Reviews by Oblaque

88

Yours Truly

Oblaque | Sept. 17, 2013 | Review of RAGE

This game has issues but its not a bad game. It reminds me of Doom 2; a game that I really liked. Speaking of Doom 2, back then I had a really slow computer and I had to sometimes wait a relatively long time for stages to load but I had fun. However, one thing this game does not have is dumb enemies. I liked Gears of War mostly because of the challenging enemies. However, GoW2 and GoW3 made the enemies stupid in favor of eye candy. In rage I get both eye candy and challenging enemies (I'm not big into stories, which is what so many are complaining about, what happen to those same complaints for Fallout, which had dry static animation, a slowwwww moving plot, and damn near card board npcs) -- so at least for me the game gets a 88.

86

Fantastic!

Oblaque | Sept. 16, 2013 | Review of Castle of Illusion

I bought this game thinking it wouldn't live up to its original predecessor and boy was I wrong! It's actually better and by when I say better, I mean better! Very nostalgic and satisfyingly fun. I recommend this title to anyone who just wants to have fun.

91

Lovely

Oblaque | Sept. 14, 2013 | Review of Laxius Force 2

One of the most lovable games since Chrono Trigger, and that's saying a lot! Charming characters, sweet story, superb theme and magnificent atmosphere. I highly recommend this game as it brings goose bumps and nostalgic feelings back from the past!

84

Wow

Oblaque | Sept. 13, 2013 | Review of Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver 2

The graphics and music are haunting and deep. It was the story that compelled me to finish the game. I am enamoured by the whole medival story, the drama, torment and romance each character brings. At the end, it leaves you thristing for more.

87

Sweet

Oblaque | Sept. 13, 2013 | Review of Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons

This is one of the few games you can truly call "art". The way the story is portrayed, the way characters are developed (even without any! comprehensible dialogue) and the way the game pulls you into the story is simply marvelous.

This game is a must play for any gamer worth his salt.

89

Insanely fun coop experience!

Oblaque | Sept. 13, 2013 | Review of Brink Nexway

I honestly suggest this to any fan of First Person Shooting this game brings a lot to the table Customization, A Great Experience, Shooting,Shooting, more shooting and of course PARKOUR which is basically jumping over obstacles or sliding through stuff and climbing stuff anyways the game is a great and Tremendous change over Call of duty which has had mixed opinions about it but here we have an OLD-SCHOOL "Enemy Territory" kind of game which in my opinion the best style for a action FPS especially when there's multiplayer involved and of course with the PC version having people online to play with I got in 1 lobby and thought to myself gee no lag, no hackers sweet! I bought this game for 5 bucks no joke and it was on sale which had everything in it which I found pretty cool. Yes, I kid you not! This Game is AMAZING my final verdict is a, 89/100 totally a MUST BUY!!!

90

Fantastic!

Oblaque | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell - Blacklist (Capsule) (NA)

This game is definitely worth the money. Campaign, CoOp missions & Spy vs Mercs. All this tied in with the economy/upgrade system makes this game really fun with a lot of replay value. I also love the fact you can choose to play stealth if you want.

25

Sadly dissapointed

Oblaque | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of Total War: Rome II Emperor Edition

Huge step back =(

Played this game 10 hours looking for the promised experience, but it lacks strategy, depth and is bugged as hell.

Here the things that bothers me the most:

  • family trees removed no connection to my nation
  • passive campaign AI
  • too easy, too fast and too acardish battles with lack of strategy
  • UI is horrible (why didn´t they just copy the perfect Shogun II ???)
  • the sound is boring compared to the other TW Games
  • bugs everywhere

This game really feels like a beta!!!

I do like the campaign graphics and it´s maybe the best TW game to start with for beginners, but TW veterans will be disappointed.

87

Very fun indeed!

Oblaque | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of Renegade Ops Collection

Whoa boy! what a shooting fest this game truly is. Playing with family and friends has never been so fun until this game came out. There are many other coop games but this one takes the cake of full-on action/arcade type of game.

88

Very nice indeed

Oblaque | Aug. 21, 2013 | Review of DiRT 2

At first the EXTREME theme and X-Games focus were a turn off, but once I realized that you can turn off the in-car comments and choose to drive rally and landrush events while ignoring the trucks and buggies I found myself having a ton of fun. This is not a serious rally simulator in the vein of previous Colin McRae games, but it is a really enjoyable driving game. Damage has been toned down and most races significantly shortened, so it is very much marketed to the short attention span crowd. Despite this nerfing of the rally sim, it still is a tremendous amount of fun to play, so I give it a 9. It is different from earlier Colin McRae games, but just as fun, in its own way.

