Reviews by RadiatorFanboy

81

Good but simplified

RadiatorFanboy | Oct. 19, 2013 | Review of Halo Wars

As you can imagine this is a very simplified RTS as it is on console but still a good game. A large campaign that offers a good play time although lacks some replayability which can be solved by creating a custom games and play against bots. The multilayer is pretty dead but there are a few people still hanging on. Nice designs and score immaculate cut-scenes a pretty OK story . Overall I would recommend it to fans and people who just want to play a competent nicely polished game.

68

Pretty Good but not 10/10

RadiatorFanboy | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

I had heard of things like "This is the first game that can be considered art" and I thought I was able to over look the hype but this was not what I was expecting, it was really easy with the introduction of an Over-Shield like mechanic and it cost $20 dollars to be revived a short distance from death with replenished health and Vigour when you can find money everywhere and Elizabeth gives it to you.

The visual style is very good but combat does seem to get a bit repetitive after a while when you upgrade weapons and have pretty much unlimited ammo and not to smart AI like the RPG wielding ones that shoot at you when in melee range.

A pretty good game but don't believe the hype, the weakest one of the 3 I think, not to say that you wouldn't enjoy it more, I wish I did but I don't think I'll play it again

80

Awesomegame

RadiatorFanboy | Aug. 28, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts

Very good fast paced game, nice visual style music and character designs. Some heroes are a bit annoying with their spam-able abilities but you can turn the tides even when looking at defeat. Definitely worth the price. The levelling system works in both online and against bots so it's easy to farm xp when you're not playing against people which I think should be reduced. Definite team game with specific roles as you would expect. Overall a very good game with lots of re playability.

74

An experience

RadiatorFanboy | Aug. 9, 2013 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line

People often comment on how average and mediocre the gameplay is in this and compare it to The Walking Dead but I disagree and think this is a fairy good 3rd person shooter, above average in fact. Just as with any other game you may feel the controls to be slow or clunky but it changes with time to the point you can enjoy he gameplay People try to only say that the plot points were only able to make the game a success which I disagree with. This is a pretty good shooter with an interesting story that was well executed.

85

A must own

RadiatorFanboy | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's CivilizationĀ® V

I think that the most fun in playing this assides from destroying opponents was the early game as you really feel that every turn matters whereas late game you just cycle through units and it becomes less about tactics and just surround and spam. There are little things but are in no way game breaking like the barbarian AI which does make the game harder if they take your units but the game being to easy would not be a challenge. An amazing game that is is definitely worth getting the dlc for as it genuinely adds more to the game experience. Fun with friends or alone.

83

You'll have heard about this

RadiatorFanboy | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

It's difficult to write something that says something different from everyone else. Well thought out characters and a story that you are never sure of what direction it can go which is great as is keeps you on edge and quite invested into the characters. I started playing this after seeing reviews and a lot of acclaim both from "professionals" and users, I would agree with most people that is was a creation that involved dramatic issues like children and exposes them to the horrors of the world. Although it may not be the "game" experience people want it is an experience non the less that I do recommend.

75

One of my favourites

RadiatorFanboy | Aug. 5, 2013 | Review of Aliens Vs Predator

I think one of saddest things about this game was how quickly the multi-player population died as this was a fun online and was balanced except when you are a Xenonomorph in the pyramid map where you could do the charge tail attack from a wall with no charge time that knocks Marines down and does the most damage to predators which was my only quarrel. The Marine campaign has tension and surprisingly likeable characters considering they are SPACE MARINES and was the second best campaign/ species. The Predator's campaign was not greatly in-depth as there is not a lot of material to work on, it's just go and claim honour stop the serpents from escaping, the weapons you get are true to the series and fun, stalking humans and listening in is always entertaining as well. You can use a recording to lure marines out of their patrols for the kill The Alien's campaign is the best in my opinion as it is fast paced paced, gruesome and rewarding play-style with fairly tight controls which is as close as it gets to becoming a Xenomorph.

A very good game that did not get the recognition it deserved.

87

Outstanding

RadiatorFanboy | Aug. 5, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex Human Revolution: Limited Edition

A very good game. Good story, good stealth, great visuals. I have played this game through a few times now and I have to say that each way is very entertaining, the non stealth will allow you to gain more xp for augments as it is harder to neutralize enemies and move undetected. A more deadly play through gives less xp but is equally as fun. I think that giving the player the 2 dlc weapons straight off was a bad idea seeing as you have to upgrade what you have and this makes it a bit unbalanced. The story was well thought out and so was the world including emails and newspaper articles about world affairs. The game does suffer a bit on the character front in my opinion and I know that not everyone can have a clear character arc but they did not seem to be as well fleshed out as the rest of the game. I agree with other people that the boss fights were a weaker part to as they did not involve any the skills learnt throughout the game and instead became a battle of attrition and learning the routine of the awkward fight. One of the largest nit-picks from me would be the take downs while they are great to watch every time and are rewarding they are just overpowered, even if you have been detected you can sprint up to them and do an animation for a stealth take down where you tap them on their shoulder. Overall a must buy that I highly recommend as it is among the best games of this gen.

61

Fell Short Of It's Predecessors

RadiatorFanboy | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Halo 4

I was not as Hyped for Halo:4 as I was for the older games and I found it to be OK but nothing special. Story was not that special for me, I don'r see myself as an expert other than what I think and I did not think much about the story behind this. I liked Halo: Forward Unto Dawn and I thought it was a great idea to go in that direction to promote a product and the way they shoe horned that idea in for people who may not have seen the Short was disappointing. The Multi-player was not the saving grace either, very similar to Reach as to be expected and the Model designs for the SPARTANS was not good either trying to put too much detail into the armour and the lining did not give it the same style as Reach or games prior and I have friends who agreed on that.

Overall a miss nothing too different from Reach I have not gone back to playing the Campaign as I have done with the others and the Multi-player has not drawn me back either It's a competent game and I wish I enjoyed it more