Reviews by PM_DMNKLR

90

Prepare to get your butt handed to you!

PM_DMNKLR | June 11, 2014 | Review of Red Orchestra 2: Heroes of Stalingrad

Seriously, no joke, this game is solid in every way! The realism is so fine-tuned, that if you're used to normal FPS' then you'll be sorely thrown off. It'll really make you think, a LOT and guess what... there's nobody to just drop random health packs every place they can think to toss one for you. It's rough, it's tough, it's a wild ride in the countryside and there are bullets flying everywhere! So get out your rifles, maggot, and lay a bead between 'is eyes!

80

2nd best, but fun still!

PM_DMNKLR | June 11, 2014 | Review of F.E.A.R

While F.E.A.R. 2 is the best of the series (imho), this one comes a very close 2nd to it. A definite must-play, however, if you're wanting to understand the story. Lots of great action, very nice physics for the era it was made in, and overall nice gameplay. Get it, turn the lights off, crank up the surround sound and prepare to scare the crap out of yourself and your neighbors...

90

So baaaaaaad it's really good!

PM_DMNKLR | April 14, 2014 | Review of Goat Simulator

I have to admit, I bought (literally) into the hype, and got this game. Do I love it? Yes. Do I hate it? Naaaaaaa! There are some quirks (like locking up my gaming PC by calling upon hundreds of falling minion goats to litter the ground everywhere), but for the most part, it's a great and fun game. Just do yourself a favor and not watch a bunch of YouTube vids about it until AFTER you've played it. I definitely recommend it, definitely. Oh and soon it's getting new DLC and local multiplayer too, all for free!

65

It's WoW's prettier twin.

PM_DMNKLR | Feb. 6, 2013 | Review of Rift

Sub-based, similar design overall, prettier visuals, and a few elements that do set it apart from the rest, but overall the only assessment I can give is that if you're new to the scene, Rift may be a good game, but if you're a seasoned WoW vet then stick with what you know. It's a good game, but not good enough to draw any crowd away from WoW, Guild Wars, etc. Perhaps if they one day drop the sub requirement, but not as it currently stands.

85

Story is where it's at.

PM_DMNKLR | Feb. 5, 2013 | Review of The Secret World (NA) dns

Stunning visuals, a story that's very detailed and deep, but also a game that kind of feels almost as if you're playing Saints Row in an MMO wrapper, lol. It's freaky looking people and a mind-blowing spiritual realm apocalyptic fallout spiritual warfare scenario. Doomsday is on it's way (cue Darksiders, lol) and apparently a few factions are at war with each other for control. Pay once, play forever (as long as your internet connection works that is) and it's all good. The big question is, can you understand the realistic significance in the story? ;)

75

Different in it's own way

PM_DMNKLR | Feb. 5, 2013 | Review of TERA (NA)

Not all MMO's are the same, even the pay-to-play ones like WoW and Tera. Tera's visuals are breathtakingly superior to most other MMO's, the stories go deeper, but the mechanics are different in a way that there is still some learning curve to playing it successfully. At times it can begin to feel repetitive, but hey, nothing in life is perfect, right? It would be nice if the price would come down more, but all-in-all, for a subscription-based game, Tera is actually pretty nice. Next version is coming soon, so you might want to invest in this one soon to get ready for it. Just sayin' ;)

85

Crazy pills...

PM_DMNKLR | Feb. 5, 2013 | Review of VVVVVV

Yeah, I said it, lol. Crazy pills. Why do I say that? Because that's how you'll feel when you're playing this game. It's super fun, super challenging and most of all, it's so crazy you'll think you divided by zero. Oh and it's DIRT CHEAP!!! $1.99 USD can get you either 2 McDonald's McDoubles (and loads of bowel problems) or this game, which will have your brain running in circles for hours upon hours trying to break through each challenge. Think of it as bit.trip.runner meets Super Meat Boy. Yeah, crazy pills sounds right now doesn't it? XD

95

Modern-day, old-school and awesome!

PM_DMNKLR | Feb. 5, 2013 | Review of Sonic the Hedgehog 4 : Episode II

As has been said, way better than STHH4:E1, and in all the right ways too. There's better physics, better character design, better visuals all-around. You name it, it's better, and most of all... it's fun!!! Don't forget to let your kids play too, lol.

