Reviews by Simao20

94

Amazing

Simao20 | Nov. 4, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 4 (NA)

Battlefield 4 takes what the third game does and enhances it so much more. I won't really get into the story mode, lets face it not many people will bother with it. Its all about the multiplayer. There are some newly added features like Commander Mode which allows users with their browser or tablets to send in air strikes or weaponry if needed. Its a cool feature even if I will barely use it. The leveling system has changed, gone are the days where you leveled up assault and constantly unlocked all teh weapons. Now there is a feature called "battlepacks" where you'll unlock random weapons or skins based on your leveling up your main character. Thats not to say you wont unlock assault or support weapons you'll just have to unlock other weapons through that means only. Now you can crouch and pop up over cover while aiming then go back down to hide which adds a bit more strategy to fire fights. The game also looks fantastic, the graphics are stunning and not to mention the whole Levolution feature to the game works amazing. Basically any building can collapse on you if you take out the support beams. There are a couple more new modes like Domination, which is basically conquest without the vehicles on smaller maps and obliteration which is where you have to destroy something to win.

Get it, its certainly worth it for the endless hours of MP you'll have

88

Fantastic

Simao20 | Oct. 25, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham Origins

Another fantastic game in the arkham universe game series. People were a little nervous knowing that WB Montreal took over Rocksteady for the prequel game but lets just say they did a solid job and exceeded expectations. The gameplay is your typical Arkham gameplay with counter, cape swipe and your attack. The graphics are great , especially if you're capable of adding the dx11 eye candy in th egame. The new detective vision system is fantastic. You replay in your mind as Batman how a crime scene unfolded and you can slowdown and rewind to see every bit of detail to try to figure out how something happened. The story is good too, its Christmas Eve and the Black Mask has sent out 8 assassins to take out the Batman with a bounty on his head. Some of the Batman mythos has changed a bit but ultimately its fine . Its a great experience, wonderful atmosphere and well worth buying.

84

Great pack

Simao20 | Oct. 12, 2013 | Review of Square Action Pack

Its a great pack, except for Kane and Lynch. This pack alone is worth getting for Just Cause and Sleeping Dogs. Both of which are good games although I personally believe Sleeping Dogs is the best game in this pack and probably worth it alone. I'm taking off some points because of Kane and Lynch, just a bad game in general. Just Cause is a very open world game, although its kind of empty but you're on an island and you can as the game says Just Cause as many carnage as you can. You get bonus points for destroying enemies and their territories but the gunplay feels too forced and easy though. Sleeping Dogs takes place in open world Hong Kong as you're an under cover cop trying to take down the triads. Some of the best driving mechanics in an open world game ever and definitely the BEST fighting mechanics, not to be unexpected as this game is meant to be like an old kung fu movie. Its definitely worth getting at a discounted price

83

Blast from the past!

Simao20 | Oct. 12, 2013 | Review of Kid Chameleon

I loved this game growing up. Granted, I was never actually good at it or could get very far but it was one of my favorite games as a kid. Side scrolling game with lots of levels, different power ups where you can even have become a tank! Thats pretty awesome. The games very challenging and very difficult as were many games of that era so it can be a little tough for new comers,even more so as it was one of the harder games back then but its worth a try. A lot of older games should be played to see how kids in the 90's played and what they had to go through .

65

A solid try

Simao20 | Oct. 12, 2013 | Review of Brink

Brink could have been so much more than what it was. A cel shaded first person shooter with parkour? Pretty cool, however I think this game would have been best suited for third person. The endless customization and parkour would look a lot better and easier to judge where you can jump and climb up to. The shooting itself is a bit lackluster , the bullets has very little impact and just take too long to kill enemies. The AI is quite awful as well, its stopping this game from being a pretty solid offline game but it ruins the experience and takes you out of the game. The story mode is 10 missions from 2 perspectives but the story itself feels very bare bones theres about a minute or 2 cut scene between each mission and thats it. One group wants off the ark while the others want to keep you on and dictate. Rather boring itself but a decent try

90

Fantastic pack

Simao20 | Oct. 12, 2013 | Review of Best of Square Pack

Some of the best games this generation in 1 pack. Tomb Raider ,Hitman Absolution and Deus Ex Human Revolution are all top notch games that need to be played. Its a great pack if you can get it on a deal though , highly critically acclaimed games the only game thats missing would be Sleeping Dogs then this pack would be amazing. Deus Ex is a great FPS that deals with choices you make that matter in a futuristic world. Hitman is what it is, a Hitman game thats probably the best in the series in my opinion . Fantastic control over your character, good story of Hitman being wanted and the graphics are simply stunning. Tomb Raider reboot is incredible, beautiful graphics and a great third person shooter mechanics. Its not the same as previous Tomb Raider games where exploration isn't key but it adds longevity to the game finding artifacts

79

Fun!

