Reviews by PedroVarela

91

Very exciting!

PedroVarela | Aug. 20, 2012 | Review of SkyDrift

This is that airplane game everyone was expecting. Smooth controls, nice graphics, this game has it all, including a Bagger 288.

The game is unfortunately locked to 30 fps, so it's kinda sluggish. Nothing to grave though. It's still tons of fun, everything you'd expect from a fast-paced airplane race. The powerup system is very rewarding, as it's challenging to get them, and once you do, they do a serious ammount of damage.

Final thoughts: For 10€, this game has it all, it's strangely cheap, actually. If you have the chance, consider buying Skidrift

90

Do whatever you want!

PedroVarela | July 20, 2012 | Review of Just Cause 2

Compared with the endless possibilities of this game, the story is nearly non-existent. A shame, I say.

Anyways, you have a grappling hook. You can bind a car with it. You can then bind the car to an airplane and fly around, and smash statues with your new contraption. Don't get me started on what you can do in Just Cause 2.

The graphics are also nice. However there may be too much blur for your taste. Nothing grave though.

Also, the map is humongous. You take a serious portion of time going through the map with a jet. Yes, that big.

There is going to be a MultiPlayer mod for this game, so you can't deny the traffic it will get. Buy it and join the fun and chaos!

85

A very fun game

PedroVarela | July 20, 2012 | Review of Trine

This game features an amazing story, along with beautiful and well made graphics. It is better than the average fairy tale, and the gameplay is just awesome!

You play as three characters, and that means you have three different ways of going through a challange. There are also puzzles to be solved with physics, or through a grappling hook (sometimes).

For an indie game, it has very good graphics. Good to the point where my PC lags, so you have to be modest with the graphic settings.

Other than that, have fun with the extensive gameplay, it has a lot of levels!

96

Wasn't expecting a game this good

PedroVarela | July 20, 2012 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution Augmented Edition

After Invisible War, I was quite skeptic about a new Deus Ex. Turns out I was wrong. A splendind cyberpunk ambient, along with the classic augmentations.

The game honours the first Deus Ex, bringing back the stealth factor, good as ever! It is also a nice shooter, pleasing the more "agressive" players, such as myself. The mechanics are very acessible to play with.

The graphics feature tesselation, enhancing the graphics. However they can take a lot of resources, so make sure you have a fine computer to admire what this game has to offer.

Good games do come once in a while, so make sure to grab a copy of this one.

100

Best game of its genre

PedroVarela | July 20, 2012 | Review of Darksiders

It is one of my favourite games. You play as one of the four Horsemen, which means it's time to kill angels and demons!

The game is a proper RPG when looking at the map, it's enormous. Also, there are a lot of skills for the character, as well as weapon power-ups, that grant you a specific function, so use them accordingly to what you need to kill.

No pressure on the game's mechanic. It is quite simple and responsive, with the particularity that you can hang and jump on almost every ledge and crack in the wall. The graphics are normal for this type of game, nothing to showy and theatrical.

In my opinion, it is one of the many games that deserve to be played. I cannot wait to see the sequel.

Have fun!

70

It's a nice title, however.

PedroVarela | July 20, 2012 | Review of Mirror's Edge

When you look at it first, you think it is an innovative concept of gaming, looking at parkour in a whole new level. The game IS wonderful - don't get me wrong, however it has a small issue.

I am not a pro player, (and I believe it is not required to be one in order to play this game) but a huge flaw I have detected is how the levels are made. In the tuturial, you are given a whole bunch of instructions, which leaves you to believe there are various ways of beating a given challenge. However, I have only been able to beat a level using a single strategy, meaning that although you have various ways, you will only succed at one.

That is the only flaw. As for the rest, I enjoyed every second of it. Nicely done for a parkour game, the movement is nicely calibrated and you get the feeling of every impulse you give to the game.

As for the graphics, I like the minimalistic style. It is helpful to the eye and surely atracts attention towards your surroundings.

95

A must-play for everyone!

PedroVarela | July 20, 2012 | Review of Bastion Cap

In my opinion, the second best indie game ever, followed by Doukutsu Monogatari. It is truly a masterpiece that covers every single corner of the game.

It's an beautiful game when we talk about graphics: it's the essential to a wonderful scenery, as it has its own particular style. The ground forms as you walk, which gives a dramatic impact when playing.

The best things about this game are the story, the OST, and the narration. The story WILL leave you tearing, specially if you play it twice, in order to understand everything that surrounds the Bastion.

As for the narration: it is overwhelming. I cannot put it to words, but it is definitely fantastic. The OST features a western-like tunes, however it leaves a scar when hearing, I recommend hearing it at least one time in everyone's life.

You may think it is expensive for an indie game, but once you realize the work around the game, and the quality of both narration and soundtrack, you will know it is worth every penny.

95

Very underestimated.

PedroVarela | July 13, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third

Prepare to be blown by the extreme notion of originality. Prepare to run naked. Prepare to carry a non-ethical weapon around the world and sodomize everyone in it. Saints Row the Third is an explosion of the most ridiculous - yet entertaining- ideas ever, combined with a solid and GTA-like gameplay.

Fly through a plane in mid-flight, and shoot people on it. This is the most fun you'll ever have in this genre.

The co-op is stuning. Well balanced, and most important: You won't get the feeling your partner is disturbing you. A well played move from THQ. Get it now!

95

Not the usual Sonic game

PedroVarela | June 13, 2012 | Review of Sonic Generations

It's much, much better. When I heard there was a new Sonic game coming, the child in me couldn't be more happy. However, the adult in me was skeptical: Why make another Sonic game, if the previous ones were going down the drain? Sure, they were enjoyable, but they weren't what Sonic used to be.

Fortunatly, this wasn't the case. This game is brilliante, and it brings Sonic back from what he used to be. Play levels you remember as a kid, a teenager, and what you are today. Remember every level from every Sonic game, redesigned and remade with both modern and classic Sonic. Remember the music, the memories, everything.

It's a gem of a game. The controls are perfect, besides the usual small corner which can be a tad difficult to go through. The mechanics couldn't be better. It's a high speed game, but you feel you have all that speed under control.

I couldn't suggest anything to the game. It's worth every penny.

70

Marks an entire genre.

PedroVarela | June 13, 2012 | Review of Alien Breed: Impact

This game is absolutely fantastic. It goes in the same line as Shadowgrounds and Renegaded Ops, in my opinion. It's controls are simple and yet smooth, giving a very nice game rate. Being the typical action game, you'll have to expect a few jumps once in a while, but it's worth it. A very cheap and fun game, I'd recommend buying the whole triology.