Reviews by PrecisionUnknow

66

Stay away

PrecisionUnknow | Feb. 27, 2014 | Review of Chicago 1930

I only had a small amount of time invested into this game, and I already know how I feel about it. I simply dislike it. It has an interesting story. The gameplay looks nice but I don't know if it was me, being unlucky, or if it was the game, but the game feels very bugged with a lot of issues.

Most importantly, the characters would be lagging, or generally slow to a point that exposed how problematic the game runs. Not only that, but watching videos, the game seems to be a cheap cartoonish rip off of Commandos. While they play similarly and I did like Commandos, this game seemed to rubbed me off like a cheesy 1930s action flick.

The acting wasn't too convicting or appealing either. This game is a dud. Maybe I would of reviewed it higher if I wasn't having issues, and it had more realistic graphics. But that's the cards I was played with, and this is how I dealt them. All I will say is "stay away" this isn't worth the time, and a lack of a community only makes it more unappealing.

100

Rome: "The" Total War

PrecisionUnknow | Feb. 27, 2014 | Review of Rome: Total War

My first introduction to the total war series was this game, after Medieval: Total War. Rome: Total War is what others have obviously stated, that the graphics are outdated. Though still a fun and good looking game, despite it being ten years old.

Rome: Total War is what I wished Total War: Rome 2 was like. With Rome: Total War's awesome siege battles, intense battles, and challenging AI. While the newer total war games still had tough AI. The AI in Rome Total War and any total war game before the Empire Total War had fearsome AI.

Additionally Rome Total War was more appealing with the individual choice of buildings to build for every city/town you had, and the population. Population was important as this allowed your towns to expand into cities and recruit troops. This is by far the best total war game out there and one of the only few that is enjoying enough to be played in vanilla (without mods).

This is a game made for the strategist, built as a niche strategy game (not sold to the masses or dumb down), and is one that does require a bit of learning. As the game-play mechanics behave far differently than the newer total war games. This is worth it, a game that should be on your "the bucket list of games" or "games to play before the end". In addition the game lacks any bugs, maybe I didn't come across them, but this game is more bug free than any game in what I should say for the past 6 years.

This game does has its faults however. Diplomacy can only be achieved through diplomats. Doesn't matter who they speak with, but the unit needs to be used to start diplomatic actions. At higher difficultly, the AI tend to be overly warmongering where they declare war on you one turn. You then get peace, with them only going back to war the next turn. This typically has happened to me, regardless of my standing. Overall the game is overly enjoyable as I mention before.

Simply this is one of the gems that every strategy gamer should have in their library.

70

Pirates, Samurai, Spartans, Vikings, Ninjas, and Knights oh my.

PrecisionUnknow | Nov. 19, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Deadliest Warrior

Its quite fun, as you can fight as a pirate, ninja, samurai, knight, viking, or spartan in a fight of who is the most deadliest warrior (pun intended). The only issue is the balancing for teams on this game are unbearably horrible with one side with nearly all the players in the game. Besides that, the game is enjoyable, but to me is still nowhere as good as the original game. This DLC expansion is nice to have, but doesn't feel worth the price with just new maps added, along with some new sides.

Still for a hack and slash that can be played online and a massive what-if fantasy battle between some of the worlds most awesome warriors, at least in this area. It is indeed worth a shot.

90

A FPS with simulator traits

PrecisionUnknow | Nov. 19, 2013 | Review of TAKEDOWN: Red Sabre

First off this game is basically like a simulator and is very realistic feeling. So this isn't for the casual player nor the player who isn't into these types of games, and I feel that this is more realistic in terms of bullet damage than even ARMA.

So for those who have an itch for a game that is tense, realistic, and is like a spiritual successor to SWAT (the tactical shooters from Sierra in the 90s), then this is for you. It is very challenging, so expect wall hugging and slowly advancing, whilst commanding your small squad of international soldiers.

Finally its a must buy for those looking for a new type of shooter and quite to the point, cheap for what feels like a triple A title.

