Reviews by Snotnarok

16

Literally hurt my eyes

Snotnarok | Sept. 15, 2014 | Review of Max Payne 3

This isn't a game, this is a movie with some bits that you shoot in sometimes. There's so many lengthy videos and yes before you note: these videos mask loading times, which is not an excuse for squat. Seriously you'll be sat watching for up to 20 minutes waiting to play the game you bought, all the while the videos are covered with horrible video effects to immerse you in Max Payne's drunk/stoned mind. It wouldn't be so bad if the entire, game's, videos didn't do this. But it does, even does it sometimes in gameplay, I get it, you're telling me I've harped on about it enough. Well considering I've left sessions with burning eyes and a headache, I'm not sure I have- but I'll cut it short.

The gameplay was fun, you shot doods, they reacted and you did it in a variety of locals, it's well voice acted and the set pieces are neat. But the problem is, that's all you do. You basically finish watching a cutscene and you shoot, it's nothing like previous Max Payne titles where you're incontrol of the entire level. All the while you're sat there, stunned at how many cutscenes you're forced to watch and you have to watch most of them as said earlier it's masking load times, MASSIVE ones. Sonic 2006 has NOTHING on this game and it's loading, it's just hidden under a movie here.

To stack the crap on top, to play this game not only do you need steam but you need a Rockstar Social Club account for ...some reason and I dunno about you but 2 step DRM is not something I'm a fan of.

Previous entries had lengthy comic like cutscenes but they were skippable and there was a lot of running around and shooting to do while voice work may play while you're walking about- keeping you in the game. I cannot say avoid this loading screen of a game enough, what good gameplay there is, is buried under bloated cutscenes. Watch a LP if you must or if you're SO set on this game, go look up an LP that hasn't cut this stuff out to see what you're getting into. As for me, this is 30 GB of game I'm happy to spare my poor eyes and headache filled brain of.

94

Great job on this one.

Snotnarok | Sept. 10, 2014 | Review of Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed

Let me sort this, firstly this is a solid port in the regards that it has online, local split-screen multiplayer and works very easily with 360 and other game pads. Right off the bat the one issue with S.A.R.T. is many of the characters and tracks are locked and you have to unlock them in single player. A major gaming sin where you get this game to play with friends and it requires a little bit to unlock tracks, characters.

THAT SAID, a hour or two will unlock a lot of it and you'll have plenty of incredibly made tracks, a nice character roster with different options for how they drive. There's a reason Mario Kart 8 has anti-gravity, because this games track design plays out with 3 vehicle modes, car, boat, plane all of them handling well bringing some car physics into each (drifting as a plane/boat, wot?). Speaking of Mario Kart, know what I never liked about those games? The powerful items, the items that will insure you will have a annoying time in any place above last? The items in this game aren't super powerful, meaning there's more focus on driving well and driving fast. Something I'm happy to see as that was something that always drove me mad about Mario Kart.

Enough about that game! I can't say how many tracks there are, but there's a good amount with their own themes, layouts and nostalgic nods to other game series ranging from House of the Dead to Golden Axe.

Look, ya like kart racers but don't have a nintendo console or Crash CTR? This isn't a crap clone, this is competition, again the anti-gravity in MK8 really aiding to that argument.

90

Must have

Snotnarok | Sept. 10, 2014 | Review of Sonic Generations

Okay let me start by saying if you get this game, you can basically get 'a free ticket' for the awesome levels in Sonic Unleashed. There's a mod that has all of the day/modern Sonic levels that work in this game with a simple to use mod interface called Sonic GMI.

Sonic Generations by itself is 2 games in one, play as Classic Sonic then there's Modern Sonic. Each level will let you play as both, that doesn't mean it's the same level, no, not even close. Classic Sonic only moves in 2D and his levels are very much his own, same with Modern Sonic, they're themed the same with the same gimmicks. Down to having the giant truck chase you in that one Sonic Adventure 2 level you all love so much.

Classic Sonic does not have the same handling as he did in the 2D games, it's similar at best. Just have one go at the spindash and you'll get what I mean. Modern Sonic handles like a car out of the game Burnout, you got your fast parts where you're literally drifting around corners and darting around the stage. You'll play through levels that may be familiar to you visually but they're all remade from the ground up for each character and their play style.

Only negatives I can think of (without the mod) the game is a bit short, maybe 3 hours if you plough through it, the levels are really fun to replay but that's not everyones cup of tea. There's a lot of challenge levels where you'll engage in going through part of a level with the help of another character to get around or whatever. Oh, and they've got bossfights obviously, revamped and crazy from past games and have a good nostalgic feel to them but are fun otherwise. There's also not much in the way of cutscenes, they're just sorta there to say "Here's a new level!", while this is a major complaint to some...it's a Sonic game, your story was summarized on the back of the box till the Dreamcast.

With the Unleashed mod you get 6 more levels about, and if you're really feeling like modding the game you can play as anyone from Sonic to Knuckles, Blaze a real hedgehog, Robotnik himself.

Bit of a disjointed review but honestly the game is worth it if you like platformers or just going crazy fast.

77

Solid action RPG

Snotnarok | Sept. 10, 2014 | Review of Beyond Oasis

You play Ali, you find a golden armlet and find that you need to go to dungeons and free spirits who will help you as you find them through said dungeons. It looks like Zelda but plays a bit differently, you have abilities you do by doing fighting game like moves on the Dpad (quarter circle, forward back forward etc) and then your armlets ability to summon spirits from the elements they're in tune with.

The game looks great, has a simple story, has a bunch of areas to explore and the spirits you summon offer unique ways to fight/get around that you don't see in other titles. It's one major downfall is the music is just bland, this carried over to it's prequel on the Saturn so I don't know what's up with that. It's a fun game to be sure.

