Reviews by StewartX

75

Good game but very short (finished in 6 hours)

StewartX | Oct. 4, 2012 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Space Marine (THQ)

I really enjoyed this game but it is incredibly short. Still, its a heap of fun and I feel satisfied. It does feel odd not having a crouch key so a lot of the cover given is of no use as your head sticks out but I guess they wanted to capture the space marine mentality that they don't hide from confrontation. They also focus on a lot of melee as well, you'll end up using your chainsaw blade as much as your guns. Well worth the purchase!

Graphics: 8/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 4/10 Multiplayer: Yes Overall: 75/100

75

A great game once you get past the bugs

StewartX | Oct. 4, 2012 | Review of Kane & Lynch: Dead Men

Kane and Lynch is a great game once you get past the bugs. I noticed that if you play this and the dreaded crash popup appears, ignore it, don't click it, just alt tab back into the game and you can continue on. Clicking it will completely exit the game. Sadly this has never been patched and the game support has been completely abandoned. Still, if you can get past this it is a wonderful game with a rich and brutal story with an end game choice that will tear at you one way or another. Also Lynch is CRAZY! :)

Gameplay: 7/10 Story: 7/10 Graphics: 5/10 Mulitplayer: Yes however no servers Overall: 75/100

75

A great addition to the Hitman franchise

StewartX | Oct. 4, 2012 | Review of Hitman 2: Silent Assassin capsule

This is the sequel to Hitman: Codename 47. You can play this without ever playing the first but I feel it is best to start from the beginning of the series. The game style is a third person FPS in which you have multiple ways to take down an enemy, you can either stealth kill, rambo kill or assassinate your targets via a wide range of options. Grab it while it is on sale! Gameplay: 7/10 Story: 7/10 Graphics: 6/10 Mulitplayer: No Overall: 75/100

60

Old but Gold

StewartX | Oct. 3, 2012 | Review of Hitman: Codename 47 Capsule

This game is rather dated nowadays but there is still fun to be had. This is the first Hitman game and if you've never played any of these then now is a good time to get into it. The game style is a third person FPS in which you have multiple ways to take down an enemy, you can either stealth kill, Rambo kill or assassinate your targets via a wide range of options. Grab it while it is on sale! Gameplay: 7/10 Story: 6/10 Graphics: 4/10 Mulitplayer: No Overall: 60/100

75

Good game with a few annoying moments

StewartX | Oct. 3, 2012 | Review of Aliens vs Predator Pre

I really enjoyed AVP however there is a lot of room for improvement. My biggest grief with the game is the death animations. Some of these animations of killing your enemy can take a good 10 seconds which is more than enough time for all your enemies friends to shoot you to ribbons. The multiplayer is fun but servers appear deserted so you'll need a few friends together to get any enjoyment out of it. Other than that, it is a pretty good game. 3 campaigns (Human, Alien and Predator) however 2 of them are rather short. Gameplay: 7/10 Story: 7/10 Graphics: 8/10 Multiplayer: Yes (Deathmatch styles only, no story coop) Overall: 75/100

85

A whole heap of fun!

StewartX | Oct. 2, 2012 | Review of Borderlands 2 DNS

If you are a fan of the first one then you'll love the second! Borderlands 2 takes the best from Borderlands 1 and tweaks the rest. The game is a lot more balanced and well thought through. Most of the phrases uttered by the foe are hilarious and the story / missions entertaining. I've only just purchased this myself and already 20 hours into it. Be warned, this game will take away your social life... you know... unless you can get 3 other friends together to play through the game with you. (Should also note that cars can now fit all four players in at once) Graphics: 8/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 8/10 Multiplayer: Yes, up to 4 players. Overall: 85/100

80

I love this game!

StewartX | Aug. 3, 2012 | Review of Defcon: Everybody Dies DNS

I love this game! I always play as the defender and try not to get any of my cities nuked but that just isn't this game. You'll get nuked, again and again. Your anger rises and you push the big red button, launching everything you've got at the aggressor until the whole world glows green. It isn't called everyone dies for nothing. You can play against AI or friends, a lot of fun is to be had here and strategy will determine if your land is less green glowing than your neighbours. At $1.99 it is a no brainer, purchase and enjoy the chaos that is DEFCON.