85

Not too shabby ;)

PM_DMNKLR | Feb. 5, 2013 | Review of Quantum Conundrum

This game, Quantum Conundrum, is downright fun to play. It's moderately easy, though still a challenge at times, and the humor in it is just a great bonus as well. It's great fun, quite enjoyable and you may even find yourself coming back for more once you've completed it. Pick it up if you can, it's definitely worth playing.

90

Love this game!

PM_DMNKLR | Feb. 5, 2013 | Review of Jewel Quest II

I'm normally a run-n-gun blow 'em up kind of gamer, but I do love the occasional puzzle game as well. They help you keep your hand to eye coordination and observational skills sharp. The Jewel Quest series is no different. In fact, when this came out, I bought it for my mother and myself and we both enjoy playing it a lot! The best part of it is that there is actually a story to it as well as the puzzles! Challenge your mind, go on a Quest!

75

Still a fun one to play in 2013.

PM_DMNKLR | Feb. 5, 2013 | Review of Columns

Out of all Sega Genesis games, the Columns series has to be, arguably, one of the most fun and addicting to play. On par with Tetris and Dr. Mario to a point, it does it's own special thing and actually inspired a whole arisen generation of jewel-and-gem-based puzzle games that we still play to this day. Jewel Quest and Bejeweled being 2 of them, though they are different in style, it's obvious this was a major inspiration for their visuals and reward system. Get it, it's not expensive. Grab it and have some old-school fun!

90

Amazingly addictive fun!

PM_DMNKLR | Feb. 5, 2013 | Review of Bejeweled 3 (NA)

Jewel Quest, as a series, tends to hold true to being fun. JQ3 is no different in that respect. With some new added features and of course some enhanced visuals, prepare to get your bling on because these jewels are ready to rock! Odd that this particular version requires Origin to activate though, but admittedly Origin is definitely improving.

Great fun game, get it if you can afford it.

90

If you don't have this game, why?

PM_DMNKLR | Feb. 5, 2013 | Review of Dead Space 2 (NA)

I honestly expected Dead Space 2 to be just more of the same as in DS1, but while that may be somewhat true, it's not 100%. Like many modern sequels, it takes what the original was and builds on it. There's more terror, more adrenaline, more necromorph "WHAT DID I JUST SEE?!?!?!" situations and a whole lotta slayin' goin' on! This is Dead Space, do your best to stay alive!

50

Like 2Chainz, but in a bad way.

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 30, 2013 | Review of Nuclear Dawn

For those of you who don't know who 2Chainz is, he's a US-based "rapper" (using the term loosely to be honest) that has this very annoying and repetitive song "I'm Different". The problem here is that this game follows the same mindset. It's drab, has some potential that likely won't be lived up to, and consistently touts how different it is from others. Sure, if you get enough people to play together, you might find it somewhat fun, but the glitches are frustrating and if you join in too late into the matches then you're pretty much screwed. This game has some room for improvement overall, but the biggest problem is how imba it can quickly become and that just makes people avoid it like the plague. Good game, somewhat, but definitely not worth the price. Get it on a major sale or something if you want to try it out, that way if you don't like it, no harm no foul.

70

Titled Manhunt for a reason...

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 30, 2013 | Review of Manhunt Capsule

Rockstar/R* are the people behind some of the greatest games in the industry, that's undeniable. I'm not sure what psychotic masterminds came up with the concept of Manhunt, but there's something very, very depraved with them, lol. By far the most violent game in R*'s arsenal, it's still very intense and I mean IN-FREAKING-TENSE!!! Survival at all costs is the name of the game and it's somewhat in the sadistic style of the Saw movies. Prepare to kill or be killed, but either way it's gonna get messy, VERY messy.

The only thing that stops me from purchasing this right now, honestly, is that it won't work on any Windows OS past XP, which sucks because it came out during the XP era, so it should easily be adaptable by the programmers for future compatibility, but I digress. Having to use Capsule isn't a big burden either, it works very well, but that OS limitation is a killer.

90

Great game.

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 30, 2013 | Review of Lost Planet 2

You want action? We got it. You want aliens? We got that too. You want loads of fun and challenging gameplay? Heck yeah we got that! Welcome to Lost Planet 2, similar to the original, but still different enough to be it's own game. Shoot, run, gun, and have fun in a little mech that allows you to be a brute force to be reckoned with. It's not just about survival, it's about obliterating the enemy by any means necessary. Suit up, strap in, check your weapons and get ready for some seriously intense action. THIS. IS. LOST PLA-NET!!!!!

