insane combos. I had a lot of fun with the local co-op mode as I didn't get too far on my own but I have to point out that there is no online modes. It might not have been the type of game that I was expecting but it still turned out to be a lot of fun.

75

Protect that kitty!

Numbi | Nov. 29, 2013 | Review of Poöf vs The Cursed Kitty

Poof looks like something you can play for free on one of those websites with the Flash games but it actually has more in common with the early arcade games. The action takes place on a single level that just becomes larger as you progress. You have to keep your golden egg laying kitten (don't ask) alive as hordes of nasty monsters make a beeline for it. The game is pretty tricky and I have yet to finish it but it has definitely been worth the money so far.

79

Step into a world of light and shadow

Numbi | Nov. 29, 2013 | Review of Contrast

Contrast might not be the longest game that I have ever played but it does have a very unique concept and some very pretty graphics. The game combines 3D and 2D elements for the puzzles and platforming along with creative use of light and shadows. The soundtrack is pretty good and my only complaint is that I wish there was more of the game as it was all over within three hours.

91

Fantastic game!

Numbi | Oct. 30, 2013 | Review of Nihilumbra CAP

I walked into this one thinking that it is going to be a straight platform game but boy was I wrong! The visuals were what drawn me in but the gameplay is unexpectedly great. Using different colors to influence the gameworld and solve puzzles is great fun and the creepy narrator along with the spooky music provides an experience that is second to none. Even if you are tired of Indie platform titles I urge you to try out this one. Oh and stick around for the Void mode after you completed the game. It's worth a second playthrough!

85

Jewe Quest II: Your Spare Time Consumed.

Numbi | Oct. 3, 2013 | Review of Jewel Quest II

Jewel Quest II is one of those games that I picked up on a whim somewhere because it was relatively cheap. I thought that it would be the ideal game to pass the time when I didn't feel like playing one of the bigger titles. What started out as a replacement for Windows Solitaire turned into an addiction as I couldn't stop playing this game. If you are looking for a fun little game that will have you hooked faster than a Facebook title then try out Jewel Quest II. If you value your free time then I suggest you give this a wide berth!

90

Worthy of the name.

Numbi | Oct. 3, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown

My husband is a huuuuge fan of the original Xcom games and I must admit that I got caught up watching him replaying them after I bought him the Xcom Complete pack. When this game was released I knew it was time for me to jump in myself and get my feet wet with the genre.

Overall I had a great experience with the game and found it to be challenging without being overly complicated. The game is also very engrossing, especially if you assemble a team named after your friends! At the current price this game is a steal and I can't wait for the Enemy Within DLC to be released.

80

Value for money.

Numbi | Oct. 2, 2013 | Review of Assassins Creed III

I have to be honest and say that Assassin's Creed III was not quite as good as the previous titles but it was good enough to keep me playing for the better part of 60 hours! My favorite part is easily the ship battles which turned out much better than what I expected and actually added something new to the franchise. The character is not as good as Ezio or Altair but he grew on me. I hope that Black Flag can bring the series back on track!

100

No dissapointment here!

Numbi | Oct. 2, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

I played this game to death on console and bought it again on PC just so I could experience it again with superior graphics and all the DLC. If you are a Batman fan then don't even hesitate to pick this up. Sequels are rarely better than the original but this time it is the case. Having an entire city (or at least a large part of it) to explore is a blast and really allows you to play with all the gadgets. Plus soaring over the skyline just can't be beat. I'm really holding thumbs that Origin can maintain the fine pedigree of this series.

75

Glad I gave this a shot.

Numbi | Sept. 30, 2013 | Review of Super Sanctum TD

I am a bit of a retro game junkie so Super Sanctum TD immediately caught my eye. Ironically enough I own Sanctum but never really got into it. I actually prefer playing tower defense games on my Android but decided to give this game a shot. I'm glad I did as it is actually very addictive. If you like the genre then I am sure you will enjoy this game. It is perfect for a quick round whenever you have some time to spare.

90

Got me hooked!

Numbi | Sept. 30, 2013 | Review of LEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes

I picked this one up because I loved the original Lego Batman and Green Man Gaming had it on sale for a price that was too good to refuse. After playing it for only a few hours I can definitely recommend this game to fans of the Lego games, fans of the Batman franchise and anyone who loves a good game. There is a huge city to explore, tons of very cool missions and the voice acting (yes voice acting!) is top notch. The original game was pretty humorous but this one takes it to a whole new level. I'm absolutely hooked!

94

One of my all time faves!