70

Good

Oblaque | Aug. 21, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

Overall, I found bastion to be a pleasurable experience playing it but there were some key parts of the story and gameplay which I found to be very annoying and results in me only giving this a 70. Some of those things are the narration that was very limited at some important times and way too unnecessary at others. The somersaulting in the game is not very well programmed and I believe that it could've been so much better. Overall, it was a great game but I believe that it could've been better with some little changes

82

One of the best ARPGs

Oblaque | Aug. 21, 2013 | Review of Titan Quest

One of the best ARPGs. Granted, buying items is irrelevant (same as in Diablo 2), areas are not randomly generated, and inventory is a bit harder to manage. The expansion improves so many things, and makes the original game seem weaker. I love the ability to develop classes in-game and adjust tactics, which works great with co-op. It makes the static classes of Diablo seem ancient. I'd say the difficulty is on par with Diablo. I've played the game for 100's of hours with different class combos, and the biggest issue is the repetitive nature of levels after playing so much. But join up with friends and work together to push through faster. It would be nice to start on Epic difficulty with levels under your belt, since that is where the game really gets good.

94

An Immersive treat

Oblaque | Aug. 17, 2013 | Review of Fallout 3

Fallout 3 is immersive, dark and fun RPG game that has tons of things to do and explore. The game takes place in post-apocalyptic Washington DC where several factions like supermutants, raiders, vault dwellers, brotherhood of steal etc. live in uneasy coexistence.

It possible to play this game strictly by following the plot, but the main plot is somewhat short and strictly speaking there are better plot-driven games. The real fun of Fallout is open-ended exploration. The game world is huge and has more than enough stuff to do,

Although the game is very dark, everything is done tongue in cheek. This includes many subplots (e.g. Wasteland survival guide missions intended as tutorial are often outright hilarious), character development system and violence which is so excessive it becomes ridiculous (in a good way). The games also offers tons of different weapons and skills.

Main problem with this game is the low-level cap of 20, which is reached very early in the game (especially if you like exploration). Broken Steel DLC increases this to 30, which is still low but alleviates the problem to some extent.

To sum it up, Fallout 3 is definitely worth buying if you like exploration, RPG, excessive violence and silly dark humor. It offers tons of playtime and good value for your money.

88

Paradox does it again!

Oblaque | Aug. 17, 2013 | Review of Europa Universalis IV

Paradox have done something amazing here. I dont' refer the quality of the quality of the game (although that's superb too), but they've managed to make the game easier to understand, and welcoming to new players, and retained all of the depth and complexity that made the EU series great. If you're a fan of the Total War games, and wished the campaign map felt as deep as the battle map, give this a try. It's worth it!!!

85

Highly entertaining!!!

Oblaque | Aug. 17, 2013 | Review of Payday 2

This is a much improved game from PayDay the Heist. The graphics to the mechanics to the AI all a big improvement from the original. PayDay 2 has a lot of the same looks and feels so you don't loose what you missed from PayDay. There is still some improvements like making a party in the main menu with friends or being able to beat a level after so many tries.

If your looking for a fun shooter with different ways to play this is the game for you. It has its perks, as-well many draw backs. But its still a fun game to mess with friends in some challenges.

90

Memorable

Oblaque | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City

Episodes from Liberty City is more like a big expansion pack than "DLC." You get two completely new campaigns for an absurdly low price. Lots of new weapons, new vehicles, new helicopters, new cutscenes, new characters, and more explosive (and I mean EXPLOSIVE... heheh) GTA action - all crammed into one purchase, for a low price.

Don't expect new graphics though. It's the same game-world and city as GTAIV, it's just with significantly more new content to enjoy. If you haven't purchased it yet, I would definitely recommend it. It's a great value, and it'll be more than enough to keep you entertained until GTA V comes out!

92

Extremely fun arcade type racing game!

Oblaque | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of Midnight Club II

The greatest racing game ever. It is the most FUN. The cars have varying handling physics, the opponents talk trash to keep things interesting, the courses are all wildly different, and the drift physics are the best in any driving game I've played. This is not a simulator, which is fine with me, it is a fun fun racing game.

96

Legendary

Oblaque | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

This game is absolutely legendary just like it's developers at Rockstar Games. It is best played on PC as the controls will be much easier to use than the one's off a console. PC version also allows mods and hours of fun online, I hope Rockstar brings the new GTA V onto PC as soon as possible.

