Reviews by Splodey

84

Different

Splodey | June 9, 2012 | Review of Alan Wake's American Nightmare

Alan Wake's American Nightmare isn't a sequel to the original, but it isn't less disappointing. Rather than continuing the story of Alan Wake, in American Nightmare, this time you are trapped in the TV show called Night Springs. Alan Wake's American Nightmare focuses more on action, there are more weapons this time around, and the new Arcade Mode has been added in which you have to survive until dawn. As I stated previously American Nightmare isn't a sequel to Alan Wake, but it does have a story mode. The story mode might be a bit easy, due to more weapons than in the original, and ammunition not being scarce. Don't get me wrong, the story is a blast, but sometimes it feels a bit too easy. Alan Wake's American Nightmare ditches the creepy woods of Bright Falls, and is replaced with a Arizona looking location. The location is good looking, but it lacks the atmosphere that made the first game really shine. This also makes the game less creepy, because enemies don't have trees to ambush you, and sometimes you can even tell where the enemies will come from.

Overall Alan Wake's American Nightmare is a good spin off to the original, but it has a bigger focus on action this time around, if you enjoyed the original Alan Wake, you will enjoy this standalone too.

100

Perfect

Splodey | June 6, 2012 | Review of Max Payne 3 DNS

Max Payne 3 continues the story of a former NYC detective, Max Payne. Max Payne 3 ditched the snowy streets of New York, and went for a sunnier place called São Paulo, where Max works private security for a rich businessman Rodrigo Branco. Everything doesn't go according to plan, when Rodrigo Branco's wife gets kidnapped, this leads to a new Max Payne story.

The gameplay in Max Payne 3 is really solid. The shooting is satisfying, with bullet holes you leave in your enemies, and really nice gun sounds. Of course Max's signature Bullet Time and Shoot Dodge are back. Bullet Time works like in the previous games, where with just a push of a button you can slow down time, which gives you a momentum to score some good kills.

Max Payne 3 is a beautiful game. The graphics are amazing, the attention to detail is extraordinary. The one thing that really amazed me was, when I shootdodged into the ground, and when Max stood up his shirt was dirty. As I said the game looks really, really nice. The cutscenes make a really big part of the game. The cutscenes are not like in the two previous Max Payne games, this time, still images aren't used and are replaced by motion captured performance. Though the comic book panels are still there, and they fit really well, even though the cutscenes are made in a different way. Rounded up the cutscenes are about 4 hours of the game, but they are not a drag to watch, the amazing voice acting and beautiful animations really make the cutscenes look realistic.

Max Payne 3 has solid gameplay, amazing graphics and great voice acting which make it an amazing sequel to the Max Payne franchise.

90

Good game

Splodey | May 4, 2012 | Review of Jane's Advanced Strike Fighters

Jane's Advanced Strike Fighters is a good flight simulator. The first time I tried this game, it instantly reminded me of Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X, which is not a bad thing. Both games are alike, both are good. Gameplay in Jane's Advanced Strike Fighters is really addicting and really fun. I have encountered some glitches, but it wasn't anything big. The most satisfying feeling is, when you take some stubborn enemy. The audio is awesome, you really feel a sense of speed when you fly high in the skies. The explosions and gunfire have really nice sounds. The graphics are really impressive. The jets are really detailed, and so are the effects. The lighting in the game is really nice. In conclusion Jane's Advanced Strike Fighters is a really good flight simulator. If you like this game, check out Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X, both games are similar but in a good way.

93

Wow!

Splodey | May 2, 2012 | Review of Amerzone: The Explorer's Legacy

Amerzone, is just unbelievable. I fell in love with this game only a couple hours in. It's just, it has something special, I can't explain it, it's just amazing. What really amazed me was that I discovered that the game is from 1999, and I thought it will be horrible. And then I played it, and I was blown away by the high quality of the game. The graphics are amazing for a game from 1999. Most importantly, is the story, oh the story. Imagine your favorite book, and imagine it being transformed into a game. The adventure is full of awesome. This is definitely worth checking out, Amerzone is just wonderful.

24

Really boring

Splodey | May 2, 2012 | Review of Atlantis Evolution

Atlantis Evolution is a bad game. From my experience the game had so much potential, I was looking forward to playing this game, but I was highly disappointed.
The gameplay is really weak in Atlantis Evolution. You just drag yourself through the whole game, it's really boring. The only things I actually liked about the game were the visuals and the soundtrack. About the visuals: The game has this rather "cartoony" look and it really suits it. About soundtrack: The soundtrack is really beautiful, I would recommend checking it out. Other than those two points, the game doesn't offer anything special. I thought that the game really had potential, it's a great idea, but it's just poorly executed. I wouldn't recommend this game.

90

Great

Splodey | May 2, 2012 | Review of Space Empires IV Deluxe

Space Empires IV deluxe, is awesome! A really challenging game, Space Empires is really hard for players new to the genre, but after a couple of hours you can easily get the hang of it. After getting the hang of the game it's almost impossible to stop paying it. The part I love about Space Empires is the mods, there is a large community making mods, and if you like to make mods yourself, you're in luck, the game comes with modding tools. This is an awesome game, but I wouldn't recommend it to players who don't like spending too much time just getting hang of the game, as I said this game takes time to get used to, this isn't one of those modern shooters. Conclusion: I highly recommend this game, this is a real "Gamers game".

70

Good

Splodey | May 2, 2012 | Review of Deadly 30 cap

Deadly 30 is a fun action game. The game is about surviving 30 nights while defending yourself from zombies. Deadly 30 has some cool elements, but one thing that really annoyed me was that it felt like a flash game, most flash games have the same visuals nowadays. The gameplay is simple but solid, personally I didn't encounter any bugs or glitches, the controls were nice and tight. The audio in the game is fairly simple, I personally liked the ambient sounds, really made the atmosphere of the game much better. In conclusion Deadly 30 is a pretty good game, at a fair price, I recommend this game to people who like zombies.

81

Underrated

Splodey | May 1, 2012 | Review of Postal III

Postal 3 is a really fun game. It's a really old school game, very similar to Postal 2 minus the FPS part. And this is the part where lots of people got pissed off, it's not an FPS anymore. Believe me this doesn't change anything, it actually suits the game to be in 3rd person. Postal 3 has pretty good graphics nothing too special, but nothing horrible either, most rigs can run it due to it using the Source Engine. Gameplay in Postal 3 is a lot of fun. Lots of outlandish guns and lots of violence. The story is fairly simple, following the events after the last Postal game. Voice acting doesn't really sound professional, but it brings some extra humor to Postal 3. The only drawback of the game is that at some parts it doesn't feel finished, some bugs and glitches that sometimes break the game. Over all Postal 3 is a fun game, from a small company. I recommend this game to people who don't care all that much about the story, and just want to have fun.

82

Very addictive

Splodey | Sept. 1, 2011 | Review of Mechanic Infantry

Mechanic Infantry an addictive indie game with over a series of 50 platforming levels, it will keep you entertained for quite some time. The game will always keep your on your toes because there are huge robots chasing you, which means you cannot just stroll through the game. The boss fights are a really nice touch to the game, so being chased and fighting bosses is really a lot of fun. The only drawback about this game is it's bad controls. You sometimes don't feel like you are in control. But if you're able to get past the frustrating controls, Mechanic Infantry is a really fun game. If you like platformers then you cannot miss this one.