Reviews by Shav

69

"Buggy" shoot-em-up

Shav | May 17, 2014 | Review of RADical ROACH: Deluxe Edition

Well, finally you get to play as a bug. And no, I do not mean Battlefield 4. Radical Roach makes you play a..Roach, and this game is typical shoot-em-up - you fly from one side of the screen, to another, obliterating your enemies.

The game itself reminded me a lot of Flying Hamster from PS Vita, just in a bit less-cutish version. Radical Roach seems filthy and ugly, just like The Bindings of Isaac.

The game mechanics are so simply, that even your momma could play it, but the game itself is hard, challenging, and often frustrating, but that's the general idea behind the genre.

I've played the game for good few hours on Desure, before it was put on Steam, so my review is based on that version of the game - the Steam version may have some additional polish.

90

Finally on Steam!

Shav | May 17, 2014 | Review of Chompy Chomp Chomp

Chompy Chomp Chomp! was one of the biggest surprises in my gaming career. I've got the game on Desure some time ago, and heck it was a lot of fun, even though the idea behind the game is fairly simple.

All you got to do is chase other players, depending on their color, you also have to keep track of you being in danger. However, even when you lose it is still blast to play, especially if you are playing it in local multi. Haven't tried the online multiplayer yet, but I am pretty sure it won't beat sitting on a couch with few friends and trying to eat them!

Graphics and audio are pretty simple (it is indie after all!) but it is not a problem. If you want just to have some fun with your friends, than give it a go, especially since the game is so cheap!

90

Sentimental time machine

Shav | May 15, 2014 | Review of The Whispered World Special Edition

As a child I loved every single point and click adventure. Unfortunately, I noticed that nowadays I cannot enjoy them, because of the slow-pace, and ugly graphics most of the time. However, upon stumbling on Whispered World I've noticed, that it looks totally like the oldschool games, with pretty 2D graphics, enjoyable stories and characters that you can like!

I absolutely adore the hand-painted background, and the way the characters are introduced. The storyline kept me glued to the computer screen and is far better than some RPGs I've played lately.

Cant say bad thing about audio, as the music is beautiful! Also the game is pretty cheap, and was featured in bundles, so you have a chance of getting it for a few pounds, and you definitely should get it!

21

Typical DLC by Ubisoft

Shav | May 15, 2014 | Review of Child of Light - Stardust Pack

Well, what would you expect - Child of Light is a game made by Ubisoft, so it was a matter of time till it gets some pretty expensive DLC's with almost none content.

Stardust pack is containing just a few gems that you can use to further upgrade your character. Why would anyone want to spend money on it? Trust me, you are better playing the game without such DLC's, as you will enjoy it the same way, without spending additional money.

85

Lemmings resurrected

Shav | May 15, 2014 | Review of Flockers

When I was a little boy I totally loved the idea of Lemmings, where you had to lead the pack of the stupid creatures through dangerous areas. Funny, how almost no developers made anything similar since then, apart from Mousecraft, which used some ideas from Lemming series, but the core was different.

Flockers on the other hand is like a new version of Lemmings with almost the same gameplay, but totally new audio/video. Also, you are the leader of sheeps that you know from Worms series! So, your job is getting the cute, adorable animals to safety, using various tools and bricks. It is surprisingly charming and addictive.

Flockers are great for players who want to have fun from games, without focusing on storyline, or serious themes. Definitely worth to play!

60

Slightly above average RPG

Shav | May 15, 2014 | Review of Bound By Flame

I had huge hopes with Bound by Flame, but unfortunately, the game turned out to be just a regular, linear RPG.

The story didn't keep me engaged, and after first 4-5 hours I decided to just YOLO through the monsters, getting straight to the ending. Well, the ending itself was pretty decent, but nothing too spectacular (I am talking about the "bad ending"). The combat is enjoyable for a while, than it is all the same - you attack few times, block or dodge, attack etc. Certainly not as good as in for example Dark Souls, or even Kingdoms of Amalur.

Graphics are pretty good, but still worse then in other games from that kind. However, I absolutely adore the music made by O. Dervere and Ire, especially the tune that plays in the main menu.

Can't say that the game was bad, but it wasn't good either.

85

One of the best futuristic FPS games I've played

Shav | April 27, 2014 | Review of Project Snowblind

Project Snowblind, oh joy... I've spent a lot of time playing this game when it came out (I still have a retail box somewhere on my shelves!), and it was really a pleasant experience.

The game reminds me of Deus Ex, as it is also set in a brutal sci-fi world, and our main hero got access to some enhancements and implants.

Project Snowblind also has this cinematic feel to it, and it can really keep you glued to your PC screen. I definitely recommend this game to anyone, who had no chance to play it until today. Seeing as the game is available for less then Ā£1 it is reallly a great chance to pick it up!

80

That's how DLCs should be made

Shav | Feb. 3, 2014 | Review of Kings Bounty: Warriors of the North - Ice and Fire

There are plenty of turn-based RPG/strategy games lately. Banner Saga, Eador, Blackguards, to name a few. Kings Bounty however is pretty well-known series, and Warriors of the North is definitely my favorite part of the series, as I just love tales of vikings, set in a snowy areas.

Ice and Fire is a great DLC to this wonderful game, and it is exactly what old expansion packs used to be. It is not just a DLC pack with cosmetic updates, but it adds two new factions, new story, and new skills. Also, the addition of Snow Elves is pretty surprising, as this is the race that was usually associated with forests, and magic, not some snowy hills.

Ice and Fire is a perfect DLC for all the people that likes King's Bounty: Warriors of the North and want to spend more time in wonderful world of Endoria.

