Reviews by Stuman31

70

The Return of Twitch Gaming

Stuman31 | Nov. 29, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

If you lived through the gaming of the 90s you often reminisce of the days when games were unforgiving difficult and you required a perfect series of 10 events to go your way to progress (i certainly remember the hours spent having to perfect GTA1 levels). Super Meat Boy takes you right back there. Can make it frustrating because the last 15 years have softened you up to what it really meant to be a hard core gamer. Worthwhile for those who love a challenge

65

What You've Come to Expect

Stuman31 | Nov. 29, 2013 | Review of Scribblenauts Unlimited (ANZ)

If you've played anything Scribblenauts before I can assure this is much again of the same. Not to say that is a bad thing. Nothing too challenging, some answers that are surprisingly tough, but still a pleasant game. Its hard to review critically as id suspect this is a game more focused to children, so if you're older than 14 you may find this repetitive after a while

75

Building to Great But Lost Its Way

Stuman31 | Nov. 29, 2013 | Review of Mafia II

3rd Person city games are being released on a more regular basis, so they need to do something new to stand out from the crowd. Mafia II started out amazing, without going into any details that could be possibly spoilery i was blown away. It looked good, and it felt like it had the courage to do things, story progression wise, i hadnt seen much in games before. However, the final 3rd of the game was a let down as it abandoned this progression and suddenly just felt like a game that had lost itself purpose and was just setting itself up for a sequel. Still enjoyable though

80

Completely Different From The First

Stuman31 | Nov. 29, 2013 | Review of Sanctum 2

There are a lot of people who didnt like Sanctum 1. I really enjoyed it. However, no matter which side of the fence you land on for this one I can say it doesnt matter what you think of it because this game is nothing like it. Obviously they are similat in that they are tower defense mixed with FPS, but unlike the first this one is meant to be played COOP. and is a great Coop game. This game almost have more of a feel of if Borderlands had a tower defnese DLC. A lot of fun with friends, solo id say you'd be better off with the original

90

More of An Interactive Movie Then Game

Stuman31 | Nov. 26, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

I am not a fan of the Walking Dead TV Series. I find the characters extremely unlikable. However this game is completely different. The characters are interesting, the graphic style works, and the game is enjoyable. Go in realising it is a interactive movie more than any kind of challenging game. Though that doesnt take away from it, interactive movies are really becoming a genre of their own, with this right up the top of the pile

74

Fun, But Bring a Friend

Stuman31 | Nov. 26, 2013 | Review of Dead Rising 2

This games enjoyment comes in streaks. Occasionally you can be having the time of your life. And other times you can be cursing the game. Fewer games have i played where when you die/fail do i find myself wondering how i ever possibly liked the game. The game can also seem relentless with its extremely tight time limits. Though if you accept that the game isnt completeable on the first pass, if you select to carry on after you've failed the quest and just free roam thats where you will have your most fun. Getting creative with kills learning all the weapon combinations. Once you get a few levels up you can have another crack at the main quest and the game suddenly feels much easier and much more enjoyable. Having a coop partner the entire also makes this a much more enjoyable experience. A big drawback to this though is that its on Games for Windows Live. So you need to play through that, and all achievements are in that, rather than in steam itself

70

Fun with Friends

Stuman31 | Nov. 26, 2013 | Review of Demigod

With DOTA 2 now out and free, it seems like this could be a hard sell. However this game does have its place. If you are one for having LANs with groups of friends this would be a great game for that - better than DOTA 2 in the same situation. Demigod allows you to spend your money not just on your own advancement, but also to further the betterment of the team. This aspect makes the game more playable for less hardcore players. For example, your best players can advance themselves while the less experienced players can improve the team behind them. Its fun and you can definitely get your moneys worth out of it.

