Reviews by Qwertyfour

76

Alright game

Qwertyfour | March 6, 2014 | Review of Mighty Quest For Epic Loot - Diamond Supply Pack (NA)

In this game, defense is definitely the more challenging side of the game---this is where you make your own castle, which other players will be able to see and raid. As you acquire more gold and "life force" crystals, you can upgrade your castle, gaining access to stronger monsters and traps. Figuring out combinations that will actually work is quite challenging, and it's worthwhile to raid other players' castles just to see what works. There are a few monsters that are massively stronger than the rest, which is a little unfortunate, but again, that's beta for you, and all signs point to steady improvement in this regard. And when your castle finally does start defeating players, it's very satisfying. This pack does add a few pay to win elements, but it's all in all very worth it.

93

Great sequel to the first Castlevania Lords of Shadows game

Qwertyfour | March 4, 2014 | Review of Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2

This game actually stirred up quite some controversy. The reviews gave it very low scores but don't trust those reviews. If you played and enjoyed Lords of Shadows 1, then you'll most definitely enjoy this game, because this game is almost entirely a direct sequel. If you're looking into this game without playing the first, then I'd highly suggest for you to pick up the first, because this game might be very disappointing otherwise.

The combat from Lords of Shadows 1 is retained, but you're now playing as Dracula, so instead of the light and shadow magic states, you have the Void Sword and the Chaos Fist which, while mechanically idenitcal, add much needed variation to the combat because you can now upgrade those to have different animations which are actually quite neat. Some complaints against the combat are that it's God of War-esque, which, while true, is not a valid complaint. Since you can control the camera now, you have much more leeway over what you can see, so the standard spamming of attacks that are inherent to the Gods of War series are not a valid strategy.

You have to really learn how to block and counter attacks, in addition to dodging when the opportunity is right. In addition to that, you'll really maximize your damage output when you recognize how to string together combos and single enemies out in fights by throwing them in the air, like a spectacle fighter, or disable entire hordes of enemies. The combat is a lot more dynamic than people give it credit for, but you have to know how to take true advantage of it.

The number one legitimate complaint right now is the stealth sections, which definitely are very linear. I personally had no problem with them, but others might find them to be a complete drag. The graphic design is very fantastical and inspired, though the modern settings you'll often switch to can be a bit drab in comparison. Castlevania Lords of Shadows 2 is a very enjoyable game, and I've had fun with it, but only because I enjoyed the first Lords of Shadows game.

83

Fantastic, nice balance of addiction with mechanics

Qwertyfour | March 4, 2014 | Review of Clickr

Clickr is an addictive and challenging puzzler game with surprisingly rewarding gameplay. It is not a hard game to understand per se, but it actually is not simplistic enough that it is devoid of challenging mechanics. The game starts off with the basic, simple, easy to understand and easy to grasp mechanics, and then proceeds to introduce several new mechanics along the way that make for a progressively deep and rewarding gameplay experience.

Clickr is loaded with content and its cute and punchy design will keep you coming back for more. If you like a good puzzle, you should definitely pick it up, especially at the low price it sells at.

81

Absolutely fantastic game

Qwertyfour | March 4, 2014 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Dawn of War II

Warhammer 40K is an absolutely fantastic series, and I'd regard this particular game as one of the best. It's a sort of fuse between the RTS and RPG, so you have to micromanage some squads that each have leaders in real time. The game is mission based which is quite apt to the series and you level up your squads. The missions do get a bit repetitive to some, but it is all dependent on your preference.

I personally had a ton of fun with the game. There's co-op play too, for more fun with friends. The graphics are sharp and the sound quality is above average and it keeps true to the lore and the whole Warhammer Universe in particular. Overall, I've had a ton of fun with the game and I'd imagine that anyone who loves RTSs like Starcraft would love this game.