90

Perfect example of "oldie, but goldie"

Shav | Feb. 3, 2014 | Review of Hostile Waters: Antaeus Rising

Buyers beware, this game is old, and it really looks like it was made 13 years ago. But trust me, this game is still LOADS of fun, even though the graphics are terrible nowadays. While it is a strategy at heart, it mixes different kinds of games, as you can manually control everything on the battlefield. However, what really makes the game such a gem is a command system - while you are piloting something, you can give orders to the rest of your troops. It is hard to explain, but you will get used to it very quick in-game.

Even now, Hostile Waters is one of the most innovative and unusual strategy games ever made. You just have to keep in mind that the game is old, and it aged pretty bad in terms of audio/video. If you can get past the graphics and sound you will be pleased.

75

Challenging, fun and decent

Shav | Feb. 3, 2014 | Review of Tribloos 2

Original Tribloos was pretty good game, and this one is even better. Even though the game may seem really simple it is quite demanding. As usual, your biggest enemy will be the time, that you have to beat in order to progress. And if you want to get gold medals on every stage....well, that will take you a lot of tries!

The game looks quite dated, as the graphics are pretty bad, but that isn't exactly a bad thing - lack of flashiness and effects makes it easier to focus on actual gameplay.

If you are interested in unusual games, requiring both lightning-fast reflexes and some strategic thinking, then you should be satisfied with what Tribloos 2 got to offer.

50

Could've been worse, could've been better

Shav | Jan. 31, 2014 | Review of 4 x 4 Dream Racing

I really enjoy reviewing terrible games, but this one wasn't as terrible as I expected. It doesn't offer much (few trucks and cars), but it is surprisingly fun for a while. Don't get me wrong, it cannot be compared to other casual racers like Sonic All-Star Racing, F1 Race Stars etc, but it is fine.

On the other hand, the graphics and sounds are terrible, but people that played other games by Xing Interactive should be aware of that.

If you have nothing else to play, and want to race for a while, give it a go.

10

Avoid like fire

Shav | Jan. 31, 2014 | Review of Jewel Shooter

This game is a terrible misunderstanding. Nowadays, you can get some pretty neat games for around 10$, and this one is...well, lets just say that it is not good.

The mechanics are same as in hundreds of other titles, you are shooting jewels from the bottom of the screen, and have to match colors on the second half of the screen. There is absolutely no story (oh, the action is set in Egypt, and you are fighting with Anubis, but why?), and the audio/video is TERRIBLE.

You can get better games on mobile platforms, some of them even for free, and trust me - they look and play better than this one.

85

100% old-school gaming !

Shav | Jan. 31, 2014 | Review of Oozi: Earth Adventure

Oh boy, how I've enjoyed the game. My review may be a bit over-enthusiastic, but I am both from Poland (like the game's creators), and a big fan of old-school platformers.

Oozi: Earth Adventure is a perfect example of a classical platform game, where all that matters is your agility, speed and reflexes. Some of the levels in the game are really difficult, but that's a good thing, especially when all the other games are way too easy.

I've also fell in love with the graphics, as they remind me of some great games, like Jazz Jackrabbits, or first Rayman games.

Oozi was successful at Greenlight, so now you can get the game with full Steam support - achievements, cloud saving, controller support and of course - Steam Trading Cards. If you are fan of a genre - get it, you willl not regret this!

65

Not that bad as you may have guessed

Shav | Jan. 31, 2014 | Review of Cold War

Judging by the screenshots this game seems like Splinter Cell rip-off, but after giving it a go I have to say, that it is actually a pretty decent title.

Of course, you shouldn't expect much, as it is a budget game, but still, it can offer some enjoyment. Even the graphics and audio are pretty good, considering a low budget.

The gameplay is a stealth/shooter game, set in an era of Cold War (who would have guessed?), and it REALLY reminds of earlier Splinter Cell games. As the protagonist, Matt Carter you will have to spy, shoot and stay in the shadows. What was funny - the main character seems to be a perfectly-trained assassin, while being a journalist...

Also, keep in mind that this game DOES NOT have automatic saving...

I will repeat myself - it is not a bad game, especially with that price.

80

Minimalistic, yet very fun

Shav | Jan. 31, 2014 | Review of 6180 The Moon

This game is very specific. As you can guess from the screenshots and some gameplay videos, graphics are almost non-existant, and it reminds games from original GameBoy, however this monochromatic style is pretty cool, and it fits the game perfectly.

The game is a puzzle platformer, with an unique twist, as you can jump through one side of the screen to another - pretty hard to explain, but take a look on gameplay vids and you will figure it out by yourself.

Music is charming, and fits the minimalistic style without being annoying, which is a big accomplishment if you'd ask me.

As the game is really cheap, and pretty long (hey, there are 100 levels!) you should get it, if you are a fan of experimental, yet great games.

96

Great games from Rockstar

Shav | Dec. 14, 2013 | Review of Bully & GTA IV Pack

Two amazing, yet completely different games from Rockstar.

Bully is a sandbox game set in school, where you control..well, a Bully. You have to do all your school-chores and live a life of a regular teenager. The game has a lot of things to do, starting with the classes, through sports, to the love reletionships. Actually it is one of the most underrated games ever, as many people haven't even heard about it, but it can be lots of fun! Also, it still looks nice, despite its age!

GTA IV, on the other hand is a cult classic. The game is absolutely amazing, with a nice story, action-packed gameplay and a huge open world. To be honest it might be even better than the new GTA V - atleast for me. Being from Central Europe I really loved playing Nico Bellic - his accent, livestyle, almost everything felt really natural.

At a -75% promo, for a bit over 8$ you can't really go wrong with this package, as both of these games will last you literally for hundreds of hours! Trust me -get it now, you won't be disappointed.

80

Very underrated game

Shav | Oct. 20, 2013 | Review of The First Templar

The First Templar is a really underrated game. Actually I would probably never play it, if it wasn't in a bundle. I decided to give it a try, and I spent good 8-10 hours playing it.

