Reviews by Obsessor

80

A different approach to RTS

Obsessor | Sept. 29, 2014 | Review of Majesty Gold

Long story short - you're a ruler of a kingdom full of monsters. But you don't build armies, in fact you can't control any unit! All you can do is issure orders to build structures, hire heroes and set "quests" with gold as rewards(your hard earned gold!). Then hero or two take up the mission, kill the monster, and you pay them. Very innovative.

The game may be old, and ther is Majesty 2. Still, I recommend it, even if to just add it to your collection. A quality game.

90

Garrett got a makeover

Obsessor | Sept. 29, 2014 | Review of Thief: Deadly Shadows

And it's still very good. Some people argue that the "open city" is very small, and cut to pieces with so many loading screens. Still this is the first time when you don't have mission - cutscene - briefing - mission - cutscene, model. You go out there and find the missions yourself. You can go into some houses, shops, inns, storehouses and rob them. You can pickpocket people on the streets, then pawn the stolen goods and buy yourself some equipment.

What bothers me about Deadly Shadows(but only in a moderate way)is the third person perspective option. You don't have to use it of course. That's why I don't consider it a big con. But TPP option breaks the immersion somehow. At least for me, after playing Thief and Thief 2 for such a long time. Apart from that it is still Thief, and at some points even better than both previous games! I can't recommend enough playing some of the missions - like the ones taking part in a burned orphanage and in a pirate's mansion. Those missions, have especially amazing atmosphere which was built by the use of professional voice acting and insane ambient music.

As with previous instalments of the series, modding scene is strong with this one. You can find mods that I personally label essential, because they enhance the gameplay so much that they make the game perfect.

99

Garrett once again

Obsessor | Sept. 29, 2014 | Review of Thief II: The Metal Age

First of all - Thief 2 is much better than its predecessor. What makes me say that? Well, remember Thief 1? Many zombies, burricks, wraiths, caverns and ruins. In Thief 2 you can forget about all this. All missions are set in the city of Dayport. (Well not all, but I'm not spoiling the fun.) There are close to none supernatural enemies. You face mostly humans with addition of some steam propelled "robots" and sentries. And that's why it's so good. Pure thieving experience set in steampunk world with amazing story, great voice acting. Incredible ambient music too.

As with The 1st Thief, you can easily find mods that will make the game look more than passable for today's gamer.

95

It's Garrett!

Obsessor | Sept. 29, 2014 | Review of Thief Gold

Thief - it all began 16 years ago. First person stealth game. After playing the first mission I was overwhelmed with the genius of developers. Later on, when I got to explore caves, ancient temples, ruins full of monsters and undead I was less happy. I wanted "pure" thieving experience. Without the need of dodging burricks and zombies. Still the game has amazing story and gameplay. That made me stick to it till the end. Gold version features few more missions - set in "normal" environment.

The gameplay itself, well... As I stated - it's a stealth game. You have to avoid enemies at all costs, taking them down only when necessary and disposing of all evidence, unless you want to bring a dozen of searchers upon your head. Killing is loud and messy. Your victims will cry out and leave pools of blood that alert their comrades. The blackjack is your best friend if you need to take someone out. Stun a person and remove the unconscious fellow to a secluded place. When you face monsters like zombies or burricks it pays to just stay undetected. Undead can be destroyed only with holy water. Burricks can be killed, but they are very tough and better left alone.

Thief is an old game to be sure, but it works very well on modern rigs. What's more - there are fan made HD mods that make the looks of the game quite enjoyable. So, all things considered, this is a must have for any game collector - history, and still enjoyable history! at your disposal.

80

More Dawn of War 2

Obsessor | Sept. 27, 2014 | Review of Warhammer 40K: Dawn of War II Chaos Rising

New campaing with a feature to import your save game from the original DoW2 campaign. Level 30 cap (increased from lvl 20 in the original). New heroes to join your team. New skills for every hero. Many new items, unseen in the original. And finally more good old Dawn of War 2 gameplay with very interesting story. Multiplayer is also worth a try, especially now that it has been sorted out and basically reactivated by Steam. So the game is totally worth your while.

80

Very satisfying game

Obsessor | Sept. 27, 2014 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Space Marine Collection

I always wanted to play a Space Marine. Not like in RTS games, or tabletop original, but actually impersonating single Space Marine. Here it is. With all the DLC possible.

Space Marine lets you really feel like one of those nearly unstoppable killing machines. Take controls for instance. While moving around you actually feel that your character is encased in a massive, heavyweight armour. As for combat - you have various weapons at your disposal. At first it's just bolter pistol and a knife, later on you get a proper chainsword, bolter rifles, grenade launchers, laser rifles. Even a damn two handed warhammer and a jetpack. Combat in this game is one thing you will thoroughly enjoy. More so, because developers implemented a feature of unlocking new moves and passive abilities making your combat experience more versatile.

Graphically the game looks all right for its time of release. I had a minor problem with sound however. It kept glitching, characters were sometimes speaking in a high pitched voice. Fortunately after fumbling with sound drivers I was able to eliminate this annoyance.

As for multiplayer, I managed to play few matches. It is basically an arena with countless waves of Orks. A team of four players try to fend off the attackers for as long as possible. You rack up kills, get experience points and unlock new gear for the class that you're currently playing. There are standard ranged marines, melee fighters, and heavy gunners wielding powerful heavy bolters that require a time to set up, and slow the character down a lot, but deal massive damage.

To sum up - a solid game that will make you feel like a Space Marine.

90

Like Skyrim, but with guns.

Obsessor | Sept. 23, 2014 | Review of Far Cry 3

Well, I've spent one hundred hours on this game so far. It should be quite a recommendation already. If not please read on. It won't be long.

Storyline is very intense, with few nice plot twists and crazy situations. Graphics, voice acting and music are top level performances. As for multiplayer, I enjoyed coop very much, because you can level up your character, unlock new weapons and many upgrades for them, including camouflage patterns. The single player experience is also very entertaining, as the game belongs to so popular free roam genre. And of course it has many things to offer - liberating tens of outposts, unlocking unique weapons, finding boar/spider/shark figurines, almost a hundred of them in total, hidden in crazy places. You can drive, fly, swim, hunt. It's like the title says - Skyrim with guns. Much shorter as it's not a RPG with hundreds of sidequests. But still very satisfying game that's worth playing.

90

Good old Civ.

Obsessor | Sept. 18, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® III Complete

That's that. Classic strategy gem. Yes - gem. Iv'e owned this game almost since it was released in 2001. I won't lie saying that I've spent several hundred hours with this game. But nowdays it's just a curiosity. Cheap legend to add to your Steam library if you're a collector or a fan of the Civ series. Nonetheless - a gem, as, in my humble opinion, Civ III is one of the best games in the series.

100

Detective story!

Obsessor | Sept. 15, 2014 | Review of LA Noire

I love detective novels set in the early XXth century. They have certain charm to them. The peoples clothes, the music, overall atmosphere. I love it. If you are like me, don't hesitate for a moment, you will weep while impersonating Cole Phelps in his career as a detective in Los Angeles of late 1940's.

The amazing facial animations are there for a reason too - you have to watch the people you talk to very closely, and listen to what they say, and in what manner they say it. Only if you're a keen observer, a true detective, you can uncover the truth. And even then you can be fooled sometimes. That's the game's magic.

Overall impression - shut up and take my money. I got the game on sale, was pretty fortunate in that, but now that I played it - I would buy it again for full price. It's that good. 100/100 and a night in a jazz club.

75

Well...

Obsessor | Sept. 15, 2014 | Review of Shaun White Skateboarding

At first it seemed like a nice game, especially given the backstory - you're a skater in a world where all the fun and games are forbidden. People can't laugh or play as it is a crime aganst the status quo. Neat. But the game itself... Let's put it straight - SW Skateboarding is NOT outright bad. But I have some minor issues with the controls. Which in a sports/action game is the most important part. So I didn't enjoy the game in full, as sometimes my character wouldn't do what I "told" him to do. Maybe that has something to do with me using the keyboard to play, as my last pad got... um... well, destoryed.

On the good side - I liked the looks of the game. The black-and-white city before you "liberate" it. And the blossoming of colours when you free people from under the "spell" of "not-being-allowed-to-feel-joy"

All things considered - Shaun White Skatebording is not a game I can recommend with a clear conscience, but a skateboarding fan would probably find it amusing and worthwile.