85

Quite entertaining

Oblaque | Aug. 5, 2013 | Review of Sonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing

This is just an all around fun game. While geared more towards family entertainment an individual can enjoy this as well. The tracks are a blast as well as the overall gameplay. Racing controls and mechanics are spot on also. Reminds me of the old days of N64 when games were just a blast to play. The whole family will love it. Especially happy to see split screen on the pc. So many games lack split screen support on the PC while this retains it. People just don't realize that lots of gamers have there PCs hooked up to actual HD TVs with this new invention called an HDMI cable. PCs also have the ability to use 360 controllers, and PS3 controllers, and tons of other gamepads, both wireless and wired. I appreciate developers retaining all aspects of gameplay in the PC versions of their games.

90

Unique story driven addon pack

Oblaque | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization V - Civilization and Scenario Pack - Polynesia

Well, wow! What a uniquely specialized given addon pack that deserves your attention with an all-mighty thrust. You will be blown away by the sheer amount of content this pack gives you for such a reasonably low price point.

93

Pleasant little adventure game

Oblaque | Aug. 1, 2013 | Review of Jack Keane

Well, this game caught me by surprise. Nostalgia comes alive as I play through the ever loving classics of the adventure genre and this game belongs with them. Great story, superb animations, really good sound effects and a memorable soundtrack make this game a classic point and click adventure experience.

91

Well done!

Oblaque | July 31, 2013 | Review of FIFA 13 (NA)

The best soccer game ever made. A lot of game modes which all have some purposes compared to 12. Most of the bugs had been fixed, Impact Engine now acts much better and the gameplay is completely closer to the reality than its predecessor. To be precise, its the game have I played approx. 200 hours up to the present and the multiplayer experience I will never forget.

77

Charming RPG

Oblaque | July 30, 2013 | Review of Rise of the Argonauts

It's neither a God of War nor any other RPGs.

This is something like a movie whose director is just you. You make your own choices, you make your own history, you make your own story, you choose and follow your own fate.

This game is absolutely fantastic. Yes, it has some bad flaws such as dated textures, stiffed animations especially on characters' faces, no mini map, a little stuttering and frame drop. But the good definitely outway the bad.

80

Underrated RPG

Oblaque | July 30, 2013 | Review of Two Worlds: Game of the Year

This game may have had problems when first released, but I give it top scores for being a memorable and engaging RPG. The enemies were diverse, the world diverse, and the "mount" options fun. This game never got repetitive. I've played it twice, and am thinking about reinstalling for a third go round. I think this one got short changed because people compared it to Oblivion. Oblivion was a little prettier, but this game deserves a better rating than it got.

88

Great mature RPG

Oblaque | July 30, 2013 | Review of The Witcher II: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition

Excellent graphics, excellent gameplay, compelling story. It just hurts when you are a gamer with so many games and you can't put the time into a game that truly deserves it to fully comprehend and control.

70

A good RPG experience nonetheless

Oblaque | July 30, 2013 | Review of The Last Remnant

It was a very good game, although there are some little complications and a so so storyline and dialogs, well the game play makes up for that. What hit me the most was how the music blended in with each scene or map, the music was one of the best in RPG games, most games from Square Enix have good music though.

90

Stealth deluxe!

Oblaque | July 30, 2013 | Review of Velvet Assassin

Totally enjoying this game! I agree, the save points are way too far apart, but that won't bother you much if you treat this game with the respect it is due. It's a stealth-shooter in every respect: keep to the shadows, be careful of the guards, and use your knife wherever possible. But don't forget your gun, and don't be afraid to use it. This game repays the patient player, and Violette's story is compelling and engrossing. The voice acting is excellent, and the gameplay is good if you keep within your machine's capabilities. One previous poster hit the nail on the head: you'll either love this or hate it. Stealth aficionados can't afford to miss this.

98

A True Classic

Oblaque | July 30, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider I

This has got to be one of the greatest games ever made, and it's made in the UK (where my parents are from!) :). Words cannot describe the unbelievable amazement that I felt the first time I played this game many many years ago. Everything from the graphics (which are still amazing to this day) to the combat and puzzles, I just can't get enough of it. Never gets old.

82

Action packed!

Oblaque | July 30, 2013 | Review of The Ball

Action packed puzzle FPS with gorgeous graphics and unique gameplay. Beautifully rendered using Epic's Unreal Engine 3. Hopefully they add coop in a future update as that would be amazing. Definitely worth the purchase asking price of admission.

90

Superb shoot em' up

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | Review of Sine Mora

Loving this game for something quick to jump into. May not be the best Shmup ever made but it has a few interesting ideas, like the ability to slow time in order to avoid catastrophe or grab an extra power up before it floats off the screen. Definitely suited to a controller and very easy to pick up. Graphics are great and stages are varied and interesting. A range of different craft with different sub weapons are also a nice touch. Boss battles are very frequent and there is an option to practice against bosses you have unlocked outside the normal game mode. Four difficulty settings will keep casual gamers and hardcore enthusiasts happy. The story line is very dark and adult which added substance for me. You can skip or fast forward if you're not interested or on your 12th play through. Worth the money for any fan of the genre.