Graphics: 4/10 (Indie) Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 1/10 Mulitplayer: Yes

60

Fun game to waste a few hours on

StewartX | Aug. 2, 2012 | Review of Darwinia DNS

If you can get this game for under $3 I say it is totally worth it. I know it doesn't look like much it it is strangely addictive and fun. I also found this to be more fun than Multiwinia. As for the game style... I don't really know what to call it. Darwinia doesn't fall into any one game genre, as it mixes between strategy, action, puzzle, hacker, and God games alike. This makes it a very unique experience and as I mentioned before, if you can get it for a few dollars then give it a go.

The story is rather basic, you play the roll of a hacker that by chance comes across Darwinia and are enlisted by scientist to stop a virus from wiping out decades of research. It is actually quite hilarious to find out the main enemy of the game is email spam.

Graphics: 2/10 (Indie game) Gameplay: 6/10 Story: 2/10 Multiplayer: No, however if you are interested in this to be multiplayer then check out Multiwinia.

80

Grab if on sale

StewartX | Aug. 2, 2012 | Review of Mafia

I'm a fan of the Godfather and this game makes you feel like you are in the thick of it. Building your way up from a small fry driver to one of the Dons top hitmen. Though this game is old (Released in 2002) it is still a great game to play today. It is the same game style as GTA 3 where it seems that the police have nothing better to do other than chasing you down for speeding. It isn't without its flaws though and has some bugs but not enough to ruin the gameplay. The one thing that really annoyed me was the cars, it always felt like they are going so slow, to the exception of the F1 race in the game. I think that was the hardest part in the game, it was like trying to control a brick being thrown through the air. Still, I would recommend this game to anyone. The story alone makes it worth the purchase. Also if you own Mafia 2 you'll notice a direct link to the end of this game. I won't give any spoilers.

The story in this game is absolutely amazing, right from the get go you are hooked on it. You feel for the characters and actually care about what happens to them. I had a great time with this game, I hope you do to.

Graphics: 5/10 (Hasn't aged well) Gameplay: 9/10 Story: 10/10 Multiplayer: No

Final words: "You know, the world isn't run by the laws written on paper. It's run by people. Some according to laws, others not. It depends on each individual how his world will be, how he makes it. And you also need a whole lot of luck, so that somebody else doesn't make your life hell. And it ain't as simple as they tell you in grade school. But it is good to have strong values and to maintain them. In marriage, in crime, in war, always and everywhere. I messed up. So did Paulie and Sam. We wanted a better life, but in the end we were a lot worse off than most other people. You know, I think it's important to keep a balance in things. Yeah, balance, that's the right word. Cause the guy who wants too much, risks losing absolutely everything. Of course, the guy who wants too little from life, might not get anything at all."

20

Had good potential but the bugs killed it

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of Flatout 3: Chaos and Destruction

I'm a fan of racing car games, in my top five would be the original Flatout but it feels like they rushed Flatout 3 and it seems to suffer from performance issues. My PC isn't a beast but it is pretty darn powerful (Can play Battlefield 3 with ease) but Flatout 3 struggles. I really wish they had let BugBear develop the game as I fear Team6 killed it. Still, this could just be me, perhaps everyone else is having a blast with it and it is just something on my PC that is causing the issues. From what I could play it seemed like it would be fun. I know this isn't really a review but thought to let people know the potential issues with this game. Metacritic gave it 23/100 so unless on sale and a good price you might want to give this one a miss.

70

Amazing game... but slightly repetitive

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of RAGE: Special Edition (International)

I had a great time with this game but friends of mine hated it sighting poor level design and repetitive gameplay. I on the other hand, while agreeing that the levels can get repetitive must say that the gameplay is amazing! They have put a lot of thought and content into this game (there are minigames within as well, one is almost a clone of Magic: The Gathering) and includes a decent amount of car racing (some races are with armed cars -miniguns / rockets so it becomes more of a destruction derby) but it is a bit short. I was able to finish the entire game within 10 hours and it could have really done with a more in depth ending (I won't tell you the ending but it is a 20 second CGI clip that is really basic). I haven't tried the multiplayer part but it looks like there are a few good modes to try out.

