Reviews by Pwnclub

80

A great adaption of the board game

Pwnclub | April 24, 2014 | Review of Abalone

If you've ever played Abalone (or a similar board game) and you enjoyed it, purchase this game. There's really not that much else to say. This game is the complete package for the Abalone board game, and personally, as a fan of the puzzle genre, I liked it. This game is really polished with nice graphics, new game modes, multiplayer and a level editor. There is a surprising amount of interesting gameplay to be found here. For the $5 it is being sold for, I think it is worth it. Overall, a solid puzzle game.

87

A really fun game

Pwnclub | April 18, 2014 | Review of Trials Evolution: Gold Edition (NA)

Ah. Trials Evolution. This game is about racing on a motorcycle (among other unique vehicles) on various racetracks. There are quite a few of them in the campaign (a few dozen if I recall correctly) and they are all extremely fun. Overall, the game is really silly. It is absolutely hilarious when you crash and your body gets sent flailing in the air, or just flops around on the ground. It feels really awesome when you land a quad-flip or other cool tricks. A really huge and important thing about Trials Evolution is the multiplayer. There is a great and powerful track editor, which many thousands of people have used to create impressive and fun maps. Playing co-op is one of the top highlights of the game and is immensely enjoyable. The biggest problem with Trials Evolution is the graphics and the fact that you need uPlay to run it on Steam. The graphics for the game on PC look quite strange, and the textures for the ground haven't been done well. Personally, this doesn't really bother me, but a lot of others might be annoyed by it. And the fact that Ubisoft forces you to download their inferior version of Steam- uPlay angered many. But if you can get past these two cons, you will have a great time. Overall, this game is fantastic and is definitely worth the purchase if you enjoy racing games!

92

A hardcore game

Pwnclub | April 16, 2014 | Review of Dark Souls II (NA) PRE

This game is hard. Really hard.

Dying isn't an option in Dark Souls II- it is a necessity. You will die. Again. And again. So many times in fact that you might get frustrated, reducing the fun you are having. Other people, such as myself, enjoy this difficulty, since it poses a hard, but not impossible, challenge.

In terms of gameplay, Dark Souls II is fantastic. I enjoyed this game thoroughly, and I felt a sense of relief and accomplishment whenever I surpassed a tough obstacle. This game is similar to the original, though the ESRB rating has gone down to T, possibly widening the audience. Not all bosses are terribly difficult and some are actually quite easy. But whether it be the former or the latter, I liked all of the boss battles.

In conclusion, if you like a challenge and your keyboard is easily replaceable, give this game a go.

100

Wow. I'm impressed.

Pwnclub | April 16, 2014 | Review of Tank Simulator

You get to drive a tank around. Any game that allows you to do that is already awesome.

You get to shoot down other tanks. Any game that allows you to do that is already fantastic.

You get to own a game called "Tank Simulator". 10/10

90

A True classic

Pwnclub | April 16, 2014 | Review of Age of Empires II HD Edition

If a 15 year old game is still played and still considered to be a great one, that is a good sign. This is the case with Age of Empires II.

Not much has changed in this "HD reboot", the graphics are still essentially the same and the gameplay is identical. This may upset some, but I find this a positive thing, since I can finally play AoE2 on my PC. The game itself is really fun. It is real-time strategy done perfectly. It is challenging, but enjoyable nonetheless. Since it is on Steam, multiplayer has been added, so now you can fight against your friends.

If you want to play a fantastic RTS on your PC, I highly recommend Age of Empires II HD!

97

A Must Buy

Pwnclub | April 16, 2014 | Review of Half Life Complete

The Half-life series revolutionized gaming itself. Arguably the most famous and well-made games by Valve, these classics will live on for many decades. Many people consider Half-Life 2 to be the best PC game of all time. And this game deserves to have it called that.

This FPS is not a plain, boring new Call of Duty, this game is unique and has amazing graphics and gameplay for the time.

This Half-life Complete pack is absolutely brilliant and deserves your time and money. I highly recommend to purchase this.

100

An amazing game

Pwnclub | April 16, 2014 | Review of Portal

This, and its sequel, is probably my favorite game of all time. Portal is perfect. It really is. It was the first game to bring in the concept of a first-person shooter puzzle game, immediately making it extremely unique. The game nailed everything. The atmosphere is dark and is appropriate with the game. Ellen McClaine did a great job voice acting for the female sarcastic robot called GLaDOS. The puzzles were somewhat difficult, but VERY enjoyable to complete.

