Reviews by Rcoder97

90

Everything Zombies

Rcoder97 | July 4, 2014 | Review of Call of Duty®: Black Ops - Rezurrection DLC (MAC)

This dlc goes out to the lovers of zombies mode. In this dlc you get remastered WAW zombies maps plus a conclusion to the zombies story: Moon. All the maps are fantastic and Moon is so fun when you get a good game going with friends. Nacht is still really difficult but fun, Verruckt is great for circling around the whole map, Shi No Numa lets you have fun in a swamp full of traps, and Der Riese gives you a factory to fit all of your zombie killing needs.

85

Polar Opposites

Rcoder97 | July 4, 2014 | Review of Call of Duty®: Black Ops - Annihilation & Escalation DLC (MAC)

What is so cool about these 2 dlcs is that they're the complete opposite of each other. Escalation has mediocre multiplayer maps but an excellent zombies map while Annihilation has excellent multiplayer maps but a mediocre zombies map. Great for either craving. Also at $5 off discount.

90

Great in Retrospect

Rcoder97 | July 4, 2014 | Review of Call of Duty®: Black Ops (MAC)

When Black Ops came out, MW2 fans strongly disliked it. I even thought it wasn't that spectacular, but looking back I really did like this game. The campaign had a cool 1960's story, zombies was back and better than ever, and multiplayer was still awesome. The addition of COD points was a neat idea also adding the gambling modes like gun game and one in the chamber were very fun. Black Ops is a mixed bag of old and new while keeping it fun.

95

Wow

Rcoder97 | July 4, 2014 | Review of Call of Duty® Modern Warfare 2™ (MAC)

How do you take a once done idea and make it better? MW2 does exactly that. Soap continues his journey with Captain Price to stop "That one Russian guy". Don't get me wrong, the campaign is great. It was the first campaign I beat on Veteran. The Spec Ops mode is also very fun, but only with a buddy. Lastly, the multiplayer is even better than COD4. With customizable killstreaks, new maps, modes, and perks make the multiplayer super addicting. Must own.

67

One Trick Pony

Rcoder97 | July 4, 2014 | Review of Call of Duty: Ghosts NS

Call of Duty used to be the most anticipated franchise ever, but after Black Ops 2, people were skeptical about a new game and whether it would stick to the same formula or not. Sadly, COD Ghosts did. With a forgettable campaign, finely tuned multiplayer, and a survival mode, COD Ghosts doesn't take any risks. I thought Extinction was a somewhat cool idea, but it doesn't feel that different from Zombies or Survival. I like the alien atmosphere but without cool characters like Nikolai or Richtofen to heighten the experience, Extinction falls flat. Multiplayer is no different which is good and bad. They nailed it the first time and stuck with it without changing much. Finally I don't know why they bothered with a campaign. This is just ok, but I could recommend it to someone who is new to the series.

90

What Started it All

Rcoder97 | July 4, 2014 | Review of Call of Duty® 4: Modern Warfare™ (MAC)

Oh these were the days. COD 4 took everyone by storm by giving an excellent story and what would be the definitive multiplayer mode. In the campaign, you play as "Soap", a newbie who learns the ropes from Captain Price. The multiplayer gives you the reason to come back though. Endless hours of shooting people and leveling up never got old... did it?

92

Excellence

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | Review of Trials Evolution: Gold Edition (NA)

Trials Evolution was my introduction to the series and boy is it a good one. Getting out of the same old warehouse in Trials HD, Evo takes you through many environments keeping the game feeling fresh. The bikes are fun to use although I'm not a fan of the Phoenix Evo. The tracks are well designed to keep you coming back to perfect them and also it has a community which brings more and more tracks to keep the entertainment going. I loved this game.

85

Welcome to the Future

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | Review of Trials Fusion (NA)

Trials Fusion is a motorcycle game, but it doesn't have to be. It can be a platformer, arcade game, shooter, or basically whatever you want it to be. You control a radical dude on a motorcycle, ATV, or BMX bike. Taking place in the future, you complete fun tracks in varied environments with a slight, but vague story off to the side to top it off. The bikes this time around aren't all too great, but what makes up for it is the booming community. Every day, new tracks are created and uploaded by people to share with the world. That's where the real replayability comes in. I recommend it to new and veteran fans of Trials.

95

Pure Bliss

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | Review of BioShock Infinite (NA)

Bioshock Infinite is possibly my favorite game of 2013. The atmosphere is astounding, it controls well, the visuals are awesome, and the story is unbelievable. You are Booker DeWitt, a washed up agent sent to the city in the clouds called Columbia to retrieve Elizabeth who can open up tears. A man named Zachary Hale Comstock rules over Columbia and is the main obstacle to cross in order to get to Elizabeth. While short on guns, this game makes up for it by giving you plasmids giving you the ability to shoot fire, shoot electricity, grab people with water, spawn deadly crows, etc. The ending will drop your jaw as it did to me. Get this game.

