Reviews by RiVenoX

90

A classic shooter with a contemporary look

RiVenoX | Oct. 12, 2014 | Review of Rise of the Triad

Tons of secrets, tons of ridiculousness. It's a throwback to the origins of the FPS genre. The team behind it has been constantly supporting it post-launch including tons of free patches. They genuinely seem to give a damn about player experiences, and want you to have fun. It's not an easy game, there's no regenerating health, and it requires planning in addition to jumping in a room and blasting everything that moves. You will gnash your teeth in some areas, but only because you know you could have done it better. The intended audience is generally over 25, people who grew up with these types of games, and want a kick in the nostalgia.

45

Not worth the price of admission.

RiVenoX | Oct. 12, 2014 | Review of Batman Arkham Origins

I genuinely didn't like this game. It's nearly identical gameplay to Arkham City, with very minor changes. I experienced several game-halting bugs that may have been patched at this point, but they were so widely experienced they never should have happened. I gave up halfway through. The voice acting and cinematics were great, but everything in between was just underwhelming.

83

Lightning doesn't strike twice

RiVenoX | Oct. 12, 2014 | Review of Left 4 Dead 2

Really, it has all the elements of 1 with few advancements. It seemed very iterative, and without as much imagination as 1. I played it. I had fun. The charm just didn't seem to last, unfortunately.

90

Fantastic game, even years later

RiVenoX | Oct. 12, 2014 | Review of Left 4 Dead

This game still holds up today, It offers just enough variety, even when playing through the same levels over and over. It's not rote memorization, though you do build a strategy to deal with whatever pops up. It's infinitely better with friends, especially if you're able to get a 4 player game going. The Vs. mode was an interesting take, and has given me endless joys and headaches due to perfectly executed runs, and complete foul-ups.

88

Great game

RiVenoX | Oct. 12, 2014 | Review of Middle-earth™: Shadow of Mordor™

A fantastic game. It has all the good points of the Arkham series' combat, without letting you feel like you're rediculously overpowered. This game isn't easy, and you will die. That's the point though, your many deaths shape the battles to come, and more often than not signify you're approaching the fight wrong. I'm not a huge LOTR fan, though I've enjoyed the movies. The LOTR games have all been lackluster, though. By not shackling themselves to the existing story too much WB gave themselves a chance to actually create an entertaining game. The plot is mediocre, but I really didn't care. I was having too much fun hunting.

84

Oldschool run-and-gun fun

RiVenoX | Aug. 5, 2013 | Review of Apogee Throwback Pack

I hadn't played this game in probably about 15 years, and even then it was the shareware version. It was a blast to go back to the game. There aren't any improvments in the game engine itself, no resolution increases, so enemies that are far away are hard to see, and the default controls are unintuitive in this day and age. After a quick reconfigure, I had a lot of fun running through it. The games themselves run in dosbox, and run very smoothly.

88

Twitchy oldschool fun

RiVenoX | Aug. 5, 2013 | Review of Rise of the Triad

You will die. You will die a lot. It will be frustrating, There is no tutorial, there's no hand holding. If you want to survive, you will fight for it. And that's a good thing! This game is a little bit more corridor like than its predecessor, and the lack of a save does increase the difficulty, and get frustrating at times, but behind it is an incredibly fun game with frantic gameplay. There are tons of secrets to reward going off the beaten path, and lots of traps to trip you up. The whole package takes the formula of yesteryear and revamps it with some of the enhancements of today without really diluting the essence of what those games were. They were about dying, they were about failing, and your progress wasn't measured in an XP bar, or in prestige, it was measured in actual skill and experience. Could you learn from your mistakes and pick up on the games clues enough to plunder her depths and make off with the resources you need to make it through the game efficiently?

95

Amazing game

RiVenoX | May 24, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

This game has everything going for it, top to bottom. The gameplay is fantastic, gives you lots of options which can sometimes lead to a bit of confusion, but you never feel overwhelmed. The boss fights are mediocre, but everything in between is sublime. The game may not be the most graphically impressive one, but it has a great art direction, and the environments are completely believable. The plot may be a little bit predictable here and there, but you feel very involved in how everything happens. Really, this is one of the best games to come out in a long time, and it's well worth your money.