Reviews by Pradlik

90

Tired of being on the wrong side of the law?

Pradlik | April 14, 2014 | Review of LA Noire The Complete Edition

Finally a game where you play as a cop! And not some traffic warden but a Los Angeles detective Cole Phelps. The investigation process is the second best part of the game, after the story (see below). The search for clues will make you really punctilious and bring deep insight into all cases. The interogation is even better with the best game facial animation I have ever seen making some characters an obvious liars whereas others might seem honest. What kind of police officer would you be without chasing criminals? This takes me to the third part of police work and that are the gunfights and chases on foot or in cars. These elements aren't the main plus of the game since it's not a shooter of any kind - if you want to buy the game for the action only, don't. However, though these are weaker than in Mafia II for example, they are a nice contrast to the peaceful investigation and they balance the neat investigating with some action, which is important for you not to get bored from finding clues only. Apart from the extraordinary facial animation the graphics is about average. The city of LA is really big and contains lot of hidden secrets, such as cars, sights etc. for completionist gamers. Though the city really is wonderful, it doesn't feel as lively as it might be. Apart from the cases and street crimes, there isn't much to watch. But that isn't much of a drawback - not many games have that (maybe the Watch Dogs will). Finally, the story. There's a lot to spoil so I'll take this just briefly. It focuses on many things and mentiones lot of important topics, which makes it really strong. As set in the year 1947, you'll it connects the horrors of war and Cole Phelps' military history with the police investigations and lot of other topics, you'll encounter in the streets of LA such as drugs, racism, prostitution, rapes and lot more. I enjoyed the last Arson desk a whole lot because it shows nobody is plain black or white, evil or good. Some characters are antagonists, though you feel the morale in their acting, others have it the other way round. It also shows how thin line lies between good and bad, between friends and enemies. To sum up - this game promises something quite different from others as you'll be playing at the right side of the law meaning lots of new aspects and a fantastic story. The weakest thing I can think of is that you cant skip the ending credits :)

100

Watch how the Bioshock story wraps up!

Pradlik | April 12, 2014 | Review of BioShock Infinite: Burial at Sea Episode 2

Burial at Sea Episode 2 really compensates for the previous part in many ways. Firstly, as you most probably already know, you play as Elizabeth, which brings the new stealth element to the Bioshock series. Though worried a bit, I was absolutely amazed how much fun it was also thanks to the new Vigor/Plasmid Peeping Tom, which grants invisibility and ability to see enemies through walls and the crossbow for sleeping and gas darts. The environments are just as good as with all previous Bioshock titles, simply wonderfully designed and you must admire them in Rapture, Columbia or also in another famous city you'll be visiting in this episode. Finally the story. No spoilers, don't worry - I'm just gonna say it perfectly connects the whole Bioshock franchise together with meeting plenty of old returning characters - this is also the most important part of my review: the above mentioned makes it the best video-game story ever! If you haven't played the previous parts, grab them, because there isn't three games and two story DLCs with better story out there. For Bioshock fans - grab the Season pass to save some bucks and don't hesitate to try this, even if you were disappointed by the previous Burial at Sea.

90

Back to Rapture, back home!

Pradlik | Nov. 13, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite: Burial at Sea Episode 1

Once again, the story is pure gold and witnessing Rapture before its fall is just wonderful and I loved every part of it. The story is lately the main reason for my love for Bioshock franchise, the combat with vigors/plasmids and weapons is fun too, but brings nothing new. and this is the main phrase which suits this DLC too - Brings nothing new. Apart from the brilliant story is one new-old freezing vigor and one new gun (viva la Saints Row IV) just not enough. Last but not least the gameplay time was about 3 hours for me and I was taking it really slowly. If you're a fan of the franchise, buy it in the season pass, if you're not, substract 20 from my rating because otherwise you might be disappointed - for 15 dollars it's just not sufficient.

90

How long can you survive?