91

Great expansion

Qwertyfour | Nov. 26, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Within (NA)

XCOM Enemy Within is a great expansion that actually justifies its price point. Unlike Brave New World which largely feels like a milestone update in beta games, Enemy Within adds a significant amount of content. Almost 50 whole maps are added, the new resource completely varies up the pacing of missions, and the new augmentations make the game incredibly fun. For $30 dollars (or even less on sales) you will definitely get your money worth because the new research system will take more than 30 hours. The game is much more harder as well which makes it ever more satisfying. Overall this is a great DLC that you should definitely buy after beating XCOM

88

Interesting twist on Magicka

Qwertyfour | Oct. 31, 2013 | Review of Magicka: Wizards of the Square Tablet

The first thing you notice about this game is the new graphics which are admittedly very cute and cartoony. However, that does not detract from the game because the overall tone and pacing of the game remains constant. The single player is still very humorous and the action is still very tense with it's high skill ceiling in figuring out the most situationally advantageous spell to cast. The main difference is that this game is pretty linear because of its side scroller type gameplay. It's not bad, but I did not enjoy it as much as the original. Multiplayer does benefit from this, however.

95

A Truly Contemporary Guitar Hero

Qwertyfour | Oct. 26, 2013 | Review of Rocksmith 2014 (NA)

While the Guitar Hero games were fun and all, they didn't teach you how to play a guitar. Rocksmith 2014 does. In this edition, it has an amazing selection of songs and mini games that never go stale. The UI is updated to actually make sense, unlike previous iterations and the Guitar Hero games so it's actually quite nice to look at while you learn how to play the guitar. In addition, there's no progression whatsoever. While some might think that as a bad thing, I think that it's for the better. You can move at your own pace with learning the guitar. Also, the tutorial videos are really helpful. Like, not convoluted. If you want to learn how to play the guitar, then definitely pick this game up. You'll need an electric guitar to play this, though.

93

Very Great Lego Game

Qwertyfour | Oct. 26, 2013 | Review of LEGO Marvel Superheroes (NA)

In my opinion, this is the best Lego game ever made. It combines everything from the Marvel Universe with a cute Lego theme. There are just many characters, many abilities to match up and a great campaign, albeit a bit short of what you'd expect from a Lego game. While the campaign is only around 15 to 20 hours, there is an absolutely gorgeous open world map. With that map, you can spend the after campaign action looking for secrets, unlocking characters, taking on the side missions. The puzzles aren't particularly hard, but it's what you'd expect from any Lego game. They're just mainly matching up the right situation with the right hero. However, that's not to say that any older player should not buy this game; in fact quite the opposite. What it lacks in challenge is easily made up by it's cute, open atmosphere.

77

Not the best DLC, not the worst

Qwertyfour | Oct. 16, 2013 | Review of Civilization V: Scrambled Continents

At least this DLC is not a scenario pack. You get some maps that are created based off actual continents with the interiors randomized every time you play a game, but that is not as great as it gets. It tries to be dynamic, but Civ is already dynamic enough. For 5 dollars, you just get a bunch of dynamic maps. I would not recommend getting this DLC as it is just another generic Civ DLC. I do laud how 2K gave away free copies of Civ though. Everyone who got the game for free should tip 2K by buying 1 of the DLCs. Overall, interesting idea but ultimately does not add too much to the game. The 5 US dollar price point is not justifiable, wait for it to be in the Gold edition.

91

Very good pricing

Qwertyfour | Oct. 16, 2013 | Review of Magicka: Wizard Wars Founder Wizard Pack

Wizard Wars is an amazing game and this pack is incredibly good. For only 7 dollars more than the standard pack, you get a bunch of in game items, stuff related to the paradox forums, and Crusader Kings 2. Crusader Kings 2 for 7 dollars alone is worth it, and the in game items are pretty nice. No one care about the forum stuff, though, but the exclusive forums is pretty nice. As for the game, it is insanely fun. If you've ever played Bloodline Champions, it is like that but much more frantic and much more upbeat. Now you have to be combining your spells while aiming while blocking other shots while moving while making sure you won't hit your allies. It's sort of like Street Fighters in that aspect because of the new shield component they added to the game. In that manner, it would loosely fit into the MOBA type game, but it plays almost nothing like Dota, League of Legend. Overall, fun game with a large skill ceiling

96

Good game, pricing is bad

Qwertyfour | Oct. 16, 2013 | Review of Magicka: Wizard Wars IMPressive Founder Pack

50 dollars for this founder pack isn't the best price range. Even though you get exclusives, this is almost 4 times more than the standard Magicka Wizard Wars pack. The Crusader Kings 2 game is nice, but you can pick it up for fairly cheap elsewhere. The game itself is very fun. It's a high tension, high action MOBA type game except that you're in charge of aiming and combining your spells which adds another skill component to the meta game. If you've ever played Bloodline Champions, this game feels like that game but a lot more harder. In addition, they added a shield for usage against enemy spells which makes the game feel sort of like a Street Fighter game in that if you know what you're doing, you can take down enemies completely without getting hit, though not to that degree in this Magicka game. Overall, game is very fun and I'd recommend you to get it, though maybe not at this package unless you really want to give Paradox a generous tip.