Even though the graphic and sounds are pretty lame, compared to AAA titles the gameplay seems really fun. Fighting and gameplay mechanics are easy to get into, but give suprisingly big amounts of fun. You play as 3 different characters during the game, so it isn't as boring as you may have thought. Also, I like the game historical setting, it has much in common with AC series, but it shows the conflict from slightly different perspective.

If you are looking for fun, easy and quite short game to complete, The First Templar will be a really good choice.

60

Only choice for fans of handball.

Shav | Aug. 24, 2013 | Review of Handball Challenge 2013

Handball is quite popular in my country, but unfortunately, gamers couldn't get any titles that let you to play it. It has changed with the release of Handball Challenge. To begin with, it isn't a full AAA title, that can be compared to big sport games like FIFA, PES or NBA 2k13.

The graphics are quite dated, the gameplay mechanics requires some time to get used to, but there is still plenty of things to do, and true handball fans will love it. There are a lot of different teams, both national and from leagues, three different game modes, and a carreer mode, that can keep you busy for a long time. It also features few nice additions like commentary, or slow-motion that shows you your best moves.

Handball Challenge is a decent games, but only for a fans of handball. Seeing as there are no alternatives, if you love this discipline, then you should get this game.

66

Not a typical X-Com, but still fun to play

Shav | Aug. 23, 2013 | Review of The Bureau: XCOM Declassified

This game causes a lot of trouble when it comes to giving it a proper review. After all it is pretty decent shooter with a lot of tactical elements, but...

...but it is a part of an X-Com franchise, of course that everyone wants it to be completely amazing and breath-taking! Is it? Nope, just because there are a lot of minor drawbacks that makes it just an average game.

Lets start with a story - setting the game in 60's was a great idea, but a plot (no spoiles) simply is a bit...weird, and it lacks sense during most of the game. The characters are forgettable, the atmosphere isn't scary at all.

Gameplay is pretty fun, especially at the beggining. Mixing a TPP shooter with tactical elements works great during early stages of the game, but after a while it is a bit boring and repetetive. Also, there are some problems with issuing orders to your squad mates, especially on stairs and hills.

The game would seem better if there was no "XCOM" in the title. It is a solid production, but lacks emotions and innovation to be truely enjoyable not only by casuals, but also hardcore fans of XCOM franchise.

But remember, even that my review may seem pretty negative - IT IS NOT A BAD GAME!

85

A proof that an old MMO can still be amazing

Shav | Aug. 1, 2013 | Review of FINAL FANTASY XI: Seekers of Adoulin

Final Fantasy XI was never a huge success, atleast in Europe. After spending some time with it I had to admit, that it had a huge potential - mainly lots of different races, and jobs (classes). You could be basically anything you wanted - from onion knights, through typical warriors and clerics to ninjas and dragon knights! The game also featured very nice visuals (which hasn't aged that badly - IMO it looks way better then WoW, for example), and interesting combat system, which mixed traditional western role-playing games with JRPG. I think that it didn't get that popular here mainly because of the fact, that it is still an jRPG at heart - with many complicated things to do, and a weird, unusual UI.

However, if you got through it the game got really wonderful! And you know what is even better? That even so many years after the release, the developers are still working on this game. Seekers of Adoulin is one of 5 expansion packs, that adds just a lil bit of everything - new jobs, quests and areas to explore. It is pretty massive for an expansion pack, and it is deinitely a well-spent money. If you are an FF XI player, and you want to get even more from it, then give it a shot, you won't be disappointed.

80

A real cult classic!

Shav | Aug. 1, 2013 | Review of Wolfenstein 3D

Many of the developers are keep on releasing prequels, sequels and remakes of various title, but believe it or not - playing a classical, old-school game provides very unique feelings.

Wolfenstein 3D is one of the first games that I've ever played in my whole career as a gamer, and I have to say it was a great experience. Even though today everything has aged pretty badly - the graphics and sounds are terrible, and the gameplay seems dull and repetetive it is still worth playing! Why you may ask? Because of the sentimental value, and a chance to see how games evolved. Actually, Wolfenstein 3D can be considered a father to all the modern FPS games - like Call of Duty, and so on.

For a dollar in promotion it is a nobrainer - just get it and play it yourself!

100

A wonderful gameplay for a long, long time!

Shav | July 2, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 and Season Pass

Borderlands is one of my favorite series ever. I recently started to play it again, from the first one with my friends, as it truely shines in co-op mode. I already had Borderlands 2 and played it for like 25 hours (which is nothing in this game, trust me!), but seeing as it was so cheap here on GMG with Season Pass I've bought it.

The game is just amazing - the graphics, music, storyline and characters are great. What is best though is the fact that there is always something to do - main storyline is pretty long , there are tons of side-quests, secrets and hidden gags. If it wasn't enough, the season pass included in this bundle adds 4 completely new expansion packs, with new missions, enemies, and weapons, as well as a Vault Hunter Upgrade Pack, which increases the maximum level you can get for even more gameplay!

Afterall, this is one of the best games of 2012, and you shouldn't hesitate to get it - just buy it with season pass, as each of the expansion packs is unique and very fun to play.

25

Not what anyone expected

Shav | July 2, 2013 | Review of Ride to Hell: Retribution PRE

Ride to Hell had such a great potential. It could be the first, truely amazing biker-game, perfect for all the fans of TV shows like Sons of Anarchy. Unfortunately, it isn't anything like this.

Starting with the first thing that catches our sight - graphics are terrible, especially for a game developed so late in current generation. To be honest, saying that it looks like a game from first Xbox or PS2 would be a compliment. The textures are low-res, there are occassional pixels at the screen, and overall it looks just bad, seriously.

The story is nothing new, a simple tale of vengeance, but what annoys me are the time-jumps, leaving you wondering what the hell just happened. A good example from start of the game - you are trying to escape from some bikers, then it suddenly stops with a cutscene where you are captured - how the hell did it happen!? I have no clue...

