Reviews by StupidMarioBros

88

Top of the line Indie.

StupidMarioBros | July 14, 2014 | Review of Super Meat Boy

This game is a rage-inducing game, which I usually turn away from, but every other aspect just makes it so much fun.

Not only are the visuals unique and fit perfectly, the controls are very tight and feel fitting. The game runs very well, which isn't a surprise, but is worth mentioning. The characters aren't very deep, but this game doesn't focus on story, and what it does focus on it great.

All in all, great game.

50

A Disappointment to Elder Scrolls.

StupidMarioBros | July 14, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls® Online

Skyrim is one of my favorite RPGs of All time, but this just feels like a cheap MMO knockoff of world of warcraft.

I was hoping for a more feel of skyrim but custom built for a multiplayer game, but I was okay with a MMO, but they still screwed that up with very boring gameplay that feels like a chore. If you want a new MMO to play, its decent I guess, but it is pretty boring to me.

Filled with moneygrabs and micro transactions, this game keeps asking money for more DLC, monthly payment, and more. Terribly overpriced.

Not worth your money, and probably the worst in the series. Hopefully Elder Scrolls VI will make up for this mistake.

85

Dungeon and Dragons has never looked better.

StupidMarioBros | July 3, 2014 | Review of Knights of Pen & Paper: +1 Edition

This is one of the strangest ideas for a video ive seen this year. If anyone proposed the idea of a pixelated game of dungeons and dragons brought to life in a rpg form where you control how many enemies are in it, I would probably walk away slowly and report you to a mental hospital, but this game executes it so well that I'm in love with this game. Not only is the game have VEEEEEEERY extensive content to enjoy, but has a unique idea where you can customize the actual room you're in and shift from the real world to the D and D world. I reccomend for RPG lovers, or people who actually play D&D. Good game.

90

Comedy and RPG Mixed into a wild adventure.

StupidMarioBros | July 3, 2014 | Review of South Park™: The Stick of Truth™

After 3 previous attempts, this is the one south park game that is not only playable, but entertaining, and almost feels as if you are in a south park episode.

The game is an RPG turn-based game with a comedic theme, and it works perfectly with the art style of a south park episode, the simple combat that works pretty good, as they say after all, "Keep it simple, stupid."

While the look and combat system is pretty good, the game really shines in the story. And while I usually dont judge a game for a story, this game just has a hilarious adventure of comedy, and even somewhat of a twist ending.

The only problem I see with this game is the replayablility, which is a problem for any story-based game, as once you finish, you usually just dont play the game ever again. This game only took me about 12 hours, which is decent, but I hope for more replayablility in a 60$ full game. If the game was in the 40$ range, I would raise the rating of this game to a 95.

All in all, a great adventure for any south park fan, or to someone who has not even heard of the show, it is a welcome introduction or a continuation of south park to anyone. I reccomend for anyone looking for a laugh or two.

85

A Gentlemen's Minecraft

StupidMarioBros | July 3, 2014 | Review of Don't Starve

The survival genre has always been somewhat of a drought genre, and was even more until minecraft came along, but this game takes the survival concept and really brings it into a great world of a very unique art style that works perfectly for the world. While the title states that it seems very simple, this game is full of complexity that becomes simple once gotten down. While I do think it looks great and plays great, the story is a bit mysterious, which can be a great story element, but mostly I don't even know why I should care about them, but this game isnt even about story, because in the freeplay, you create the story. You can shave him if you wish, you can dress him a flower hat or a straw hat, or whatever.

All in all, a great game that adds to a growing genre. I recommend.

100

Reinnovating Stealth

StupidMarioBros | July 3, 2014 | Review of Dishonored

This game is the most innovative and fun since metal gear solid, and that's my favorite play station game of all time. The game not only looks amazing, but the combat system is perfectly crafted so it is not only realistic, but using spell/runes, can also have interesting battles. Not only is the game beautiful in those areas, but also has a amazing story that really connects into the complexity of the characters, even the smallest ones like the guards, where you can overhear their conversations, and can change depending on what you did before you listened in. In fact, the entire game revolves around your choices, from even the smallest thing like doing a side quest or killing one guard. A great game is definatly worth a full price tag. I highly reccomend.

