Reviews by PeppaJ6

100

British Left 4 Dead... Except Better

PeppaJ6 | Aug. 11, 2013 | Review of Killing Floor

If you love the survival horror genre, I would absolutely suggest picking this one up. Basically, the premise here is that these "Zeds" (the zombie-like creatures within the game) are failed military experiments wreaking havoc across the UK. Players are assigned with the task of eliminating these creatures under the role of special agents dropped into these Zed hot spots. The typical game progresses in waves of Zeds, each wave ending with a trip to a weapons trader who will move from safehouse to safehouse during the progression of each round in order to keep the Zeds on the run. Players choose from one of seven different classes (or Perks, as they're referred to in the game), each including weapon specialization "perks" for picking the class, which include Medic (armor/speed/healing), Sharpshooter (handguns/sniper rifles), Firebug (flamethrower/fire resist), Demolitions Expert (basically anything that explodes), Support (shotguns/welding), Commando (grenades/stealth sight/assault rifles), and Berserker (melee weapon-using close quarters combat specialist). However, your class does not restrict which weapons you can use within the game. It simply gives a boost to your ability with the weapons which fall under that Perk's specialty. Also, each Perk is improved through a leveling EXP system. The cool thing about this is that you can level any Perk at any time, depending on your current weapon. EX: Hacking Zeds with a melee weapon will increase your Berserker EXP, shooting off heads in the distance will warrant Sharpshooter EXP, lobbing a grenade into a group will award Commando EXP, and healing a fellow teammate will increase Medic EXP. All in all, this game is great for online and solo play, and I personally have almost 200 hours in on the game. Plus, it's on Steam! Steam gamers rejoice!

85

Classic, Trademark Beat-em-up Gameplay

PeppaJ6 | Aug. 11, 2013 | Review of Golden Axe

This was one of my favorite beat-em-ups I've played as a kid. It's in very much a traditional setting, where a princess is kidnapped, and the main character or characters have to traverse through the game's storyline to get her back, and teach the main boss some manners. The gameplay can be seen as traditional today, but was intense in its day. My favorite parts in this title have to be when the heroes are camping, and goblins attempt to raid the campsite, getting away with the heroes' goods if they are not stopped. This adds some depth and life to the gamer's experience with the title, and keeps the gameplay from being too linear.

85

"Rise from your grave!"

PeppaJ6 | Aug. 11, 2013 | Review of Altered Beast

I remember playing this one from a long time ago at a friend's house, but I never knew the name until years later. I thought the coolest part of this game was the fact that your character has the ability to turn into a menagerie of creatures, acquiring a brand, new appearance and a multitude of new abilities each with their own graphical goodness used to pound out their enemies! It has a very Castlevania feel to the game, in that it is also a side-scroller, you're facing up against goblins and ghoulies of the night, and that you're able to become one yourself. With the price on this one, and its nostalgic gameplay, you really can't go wrong here.

95

"I'd like some pooound cake!"

PeppaJ6 | Aug. 11, 2013 | Review of Super Street Fighter 4: Arcade Edition

The latest and the greatest of the Street Fighter series, players will be ecstatic to discover that in this edition, they will be able to take on the role of Evil Ryu, or Akuma's equally-awesome and evil counterpart, Oni (as if the guy wasn't evil enough already). If you're looking to buy a badass fighting game, I would suggest looking into Street Fighter 4 - Not the original title, however. If you specifically purchase this special "Arcade Version" over the original title, you'll get extra characters as well as access to special moves which won't be found in its predecessor. Play this game and you'll be sure to shoryuken the competition!

100

Capcom rolled a 20

PeppaJ6 | Aug. 11, 2013 | Review of Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara

I remember first playing this one with my brother in an arcade when we were younger and vacationing at our aunt's. It was funny because we both were obsessed with the game, and we didn't even know what the name was! Years later, we found out, and now we play it off and on to this day.

"Chronicles of Mystara" combines both the original D&D: Tower of Doom and D&D: Shadow Over Mystara titles into an awesome, online PC experience, and here's the kicker - it's played through Steam! This is probably the most well-made arcade beat-em-up game I've played outside of SNES console gaming. The ability to pick through an inventory of items, spells, and weaponry in a beat-em-up game is awesome, and totally lends credence to the D&D role playing genre.

Each character has his or her own unique abilities and weaponry to use in combat, as each one belongs to a separate class that is akin to typical D&D classes (thief, warrior, cleric, wizard), and with little to no research, players can figure out button combinations to execute special movement and attack abilities that wouldn't otherwise be explained during gameplay (such as the wizard's teleport ability).

If you love side-scrolling beat-em-ups, you can't go wrong here. I feel sorry for anyone who hasn't gotten to experience this gem.

90

Awesome co-op Resident Evil fun!