100

One of the Best Games + DLC

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | Review of Borderlands Game of the Year Edition

Borderlands is one of the best games out there, but with the addition of its quirky dlc makes it that much better. I've already reviewed the game so I'm going to talk about the dlc. Dr. Ned: This dlc is insanely fun. The atmosphere is creepy, the story is good, even the music is great! I loved this dlc. Mad Moxxi: This dlc is fun for a minute but I could only recommend playing it with friends. The bank is a lifesaver though! General Knoxx: This is the best dlc for this game. The environments are great, the story is so fun, also the reward at the end is the best ever. Claptrap: I liked this dlc because it was very different from the others. The story is fun but the environments aren't the best. Also it has a very lovely reward at the end.

95

Not Just a Shooter

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA)

Borderlands 2 is the sequel to one of my favorite games Borderlands. In this game, you get 4 new players to advance through the story with. Axton is the new soldier who can deploy a turret but can also upgrade it with crazy abilities. Salvador is the gunzerker who can dual wield any 2 guns and wreck everything. Zero is the assassin that can go invisible and strike with his sword. Lastly, Maya is the new siren that can take an enemy and launch them in the air changing the focus of the fight. Your mission is to beat Handsome Jack, my favorite villain ever, to the vault and prevent him from unleashing The Warrior. There is tons to do, lots to laugh at, and an infinite amount of things to loot. I can't recommend this more.

90

For the Most Badass...

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2 Season Pass (NA)

Borderlands 2 is a wonderful game that everyone should play, but what happens when you fully upgrade every character, beat every mission, complete every challenge, and find all the easter eggs? This. This is the season pass for Borderlands 2 which includes 4 story expansions and adds an extra playthrough increasing the level cap to 61. All 4 dlc have their uniqueness and charm. The only dlc I wasn't a big fan of was the Sir Hammerlock dlc because it was very short. This is totally a great value because you get 4 expansions for the price of 3 and it adds hours of endless fun to your Borderlands experience. Have fun!

70

It's Peggle

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | Review of Peggle (NA)

This is Peggle, a puzzle game from PopCap. In Peggle, you shoot balls at pegs trying to eliminate all oranges while getting the highest score and not run out of balls. This game is pretty straightforward and doesn't need explanation, this is good and bad. Since there's not much to it, playing gets boring after awhile. It's fun for the occasional sit down but not much more. It's only $5 so I don't see why not.

85

Good Pirate Fun

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2: Captain Scarlett & her Pirate's Booty

This is Captain Scarlett & her Pirate's Booty the first story expansion to Borderlands 2. This dlc takes you to Oasis, a pirate wasteland full of worms and skeletons. The story is not the longest but it's a good length for a dlc that came out a month after the game launched. There are lots of side missions too. The characters in this dlc were particularly memorable and the environments are lovely. There are 2 raid bosses, each require a different strategy to conquer. The final boss is very fun too. The side missions are also very funny. With treasure everywhere I don't see why someone shouldn't get this dlc!

85

Crank it up to 11!

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2: Ultimate Vault Hunters Upgrade Pack

This dlc increases the level cap from 50 to 61 and adds an extra playthrough to the game that is insanely difficult. In addition to that, the new playthrough increases slag effectiveness by 4x making it essential to have on you throughout the whole story. Lastly, it marks the return of pearlescent weapons to the game. These guns are extremely rare and powerful so go out and loot your hardest!

80

Fun Bit of DLC

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2: Creature Slaughter Dome

This dlc is the Creature Slaughter Dome. In this dome, you are pitted against all beastly enemies in the game forcing you to survive by outsmarting all of them. While not the hardest challenge, this dome was fun to play while I was with friends. I also got this as a pre-order bonus but I would recommend buying it if you just have to get the full Borderlands 2 experience.

95

Yes

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2: Tiny Tina’s Assault on Dragon Keep

This is the definitive story expansion. Welcome to Tiny Tina's Assault on Dragon Keep, the last story expansion to Borderlands 2. This is the longest story expansion and the best. This dlc is absolutely hilarious, fun, varied, and sentimental towards the end. It takes everything fun about Borderlands 1 and 2 and goes nuts. I had an unbelievable amount of fun progressing through this dlc. Everything fantasy appears, spiders, orcs, skeletons, dragons, golems, knights, you name it. You have to experience it to believe it. Get this.

