Reviews by SnivMunchr

85

Way Underrated

SnivMunchr | July 7, 2011 | Review of Aliens vs Predator Pre

I got this game at a significant discount, and then only because it looked cool. I had read all the poor reviews, so I didn't have high expectations. It turned out to be a pretty exciting game. The multiplayer is a bit thin, but still fun. The single player is really where this game shines. While the Marine campaign is the longest, I found the predator campaign to be the most challenging and rewarding at the same time. Talking about it makes me want to play it again. Buy it. You'll like it.

45

Pretty Lame

SnivMunchr | July 7, 2011 | Review of Painkiller: Redemption DNS

I moderately enjoyed the first Painkiller game. Sadly, this one doesn't even come close: the load times are ridiculous, the game is extremely buggy, and there is almost nothing new about this game at all - just a boring re-hash of the first game. Just crap, really.

90

Excellent

SnivMunchr | July 7, 2011 | Review of Magicka: Vietnam DLC

This is even more fun than the normal campaign. Add some friends, and this is nearly perfect. If you get and DLC for Magicka, get this. While this won't change your mind about Magicka in general, it's certainly the best that Magicka has to offer.

85

Action Packed FPS

SnivMunchr | July 7, 2011 | Review of F.E.A.R. 3

While this game doesn't provide any scares, it doesn't lack for memorable action sequences. The overall atmosphere is excellent, despite the fact that the story is just short of paper-thin. Honestly, I didn't even notice until I finished the game. While this game may not be as good as the first, it is certainly better than the second F.E.A.R. in almost every respect - and this without even considering the Co-Op mode, which is really where this game shines. If you don't expect much in the scare or story departments, F.E.A.R. comes highly recommended.

80

Excellent Indie Title

SnivMunchr | July 7, 2011 | Review of Trine

I couldn't believe how much fun I had playing this indie, side-scroller game. The graphics are surprisingly good considering, and the game play is pretty unique. I didn't try this game out until I read the many raving reviews it got. I'm not saying this game will change your world or anything, but it's an enjoyable game, and I look forward to what this developer has to offer in the future.

85

Pretty Good Upgrade

SnivMunchr | July 7, 2011 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

Civilization was the first computer game I ever played. While the graphics have changed over the years, the basic game-play hasn't. Basically, if you like ANY version of this game, you'll really enjoy Civ V. Graphically, it's gorgeous. While there are a couple differences with game play that I don't really like(cities are tougher to conquer, you can only have one army per tile), this game is still a joy to play. Civilization is still the best turn-based strategy game around.

70

I Enjoyed This Game

SnivMunchr | June 28, 2011 | Review of Mafia II dns

Perhaps because I never played the first Mafia game, and maybe because of my low expectations, I thoroughly enjoyed this game. It has a fairly engrossing story, plenty of action, a open(ish) world to explore, and enough achievements to entice a re-play or two. All around good GTA-like game, as long as you don't pay full price or have high expectations. Be warned, however, the DLC is a waste of time and money.

60

Meh

SnivMunchr | June 28, 2011 | Review of BioShock® 2 DNS

What made the first Bioshock a masterpiece was the story, plain and simple. Sure, it was a new take on an old idea, with RPG-like elements, a neat magic-like "plasmid" system, and an unreal setting. But the game had emotive depth that was comparative to Half-Life: we CARED about the characters.

Bioshock 2, on the other had, felt like an attempt to cash in on the first's glory: same setting, few new ideas, and a complete lack of emotive story-telling. The story is a complete counterpoint to Bioshock, only without any kind of twist: you know everything that will happen before it happens. You run here, you run there - fight this, fight that, and then it ends, with a fairly obvious ending (depending on how you play the game). It looked pretty, but the substance just wasn't there.

Don't get me wrong, this isn't a BAD game, it just isn't even close to the mastery that is BioShock.

90

Deserved It's GOTY title

SnivMunchr | June 28, 2011 | Review of Borderlands

This is a wonderful mesh of RPG and FPS. Its loot system is very similar to most dungeon crawlers, but it plays like a shooter. While this game will provide hours of single-player fun, it really shines in co-op. The dialogue is superb, the bosses are over-the-top, and the action is relentless.

85

Underrated Gem

SnivMunchr | June 28, 2011 | Review of Magicka

This is an excellent Co-Op RPG, with a fantastic sense of humor. Yes, it can be pretty buggy, and it does take time to get used to the magic system, but these are small irritations compared to the fun you'll have killing goblins and your friends. In fact, the unique magic system ends up being one of this games greatest assets. Highly recommend this one.