Numbi | Sept. 28, 2013 | Review of Kid Chameleon

This and Ristar is one of the reasons why I bought the Sega Megadrive Classics pack but to be honest I would buy this game on its own in a heartbeat as well. It is one of those classic era games that has lost none of its challenge and charm. The visuals are very cool with a ton of different sprites for the main character. These transformations impact the gameplay as well making for a nice all round challenging platformer. Still one of my all time favorites.

60

Fun but rather limited.

Numbi | Sept. 28, 2013 | Review of ESWAT: City Under Siege

Back in the day when arcade machines could still be found in almost every corner shop I used to waste a lot of quarters on Eswat. It wasn't the best platform shooter of the time but it was fun and I remember being very impressed with the large character sprites. This is the Mega Drive version of the game and while faithful to the original it is a bit limited. I completed it in one sitting and while it brought back some good memories it also highlighted a lot of the limitations.

60

A Little Too Basic For My Liking

Numbi | Sept. 28, 2013 | Review of Altered Beast

This is another title that I got as part of a Sega Classics pack and to be honest it is not one of my favorites. I never played it back in the day but apparently it is an arcade port. The visuals are a little bland and the gameplay too basic for my liking but the whole turning into a beast gimmick is quite cool. This is probably going to appeal the most to fans of the original.

76

The Kidd is back!

Numbi | Sept. 28, 2013 | Review of Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle

Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle is another one of those games that I remember playing way back when on my Sega Genesis. I actually picked this one up from a Mega Drive Classics pack and found the game to still be very much playable even in this day and age. Of course, growing up with this game probably helps but I find that a lot of modern Indie games try to emulate the kind of classic gameplay found in Alex Kidd so if you are a platform game then give this one a shot.

81

Return of the Pac!

Numbi | Sept. 27, 2013 | Review of PAC-MAN Championship Edition DX+ (NA) PRE

I have been playing this game a while now on Xbox 360 Arcade and it is entertaining enough that I am tempted to purchase it again on PC. The game sticks to the classic Pac-Man formula but ramps things up nicely with rocking visuals and kick ass music. It probably won't blow you away if you are not a fan of the original game but trust me it is addictive once you get hooked chasing those scores!

80

Better than expected

Numbi | Sept. 27, 2013 | Review of Gun Monkeys

I tend to avoid these multi-player only Indie titles as I have been burned before by games where the community moved on leaving empty servers. I gave this game a shot however as it has a free weekend and I have to admit that I was impressed enough to purchase the game. The levels are procedurally generated which is quite cool and it has an offline mode. The achievements and trading cards is what sold me on the game after I played it. The best part is that the game comes with two Steam keys so you can get someone else in on the action.

85

Another treasure.

Numbi | Sept. 14, 2013 | Review of Alien Soldier

Treasure made some of my favorite 16bit titles back in the day (I still have my copy of Lightcrusader) and Alien Soldier continued their tradition of doing things their way. When I first bought this game I was expecting something similar to Gunstar Heroes and while the two games share similarities, Alien Soldier delights in throwing big boss battles at you. Normal baddies hardly stand a chance against your firepower but the big bosses really take a beating. I recommend using a gamepad if you plan on playing this game on PC.

85

Test your blasting skills!

Numbi | Sept. 14, 2013 | Review of Beat Hazard

I have to admit that I am not very good at this game but it is definitely a very novel way to experience your music collection. Word of advice, if you are just starting out I recommend that you play a few slower tracks first just to get the hang of the controls. This is a game that I find myself firing up whenever I want to just sit back and listen to some tunes while blasting things.

95

One of my all time favorite platform games!

Numbi | Sept. 13, 2013 | Review of Ristar

Ristar was released back when Sonic was all the rage and for whatever reason never received the recognition that it deserved. I actually picked up my original copy from a second hand sale and played it right up until the dusty 16bit console made way for my shiny new Playstation.

Unfortunately somewhere between all the moving around I lost my original cartridge so to say I was pleased when the game was released in digital format for PC would be an understatement. Playing the game again felt like slipping on a comfortable pear of shoes and I found myself humming along to all the familiar tunes. Since I have played the game so much I cannot really tell if it is difficult or not as I have become frightfully good at it (if I do say so myself.) What it is though is one heck of a fun platform title that should not be overlooked. This is one of few titles that rank right up there with Earthworm Jim and Sonic on my list of all time favorites.

96

So Worth It!

Numbi | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2

My husband bought me the original Borderlands and after much coaxing finally convinced me to play co-op with him. I was very wary at first as first person shooters is not really my thing but the game drew me in and it wasn't long before I was killing bandits and skags with glee. In the end I had over 80 hours logged on my Steam account playing Borderlands.