100

Breath of fresh air

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider: Underworld

Tomb Raider is none the less without a doubt the greatest female video game franchise in the history of gaming. This one just blew me away. From amazing graphics to the beautifully rendered sound effects/music score, I just can't get enough of it and at $8.99, this game is well worth it and more.

78

Very good and satisfying execution (literally) LOL

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | Review of War of the Roses: Kingmaker

I bought this game for $5.00 on Steam during a sale, and I have to say, it's one of the better games I've played. The game play is fun and fast-paced, and the class customization is very in-depth, going so far as to letting you choose your fighting style and how your blade is sharpened. There are a few downsides however. When you start, you'll probably get frustrated because of the players with full plate armor and two-hit swords, but when you unlock some good armor and a good weapon, it's really not a problem. Then there's the matter of nothing cheaper than 1,000 coins. What the developers did was put high prices on things that you unlock at level 5 so you'll buy in game coins for real money, on top of buying the game. I can understand doing that if it was a free-to-play game, but seeing as how it's regularly $30, I think it's ridiculous. On the upside, the coins aren't that much, so if you're having trouble with fully armored foes, there's a way past it. Honestly, the option of being able to buy coins made me want to unlock everything manually, and that feeling you get when you save up enough hard-earned coins to buy an armored horse or a perfectly balanced sword is exhilarating and it makes all the time you spent, winning or losing, well worth it. This game also rewards you for playing as a team and helping out your buddies. You get 200 points for an execution on a fallen teammate, but you get 250 points for bandaging your friends wounds, and 300 points for helping up a downed teammate. It encourages people to work together and travel in groups, and punishes those that walk around by themselves with a group of enemies around the corner or an arrow in the face. Overall, I think is a good buy for anyone that enjoyed Mount Blade or Chivalry: Medieval Warfare, and in the end, buying coins can be easily avoided if you're willing to put the time into the game.

89

Spectaculor!

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Space Marine

Love it! Warhammer 40,000K world in a third person shooter. Game flows nicely and is really fun to play. The guns are great and the melee is insane. A lot of work was put in to this game and the end product is amazing.

83

Warp right into this game

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | Review of Warp (NA)

Warp is a great game if you like the combo of cute but deadly, you play as an alien who was captured by scientists who want to find out what makes you tick, you soon escape and find that you are not the only one, it is a pretty gory game, but an excellent one. It has a lot of challenges and pure genius moments that will make you smile when you complete them, very fun to play and easy to get into. My only complaint is the length of main story, but it does have challenge rooms that should keep you busy.

86

Vroom!

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | Review of DiRT 3

I've put over 200 hours into this game. It never gets old. The graphics are amazing. The car models look great, and my favorite: The landscape is gorgeous. The damage engine works fine, it just doesn't go "Deep" with damage. The physics are pretty close to realistic. It's pretty fun. The tracks feel a little dull, too much dark color and there isn't many variety of colors. The sound is very good, the engines sound realistic, you hear the crowd, you hear the tires, you basically hear everything that is going on. The Dirt Tour was great, but although a tiny bit short but wasn't bad. If you finish the Dirt Tour, you can all ways play the multiplayer which will take a long time to reach max level. Another bad thing is the tracks are very short. 1-3 minutes for every track, there is only one that is 4 minutes. Some textures, especially the engine and inside car parts are a bit blurry. The rest of the textures are very clear and look nice. Another thing about the damage engine, you can pop your tires, and the engine can take damage and start smoking, which slows down your acceleration and top speed. There are over 50 cars and each car has a few designs. Although landrush is only 2 vehicles, buggy and truck. There is a variety of things to do in Dirt 3, Rallycross, Rally, Trailblazer, landrush, etc. You can drive classic cars all the way to new cars and trucks and raid vehicles. One of my favorites things about this game is watching the car build up mud, dirt, and snow. The interior of the cars is beautiful. The rain (Especially the interior) is very pretty and looks realistic. There is also a variety of weather options. In night your car has lights and it looks really cool.

88

Best multiplayer game hands down

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3 (NA)

Though the campaign was about as boring and unoriginal as vanilla pudding, Battlefield 3's multiplayer is without equal. No other game will deliver the same scope or scale of Battlefield, and no other game even comes close to visual appeal. Still filled with epic "battlefield moments" that no other game really delivers, Battlefield just stands out in so many ways. Probably the most amazing thing I've ever seen in a game is when I saw a jet's left engine get disabled by the jet following it. The jet went into an uncontrollable barrel roll, with flames shooting out the engine, and crashed into an oil refinery in an explosion so big and graphic, I almost ducked.