Another issue is the graphics, they tried to be revolutionary (Id 5) and use one giant texture and render what the player looks at... this doesn't really work too well in the real world, you are constantly reminded that this is a game with textures rendering where you look and losing that player immersion. Still, I enjoyed it. Hope you do to. I wouldn't pay full price for it but at a 50% off sale or something I'd recommend picking it up.

Graphics: 7/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 4/10 Multiplayer: Yes

95

Absolutely amazing! BUY! BUY IT NOW!

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of The Darkness II (ANZ)

Wow, just... wow. I can say for sure that if they hadn't of used cell shading graphics then this game would have been banned in most countries for excessive violence. For instance you can shove your demon arm things up an enemies butt and pull out his spine... yeah... and that is the tip of the iceberg my friends. I really enjoyed this game and even though The Darkness 1 was a console only they do their best to get you up to speed. The single player is short(ish) as I was able to finish the entire game (taking my time as well) within 9 hours but it is worth every penny! Another great aspect is the multiplayer, you can join up to 3 others and do missions that tie in with the main campaign in which you can choose different characters with different strengths and weaknesses. Awww... thinking about it I've got to play it again.

So to recap, NOT FOR KIDS! Don't buy for your children, this is an adults only game and well worth your money! Pros: Everything awesome town has to offer Cons: Very short. Multiplayer adds another 4ish hours but still very short on the time scale.

Graphics: 9/10 Gameplay: 9/10 Story: 9/10 Multiplayer: Yes! OH YES!

80

Great price for a great pack

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of THQ 5-Pack

Very quick review as it is a multipack. This is an excellent price for 5 great games.

Metro 2033: Great game set in a post-nuclear future. FPS and a lot of fun. Graphics: 8/10 Gameplay: 7/10 Story: 6/10 Multiplayer: No

Warhammer 40,000 - Dawn of war II: RTS game, very different to the original DoW style of RTS. Graphics: 7/10 Gameplay: 7/10 Story: 7/10 Multiplayer: Yes and Coop as well.

Company of Heroes: Squad based RTS (So an RTS with limited resources and no "farming") Graphics: 7/10 Gameplay: 7/10 Story: 5/10 Multiplayer: Yes

Saints Row 2: Whacky GTA style game, however very poorly coded onto PC (Was a console game) and has some serious issues with windows 7. Graphics: 5/10 Gameplay: 9/10 Story: 5/10 Multiplayer: No

Red Faction: Guerilla: In my opinion this is the best game of the pack, great fun FPS/GTA style game with destructible buildings. Highly recommended! Graphics: 8/10 Gameplay: 9/10 Story: 8/10 Multiplayer: Yes

68

Give it a go

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of Condemned: Criminal Origins CAP

I really liked this game and in the day I believe it was one of the first FPS games to move away from guns and focus more on melee weapons (like Dead Island). You'd always find a gun but with only a few bullets and ended up beating people to death with the butt of the gun instead! HaHa, good times, good times. If you see it for under $10 give it a go. I'm sure you'll like it. Graphics: 7/10 (Old but still good) Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 6/10 Multiplayer: No

80

What an awesome game!

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of Grand Theft Auto III DNS

GTA 3 was ground breaking in its day, quite dated now (graphics have that block look) but wow, if you have never played it and like the newer GTA games then get this to experience it from the beginning.

Graphics: 5/10 (Haven't ages well) Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 8/10 Multiplayer: No.

70

Interesting game that was originally made for the Xbox 360

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of Miner Wars 2081

One thing you should note is that this game is still in the Alpha release and so still has some bugs etc. You can buy now and get access to the Alpha but keep in mind you might also want to wait till the finished product is released. With that said here is what I think of the Alpha release. Miner Wars is an interesting game, it was originally made for the Xbox 360. Anyway, you control a mining ship across the inner Solar System and is set in a fully destructible and open-world environment which remains persistent as you complete missions or play online with others (A good thing to note is that are able to complete the entire story campaign with multiple online allies). The down side of course is that you need a constant internet connection to play the single player portion of the game.