92

Loosely similar to Bloodline Champions

Qwertyfour | Oct. 16, 2013 | Review of Magicka: Wizard Wars Starter Wizard Pack

Loosely similar to Bloodline Champions. The one major implementation added is the shield system, which I found very useful. It feels almost like a Street fighter game except with many crazy ranged attacks, so something like a cross between Bloodline Champions and Street Fighter. If you've ever played Bloodline Champion, you'd immediately see the similarities, but this Magicka DLC ultimately improves the combat to a fun, tense thrill. At first, the game is pretty frustrating because of how slow you're pumping out spells which results in you just spamming fireballs, but eventually you'll become skilled enough to type out extremely complex spells rapidly to gain a competitive edge. Very fun yet very skill based. If you liked this game, I'd also suggest looking at Bloodline Champions, a F2P game.

98

Very worth it, somewhat steep price

Qwertyfour | Oct. 9, 2013 | Review of Dishonored™ Game of the Year Edition (NA)

I bought all of mine separately, but this price is definitely worth it, more so when it goes on sale. If you buy separately, the base game goes for 30 dollars, each of the 2 campaign DLCs cost $10 each and the void walkers arsenal costs $4 and the city trials costs $5. Admittedly, the void walkers arsenal isn't too great, but everything else is well worth it. That's $55 worth of content for $40, and it'll likely scale with sales. This is very worth it and has tons of content. The main campaign alone has a lot of replayability (people tend to play the campaign alone 4 times) with which each runs will take as short as 10 hours, the longest run taking over 20 hours, depending on how much you want to be seen and how many people you want to kill. The story isn't thought to be too great, but I personally enjoy it. The protagonist, Corvo, has been betrayed and he seeks a path of redemption to save the queens daughter. It's much like Shawshank Redemption, but other people have found the story too shallow for their likings. Now, the DLC also really shines. You play as Daud for both DLCs, an evil assassin who undergoes a change in morality. He realizes that his life has been corrupt and the killing of the queen has been his last tipping point. Daud has different gear and faces a different path, opposite to Corvo. He's seeking to reform his crooked life and I actually found the plots of these DLCs to be very compelling. The DLCs are linear in story, though, so you'll have to play The Knife of Dunwall before Brigmore Witches. They too have greats amount of replayability. If you get bored of either DLC, you can try out the City Trials, which is a gameplay based type arcade mode with very fun missions like a shooting gallery where you shoot whale oil barrels in mid air, missions like the famous Lady Boyles Mansion which is roughly similar to the Mafia party game, burglary missions that nod its head to the Thief series, and many more missions. This game is significantly easier than the Thief series, though. You have supernatural abilities that'll teleport you and stop time, which really makes stealth incredibly easy on all difficulties. Nonetheless, the gameplay is incredibly fun and incredibly rewarding. If you ever wanted to get into this game, now is the time. Pick this game up now or wait for it to go on sale.

93

Amazing DLC

Qwertyfour | Oct. 9, 2013 | Review of Teleglitch: Guns and Tunes DLC

This was originally the preorder bonus for this game, but now you can rest assured knowing that this game is, in fact, entertaining. The songs make the game feel more moody as it definitely contributes to the atmosphere of the game. In addition, you can finally actually randomize your starting equips. The guns are very good and feel like they should have been in the game from the start. I would definitely recommend getting this DLC. It's kind of like the Wrath of the Lamb content for Binding of Isaac except that there isn't as much content on that scale but this pack will definitely change how you play. Overall, definitely get this DLC if you liked Teleglitch

89

Amazing content, ok pricing

Qwertyfour | Oct. 8, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Game of the Year Edition (NA)

Borderlands 2 is an amazing game but this price point might not be worth it. Borderlands can very often go below 15 dollars so with this price you are paying 45 USD for the extra stuff. Right now, that is 4 DLC and new characters and a level cap increase along with a bit more of content. For 45 more dollars, that is hardly worth it. Wait for a sale. If you're new to Borderlands, it is worth noting that this game is only really fun with friends, much like Payday. If you play without friends then this game is only mediocre at best, and is just a gun grinding game. Overall, watch out for this edition, but wait for a more reasonable price point.