With Borderlands 2 I decided to return the favor and surprise my husband with a copy of the game so we could play it together again. While it shares many similarities with the original it is definitely worth playing and doesn't feel like a rehash at all. The new weapons, monsters and locations make this a blast to play and I I still find myself jumping in for a quick game every now and then. Whether you are a fan of the original or a newcomer I can definitely recommend this title. I suggest picking up the season pass as well as it comes with some nice DLC.

85

Lots of purple and pain!

Numbi | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of They Bleed Pixels

I picked up They Bleed Pixels from Greenman Gaming because I have a fondness for platform titles, especially ones with a retro look. I love the art style of this game but definitely wasn't expecting the challenge! Thankfully the controls are very responsive but it also means that you can't blame it for your own shortcomings.

The game has all kinds of cool touches that I wont' spoil for you but I can guarantee that finishing this game is not going to be a walk in the part. I have completed the game but still find myself going back to it for those hard to get achievements.

80

Truly Out Of This World

Numbi | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of Another World: 20th Anniversary Edition

Out Of This World was one of the first games that I played when I made the transition from console to PC and while the controls frustrated me a bit I was blown away by the visuals. All those years ago I did not get very far into the game due to the high difficulty but I still remember how much fun I had trying.

Seeing Another World 20th Anniversary Edition not only made me feel old but also rekindled my desire to finally finish the title. I'm glad to say that while still hard I finally managed to do so and it was worth it. The game is much shorter than I expected but it remains challenging throughout so if you want to test your skills I recommend you give this game a try.

95

A highlight of the genre.

Numbi | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of Rayman Origins

Platform games are one of my favorite genres but in recent years a good 2D title has been hard to find. There are of course plenty of great indie titles that offer all kinds of twists on the genre but to be honest I have been yearning for some good old school action. As soon as I saw Rayman I knew that the game that I have been waiting for has arrived!

The charming visuals sucked me in but it was the gameplay that kept me hooked right to the very end. I am so glad that Ubisoft has left those wacky rabbits behind and focused on a title with Rayman as the hero again. From the wonderful visuals to the catchy tunes and addictive gameplay, this is a title that no 2D fan can afford to miss and I give it two thumbs up!

80

The Mouse Is Back!

Numbi | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of Castle of Illusion

After completing Ducktales I was looking for another good platform title to sink my teeth into and Castle of Illusion fit the bill perfectly. While I never played the original title it is clear to see that Sega went the extra mile when remaking this classic. The visuals are drop-dead gorgeous with plenty of background detail and awesome animations. The challenge factor is a bit low (or I am getting better at platform games) but I had a lot of fun completing this one. Finding all the hidden items to collect new costumes is nice but the game is rather short and I finished it in a matter of hours. Next up on my list, Superfrog!

90

Fun even if you suck at it!

Numbi | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of Magicka: Collection

My husband bought me this game so that we could play it together and while I had my doubts I found myself enjoying it despite not being that good. The large amounts of spells make this game a blast and I highly recommend it to anyone that is looking for a good co-op experience. The game can be tricky at times and it is easy to accidentally kill your partners but I can guarantee you that you will be having too much fun to hold grudges. This is one of those games where it is easy to lose track of time while you are playing.

80

You might solve a mystery or rewrite history!

Numbi | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of DuckTales: Remastered

While WayForward didn't exactly rewrite history with this re-release, it is indeed a great game and even better if you can remember the original. I played Ducktales to death on my old NES so I was super stoked when I heard of this update. It is a tad pricey considering the rather short length but I had a lot of fun playing it and it brought back a ton of memories. For me it was worth it just to hear the original voice of Scrooge McDuck again but if you are not a big platforming fan or never played the original you might want to wait for a good sale before picking this up.

95

Beware The Bat

Numbi | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

If you are a Batman fan you really need to pick up this game. I picked it up because I was a big fan of the Batman comics (not so much the recent movie reboots) but I didn't have a chance to play it until recently. When I finally did start playing I couldn't stop! The visuals, the atmosphere and the characters are all spot on. This game has rekindled my love for the caped crusader and has made me very excited for the upcoming game.

80

The Kombat Continues!

Numbi | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of Mortal Kombat: Arcade Kollection

I picked this up because I thoroughly enjoyed the Mortal Kombat titles on my old Sega Genesis. Time has not been kind to the games in this collection but the visuals are still serviceable. What caught me by surprise however was the difficulty. It would appear that the games are based on the original arcade titles that were a tad harder than the home conversions so I am having a hard time even on the easier settings. If you are a fan of these titles and want to relive the nostalgia then this package is worth it. I only wish that they included some extras like the unlockables that the latest Mortal Kombat title has.