The gameplay is repetitive and it gets boring quickly - you drive, you fight, and there is A LOT of quick time events.

One decent thing is the music - it is pretty good, and fitting to the theme of bikers. Unfortunately voice acting is really poor, and the voices do not fit the characters.

Overall - this could've been a solid game, but it's nothing like it.

81

Wonderful, especially in multiplayer

Shav | June 19, 2013 | Review of Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes

Might and Magic: Clash of Heroes has almost nothing in common with traditional Might and Magic games. The story, graphic style and combat is completely different, yet it is very fun to play. While the main campaign in singleplayer can get boring at parts - especially that it takes over 30 hours to complete, the multiplayer is truely a blast to play. You are choosing from few different characters, with different armies, and have to beat your opponent. While it may seem like a simple puzzler, it requires a lot of strategy and planning. Pretty good game, and really cheap.

50

A typical puzzle game

Shav | June 13, 2013 | Review of Jennifer Wolf and the Mayan Relics

Jennifer Wolf and Mayan Relics is a typical puzzler. Think about it as another Puzzle Agent game, just with different artstyle and storyline. In this one we will also struggle to get past many different puzzles, that require logical thinking, good sight and a clear, relaxed mind. Personally I love games of that type - you don't have to worry that you can get killed if you aren't agile enough, you can just sit down, relax and train your brain cells to get everything right.

Storyline is interesting, the graphics are outdated, the puzzles are decent, so my overall score is 50/100. Not the best puzzler out there, but still good, if you finished all the other games.

75

Realistic and demanding game

Shav | June 13, 2013 | Review of SSV8 Superstar V8 Racing

There are two types of racing games - arcades, and simulators. Some developers try to mix both genres into one, but not AGEOD Studios. Their game, SSV8 Superstar V8 Racing is a typical racing sim, with demanding driving model, licensed cars and enough game types to keep you busy for good few hours.

SSV8 Superstar V8 Racing also features pretty good graphics (nowhere close to Dirt3, but still pleasant to the eye). The developers menaged to put in few difficulty levels, so this game is accessible for casuals, and pros, although if you are looking for an arcade game, you should pass this one, as it is really a demanding and realistic simulator at heart.

75

Charming puzzler with an oldschool feeling!

Shav | June 13, 2013 | Review of Anmynor Puzzles

Anmynor Puzzles is one of the most charming games that I've ever played. In fact, it is that pretty and colorful, that even my girlfriend, who isn't a fun of video games liked it!

Amnymor Puzzles is a game that mixes puzzle and strategy. You are controlling golems, each one of them has totally different abilities and you have to make use of all of them to pass each level. The controlling of golems and some other elements reminded me of Lemmings. The levels get harder and harder as you go, but you don't feel frustrated at any time, thanks to the game's charm.

Colorful graphics, funny atmosphere and interesting mechanics make Anmynor Puzzles a good game.

60

Mediocre, but cheap racer

Shav | June 13, 2013 | Review of Crash Time 3

If you don't expect much from this game, then it can be quite fun. There is always a lot going on on the screen - explosions, car chases, intense races and stuff.

Graphic-wise, this game is quite bad, not only compared to the greatest racing games like Dirt, but even when we compare it to titles from 2008 or so. Anyway, graphics aren't always the most important thing, right?

The game is pretty cheap (9,99$ without any promotions), and it adds up to Steam library, so it is not a bad choice for people that like to collect games, or just want to spend some time playing something a bit different. If you are in one of the two groups that I mentioned, then go on and grab this title.

79

Another Nancy Drew game, just cannot be bad!

Shav | June 12, 2013 | Review of Nancy Drew: Tomb of the Lost Queen

I love Nancy Drew series of games. They are all quite decent adventure/puzzle games, and they always combine two things: good story, and interesting riddles. Tomb of the Lost Queen isn't an exception. There are plenty of puzzles with increasing difficulty to keep you busy for good few hours. The game is still in 2D, but thats good actually - it looks better and runs even on old machines.

There are also two difficulties to choose from - one designed for begginers, and one for people that solved many riddles in their life. Nancy Drew: Tomb of the Lost Queen is a really good puzzle, for both fans of Nancy Drew, and total newcomers.

61

A decent surprise if you don't expet much

Shav | June 12, 2013 | Review of Murder She Wrote 2: Return to Cabot Cove

Murder, She Wrote 2: Return to Cabot Cove may look really outdated on screenshots, and it fact it is. The graphics aren't anything spectacular, just a hand-drawn pictures, illustrating both the story and riddles. However, the gameplay is quite surprising. This game is a typical puzzler with levels that require a sharp sight, as there are a lot of hidden objects (and in this game, some of them are hidden REALLY WELL). I had quite a lot of fun, and I didn't expect it at first, because as I said, the game looks quite bad. If you will menage to get past the bad graphics and outdated mechanics, then you might get sucked into the nice story (the cases are written pretty well!), and quite fun riddles. Not the best game ever, and only for enthusiast of puzzle-solving games, but still a good thing to play, especially if your PC is an oldie.

60

A bubble popping game with some physics.

Shav | June 12, 2013 | Review of Atlantis: Pearls of the Deep

Most of the games where all you have to do is to pop colorful bubbles are pretty dull and similar to each other. However, makes of Atlantis: Pearls Deep menaged to pull some intovation into the genre. How they did it? It is simple! They've adde some physics elements, which determine the falling of the bubbles. Also, there are few different powerups, that certainly add some innovation and fun into the game.

As for such a simple game, it is pretty long, as there are 60 + levels, but many of them are pretty similar, and thats the main downside of this game - it can get boring quite fast. But if you are looking for an amazing and straightforward game that you can play in short bursts, then Atlantis: Pearls Deeps will be a good choice.

60

A Blair Witch Project of gaming... kind of...