I normally judge a games rating by the problems, and with this game I cannot say anything they could add more or fix. For that reason, I give this game a 10/10. BUY THIS GAME!!!

70

Great Concept, Okay Execution.

StupidMarioBros | June 25, 2014 | Review of Watch_Dogs (NA)

One piece of advice before playing: Don't expect as much as the hype let in. The original gameplay trailer in 2012 is completly misleading, as even the CGI scenes weren't as good. Its the kind of game that got overhyped like shit, as if it wasn't, it would have been called great.

This game is a free roam game like GTA with a twist: you can control everything in the city, and it makes all the small details in the city come alive. You can find little dirty secrets on everyone, change traffic lights, or explode pipes, and its really fun to do. While the concept is amazing, the game is held back by a lot of problems.

The first is the look. While the game does look very good while its raining, it just looks like a game from 2005, which since its "next gen" should be over. The game also is quite poorly optimized for the PC, so it suffers from a lot of frame rate drops and lag.

The second is the gliches/bugs. I felt as though every minute I would find a new glich by walking into tables and chairs, or just looking at the policemen try to actually follow me. It also has one HUUUUUUUUUUUUUGE problem: Police cannot chase you on water. Seriously, this is just a stupid nearly game-breaking bug that makes it very easy to escape police. Some of them take immersion out, others just ruin the game in general.

All in all, a interesting mix-up of a game from Ubisoft, with some setbacks. I really hope for a sequel to fix these issues, as that game could be a big competator to GTA VI, or GTA 6.

65

Fun in Short Doces.

StupidMarioBros | June 25, 2014 | Review of Goat Simulator

This game has a very simple concept: you're a goat. Have fun. Now, usually I really respect that kind of thing, as its usually to be simple, but this game just isn't a very extensive game. Its so fun to play for 1-2 hours, but then the concept just gets stale quickly, and the problems start showing. I mean, you can only lick cars so long. I would say there are allot of glitches, but I feel as though they're intentional. I love games that try to just be a big playground to do whatever, but there just is very little things to do, and the map isn't very. Hopefully they add more maps too, and if they do in the future, I would boost my score from 65 to 75. All in all, I would buy this for like 4-5$, not a 10$ game.

85

A Great Rivial of a Great Dreamcast Game.

StupidMarioBros | March 8, 2014 | Review of Typing of the Dead: Overkill

If most of you didn't know, this game is actually somewhat a sequel, or remake, of Typing of the Dead on Sega Dreamcast, and this game brilliantly takes that concept to a whole new level, and put it on a PC, where a TYPING GAME should be.

It takes the concept of your generic FPS Zombie killer into a typing lesson, without making it a bore. You basically type to kill the zombies, and bigger zombies take more words and bigger words.

There are a share of problems, but I could mostly overlook them, except and sort of power up or levelling system, to show progression, but that is a small request.

Although this game doesn't help me teach anything, I can already type 60 words per minute, (brag brag) It was still pretty fun to enjoy and have fun with.

I highly recommend this game not only as a typing tool, but as a shoot em up. It is a unique game, and you should pick it up, even if you do or do not have the original Typing of the Dead.

73

Simple and Fun.

StupidMarioBros | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of Dwarfs!?

Dwarfs! What more can I say? Well, a lot actually.

Dwarfs! (Yeah, the ! is in the title) is a strategy game with a overhead view, even though you're underground, which makes no sense, but in a game like this, who cares honestly. The main objective is to try and get the most money, or the highest high score, which you do by making your little dwarfs dig for gold and other ores. With this gold, you can either save it up or buy more dwarfs (and other people, but ill get to that) to increase production. The last way you can spend money is by creating paths for your dwarfs to mine in. What do I mean? Well, basically, if you dont make paths for the dwarfs, they will just dig randomly, which obviously won't help. The paths cost a reasonable amount, which costs by block how far you make them.