Simao20 | Oct. 12, 2013 | Review of Bejeweled 3 (NA)

Who hasn't played a Bejeweled game? One of the better puzzle and matching games around. Some new game modes for added longevity makes the game better. It is basic in premise but addicting and fun. You match as many as possible with the higher the matches the more points you get and you keep going until you can't anymore. Its a good casual arcade game that can be played by just about anyone which is great for people who just don't play games much that can play and kill a lot of times. Its certainly worth recommending to parents and friends who will get a kick out of a challenge and are new to games

71

Challenging

Simao20 | Oct. 12, 2013 | Review of Bridge Constructor

I had seen this game and thought it had an interesting premise. Build tracks and see if the train will make it past. You get different levels and terrain to try to make your train make it to the other side. Its rather addicting and kind of fun for a game thats pretty basic. However the one thing I don't like about the game is that there seems to only be 1 answer, it is a puzzle game but I would have liked potentially 1 or 2 more ways to build a track but I guess that would defeat the purpose of the game itself so its not a huge deal. Its a small game, simple yet fun , challenging and addicting. Worth a try at least

82

One of the best

Simao20 | Oct. 10, 2013 | Review of Wolfenstein 3D

One of the best all time first person shooter games. It started it all for me, without this game I doubt I'd even enjoy first person shooters even remotely. Its a classic throwback game , nostalgic to say the least. Its your typical shooter from that era, can't really move much but it works, gunning down enemies is very satisfying but can be challenging . Lets also not forget the it has the best final boss in gaming history . Its an old game, doesn't hold up that well but if you can get past that and the visuals and sound its a fun game to just mess around it for old time sake

86

Surprisingly addicting

Simao20 | Oct. 10, 2013 | Review of Trials Evolution Gold Edition (NA)

The game takes a bit getting used to, the body of your character is sensitive to movements but it feels like some sort of spiritual successor to excitebike in ways from the old NES days. Plenty of levels to choose from with a gold, silver and bronze level of passing with each being that much more difficult to acquire. Some of the harder levels require you to pass a certain time limit without falling . There are mini games as well, like how long you can drive your bike in a wheelie or how long you can stay on fire. Theres also online leader boards to keep the competitive spirit alive, it has a lot of longevity and plenty of game modes to keep you busy for a long time

81

Good Nostalgic Fun

Simao20 | Oct. 10, 2013 | Review of Streets of Rageā„¢

One of the all time best side scrolling beat em up games around. Very fun to play with a partner , thats probably the best experience you'll have during this game. Its an older game so theres that level of punishment and difficulty that aren't seen around anymore. However, thats where having a good partner comes in handy because you'll survive and get through levels easier. It's your basic beat em up game, kick, punch, throw buttons etc are all there and easy to pull off. Can even do double team moves as well. Its a fun game, to go back to play with a friend and you'll enjoy beating up enemies

85

Can't go wrong

Simao20 | Oct. 10, 2013 | Review of Sonic Ultimate Pack

You can't go wrong with any sonic game, well not entirely true but majority of the better sonic games come in this bundle. Great games all around, some of my favorites growing up as a kid. Fast paced action with great levels as well. Its a blast from the past, the games hold up great and at times can be hard to find out where you're going, but thats just how sonic games can be. Some of the level designs and visuals are fantastic and are definitely worth checking out. Some of the best games in the early 90s and of their generation. Get it!

77

Very fun

Simao20 | Oct. 10, 2013 | Review of Stoked: Big Air Edition (NA)

When I had heard about Stoked I was immediately excited. A game thats a snowboard version of EA's Skate series was something I had been looking for since it came out. Low and behold you get that with Stoked. Its visuals are nice to look at, the cool features of falling enough and you'll be covered in snow when you get up is minor but a cool little feature. The game itself uses the right analog if you use your control and you basically snap back and forth to jump and do grabs with triggers and the analogs. Its a great system and works really well. The main complaint I have is that the game itself feels empty, just challenges you do to get points , earn sponsors etc there isn't a whole lot to do other than challenges and unlocking mountains. If you can get past that, its a very fun and enjoyable game.

70

Better than expected

Simao20 | Oct. 10, 2013 | Review of Aliens vs Predator Pre

I will start out by saying that this game got pretty bashed but to me, it was better than expected. I enjoyed that you could play through various perspectives such as the Aliens, Predators and Humans. It had a nice element to the game, different variety and can help keep it fresh. The game itself isn't the best but its still an enjoyable experience, especially if played online where you go up against various opponents of different races. Each race has their own skill set and ways to kill the other but it did feel that some classes were more powerful than others.