Pradlik | Sept. 14, 2013 | Review of Don't Starve

This game is really simple, but also and more importantly very clever and challenging. You choose a character, each has some special ability, choose a scenario - world, where you can adjust how common what natural elements should be and then you start. The goal is simple - don't starve. You will have to focus on three aspects - hunger, sanity and health. As simple as it might sound, it's not that easy, especially if you pick hostile setting of the world. All these environmental settings and various characters grant basically infinity of hours of gameplay, you will still like it and you will still explore something new, because the game supports Steam workshop now. And all this in lovely Tim Burton style graphics!

80

More levels? Sure if you love this game!

Pradlik | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Ultimate Vault Hunter Upgrade Pack 2

Just like the previous pack - if you love your character and want even more skills and enjoy more fun with him, get both of the upgrade packs for 22 more levels, thats more than 4 new skills! Furthermore if you get both you will be rewarded with lovely skins. And to fully proove you're the no.1 badass on Pnadora, new challegning maps, enemies and loot up to level 80 await you! However if you expect something really brand new, not just some skills and challenges, this DLC might disappoint you because it lacks story, just new and tough enemies are introduced. Nevertheless, I can recommend it as Borderlands 2 fan and I enjoyed pushing the limits of my character even further!

80

Become even more badass!

Pradlik | Sept. 3, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Ultimate Vault Hunters Upgrade Pack

If you like the concept of Borderlands and you fell in love with your character, then don't hesitate about this DLC. It promises 11 more levels that means eleven more skill points to be invested in new skills. And because you need some challenge for your new badass level 61 character, try the story on highest difficulty ever - Ultimate vault hunter mode! It really is a challenge but rewarding you with better loot and bigger legendary items spawn rates. However if you enjoyed Borderlands 2 characters enough to level 50 and you find playing the story for the third time boring, then this pack will disappoint you.

80

Enjoy pure action of gunfights in the old west!

Pradlik | Aug. 21, 2013 | Review of Call of Juarez®: Gunslinger

Gunslinger is for me the biggest surprise of 2013, not just because I'm a fan of Wild West and blood splashing Tarantino-style, but also because the game offers lots of fun for a very reasonable price. The story isn't bad at all, you will become the biggest badass in the old west - Silas Greaves and the gameplay and scenery will change according to his story-telling, which is a nice feature. I also like the comics style of the game, especially as introduction to new characters and outlaws, who look really awesome here, because of their costumes, and sharp faces. However the main plus of this game is the action, shooting lot of guys, blood splashing, the sound of bullets flying next to your ears or dodging them in bullet-time. All this for getting skill points, levelling up and unlocking new abilities. Let's hope Call of Juarez series will abandon the gameplay of their previous titles and continue in the path of Gunslinger.

60

The decline of Call of Duty started...

Pradlik | Aug. 21, 2013 | Review of Call of Duty: Black Ops

After very good Modern Warfare this is the decline of Call of Duty series. I was frustrated by the story becoming more and more crazy with rambo-like heroes. Also the linearity was bit frustrating where you couldn't proceed to an area until other characters progressed there. In Black Ops the story isn't bad at all but on the other hand not really great either. The graphics is just as by older games in the series, which is logical since new Call of Duty is released every year. But everyone prefers quality and not quantity of new games in series. What iritates me most is the price of every CoD game for which you get 6-7 hours of singleplayer story in exchange. This is where I'm saying bye to CoD series and playing only good old Modern Warfare.

90

Return to Deponia in style!

Pradlik | Aug. 21, 2013 | Review of Chaos on Deponia

Another story of the handyman and tinkerer Rufus on the amazing planet Deponia. The story is surprisingly clever and makes you both think and laugh. The humour is another important aspect - there's even more of it and it's sometimes really clever (quantum physics), sometimes really stupid (Rufus' dialoges and songs to himself) and sometimes really dark (the game isn't really suitable for animal lovers xD) but altogether there's lots of brilliant jokes and funny scenes and the game really made me laugh out loud many times. Finally, the challenges and tasks are still difficult and tricky but not that much if you talk to characters a lot and try to think a bit. Huzzah, let's wait for part three!