85

Not a big fan of RTS

Obsessor | Sept. 15, 2014 | Review of R.U.S.E.

But RUSE won my attention nonetheless! First of all, because it's not a hard game to learn. You get the hang of things pretty fast. Everything is clearly explained in the first few missions. Each one introduce new elements and give you a time to familiarize with it. The titular "ruses" are the key to victory. You can fool your enemy about the size of your force, about the movements, etc.

I also loved the graphics in the game. You can zoom far out, so that the units are displayed as tokens, little plastic soldiers we played with as kids. Or you can zoom so close as to see every single soldier, watch him fire his rifle... and die if you're a bad commander.

I really enjoyed playing RUSE, and that coming from a person who's not into RTS... I think it means the game is really worth a try.

70

Repetitive but fun

Obsessor | Sept. 15, 2014 | Review of From Dust

At least for some time. The idea behind this game got me instantly. Last thing similar I can remember playing was Black & White. So if you know that one, you get the general idea behind From Dust - you play a god. You can control the elements, moving the ground, draining water, play with fire and all this stuff. The goal is to move your worshippers from one place to another. Pretty simple.

80

Decent shooter

Obsessor | Sept. 15, 2014 | Review of Call of Juarez: The Cartel

As the title states. You get a good first person shooter, pretty decent graphics, nice music and believable characters. The game also has some measure of replayability, as you can chose three different characters to impersonate. Each time you get a bit different story, as every person has his/her own life and problems to deal with.

All things considered - good shooter to waste some time with on a boring day.

80

Spooky shooter

Obsessor | Sept. 15, 2014 | Review of F.E.A.R

Yep! As much as I dislike classic shooters - those with medkits and ammo lying around, FEAR got through to me. I was really hooked into the story. The scares aren't that scary in my opinion. There are few "jumpscares" that can take you unaware and raise your blood preasure a bit.

Overall game impression - very good. Decent graphics(for its time of release), great sounds and music. Good story. All that topped with good FPS experience. A worthwile game. And it comes with two expansions, both of which are pretty long, so you get a lot of play time from this one.

80

Quite fun

Obsessor | Sept. 15, 2014 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Storm of Vengeance

I played this game on my tablet. My machine isn't brand new or powerful, but the game worked very nice. As fro the game itself - it's not something amazing to be honest. A tower defense game with some nice mechanics, meaning skills and such. What makes it worthwile are two things. First, for me personally, it was the length. Storm of Vengeance has quite a number of missions, and if you enjoy tower defense games, that will do you in. Secondly - the Warhammer 40k setting. I likfe WH40k, have some games set in this universe. If you like the place where "there is only war," you should have a blast with this game here.

The graphics may not be much at first glance, but it's rather neat and rich with details The music and sounds are also likeable. I haven't had the opportunity to try multiplayer, so I can't speak about it. But my overall rating of this game places it in the top of my tower defense game's list. I recommend it without a second thought.

85

You are weak, you must feed

Obsessor | Sept. 15, 2014 | Review of Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver

Raziel, Kain, Nosgoth. If those doesn't tell you anything... Get this game ASAP! If you already know this soul sucking vampire, the more you should get acquainted with this title. This here is more than decent 3D platformer/beat 'em up. Quite like Tomb Raider, but with vampires, and gloomy dark fantasy settings. With some sick monsters lurking about.

I must mention the awesome music which is so good, always going in tune with what you see on the screen.

On the cons side - badly working camera. If you play with a keyboard like me, be prepared to hit 0 on the keypad, next to the arrows, to right the cam. But that's the only con of this game I can think of. Once again - amazing title.

90

Seriously Strange

Obsessor | Sept. 15, 2014 | Review of Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days

I mean like... What the hell I just saw? Some things you see on the screen are just hilarious, other disturbing. I loved the story, the struggle of those two guys. It was something to behold. Alas... The game is terribly short and linear. But the story guys - totally worth seeing. It's like an action movie. Things are intense out there. No stopping, no rest. That's why I give this game such a high rating.

100

Best of the Best

Obsessor | Sept. 15, 2014 | Review of Hitman: Blood Money

The title sums it up. This is, officially, the best Hitman game ever created. Why? The freedom lads. You have many and more ways to complete every assassination. Every time you get a new job, you're dropped into a huge level, where it;s your wits vs the enemies. From indiscriminate slaughter to being an invisible hand that nudges and pushes unsuspecting victims into "accidental deaths." And that mind blowing ending... 100/100 isn't enough.

80

Mixed feelings

Obsessor | Sept. 15, 2014 | Review of Hitman: Contracts

Yes. That's in short my review of the third Hitman game. Here we get something totally different. The gameplay is more or less the same, but the story... Felt like the developers were content with what they got so far. Not keen on inventing more at the moment. So we get to replay some missions from previous games. Sure there are new moves, new ways to eliminate your targets. It's just I expected something brand new, not flashbacks. Don't get me wrong though. I loved the game and I recommend you add it to your collection.

90

A Classic

Obsessor | Sept. 15, 2014 | Review of Hitman: Codename 47

This is one of those game that were like a pebble which started an avalanche. And now we have five instalments of the series with new one in making. You should do yourself a favor and grab this one. Run it at least once and see for yourself where this legend originated. You won't be disappointed. The game still works and looks surprisingly well. What's more you can run it at insane resolutions. That's an example of a game well made.

Well, what are you waiting for. Know the origins of the Bald Assassin. And if you already know just get it to add to your collection. I did.

80

Solid and fun shooter

Obsessor | Sept. 3, 2014 | Review of Alien Rage Unlimited

Alien Rage features good graphics and fun, old-school shooting experience. Lots of enemies, many weapons, score counter. It's a very good game to play after work, just to let off some steam.

Any shooter fan will like this game.

90

Better or wose than first Bioshock?

Obsessor | Aug. 24, 2014 | Review of BioShock® 2

People are divided among lovers and haters of Bioshock 2. I say it's just... different from its predecessor. It improves on what was good in the first game, buffs up the graphics a bit(Little Sisters aren't looking like some horror movie creeps anymore).

You can argue if the story is as good as it was in Bioshock 1. I can't really decide if I liked the first or the second game best. Both appeal to me in some ways. I enjoyed being a hunted survivor of plane crash from Bioshock as much as impersonating a Big Daddy in the second game. And having a fixed goal from the beginning - saving Elanor was a nice touch compared to "I don't know where I am or what I'm doing" atmosphere from the first game.

You just have to answer this question for yourself. But be sure, you won't be disappointed playing Bioshock 2.

85

How much Bioshock is there in Bioshock?

Obsessor | Aug. 24, 2014 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

Not enough to my liking. Oh, I enjoyed the game. Played it to the hilt, loved wandering around with Elizabeth. Liked the plot to the point that I finished the game in two big "bites." Three hours of play on first day, seven on the second. Well, ten hours doesn't seem like much, but it's a standard these days. We have to deal with it.

Columbia looks nothing like Rapture of course. Thus there is close to none horror theme in Infinite. There are some attempts at scares, but... thes are scarce. And poor.

Well, all things considered it's a FPS you should play. It got too much hype and it set the expectations too high. So please don't expect some magic happening while you play. You may be awed with the vistas, confused with some plot twists, or the ending for that matter. Oh, just try the game. Confusion, awe, that I can pretty much guarantee. Disappointment? Not at all. But still I think that previous games were better. Especially first Bioshock. That's maybe because you have actually some measure of control over the possible endings of Bioshock and Bioshock 2. Whereas in Infinite all the "decisions" mean nothing in the long run.

But if this game's on a sale, like when I write this review - don't hesitate(I didn't)and buy it.

80

Good DLC

Obsessor | Aug. 24, 2014 | Review of BioShock 2: Minerva’s Den

This is one good DLC to a great game. Alas, in my experience it had one flaw. Crashes. While original game did not crash even once, Minerva's Den did quite a few times. But apart from that I can't say a bad thing about this DLC. New hero(Subject Sigma), new weapons - laser cannon is great. New plasmids. And of course a nice, but fairly short, story. These make a solid addition to Bioshock 2.