73

Better than expected

Simao20 | Oct. 10, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed III (NA)

I hadn't heard many good things about Assassins Creed 3, that it took too long to get into which is a fair point but I enjoyed it. The task Ubisoft had to do was to make us forget about Ezio and take in a new character which isn't easy nor did it exactly succeed. Ezio was a very compelling character but Connor felt like there could have been more to his character. The gameplay is obviously very good and even adds upon from the previous games, even if the AI isn't the strongest around, its an overall great experience. However, it isn't very optimized for PC or at least AMD cards like I have. The framerates weren't always that good, could barely get more than 30 on average which was frustrating as there wasn't many options to help with that.

74

Fun

Simao20 | Sept. 21, 2013 | Review of DiRT 2

Its a fun game but it gets boring after a few hours of playing. There are some cool features that aren't in many racing games . The game technically is fine , the driving is fun , you can do crazy drifts and can be enjoyable when you do it right but it isn't that fun after a while. The game just feels empty and unappealing. Its visually a beautiful game, especially the levels in the mountains ,its a great game to look at but every event just feels like more of the same to me. I sunk well over 10 hours into the game and career mode but I could barely finish a race after. If you're not big into racers, I doubt this will change your mind, it doesn't do much different I think

83

Revolutionary

Simao20 | Sept. 21, 2013 | Review of LA Noire The Complete Edition

This game is truly one of a kind. Set in early 50's Los Angeles during one of the more bloody years at that time. You take control of Cole Phelps who just came back from the war who works his way up from a small time cop all the way to detective and its a great ride the whole way through. Its definitely a different style of game, one that most people certainly aren't used to, its a slower paced game but its well worth it. You're a cop, so its different from a game like Grand Theft Auto or Saints Row. Its a breath of fresh air thats for sure. The new facial technology wowed many gamers including myself. The real passion , intensity and sorrow the actors portray in the game is simply mind blowing. Doing the detective work, asking questions looking for clues in a persons face while investigating as well as looking for any evidence at crime scenes is great. Sometimes you can miss things and get things wrong which gives re-playability to get everything correct the first time. Its not all just trying to solve crimes, there are side missions , trying to stop shootouts so there is high level action . Well worth buying

68

Not bad but not great

Simao20 | Sept. 21, 2013 | Review of Virtua Tennis 4

Its not a terrible game , can be fun but not a game that I'd recommend playing for a couple hours. It can get old fast, its fun to play a match maybe even 2 but it doesn't hold your attention for too long. The visuals are nice but not stunning by any means. The game itself is arcady, thats basically what you can expect from a Virtua Tennis game but pretty much this is your only choice if you want to play a tennis game on PC. There is of course the career mode where you can take your created player on the world tour which can be a cool experience trying to see how high up you can rank yourself. Theres also plenty of mini games to keep your occupied as well

85

Unique experience

Simao20 | Sept. 21, 2013 | Review of Far Cry 3 (NA)

A large open world with stunning vibrant and beautiful visuals mixed in with a compelling story of saving your friends from being kidnapped on an island and thats what you get with Far Cry 3. Well, theres more to it than that but this game is definitely one of the better shooters around. The online multiplayer isn't much to be desired , its there if you want but the single player action is what you want. Multiple weapons to choose from and edit. Raise your skills but one of my favorite weapons was the new addition of the bow and arrow. Its different and fun. There isn't a shortage of things you can do on the island. Take outposts to open up more of the map, drive around taking down enemies or even animals and using them to build up your inventory. You can swim around but you have to be careful for any shark attacks . The game is long but great and well worth a purchase.

61

Start of downhill decline

Simao20 | Sept. 21, 2013 | Review of Call of Duty: Black Ops

To me, the change from World War 2 to another regular modern shooter is whats helping ruining the call of duty franchise. Black Ops was overhauled completely in terms of setting. No more alternative Call of duty games, now you just get modern shooters which saturates things. Nothing has changed, everything feels just like Modern Warfare which is unfortunate because call of duty wasn't always this complacent. The online is what it is from call of duty, fast paced and addictive . Plenty of game modes to choose from and of course loads of customizations . You can't keep playing the same game over and over again, I wouldn't recommend it.