70

Might Want to Skip This

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2: Sir Hammerlock's Big Game Hunt

Sir Hammerlock's Big Game Hunt is the third story expansion for Borderlands 2. DISCLAIMER: This dlc is 4 story missions long! It literally can be finished in under 2 hours if you pace yourself quickly. While offering a plethora of side missions, this dlc felt the weakest out of all 4 in my opinion. The enemies are relatively annoying to fight, the side missions aren't the best, but there are some good things in this dlc. The atmosphere is awesome and there are plenty of large areas to explore. The Hoplite is the best shield ever. Also the new vehicle is fun to use. This was the worst story expansion in my opinion but if you really feel obligated to, then at least get this on sale.

80

Become the Ultimate Badass!

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2: Mr Torgue's Campaign of Carnage

Mr. Torgue's Campaign of Carnage is the second story expansion for Borderlands 2. Your goal is to succeed among the ranks to become the #1 badass in the land. The story itself is quite a few missions that are hysterical thanks to Mr. Torgue's ridiculous commentary. There are lots of side missions plus a new raid boss to challenge yourself. This dlc also adds new guns like the Unkempt Harold. I liked it but didn't absolutely love it.

95

This Game

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | Review of Borderlands

I picked up Borderlands ages ago not knowing a thing about it except that it had lots of guns. I heard a rumor that there were over 60 guns! They were right but there are waaaaaay more than 60. This game takes you to Pandora, while an unoriginal name, is a planet full of wonder, danger, and treasure. You choose from 4 characters. Roland is the soldier who can deploy a turret to help you out. Mordecai is a master sniper and gunslinger who can throw his bird Bloodwing which ruins enemy's days. Lilith is the siren who can Phasewalk (go invisible). Lastly Brick is the beserker who can drop his gun and punch everything to oblivion. The story is to find the vault, but you aren't the only ones trying to get its treasure. It's a race! There are tons of missions and side missions plus dlc that you can buy to keep the fun going. I love this game.

55

Not the Absolute Worst

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

Duke Nukem Forever brought hope to fans and crushed it. While this game isn't everything people hoped for, it's not terrible. The graphics are technically the best ever for a Duke Nukem game, the campaign is an exceptional length, and there are tons and I mean TONS of little bits and gags to mess around with. The level design isn't the best concerning the fact that a lot of the surroundings felt bland. The shooting is subpar but the pistol is my favorite thing to use, it just felt the most reliable. The turret stage is fun, the mini racecar stage is fun, and the bosses aren't too bad to fight. Duke shoots more one-liners than bullets that get annoying over time. Because of this I played the game with the sound off a lot. All in all this isn't the worst game, it's got its moments but it's still not a great game.

100

Essential for Anyone New

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | Review of BioShock Triple Pack

I got this triple pack for $14.99 and man was that a good decision. This pack gives you the critically acclaimed Bioshock, Bioshock 2, and Bioshock Infinite. All 3 are great games that take you through Rapture, an underwater city, and Columbia, a booming old timey city in the clouds. All 3 games have their qualities. Bioshock gives you an excellent story while introducing you to plasmids and the whole atmosphere of Rapture. Bioshock 2 brings you back to Rapture as a Big Daddy. Awesome! Bioshock Infinite introduces you to Columbia and one of my favorite stories in a video game. There's a lot of love put into these games so please give it a try.

95

Perfection

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim®

Skyrim is the Elder Scrolls game that every fan has been asking for. It has dragons, a bearable story, great gameplay, in depth leveling up, awesome environments, and mod support. Skyrim starts you out as a prisoner on his/her way to be executed, a dragon by the name of Alduin stops the your execution by wreaking havoc on the town. You now begin your quest to stop the dragons from taking over Skyrim. This game is just so fun to get sucked into. There are multiple stories, side missions, and miscellaneous objectives to keep you occupies for 100+ hours. You can choose from many races to make your character and each race has their own special qualities. Along with that there is a wide selection of armor, weapons, and clothing to fit your character's needs. You can make your character the ultimate thief, magician, archer, warrior, plus more. There is also a booming community adding new mods to download every day giving you more armor, quests, weapons, and just flat out fun. Besides the occasional glitch, this game goes down as one of my all time favorite RPGs.

70

My Introduction to the Series

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | Review of Assassin’s Creed® IV Black Flag™ (NA)

DISCLAIMER: I had never played a single Assassin's Creed before this. Welcome to Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag, a game where you play as a pirate who turns into an assassin. This game is visually pleasing in every way. From the lovely towns to the vast jungles to the jaw dropping open waters. While that is a good quality of the game the game itself is not that good to me. There is lots of stealth missions other sea related activities. This gets very repetitive though. The multiplayer is fun but frustrating due to lag and just my weak grasp on how to predict other player's actions. All in all this game is gorgeous but that's not enough to make up the rest of this rather shallow game.

80

Watch Out Mario Kart!