Shav | June 9, 2013 | Review of Barrow Hill: Curse of the Ancient Circle

Barrow Hill Curse of the Ancient Hill is one of many adventure games set in dark and gloomy atmosphere. This time we will try to uncover the secrets behind Barrow Hill - an old burial mound.

I really liked the visuals and atmosphere in this game. It kinda reminded me of the movie - Blair Witch Project. Sometimes the atmosphere is really heavy and disturbing - poor lightning, shadows and stuff can really give you the goosebumps from time to time. The gameplay, sadly is repetetive, and gets boring quickly - the riddles are pretty easy and doesn't require lots of thinking. Also, the game is short - you can finish it in few hours.

Is it worth the money? Yeah it is, but not for the full price of 9,99$ if you'd ask me. Get it during a promotion, and you shall be satisfied, howgh!

80

Another crime investigation puzzler

Shav | June 9, 2013 | Review of Deadly Association

I love games based on criminals of all kind. Deadly Association is another game that puts us in the shoes of police inspectors working on mysterious and dangerous case. This time we have to solve the case of a murder on a young woman.

As usual in this type of games, we will have to be both apprehensive and focused. While the gameplay mechanics are simple, and easy-to-get-into even for total begginers, the riddles and puzzles sometimes require really a lot of thinking. We will work with databases, fingerprints and hidden objects finding, so the developers tried to mix few different types of gaming in Deadly Association, and I have to say that it worked pretty well.

On the other hand, the visuals are also pleasing - the game looks and plays really well, which unfortunately isn't a standard in puzzle/adventure games.

Deadly Association is a great choice for both the begginers, and a long-time enthusiasts of puzzle/adventure games in criminal settings. Definitely a really decent game and worth checking.

70

Another decent game from Nancy Drew series

Shav | June 7, 2013 | Review of Nancy Drew: Trail of the Twister

I personally enjoy the Nancy Drew series (I own most of the games), even though most of them are mediocre.

Anyway, I had pretty big expectations with Trail Twister, as the movie "Twister" is one of the most memorable films that I've seen when I was younger. This game features some elements that remind me of that movie - there is a huge tornado, mystery, and some puzzles that involve metheorological knowledge. As in every other Nancy Drew game, you can choose one of two difficulty levels - junior or senior detective, so the game is easily accessible even for people completely new to this series.

Not the best game in the genre, but still fun to play. IMHO it is one of the best in Nancy Drew series.

55

Catch a murderer, and have some fun!

Shav | June 7, 2013 | Review of Nancy Drew - Secrets Can Kill Remastered

I really enjoy all of the point and click adventure games based on detective stories and such. Nancy Drew series aren't the games from the top, but it is still a nice experience, especially if you are into productions of that kind.

In Secrets Can Kill you also play as a Nancy Drew, and you have to solve another mysterious, and quite brutal case - a murder in school. The game is quite typical PnC adventure - you gather information and solve many puzzle to reach the goal. While the graphics and gameplay mechanics are really outdated nowadays it is still a decent game, but as I said - mostly for the funs of that type of gaming.

60

Another puzzler with Sherlock Holmes

Shav | June 6, 2013 | Review of The Lost Cases of Sherlock Holmes 2

Sherlock Holmes is the background of many different puzzle games - not a surprise, seeing as he is the world's most famous detective (not counting Batman - of course!).

Lost Cases of Sherlock Holmes 2 is almost the same as the previous part. We also focus on solving 16 different cases, but this time with totally different riddles. There is some hidden objects finding, some word-based games and some puzzles. It is quite enjoyable to do them, but if you've played the first part, then it can get boring quickly, as everything is very similar - graphics, mechanics, locations and stuff.

The game features nice bonuses though, as you can even unlock some Conan Doyle's short novels - pretty interesting thing for Holmes-maniacks! Also, the game runs really well even on old machines, so if you don't have a powerful gaming rig, and you like puzzles, then try it out. My verdict? 60 out of 100, but if you are a true fan of Sherlock you can easily add + 10 points.

65

Interesting proposition for fans of Sherlock Holmes franchise

Shav | June 6, 2013 | Review of The Lost Cases of Sherlock Holmes

I enjoyed Sherlock Holmes and the Hound of Baskervilles, and decided to give a chance to other games of that franchise. Im not a fan of typical point and clicks, and I much rather spend my times playing logical, puzzle game, so both parts of Lost Cases were really my cup of tea.

There are 16 different cases that you have to solve, some of them feature real locations and characters. Every single case is totally different and features different puzzles, so it will keep you interested for some time. While I didn't really have many troubles with the riddles, some of them were quite frustrating, but nevertheless it is an interesting game. Worth noting, that Lost Cases of Sherlock Holmes is the first game of the series licensed officially by Conan Doyle Estate.

While it's not really a must-have, it is certainly a good addition to all the people that've read all the stories about Holmes and want to see some more adventures.

70

Interesting detective adventure game

Shav | June 4, 2013 | Review of Nancy Drew: Alibi in Ashes

If you like TV series like CSI and stuff, then this game could be just for you. In Nancy Drew Alibi Ashes you have to investigate a mysterious case of arson in your neighbourhood, and your task is to catch the arsonist.

The game plays like most of the point and clicks - you investigate your surroundings, use items to your advantage and have to solve some puzzles. This title is quite nice-looking, because of a handdrawn graphics, like in most p&c's it features a real-life-like graphics. If you like adventure games, and you are intested in the work of police and detectives you should give it a try.

84

Hard, but satisfying

Shav | June 3, 2013 | Review of Sanctum

I had great expectations of Sanctum, as I am generally a fan of fun, fast paced tower defense games. Really liked Orcs Must Die, so just had to try this one, even if it is set in totally different setting.