75

Could be better

Simao20 | Sept. 21, 2013 | Review of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

I was a big fan of the first Modern Warfare game, that game changed the way shooters are on current gen. Modern Warfare 2 isn't a bad game technically, but its just more of the same fast paced call of duty action which is something I'm not big on. The multiplayer was ok , always easy to find lobbies thats for sure when it comes to virtually any call of duty game. The story is of course your typical shooter , wont take too long to finish. The one thing that I do give a great deal of praise is the leveling up system and customization of the weapons. You can put together any weapon load out you want basically , different skins and different sights . Plenty of game modes to choose from such as capture the flag, deathmatch, team deathmatch and search and destory you'll find something you like

77

Start of history

Simao20 | Sept. 20, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto III

Such a fun game and the real 3d beginning of one of the most beloved franchises in gaming history. The decision to go from top down 2d to a full 3d open world game was the best decision Rockstar could have made. It changed the way people looked at games not only for the mature content and story but for the game itself. Gone are the days of getting missions from some payphone and bring in the addition of cut scenes and voice actors. The way you played the game changed , the driving felt like there was weight to it, the shooting with automatic lock on to help new comers. The whole engine of course was drastically overhauled for the new 3d world and its a start of what would become the best franchise in gaming history.

86

Best ever

Simao20 | Sept. 20, 2013 | Review of NBA 2K13

NBA 2k has really won over tons of basketball fans and why shoulnd't it? Its certainly the best basketball game around ,well to be fair its the only one but for good reason. They are simple put, the best basketball game ever. Its a great simulation of the real sport, very realistic. You can't just shoot 3 pointers all game, you have to actually work the ball around and utilize all of your players on the court. You can't spam the steal button either when on defence or jump like a mad man trying to block a shot. The graphics are also top notch and some of the best and most detailed around for as ports game. If you're a sim fan and a fan of basketball, its definitely worth buying.

98

Best Game Ever?

Simao20 | Sept. 20, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham City

This is certainly my favorite game of last gen, its dam near perfect. It has everything, problem solving with Riddlers trophies as well as solving his riddles to save police officers. There's a great story of Batman being put into Arkham City to solve what The Joker is up to and what Protocol 10 is. Also , last but not least the revamped and enhanced combat system. Rocksteady made minor tweaks but good enough to make the combat that much better. Its easier to link up combos on single and multiple enemies. Now you can strike an opponent more than once like the previous game , dishing out more damage and gaining more points with higher combos. Different enemy types , some are unarmed thugs, some have knives, some have tazers and some have car doors as shields. The map is large and beautiful in its own way. Every section of the city takes after Batman's main villains such as Two Face, Pengiun and of course the Joker. Many swerves before the end as well as hinting at possible future enemies and games. One of the best games ever in my opinion and I can't wait to play it again

89

Changed super hero games for the better

Simao20 | Sept. 20, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

I remember all the hate that this game got before it released. People complained about how the cut scenes weren't good, the gameplay looks bad , that the graphics aren't that impressive. Fast forward and its a game that has influenced and changed the way games (especailly suepr hero games) , are played. Mostly of course for Action games. Games like Captain America , The Amazing Spiderman and even Sleeping Dogs have all taken from Arkham Asylum. The story is incredible, Batman takes in the Joker to Arkham Aslyum but only the Joker was feigning being caught and escapes releasing all of the inmates. Making Batman having one hell of a night ahead of him. Along the way he makes several of the rogues gallery like Scarecrow , Poison Ivy and Bane. The atmosphere is dark and fantastic even a bit of creepyness in some areas of the game. Plenty of easter eggs to uncover throughout the map which will leave you busy for at least 20 hours. The riddler trophies are fun to collect as well. The gameplay has a simple yet effective strike and counter strike actions. You can link up moves to take down multiple enemies and gain points and xp to level up Batman. Its a great game, and a great experience one of which everyone who loves games should play

93

Much better second effort

Simao20 | Sept. 20, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 2 (NA)

I had skipped over the original Mass Effect and went right into Mass Effect 2 and quite frankly it was a good choice but also a poor one. This game is better off having played the first game so you know who older characters are. Its also a great feature that your decisions carry over from game save to game save, a very unique and innovative feature that most games don't have. Then again, most RPG's don't seem to have sequels that rely heavily on your choices like Mass Effect does. The graphics were greatly improved this go around as well as the gameplay. The guns feel good when using them and they removed the previous way of handling guns in favor of using actual ammunition which is a plus in my opinion. Certainly the best of the trilogy , I repeatedly went back and played this several times, its that good! Even if you're not a big "RPG" fan this changed my mind forever. Everything after it I played purely because I enjoyed this game. Its different of course from typical RPG's but it changed my view on these style of games

70

Decent start

Simao20 | Sept. 20, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect (NA)

I didn't get into the first Mass Effect game, just didn't strike me as something I wanted to play until I got Mass Effect 2. You can tell they had a promising start to something with this game, the world is huge with several planets you can visit and look around on which is cool but was a bit tedious after a couple times. The gameplay isn't its strongest point however, the gunplay isn't decent at best, there aren't actual bullets but rather heat powered rifles and handguns if you can say thats what it is. It got frustrating when having to face several enemies and your gun overheats rather quickly. The best part of the game though is the decision making. The game does a good job in making you believe your choices are effecting the world around you, and in some part it does. The only problem with that is there shouldn't have been a color coding system on what's good and whats bad. It should be shades of gray in my opinion