75

For it's age, it's still a good game!

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 30, 2013 | Review of Hostile Waters: Antaeus Rising Cap

I have the original release of this game, on disc, that my mother bought for me years and years ago for a birthday present. I'm still tempted to purchase this up-to-date version for compatibility reasons, because quite frankly it's actually a pretty decent game. It's different, it's challenging and the story is pretty original (well it was for the time it was released anyway) that has apparently inspired others (think ANNO series for instance). It's a not-too-well-known gem and well worth the cash. If you're interested in a little early-2000's gaming, go for it.

80

Good game, but be careful!

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 30, 2013 | Review of Condemned: Criminal Origins

Both of the Comdemned games are great. They're moody, thrilling and really get you thinking as if you're IN the game. On the downside, you feel like you're really in the game, lol. The negative part of that is because it's a little too realistic in some instances but not enough in others. The most frustrating part is how real the damage is when done to you, but that's only aggravating because of how it stops you from going back and getting a medpack or medkit that you just saw not even 30 seconds back, because for some mysterious reason the door behind you is now locked/blocked off/whatever and there's no apparent reason for it. It's still a good game though, just be extra careful when you get into battles because you need to conserve all of the health you can. You never know when you'll get stuck fighting someone and have just enough health that they kill you with one strike.

75

It's alright...

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 30, 2013 | Review of Bully: Scholarship Edition DNS

I'll be honest with you, I've been a Rockstar Games fan for a long, LONG time, but there are some of their titles that just don't do it for me (Midnight Club series), and there are some that I still LOVE to this very day (GTA series). Then, in the middle, there's Bully. It's not horrible, but it's not epic either. Worth playing for sure, but honestly I don't see why it's still priced so high, and I mean that for everywhere you go. It's a fun to play game, but I'd recommend waiting for a good sale price on it, because quite frankly it's not the most awesome R* game out there and they have much better for the same price or lower.

Overall, it's good, but I wouldn't say it's awesome.

85

Not shabby!

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 30, 2013 | Review of Binary Domain

I can sum this game up in a few words: Robocop + Dark Sector + I, Robot. If you don't like the sound of that type of crossover, then this game isn't for you, and likely you're a minority, lol, but that's alright. For everyone else though, this thing is chock full of awesome. The visuals/graphics aren't exactly Cryengine or Unreal Engine 4 quality, but hey, it feeds the diversity. Overall it can tend to be a fun game, very challenging in a positive way, and action-packed. Suit up soldier, you're about to jump into the future and get your butt handed to you by a cog-driven metallic beast world!

92

More Awesome than Naut ;)

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 30, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts

First thing I'll say is "buy it if you can", second thing I'll say is "why haven't you bought it yet?" and third thing is "BUY THE GAME ALREADY!!!". Why do I say these things? Because Awesomenauts is just that, AWESOME!!! It has everything that makes gaming fun, from side-scrolling action, to MOBA structure, to awesome visuals and even greater is that it's not super expensive either. Not to mention, the AN community is growing a lot and you're always guaranteed to have a great match when you play. Do it, you know you want to. ;)

95

Still a great game!

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 30, 2013 | Review of Altered Beast

I don't care what anyone else says, Altered Beast is and always has been a great game. I STILL play this one, it's one of my all-time faves and make no mistake about it, it's a fave for a reason. No matter how much I play it, no matter how long it's been since i last picked it up, it is a classic that is untouchable and undeniably awesome. Words cannot express how much I love this game, honestly, they really can't. Put it this way, you can either buy 3 $1 Mcdouble sandwiches from McD's, which will give you all kinds of issues, or you can buy this and enjoy it for years upon years! Your choice, but you know what I'd do.

95

Great little Indie game!

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 29, 2013 | Review of Colour Bind

I have to say, for being an Indie game, this one really does something wonderful. It has strategy and puzzling down-pat and really challenges you more than just aggravate you like a lot of puzzlers do. I give this one a nice, high score, because it's totally worth it! Buy it, play it, enjoy it, rinse and repeat (well skip the buying part unless you're going to gift it to someone, which I do recommend doing btw). Well worth the money.

55

What happened?

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 29, 2013 | Review of Mount & Blade: With Fire and Sword DNS

What on Earth happened to this game? I had such high hopes for it, but honestly it just didn't live up at all. I checked it out once and only a few minutes was all I could take. The story and such aren't bad, but for me it's the 90's style graphics and movements that pushed me away from it. It's dropped tremendously in price compared to what it was released at, so perhaps $10 USD isn't too bad for it, but if you can wait for a good sale price to snag it and try it out, go for it.