PeppaJ6 | Aug. 11, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil 5

This is the first co-op console game I've had the pleasure of playing alongside my girlfriend - we both loved it! This time, the player is fighting against another offshoot of "la plaga" in Africa, which makes for some pretty vicious enemies. I still think the executioner scene is by far my favorite combat scenario to play within, which is probably the first major encounter in the game. There are just so many different ways to go about playing it, and I wish that there were more situations that were akin to this one in later parts of the game. Don't let that make it sound like the rest of the game isn't worth playing through, because it definitely is. As a survival horror, this game keeps you going as fast as your heart can beat. I really appreciate the amount of time that has gone into the most recent titles in the series since the implementation of the three-dimensional combat in Resident Evil 4. It's brought a lot of potential into the games through tactical combat situations, and I really appreciate having to think when it comes to my gameplay.

80

Welcome to Raccoon City - Population: You

PeppaJ6 | Aug. 11, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City

The overall impression I was left with from playing this one was Resident Evil 4 in multiplayer. I loved that title, and love playing this one as well! My favorite part of it has to be the fact that you're able to play as members of Umbrella's special forces unit. This puts the player in a unique position where they're pitted against both the zombies ravaging the city, and the more positive cast members belonging to the RCPD - characters we've played as ourselves in the past which must now be eliminated. It's a unique feel because the player gets to see parts of this blast from the past that were never told before. I find the gameplay itself enjoyable, and being able to kill zombies in a Resident Evil title with friends online is unbeatable as a time killer.

85

Stylish!

PeppaJ6 | Aug. 11, 2013 | Review of Devil May Cry 4

One of my favorite gaming series of all time! If you own or have played the first three titles, this one's a must buy. You get to play as both Nero (the main star of the title) and Dante later on in the game's storyline, both of which get to kill just as many demons and their minions as in the previous titles. I can't say I've played this on the PC, but I'm sure the experience is all the better on a nice gaming rig. If hacking and slashing are what you're after, you've definitely found a diamond in the rough.

85

My first MMO

PeppaJ6 | Aug. 9, 2013 | Review of FINAL FANTASY XI Ultimate Collection: Seekers Edition (NA)

I remember first hearing about this title back around 2001 in a gaming magazine thinking, "Final Fantasy... as an online game?? That's awesome!" This game was technically the first MMO I'd ever gotten into. I say this today as an avid MMO player with experience that draws back to about 2004. Back then, this was the title I'd stayed up playing until 6 am. I couldn't get enough!

The gameplay was top notch for its time - I remember this also being my first experience with an auction house, which came pretty easily to an inexperienced MMO player. The graphics were pretty good for its time, too, and the game was filled with recognizable mobs and summons you'd expect from a Final Fantasy title. I even rebuilt one of my old computers just so I could play this!

All in all, being a part of this game was a very good experience, and from what I hear, this game is still going very strong today with the players who refuse to make the transition to Final Fantasy XIV.

100

The one that started it all...

PeppaJ6 | Aug. 9, 2013 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VII

For me, this was the one Final Fantasy title that started an incredible series. As a birthday gift of my brother's, he had been the first one to play the title, and got stuck at the very first scorpion boss at the end of Cloud's first job with AVALANCHE.

I took it upon myself to try and beat this boss myself [Spoiler]He's a robot! Use lightning![Spoiler], and the amazing experience this game and the series it belongs to opened up for both of us. This was definitely one that left its mark on both of us, and as an introductory title to the series, it's unbeatable.

Even today with its antiquated graphics, (which were absolutely awesome back then!) the classic gameplay, character development, and storytelling is what makes it worth the buy more than anything, as is with most Final Fantasy titles. Being optimized for PC makes this one all the better!

If there was one console game I could suggest to anyone, it would be this one (or Final Fantasy Tactics - if you haven't tried that one, do so!) Do not hesitate to buy!

85

Get it if you think TPS > FPS

PeppaJ6 | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Defiance

This game has been tons of fun. I first got my hands on it back in January during its beta phases, and I was blown away at how polished it came off as being. My girlfriend and I can both attest to this being one of the best games we've been able to experience this year - we're from the GunZ: The Duel crowd, so naturally, we're suckers for third-person shooters. This was one of our favorites, and still is today! Just driving the game's vehicles has been one of our favorite in-game pastimes. Studying the game's lore for character development has been something we've both enjoyed as well. The gameplay itself can be a bit repetitive at times, but the upcoming DLC, which will release this month, will hopefully remedy this side effect. My main gripe with the game is its almost forceful competitive gameplay during arkfalls. It doesn't truly feel like I'm working alongside other players towards a common goal. All in all, with the recent price drop, MMO players really can't go wrong adding this one to their collections. As great as it has been, it has a lot of potential to become something even better.