84

The sequel

Simao20 | Sept. 20, 2013 | Review of Max Payne II: The Fall of Max Payne

Max Payne 2 continues where Max Payne originally left off. Max is of course depressed and has his problems. The game starts off with Max in a hospital and seems a bit confused, he is then attacked as he tries to flee. But this is only foreshadowing as the time line goes back in time to reach where the story ends and begins. Max looks into an investigation about a group of people who are called the cleaners and what they're trying to do and why they're killing . This is where Max meets old friends he didn't expect to see. There are two different endings to the game as well so there is some replayability .The development team really elevated their game , just about everything is better. The gun mechanics , the bullet time works better and quite frankly its a visually beautiful game for its time.

87

Lives up to expectations

Simao20 | Sept. 20, 2013 | Review of The Witcher II: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition

I had heard about this game from many people online and how it pushes your gaming rig to the max and boy are they right. One of the better games to come around in the past couple years, an action RPG (which I love) with a mature story and gritty tone is right down my alley. One of the main complaints about this game was the combat system was too hard, especially for people who aren't used to it but I had no problem with it at all. For me, using a controller is the best and easiest way to play this game at least I enjoyed it more . The graphics are stunning and the game world is rich and large. The story will take over 20 hours to complete with every choice you make changes something in the story. Its not like other games where theres a good or bad choice, its all shades of gray which I absolutely loved about the game. The only complaint I have with the game is the ending, without spoiling anything it ends rather abruptly , clearly to set up another game which is what they are doing. Its certainly worth getting

86

Wonderful game

Simao20 | Sept. 19, 2013 | Review of BioShock (NA)

The original Bioshock will go down as one of the best games this generation if not one of the best games of all time. The creepy setting of Rapture and crazy enemies keep you on the edge of your seat throughout the game. The story starts off with yoru character crash landing and being taken away to Rapture and as you get there you soon find out something isn't right about it. The shooting is very good and tight for an earlier generation game , that wasn't expected and the RPG elements are actually incorporated very well. You can have multiple powers to help your character throughout the game, as well as looting corpses to gather ammunition for the multiple weapons you can find in the game. Theres a level of replayability as well because you can either harvest or safe the little sisters and doing so will give you 3 different endings. Each play through will take roughly 10 hours or so, but its a great experience and well worth buying.

70

Solid sequel.

Simao20 | Sept. 19, 2013 | Review of Dead Rising 2

Dead Rising 2 builds off a solid first game of Dead Rising. Fairly open world with awesome ways to kill off zombie hordes. A new feature in the gameplay is the addition of adding weapons together and using them such as a 2 handed chainsaw or nails put into a baseball bat to deliver added damage. A new feature is the inclusion of online modes . New game modes have you up against multiple people in a gameshow having to kill off as many zombies as possible to get money which can be put into your offline game save. The story starts off with your main character much the same way with the zombie outbreak under control but still with zombies around and after the gameshow finishes you find the stadium overrun with zombies. You have to save your daughter and find out why the outbreak happened again and why you are being blamed for it.

83

Very fun

Simao20 | Sept. 19, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Absolution

Wasn't much of a Hitman fan growing up , the games were just far too complex for my liking but this game "simplifies" it a bit from previous games to lure in gamers such as myself. The controls are tighter than in previous Hitman games and its much easier to pull off execution kills. The graphics in the game are also fantastic, some of the best this generation. Its great on medium but if you have a graphics card capable of running it at maximum settings, you'll be in for a big surprise and joy. The story is around 10 hours . Its about how Agent 47 doesn't execute someone and holds her away in efforts in trying to find out why people want her.

70

Better second effort.

Simao20 | Sept. 19, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA)

I wasn't a big fan of the first borderlands game so I went into this game with low expectations but I must say that this was a much better second effort from gear box. I generally play games by myself so i of course played this game by myself. The game seems more refined for solo players which is something much more enjoyable than the past game. Just like the past game, RPG shooter but the game feels more tight and not as tedious as the previous game which gets my stamp of a approval especially playing with friends. Thats where this game will shine for sure, its meant to be played as a co-op game. As for the graphics, its a beautiful rendered cel-shaded graphics which are a joy to play through if you're a fan of this art style.

