Reviews by POOTDISPENSER

77

A great experimental DLC, tarnished by Infinite's muddled story

POOTDISPENSER | April 19, 2014 | Review of BioShock Infinite: Burial at Sea Episode 2

It's the final piece of the Burial at Sea (or Infinite, or whatever) universe. You pick up where you left off, as Elizabeth this time. Burial at Sea Part 2 introduces gameplay very reminiscent of the previous Bioshock games, and it is enjoyable to sneak around, set traps and knock people out as a change of pace.

I never got around the mind-boggling story, and I'll probably never will. What I found in this DLC is the bold and successful experimental leap forward in terms of gameplay.

68

Thought provoking story, adequate gameplay.

POOTDISPENSER | Feb. 28, 2014 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

Looking for a great story that will leave you thinking long after the end? Infinite is your game. I'm disappointed to say that, besides the ambitious and bold story being told here, the game is let down by the combat. It's been dumbed down and becomes a casual bullet sponge shooter.

The Vigors seem to take a step back from the previous 2 entries; they feel so underutilized that it pales in comparison to the weapons. It's really disappointing that the trademark of the Bioshock series appears here as a side-attraction that isn't given the attention it deserves. Gone are the mini-puzzles where you hack security to your advantage or use Plasmids to bring down an enemy in a calculated way. The first two at least had a little freedom in storytelling that doesn't get in the way of the gameplay. In Infinite, you're grabbed by the arm and forced to go through a story that wants to deliver desperately, and ultimately sacrifices freedom in that gameplay aspect. You have no choice but to fight the Handyman (The Columbia equivalent of a Big Daddy) or any scripted events that you have to face. The deal with Elizabeth is a missed opportunity. I expected that players could actually go into tears in another universe which would have been so cool.

The star attraction of Bioshock Infinite is the story. You either love the ingenuity of the plot or hate it for its ridiculousness, or simply left bewildered by the end. My opinion: It would have worked better in a novel, but not in a game. I felt they jumped the shark in going down this route.

Infinite may not live up to expectations set by its predecessors, but I commend the people at Irrational for trying something bold and different with the mature, racial and religious underlying themes not commonly seen in videogames.

75

Heart pounding, psychological FPS horror.

POOTDISPENSER | Dec. 21, 2013 | Review of Condemned: Criminal Origins

The scare builds up as you slowly uncover the mystery behind the dead birds and riots. You have a variety of forensics tool to aid you in your quest. There's the weapon system, and the melee tools to beat people to death with. Take note of your ammo count, it's not going to be plentiful. Each bullet really counts. A great game, get it!

75

It's still regularly updated by the developers

POOTDISPENSER | Dec. 27, 2012 | Review of Killing Floor

Great co-op killing, better than L4D2 I say. Amazing developer support. You won't have trouble finding servers for this game.

Get it. It's a must-have.

68

Great Stealth Game, Starring Agent 47

POOTDISPENSER | Dec. 18, 2012 | Review of Hitman: Absolution PRE

Now I've waited years for this game, and I have to say it's a bittersweet reunion. It's the Hitman we've known, refined with stunning graphics and new and improved gameplay mechanics. Problem is, Absolution turns out to be a stealth game more than the franchise was famous for: Sandbox assassinations. The game is story driven, and levels are more linear then what was shown before the game was released (Streets of Hope, King of Chinatown).

What really dropped the ball hard on this game is the disguise system, which is a serious flaw to the game. Different outfits grants you access to areas like in previous games. However the problem is, you have to avoid NPCs with the same outfit as you, which defies logic of having a disguise in the first place. And this is where the game's Instinct comes in: You can use it to see NPC paths, objects of interest and avoid detection. It drains up pretty fast on higher difficulties, and relying on sneaking is the better (or rather the only) option to scurry past a guard. The cover to cover mechanic is excellent I have to say.

A plus point is the cinematic visuals and sound, but what left me baffled was the number of Hollywood C-List talents working on this game. Which sadly went to waste, when the real star here is David Bateson all along. I don’t feel the added presence of the talents here, which is a huge miss considering that the story is supposedly more focused this time.

If you’re a casual gamer or a stealth fan, this is the game to get. If you have been following Agent 47 since Codename 47, well you’re still probably going to get this any way. Just keep in mind that it’s now much more stealth-oriented. Contracts Mode gives you a closer experience to the original Hitman formula, so do check that out.

70

It's your Experience.

POOTDISPENSER | Sept. 16, 2012 | Review of Dear Esther DNS

You can call it a game or an interactive experience.

Dear Esther has incredible visuals courtesy of Source, nice settings and narrative.

The story is up to your imagination, and at the end of it you have a unique experience.

Don't get this expecting strong gameplay elements. The story and graphics hold the game together, and the last piece of the puzzle is, you.

