Reviews by Pro_Fish

87

A Legendary Game!

Pro_Fish | July 31, 2014 | Review of Resident Evil 4

Resident Evil 4 is the PC port that should have been around the first time. Some may say that this is too little, too late, but I say nonsense. I believe this game would be an excellent addition to any PC gamer’s library for its sheer force in the gaming industry. Unfortunately, this game seems to shy away from its horror root for more of an action, over the shoulder type game, but there are some horror elements left over to keep the game exhilarating as well as give it a unique feel all its own. Also, the tank controls may be jarring to some at first, but after some play time, they will be easily adjusted to, to provide an excellent experience.

92

An awesome open world.

Pro_Fish | July 31, 2014 | Review of Far Cry 3 (NA) Other

Far Cry 3 is a fantastic leap forward in the Far Cry franchise with its sprawling and interesting open world, as well as its characters who for the most part have a depth usually not scene in the average game. The story is a bit cliched, with the protagonist going from a spoiled 20 something to an expert killer/hunter, but all in all this game is fantastic. The gun play is another solid aspect that adds very much to the games value. The guns, for the most part, feel powerful and effective, and as such, a head shot has a meaty feel to it. Overall, this is an experience not to be missed that I can't recommend enough.

84

A Fantastic Game!

Pro_Fish | July 31, 2014 | Review of Resident Evil 4

Resident Evil 4 is easily one of the most iconic games of a previous generation that should not be missed. It abandons most of its horror aspects, although there are still a good number to provide an occasional scare, but makes up for it with its fantastic third person action and interesting story. Also, as a port it is great. Not perfect, but very good. It will run at 60fps, but there may be a few hiccups. All in all, this is a legendary game that should not be missed.

96

A strong conclusion (I hope) to the Max Payne trilogy

Pro_Fish | Aug. 11, 2013 | Review of Max Payne 3

Taking place years after MP2, Max Payne 3 takes Max on a completely new adventure to a foreign place where, like NY, the bullets are always flying. I can only start this review by saying how this game IS the complete package. In Rockstar's style, they have formed an experience like no other that blends a great story, smooth gunplay, and an addictive multiplayer that should keep you playing for a long time. Also, the game is very well optimized, to the point that many lower spec machines should run it well.

Within the new setting of Brazil comes debate as to whether this game is noir or not and I honestly believe it is. Featuring a dark and engrossing tail, "sunny" Sao Paolo always seems to be a dark place even in the best of light, and the grimy uncomforatble feeling that is seen when you look around very well embodies Max's emotions as he moves throughout the story. It is truly something worth visiting and revisiting.

I must mention the gunplay, too as it is an integral part of Max Payne 3 that gives the game a brand new feel. Featuring top notch physics as well as weapons that feel like they have weight, every shot feels powerful and creates a great, responsive effect. This is a game that no one should miss out on and my personal GOTY 2012.

I

92

The Best heist game available

Pro_Fish | Aug. 11, 2013 | Review of Payday 2

Payday 2 picks up where Payday 1 left off and puts you in a brand new city with a whole new set of heists. Personally, I have enjoyed this game much more than the first, but I also feel that the difficulty was brought down a notch.

With even more skills and weapons, comes more money to have to be spent. This game focuses around the mighty dollar and some might say too much. Unlike the first where upgrades were given to you, this game has you buy everything. Some might look at this as a negative, but I see it as better incentive to do heists over. Also, the inclusion of crime.net creates a layer of depth where you cannot simply select your heist, but you must wait for it to be placed on the map. The Safe House is a nice touch too that ties the two games' stories together.

Overall, I must say Overkill has outdone themselves and has created a co-op experience that rivals that of games like Left 4 Dead. I would recommend this to anyone.

83

Brutal and Crude, a Fun game in all the wrong ways

Pro_Fish | Aug. 11, 2013 | Review of POSTAL 2 Complete

This game is not for the faint of heart or easily offended. I just wanted to get that out of the way before I get to the nitty gritty. This game goes out of its way to try to offend everything you believe in, in a dark, messed up, and grimy way. Now that we have passed that, I must say this game is very fun. Even though this game has dated graphics, it has nods at many of the things that are ranted about by concerned parents and protesters, and kicks their raunchiness up to 11. I don't want to spoil this game because it really is unbelievable what you will see and do, and watching everything unfold is the most enjoyable thing about this game. It also features an MP mode that carries over some of the crazy to the online world.

75

Okay TPS

Pro_Fish | Aug. 11, 2013 | Review of Kane and Lynch Pack

Kane and Lynch is a troubled game with good ideas. Borrowing much of its plot and missions from films like HEAT, it plays out in a gritty, and almost realistic way. It is only when it comes to poor design choices, bad PC optimizations, and Frustratingly difficult sections that this game could be a bad experience. On the other hand, if you can look by these flaws, you will find a game that wants to be good, but just can't get there.

I personally enjoyed the way the Heist missions played out. Also, the way in which they portray every character as a disgusting human being adds a dark new look at the anti-hero. Overall, I would recommend this game, but be prepared to look past some issues.

88

A Great Game with a phenomenal story

Pro_Fish | Aug. 9, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs Pack

As a spiritual successor to the True Crime series, this game follows up strong with tight fighting mechanics as well as an awesome story. Also, the DLC can provide many extra hours of fun. I would recommend this game to anyone.