Combat will take place in open space and also in interior environments, I.E inside an asteroid base. As I said before everything is destructible and enemy players will be able to drill their way through objects to bypass your defenses.

They are also making a MMO version due out later this year. So don't get confused with this one.

80

If you are a fan of the Godfather films this is the game for you

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of Mafia II dns

If you are a fan of the godfather films this is the game for you. Feels like you are in the movie and it is action all over the place. The best way I can describe it is GTA set in the 1940's. Loved every minute of it! It has an excellent soundtrack as well with about 200 songs (All 1950's songs making you feel like you are living in the day), also don't buy this for kids as it is has one of the highest usage of profanities in any game I can recall. Graphics: 8/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 8/10 Multiplayer: Single player only (Damn!)

55

Fun game to pass the time with

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of Zombie Driver

While this game has no story it is a great way to pass a few mins. It is basically a top down car racing game where you are in a small map and you must undertake various missions to rescue civilians, slaughter zombies and unlock/upgrade various cars. Good fun for a few dollars. Wouldn't pay more than $5 for it though. Graphics: 5/10 (Indie) Gameplay: 6/10 Story: 2/10 Multiplayer: No

70

Love this Indie title

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of Trine

Trine is a fantastic indie game filled with puzzles and adventure. The part I like is that while having puzzles none are hard enough to ruin the fun and a generally a bit simple (So your puzzle lover might not like how easy it is) however the adventure side is great. It says it is also multiplayer but I think you need to do some witchcraft to get it working... but well worth the purchase. Graphics: 6/10 (Indie title) Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 6/10 (lacking - pretty much "Save the lands from evil")

80

Not a bad game - Multiplayer is where it shines

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days

The single player part is a bit boring, very much a "hide behind this and shoot" the entire way through. The story is weird and doesn't make a huge amount of sense other than "you dun goofed, now you die". So if this review was based only on single player then it wouldn't be high at all. Good thing this game has multiplayer! That is where this game shines. The only down side is lack of players and you can't start the game without at least 4 to 6 players. If you can get a group of friends together it'll be a fun night! I loved the robberies as you've always got the option to shoot your teammate in the back and take his cut of the profits! Top marks for that! Makes the game so much more interesting. Graphics 8/10 Gameplay Single 5/10 Gameplay Multi 9/10 Story 2/10

20

Terrible game

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of NecroVisioN: Lost Company Cap

I got this game free with GMG (Thank you for that) but it was terrible. I traded it in as soon as I could. The voice acting alone is enough to make you hate this game. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone unless it was under $2. For $2 it is a fun 30 mins before you hit the uninstall button. Very buggy as well with boss fights that are a joke. Graphics: 2/10 Gameplay: 2/10 Story: 2/10 Multiplayer: Pretty sure it was single player only

85

Great game but doesn't quite live up to the expectations from 1

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of BioShockĀ® 2 DNS

I was a huge fan of Bioshock 1 (If you haven't played it, get that now) but I felt a little let down with 2, maybe they should have let 2K Boston (they did Bio 1) make 2 rather than passing it on? Maybe because I didn't feel like they added enough to it? You don't feel the weight of a shattered utopia like you did with the first... Either way it is still a great game and highly recommended, plus it has a brilliant multiplayer! However with that said, buy with friends as the servers are pretty dead these days. Grpahics: 8/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 8/10 Multiplayer: Yes

92

Beautiful game that stands the test of time

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of BioShock DNS

Bioshock is a brilliant game. If you've been living under a rock for the last 5 years and haven't heard about it then buy up and enjoy the splicing! Rich story and gameplay with your Good Guy and Bad Guy paths that lead to different endings. Graphics: 8/10 Gameplay: 9/10 Story: 9/10 Multiplayer: Sadly no, however Bioshock 2 does.

BUY BUY BUY!