95

A Masterpiece

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | Review of Guild Wars 2: Heroic Edition (NA)

Guild Wars 2 is an MMO that is not for the average MMO players. If you like grinding mobs, you will be disappointed. If you like grinding quest, you will be disappointed. If you like grinding for god like equipment, you will be disappointed. If you like more endgame grinding to feel like God, boy are you going to be disappointed. In short, if you are looking for old school MMO qualities, this is -NOT- the game for you. If you are not, welcome to the future.

Guild Wars 2 is the ONLY MMO that allows me to level in multiple ways. To get my exotic equipment in multiple ways. To complete "achievement/task" in multiple ways.

In old school MMO, everyone and every character level up the same way, either grinding quest or grinding mobs. In Guild Wars 2, there are many ways to get yourself to level 80 because everything you do reward you with EXP proportional to your level. You can craft your way to level 80. You can travel the world and explore your way to level 80. You can grind dungeons to level 80. You can join WvW and fight (pvp) your way to level 80. Of course, the gods of grind can even grind themselves to level 80 (I do not recommend this though).

Gears are no different. You can get them from multiple sources. You do not have to rot in certain dungeons to get IMBA gears only to be obsolete come next update. Top tier equipment are equal in power and they can be obtained from multiple sources. If you want to look good (like me), then you will have to play harder to earn the "best" looking skins. (Beauty is in the eye of the beholder)

The art-style in this game is "beautiful" and simply brilliant. Instead of trying to be too realistic or too flamboyant, the entire game looks like a painting, with brush strokes even. This gives the game a unique and lasting visual appeal. I believe it will age very well.

I feel that ArenaNet is sincere in trying to make a revolutionary game and they are financially very generous. You buy the game once and you can enjoy living update every 2 weeks a month for as long as Guild Wars 2 is running. They deserve no less than a 10.

p/s: If you do join us in Guild Wars 2 and find yourself in a rather empty zone, it may not mean that the game has not enough players as some would claim. Unlike -OLD- MMO games, players in Guild Wars 2 do not need to cluster in some quest hub or leveling zone doing the same thing to level. Players are more spread out but you can still find enough of them around world boss spawn points

90

More than just a game

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | Review of Dear Esther

To call this a game would be almostding is the atmosphere that is created through the narrator's speech, the beautiful graphics, perfect music score, and amazing ambient sound. This entirely inaccurate. This piece is better described as an interactive fiction narrative. The only game play mechanic in this work is to guide your character through the story. However, what makes this piece of work interesting and worthwhile is an experience that no one should pass up, my first play-through took up a little over 2 hours of my time; for $6 this is a fantastic deal.

87

Better than the first one by far!!!!!!!!

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | Review of Alice: Madness Returns (NA)

I loved the first Alice game so much. The idea was great but the game was far from flawless. I still clocked it though. Now, the new one comes along and it is much, much better than the first game and yet somehow scored so low! I don't understand how it is worse than any other AAA game. Okay, maybe I do. It can get a bit repetitive sure, but that doesn't mean the game deserves 6! It easily deserves 8 out of 10 imo because of its amazing atmosphere, music, very good gfx, art style, nice dialogue, and reasonable action gameplay. I personally was expecting gameplay to be worse and as minimal as the first game but it actually surpassed my expectations. Though, I would like to be more puzzles like the first game. I am 3 hours or so into it and so far no serious or fun puzzles. But this game is a great action/platformer with art style that is unmatched. The amount of imagination put into this just is mind boggling and that is exactly what you expect from an Alice game. A bizarre world! Don't believe in the critics. Especially if you have played the first game and liked it.

82

Play as the legendary Kain!

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | Review of Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light

Great single player and an even better Coop experience. It's has fast paced action, ingenious puzzle design for both a single player and multiplayer experience. Fantastic. Best of all, you can play as Kain from the Blood Omen series!

85

Greatly exceeds expectations.

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | Review of Just Cause 2

Just Cause 2 is an amazing game. Tons of fun missions, beautiful explosions and over 100 different vehicles to find and drive. Although, the game gets very repetitive after you complete all the faction missions and the main story line. I wouldn't say this is a game to play to completion, but very fun until you get to about 40% completion.

97

Love the brutality!

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | Review of Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days

Kane and Lynch 2 is an instant classic. By all means buy this game. It is very inexpensive yet a masterpiece of its own kind and will go down in history alongside Half-Life 2 and Doom. The story, atmosphere, characters and style are simply amazing. I won't give too much away cause that will spoil the fun.