Portal also somehow managed to get the length of the game right. Even though it is a mere 2 hours or less in length, I considered it to be the perfect time to end this perfect game. This game basically has no flaws and I absolutely adore it, as it has earned itself a sweet spot in my heart.

If you have not played this classic by Valve, GO BUY IT NOW. It is so worth your time and money.

95

Absolutely stunning experience

Pwnclub | April 16, 2014 | Review of Mirror's Edge (NA)

Mirror's Edge is very much a "love it or hate it". I belong to the former group, as I adored it.

First off, the graphics are fantastic, especially for 2009 (that's 5 years ago). Aesthetically, this game creates a colorful Utopian environment which looks gorgeous. The game play mechanic itself involves you parkouring on top of buildings, along edges and inside vents, avoiding cops who are shooting at you. What is interesting here is that although you CAN pick up various guns, the shooting mechanics are made very poorly- on purpose. This is because the game tries to steer you away from shooting the bad guys and encourages the player to find other, creative ways to get out of these kinds of situations. I think this is a brilliant idea.

I didn't pay that much attention to the story line and the cutscenes are pretty bad (thankfully you can skip them). But what the game does well is the game play itself, which is in my opinion the most important part of a video game.

If you are interesting in trying out a first-person parkour game, you can't really miss this title. I strongly recommend purchasing.

93

A very fun platformer

Pwnclub | April 16, 2014 | Review of Super Meat Boy

This indie game is one of the best in its genre. Super Meat Boy requires precise jumping and manoeuvres, as well as quite a bit of school. SMB has a notorious reputation for being a difficult game. Personally, I don't find it ridiculously unfair, and the main campaign isn't nearly as hard as the "Dark World" version of it. There are tons of unlockable characters, some of them are from familiar indie games such as VVVVVV and Braid. If you enjoy a challenging platformer, I recommend this title thoroughly.

60

Meh

Pwnclub | April 16, 2014 | Review of The Bridge

This game isn't that good. It really isn't. It's a puzzle game that involves turning the world around you to affect objects in it. A somewhat cool idea with an interesting art style, though not executed that well. I found the game pretty boring and got tired of it really quickly. If you're looking for a similar game that is much better at what it attempts to do, try And Yet it Moves. I do not recommend The Bridge for any price.

88

A Phenomenal Title

Pwnclub | April 16, 2014 | Review of Bastion

This game is a really great action/adventure experience. I found the soundtrack to be absolutely fantastic and the game play mechanics are solid. The art style is one that I personally really liked, and the narrator did a really good job. So is it worth $15 or less? Definitely. If you are looking to have a great time playing a great game, go pick this game up. You won't be disappointing.

80

A very good Strategy game

Pwnclub | April 15, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's CivilizationĀ® V

Civilization is one, if not the best series of Strategy games.

Civ V got new, good-looking graphics, and they switched the tiles into hexagon shapes. I think this change was a good idea, as it added many different possibilities as to how this game could be played. There are several ways how you can win, like a Science or Culture victory.

One of the negatives (could be a positive for others) about this game is that it's a HUGE time-sink. A regular-length of a game takes around 12 hours to complete, so it's essentially impossible to play as every civilization without spending hundreds of hours.

If there's a sale going on, I think it's a good idea to pick this title up.

95

One of the best games ever

Pwnclub | April 15, 2014 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

Batman Arkham Asylum was a great game, it really was. Playing this game actually made me feel as though I was Batman. It was filled with action and the combat system is impressive. The graphics were fantastic for the time and the atmosphere was done well as it was very dark.

Although this game is nearly perfect in almost every way, I have heard the sequel is even better so I hope to play that soon as well.

I highly recommend this game to anyone.

86

A Pleasant Surprise

Pwnclub | April 15, 2014 | Review of LEGO Lord of the Rings (NA)

I've played quite a few LEGO games over the past few years. These include LEGO Indiana Jones, Star Wars: The Complete Saga, and more. I've really enjoyed playing them, and I was excited when the announcement for Lord of the Rings. I happen to be a huge fan of LOTR! And, in my opinion, this game delivered.

It was fun, the main campaign took me about 8 hours to complete, and it was filled with small bits of humour in between. Gameplay was solid, and it felt awesome using LEGO versions of my favorite LOTR characters. If you're a fan of Lord of the Rings and LEGO in general, I highly recommend this title!