90

Epic FPS experience

Obsessor | Aug. 24, 2014 | Review of BioShock + BioShock 2 Pack

Two of the best FPS out there. They have some RPG elements to spice up the gameplay. You can juggle plasmids and tonics to play the games your way. Weapons can be upgraded to, but beware, as the uprgades have a finite number, and NOT all weapons can be upgraded. So chose wisely.

Stories behind those games are trully amazing. And you can actually chose, to some extent of course, how the games will end! They have multiple endings, so you can play both games few times to get them all.

As I stated in the beginning - Bioshock + Bioshock 2 are excellent FPS games. Also, they are worthy successors, or heirs if you will, of System Shock 2. If you enjoyed said game, you will not be dissappointed in Bioshock.

90

System Shock 2 Reborn

Obsessor | Aug. 24, 2014 | Review of BioShock

Bioshock doesn't have the RPG depth of System Shock 2, but it well deserves being called SS2 spiritual heir. From the atmosphere of loneliness through discovering the story by means of audio tapes, to hacking minigame which is almost a copy of SS2 one. If you're an older gamer, who remembers(and likes)System Shock, you'll be pleased with Bishock. If you're not... Well, it's your chance to know the father of Bioshock Infinite. A father who, in my opinion, surpasses his child.

85

Good for one playthrough.

Obsessor | Aug. 21, 2014 | Review of Mafia II

And the title pretty much sums things up. The game has great story, very nice music - that's one of the reasons I'm giving it such a high score. But it's linear. If you played it once... Nothing will be different on the second go. Not even a minor change. You have to do things exactly as they were designed to be done. I was expecting a bit more "GTA like" gameplay. With likeness to GTA IV and some choices you had. This made me play the game second and third time. In Mafia 2... Well...

Still I think the game's very, very good. Especially if you like, as I do, the 40's and 50's atmosphere, with it's styles in music and clothing.

85

Amazing story

Obsessor | Aug. 17, 2014 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

I don't know, neither do I care, if anyone agrees, but the story in Arkham City is amazing. I'm not giving any spoilers, just saying - be ready for some nasty twists in the plot. The only con here is that the main story is awfully short - finished it in 7 hours, but I also roamed the city for about an hour, so following the story only will be about 6 hours of play. Too short. However there is the open world, hundreds of Riddler challenges, and some accessible only by Batman or Catwoman, so you have to switch characters! There are many side-quests too. Also, as in Arkham Asylum, we get challenges on a kind of arenas where we pit our skills against many enemies. Finally - in GOTY edition - there is additional short campaign where you impersonate Robin and Batman. If that's not enough, there is New Game Plus feature - harder than normal game, but you keep all the upgrades from your previous play-through.

All things considered - this game's worth playing. I only wish the main story would be longer.

90

New Lara

Obsessor | Aug. 17, 2014 | Review of Tomb Raider Game of the Year

Not only Lara. Whole game is nothing like the Tomb Radier games we're used to. And that's not bad, because what we get here is an intense single player experience. There are some inconsistencies. Like for example - At the beginning of the game Lara cringes from killing a deer, to feed herself. Twenty minutes later she kills her first man and is all sobs. Sixty seconds after that she's a killing machine, shooting and strangling everyone in her path. But if you get over it, like I did, Tomb Raider is an amazing action game. Everything's crumbling around you, explosions wreak havoc on the environment. Goons are shooting at you. One misstep and you're dead(fortunately checkpoints are numerous, so you will not have to repeat huge chunks of the game). And death... Some animations are more than suggestive. Outright sadistic. Either it's the enemies dying, or unfortunate Lara suffering a fatal accident(at one point you swim in a rushing river and if you're not fast enough Lara will end up with a metal bar, sticking through her skull).

As many people say - GOTY's not worth the price. I bought it because it was on sale, half the price of normal edition. The DLCs aren't anything special. But the single player campaign. It's worth every penny.

80

Eerie atmosphere

Obsessor | Aug. 13, 2014 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas Dead Money

Yup, this one's strange. Not like "what the heck is this thing?" but rather "wow..." In my opinion one of the best, if not the best, DLC released for FNV. The Casino looks amazing, new enemies are creepy, and the characters you meet in the famous casino are amazing.

What else, well, few new weapons and armors, another level cap increase, and of course new perks. All things considered - very good DLC, definitely not a rip off.

70

A little boost.

Obsessor | Aug. 13, 2014 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas Couriers Stash

Just like the title says. You get few items which give you better start into your adventure. Plus you get a Vault 13 hip flask, which comes in handy as your character can drink from it, and never dehydrate. Neat. And the price's adequate to what you get.

70

Spooky at times.

Obsessor | Aug. 13, 2014 | Review of Blinding Dark

Considering it's an indie title, and a game under 10£, it is suprisingly good.

A solid horror mixed with first peron shooter. What it's lacking is serious AI of your enemies, some glitches, minor lags. What it has is nice atmosphere, scary ambient, nice mix of weapons and spells.

Before purchasing I would advise checking out the demo version available from the developer's website.

95

Look, it's Batman!

Obsessor | Aug. 12, 2014 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

After Arkham Asylum I was speechless. As a kid I used to collect all kinds of comic books. Batman, Superman. Later on I dropped those in favour of Spawn and some other, more "mature" heroes.

Well... After first hour in this game, just like it was the case with Arkham Asylum, I just sat there, head bobbing, and said "Damn..." This game's amazing. It has it's ups and downs, as every game. Nothing's perfect. Never. You're either blind or too infatuated to see the flaws. But, not being a big fan of Batman, I simply loved the game. The characters, the city of Gotham.

As I'm writing this, the game's on sale. GOTY edition. All DLC. Don't hesitate. Get it now.

85

Under Jolly Roger!

Obsessor | Aug. 12, 2014 | Review of Assassin’s Creed® IV Black Flag™

I love pirate settings. Maybe not like in Pirates of Carribean, but more dirty, more real. And as AC 4 goes, I'm not disappointed.

Again we get a beautiful game, full of historical referrences, which I love. With pure action, free roam, guaranteed to steal many, many hours of one's time. There are so many possibilities of activities at first you may be dumbfounded as what to do. Explore, sail your ship, upgrade it, look for treasures, fight naval battles. And if you're wondering if this is a real AC game, so different. Well, it is different. You're in fact a pirate. But don't worry. It is still good old Assassin's Creed. With great plot and lots of action. Surely not a disappointment.

90

Ezzio Auditore at his best.

Obsessor | Aug. 12, 2014 | Review of Assassin's Creed Brotherhood Deluxe Edition

After amazing Assassin's Creed 2 we get the Brotherhood. Changing charming Venice for Rome. I personally didn't like it at first. Too much countryside locations, not enough roaming through city. But after a time I came to love Brotherhood. It expands AC potential. You get to lead a whole guild. Hiring new assassins, sending them on missions that fill the guild's coffers.

The graphics and music are like in AC 2, just a bit more refined when it comes to graphics.

And what's more important, again you are thrown headfirst into amazingly detailed world set in our world's history with characters who actually lived there and then. That's one of the reasons I love AC series. Historical referrences.

To sum up - more AC 2, more Ezzio, more possibilities(managing assassin's guild!). A worthy successor of AC 2.

85

Hashashin...

Obsessor | Aug. 12, 2014 | Review of Assassin's Creed

The word originates with far east, the Order of Hashashin, highly skilled killes, employing their skills in order to manipulate the world. They were experts at political plays, through blackmail or assassination.

And here is a game where you are a part of this organization. But wait, there's more. Even though this is purely fictional story it is rooted in actual historic setting. The middle ages Jerusalem.

The game is a free roam. You get an assignment, your target, the person you have to... dispose of. And carry out that assignment with attention to details. First you gather intel, plan your moves, check for best escape routes, learn about your target's habits. And finally strkie. With surgical precision, taking out your target and disappearing. Or slaughtering indiscriminately.

The cons of the game are few, but nonetheless annoying. First of all, the preparation before every assassination looks exactly the same. You complete the same steps every time. Very repetitive and in after few assignments plainly boring. Secondly, a mild con... Game's world is pretty small for me. I hoped for a bigger place to roam.

Nevertheless this game is a must have, must play! Not perfect, with a graphics that's now outdated. No matter. It's still great. If you haven't yet, please get to know the "father" of Ezzio, Connor and Edward Kenway, the famous Altair.