80

Enjoy the combat from Bioshock Infinite and unlock rewards!

Pradlik | Aug. 21, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite: Clash in the Clouds

I was a bit sceptical about this DLC at first and was expecting a story one, but on the other hand there was a lot of great story in the series but no arenas where you could simply enjoy the fighting, which is great fun with no doubt. The result is very good, I must say, with lots to achieve and unlock in the process. What I also like is that once dead you don't have to start all the way since Wave 1 like in Moxxi's DLC for the first Borderlands, but you can just give up your leaderboards score and proceed, which is supercool! So get out there and fight for Columbia (or Rapture :)

80

Get on your way to Hong Kong underworld!

Pradlik | Aug. 21, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Limited Edition

Sleeping Dogs is a very pleasant surprise in the genre of sandbox games. The area you play in resembles real Hong Kong and looks just fantastic, I enjoyed driving on highways, running through alleys, visiting shops and cruising the coast in a boat. Th story is above average in the gangster or mob genre with both thrilling and sad moments. Most fun abut this game aren't the gunfights, those are quite weak actually, even though they are spiced up with bullet-time. Most fun are the kung-fu fights with multiple enemies with same feeling as in Arkham Asylum, not really difficult but with ability to cause some damage with cool looking combos. The driving is really arcadish but that isn't too bad and you will enjoy gunfights while driving and hijacks of other cars in the form of leaping on them. What annoyed me are some bugs, for example when chasing other cars the "Don't lose your target" thing got stuck and I had to replay some missions over and also the fact that the game crashed few times out of the blue. Nevertheless it's a better clone of GTA (I don't like GTA so you might disagree) promissing lots of fun with Chinese Triads.

90

Great adventure in a lovely world called Deponia

Pradlik | Aug. 16, 2013 | Review of Deponia

I never was a big fan of point and click adventures but lately after spending few hours with Deponia or Walking Dead I really changed mind about this genre. Deponia is nicely animated game with brilliant humour and lots of challenging puzzles. Rufus himself is a pain in the ass for the Deponian community but you'll get to love his character and will enjoy his adventure.

80

See how Lara became the Tomb Raider!

Pradlik | Aug. 16, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider

Lara went a long way since her cone-shaped boobs and I wasn't always a fan of her games, more of sexy Lara herself. But the new Tomb Raider got my attention before its release. It promised a restart to the series and a fresh story of how Lara became the Tomb Raider. The story is very good (though I still find strange how fast she changed from a scared student to mighty adventurer and slayer of hundreds of enemies, but still...). What I love about this game is mainly the mystery island providing lots of ways how to reach your target and feels like open environment. Furthermore lots of details - the weapons and skills modification, the camera and its altering to your movement, taking cover during combat and so on. All these details make the gameplay really smooth and really fun. I enjoyed every minute on Yamatai, the mystery island of queen Himiko and I'm sure you would too!

60

Simple story but clever puzzles.

Pradlik | Aug. 16, 2013 | Review of Stacking

Stacking is an indie adventure game with an interesting idea of the world of matrioshkas. It promises some challenging puzzles and dolls to collect in the areas. The story is a bit lousy though and the best parts are the challenges really. Also after few hours it might get pretty boring because it's still the same.

80

Lovely RPG will make you 7-year old again!

Pradlik | Aug. 16, 2013 | Review of Costume Quest

Adorable lovely game suitable for the fans of Nightmare before Christmas. I really love the art style of the game, the humour too. The story is rather simple for children mostly, the combat too, in the Penny Arcade games style. It's not as complicated as there though, some might find it as a negative aspect but not me. I enjoyed picking "skills" in the form of stamps rather than using dozens of items. If you're looking for a casual game, this is one of my favourites in the genre!