Instead of a fantasy world, filled with blades, crossbows and orcs, Sanctum is set in a sci-fi future. You are using high-tech towers and futuristic weapons - guns, shotguns, sniper rifles and even rocket launchers, to defend against hordes of enemies. What is interesting, this game mixes the classical, strategic elements of TD with an FPP shooter - in action phase you can just run around, killing the enemies by yourself, all in first person perspective.

This game is quite challenging, even on easier difficulties. It is certainly WAY MORE complicated and hard then OMD, but that isn't a downside tho, atleast it will keep you focused and satisfied, when you will finally beat a level after a number of tries.

Also, the graphics are truely spectacular. If you will play it with high details, then it is a real eye-candy. Definitely one of my favourite TD games ever made, on pair with first Orcs Must Die.

75

A sentimental time machine

Shav | June 3, 2013 | Review of Mortal Kombat: Arcade Kollection

Even though Mortal Kombat series is certainly not a game for kids, I actually spent a huge chunk of my childhood playing it, mostly MK 2 and 3.

The Arcade Kollection was a great way to relive one of the greatest experience in gaming ever. This game certainly has a lot of flaws, especially now when the 2D graphics and gore aren't anything spectacular, but it is still one of the best fighting games available on PC. Seriously, there isn't almost any competition. Sure - you can play SF4 or SFxTekken, but actually i had lot more fun performing fatalities as Scorpion, Sub-Zero, Noob Saibot and rest of the characters.

If you like old-school, fighting games, and you aren't afraid of challanges (trust me, these games are haaaaaaard!~~), then you should give it a go. Also keep in mind, that you can get it for as low as 2$, and you are getting 3 games instead of 1, all of them have very lively multiplayer and stuff. Worth it.

80

Are you ready for FEAR?

Shav | June 1, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R

FEAR is a FPP shooter, made by creators of such well known titles as Shogo and Noone Lives Forever.

In this game you play a member of a FEAR team, a highly skilled group of soldiers and counter-terrorists. Each member of the group is not only a skilled marksman, but also has access to various paranormal tricks - for example bullet time and so on.

This game might seem as a typical shooter at first glance, but it is really a survival horror at heart, and there are MANY shocking and scary elements that will make you jump on your chair.

Even though this game was released in 2005 it still looks good, and whats even better - the AI of the enemies in FEAR is far greater then in some modern titles.

For 2 bucks it is definitely worth it.

90

A much better experience then first Assassin's Creed

Shav | May 31, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition

I have done a terrible thing, and started playing AC series with second part. Then I couldn't myself to start playing first Assassin's Creed. Why? Because AC2 is just much better.

It is a truely complex game, and unlike the first game, you have a lot of things to do. It is a great example of a real sandbox game - the world is big, and there are many things that you can be doing - gathering collectibles, performing stealth kills, secondary missions, or just freerun around the cities.

The storyline is really good, and I can certainly see a movie based fully on Altair deeds. I enjoyed every single minute of this game, and IMHO this is the best part in the whole AC series.

70

RTS in form of a 2D side-scroller

Shav | May 31, 2013 | Review of Swords and Soldiers

Swords and Soldiers is a very unique game. Even though it looks like a 2D side-scroller it is RTS at heart.

There are 3 different nations to play - vikings, aztecs and chinese. Each of theme has different units and skills that you can use to obliterate your enemies.

The campaign features over 30 different levels, full of humour. Sometimes they can get a bit hard, especially if you are aiming for achievements, but nevertheless they are fun to play.

Also, if that isn't convincing enough, there is a multiplayer, where you can play few different gametypes with your friends.

Swords and Soldiers is not the best indie game ever, but it is a nice timefiller.

80

Hours of fun for 4$

Shav | May 31, 2013 | Review of The Basement Collection

The Basement Collection is a mix of few different indie titles, which originated from flash games.

Every single game in this package is really fun, even though sometimes you can get easily frustrated - it is not that easy as it looks! Trust me, sometimes you will swear a lot while playing Meat Boy, but this game is worth it.

I also recommend checking Aether from this pack - wonderful music and art style.

For only 4 bucks you can get multiple, fun to play games with a lot of replayability - there are over 50 achievements to get, soundtracks and other hidden bonuses.

85

Shank made of poultry

Shav | May 31, 2013 | Review of Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken

Oh, how I love this game! Bought it yesterday and had a blast playing it.

Rocketbirds is a platformer mixed with shooter - like Shank, however it is set in different theme. You are playing as a hard-boiled chicken (yes, the egg was actually put in boiling water), and you have to fight your way through enemies, while going for your goal - getting rid of an evil penguin.

Btw - this game looks AMAZING! I never expected that a 2D platformer could look that good. Also, it is very cinematic, sometimes i felt like playing a chickenish version of Rambo. ;)

Definitely a well spent 3$! I highly recommend this game to all fans of action platformers with humorous plot.

70

A puzzle platformer

Shav | May 31, 2013 | Review of Party of Sin

Battle between heaven and hell was aways a good theme for video games. Such games as Messiah, Bayonetta and DmC are good examples of such titles.

Party of Sin, however is quite a different take on this genre. Most of the previous titles set in such themes were action games, but Party of Sin is a platformer with a lot of logical elements. You are controlling a group of sins, and you have to get through many different levels - hell, purgatory and heaven. Each sin has unique abilities - think about it as characters from Trine. To pass each level, you will have to use the abilities in certain situations. It also features some action elements, for example fighting with enemies, jumping on platforms and stuff.

The graphics and sounds could be better, but nevertheless I had fun playing it. For few bucks it is worth it.

70

Racing platformer

Shav | May 31, 2013 | Review of Rush Bros.

This game is a mix between platformers and racing games. You control a DJ, and your task is to run around various levels, jump between platforms and so on.

Rush Bros also features quite a nice-looking graphics, which reminds me of 80's. The best part tho, is the music. If you like dubstep, and electronic music then you will love this game.

I haven't had a chance to try multiplayer yet, but it seems like a nice addition.