65

Good but very short

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of Homefront

I didn't mind this game at all, it had its problems though like average story, average gameplay and buggy gaming (Had one instance of a guy that just started floating into the sky... he was a check point character as well so I had to restart the mission from a previous save). My biggest gripe was that it was so short, finished it in 5 hours so not the best value for money. Still, aside from that I enjoyed it. Haven't played it since release so hopefully it is all patched up now. Graphics: 7/10 Gameplay: 5/10 Story: 5/10 Multiplayer: Yes (Never tried multi though so can't rate on it)

Final thoughts, get if on sale.

30

Not a good game at all

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of Brink (UK)

I was really hyped for the release of Brink, the videos and trailers made it look like it was going to be game of the year material however upon release it was a mess. Was buggy and not fun to play at all. Imagine Team Fortress 2 but did everything wrong. It was a multiplayer game with empty servers and the bots are just brain dead. I'm sorry to say that I didn't enjoy this at all. Still, each to their own so if you see it for under $5 buy it, give it a shot and at least then you can say you tried it. Grpahics: 7/10 Gameplay: 2/10 Story: 2/10 Multiplayer: Yes

70

Huge fan but is slightly dated now

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of Painkiller Black Edition DNS

I loved the painkiller games when they came out (nothing better than pinning a zombie to the wall) but it hasn't aged well (it is a 2004 game). However the price is good and this pack includes the expansion Battle out of Hell. I'd recommend to someone who is a fan of FPS in the 2000's but for a new style gamer this might just end up annoying you (you fight enemies that spawn around you, so no "path" to follow. Graphics: 5/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 4/10 Mulitplayer: No/Yes. Original had multi but GMG is single only.

65

Weird little indie game but pick up if on sale

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of Cargo! The Quest for Gravity DNS

I got this game in one of those indie game sales (I won't mention from where) but it is an interesting game. I don't even know what to compare it to, it is really weird. It has a awesome creativity element to it where you can build your own vehicles. I'd highly recommend giving it a try if on sale ($20 is a bit too steep in my opinion) Graphics: 4/10 (it is a indie so don't judge on that) Gameplay: 7/10 Single player only

65

A little dull until you get to play multiplayer coop

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of F.E.A.R. 3

The single player is a little dull, very much your generic shooter and I only played half way until getting too bored to continue. I then decided to play coop with a friend and found a whole new world of fun. Paxton. He is a spirit that can take control of the enemy, had so much fun taking control and dropping grenades at my feet. Haha. Oh you have to try it. Graphics: 8/10 Gameplay Single: 5/10 Gameplay Coop: 8/10 Story: 5/10 Mulitplayer: Yes and includes 2 player Coop.

70

Not the Flight sim I was expecting. More Arcade style.

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of Wings of Prey

I'm a huge fan of flight sims (IL-1942 is one of my favourites) but this one seems much more arcade style which has its bonuses like new players can get in the air a lot easier. It does allow the controls to be tweaked for a expert player but I still feel like the flight sim feel is lost on this game. Still, each to their own. Graphics 8/10 Gameplay 5/10 Multiplayer: Yes

70

Good game for the right price

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | Review of Darksiders

Darksiders is a good third-person perspective single-player game in the action adventure genre. You control of War one of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse and engage in combat, puzzles and exploration. The combat side is gratifying and usually results in War tearing the enemy apart painfully. Currently only $5 so a must buy in my opinion. Graphics 7/10 Gameplay 7/10 Story 6/10 Multiplayer: No

75

A must have for under $5

StewartX | July 30, 2012 | Review of World of Goo

World of Goo is a masterpiece of indie gaming. The goal is to get your goo balls to the pipe using as little balls as possible... wait... that sounded a bit wrong... either way it is family friendly and an entertaining game of skill. Graphics: 5/10 (Indie and doesn't need the latest greatest graphics) Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 2/10 (basic story) Multiplayer: No

90

From the writer of Max Payne - Excellent game

StewartX | July 30, 2012 | Review of Alan Wake

When I heard that Sam Lake (writer of the Max Payne games 1 + 2) was the writer behind Alan Wake I knew I was in for an enjoyable work of art and I wasn't disappointed. The game contains a eerie atmosphere that had me at the edge of my seat and remains challenging giving you limited resources and not unlimited ammunition. This is a single player game only (I usually only get games that are multiplayer but make this your exception) and is well worth the purchase. Graphics: 8/10 Gameplay: 9/10 Story: 10/10

80

Consider if you are a fan of DoW 2

StewartX | July 30, 2012 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Dawn of War II: Retribution THQ

This game is pretty much the same as DoW2, it actually feels like an expansion pack for DoW 2 than the standalone game that it is but I love how you can coop with a friend. The graphics are great, gameplay is great and the story is great. Graphics: 8/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 8/10 Multiplayer: Yes - Coop as well.