70

The roots of a hallmark franchise starts here.

POOTDISPENSER | June 18, 2012 | Review of Hitman: Codename 47 Capsule

Waiting for Absolution and haven't played this one yet?

If you are interested in the gameplay and how it refined into the series we know today, start here. Although the game is really old, it has aged well enough to still warrant a playthrough to refresh your memory of the story.

If you can put aside the dated graphics and slightly different gameplay approach compared to it's sequels, give it a go.

91

A sequel worthy of the Max Payne name

POOTDISPENSER | June 18, 2012 | Review of Max Payne 3 DNS

The Max Payne series is built upon it's noir-setting storyline and frantic shootouts.

If you think the franchise took a wrong step in changing it's setting to Brazil, you are wrong. The bald guy on the cover is very much Max Payne we knew and love back in the previous games.

The haunting main theme is there, the witty and depressing narrative is also there. Shootdodging and Bullet Time is a joy to use more than ever. With the new graphics engine used here, it's a bullet ballad.

With the ease and grace of a ballerina, Max fights his way through various settings in the game, keeping it fresh and fast-paced. A new visual style that is somewhat similar to Kane and Lynch 2 is used here, and it's a love-hate thing but it won't affect much of the experience.

Long time fan of the Max Payne series? Get it.

Never heard of Max Payne 3 before? Get it.

87

The pinnacle of the Hitman franchise

POOTDISPENSER | June 18, 2012 | Review of Hitman 2: Silent Assassin capsule

Silent Assassin is where Hitman's foundations are built, making each sequel a must have for stealth-action fans. It is a huge step up from it's predecessor, Codename 47.

If you have not tried any of the Hitman games before, this is a good start. It will convert you. Stealth-action doesn't get any more tense nor satisfying as they come. A must buy.

90

It's a gem, highly addictive with a great modding community

POOTDISPENSER | June 13, 2012 | Review of Mount & Blade: Warband DNS

Before I continue this review, buy it. Like, now.

This game is insanely addictive that draws you in and clocks in the hours. You start out as a character with a background of your choice, and what you choose to do from there onwards is up to you.

Be sure to visit the Mount & Blade forums for tips and downloading mods. Another reason to get the game.

It has a particularly difficult learning curve when you start off, but you will be fine after getting a hang of the game's mechanics.

That's all I need to say. Get it now.

87

The Story Is Where It Is.

POOTDISPENSER | June 8, 2012 | Review of Alan Wake

Mixed with Resident Evil 4 styled gameplay and Stephen King-inspired horror story, this is one game that you either hate or love.

Your torchlight's your best friend, and so is your wits. The graphics are stunningly gorgeous from the start to end. Admire the scenery, until your nightmare starts. The game really starts off very well, before you lose yourself in the confusion of the story. You will want to find out what is really haunting Bright Falls.

Unlike Resident Evil 4 where you go through masses of enemies, running to light sources (where you are safe from enemies) is the much wiser option, should you encounter a horde of Taken.

A game I will recommend, if you actually focus on the story.

78

A Change of Pace, and it Delivers

POOTDISPENSER | June 8, 2012 | Review of Alan Wake's American Nightmare

If you have been playing the original Alan Wake and and hankering after more action, this is the standalone game to get.

The game switches pace from the horror style of the main game and pits you in Tarantino-styled levels with arcadey action gameplay. You are Alan Wake, and you are after your double Mr Scratch (who isn't a really nice person).

Paying $14.99, I felt a little cheated at first, since the missions are based around three settings and they are looped over and over in different ways and slightly different dialogues from characters.

However, the real meat lies in it's Arcade mode, where it's "survive till dawn" in various levels and gunning for high scores.

This game is a blast, if you can't get enough of the original and want a change of pace.

87

This game will mesmerise you, and suck you right in. Get it.

POOTDISPENSER | May 8, 2012 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (NA)

The hype didn't disappoint. Being a gamer new to The Elder Scrolls franchise and Skyrim being my first foray into the world, I say this is what you really call a game.

The graphics are top-notch, and if you are still yearning for even more impressive jaw-dropping visuals, there is a huge library of mods out there to cater to your needs, from gameplay to the UI and music. It's that accessible. Your game will always be fresh, thanks to a huge and incredibly great modding community.

Skyrim's story is fairly easy to grasp, you are a Dragonborn whose purpose is to rid the world of dragons (durr) that have returned, fortelling a prophecy of the end of the world basically. Tons of side quests and missions that easily gives breaks on the main story. And they are good side quests in themselves.

The soundtrack is a standout, get it if you can. It's as epic as they come.

Get this game, and transport yourself into another world. It's an incredible game, something I have not experienced and it really blew me as far as Fus Ro Dah!!! can.