90

An audiovisual masterpiece

Shav | May 31, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

I have to say, that after looking at screenshots I didn't expect much from Bastion. It seemed like some oldschool RPG, without any special features.

Anyway - decided to give it a try, and it is absolutely stunning and charming title! The grapics and music are absolutely amazing, another good thing is the narration - you can hear a narrator speaking about all oyur actions happening at the screen.

The gameplay isn't that innovative - you play various levels, and you can access them from a hub. Your task is usually to recover some items or get rid of all enemies. Anyway - it is not a big downside, because the music and graphics make this game that nice to play. Trust me - this game is worth your money. Sadly that it isn't that well known - it surely needs more recognition!

65

Post Apocalyptic Fun

Shav | May 31, 2013 | Review of Post Apocalyptic Mayhem

Bought this game for a really low price, and decided to give it a try. It is certainly not a game that could be compared with the top racing series like NFS, Motorstorm or Dirt, but for just few $$$ you can't go wrong getting it.

The game features arcade and challange modes. In arcade you have single races with cars and tracks of your choice. The apocalyptic challenge mode on the other hand is a serie of continued races. While the game gets boring after few hours it is still fun to play during that time. The good-looking graphics and multiple cars with various weapon are a nice addition to the fun gameplay.

70

Agent Nelson Tethers on mysterious case

Shav | May 31, 2013 | Review of Puzzle Agent

Even though the game is funny and animated, it really reminds me of some of the greatest thrillers ever. Seconds after arriving at Scoggins it reminded me of Twin Peaks, and other mysterious towns.The storyline is interesting and keeps me glued to the computer screen.

But...lets get straight to the point - puzzles! The riddles are pretty logical but also not that easy, and sometimes you will have to spend some time before figuring it out.

Puzzle Agent isn't a typical point and click adventure, it is more a logical game, but its interesting storyline and good riddles are its biggest advantages.

75

Easy to play economic strategy game

Shav | May 29, 2013 | Review of Tropico 4

Tropico series is known for two things - humour, and easy to get into mechanics. Both things can also be found in latest game in the series - Tropico 4.

I've spent a good couple of hours playing the story mode, while expanding my islands. There are a lot of buildings to build, and edicts to issue, but what is even better - the missions and relations with foreign countries and some social groups is what makes this game.

Also, if you will finish the career mode, you can play in sandbox mode, or buy one of many DLC's. I really recommend getting the one called Modern Times, as it adds a lot of new stuff.

If you never played any economic simulators / strategy games, but you want to try them, then Tropico 4 is a great starter.

80

A sequel to one of the greatest video games in history

Shav | May 29, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Invisible War

Original Deus Ex was something more then a video game, it's story and gameplay mechanics were truely innovative. Even today, it is one of the best titles ever.

A sequel to Deus Ex - Invisible War features another cyberneticely improved hero - Alex Denton, who is drawn into the conflict between powerful corporations and terroristic organizations.

There are many RPG elements, for example expanding your hero abilities, gaining new levels and equipment, mixed with the shooter genre and FPP view. Like the first game, you can play each mission whatever way you like - either sneaky getting past the enemies, or exterminating them with your firearms and stuff.

It is not as good as an original Deus Ex, or the Human Revolution, but it offers a nice addition to the story of these games.

100

One of the best games ever created

Shav | May 29, 2013 | Review of BioShock

Playing Bioshock is truely unforgettable experience. The first time you see the world of Rapture or encounter a Big Daddy will stay in your mind for long.

Developer menaged to create the world which is both charming and scary. Trust me, this game, even though isn't a regular survival horror has its shocking and frightening moments.

Mechanics-wise, this game is even better then the Bioshock Infinite, mostly thanks to the harder gameplay and bigger variety of plasmids (called vigors in infinite). Also, I prefered the darker atmophere of first Bioshock.

Even though this game was released in 2007 it hasn't aged at all! The graphics and sounds are still great and pleasant.

To sum things up - Bioshock is one of the greatest games ever created. It is worth every penny, so go on and get it, even for a full retail price.

60

Shortie, but goodie

Shav | May 29, 2013 | Review of Wasteland Angel

Wasteland Angel is one of the funniest indie games I played in past few months. Even though it is really short I had a blast while playing it.

It's a top down vehicular shooter with a sexy pin-up girl as a main character, set in post-apocalyptic world. You are defending towns from bandits, using variety of weapons. A nice addition to this game are few levels with FPP view, where you have to race through checkpoints or exterminate all the enemies.

While the normal price is a bit too expensive for a game that lasts for about 2hours it is certainly worth it to get it during some -75% promotions.

95

A fabular masterpiece

Shav | May 29, 2013 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

Bioshock Infinite may not seem like an innovative game. It is actually pretty standard or even boring FPS. But... it also features one of the best stories ever told in video games!

Trust me, the plot is actually amazing. Unfortunately, saying anything about it would mean huge spoilers, so you have to take my word for it. But believe me, even though you might get bored somewhere in the middle of your advantures in Columbia (because the gunfights get repetetive, and the game is quite easy, even on Hard), you will not feel disappointed at the end. The major twist that the game offers will leave you wondering about many things for good few days.

Definitely one of the best games of 2013, thanks to the storyline, and strong candidate to GOTY.

80

A decent cover-based shooter with great plot

Shav | May 29, 2013 | Review of Binary Domain

Binary Domain was a big surprise for me. I never expected to really enjoy it, especially after finishing Gears of War series, which set the standards for all the modern cover-based TPP shooters. However, after launching Binary Domain I got sucked into it with wonderful storyline, which kept me interested for the whole playthrough.

While the mechanics and shooting aren't anything new, the game features some interesting stuff. First of all, the whole friendship system - you actually feel responsible for your team members and you get used to them. Second - the voice controls, even though they lack some depth and sometimes my voice weren't recognized properly it is quite fun thing to do while playing. I can certainly see it used in future, in a bit improved version.