93

Still the most beautiful PC game

Pro_Fish | Aug. 9, 2013 | Review of Crysis Maximum Edition (NA)

Although this game is a fantastic FPS and features a good story with great mechanics, I gotta give the main reason for price of admission to graphics. This game will blow you away. Even being from 2007, this game's lush and vibrant color appears more visually appealing than the well made browns and grays of modern games. Would get for sure!

81

Most action packed DLC yet

Pro_Fish | Aug. 9, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3: End Game (NA)

Featuring jets, parachuting tanks, and dirtbikes, this DLC will provide hours of fun as well as new unlocks for you to try to get. The maps are not as good as some of the others, but being a fan of the huge maps, I found these types of maps with a central fighting point, prove not to be as fun.

88

A great stealth game

Pro_Fish | Aug. 9, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Blood Money

I can only describe this game as the pinnacle of assassination/stealth games of all time. Following 47, this game's diverse and open levels allow you to explore everything to reach your target. Being from 2006, this game has yet to be matched in scope or achievements.

82

A good game with an interesting story

Pro_Fish | Aug. 9, 2013 | Review of Mafia II

Being the sequel to one of the best open world games of all time is not easy, especially when the company making it has had 8 years to do so. Unfortunately, this game does not quite live up to the hype set for it, but, you will find plenty to enjoy and will find that this is the closest thing we will get to GTA 1940s until Rockstar decides to do so.

92

Two Great Stories

Pro_Fish | Aug. 9, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City

Rockstar, as usual, has set the bar of how DLC should be crafted as this pack features some of the most interesting characters and storylines, as well as some of the best action, of any GTA game to date. Once again though, the PC port can prove to cause some issues.

86

Two Fantastic Games

Pro_Fish | Aug. 5, 2013 | Review of Max Payne & LA Noire Pack

Both of these games offer great stories and fantastic characters that you will want to follow up until the very end.

95

A Classic

Pro_Fish | Aug. 5, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

This 80s themed romp through the fictional Miami of Vice City is one of the best games of the past decade. Filled with colorful characters and a somewhat enjoyable plot, this game is a fantastic buy, so long as you can get by the dated graphics.

83

Awesome, but in need of patches

Pro_Fish | Aug. 4, 2013 | Review of Rise of the Triad

This throwback to 90s style action shootemups is great on all levels... except performance. Featuring a wide arsenal of BOOM weapons and a ludicrous story, this game is extremely fun. It's levels also can prove to be a good challenge and the enemies you will face are enjoyable to fight. too.

The multiplayer also is something that should not be passed up. Featuring many maps and fast-paced gameplay, it's a blast to play.

Currently, the biggest issue with this game relate to its performance. Some issues include stretching ragdolls, empty servers, and mainly, large performance hits, but hopefully these will all be fixed with upcoming patches.

In its state, it is in need of work, but its developers are very much in tune and supportive of the community, so I believe this game has a bright future ahead of it.

93

A Great Deal with Great Games

Pro_Fish | Aug. 4, 2013 | Review of Max Payne Complete Bundle

The Max Payne series contains not only great gameplay, but an interesting and winding story to boot. All three games are great in their own way, and this is not a deal to be missed.

97

Most FUN game this generation (IMO).

Pro_Fish | July 29, 2013 | Review of Just Cause 2

Okay, if you are looking for Bioshock deep story or Max Payne fleshed out gunplay, you are looking at the wrong game, but if you are looking for a game that is nothing but fun, there is no game I can say is better.

Centered around taking down a corrupt dictator, this game's story rivals those of cheap 80s action flicks like Commando, Braddock or Tango and Cash, but even though it is forgettable, the story plays out in a fun and enjoyable way.

The reason I gave this game a high rating was because of the fluidity of the gameplay itself. With the help of your trusty grappling hook, Rico Rodriguez can latch from buildings to cars, or latch cars to buildings. This creates an overall chaotic and fun gameplay, and when certain actions happen in such a fluid way, one may find themselves feeling accomplished to a degree.

On top of the SP, the mods such as those that modify weapons, turn the game into a sandbox f awesome that can keep you entertained for hours at a time. Also, the MP mod being built for this game takes all the fun of SP and ads your friends to the mix.

Usually this game goes on sale for dirt cheap, and with everything you get, your practically STEALING from the developers. This game will not disappoint.

88

A great game, if you can get by the flaws.

Pro_Fish | July 10, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV

Playing Niko, the Single Player has a very good story, and the Multiplayer is top notch as long as you can live with GFWL and R* Social Club. These two forms of DRM can be somewhat annoying, but I felt they did not destroy the experience at all. Also, the game does struggle to run even on the best of machines. Unless you are one of the few lucky ones, don't plan on maxing this game at 60 fps with max settings; the poor CPU optimization simply will not let you do that.

The most redeeming quality, I must say is the ability to modify the game. Whether it be having real life cars in-game, changing your model, or even adding completely new sections to the world, the amount of fun that can be had with this part of the PC experience provides endless value.

Overall, this is a quality package, especially with the 2 DLCs, that are must owns for anyone who is looking to own one of the greaest and most ground braking games of the past decade.