87

Flawed but in all the right ways.

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 29, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs Digital Edition

Like a lot of folks say, this is like Grand Theft Auto, but with martial arts. Sure, that's a fun combo all on it's own, but what makes it even more fun are all of the hilarious glitches. No this isn't a joke either, I'm serious. Despite the fact that this game isn't designed to be funny, it actually is very much so. From launching people with your car as though from a cannon, to smashing them into a wall and not a thing gets damaged (including them), to how you can play bowling using a crowd of enemies and a Land Rover, this Dog is not Sleeping at all, it's just tweaked out a little, lol. All-in-all it really is a fun game. If you don't have it, you're missing out, honestly.

100

Epic game is epic.

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 29, 2013 | Review of Chaos on Deponia

Hilarity, check. Fun, check. Tons of moments that make you feel like you're interacting with an episode of Family Guy, check-check-check-check-check!!! If you don't like this game, then you don't like fun, or humor, or anything that resembles fun and humor. In fact, right now it makes me want to eat a Good Humor ice cream bar, and it's Winter where I'm at. Get it, play it, and prepare your colostomy bags because you're going to laugh so much that you'll pee yourself silly!

90

Same but different, in all the right ways.

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 29, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA) DNS

I'll be honest, BL2 is a great and fun game to play, especially if you know the people you're playing against/with. It's designed to be like the first one for a good reason: the formula works, but they've made some nice changes to it that make it extra-flavorful and a sweet treat to boot. Buy it, install it, play it and then make sweet, sweet gamer love to it because it's just that good of a game.

92

Underdog comes out on top again!

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 29, 2013 | Review of Hard Reset

I LOVE playing this game! I'll be honest, once you play it through there isn't really much if any replayability, however scoring it for as low as these sale prices (currently $4.99 USD on here at the time of this review) are, you simply can't go wrong. Hard Reset is challenging, but man is it ever an awesomely fun futuristic sci-fi shooter to be played! Get it, you won't be disappointed! You're already interested anyway, that's why you're on this page!

90

Pretty fun!

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 29, 2013 | Review of Dead Island

It may not be the uber-epic game of the century, but Dead Island still has a lot of fun to it. I find the best way to fully enjoy a game is to take awhile away from gaming then jump right into it when the jadedness wears off. Do that, play this game and you'll see why it's a great fun zombie apocalypse rollercoaster ride of awesome. It's not perfect, but what game is?

80

It's decent, but too repetitive.

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 18, 2013 | Review of Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams

I recently checked this game out as it looked to be very intriguing and cool at first. I enjoyed playing it for roughly a good 10 minutes and then I quickly got both bored and aggravated with it. The challenging portions are really well done, the graphics are incredible for it being a platformer (reminds me a LOT of Playstation 1 platformer games, but with HD graphics enhancements) and the music is nice as well.

The downsides are that it's way too repetitive & the music is the same throughout (eventually makes one feel as though they're stuck in an elevator). If you can get a great discount deal on it, it may be worth it, however even still it may not be worth it for some people. I personally wouldn't even toss $5 USD at it to be honest.

100

Comic book video games done right!

PM_DMNKLR | July 25, 2012 | Review of Batman: Arkham City

One thing I can say about Batman video games, is somehow, no matter who does them, they always manage to be done rather well (not including the flop that is Lego Batman, lol). This one, is no different, and in fact takes awesome butt-kicking to a whole new level. The PhysX engine is a major upgrade even upon the one in Batman: AA, and so is the tesselation. The team who did this really had their work cut out for them, but the result is terrifyingly pitch-perfect! I really hope that they keep up with this awesome work, because quite frankly, there's no denying the awesomeness of this game. I honestly believe that even those who don't care for comic books would like this game. I definitely recommend it on that factor alone, but the rest is just like having ice cream with your cake, mixed with epic and awesome :)

95

WOW!!!