87

Fun Game, but this edition probably not worth it

Qwertyfour | Oct. 4, 2013 | Review of War of the Vikings: Blood Eagle Edition

War of the Vikings is a pretty fun game, but this particular edition is probably not worth it. It is supposed to come with a bunch of in game items but you do not get them until the game is released. I'm not sure where this game currently stands, but the alpha just ended but the game doesn't feel solid enough to be a beta, so I'm guessing that this early access is somewhere in between. Everything except for the helmet can be gotten through in game means, and I'm usually against payments that'll get you ahead in game. Because of this, I'd recommend just getting the regular edition. This isn't TF2, hats don't really matter

82

Fun Arena Type Game

Qwertyfour | Oct. 4, 2013 | Review of War of the Vikings

War of the Vikings is very fun, and tries to compete with chivalry, but it does not feel polished too well, but fun nonetheless. In this game, you have 3 classes which are supposed to counter each other. One is a bowman, wielding a bow, another is an axeman who has a humongous axe, and the third is a guy with a shield and sword. The bowman takes out the axe man, the axe man demolishes the shield man and the shield man will block the arrows of the bowman to destroy him. It's essentially a rock papers scissors shoe type class balance with perks you progress. When attacking with weapons, you can attack to the left, right, and down and you have a stronger stamina based attack. The bow man has a spinning sword slash with his secondary weapon, the swordsman has a stab attack, and the axe man has a quick attacking downward slash of his axe which will kill anything unshielded. The game is pretty fun, but it's not very polished in some respects but hopefully that will be fixed. You should buy this game if you enjoyed Chivalry but want something different

91

Hack 'n Slash + Heavy Metal calls for hilarity

Qwertyfour | Oct. 4, 2013 | Review of Brutal Legend + Soundtrack

The game features great heavy metal songs and getting this for the sound track alone is worth it. The game is open world and extremely fun. Nothing in this game feels dull and it's a overall very fun experience. It obviously doesn't take itself too seriously, as you meet Ozzy Osborne and other rock stars. A must play for heavy metal fans.

93

Cute, fun game

Qwertyfour | Oct. 4, 2013 | Review of Mini Ninjas

Mini Ninjas is very cute and very fun. The game play is quite refreshing from standard stealth games and has a very Zelda level appeal. It is kind of like an intro to the stealth genre for kids, kind of like Mark of the Ninja, because it's not graphically violent and the protagonist is quite humorous, along with the other characters. I was waiting for this game to be included in a bundle but the 3 for 8 USD deal is good enough for me. One thing to note is that it often has a problem in terms of frame rate stuttering which seems to be caused by certain USB devices. Read up on it if you plan on buying this game or try out the demo, but basically, you'll need to go to the device manager and disable certain components to make your game stop stuttering. A bit of a bother, but still well worth it. Definitely get this game if you love stealth games and want a less serious, cute game.

98

The Upgrade is Worth It

Qwertyfour | Oct. 3, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake: Collector's Upgrade

This upgrade adds 3 main things to your base Alan Wake game: The soundtrack, a PDF book, and the ability to turn on developer commentary. The sound track alone is worth it because of how powerful the tracks are. After every episode, one of those tracks play and you're left with a stunned feeling because of how the pacing works. Now you'll actually get those soundtracks. The PDF book adds a lot to the story and other things that happen in the Alan Wake universe. I haven't tried the commentary, but I'll definitely turn it on the next play through, but that won't be a while. Overall, you should get this because it is an amazing sound track and book though doesn't add content

95

Collectors Edition definitely worth it

Qwertyfour | Oct. 3, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake: Collector's Edition

The collectors addition is very very good. It gives you the sound track to Alan Wake along with a few other songs and if you've played through it, you would know that the songs are absolutely phenomenal, especially the songs at the end of each episode. After going through the plot, you'll definitely want something more, and this collectors addition adds everything you will need, especially the PDF book which adds a background and extra story. Overall, get this if you liked Alan Wake and enjoy the story.