91

Yes! Yes! YES!!!

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

One of the best platformers ever made. It applies a perfect learning curve in its level design and can provide dedicated players with a huge amount of content if they're completionists or speed gamers. It has maddeningly difficult levels but provides challenges that always seem fair to the player. When you mess up you can generally feel like it is your own damned fault and not some cheap trick like other difficult platformers released in recent years.

This is some of the best money I've ever spent and would highly encourage anyone with even a passing interest in platformers to give it a try

88

Exceptionally Magical!

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | Review of Magicka

Spell casting has never been so fun! A great game that has improved greatly over time, whether it be bug fixes, the Zelda fairy, the humour, references, gibberish, the lot! A great game that I love spending time in, this game was made from an original and innovative concept, and with some very worthwhile DLC adventures, like "The Stars Are Left", be sure to pick it up sometime, preferably the complete collection.

84

Greatest basketball game to date.

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | Review of NBA 2K11 PRE

Quite simply the greatest sports sim I have ever played. Fantastic gameplay, great game modes (the Jordan modes are just awesome) great to see classic teams there too, game looks awesome too and sounds great with the awesome commentary and new sideline reporter. A must buy for any basketball fan and for anyone looking for a great gaming experience!

83

Childhood Nostalgia!

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | Review of Costume Quest

Once again, Double Fine Productions have done it again! If it were not for Lucas Arts, then my childhood would have not been complete. This is a very cute and beautiful little adventure game. Everything from previous adventure games have been put into this wonderful game along with new additions such as three dimensional graphics and a new control setup. For only $14.99, this game is a steal!

80

Great third person shooter MMO

Oblaque | July 24, 2013 | Review of Defiance

REALLY good third person shooter MMO. The graphics are great and the action is packed! I wonder if they will cut the price on the season pass. Definitely worth a buy! Play this game with friends as it is much more fun to do so.

87

Great game and soundtrack!!!

Oblaque | July 24, 2013 | Review of Burnout Paradise: Ultimate Box (NA)

This game is flat out great! My computer is not that great and this console-to-PC-port runs perfectly! Being able to go from offline play to online play in about three seconds is unheard of. Almost like the GTA IV cellphone. The city is so open and there are lots and lots of goodies to unlock. See you on the streets!

83

Very Nastolgic

Oblaque | July 24, 2013 | Review of The Raven: Legacy of a Master Thief

This game really brings back memories of the good ole days of the Sierra Online classics such as King's Quest and the Quest for Glory series. Oh and of course the Lucas Arts adventure games. The storyline is memorable, atmosphere is fantastically haunting and the graphics are on par by todays standards. I highly recommend this to seasoned veterans and newcomers alike.

84

Humbly entertaining

Oblaque | July 24, 2013 | Review of Dungeon Siege III

Throughout the years we have been treated mischievously with hack n slash games here and there within our life time. Now, this game took me by surprise. I enjoyed Dungeon Siege 1 and 2 but I LOVE this one. Everything about it has been improved upon since its original release. Much much better graphics and faster combat makes this game an instant buy in my books. Superb story telling as well the choices you make impact what is gonna happen next.

95

Best tower defense game in the genre

Oblaque | July 23, 2013 | Review of Sanctum 2

After buying this on a steam sale, I can safely say that this a fantastic tower defense fps game. Hours of fun, well designed maps and an interesting story make for an awesome game. Almost everything that was wrong with the first Sanctum has been fixed in this version. Great job coffee stain studios!

85

Finally a competitor to Starcraft II

Oblaque | July 23, 2013 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Dawn of War II

Dawn of War 2 is an RTS/RPG-hybrid where the player takes control of a maximum of four squads of units. Standard RTS-controls apply. Each squad comes with a squad leader that can level up between missions and equip new items that are looted on the battlefield or gained as a mission reward. After each mission the player will be asked to choose the next mission objective from a star map where they will be able to see how much time is left for a mission, what the rewards are and what kind of assets are available on the planets. The ultimate goal is to stop the Tyranid threat which is represented by a bar that is constantly filling up as time goes by. Focus too much on one planet and you won't be able to save another. During missions there are three types of assets to be captured and each asset gives the player a strategic advantage. Winning the game relies on finding the time to capture these assets but not lingering around for too long as it diminishes the chances of gaining another deployment for that day. The more deployments per day that you secure, the slower the Tyranid threat grows and the more experience your troops gain. When 2 players engage in co-operative play, they will each be assigned two squads and although these are locked during the RTS stage, the players are allowed to both seamlessly control the interface during the RPG/tactical planning phase. As the person whom I played DoW 2 with put it "the Warhammer universe is endlessly repeating itself" so the story is just that; familiar. Sounds and video are excellent, the game looks and plays brilliantly. Although I am not a very big fan of the Warhammer universe, this game is legendary. Most fun can be had in co-operative play with a like-minded friend and my only grievances with it are the fishtank soundbug and the inability to rebind your special abilities and accessories!