90

Simply beautiful

Obsessor | Aug. 12, 2014 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition

This game will win you, no matter who you are or what you do. To have a chance of roaming Venice... To witness first hand the beauty of architecture. And to immerse yourself in this amazingly detailed world.

The plot and characters themselves are very good too. You get to meet young Leonardo da Vinci! This is what I like in Assassin's Creed games - you are entering a "real" world. Of course the story is purely fictional. But embedded in factual events. Creators of AC were brilliant in their use of the best asset there is in creating works of art - our history.

The graphics may not be state of the art, but I commend it for being very detailed. Architecture, those arches and domes will make you purr like a kitten. Music is also very good, it's style and tempo heats up your blood during battles, and provides a chilling atmosphere when you roam the world .

Get this game guys, it comes from the original Assassin's Creed, refines it, and is much much better than the first part.

70

Not a action RPG, not a Hack'n'Slash. Nope.

Obsessor | Aug. 10, 2014 | Review of Sacred 3

Lets get one thing straight. This is not a Sacred 3 as you'd expect it. An action RPG like the previous ones. It's more like some spin-off of the series. Here you chose one hero and run around slaughtering enemies.

Graphics and music look and sound very nice, As it should, when you consider the game weights 25GB and needs quite a gaming rig to run smoothly.

As for the gameplay... It's surprisingly fun. When you set aside the grudges of disappointed Sacred fans, you get a very good action game. Maybe not worth the money it costs now, but on a promotion, certainly worth it.

75

Odin!

Obsessor | Aug. 7, 2014 | Review of Vikings & Roses - Unleash the War Pack

Well, I've been giddy with anticipation for War of the Vikings. This here is a nice pack, with some goodies. Games itself though...

War of the Vikings.

It's a step forward from War of the Roses. Combat and overall "feeling" of the game is better. You have more customization options for your warrior. As in the first game there are perks for your character, upgrades for weapons, horse monuted combat, and so on. Weapons and armor are looking neat, I'm no specialist, but they do look like real ones from the epoch might. Graphics also very nice, though this is a secondary thing for me in such games. What's most important is that it plays without lag. And here you have to have a good gaming rig to run this game smoothly.

War of the Roses.

Well, what to say about it. An older brother of the aforementioned game. Almost everything said about Vikings applies to this game. Perks, many historically accurate weapons, customization, and so on. You can upgrade your statistics, use perks, fight on horseback, etc.

All in all, if you want decent fighting game set in medieval, with many customization options and complex builds, those games may be your thing. If you'd like pure action you might consider Chivalry.

90

That's it folks!

Obsessor | Aug. 7, 2014 | Review of Fallout 3: Game of the Year Edition

I already reviewed Fallout 3, this here is just me adding few words on this release. Here you get all the DLC, which make the game a complete experience. You can level up to 30(20 in the initial release), and can get many new weapons, perks, armors, and what's more important - whole lot of new missions to play. A good reason for getting this version is that all the DLC are more expensive than the base game, or this here GOTY release. So if you're considering buying Fallout 3 - get the GOTY.

90

Ratonhnhaké:ton a.k.a. Connor

Obsessor | Aug. 7, 2014 | Review of Assassin's Creed III: Deluxe Edition

I like the new protagonist of Assassin's Creed 3 very much. As much as I liked Ezzio Auditore in the second installment of the series. It is very enjoyable to roam the wilderness(although it's a bit spoiled by some nuances here and there). But the heart of the game are fights in the city. AC3 improves the combat, adds firearms, many new weapons(fighting with tomahawk is both - satisfying to do and watch). Again I was immersed deeply in the story. Mostly thanks to it being "hinged" on real historical events. That's why I like Assassin's Creed series so much.

Game looks amazing, at least that's my impression. Music's properly emotional.

And finally in this pack you get a lot of content which makes it a complete, whole, experience. Considering the game was released in 2012 it could be a bit cheaper. But in case of some sale, don't hesitate to get it.

75

Too short.

Obsessor | Aug. 7, 2014 | Review of Far Cry 3: Deluxe Bundle DLC Pack

These missions here are very funny. Stuff with Hurk as well as crawling through abandoned Japanes underground facilities. Alas, both those are short lived experiences. It takes very little time to complete the Lost Expeditions, with Monkey Business it's bit better, as the missions are very intense, especially the last ones. Other bonuses are a nice touch. I like the soundtrack much.

90

A worthy finale?

Obsessor | Aug. 7, 2014 | Review of Mass Effect 3

I've played first Mass Effect soon after its release. After finishing it I was hungry for more. Mass Effect 2 came and went. Still haven't satiated my hunger. And Mass Effect 3 left me with a feeling of disappointment. I was disappointed that it's already over, the end to one of my favorite series. Oh, the game has its flaws. Nonetheless is worth playing. Especially if you liked previous ME games. What you get here is a fine story wrapped up in very good graphics and amazing music. A worthy finale indeed.

50

Back to the future.

Obsessor | Aug. 6, 2014 | Review of Daikatana

This is a strange game. I remember it was announced by Ion Storm as something new, never seen before. Well, in my humble opinion, they didn't live up to those expectations. Story revolves around Daikatana - ancient and powerful sword.

The game is set in four time periods. Futuristic Japan, ancient Greece, middle ages - Norway and "present times" - San Francisco. Each period features its own weapons and enemies. We jump through time, fighting demons and "normal" enemies in order to recharge Daikatana and jump to another period of Earth's history to repeat the process. Same thing. Four times.

Graphics is well... It's a game from 2000, so what do you expect it to be? But even back then it was bad, as there were few games which had better engines. Daikatana features Quake II engine, and at the time of its release it had to rival, and inevitably lose, to Quake III Arena and Unreal Tournament.

This game is no more than curiosity. I have it in my Steam library, and I played it years ago on a DRM free copy. Like I said - a curiosity, nothing more. If you're a collector though, you might consder getting it. With a label: "A game on which Romero tripped himself and bruised his knees."

99

Breathtaking experience.

Obsessor | Aug. 6, 2014 | Review of Omikron: The Nomad Soul

This game is amazing. It is an adventure game, with lots of exploration, dialogues and finding solutions to problems you usually face in adventure games. But when you play it you notice few differences. First of all there is no main character. You are an entity that can posess virtually anyone. And this is required to advance through the game.

Apart from adventure mode there are two more. A beat 'em up, with many combos and upgrades, with tournaments where you can earn cash and other rewards. And a FPS, with various weapons.

What else... The world of Omikron actually lives. You can explore it like in GTA. Go here, there, visit shops, go to a concert of David Bowie! Buy music in a store and listen to it in your apartment.

And all this in a game released in 1999. Nice, isn't it?

The plot is about saving the world, pretty cliche, right? But you get so deeply immersed in this beautiful, detailed world. I picked this game up about ten years ago and played through it few times so far.

It's an amazing, breathtaking experience. It's a shame that game such as this was forgotten. Alas, as it is often the case - the world wasn't ready for it in 1999. Combining an adventure with FPS and beat 'em up, set in a detailed science fiction world of Omikron and featuring great music by David Bowie. A real gem for a collector.

85

Funny game.

Obsessor | Aug. 6, 2014 | Review of Space Rangers HD: A War Apart

There are tons of things to do here. You can fight in the ongoing war against unstoppable machines(theme similar to Borg collective from Star Trek). You can be a pirate or a trader. Or you can combine all of those for maximized effect.

This game is a mix of open space exploration and combat, with well developed trading element. The galaxy is live, there is something going on all the time. Many jobs and missions to complete, sometimes popping out of nowhere. And there is a part of the game where you descend on a planet to complete a ground mission in full 3D. Purely RTS gameplay, where you have to destroy enemy base with mechs that you can construct from scratch combining many parts available - torsos, heads, legs or tracks, many different weapons.

There are also text, yes - text! - based missions. You are faced with tasks like participating in culinary contest, or trying to get something done in a place where beaurocracy is taken to whole new level of nastiness. Feels like some old, old adventure game.

Yes, all this in one game. Very satisfying experience.

85

More Shank!

Obsessor | Aug. 6, 2014 | Review of Shank 2

I was very happy to see the continuation of Shank's adventures. Here you get more of beautiful. hand drawn, comic book style graphics, good music and sfx, satisfying action. It's bigger and better than first Shank, as it should be with any sequel. That's why it's worth getting. Shank learned some new moves, got additional weapons, and is again set to fight crimelords in order to save his friends.