70

Telltale know how to tell a good tale...Even during just 90 mins

Pradlik | July 6, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead: 400 Days

I was expecting a bit more, one story during one time from five angles. Instead there are 5 different stories with some rather small connections of brand new characters most likely to be featured in Season 2 once it is released. If you are a fan of the series, you won't be disappointed, though you might be by the lenght of only about hour and half, but on the other hand you won't be as thrilled as after Walking Dead itself. Still the stories are really good and I must admire how little time of gameplay the developers need to tell them.

90

I will protect her no matter what...

Pradlik | July 4, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

Clementine really is a character you'll love like being her own parent and this will make the experience from the game even stronger. Walking Dead itself is more like a movie than a game. You just decide about some situations and characters and collect just few necessary items for progressing. However the story is the strongest in zombie genre and maybe among all games, so I can only recommend.

100

Brilliant "restart" of the series

Pradlik | June 29, 2013 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

Bioshock Infinite brings a restart to the whole series. The role of the developers wasn't easy at all because it can't be easy to top one of the best games ever made (1st Bioshock). But I can now say all the expectations were fullfilled, the city of Columbia is the most pretty and magnificient of all game environments, the combat is lots of fun and the story is absolutelly brilliant, though a bit complicated. After first playthrough with many to follow I can say I'm glad and proud I bought this game and consider it as one of the best ever made, pushing the video game industry lot further once again.

100

Somewhere beyond the sea...

Pradlik | June 21, 2013 | Review of BioShock

A truly groundbreaking game...Well some may disagree but it definitely was during its release. Brilliant story of Rapture, a city at the bottom of the sea discovered a plane crash in the beginning of the 60s. The story is the main reason why I loved Bioshock so much but also the gameplay featuring many weapons and plasmids and their combination for devastating attacks. Last but not least I fell in love with the art deco style of Rapture and the music exponentiating the atmosphere. I dare to say any horror fan, good story lover and creative gamer won't be dissapointed. Nor will be the others :)

95

Want more of Borderlands 2

Pradlik | June 21, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 Season Pass

If you were as thrilled by playing Borderlands 2 as I was, then you have to aquire the story DLCs for them - the promised content include Captain Scarlett and her Pirate Booty (yeah her booty is definitely worth it itself ;), which takes you to the city of Oasis a completely new part of Pandora with tons of shipwrecks and palm trees, great for all pirate fans! The second DLC includes a campaign for crazy Torgue weapon manufacturer - Mr. Torgue. He has lots of muscles and loves explosions. Third DLC will feature more of Sir Hammerlock and even Handsome Jack followers and the last one features more RPG elements than ever before - Tiny Tina's Dragonkeep. The stories promise hourse of fun and further gameplay, levelling, new guns, new tokens and crystals to aquire guns and lot more! Another positive feature is Ultimate Vault Hunter mode for original Borderlands 2, which promise 11 more levels and further usage of your skills - you can complete two character skill trees now! The only negative thing about it is that except the story, the gameplay of the first three DLCs promise only few new elements. However the fourth one fully compensates this!

100

Must have for all Action FPS + RPG fans

Pradlik | June 19, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2

This is my favourite game, you have plenty of characters to try, going completely through the story is about 20 hours, with all the side quests its about 80, with all story DLCs it's far above hundred. All that just with one character! The story itself is brilliant but the gameplay even more with the usage of each character's skills. If you want quality for your money, buy Borderlands 2 which promise hundreds of hours of great gameplay!

100

Play as the most iconic character of Borderlands universe!

Pradlik | June 19, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Psycho Pack DLC

He who makes a Beast of himself gets rid of the pain of being a man...Krieg is the most fun character to play as, you will love his Buzz Axe Rampage with blood splashing over the screen, his split personality and inner voice, his skills (at least if you are as crazy as I am)... You'll just love Borderlands 2 even more with him, he's really fun :)