The main objective, besides high scores, is to survive monsters, water, and lava. They all try to attack you home base. If it gets destroyed or flooded, the game's over. The combat is like this: The more a dwarf digs, the more he levels up, meaning more damage and other things. You can also buy guard dwarfs to guard your home, but that only beats monsters. The monsters are found in random chance caves, which basically work like this: You see a black cave, if your dwarf enters, it could be: A. Treasure B. Nothing C. Monsters, or D. Lava/Water, so you can bet it all for the money.

The other hazard is water/lava, which the tutorial teaches you how to stop. Basically it works like this: You can build walls to hold both back, but theres a catch: Lava can break through the walls, but water can't. To stop lava from flooding, you need to plant a bomb to make a hole for the lava to fall in and stop it from flooding, which is done by planting a bomb then sacrificing a dwarf.

That's the basics of the game, which may sound complicated, but it is very simple to pick up and play for me, but than again, I have played games like this before (Dig Dug, Bomberman).

Is this game worth the price here on GMG? Yes. Its only, as I write this, 2.49$, which is a great deal for this game that dives into a gaming genre not used very often. It's solid, and pretty fun to try and beat your steam friends in.

PS: Did I mention the Yogscast was in it?

81

A Brilliant Free-roaming Gangster Game.

StupidMarioBros | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of Mafia II

I never played the first Mafia, as I was too busy playing GTA San Andreas, which is a brilliant game by the way. So, when I picked up Mafia II for free for the golden joystick awards, I came in to expect a okay GTA clone, but to my surprise, was a much different approach to a free-roam game.

This game takes place somewhere in the early to mid 1900's. You are Vito, a war soldier that comes back to his home for a couple weeks until he has to go back to war again, but that changes when you meet his friend, who takes you clean off the papers to get out again, so you can stay with him. After which, you find your sister now owns money to a mob, so you have to earn 2000 dollars in a week, but in order to get that kind of money, you need to join the mafia with your friend.

The story is pretty good, as the story isn't usually valued in this kind of game. The setting, though, is probably in my top 20 favorite gaming worlds now. It feels like a city full of life, and comfort, due to its beautiful artwork of the game and the live people around the sidewalks.

Like GTA, you are a gangster, who wants to earn big bucks, so you steal and kill to earn it, but instead of doing it for yourself in GTA, this game says you do it for your family, or you wouldn't do it at all. It's approach makes it a much deeper and richer story, all in a time period you probably haven't lived in.

All in all, a great representation of a new way to play a GTA-like game.

88

So Simple, Yet so complex.

StupidMarioBros | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of The Bridge

Let me say something before I start: I love indie games. Why? Because, they are from a fresh face in the industry to create something completly out of the ordinary of usual games. The Bridge is a shining example of a brilliant indie game.

The Bridge is a puzzle game where you are Issac Newton, and you use gravity to solve puzzles, but theres one catch: You have control of the world. You can turn it upside down, right side up, or how ever you want to solve mind blowing puzzles.

Its art style is like one I've never seen before, and it works perfectly into the mysterious setting of the game. You are drawn in with a pencil in every level, and everything looks like a rough draft of whatever it is. Mix it up with music that brings a mysterious and puzzling mood, and you got a great indie game.

One of my favorite indie games of all time, and I cant wait to finish it.

79

Unique and Fun

StupidMarioBros | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

When I first picked up this game, I didn't know what to expect. I barely know any games in the Medieval genre, so it really sparked my curiousity. What I found was a game that was like if Call Of Duty decided to create a medieval game, and although that sounds weird, it is very, very well executed.

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is a medieval game, as you can tell from the title, where you get to choose a number of classes, which varies in speed, strength and range. Many of these kinds of games I play, they're usually unbalanced due to one class being able to destroy all others (besides TF2,) But this is actually fairly balanced (Archers,Vanguards,Knights,Man-to-Arms.)