92

A Make or Break Game

Qwertyfour | Oct. 3, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake

This game is absolutely amazing. Granted, not everybody likes it, but it had everything I loved about a narrative driven story with great synergizing combat. The game is not really a horror, though, once you get a good grasp on how combat worked. For me, the first 3 hours of this game were absolutely terrifying because of how helpless I felt when I popped my last revolver round. There's just something really appealing to this game that I can't really describe. The plot was compelling (though sometimes a bit nonsensical), the combat was great, and the characters felt alive. Because this is the enhanced edition, you get the DLCs and its great on the PC. The graphics are very well done, upgraded from the XBox 360 and it feels very well optimized. One thing to note is that you cannot turn motion blur off which is a bit of a bummer (my memory is a bit foggy though, so it might actually be American Nightmare where you can't turn motion blur off)

Overall, very fun game, but not for everyone. I wish I could pinpoint why some people can't get into this game, but alas, I cannot.

92

A Great Point and Click

Qwertyfour | Oct. 2, 2013 | Review of The Inner World

In a genre that used to be so condensed with shitty games, The Inner World is a truly great game. Modern days, there are not too many point and click games that sell very well so developers stray away from that genre. I personally have played other point and click games like The Walking Dead, Sam and Max, Back to the Future and several other games, and I've found them great in terms of story. Game play wise, they are often lacking, but you can't expect much more than quick time events and nifty puzzles. The Inner World was a very fun Point and Click. Its story feels like a fairy tale, and its graphical style is similar to Adventure Time. So imagine an Adventure Time that takes itself a bit more seriously. The characters are very wonderful and the puzzles are well thoughtout. This game is definitely my most favorite point and click of 2013 so far, and you should definitely get it.

60

Eh, not too great

Qwertyfour | Oct. 1, 2013 | Review of Legends of Aethereus

Legends of Aethereus was a greenlit game on Steam, promising to be truly great. What we got was no where near that. This game is incredibly unbalanced and just terrible. The high action role playing game we were promised is not what we see. The combat often lags, and the enemy balance is terrible. Two monsters using the same model might be balanced completely differently with no distinguishing features. One might go down instantly, while you wrestle with the other over the course of 3 minutes trying to kill it. Overall, not worth buying. You might want to hold off to see if the developers decide to deliver and enhance the game but even the co op is dry and boring.

89

Great Reboot!

Qwertyfour | Oct. 1, 2013 | Review of NBA 2K14 (NA)

NBA 2K14 does change the controls up a bit and it requires you to learn a bit, but everything it does is definitely worth it. Core mechanics are changed to make the game more realistic and the game certainly reflects such changes. Trying to reach in for a ball will actually let you knock it away to a team mate rather than 2013 where the ref will just foul you. In addition, the AI is just so much better for single player and will actually be challenging in addition to being dynamic and switching up strategies. Overall, this game is a straight up upgrade from 2013 and it is very enjoyable

92

Great, Fun Experience

Qwertyfour | Oct. 1, 2013 | Review of Plants vs Zombies Game of the Year Edition (NA)

This doesn't follow your standard tower defense formula but rather has enemies coming at you in (usually) straight paths from right to left down the rows. You have to place plants and the like to stop these enemies which means that if you aren't strong enough, the zombies will start eating the plants and overcome your defenses. It's a nice twist, and it's very well implemented among the other mini games and level types. The game never really gets stale, and one of the greatest things about this game is unlocking new plants. If you don't read guides and walktroughs (which you shouldn't) the excitement of discovering a new plant is immense. You don't know what exciting thing it does or if it compliments your playstyle and simply unlocking the plants was probably the favorite part about this game for me.

82

Easy to learn but couldn't get into.