98

A must have Classic

PrecisionUnknow | Nov. 19, 2013 | Review of Rome: Total War

Even with all the new total war games showing up and even with its aging decades old graphics. Rome Total War is a jewel. Unlike modern games which are typically buggy, and simplistic. Rome does the opposite, while obviously due to its age that it is not buggy, but still the game offers much of what is no longer apparent in later games, and to me was interesting. I can only think of two at the moment, but were very critical to the game that made it fun. First is allowing a computer player to play for one of your armies (if more than one is sent to the battle). With it, you could decide the actions of the computer, for examples: be aggressive, defensive.

Then the second was the reinforcement prediction. Basically what I would call it is the game would roll a random chance at some times if your army will be able to make it or not.

Finally, before Empire total war, technology would naturally progress with the timeline. To me this made it more challenging, allowing for natural progression, rather than quick tech. jumps. Rome total war plays uniquely and is a must have game for all those strategy gamers and is a good introduction to the total war series as a whole as general gameplay.

72

Oh my Damned

PrecisionUnknow | Nov. 19, 2013 | Review of Damned

Damned takes a fresh look into the horror genre. The game either places you in the role of the monster which is so far a ghost, or a human, who is being chased by the monster. The game works in which one player is the monster and the other four are humans attempting to escape before getting killed.

While Damned is currently in alpha. The game lacks a bit, which for starters is characters. There are a total of four characters. Two for the monster player to choose, and two for the humans to choose. Thus when there are a total of four human players there will be two of each character. This isn't exactly a problem, but I feel that there should of been more characters to choose from than what's currently available when this game was first brought out for early access.

Not only that, but there is no way to identify who is who unless asking, thus it can be challenging to work together. Overall the game is exciting, and it does so much. Heck for me I can get scared by this game and its nearly impossible these days for games to do that. Point is that this game will bring the tension and so much more.

Although I wish for larger maps at least with multilevel areas. For now the maps are a bit short and stay at one floor.

I would just wait for now (but keep giving this game a look) though as lately servers have been light, and the current bugs that I've encountered lately have made it a bit challenging to work it. Which would need me to forcibly shut it down in a restart process. Also I would keep in mind that whatever I said is subject to change due the early access as noted before.

99

A good expansion

PrecisionUnknow | Nov. 19, 2013 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2 - Fall of the Samurai

This is a nice expansion to Shogun 2 Total War. Fall of the Samurai takes you to the mid to late 1800s when the Empire of Japan was at war with the Shogunate of Japan. While you have a choice to be on your own side or one of the two. The game brings in new features not introduced to the other series. Like the ability to control artillery guns, shore defense guns (which also meant you were able to have shore and navy battle), as well as controlling a ship. You would be able to determine where and how often (primarily the Gatling gun). In addition, trains have been added, allowing faster travel of units and yielded other benefits in the designated provinces. What was most appealing however was Samurai soldiers fighting against modernize troops from that era.

The major downside to Shogun 2 and its expansions are that they big consumers when it comes to your CPU and other specs. In which it could be more optimized. Specifically its game engine (the same as the one in Rome 2 Total War) needs to be fixed, which you will noticed significant differences in just the game engine alone if you compare Rome 2 with Shogun 2. (Rome 2 loads faster and runs faster).

Shogun 2 FOTS is however worth a shot. It is a very worthy expansion adding new stuff and even expands the map. A must have for both RTS and Total War fans.

90

Review of Battlefield 4

PrecisionUnknow | Nov. 9, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 4 (NA)

I've only played the multiplayer portion. However, from what I've seen it is a solid game. While quite similar to its predecessor in terms of HUD and the overall GUI. But it strikes out differently with what I feel are far more superior controls, and more interaction with the surroundings. Going on top of a skyscraper. Seeing it blow up and become a different environment. To name a few added differences to the surroundings. Next there has been some minor changes to the game which makes its a bit more fun. The only real negatives I can think of, off the bat is that the game is a near twin to its predecessor. That and the game still has to start up through an internet browser. Something I don't like entirely, as the game can go a bit buggy when trying to launch. Still it has more pros than cons in my opinion, which makes it a good game. In the end, while it may look similar, and be like most FPS games out there, this one will stick to you and in the long run it has a huge re-playability that is both worth time and money. Just don't expect a major differences between BF3 and BF4.