Shank 2 features coop play on an arena - you have to defend three crucial points against enemies who try to plant bombs there. You can play this on one screen if you have additional controller(pad), or online with random people. Game supports Steam play so it's very easy, no logging in, no looking for servers, just click'n'play.

80

Playable comic book.

Obsessor | Aug. 6, 2014 | Review of Shank

That's how I see this game. Very stylish hand drawn characters and backgrounds, lots of action. Cliche plot, but who cares, right? It's a beat 'em up. You play for an hour or so, and get up very satisfied. As I already said, I like the looks of this game very much. Same for music and audio in general. Professionaly made, with cool main theme.

This game's worth a try, I own both parts, and I'm proud of it.

65

For the Emperor, up and personal.

Obsessor | Aug. 6, 2014 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Space Marine

I liked playing this game after completing Dawn of War 1 and 2. Always dreamed to actually play as one of those powerful warriors of the Emperor. Dream come true? Not quite.

The game is repetitive and silly at times. Graphics look all right, music does not interfere too much, it's there at the edge of your consciousness. Gameplay itself - as I mentioned - repetitive. You clear room after room of enemies, dumb enemies. There are some upgrades and boosters to make the game less boring, and it succeeds to some extent. I managed to play the game through to the end once. And I don't think I'll be back for more. One time's enough. I have tried some online play. It's a simple coop on an arena-like map where you fend off wave upon wave of enemies. But hey, it's an universe where there is only war, so what else can you expect, right?

Good game for one playthrough.

86

Best Star Wolves

Obsessor | Aug. 6, 2014 | Review of Star Wolves 3: Civil War

It's simply the first game, and second one, multipiled. There are more fighters to chose from(now the game has five tiers of ships, compared to three in the first installment of the series). What's also a big step ahead is the fact that you get new motherships as you progress through the story. In midgame you get a mothership that can take out whole wings of fighters on its own. That is an awesome progress from the first game, where your mothership was very vulnerable and you had to run away from any fighting, except maybe the weakest enemies, like pirates.

As I said in the beginning - Star Wolves is bigger and better than its predecessors. If you haven't played previous games you won't miss much. Just a few characters from first game appearing in Star Wolves 3. Also plot refers to some previous occurrences.

To sum up - this one's the is the best what Star Wolves have to offer. As an off note - there was a standalone expansion planned for SW3, but it was never released. A shame if you ask me.

75

What the...

Obsessor | Aug. 6, 2014 | Review of Star Wolves

That was my first impression after installing Star Wolves. I grabbed it in a market for a buck or two and forgot about it for a time. When i finally found time to play the game I couldn't stop!

Doesn't mean it's so good. Oh no. It has some flaws. First one which comes to my mind is infantile plot and bad voice acting. What else... Graphics, It's not awful, but not very good either. And music is a bit annoying.

However, the game itself is suprisingly addictive. You fly around with your mothership, which you can upgrade by installing new modules - weapons and systems like shields, engines, radar and antimissile systems. Your mothership is also your base. It serves as a carrier for up to six fighters. But to launch these fighters you have to have pilots to man them. Pilots, meaning the characters, you can recruit when you play through the story, You simply meet new people to join your crew. But it's not a given that they will join you. Or stay with you forever. It depends on how you talk with them and what you do when you meet them. They may become your friends or fly away. It's that simple.

When you start a new game you decide what specialization your pilot will posess. There are three - piloting, gunnery and systems operator(meaning your character is better than others at handling antimissile/radar/repair systems thus becoming a very valuable wingman). This choice determins how a character's developement skill tree will look like. There are no "levels" however. In Star Wolves you simply gain skill points for defeating enemies and spend those points on desired skills. It's exactly the same with the characters that join you. Each one has his or her specialization from among the three I mentioned above.

There are many fighters to chose from, grouped in three tiers. Each tier has three distinct classes of fighters. Light ones, being able to mount light guns. They usually posess some pylons to mount rockets. Heavy fighters can mount big guns - gatlings, lasers, plasma cannons. All those packing a punch. Heavy fighters have more hitpoins and better shields than other crafts but lack in mobility. And finally there are missile fighters, having up to four pylons to mount missiles/unguided or guided rockets and using few light weapons to fend off attackers. As is the case with mothership, fighers are fully customizable - you mount desired weapons and systems on them(again the choice is shield upgrades, radars, antimissile, repair systems). To get new fighters you have to find a shop(meaning a space station)and simply buy them. So you have to earn cash. That is done by completing story missions and sidequests. Additionaly you can just buy goods in one star system and sell it elsewhere. Or hunt pirates for bounty.

This game has great potential, and if you weren't discouraged by my long review and cons I described at the beginning, you should give it a try.

86

You can drive tanks here.

Obsessor | Aug. 6, 2014 | Review of Men of War: Assault Squad

That's one of the features that got me in this game. You can actually drive and shoot with tanks. And not only tanks. Jeeps, APCs, mortars, heavy machine guns. You can take direct control over anything here.

Men of War has other features that make it great - for one it's unforgiving. If you try attacking only with armored forces, you'll get obliterated. You need to combine infantry and armor, provide covering fire with heavy machine guns and mortars to advance without losing 3/4 of your troops. What else? You can destroy things! Bunkers on your way? No problem! Load high explosive shells on your tanks, or use such for your mortars. Problem solved. That's another great feature - Every unit has its inventory which, of course, runs out over time. You have to resupply. And consider what ammo to use against what is thrown at you. No use shooting infantry squads with armor piercing rounds.

This game's demanding and punishing. It will take time to learn and master, but in the end will provide much satisfaction. Fights arent waged on great scale, you focus on few units and have to use them skillfuly to complete assigned tasts. When you learn what you're doing it's possible to win a battle without losing more than few infantrymen. And with a bit of luck and lots of tactical skill you'll win without losses.

90

More Fallout in Fallout!

Obsessor | Aug. 5, 2014 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas

This is the game. Fallout 3 was good, Fallout New Vegas beats it with a baseball bat and leaves in the desert to die. It feels more like Fallout 2.

In Fallout New Vegas we're experiencing another amazing opening. While in FO3 our charactere was born, in FNV it dies at the beginning. Quite a twist. And after that it only gets better. There are factions vying for control over Mojave, with you in the middle. And again, after a linear Fallout 3, you get to decide who will win, and who will die. You will plot, cheat, steal and kill your way through Mojave desert full of bandits, Legionnaires, New California Republic troops and simple people(and mutants, and ghouls). To any end you desire. And the grande finale... Oh boy, ain't that a kick in the head...

80

I want out...

Obsessor | Aug. 5, 2014 | Review of BlackBay Asylum

A good game, considering how it was made by one person. That's a rather risky enterprise given the genre of this game. Adventure games have a lot of text. And it has to be consistent, easy to read. This game has it all.

I like the idea of switching between first person and third person view. I like the game's story, completely mad. And I like how much work the guy who made it must have put into it. There are ten chapters which will take about six hours to complete. Which again isn't bad for an indie game. Puzzles are quite challenging, but not strenuous. Humour in the game is a big contrast to the otherwise gloomy atmosphere. That provides overall feeling of madness, And that's a quite enjoyable experience.

80

Third time's the charm!

Obsessor | Aug. 5, 2014 | Review of WRC 3

So... Take WRC 2, fix the most annoying things, ad some polish(alas not enough... again). Looks like guys from Milestone are finally getting the hang of this racing games business.

Cars handle nicely, graphics are ok(still not awesome, but this series wasn't known of having graphics above the "ok" level), music... well, I never notice it, I'm too busy trying(and failing)to stay on the track. I don't know why people sneer at career. I liked it in WRC 2, like it in third part.

To sum up, WRC series is doing fine. It's not a great AAA game to get all the hype and love of teenagers weeping "mommy pls." But it's certainly fun to play it

75

Much better than it's predecessor

Obsessor | Aug. 5, 2014 | Review of WRC 2

Yep, it's whole lot better than the first WRC made by Milestone. I will dispense with the obvious, like upgraded graphics and stuff. Just jumping to the conclusion.