Qwertyfour | Oct. 1, 2013 | Review of PixelJunk Monsters Ultimate

PixelJunk is a great easy to get into casual type game. Instead of just being an omnipotent god, you're a turtle like thing who has to actually walk around to build his towers, but they can only be built on certain nodes (trees). Having played Dungeon Defenders, I couldn't really get too into this game, but I can see how more casual type gamers will enjoy this game. The UI is pretty easy and the game has simple mechanics which will appeal to some, but just not me. Perhaps my qualm is the tower defense genre in games as a whole, but I did not enjoy this game. One example of a tower defense game I did enjoy was Dungeon Defenders but that's not your standard tower defense game.

94

Best Mass Effect Game of the Trilogy

Qwertyfour | Oct. 1, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 2 (NA)

I enjoyed it the most because its modernized a lot past the first Mass Effect game but it still makes sense holistically, as opposed to 3 which did not make much sense in terms of ending. You get 2 squad members and you drive around your ship completing missions. It's tons of fun because of how great combat works and the ease of controlling your squad. The decision making is also really great. One thing I hated about the game is that the space bar is the contextualized button. Like, you use the space bar to run, find cover, talk to people etc. In addition, I didn't really like how slow you moved, but perhaps I'm just impatient. Overall, good game, best (in my opinion) of the series. The plot isn't really cannon which means you can jump in and play (by which I mean that while playing Mass Effect 1 will help, it's certainly not required, kind of like you don't need to play Half Life to play Half Life 2)

65

Entertaining and gets its point across but lacks content

Qwertyfour | Sept. 30, 2013 | Review of DLC Quest

This game can be completed in less than 2 hours which is pretty frustrating because most of that time will be spent combing the entire area for coins. A good part about this game is that it's pseudo metroidvania in that you will use your coins to buy more upgrades which will let you explore more areas. That aspect I enjoyed immensely but everything else was pretty bad. There are 2 separate campaigns. In addition, I also disagree with the basic premise of the game. I find DLC to be enjoyable additions to games. Granted, I'm not one to drop money on the XYZ sniper crossbow gun but if I find a game enjoyable enough, I will buy DLC. There's no such thing as too much DLC, for in fact I would argue that large amounts of DLC is good for a game (well, besides online map packs which tend to divide communities)

Overall, I would not recommend getting this game at full price. At discount price, it's worth noting that there are Steam cards for this game so you'll get your monies worth back. This game feels far too much like a cheap stab at the current development cycle of games.

94

Fun, Arcade Style Content

Qwertyfour | Sept. 30, 2013 | Review of Dishonored: Dunwall City Trials

The Dunwall City Trials adds these 10 challenges that players can compete online for a high score. After beating a challenge with a high enough score, depending on the game you can unlock the hard version of the challenge. This DLC also adds unlockable paintings which are very gorgeous and are worth looking at if you enjoyed the Dishonored story. If you liked some aspects of Dishonored's gameplay, you should definitely check this DLC out. It has a bit of everything, ranging from Gun Play to burglarizing a mansion, to even a trial similar to the Lady Boyle mission where you do not know who your target is but have to find clues.

I personally enjoyed the DLC, but not all will. It obviously isn't story based, but that does not make it a bad DLC. Get this DLC if you enjoy heavy gameplay elements in addition to arcade style fun.

83

Great Poker Game, though repetitive

Qwertyfour | Sept. 30, 2013 | Review of Poker Night at the Inventory

The lack of multiplayer is a bit disappointing but this game as a whole is fun for beginners to Poker (me, haha). It teaches players the concept of reading peoples tells which is quite impressive for computer poker, so don't look up guides on Poker Night on what each players tells are. Instead try to figure them out yourself. The greatest part of this is that there are Team Fortress 2 rewards associated with each player. A chance happening is that one of the players forgets his money and throws in a prize item that's associated with one in TF2 to substitute paying money. If you knock that player out, you'll get said TF2 item back.

After playing for a while, you realize that the dialogue is extremely repetitive. It's a great game, just not the best for Poker. If you're new to Poker, you should definitely check this game out then move to something that is a bit more fun or competitive.