30

Old but gold

StewartX | July 30, 2012 | Review of Altered Beast

This is an incredibly old game (1988 if I'm correct) and I can only recommend to old school players who love the classics. Pretty sure you can get this on your iPad/iPhone as well. I'm not even really sure what to say about it. Story was awesome though. Graphics: 1/10 Gameplay: 3/10 (Harsh, I know, but that is based on today's games) Story: 8/10

75

Great to play with friends... then rage over who gets the loot

StewartX | July 30, 2012 | Review of Borderlands

Loot and more loot. If looting is your thing then this is the game for you. Great to play with friends then rage over who gets what. I finished this game twice, once with friends and once on my own and having friends around really makes all the difference. At the moment it is only $5 so give it a shot. Story: 1/10 - there is no story Gameplay: 6/10 single, 9/10 multi Graphics: 8/10 - Cell shade graphics, not as pretty as Crysis but has that artistic flare.

70

Good game but I'm sure everyone is just buying for DayZ

StewartX | July 30, 2012 | Review of ARMA II Operation Arrowhead

ARMA 2 is a good game for the military enthusiast, this is not COD or BF3. The game takes planning and patience. If you are a COD or BF3 style player you might want to give this a miss. If you are interested in DayZ then you need to get this. Graphics 6/10 Gameplay 8/10

92

A must have for the Dead Island fan

StewartX | July 6, 2012 | Review of Dead Island Upgrade Pack

Dead Island is a fun (even though slightly buggy) game and has to be played with friends! This upgrade pack includes the Blueprint 'The Ripper' Weapon and Bloodbath Arena DLC that was once only available to people that pre-ordered the game. These DLCs are a lot of fun, Arena sets you up against hordes of enemies that you can do alone or with friends and whatever you get (weapons etc) could be used in the main campaign of the game as well. This pack also includes the Ryder White DLC which sadly is single player only and nothing that you get in this will transfer to your main campaign but it is still worth the shot as it is a great story filled DLC. Graphics: 8/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Multiplayer: Yes and No Final note: A must for any Dead Island fan.

90

Brilliant race racer - a must buy for any destruction derby love

StewartX | July 6, 2012 | Review of Flatout

I absolutely loved this game, I can't get enough of car racing games that actually show off damage while driving. Nothing sucks the realism out of a racing game like slamming into a wall at 200kms per hour and just boucing off it like nothing happened, in this game you get ejected out of the windscreen and break every bone in your body, your car can barely move afterwards (Ok, sure, not real either as well... you'd be dead, but by golly is it fun!). Another fun mode to this game is the challenges where you have to eject yourself from the moving car to hit targets, I.E. A giant dart board, or a high jump (to see how high you can get) etc. Lots of fun. Multiplayer is a blast as well, nothing makes you happier than ramming a friend into a tree at high speed and watching him/her go flying out through the windscreen. Graphics: 6/10 (A bit dated) Gameplay: 9/10 Mulitplayer: Yes

50

Not a bad game but not a good game either

StewartX | July 6, 2012 | Review of Sniper: Ghost Warrior PRE

I've got mixed feelings for Sniper: Ghost Warrior, the sniper part of this game is great but the AI is just beyond stupid. The number of times I shot someone in front of their friend and they didn't even react sucked any challenge out of this game. The main campaign in single player doesn't really let you explore that much and somewhat forces you to move along the path the devs set out. The story is very basic as well "Go kill this guy, because he is bad". Multiplayer just ends up being a camping match where no one moves and sadly most of the servers have dried up. This game had so much potential. Graphics: 6/10 (Everything is a tinge of green) Gameplay: 4/10 Multiplayer: Yes but why bother, empty servers and a camp fest. Final thought: Unless on sale I would give this a miss.