93

One of a kind!

Oblaque | July 23, 2013 | Review of Bulletstorm (NA)

Bulletstorm is very fun to play. Kill with Skill, why nobody had done this before? Although pretty blunt and really fun, this is the true successor of the late Duke Nukem. As weapons are quite different and as you choose from a selection at start-up, the game has a good replay value so you can start by choosing different weapons such as for instance the head trap of the Saw movie (and make it explode). Or take fireworks to see the guys fly and explode into beautiful sparks. Each impact on the enemy is managed as well so you can shoot any parts of the body and have a different reactions (and various bonuses). The game is not too repetitive either in terms of worlds and different enemies, and there's a background story to discover. In short, a game very cool game to let loose!

91

One of the best co-op games to date

Oblaque | July 23, 2013 | Review of Borderlands

Borderlands is a really well made game, but only if you play with your friend(s). It could be really boring if you play alone but this is a Co-op experience. With the awesome guns, the catch-a-ride, it's unique graphics it is a must play Loot-filled adventure.

96

This has Game of the Year written all over it

Oblaque | July 23, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA)

Fantastic game. I must admit there were a ton of things to work on and a little bit of let downs but over all this game is definitely one of my top ten. There is so much to do, So much loot to take and trade, bad ass enemies and more. The comedy is silly and refreshing and this game will keep you busy for hours and hours.

92

Best in the series

Oblaque | July 23, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil 6

This is the best in the series. I love the way Capcom released a horror and action version of Resident Evil. Revelations and this. The new melee system is loads of fun and moving while shooting with a co-op partner is sensational especially with the DLC addons. The onslaught mode is a unique twist on the survival genre making it co-op and competetive at the same time. You have to launch enemies into your partners face as they fend for themselves.

89

Back to the roots!

Oblaque | July 23, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil: Revelations

Resident evil has come back to its original roots by reclaiming the horror aspect of the game, which I loved as a youngster and still do to this very day. If only there were more games like this.

The co-op is awesome and the setting is truly horrifying. Definitely worth the asking price

95

"WOW" is all I gotta say about that.

Oblaque | July 23, 2013 | Review of Rising Storm

This game is truly an amazingly frightening experience due to the fact that it is so realistic, it is as if you are in the game. Great atmosphere, superb sound effects and very good graphics make the war torn shooter a blast!

The moment you join a server, it immerses you right into the battlefield taking all what's left of your comrades oblivion. I HIGHLY recommend this game to anyone looking for the most realistic war experience to date. You won't regret it. Guaranteed.

80

Old-school CO-OP fun!

Oblaque | July 7, 2013 | Review of Pressure

This game is simply fantastic. Pure non-stop action cooperative fun. Players take the role of a selected vehicle, race vertically and start shooting! I hope there will be DLC released for this wonderful little arcade gem.

95

The ultimate package for the ultimate turn-based game!

Oblaque | July 6, 2013 | Review of Worms: Collection

This package includes every single piece of worm(s) (DLC as well). This is without a doubt the best value for your money you will ever spend. I bought this during the 666 sale and all I gotta say is "Wow". Gather up some friends/family and start playing cause the replayability and strategies are endless! Definitely worth the money + more.

78

Great CO-OP realistic military simulator.

Oblaque | July 6, 2013 | Review of Operation Flashpoint: Red River

I have been playing FPSs since the earliest titles (Wolfenstein 3D) and don't restrict myself to one franchise or game type in the genre, playing everything from COD, BF style titles to Arma2. When I saw Red RIver and its feature set, I thought this might be the title I was looking for i.e the expansive game areas and tactical gameplay of Arma 2, combined with the fluid movement/animations of COD/BF type titles, all wrapped up in co-op multiplayer that I can enjoy with mates. Red River delivers this and is squarley aimed at co-op multiplayer, to the point where single player is good (but not great) and PvP is absent altogether....a brave move really and one that suits this game just fine.

76

Underrated gem

Oblaque | July 6, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City

Not perfect but also not the disaster console reviews claim it to be. It does so much right on PC:

DX11 HDR Lighting, DX11 tessellation on some boss models. High & Smooth FPS, Detailed environments, revisits iconic locations from Resident Evil2 & 3 games.