This game shines in its multiplayer, and man is it fun. The most common servers are free-for-all and team deathmatch, like normal fps games, but what is unique is how much thinking has to be done. For instance, when fighting, you can do 3 things: Attack, like normal, Block, also normal in these games, but the most interesting and cool is to Fake. You do this by pressing the button bound to it while attacking, and you'll stop mid-attack, and you can attack or block after it to fake out your opponent.

These may seem small, but this really changes the game, and makes it that much better. Not to mention the community. Everyone I play with is usually skilled in the game and brings a challenge, plus they're usually friendly.

All in all, a great buy for 25$.

25

Its like Rollercoaster Tycoon, if it was done by a 6 year old.

StupidMarioBros | Feb. 7, 2014 | Review of Adventure Park

Before I give my opinion, let me say one thing: The only reason you should be even considering this is if you played all you can on rollercoaster tycoon, otherwise just buy that game, as it isnt as good graphically, but much better mechanically and gameplay wise.

Adventure Park is, in a nutshell, a tycoon where you have to build a amusement park, and become the best park in the world.

I wanted to learn everything that may be different, so I did the tutorial, which was pretty self explanatory, So I started a park, which was fine, until I came to where I had to hire a 5 star mechanic to keep my 5 star ride it required me to build up and running. The only problem is, the earnings of my entire park only barely cover up the cost for my 5 star mechanic, making me loose money everyday, but it still wants me to build more. You may ask yourself then, why dont I fire the mechanic? Well, you CANT FIRE HIM EVEN THOUGH YOU CANT AFFORD HIM! Another thing wrong with it is that it STARTS YOU IN THE RED! SO NOT ONLY ARE YOU LOOSING MONEY, YOU DONT HAVE MONEY TO BEGIN WITH!

I would be fine with it if this game was cheap, but NO! Make the game 30 DOLLARS! 30! This thing will probably get a price cut soon, but its unbelievable they thought it was worth that much. This is worth about 5-10$, so if it does go to that price, consider my rating go to 40/100.

My FPS also suffering dramatically from this game, but my computer is mid-sized, so it may just be me. I even get a lower FPS by zooming in on certain parts of rides. I searched a review of it to see if they had the same problem, and one guy got down to 20 FPS on a titan. A TITAN!

All in all, if you are really craving a tycoon, wait for this drop down in price, as it is decent in some places, but major problems set this game back alot.

3

One of the WORST Steam Games I have ever played.

StupidMarioBros | Feb. 7, 2014 | Review of Guise of the Wolf

This is a perfect example of a game that has a interesting concept, but is so bad mechanically, visually, and gameplay wise, that it doesn't even matter.

The game is basically about you, some random guy without any backround information, have crashed due to a unknown beast that crashed your carriage, and you wake up next to a big castle, and must find your friend named Lazlo.

When first starting, I was greeted to a outline-like art style, like in the Wolf Among Us, which looks okay, but is so badly rendered that it gets very choppy. The game gives no indication of where Lazlo is, and when searching, I came up with a number of gliches. 1. You can, at the right angle, no clip through trees, rocks, you name it. 2. A weird tunnel-like shape in the river that looks so ugly, like it was a glich, which I hope it was

After finding Lazlo in the middle of nowhere, that somehow lets you access the castle that you weren't allowed in before, because.....why not. You are greeted to a terrible character model of the Count's wife, that belongs in a 2000 game. Her dialog is basically pointless, as she doesn't explain much, which I guess was a piss-poor attempt to add confusion as to what is happening.

After leaving the chat, you are put in a bedroom where you slept, according to her. I found, as I looked around, 5 copies OF THE SAME BOOK on a bookshelf (Called The Hungarian Kingdom) and a bag. I grabbed the bag to see what it was, and how detailed of an item name, it was actually called "Bag."

The only reason you want this game is to laugh at how terrible it is all around, or to see how to not create a game. The only steam game I think is worse is "Bad Ratz" and that's saying something. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!