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | Review of Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed

After playing this on a steam free weekend I didn't want to stop there. This is the best Mario Kart clone on the PC. Join Sonic and his friends in a racing game that borrows from Diddy Kong Racing taking you into the air and on open water. There are plenty of characters to choose from. Admittedly I am not as well known with the other games that most characters originate from. You also get PC exclusive characters like Team Fortress and General Winter! There are 12 tracks and their mirrored counterparts included along with 4 remastered tracks from previous games and their mirrored versions too. While very fun, I got tired of these tracks and wished for more. The controls are a little to adjust to but are finely tuned to how you play. If you have a controller then that's even better. There are a few modes to play by yourself like story and time trial, but multiplayer adds battle modes like Capture the Chao and Battle Race. Each character has their own individual stats adding a serious balance to the game. Along with that each character can level up unlocking modifiers so you can tune each character how you'd like them to perform adding a strategic approach to the game. All in all this game is outrageously fun but I was left wanting more tracks since other kart racers often give more than 12 new tracks. Recommended to any kart racing fan on PC or Sonic Fan OR Sega fan.

95

Essential

Rcoder97 | July 2, 2014 | Review of Left 4 Dead 2

Don't even hesitate. Get this game. This is Left 4 Dead 2, a zombie survival/co-op/single-player story/competitive game. You can choose from quite a few modes right off the bat. You have your campaign which is chock-full of excellent stories. There is survival which requires your best planning to survive as long as possible. There is versus which allows you to play as the special infected. Scavenge which is to collect things. Going back to special infected, there are 8 of them. The smoker which can shoot it's tongue at you and take you away from the group. The jockey which can hop on your head and beat you into wherever it wants to go. The hunter which leaps on you and tears you to shreds. The charger which... charges and beats you to a pulp. The witch which you want to avoid at all costs. The tank which is basically the boss and can ruin your. The boomer which blows up and attracts zombies if it gets its bile on you. And the spitter which spits acid. Lastly there is steam workshop integration which allows you to mod Left 4 Dead 2 at the click of a button giving endless fun. You need this game if you want to play with friends.

95

Goodness Gracious

Rcoder97 | July 2, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

This game. Oh man this game... I recently picked it up and immediately got addicted. Your task is to take a civilization and expand it throughout history, making history your own playground. Depend on what kind of game you choose, (short, long, small map, big map, 4 Ai, 12 Ai) determines how strategic you have to be. Do you aim for a military victory and take everybody's capitals for yourself? Do you play it safe and go for a science victory and reach space before anyone else? Do you earn everyone's approval and go for a diplomatic victory? Or do you complete 5 social policies and get a cultural victory? There are plenty of ways to play the game. Every few turns your city/cities expand giving you room to make farms, roads, trading posts, or forts to add to your city/cities. Even if you play it safe, there are still barbarians to watch out for. They'll take your workers and try to mess with your cities. Also watch out for Napoleon... Napoleon is a jerk. And finally just remember: A "quick" game is nowhere near quick.

90

Like Skyrim... With Guns

Rcoder97 | July 2, 2014 | Review of Fallout 3

Fallout 3 is my introduction to the Fallout Series and boy is it a good way to get wrapped up in its universe. The game starts you out as a baby and takes you through your young adulthood living in a Vault. The mystery now is that your father has left the Vault, an action no man shall ever perform. Now your quest is to find him and figure out what is actually going on. The story is an exceptional length. It's long enough without feeling stretched out. There are also plenty of side missions to keep you occupied throughout your quest or for when you are done and are looking for extra content. The world is awesome, it's Washington D.C.! It's large with lots of areas to explore and discover. The only downside is that the main story doesn't have you go to many different places on the map. It's technically good and bad because they leave you with lots of land to explore but if you only play the main story then you'll miss out on lots of extra areas. The skills system is great and shows depth. Each time I leveled up I would spend a good amount of time trying to figure out what to put my points into. Do I want to master explosives? Or should I be more sneaky? There are lots of weapons and pieces of armor to customize your character with, sadly the armor and clothing doesn't look that varied. There is also a fighting system called V.A.T.S. which lets you pause the game and attempt to get a stronger hit on enemies. It's very balanced. If you like RPGs and Bethesda's work then please give this a try.

85

Repetition at it's Finest

Rcoder97 | June 30, 2014 | Review of Payday 2

Wow this game repeats itself a lot, but in the best kind of way. To be honest, if you pick this game up you're going to be horrible but if you keep going, you'll notice progress. There are plenty of different heists to do but the multiple day heists don't really shine in my opinion. The gameplay itself is stellar. Throughout my 6 months of play I have not noticed any bugs/glitches. There are tons of guns, pistols, gadgets, and masks to customize to your heart's content. The AI isn't horrible but I still recommend to either turn them off or bring a friend or two. The game frequently updates adding more heists and content so do yourself a favor and pick this up.