Reviews by Skeride

80

Fun coffee-break game

Skeride | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of Dead Pixels

This game doesn't have much lasting power, but the price point is just right for what it is.

It's a fun little diversion that never outstays its welcome. The game plays well, and the art, though pixellated, is nicely done and likely to bring a smile to your face.

A good value at the asking price.

65

This is not the game you're looking for

Skeride | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of Blood Knights

I pre-ordered this, thinking that at the discounted price, I'd at least get my money's worth, no matter how cheesy the game was.

Boy, was I wrong. There's no redeeming feature to this game. It plays kind of like Nocturne did over a decade ago, but Nocturne was more polished. The story makes no sense, the art is uninspired, and the gameplay is boring. There's nothing to make the player want to fire it up and see what's next.

That said, it's not a broken or unfinished game. It's completely playable, and I never ran into any bugs.

79

A beautiful game that's a bit too long

Skeride | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of BioShock Infinite (NA)

Bioshock Infinite is just as gorgeous and the story is just as neat as you've probably heard.

Unfortunately, the combat is not terribly inspired. It's closer to Doom II than to, say, Bulletstorm or even Saint's Row. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but the simplistic combat looks awkward as the driving mechanic behind and innovative storytelling experience.

I'm very glad I played through it to the end (something I don' normally do for shooters), and it's definitely worth full price, but I did catch myself looking at my watch and taking breaks during the last third.

The variety of enemies isn't great, and once you've found a weapon/spell combo you like, there's very rarely any reason to deviate from it. As a result, the battles you fight in the second hour are nearly indistinguishable from the battles you fight in the second-to-last hour.

One of the most interesting games of the last few years, and worth a playthrough, but the formula is starting to show its age.

80

Another excellent Nancy Drew adventure

Skeride | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of Nancy Drew: The Ghost of Thornton Hall

While not as educational as well-researched outings such as 'The Lost Queen', 'Thornton Hall' is a spirited (sorry, had to) traditional ghostly romp. Plays best if you've finished Shadow at the Water's Edge first, as there are some references to that game.

A must-buy for HER Interactive or Nancy Drew fans, and recommended for everyone else. A good value at full price.

95

The best Lego game so far

Skeride | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of LEGO Marvel Superheroes (NA)

I have the PC versions of all Lego games up to the Lego Movie except for Star Wars and Indiana Jones.

This is by far the best of the bunch. An open world, tons of unlockable characters (Squirrel Girl!), side missions, voice acting, great humour and in-jokes...

It's the pacing that makes this game so much fun. I was never bored or thinking I'd better take a break during my playthrough. Meanwhile, I could only stand to play the otherwise excellent Lego Lord of the Rings in half-hour bursts.

The only minus is that flying is poorly implemented. That's never been game-breaking for me, though.

A good value at full price, and a no-brainer during sales.

80

More of the same, but more grounded

Skeride | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of Batman Arkham Origins

This is a very good game. If you haven't played an Arkham game before, you'll be blown away. If you've played the others, think of this as a big mission pack. It doesn't add anything really new to the gameplay, but the quality is kept just as polished as it's ever been, and the graphics have been upgraded in predictable ways.

This is the least fantastic (as in fantasy) and most down-to-earth of the Arkham games, so if you prefer the Arrow TV series to, say, Batman Returns, you'll probably find this very enjoyable.

For a Batman fan or completionist, you'll get your money's worth even at full price, particularly since the online PvP mode is surprisingly fun and addictive. Everyone else may wish to wait for one of the frequent sales.

90

Excellent storytelling, true to the series

Skeride | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of The Wolf Among Us

This is a very stylish 3D choose your own adventure with surprisingly not-annoying quicktime event combat sequences.

Everything's very well done. The interface is minimalistic, and keeps you in the setting. The Fables universe is faithfully recreated. The music is forgettable, but appropriate and pleasant.

I own most Telltale adventure games, but this is the first one I didn't have to take regular breaks from playing due to lack of interest. Highly recommended, and a good value at full price.

(As of this review, only the first two episodes are out.)

90

A light-hearted coffee break rhythm game

Skeride | Feb. 19, 2014 | Review of Bollywood Wannabe

This rhythm game is hilarious and I had a blast playing through it. The art is gorgeous and distinctive, and while I didn't make use of it, you can raise the difficulty and increase the complexity of the game if you so desire, providing replay value.

One (fairly short) playthrough was enough for me, but I feel I got more than my money's worth. This is an undeservedly obscure game that I constantly recommend to friends.

85

An interesting word game

Skeride | Feb. 19, 2014 | Review of 99 Spirits

This game plays like an rpg evolution of word association games, and largely works. Keep in mind that you need some degree of fluency with English to do well in the game.

It's also interesting from an anthropologic point of view, since it's largely faithful to an ancient Japanese legend. As the story goes, artifical objects gain sentience after 100 years of use. To prevent this leading to a rebellion, tools are traditionally tossed out after 99 years. Once, a group of living, unhappy tools rebelled and took much of the country hostage. Only through cunning and an appeal to religion was disaster prevented.

This is a fun coffee break game and a playful glimpe into Japanese folklore. Just keep in mind that it IS a word/rhythm game, and not particularly deep. If you go in with those expectations, you'll have a lot of fun, and get more than the purchase price's worth of enjoyment.