Controls are best suited to mouse + KB. Wireless & Wired 360 gamepad's are supported. Mouse+kb are more accurate.T he game has no aim assist or auto aim so you need to be accurate in places.

Loading times are very fast no more than 5-10 seconds on an SSD.

Sound FX is excellent, Voiceovers are also very good. You will recognize a few familiar voices. Music is functional its really background noise (atmospheric) but the sound mixing is movie quality overall.

Game is designed to be a 4 player Co-Op experience but the AI is also good enough for solo play.

You can play the story mode in solo with 3 AI squad mates or public/private with randoms/friends.

SP is around 25 hours long. The various online game modes add about the same again but a lot more if you want to rise to the top of the leaderboards.

There are also lots of weapons/gadgets/upgrades to unlock with the XP you earn in all game modes (it stacks). Saving is via checkpoints which are fast & seamless apart from a small onscreen disk drive icon.

Steam + GFWL are the only DRM used here & it has unlimited activations as long as you use the same gamertag it was first registered to (ensure your also using a gamertag from the 35 supported GFWL regions).

It even has a multiplayer mode similar to COD Black Ops Zombies where you get infected and can turn on your squad mates.

87

A well done unique and original CO-OP game

Oblaque | July 6, 2013 | Review of Guns of Icarus Online

A fantastic game where 4-player crews can fight other ships in the steampunk skies of a far off future. My favorite class is the Engineer, where it's your job to keep your ship in the air and put out almost every fire (and there will be fire, trust me). You can either compete with crews by capturing points on the maps or just shooting each other out of the skies. If you're a fan of co-op, steampunk atmosphere, airships or all three, this is the game for you.

70

Buy only for the CO-OP experience.

Oblaque | July 6, 2013 | Review of Syndicate - US & Canada

The Cooperative mode alone is worth the price of admission. This is a gorgeous, solid, pulse pounding shooter with a sleek cyberpunk style. The single player isn't the longest out there, coming in at around 6 hours, but that should not deter you. Grab four of your buddies, create your own Syndicate and go to war. The only thing that could make this package better, would be knowing that more CO-OP maps were on the way and adding a survival mode.

84

Exceptionally gratisfyingly gruesomely entertaining!

Oblaque | July 6, 2013 | Review of Killing Floor Complete Pack

Its really pleasing to see the specimens' heads blow up after a Magnum revolver shot or owning the Patriarch with melee attacks or with the sharpshooter class. There is some variety of specimens but it lacks on bosses, which is actually, just one boss, the good old Patriarch. Its fun to play, specially with friends, getting cornered by the zombies. If you do enjoy zombie killing games you'll have quite a good experience. There are lots of achievements to make on Steam. There are also DLCs. There are some classes and each has its specific perks, there are no big disadvantages or overpowered classes at all, each has its specific guns, though, you can still buy other classes' guns but you wont do so well with them as you'll do with the guns' specific classes. The whole pack including all the DLC's are in this package.

77

Pure fun. Similar to Garry's Mod.

Oblaque | July 6, 2013 | Review of Just Cause 2

Try the demo for this game. It is a good taste of the full game. I was hooked by the demo. This game is a sandbox of destruction and mayhem. The story is zany in a good way (don't take it seriously). The gunplay thankfully has a little bit of aim-assist to help out (not sure if you can turn this off?) There are some frustrating sequences near the end (on normal difficulty) but the game is fun enough to keep trying. This game won't please everyone (try the demo) but if you like it, you can spend 30+ hours playing around. Annoyance: the never ending enemy reinforcements. The engine is top-tier. This game has a certain indefinable "fun factor" that kept me playing to completion. Plus there is a multiplayer mod in the works so keep that in mind as well.

80

What a surprise!

Oblaque | July 6, 2013 | Review of Lead and Gold

Just got this on sale recently, I went in with fairly low expectations expecting the same old team based gameplay with western inspired Graphics. Wow I could not have been more wrong. The gameplay hooked me immediately and the classes are varied enough that you pick and choose what you are playing as.Of Particular enjoyment are the Robbery games which have 2 interesting phases to them. The gaphics, sound & music fit the bill perfectly and the maps are very well thought out and fun with lots of alternate routes and obvious choke points. This game also has a 2 player survival mode for unlimited replayability! You gotta give this game a try.

85

fun fun FUN

Oblaque | July 3, 2013 | Review of Inversion (NA)

Please do not go by the bad reviews that this game has gotten from all the media. They completely missed the point. It is absolute fun and the survival mode adds a lot of re-playability to this already great game. The only gripe I have is that there are not that many people playing this game online so you'll have to get some family and friends to play with. Overall I give this game a 85/100. Just pure fun and that is what games are meant to be.