96

The True Successor to Duke Nukem

Qwertyfour | Sept. 30, 2013 | Review of Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon (NA)

Far Car 3: Blood Dragon is a standalone DLC which is great. I think that more companies should adopt such a business model: release a great game on a great engine, then rehash said game using associated engine to create a standalone "DLC" to rack up the profit. It's fantastic when the said game is fantastic (Far Cry 3). Though I haven't played Far Cry 3, I can solidly say that Blood Dragon is a fantastic anti game. It makes fun of cliche'd shooters with the hilarious plot and Duke Nukem like protagonist who will often pull one liners. The game is written with a likeness to cheesy 80's action movies and it really shows: there are many references to the Terminator, Robocop, and many other movies.
The gameplay is very similar to what I've seen of Far Cry 3, but most everything except for exclusive mission areas are available from the get go in that you can choose to ignore missions in order that you capture garrisons and take over the island. The missions also are very fun. It's worth noting that there aren't too many weapons. I don't know how many weapons you have off the top of my head, but I think you have around 8. However, they have many attachments that you get from doing side missions and the mission system as a whole is very well thought out.

It's worth noting that the Steam version of this game still requires the UPlay DRM which is a bit of an inconvenience.

Overall, buy this game if you enjoyed Duke Nukem 3D and cheesey 80's type movies. Other people have said that this is the game that Duke Nukem Forever should have been.

94

Possibly the greatest platformer ever made

Qwertyfour | Sept. 28, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

The thing about Super Meat Boy is that it is extremely fair. The mechanics are easy to get, and the controls will be picked up and mastered within minutes of starting the game. Because of this, deaths in this game are solely because of the player. There are no such things as unfair deaths. In addition to this, levels are played out really fast, faster than a whole Hotline Miami level but with arguably faster flow in that you'll go through a level, die, restart immediately and try again till you overcome your challenges, whereas Jacket moves a bit slower than Meat Boy and is top down.

Get this game if you loved Hotline Miami's pacing and enjoy being frustrated by levels. The feeling you get when you beat a level after 2943 deaths is absolutely amazing. (that number was on one of the harder levels for me, exact figures). The game has its highs and lows, but the highs are definitely worth the frustration you will face.

89

A Strange Take on Gaming

Qwertyfour | Sept. 27, 2013 | Review of Dear Esther

Dear Esther. It's game play is a bit lacking, but it's described as a first person art game, which is pretty unique. Basically, you're roaming around in this island, listening to letters written to Esther, but the whole experience is somewhat dynamic in that different events will happen at different places. It's considerably slow paced, but it's what you would expect from a slow paced, touching movie. The game will take 2 hours to complete, but the experience is completely haunting.

I enjoyed it, but those who are looking for action will not. It is absolutely beautiful in its graphics and the narration is fantastic.

94

Spectaculuar Game, not for everyone

Qwertyfour | Sept. 27, 2013 | Review of Back to the Future: The Game

I personally have enjoyed the Back To The Future game because of how great the plot was including the hilarity. You can download the first episode on the Telltale website and see if you like it, it'll take 2 hours tops if you click everything. At first the graphics and controls are a bit odd, but you'll grow into it. The voice acting was amazing, and the plot was really inspired. It is worth mentioning that this is an interactive fiction game, and will play as an extremely extended movie.

If you enjoyed the Back to the Future movies because of it's cheesy 70's humor yet cohesive plot, you'll absolutely adore this game.

89

Very good DLC, well worth the price.

Qwertyfour | Sept. 27, 2013 | Review of Tom Clancy’s Splinter Cell Blacklist: Homeland Pack (NA)

This DLC packs add two fantastic co op/single player missions which are absolutely fantastic, in addition to a couple of pretty nice equips. The crossbow weapon is a direct nod of approval to the developers of Dishonored, who featured a protagonist who would often use a crossbow that shot sleeping darts.

In playing through the mission, the crossbow proved to be quite useful when going for no kills. The boat mission is pretty inspired but I'd think that playing in co op would make the boat a bit too condensed in that it feels a lot more like a single player mission. From my experience, me and my friend ended up running over each other and ended up gunning everyone down but perhaps my friendship is not on a "play co op games" level, haha.

Overall, buy this DLC if you enjoyed the single player missions.

86

Very fun

Qwertyfour | Sept. 27, 2013 | Review of DiRT Showdown

I'm not much of a gamer who plays racing games, because I usually find it quite tedious, but this game is absolutely amazing. Admittedly, I haven't spent too much time in game, but of the hour or so I've played, it has been complete joy. The arcade twist makes the game very enjoyable in trying to wreck other peoples cars and the free driving is still very enjoyable.