As I said, I haven't expected much from Binary Domain, yet I had great fun while doing so. If you can get it in some kind of promotion, then do not hesitate and get it straight away, you won't be disappointed.

80

Addictive and fun game with a reasonable price.

Shav | May 29, 2013 | Review of Poker Night at the Inventory

Even though I am not a poker player myself, I enjoyed this fun little game. Trust me, you don't have to be a good at poker to have fun with Poker Night at The Inventory.

Why is that? Well, most of the fun comes from the dialogues between the characters (Heavy from TF2, Tycho from Penny Arcade, Max from Sam and Max and Strong Bad), which are really hilarious at times.

The game is quite short, if all you want is to get all the achievements (got almost all of them in 1,5h), but it makes you want to play more and more, just to hear some funny dialogues.

It doesn't matter if you are a professional poker player, or a total noob - the game is worth every cent. (plus you can get some TF 2 items as a bonus!)

96

Shoot and loot at its best!

Shav | May 29, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2

A great sequel of a great game. I spent a lot of time playing first part of Borderlands on my Xbox, so I just couldn't refuse getting BL2.

It is as fun as the original, but it features even more quests, guns and places to explore. What is even better - you can play it in co-op with your friends, and it gets AMAZING!

The cel-shaded graphics, Tarantino-like dialogues and sequences and great voice acting and music makes it a truely must-have title for any fan of unconvential FPS/RPG games.

Borderlands 2 is definitely one of my favorite games ever.

85

Amazing game, with amazing graphics

Shav | May 29, 2013 | Review of DiRT 2

It doesn't matter if you are a fan of racing simulators, or if you are looking for a good, arcade racing game. While playing Dirt 2 you can have fun anyway! Even though I am more of an arcade players I had amazing fun while playing this game. Add the great graphics that it can offer, and you will get one of the best racing games ever.

Also, there are a lot of races, cars and stuff to unlock, so you will have a lot of things to do! Sadly, the multiplayer is not longer an option, but considering the game's current price its only a minor flaw.

85

One of the best wild-west games ever!

Shav | May 29, 2013 | Review of Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood

Call of Juarez is one of the most successful franchises made by polish developer, Techland. Bound in Blood is a second game in a series, and it is really amazing and fun to play.

While it doesn't offer you the sandbox world of Red Dead Redemption, it's gameplay and story will keep you interested for the whole duration of the game. Even though it has minor flaws, for example some technical problems and irritating duels it is one of the best games set in wild west.

70

Lacking some polish, but not bad at all!

Shav | May 29, 2013 | Review of FUEL

While FUEL isn't anywhere as good as Dirt series, it is certainly a fun to play title. A big open world, a lot of things to do, vehicles to unlock and races to finish is enough to keep you busy for a while.

The graphics and sounds are quite good, especially if we take the game age into consideration.

Only played it for few hours so far, but it seems like a really decent game, especially with such a low price. If you have some extra money lying on your bank account or paypal, then I certainly recommend you to get this game.

73

Can't say no to a free game!

Shav | May 24, 2013 | Review of SSV8NC Superstar V8 Next Challenge

Got this game for free, thanks to the promo on GMG. Played it for a while, and it is a solid racer, especially in such a low price.

This game reminded me a lot of a lite version of Forza Motorsport, or TOCA. If you are into racing simulators, but don't want to spend lots of money, then you should really try this game out. The graphics are nice, the racing model feel just as it should do, and the gameplay is solid.

80

Ever wondered how medieval Counter Strike would look like?

Shav | May 24, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

Chivalry is a pretty fun online FPP game, with action set in the medieval. You can play as one of four classes (archer, men at arms, vanguard and knight), and fight with other players in few different game modes.

Personally, I liked FFA and the one with different mission objectives best. The game is really fun, especially when you get past the quite difficult controls, and timing which is crucial if you want to be successful. Only major downside is the community, which seems to be filled with kids under 12 years.

75

Sandbox zombie smashing game

Shav | May 24, 2013 | Review of Dead Island: Game of the Year

If you are looking for some mindless zombie smashing game, then Dead Island is a game for you. It is a FPP action game, set in a paradise island of Banoi, which is a place totally infected by brainless zombies.

You have only one task - to survive by any means necessary. You have an access to wide variety of weaponry, from staves and sticks, to machine guns. The game is quite long, features nice graphics and a really nice co-op. If you have some friends that you can play with, then hesitate no more, and get this game, especially that it is really cheap nowadays.

95

One of the best wild west games ever!

Shav | May 24, 2013 | Review of Call of JuarezĀ®: Gunslinger

If you are looking for a fun, easy to get into game, then look no more, and pick Call of Juarez: Gunslinger.

This is a pretty straightforward shooter, but it is ridiculously fun to play. The game also features wonderful cel-shaded graphics, great soundtrack and pretty nice voice acting.

From what I've seen, it can last for hours, as you have an access to quite a lenghty campaign (as for an arcade game), an arcade mode, and a duel mode, which is pretty challenging!

To be honest, this is one of the best games with action set in Wild West that I've ever played. Of course, it is not a sandbox as Red Dead Redemption, but nevertheless it is a really great game.

81

DLC Quest - a truely fun and epic quest!

Shav | May 22, 2013 | Review of DLC Quest

This game is really short, and features old school graphics and sounds. But it does it well!

I spent a good 2-3 hours playing DLC Quest, and I enjoyed it. The storyline was really funny, especially if you got all the references (and hell, there are lots of em!). The game is quite straightforward platformer, but all the "DLCs" and premium packs that you can buy for ingame currency are a nice addition.

This game won't last you for a long time, nor you will want to come back for it, but trust me, it is worth its price. For less then a can of beer you can get a good 2hrs of laughter and fun.