63

A little Disapointing

Simao20 | Sept. 19, 2013 | Review of Borderlands

I went into this game with high expectations, so many people praised it and held it in high regard but it fell flat for me. The story itself wasn't too bad and it takes around 15 hours or so, or at least for me it did. The map is pretty large and the vehicles can be fun to use at times but its got rough handling for my liking. The problem for me with this game was the RPG shooting mechanics , it just takes far too long to take down enemies which can become very tedious and boring , especially if playing by yourself. Thats what I did but this game certainly would be better with friends, as a solo player its not quite worth it but bring friends and the game will be a lot better

76

A good effort

Simao20 | Sept. 19, 2013 | Review of Dishonored Bethesda

I wasn't expecting much from this game, a first person stealth game isn't something I'm into but this game changed my mind for sure. I absolutely love the combat, especially the sword combat, its fun and it works very well for a first person game which I hadn't thought of. The story is good and has multiple endings which gives re-playability. In the beginning your character Corvo comes back to the Empress of Dunwall but gets framed for her murder. The whole game is spent trying to uncover the truth of what happens and clear your own name.The game takes around 8 or so hours give or take and its worth it especially for the replayability with multiple playthroughs .

80

Better than I thought

Simao20 | Sept. 19, 2013 | Review of Darksiders

I didn't get this game for too much so It wasn't a big investment. But I went into this game with mild expectations, had gotten some pretty good reviews and heard it had some good combat. Well after all the reviews they were right. The game has very good combat system especially with the RPG elements included leveling up your character is incredibly fun and satisfying. The one thing I dislike about the combat is that there isn't an actual counter button or at least I didn't notice it. The graphics are good, not outstanding but good for a game that has cartoonish graphics and no real issues with it as well. The story is about War starting the apocalypse but he didn't actually, you find out what happens but throughout the game he tries to clear his name. The game roughly takes around 15 or so hours and well worth it as well

64

A nice try

Simao20 | Sept. 15, 2013 | Review of Alpha Protocol

Alpha Protocol has some very good elements and a good idea but unfortunately it didn't quite work out the way I'd have hoped. The game itself has great potential, a mash up of great games like Mass Effect, Splinter Cell and others similar. The game does have technical flaws however, some buggy missions and cover system can be annoying to play with. The shooting can be rather hit or miss and the enemy A.I. can be pretty bad or incredibly super human in some areas of the game. The story itself is rather good , at least in my opinion but it gets held back by the gameplay which is unfortunate because its worse than Mass Effect 1's gameplay. It feels like a rushed product and had they waited and put more time into development it could have turned out to be a great game but it only falls flat

82

A good conclusion but a sloppy ending

Simao20 | Sept. 15, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 3 (NA)

Mass Effect 3, the final game in Bioware's epic space trilogy. Bioware was really on their game when they made this. You can really see the difference and feel how much better the game is overall in comparison to the previous 2 Mass Effect games. The story takes roughly 30 hours of course and its very good, up until the end where the game takes out your choices and makes a choice for you. Unfortunately Bioware felt the need to undermine every choice you made and made you feel as if the choices you made in the end didn't matter at all. The gameplay of course is the best in the series. The gun play is superb and the addition of running and rolling makes avoiding enemy fire that much better and more satisfying . A problem with the game though is the mission structure. It was a bit confusing, sometimes you would listen to a conversation and had no idea that you're possibly missing out on good information and even a side mission itself. They took out the need for actual interaction which breaks part of what made the game so great.

54

Overrated

Simao20 | Sept. 15, 2013 | Review of Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (NA)

I couldn't get into Dragon Age Origins no matter how hard I tried. I love the idea of being able to control your own game, make your own choices but I was incredibly disappointed when I found out that this was a traditional RPG game and not an action RPG game. Unfortunately this took me out of the experience and took any potential joy of this game , out of me. Buyer beware because I made that mistake and paid for it (literally). For a 2009 game, the graphics weren't that stunning, but its to be expected because it does have a lot in the game itself. I personally wouldn't recommend it unless you're an avid RPG player then maybe

63

Not that good

Simao20 | Sept. 15, 2013 | Review of Burnout Paradise: Ultimate Box (NA)

There's just something about burnout i just didn't really like. To me, it wasn't very fun at all. I didn't hate it by any means, I just didn't "love" it. The graphics were ok but the arcady feel to the game didn't appeal to me . I'm not a big driving game fan but I can enjoy sometimes but Burnout Paradise just was too boring for my taste. The world was decent but felt very empty. The customization felt a little weak . I will say that driving off certain jumps can be fun from time to time. The driving mechanics felt a little off to me, just something about it.This game just wasn't for me.