One problem I have had is the multiplayer. It seems that I can not get it to work as you have to queue up in a party. It's pretty convoluted and I wished I could play online. However, I still enjoy the single player game very much.

I think why I enjoy it so much is that you're not usually driving around in circles but rather smashing into each other, popping nitro, being worried about fast approaching cards and the like. It's the best of Mario Kart and Need for Speed.

Overall, get this game if you like realistic racing games but want varied gameplay.

91

Great platformer, great graphics, but terrible story

Qwertyfour | Sept. 27, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider

I'll admit it, I did not like Tomb Raider the first time I played it. I researched it a bit to figure out if it would be a good game, and a lot of reviews came to the consensus that it had a great plot, which it does not. The plot is a pretty generic coming of age type story, Pokemon Red did it better than this game. However, this game is absolutely gorgeous in scenery. It looks very photo realistic, but the character models are a bit lacking. Also, it's hallmarked for its lowered sex appeal, but it's evident that there still is one, with her constant moaning, camera angles in prerendered shots, etc.

If you do not like violence and/or are very squeamish, do not get this game. Lara Croft gets stabbed so much it's not even funny . The opening scene starts with her falling and getting impaled by a bone, but that's the first of many times she gets hurt.

Overall, it was a great platformer, but do not buy it if you enjoy story based games because this is not one of them.

95

A Unique Roguelike

Qwertyfour | Sept. 27, 2013 | Review of The Binding of Isaac

Roguelikes are not like this. They usually do not have an emphasis on shooting, yet this is exactly what The Binding of Isaac does. The emphasis here is aiming, exploration, learning what items do, and getting to multiple endings. It's very minimalist, yet it tells you so much. This game is like a movie you watch in your childhood that you think is really happy and fun, but in reality, this game is incredibly dark through certain subtleties and blatantly obvious details. Each level is proceduraly generated, so you'll never have the same experience twice. Games are usually less than 30 minutes so it's pretty fast paced. One might find spending over a hundred hours and still find it refreshing. Overall, great game, great sense of progression. I'd highly recommend buying it.

88

Pretty Great Shooter

Qwertyfour | Sept. 27, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3 (NA)

Single player is really laughable, like a B movie (which is why I enjoyed it, but I'm weird)

Multiplayer is pretty fun, though, and it never gets stale. Haven't really figured out how progression works, but it doesn't look too complex. Team Death Matches feel and play similar to CoD but the large vehicle maps are where BF3 really shine. Great game, great physics, enjoyable experience.

93

Truly unique, yet the stealth is fairly easy"

Qwertyfour | Sept. 27, 2013 | Review of Dishonored

Dishonored is a great game, with a right mix of stealth and combat and freedom of choice, yet it's no Thief. It's significantly faster paced to appeal to a modern audience, but that doesn't completely detract from the stealth aspect, but rather cuts out the wait. It's like 3/4 way from Thief to Splinter Cell and more action oriented than even MGS, but it's a great game. Graphics aren't too impressive, but as exemplified from the popularity of Thief, graphics aren't everything.

98

The Greatest Interactive Fiction

Qwertyfour | Sept. 27, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

The Walking Dead is in all senses an amazing game, but it doesn't follow the trope of regular games. It's a point and click and so linear, yet so great. It's obvious that the developers used their licensing very well, because of how each scene is created. I'd highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a great story driven game, because this game is only story. One of the highlights of this game is that it shows you your major choices and how it stacks up against what other people chose (and you see how the player is a white knight, haha)

One personal issue I had was with saving. I lost all my choices and progress so I had to restart, but it was worth the wasted time.

92

Very short, but very worth it

Qwertyfour | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall

3 more missions are added which follows the story of Daud. It's worth mentioning that the main character is not silent which is kind of strange, and I personally did not like but others have. What is really great is that this truly feels like a story of redemption which in my opinion is a lot greater than the main Dishonored story. Daud gets an expanded arsenal of new gadgets and modified ability and it feels great. If you enjoyed the gameplay of the Dishonored story line, then you should definitely buy this DLC. On sale, it can get as low as 1.74. Also, it's the first part of a series, the second (and final) part is known as the Brigmore witches, which I personally have not bought, but I've heard that it's just as good as this DLC.