WRC 2 has more cars, more races, and finally career mode is quite fun to play. You won't get bored half way through just to forget about the game and remember the time you spent playing it with disgust. Many new tracks and better car handling system ensure that. Still, game lacks that "polish," which would make it stand out. It comes and goes without much hype, and it falls to people like us to show it some appreciation. I don't usually play racing games. I find them quite boring in fact. With WRC 2 i wasn't bored at all. Even if it's not a great game like for instance DiRT, it's really worth a try. Coming from a person who sneers at racing games it means something.

60

Yet another rally game.

Obsessor | Aug. 5, 2014 | Review of WRC FIA World Rally Championship

Realism of driving is pretty good. I can't say if it's comparable to other rally games out there, because WRC is the only one I've played. But the cars feel "proper" if you know what I mean. Heavy and powerful, or light and underpowered. Depends on the car. Difficulty settings provide wide range of help to those who don't want realistic driving but just driving. And having fun. Cars look pretty considering the year of the game's release. Destruction models are on the other hand poor. Music is there, somewhere. Not bothering you much, meaning you can focus on driving.

All in all the game is in the middle of my scale of "fun provided." There are lots of cars and categories to drive in. Career is pretty long(and at some points plainly dull). There is some degree of customization for cars. As well as few uprgades you can make.

There are two more installments of this series, and you would be better off playing WRC 2 or 3. Those are much better, just like the developer was learning how to make the game as it should be.

90

I'm the Batman!

Obsessor | Aug. 5, 2014 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

Well, I never was a big fan of "Bats," as Joker and his crew of madmen call Batman over and over again. I prefer differend comic heroes. But this game is just awesome. It looks and plays like a charm. I liked almost everything about it.

Two things don't feel right to me. Primo - voice acting. It is awesome when you listen to Joker, Poison Ivy, Croc, Harley Quinn and other villains. Batman sonds a little "stiff." Same can be said about most of the Arkham Asylum guards and doctors. Well, thankfully it's Joker and his "flying circus" you're listening to most of the time. Secundo - The Riddler Challenges. I mean, I don't consider myself a very bright person. I'm not trying to boast. But those riddles and trophies. It took me few hours to get them all. When I finished the story, got all the upgrades, all Bat-tools, I just ran around through the maps gathering everything. Not really thinking about it, just running. Too easy, too obvious hiding places.

Combat. This is the part of Batman that you can write poems about. I'll be quick about it. Just like the Batman is when fighting foes. Combat is extremely fast and seamless. Batman literally flows from one move to the other, Transitions from attacks to blocks and counters are done with great skill. Watching Batman fight is pure pleasure. There are tens of challenges playable outside the main story, and unlockable via finding Riddler trophies, so you can test yourself against waves of opponents.

Finally few words about graphics and music. Look to the screens up there. Are those looking good? I don't think so. Live game looks a hundred times better than that. Every place is detailed, lots of clutter makes the world "dirty" and "real." Textures are very sharp. And music. Music is as it always was in Batman movies - plays perfectly with the action you see on screen.

This game may be short, with tiny(in comparison to other (not-so)open world games)world. But you'll enjoy it. Having the challenges and Riddles + Trophies to find will ensure you'll stick to it a bit longer. Storyline is unbelievably fun to witness, and you might want to replay it twice. Or thrice. Because it's so good.

I wanted to give the game 100/100 rating. Bur because of the "slips" in voice acting and those too easy Riddler challenges I'll give it "just" 90/100

90

Best pack.

Obsessor | Aug. 4, 2014 | Review of Fallout® Classics Collection

Here you get two of the best cRPG's ever made. I won't go into detalis. Check my reviews on them if you like. Just a quick summary.

Fallout and Fallout 2 provide you with immersive world set after a nuclear holocaust. Everything went bananas. People are trying to rebuild civilization. Those game have depth, mature plots where your decisions really determine how the games end. There is turn based combat, lots of laughs, great music by Mark Morgan. Don't worry that those games are from 1997 and 1998. Steam versions work on newest systems. I have DRM free ones bought 15 years ago and they still work on my Windows 8. So no worries.

Fallout Tactics however... Well, here is a different story. Again I'm not going to go into much details. There should be my review on it. Just a summation. It is NOT a cRPG. It's a tactical game, focusing on combat, where you lead a squad of soldiers belonging to one of the iconic organizations in Fallout universe - Brotherhood of Steel. In Fallout Tactics you fight. With guns and knifes, and spears, and claws. With everything you have. Twenty missions packed with tactical decisions and pure fun. A good game, having all the combat and character developement from original Fallout. It just spices them up a bit, so they're even better. Oh, and for those of you who want real tactical approach - real time combat.

All in all - this pack is golden.

100

TL;DR

Obsessor | Aug. 4, 2014 | Review of Fallout®: A Post Nuclear Role Playing Game

Yeah, guys up there wrote such long reviews. I don't mean it's bad. But let me give you a short description.

Fallout is the spiritual heir to Wasteland, first attempt at a post nuclear role playing game. It has depth, it has style, tons of humour, yet very mature story. Your decisions have real impact on the ending of the game, and I mean it. Nowdays the only decision you get is choosing with which gun you'll shoot the boss. Or you chose one of two women to pat you on the back in the ending scene.

Fallout is a game everyone should get to know. You may not love it, but thanks to it you have your Fallout 3 and New Vegas today. And Fallout is by many standards still better than those two I mentioned. Think about it.

80

Not a cRPG!

Obsessor | Aug. 4, 2014 | Review of Fallout® Tactics: Brotherhood of Steel

Yes it's not a cRPG. It's a real time tactical or turn based(depends on how you want it)game in the Fallout universe. It focuses on combat, adding new features to the original Fallout turn based fights. I'm not talking about us being able to chose from turn based or real time modes. In Tactics you can order your characters to crouch or hit the ground. That improves their accuracy, makes them harder to hit. And provides with new tactical approach to resolving combat. You can send your characters on rooftops with sniper rifles. Well... I might go on like that. If you ever tried Jagged Alliance, you get what I mean. If not - try. I've spent many hours playing this game. And being a hardcore Fallout series fan I must say this: I enjoyed every minute of it. Just remember, it's NOT Fallout, it's Fallout Tactics. Deal with it.

75

Brainz...

Obsessor | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Dead Island Riptide: Complete Edition

It's bigger, better and badder version of old Dead Island. You get new features, new character to play(yay! still I like the old ones best). New types of zombies and new skills are what gets me. I've spent a lot of time on original Dead Island. Playing it solo as well as with my friend. And we had a blast. And here you get more of the same(which for some will prove a bore), but with some improvements and additions. For those who haven't played first Dead Island - jump straight into Riptide. If you have the original game you might consider waiting for some deal to buy it, for lower price and for the time being stick to original.

Still, very solid zombie beater for whole family!

90

Gothic?

Obsessor | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Risen

Yes! Risen is Gothic revived. The hero may be not as good as in Gothic series, the world a bit small to my liking. But the atmosphere, the dark epic world you're thrown into... It's totally worth it. As in aforementioned Gothic you are to chose a path for your character. Fight with melee weapons or be a mage. Each style is rewarding and satisfying.. Up there is stated "countless side quests." Well, maybe not countless. But there are a lot. You will definitely have your hands full while exploring. Don't expect boredom from this game.

Graphic's still surpisingly good. Sharp textures, lots of clutter making the world believable and, in a sense, "real." Music is awesome, because, lets face it - it's Kai Rosenkranz. Great composer, I loved his music in Gothic, and now in Risen it's even better.

Get it already!

90

Gothic Reloaded.

Obsessor | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Risen Franchise Pack

That's what those games are in truth. These are the real Gothic back from the dead. Alive and kicking.

Risen. As I said - it's like Gothic. At first you're a weakling, completing easy jobs for NPCs here and there. You grow stronger, buy new items. The games feels and plays like those real Gothic games - 1 & 2. Not third Gothic. And that's one of the pros for the game.

Risen 2 - Be a pirate! Yarr! You get to rob, dig up treasures and play more Gothic... I mean Risen. This game takes what was best in Risen and upgrades it. It's bigger, better, badder.

In this pack you also get all the DLC that were released for Risen 2. Clothes and stuff... That's not what we want, right? But you also get some new quests and terrains to visit, new items to aquire. That's better.

Don't hesitate - this pack is golden.

80

Better than GTA?

Obsessor | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Saints Row 2

It's hard to tell. Depends on ones taste. But if you desire full customization, from your character face and musculature, through clothes to pimping your cars(and tuning them too!). If you want fun game, action packed environment, freedom to go where you please and do what you want, having your own houses, etc. - stop reading now and get the game!