PM_DMNKLR | July 25, 2012 | Review of Battlefield 3 (NA) dns

It's been a long time since I've had so much fun online, seriously. I just started playing this roughly a month or so ago, and all I can say is that it's just plain fun to play! My fave parts so far have to be when DICE does the 2x XP events, because leveling up and getting all of the special upgrades is a really nice and easy perk to accomplish then. Also, play the campaign, it's pretty fun as well. Lots of intense action going on, and with any current-gen or recent-gen GPU's, this game is just incredibly gorgeous as well! A little tip though, flying the planes and choppers is a royal pain to get used to, so have fun with it and don't get angry or frustrated when you (and you WILL) crash them. The other vehicles, on the other hand, are just great fun, especially the jeeps and of course, the tanks. A definite must-own game for the PC!

100

80's, check. Fun, check. Boredom, yeah right.

PM_DMNKLR | July 15, 2012 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: Vice City capsule

I put this one on-par with GTA IV as far as interaction and storylines go, and it's just endless hours of fun. Yes, aggravating at times, like all GTA games, duh, but still very much enjoyable. If you don't have this game, you aren't playing the right ones.

100

Best GTA add-on ever.

PM_DMNKLR | July 15, 2012 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV: The Lost & Damned

Whoever doesn't like this GTA IV add-on has never had the fantasy of playing a badass biker who gets to stomp fools and do all kinds of fun stuff, which is what GTA games are all about, duh. I'd say that this is THE BEST add-on for any GTA game, period. LOADS of fun. If you don't have it yet, GET IT.

100

If u don't have it, GET IT, if u do, u know y I said that ;)

PM_DMNKLR | July 15, 2012 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV DNS

GTA IV, the best of the series yet, well I'd say it's on-par (story-wise) with Vice City, but still it's an awesome and very fun game to play. Just do yourself a favor and get the complete edition if you can, you won't be disappointed, or bored, one bit. You're welcome.

90

Still a great game :)

PM_DMNKLR | July 15, 2012 | Review of Grand Theft Auto III DNS

It's GTA 3, and though it's old enough to feel aged, it's still fun to play! Hopefully the price will drop even further (at $10 now), but it's worth getting, as it's one of the best GTA stories in the series.

100

How many times can I emphasize the hialrious fun you'll have?

PM_DMNKLR | July 14, 2012 | Review of Magicka

There is no better description that the word FUN to describe Magicka, especially when you add on the DLC's for it. The humor in it is downright epic, the dialogue holds true to that as well, and also the adventure is just gravy. Do some co-op and as long as your friends aren't total idiots, you'll have a blast! Review Kitten told me to tell you "GET IT RIGHT MEOW!!!"

90

More fun than most give it credit for, seriously.

PM_DMNKLR | July 14, 2012 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

I know almost all of the "old-school" Duke fans are still in an uproar about the supposed fail that is DNF, but really they just need to stop whining and move on. I'm one of those old-schoolers that have enjoyed ALL Duke Nukem games, especially this one. Do yourself a favor, and if it's cheap enough (right now it's on sale for DIRT CHEAP!), then get it. It's loads of fun (heck, I had fun drawing and writing on the dry erase board, for ~2 hours straight, lol), and can oftentimes be a great way to just let off some stress, and in a failry productive way. The DLC's for it are just icing on the cake too, so if you get it, get those as well.

95

Different from DOW1, but still great.

PM_DMNKLR | July 14, 2012 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Dawn of War II: Retribution THQ

Like the title states, Dawn of War 2 is rather different from DOW1, but in a very good way. The mechanics have changed in a way as to pull it away from the Warcraft-esque styling and give it some of it's own unique panache. Though at some points the game might frustrate you, and in multiplayer sessions it can appear imba (and not always for YOU either), it's still very fun to play against your friends, or even alongside them. Now if only there was a co-op campaign mode...

100

Y u no have this game?!

PM_DMNKLR | July 14, 2012 | Review of Company of Heroes THQ

On a serious note now... BUY IT!!! If you're into war games, RTS', or just plain fun games to play period, this series is a definite must-have, seriously! Plus, COH 2 is coming very soon, and you really should prepare for it's awesomeness, trust me, it's going to be epic piled upon epic!

100

Fun fun fun!!!

PM_DMNKLR | July 14, 2012 | Review of Darksiders

Do you like to beat the crap out of demons? How about running around and just hacking the daylights out of giant beasts that are literally Hell-bent on crushing you and all of the Earth as well? This game may be rather linear, but it's far from a disappointment, and for the price it's set at (I picked it up on sale for $5!) you can't beat that with a stick (or sword either)!!! All I can say is that if you have yet to play it, quit wasting your time and throw your cash at this great opportunity NOW!!!