82

Impressive second effort

Simao20 | Sept. 15, 2013 | Review of Crysis 2: Maximum Edition (NA)

Crysis 2 expands on the fantastic formula that Crysis built upon and turned out a fantastic game. Crytek once again made another beautifully stunning game , this time set in New York. Its certainly a change from the island of the first game but Crytek pulled it off rather nicely. The story is rather long, takes about 15 or so hours but it can get tedius and makes you want to just finish the game as quickly as possible. Twists and turns do happen and its not a bad story but the problem is it does feel like it drags on longer than it should. Crysis 2 introduced a much better online multiplayer portion to the game and it worked rather well in the small( yet fairly big) cramped levels mixed in with fast paced action of the nano suits. I'd recommend getting all 3 games for sure , its fun to see the progression each game made upon the last, you certainly wont be disappointed

77

Beautiful start

Simao20 | Sept. 15, 2013 | Review of Crysis Maximum Edition (NA)

This game turned a lot of peoples heads when it came out years ago and for good reason. No game had the visuals that Crysis had. The big beautiful open world map , being able to swim around the island and even drive vehicles in the game. The story is pretty good, it can last up to around 10 hours or so depending on how long you take with certain missions and not getting lost on the island like I did a few times. It takes a bit to get into fighting off aliens but when you first encounter them, it was boring to me for the first hour and the level design was confusing for that section of the game. This game certainly wasn't optimized for controller support, it does work but its done very poorly which I wished was done better to give you more options on how to play the game.

85

Melts your PC

Simao20 | Sept. 15, 2013 | Review of Crysis 3 (NA)

The conclusion to the most beautiful looking series video games have seen. Crysis 3 caps off a great trilogy (for the time being). The story mode is great, it brings you into the nano suit of prophet once again who was the main protagonist in the original Crysis game. You don't get the open world of a Crysis 1 but you get big open areas in New York that gives you that feeling of freedom when tackling each mission. You can use multiple ways to take out enemies like going all in guns blazing or stealth with your cloak engaged. A great new weapon in the game is the bow. I wasn't too thrilled about it at first but once I got my hands on it, I used it more than any other weapon. The feeling of accomplishment when you get the kill is great. However, there is a downside to Crysis 3. The story is a bit short, in fact very short. It runs you about 4-5 hours which is very short in comparison to other Crysis games. The multiplayer is where I had most fun, tons of game modes but nothing brand new or game changing to online shooters of course. Its fun running around in your nano suit and taking out enemies online

71

Fun but could be better

Simao20 | Sept. 13, 2013 | Review of Need for Speed Most Wanted (NA)

I enjoyed this game quite a bit but its not without its faults. A beautifully visual game , big map but the problem is that it feels like the map is small or maybe I wasn't playing the game right. It felt as if I was always driving in the same locations. I do love that you can drive around without having to do any races however. That part of the game is fun but it can get bored after a while. The one thing that at least keeps you involved with the game is that you can search for cars and drive them without having to unlock them.The driving mechanics themself aren't that bad but it felt like i wasn't in total control of every car, felt as if there was some sort of lag. This game has a ton of potential which makes me excited for any future releases

87

My favorite simulator

Simao20 | Sept. 13, 2013 | Review of Football Manager 2013

I buy football manager each and every year and this year was no different. The only and best simulator for football. The most indepth game that just keeps getting more and more difficult and challenging. Adding in multiple tactics to train your team before every game is great and gives you more ideas on how to combat certain styles of play and tactics that other teams may oppose you with. Improve transfers making it harder to try to snap up younger players this time around which makes it more realistic and enjoyable. It really forces you to find those bargain players that can help you now and potentially in the future. The 3d match engine has improved once again and its a joy to watch your tactics play out on a 3d pitch instead of the old classic 2d game. Certainly recommended for any fan of football manager, it is the best version to date

71

Decent fun

Simao20 | Sept. 13, 2013 | Review of Just Cause 2

I had only purchased this game for a few bucks so I shouldn't be complaining to much here. The game is ok , its got a large map and a pretty good idea but it falls rather flat in my opinion. The game has a couple vehicles and some air crafts but there really isn't much to do in this game. I had heard great things but I felt very bored while playing it after an hour or so. The map albeit a big map, feels very empty and a lot is not going on in the world which pulls you out of it. The gun mechanics are decent enough, rather serviceable but it takes too many hits to take out enemies not to mention the auto lock can get annoying. One feature that I did find rather good was the grappling hook, you can lock on to virtually anything and propel yourself with speed and pull out a parachute . It can be rather fun catching yourself on a car, standing on top of it and connecting to another car and pull out your parachute. Its a solid game but don't expect something amazing.