90

Great game, with more content than you think

Snotnarok | Nov. 4, 2013 | Review of Sonic Generations

Sonic Generations is criminally overlooked because of previous 3D Sonic titles quality being mixed at best. They put a lot of effort into this game and it shows in every level, the PC port is no slouch either. The game is beautiful and the visual style very pleasing, to best explain the game with Modern Sonic you run at speeds that would make Burnout games blush. You are crazy fast, so fast Sonic can drift around tight turns. Classic Sonic plays, as you expect; like his classic counterpart, it's by no means EXACT, he feels different for sure but it's good. There's 2 acts to each level and about 9 levels, several boss fights have been remade, oh er, yes each level's style is taken from a previous Sonic title ranging from Green Hill Zone, Chemical Plant, Planet Wisp, Sea Side Hill.

To further this game's level of amusement, a great mod out there: Project Unleashed is a very easy to install mod that adds the day levels from Sonic Unleashed, the levels this game's modern Sonic levels were based on. There's ...maybe 7 levels to be had there, all ported over perfectly, and these levels were only previously on Console prior to this so it's just really great to have this option. I'm not one to blindly enjoy games based on maker, or who's in it, I've not liked many of Sonic's 3D outings, but this one really did a great job of bringing both Classic and Modern gameplay into one well made game.

94

Crackdown and Prototype, eat your heart out

Snotnarok | Aug. 28, 2013 | Review of Saints Row IV NA

Saints Row has always been a more comical version of GTA with over the top stuff like dildo swords and cesspool trucks that you can use on houses.

Saints Row has gone the whole hog and has given you super powers, super sprint, ice blast, fire blast, lift people with your mind, then fire them several blocks away with ease? Or just lift them to drain health. You can leap several stories high and with an unlock system you progressively get stronger. But Snotnarok, aren't cars now useless? To a degree yes, but you can also power them up so Nitrus allows you to plow through traffic. But Snot! Doesn't these powers make the game easy? ..What? No! The aliens are relentless, they teleport in, or take people over Agent Smith style (Matrix), send UFOs, Terminators, and even super powered aliens after you, and it's not easy to shake them. You've been nerfed as well, you don't have regenerating health, to regain health you need to kill enemies and pick up the health bits they drop.

The game is solid, funny and considering how poorly Crackdown 2 and Prototype 2 were made this game really stands alone without competition. Infact if you have played Prototype, Hulks Ultimate Destruction or Crackdown a lot of these powers may seem familiar...and that's a good thing in my book.

I'm maybe a bit bias as I've fallen in love with the series, but I can assure you it's a great port and just a fun game to play. Saints Row 4 however doesn't replace Saints Row 3 as they're completely different, SR3 is more GTA styled. Avoid Saints Row 2 on PC, it's an amazing game but the port is very lack luster and you'll need a more powerful machine than typically recommended.

85

A new players perspective

Snotnarok | July 19, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider: Anniversary

I've only played Tomb Raider 2 back when that was new on the PSOne, while I remember it being good platformy fun I don't have a lot of experience with the TR series. Infact I've avoided it because of a lot of negativity that was around the series after the 3rd game. I decided to pick this up on sale because I'm a huge fan of games like Flashback:Quest for Identity, Uncharted, etc and I was very very pleasantly surprised with this title.

As an updated game you expect them to shove in modern mechanics like regenerating health or ammo stock piles. No, the game offers health packs, ammo where you find it as a reward as your pistols are infinite. The game runs smoothly and the mechanics offer more variables in platforming than seen in todays modern games like Uncharted, also routes are not always obvious which is nice instead of everything shining or being highlighted. The game is a splendid port with options varying from widescreen to nicer textures and PC specific visuals. The game is not Uncharted visually but it does look and move very nicely, as someone who's not been with the TR series I recommend this as a new player and fan of the series. Crystal Dynamics did a awesome job from where Core left off.

80

A fun romp

Snotnarok | July 3, 2013 | Review of Sniper Elite v2 + DLC Bundle

I'm not all the way through the game, maybe 7 missions+ in, the other reviewers don't seem to enjoy the way the game functions, however the game is fun if you're looking for a fun shooter that does solid sniping with a variety of ways to adjust the difficulty. The difficulty adjustments allow you to change how bullets behave (bullet drop, breathing etc, you can increase how it effects shots or turn these functions off), how smart enemies are and the like. I didn't see a problem with the close range combat as that's something you should be avoiding and are granted the means of keeping distance: a sniper rifle, landmines,trip mines, rocks to distract enemies...if they manage to get past all this you have a SMG and pistol (one of them silenced if you so chose), the handling is only clunky if your heartrate is up.

The game is by no means a sim, you will be sniping gas caps on full on tanks and they somehow detonate.

If you have an interest in sniping in shooters this really is a good romp, it's not like there's a lot of options for games you are supposed to strictly snipe, but even then this game stands out and does well.

91

Superior in every way to Borderlands 1

Snotnarok | July 2, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA)

Borderlands 1 was a fun game but had some issues this game clears up. Borderlands 2 offers similar gameplay with more gun variety-including ways the guns function, better vehicle handling & more vehicles, a more diverse cast of characters with their own unique abilities, a more present story with more interesting things happening.

Better yet the multiplayer is far easier to get into because it's not using the bloody gamespy service! It will tell you which of your friends are playing in the main menu with the lvl and class they're using, and party members can even hop in and out of your game easily.Told you it was better all around! :D

Better yet it's no shovelware to PC, you get a wide array of options to adjust to get the game running smoothly on your PC as well as offering options that make it surpass the console version visually. It runs well even on my older 2.66 core 2 duo CPU/Nvidia 560 machine with only a few things on medium settings.

The game is certainly best played with friends, so find someone to play with and hop in a match and shoot some jerks!