75

Magicka, expect rage when playing coop with friends

StewartX | July 6, 2012 | Review of Magicka

I personally loved this game, lots of fun but coop multiplayer throws it into a rage-fest. You'll soon discover that friendly fire isn't that friendly and you'll be raging at your friends to stop using the lightning spell while you are standing in front and end up screaming over the line for your friends to res you (w a space) while they teabag your shattered corpse. Aside from that the game is brilliant, I must admit the first time I played I thought I had the wrong language pack installed as they have their own dialect, don't worry, this is normal. Single player is a blast and the scenery changes so you don't keep fighting the same enemies. Some good humor in this game as well. I'd recommend this (but if playing multiplayer I suggest sticking to duels as at least then you are supposed to kill your friends). Graphics: 5/10 (Good but nothing spectacular) Gameplay: 7/10 Multiplayer: (shudders) Yes

80

A great tower defense game

StewartX | July 5, 2012 | Review of Sanctum

This game is a lot of fun and is a blend of FPS and Tower Defense. I'd say the greatest pro for this game is its multiplayer. I've spent many a day with friends trying to work out the best way to stop the oncoming hoard of enemies. Another fun past time is just exploring the maps, there is a secret section to each map and a ton of achievements to be earned. Definitely worth $10. Graphics: 5/10 (Basic) Gameplay: 8/10 Multiplayer: Yes Final note: A great game to play with friends.

85

No strat is complete without a ton of nukes

StewartX | July 4, 2012 | Review of Supreme Commander 2

I must be honest, I hated the first Supreme Commander as it seemed more of a way point game (Set factories to build, click where you want the new troops to move) and it lacked that personal touch. Well I can pleasantly say that Supreme Commander 2 is back to the good old style of tactics and building the right force for the job. Plus you get Nukes... not 1, not 10 but as many as you can afford! Nothing gave me more joy than watching 50 nukes land all at once on my enemy. Oh, I wish I had recorded that. :D

Graphics: Very good for a 2010 game. Nukes look fantastic ;) Gameplay: Good replay value. Multiplayer makes this game Story: Pretty average. I couldn't get into the story at all. My rating: 85/100 (Lost points for story)

90

Best Hitman of all the series

StewartX | July 4, 2012 | Review of Hitman: Blood Money Capsule

Wow, if you have some cash to spare check out Hitman Blood Money. In my opinion the best game of the series. Keep in mind that this game was released in 2006 so could look a little dated but gameplay is second to none. You can either stealth it out or go full Rambo, the choice is yours. Plus there always seems an endless number of ways to kill your target, from just running up and gunning him/her down to using elaborate traps (I.E. rigging explosives to a rope holding a barrel then throwing coins below to attract the target, waiting for the right moment and setting off the bomb and watch a ton of barrels crush your target). Oh, so much fun.

With Hitman Absolution about to be released why not jump into Blood Money now and see what makes a game great.

Agent 47 approaches the front gate guard. Gangster: What the * you lookin' at, cracker? Agent 47: I'm here to see Joseph Clarence. Gangster: Never heard of him. Agent 47: Mr. Swing King. Gangster: Oh, that sorry * *... What the ** they call you? Agent 47: Names are for friends...so I don't need one.

95

A great game to waste a day on

StewartX | July 4, 2012 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

If you have read other reviews you might get the impression that the game is no good, I would have to disagree with that. Most people judge this game on "10+ years in development" or "sexist" etc etc. However if you take it on face value it is a fun game and with its cheap price definitely a must buy. Graphics are a bit dated compared to current games but well within the acceptable range. Gameplay is entertaining from start to finish. I myself have already completed this game three times and the expansion pack twice. I can't say that I've done that for any other game. Mulitplayer is just your standard deathmatch, nothing that makes it stand out. Story - What story? It's just a beefcake guy saving babes and blowing stuff up. If you are after some fun and got a day to waste I'd highly recommend this. Hail to the King, baby!