85

Great game

Simao20 | Sept. 13, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider

One of the better games of 2013, especially early on. The Tomb Raider reboot wasn't something I was even looking forward to.But with great reviews I had to check it out and they were spot on . This is Lara Crofts origin story where she ends up stranded on an Island along with several of her crew mates and friends. Basically she has to save them and leave the Island. The game play is the best of the series , RPG like elements thrown in as well. The gun play works extremely well and being to upgrade your weapons throughout the game . The platforming is done well but you don't use it that often. All in all, its a great start to hopefully a fantastic rebooted trilogy or even more

80

My first MP experience

Simao20 | Sept. 13, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 2 Complete Collection (NA)

Battleifeld 2 was the first game that made me love the Battlefield series and was the first introduction to online multiplayer games for me. I absolutely full in love with how great this game was back then.The level design was something I'd never seen before, some of the best moments I've ever played in a game before. Destroying tanks with anti-tank mans or driving a dune buggie with C-4 attached jumping out and killing enemies after detonating it was a joy to behold. Its tough to go back to it now, but it was always one of my favorite games for multiplayer .

88

The conclusion

Simao20 | Sept. 13, 2013 | Review of Max Payne 3

Max Payne 3 is the final game(as it stands) in the Max Payne trilogy. Its set 10 years after the second game. Max is well pretty much having a tough time handling things after the events of the first and second game. He's addicted to pain killers and an alcoholic. Twists and turns throughout the story keep you engaged ,and it helps trying to find all the collectibles such as the golden gun mods.The game introduces for the first time cover mechanics. It works incredibly well as you take cover while enemies rain fire on you. However, there is a change gone is the full on comic book cut scenes to further the story in favor of full rendered in game cut scenes. There are some small hints toward the comic book nature of the game but ultimately its all cut scenes and quite frankly its done very well. Its the best game mechanically in the series for sure

94

Best Online Multiplayer

Simao20 | Sept. 13, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3 (NA)

The title says it all. This is the best online multiplayer you can buy. The Single player isn't exactly the best, its serviceable but the real meat and potatoes has to be the online multiplayer. The game features large beautifully stunning maps filled with plenty of toys to play with. Several vehicles , including boats , tanks, humvees and of course jets. Fully destructible environment gives you a feeling that you're never safe and always have to look over your shoulder in case a rocket launcher comes your way . The gun play mechanics is some of the best around, the unlockables really makes you want to keep playing so you can fully customize your gun. Plenty of game modes such as Conquest, capture the flag, rush and team death match. One of the best shooters around and certainly should be in your collection

89

The start of a brilliant trilogy

Simao20 | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of Max Payne

The beginning of one of my all time favorite trilogies. The style of the game was very different for its time, the comic book style cut scenes to further the story was a joy to watch. The gameplay was one of a kind back then, slow motion bullet time was fantastic to pull off. Diving into rooms slowing down time and taking out as many enemies as possible made you feel very accomplished , it was satisfying to pull off. The story was superb as well, the grittyness of the game and Max's need for revenge made it great to play through , it made you root for him. It was a great start for what will be a very memorable trilogy for many fans

81

Another fantastic GTA game

Simao20 | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV

I played this when the game came out and for its time it was one of the best games ever made. Its hard to go back now because the game feels very stiff in comparison to games like Max Payne , Sleeping Dogs and Saints Row The Third. The driving at the time was good but now feels too floaty as if you're driving on ice all the time. The fighting mechanics although different seem incredibly stiff and hard to maneuver compared with the likes of Sleeping Dogs and Saints Row's mechanics . This a very good game still, it just hasn't aged as well which is unfortunate bceause its not that old of a game. Its worth getting and playing but it has little re-playability for me these days which is unfortunate because of how great the story is

66

Solid but nothing new

Simao20 | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of Saints Row IV (NA)

What was meant to be part of DLC that was added into a full game is rather evident in this game. It bored me for the couple hours I played which is unfortunate because I loved the previous 3 games especially The Third.

Pros

  • Big open world
  • Great visuals
  • Same gameplay mechanics as before for easy pick up and play
  • Vast create a character mode
  • Over the top

Cons

  • Feels the same
  • Didn't enjoy the super hero elements
  • Boring and too different of a game to keep my interest

85

Great game

Simao20 | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Limited Edition

One of my favorite games of all of 2012. Such a large open world with great graphics and a compelling story.

Pros

  • Great story
  • Fantastic melee combat, best in any open world game
  • Great visuals
  • Large city to play in
  • Many different style of missions and gameplay elements

Cons

  • Stiff gun play can be a drag sometimes
  • Stuttered framerates from time to time during cut scenes

74

A throwback

Simao20 | Sept. 10, 2013 | Review of DuckTales: Remastered

Such a fun game and a reminder of how hard games were back in the 80's and 90s. But with that fun nostalgia comes the problems with older games and just how punishing they can be.

Pros -

Fun
Classic challenging gameplay mechanics you loved from the original Great remastered graphics Added in cut scenes

Cons -

Not being able to take off cut scenes but you can skip them Punishing which can be a turnoff for modern gamers Hit detection can be a bit suspect on certain enemies in certain areas