Graphics may be a bit off by today's standards. For me it's still very nice, flashy and colorful enough not to turn away with disgust. Music that's playing in the radio - proper in style with this crazy game. Characters are professionaly made and voiced. Plot has some nice twists, keeps you on edge wanting to see more. I enjoyed this game, if you like things like GTA, you will too. And about my question, is it better than GTA? Can't really decide. Play and see for yourself.

80

Great game!

Obsessor | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - The Full Package

Saints Row - struggling against GTA series. There are some features of SR that beat GTA. At least for me.

First of all - you get to create a character the way you want. Man or woman. Thin, thick, you chose all the features yourself. No predesigned hero to deal with. You create the perfect gangster yourself. That is what I like very much in Saints Row.

Lots of clothes too, cars that you can pimp and tune.

And a silly gameplay that will make you laugh. But besides laughs there are many things to do. Invest in shops and stuff to earn cash, complete various challenges. If you played GTA or previous Saints Row you get the idea what's the game about.

Graphics is still cool, if you enjoy flashy stuff. Music is nice too. Character voices are professional. On the technical side the game is a go.

And here you get all the goodies, not just the basic game. You get every thing that was released. Real deal.

80

Solid piece of turn-based strategy.

Obsessor | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of King's Bounty: Platinum Edition

Yes sir! This game beats HoMM in my personal rating. It has great music, fancy graphics(now not so much fancy, but I still enjoy watching those silly monsters on the battlefield, it has certain allure...), lots of good old turn-based combat(that's what we're here for, right?)

This pack gives you, in my humble opinion, the best games of the King's Bounty series. You get many new opponents, lots of artifacts and items to boost your character and your army. And you can have a pet dragon. Who helps in combat. Neat.

What you also get are two nice campaigns in Crossworlds. My favorite is the Arena, when you fight... well... on an arena. Pit your skills against deadly beasts. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

King's Bounty: Platinum Edition is a combination of games that will get the attention of a turn-based strategy gamer for a long time.

95

Oh boy, a bag full of goodness!

Obsessor | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Fallout® Classics Collection

That's right. This pack is a must have for every cRPG fan. You get two games which are ones of the best cRPGs ever made. By gamers for gamers. We all miss Interplay. Plus Fallout: Tactics. A bit about it later on.

So, You get Fallout and Fallout 2. Post nuclear games at their best. Look their reviews by me if you want more details. Just few quick facts here. Open worlds, lots of quests, very interesting and mature settings and characters. You get to actually chose what to do with given problem and the game responds accordingly. Meaning you have dozen of endings in each game. You can play as a villain or boy scout. Your pick.

Fallout: Tactics is a different game. Here you're in the military. In the Brotherhood of Steel. You have your orders, missions, promotions, quartermasters and stuff. It's a tactical cRPG or a turn based one if you like to play in a manner of Fallout or FO2. Here you lead squad of six soldiers. You equip them like in Fallout, they level up just like in those games. There are twenty missions to play through plus a map like in Fallout and FO2 where you can roam free, finding random and special encounters.

All in all, it's a pack containing two legendary games and a third that will surely be a great addition for gamers hungry for more Fallout style combat.

Stop reading now and get it. You won't be disappointed. Trust me.

70

Good, but...

Obsessor | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Disciples III: Resurrection

It doesn't feel like Disciples or Disciples 2 which were, for me, way better than any HoMM games. I could never stomach HoMM or that kind of turn based strategy games. Disciples made me like those. But if I played Disciples 3 as my first game of the series, I would recoil badly.

Still, when you, like me, give it a go, well, it turns out not to be totally bad.It retains some good old Disciples features while adding, reballancing or outright changing stuff.

Game graphics is ok, nothing astonishing. Units are quite detailed, but move stiffly(not only the undead ones). Voice acting, meaning the narrator is terrible. Just that. Sounds like the man reading briefings tried to put some pathos into his voice. And failed. Utterly.

If you're a fan of Disciples series as I am, or you're hungry for turn based game set in dark fantasy world, with undead playing the main role - go for it. Otherwise move along.

70

Oh well...

Obsessor | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Dungeon Siege III

This game is not like previous Dungeon Siege installments. It is passable, for sure, yet if you are a fan of DS series it may feel wrong for you.

Game's story is interesting, thats a big pro for this game. There aren't many hack'n'slash with good story. Gameplay itself feels ok. You get two man team, some skills, lots of items to make your character tougher. I haven't tried playing coop so can't say about it, but when you play alone the game is quite fun. Major drawback can be the poor choice as to character classes. There are just three.

Graphics aren't really great. Just fine. Music is as it should be, emotional enough. Same for sounds. Voice acting wasn't really for my liking.

So, if you are a fan of Dungeon Siege series you might not like this one. If you're not, well, go ahead and try. It's a decent hack'n'slash

75

Wow, faeries!

Obsessor | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Faery: Legends of Avalon

This game is a kind of softcore cRPG with turn based combat, simple story and linear gameplay. It may be a good game for younger players. Still I enjoyed playing it for few hours because of funny combat and simple yet nice character development.

Graphics in Faery is just ok. Nothing breattaking. I'd say elegent simplicity. That's it. With sounds, especially voice acting, it's not the case. Voices are a bit disappointing. Music is there, and you don't pay it much heed, which is good, meaning it's not interfering with the game, rather flowing around and through it.

If you like faeries try it. If not, well, what are you doing reading this anyway?

85

A different Fallout

Obsessor | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Fallout 3

There are many voices accusing Fallout 3 of not being a "real" Fallout. I think they haven't played this game.It certainly is Fallout, but a bit different. Being 3D, and mostly first person(although there is third person view available at any time). Turn based combat is, well... Nothing like in Fallout or FO2. You're better off playing this game as a shooter.

Fallout 3 is one immersive experience to be sure. I don't remember ever playing a game where you are actually born, play as an toddler, then a kid, teenager and finally adult. All of those occur very fast, in matter of minutes. Still, it leaves you quite astonished.

Game itself, when you finish the "prologue," leave Vault 101, presents you with typical Fallout-style gameplay. Go out there and do what you will. Unfortunately it is spoiled by some scripted actions and immortal NPC's.

I regret there is no free roam after finishing the story. Well, given one of the endings it's logical. Still...

Fallout 3 is fun to play and certainly worth of the name despite what some people say.

80

Mister Scratch is back.

Obsessor | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Alan Wake's American Nightmare

I enjoyed playing another Alan Wake title, even if it's not a survival horror anymore. More like a third person shooter, but retaining all the mechanics from the original. Which is good.

Again you face the Taken, but this time your antagonist is noone else but Mr. Scratch, Alan's "evil twin". I really enjoyed watching him on television, discovering what new madness he would conjure. Even though American Nightmare is not a survival horror, it has very interesting main character(s).

As it is more of an action game you get more guns, and ammo never runs out. You can unlock additional weapons by gathering pages(thing we did in first Alan Wake). There is also Arcade mode which will make you stick to the game longer, trying to get higher scores in survival type missions.

Bear in mind - it's not a stricte survival horror, but another Alan Wake game with good characters, interesting plot and witty monologues of Mr. Scratch. Everything feels a bit like Twin Peaks.

Try it!

50

What's this rather queer looking contraption?

Obsessor | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of ArcaniA: Gold Edition

Well, this game's a mystery for me. A bit like Gothic, but just a bit. It's an action game with some RPG elements, with open world, some side quests, not really interesting story(it introduces some characters from previous Gothic games). Combat in the game feels like in Gothic 3. But game itself has no real comparison to Gothic series. It's too shallow.

What saves it is the open, not so big but certainly beautiful, world. It's a game that tries living off the Gothic popularity. And it does it wrong. You still may like it. I played it to the hilt. If you're hungry for some action packed game with RPG elements and open world you may try it.

80

For the Emperor!

Obsessor | July 31, 2014 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Dawn of War II - Master Collection

Here you get three games: Dawn of War II and two Expansions. Lets have a quick summary on the content and why is it so good(or bad)

First of all - Dawn of War II + Chaos Rising. Those games are not real RTS. More like a tactical/RPG with RTS flavor. You lead a few squads of Space Marines into fight. They level up, you get to raise their skills and equip new items that you find during fights or as a rewards for completing missions

The story goes about Space Marines struggling against Tyrranid menace in Dawn of War II. In Chaos Rising you get to import your team from original game, with all the items, the level you got, and this time you fight against Chaos forces. There is higher level cap - 30(in the original game it's 20)as well as new characters, items and enemies.