70

Amazing Atmosphere, Questionable AI

Stuman31 | Nov. 26, 2013 | Review of Far Cry 2

I didnt like Far Cry 1 at all. I could never get into it. Far Cry 2 was pitched to me as not being in any way connected to the first. And the presentation of this game is incredible. If you fire a rocket, the surrounding trees and grass will catch fire, if you stand still long enough you can hear and see the wind blowing through the trees. Someone spent a lot of time creating the atmosphere of this game, and it paid off. You can easily find yourself getting lost in just the peaceful atmosphere the game creates when wandering between missions. What is annoying about this game is all the other choices it made. Parts of the storyline are solid, then other parts are ridiculous. Making no sense to everything else that has gone on. Worse than that the AI really takes you out of the realism the game has otherwise built. If you kill everyone at a check point, and then drive say 500m down the road and turn back, the check point will be restocked with enemies, and there is no way to remove them. If you are sitting on a hill and fire a sniper rifle, instantly everyone in the base is aware of where you are and firing at you. Basically i do still think this is a playable game. Though now it is a few years old the graphics may no longer hold up. However if you have already played Far Cry 3, it may be a hard one to come back to and enjoy, since FC3 corrects all of FC2's horrific flaws

90

My Favourite RTS

Stuman31 | Nov. 25, 2013 | Review of Majesty 2 Collection

Though this game may not be for everyone, i love it. In terms of Strategy games im not a big fan of getting bogged down in micro management. Majesty gets rid of that and allows you to focus on bigger aspects of the game. The learning curve on this game can be extremely tough. The game gets very difficult very quick. I enjoyed the challenge and loved the game.

Basically i would say this is a game for people who enjoy puzzle strategy, more than RTS

92

The Top of True FPS

Stuman31 | Nov. 25, 2013 | Review of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Run and gun isnt necessarily my style in gaming, the main thing i want from a FPS is a good story. I would say that The Modern Warfare games are the most action heavy FPS's that i play and enjoy. And what makes the MW series work is that they have a solid story to go alongside the action. Its pretty simple. If youve played and likes other Call of Duty games, or FPS war games, then you'll enjoy the Modern Warfare games. They are the top of the class. There is a lot to be fun in coop with this aswell. Especially when your partner is on the ground and you're covering them from thousands of feet up in the air

90

My Favourite So Far

Stuman31 | Nov. 25, 2013 | Review of Assassins Creed Brotherhood

Of the Assassin's Creeds I have played, I would say this one has been my favourite. Going into it i actually thought it was just going to be glorified DLC, but it is an entire game to itself. There are a few new additions (like having the ability to call on other assassins) that do develop this game past the previous one. Though this does really improve in no way graphically to the series, and is much more of a sideways step it is a lot of fun. However, like all the Assassins Creed games, you get used to a very similar game play. Which makes playing the games back to back rather dull. But if you were only going to play one Assassins Creed game, this is the one id pick

90

Taking The Next Step

Stuman31 | Nov. 25, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition

The one thing that the Assassins Creed series does, is improve. The biggest issues with the original game were certainly fixed in this one. A much smoother game, with an even better story than the first. The game steps up in every way. The biggest flaw in this game is that you cant go back and just do certain missions again. This doesnt sound like much, but when there is an achievement only gettable on one quest about 70% of the way through the game, and short of restarting there is no way to have another crack at it, its a bit rough.

85

Building Block to a better place

Stuman31 | Nov. 25, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed

As the first in the series obviously its not going to be the most rounded of the games. The biggest issues with this game like having to ride from town to town, and allowing counter attacks to be an automatic "I-WIN" button. It is a great game that is the first chapter of the Assassins Creed book. Obviously if you want the whole story of the series you would want to play this one. It is still a really enjoyable game. But one of those games that after you've played the newer ones in the series you can feel the drag of the aspects they quickly dropped

70

A Concept Piece

Stuman31 | Nov. 25, 2013 | Review of LA Noire

One thing that is great about Rockstar making such successful games is that it allows it to create concept games like this one. La Noire isnt going to blow you away on any aspect. Its for those who enjoy a good crime mystery. I did finish this game, but did feel like i really had no massive highs or lows. I dont think it will knock your socks off, but it is a pleasant game that would be enjoyable for even causal gamers

99

Almost Perfect

Stuman31 | Nov. 25, 2013 | Review of Far Cry 3

When i played Far Cry 2 I really enjoyed it, but there were a few issues with it that really detracted from the experiance. When someone assured me Far Cry 3 was Far Cry 2, but with all those issues corrected, i had to check it out. And it was fantastic. The look of it, the AI, the way you can clear through the map, and side challenges make this a complete gaming experiance. In single player i would say the least interesting part is the main story, which isnt to say the story is weak, just that the rest of the game is so strong. I clocked this game, including getting all the of 100 hidden relics - mainly just so i could keep playing the game. It is rare a game will get every aspect of itself so thoroughly correct as this did.

The one hold up i have with this game is Coop. What makes Far Cry 3 an amazing game is the free roam users choice approach. If you want to sit on a hill and slowly and carefully take out a camp, then you can go for broke. The idea of doing this coop sounds amazing. Having your friends help you in this would be great. However, coop is actually just a rail shooter. its just guns blazing. It is the exact opposite of everything that makes single player fun. For as much as i love this game, i cant even bring myself to bothering finish the coop. Almost perfect...almost

96

Phenomenal Game

Stuman31 | Nov. 25, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite (ANZ)

The original Bioshock was one of my all time favourite games, so Bioshock Infinite had a extremely high mark it had to hit to not disappoint, and it completely delivered. The story in this game is brililant, smart, and is enough reason to give the game a look in. Visually the game is stunning and the game does a great job of letting you explore it without having to just constantly run and gun. The one thing that should be clear - if you are wanting to go in for a great FPS game, you may find yourself underwhelmed with the combat, but if you accept that that has taken a backseat to this game just being an interactive story, you will definitely get a lot of enjoyment out of it.

75

Good series on the right track

Stuman31 | Nov. 25, 2013 | Review of Mount and Blade Collection

I have played all three of the Mount & Blade games, and they were all good, and they are all similar, so you could get away with just owning one, but if you were to ask me which one.... Im not sure which i would recommend. The original Mount & Blade was where i was able to log my most hours, and personally i find combat a lot easier and more enjoyable in this one. However the downfall of this game is that it doesnt really ever end. With the other two i find the combat becomes a little more awkward, but these two games are more expanded than the original (you can have companions and there are achievements etc). Warband and Fire & Sword are pretty much the same too, it just depends on which era you are more interested in playing. Ultimately i think these games are all building blocks for a great epic game, that they havent cracked just yet. Well worth a look in

85

Great game if you're bringing friends

Stuman31 | Nov. 25, 2013 | Review of Killing Floor

After about a 50 hour stint in Left 4 Dead back in the day my friends and I wanted to find another game to keep the momentum going, and so we took a gamble on Killing Floor, and it went above and beyond. The biggest issue we had with Left 4 Dead was how long you had to be committed to a session, as there is no way to save mid game. Killing Floor was a solution to this, while it has no save, the length of a single game is at a much more casual level. And while a small group of my friends had racked up that about 50 hour playtime in Left 4 Dead, almost my entire friends list ended up with 150+ hours in Killing Floor, with some up over the 500 hours mark. The game isnt the prettiest thing you will ever see. But its unusal 6 player team and tight group coop makes it a great way to spend time with friends. The fact you dont necessarily have to move much, and can bunker down means that even extremely causal gamers can join in and not be a determent to the team. I will say however, if you were thinking of getting this to play on your own, it really wouldnt stand up. Though it does have single player modes, the game only holds up under multiplayer conditions

95

Getting it all right

Stuman31 | Nov. 25, 2013 | Review of NBA 2K11 PRE

Im a massive sports game fan, and NBA sits on top of the list of my favourite sports. NBA 2K11 is the year they really got it right. The most notable improvement from NBA 2K10 is that with the My Player mode you can actually play full 48 minute games (was restricted to just 20 min games in 2K10) and for people like myself who love playing true length games this is a massive must. The Jordan additional mode is also fun. 2K has reached a point where they arent doing much wrong, so if you were wanting a NBA game, but not wanting to spend the big bucks, and you can live without Anthony Davis and other youngin's then i whole heartidly recommend this version of NBA 2K

80

Worthwhile

Stuman31 | Nov. 24, 2013 | Review of Sanctum

The graphics in this game wont blow you away, but it is a great tower defense stragey game. I played and loved Defense Grid, but managed to knock off every level and achievement. Sanctum was the perfect replacement game to give me a challenging hunt. A great puzzle game requiring some creative thinking. The biggest set back of this game i would say is that you need a decent PC to avoid it getting sluggish, which would make some levels impossble. Also, the multiplayer is essentially pointless. It seems to hold no records of your best efforts, but as a single player game, i love it

100

Great game

Stuman31 | Nov. 24, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

A great modern game. The perfect combination of smooth free flowing melee combat and stealth combat. Im not generally a fan of stealth combat games, but this keeps it fun and with great pace. The story and graphics is allvery standard sort of batman stuff, but it supports a great setup. Definitely well worth it, even if you arent a batman fan