Now the Retribution puts everything differently. It reverts to more RTS gameplay. You get to build bases, gather resources(but no mining, just taking over points on the map)and recruit units - from infantry to some heavy ordnance like tanks. You still have hero units like in original Dawn of War II, but those are a bit weaker now, forcing you to use a lot of cannon fodder. Heroes now play a support part, like for instance in Warcraft 3. Still they level up, you gear them up, just like in the original game.

In Dawn of War II and Chaos Rising you lead Space Maines, as I said in the beginning. From thee Blood Ravens Chapter. In Retribution you can lead them again, but with some different hero units. Or you can play the campaign as Tyrranids, Eldar, Orkz, Imperial Army or Chaos Space Marines. Alas, the campaign is always the same.

Graphic still good. Not awesome, but quite detalied, even when you zoom the battlefied as close as it's possible. Sounds and music is, in my opinion, great. Lots of shouting, screaming, shooting and explosions with very good music playing in the background.

A bit about multiplayer. Dawn of War II used GameSpy, but when it went down multiplayer became nonexistent. Until Steam started making some moves torward reviving online play. It is now in beta. You can read about it on their forum.

Even without multiplayer(or with just Steam beta as it is now), the three campaigns you get here are sure to bring you whole lot of fun out of this game. It did for me, even though I'm not a great Warhammer 40k fan.

85

From Tobias Rieper to Ben Frankiln. A long journey.

Obsessor | July 30, 2014 | Review of Hitman: Absolution

In first Hitman, Codename 47, Agent 47 signs in a hotel as Tobias Rieper. Fourteen years have passed, we've been to many places with the bald assassin. And I for one want to go even further.

Don't listen to people saying this part of adventures of the jolly assassin are bad. Catching cold in middle ages was bad. This game isn't bad. Just try it, plunge into the story and it will suck you in, I guarantee you will forget about ramblings of hardcore fans. It's the story of betrayal and revenge that matters in Absolution. It's "Ben Franklin" in Hawaii themed dressing-gown strangling fake nuns. It may sound hilarious. It is, when it can be. And isn't when it shouldn't.

Graphically the game shines(or maybe it's Agent's head...). In terms of sounds and music it's very, very good.

Absolution is linear. There is one path through a level that is "best." That I can't argue, even if I wanted to. You won't have much freedom. But on the other hand there are hundreds of challenges to complete. Finding a way to do that is proving to be quite fun indeed.

My conclusion - if you liked any of the previous Hitman games, you will enjoy Absolution. And if you haven't played as the bald assassin before, well... This game is sure to be a good start.

75

Here, have some high octane cookies.

Obsessor | July 30, 2014 | Review of FUEL

FUEL is big. When I first started the game I didn't realise that there are nineteen zones. I thought the zone you start in is the extent of it. Why? Because it's so big! You get nineteen zones, some really big, some small, with variety of terrain - asphalt roads, gravel, dirt. You can go offroad. You can go anywhere you like, given you can find an approach and have enough horse power you can climb mountains.

But that's not the only thing you can do in this game. Career mode presents you with many races on different terrain utilizing various vehicles - from bikes through muscle cars to trucks. Each race has three difficulty settings. What else? Challenges. Every zone has exactly ten challenges which are best described as certain missions - sometimes it's like a race with opponents in Career mode, while other challenges pit you against time. Or a helicopter.

Vehicles. There are 75 playable vehicles divided into seven types: bikes, buggies, ATV's, Muscle Cars, Trucks, SUV's and Specials. As you progress through the game you unlock new vehicles in the shop, where you can purchase them with fuel. There are also vehicles obtainable only by finding and chasing down Mavericks in Free Ride mode.

Races themselves are pure action. You have to stay alert all the time. Be prepared for everything and look for shortcuts.

Graphic in FUEL is still nice. Music is intense. Only thing I didn't enjoy too much were the sounds of engines.

Oh, and some icing on the cake - in FUEL you can unlock many paints for your vehicles, as well as clothes for the driver. Those plus many cars, free open world is sure to get you playing for a long time.

To sum up - if you like open world, lots of unlocks and offroad driving in your racing games - grab FUEL, you won't regret it.

75

Solside City News

Obsessor | July 30, 2014 | Review of Krater

Krater... Idea behind this game was brilliant. Execution... A bit less so. Still it is a game worth knowing if you enjoy hack'n'slash games. What makes it unique among other titles of this genre is that Krater is squad based. You control not one but three characters at once. You can have a healer, damage dealer and a tank, someone who can withstand a beating and keep enemies' focus on himself.

The game looks pretty, that's the word - pretty. Towns and cities are colorful and teeming with life. Character design in very neat. I must say few good words about the music and sounds in general, as they're in league with graphics.

So, the game sounds good so far, right? Yeah, it sounds good but in the end can be a bit disappointing. Having three characters to control limits you to having just six skills at your disposal(plus three more as gadgets, independent of the class). There are four classes, which makes sixteen skills available in total(not counting gadget skills). Yes, sixteen. Because each class has its mutated counterpart with a bit different set of skills. You will not get bored fast, but at some point it will come. You can try different builds, experiment with making your tank a healer(it is possible with an appropriate use of implants and boosters)and so on, and so forth. This will add some fun to your game.

So to sum up: Krater is a decent game, not brilliant, not outstanding. Decent. It is way above the average in my personal list of hack'n'slash games. If you have spare time try it. You may like it.

85

Eddie knows...

Obsessor | July 30, 2014 | Review of Anachronox

What comes to my mind is that this game has no competition in its kind. Western cRPG with jRPG-style combat.

Anachronox is an unique experience. Many fine characters, lots of humor(because, seriously, why every cRPG has to be so heroic...). Oh yes, you will laugh a lot with this game. And it provides both - purely nonsensical situations, as well as intelligent allusions and references. What's more - it does not prevent you from immersing yourself in the world, the stories and struggles of the heroes.

If you're looking for something different you won't regret getting this game.

99

War never changes...

Obsessor | July 29, 2014 | Review of Fallout® 2: A Post Nuclear Role Playing Game

This game is one of the best cRPG's out there, along with its predecessor - Fallout. If you ever played games like Baldur's Gate, Planescape: Torment or Arcanum this game is for you. If the titles above don't mean much to you, still you should try this game. Even if you haven't played the first Fallout.

Why should you play Fallout 2? Interesting plot, many finely written dialogues, hundreds of places to visit, lots of detailed characters. To go into more details - you can play as you wish. the game is one of the first true sandbox cRPG's. Just create your character and go exploring! Become the ultimate villain who will be shot on sight in most of the settlements. Or play as a saint. You may also disregard everything and stay neutral. And each time you start a new game, make brand new character, you will encounter something you haven't seen before. It's the game's replayability. Each time you play and make different decisions, you may(or may not)experience something new. One word for someone who plunges into the game for the first time: experiment! Don't be afraid of trying an unorthodox approach. You may be rewarded in a most unusual way. Fallout 2 rewards explorers in many ways. You can find unique items, or gain a follower.

Graphics and music might be old. Still there is this attention to details which draws the eye. A lone rubber, some cans, grass, posters on the wall. The world feels dirty. And alive...

...and it's only your decisions that determine if YOU stay alive. Because this wasteland is a harsh, unforgiving place where remnants of human race wage war against everything else and themselves. And war... war never changes.

85

All hail the Overlord.

Obsessor | July 29, 2014 | Review of Codemasters Bundle

I own three of the games from this bundle. Both parts of the Overlord and Damnation. The latter is an average third person shooter with interesting setting, a steampunk wild west. The former... Overlord series is simply amazing. It looks great, it plays great and is packed with tons of humorous situations and dialogues. Hapless minions, imposing Overlord and his Mistress, or even many Mistressess.

As for other games. Well... Operation Flashpoint is a well known series, even by me. I've played Dragon Rising and enjoyed it. Solid shooter that is bound to steal few hours of your time.

Sadly I can't say anything about other games in this bundle, but trust me: this is a deal.