Reviews by Supraballs

95

Amazing tower defense game

Supraballs | June 19, 2013 | Review of Sanctum

I think this is a masterful blend of FPS and Tower Defense and I can't recommend it enough. It is a VERY long game if you beat all the levels (minimum 20 hours) and one level alone is about an hour a piece. You are in charge of the patterns of the monsters essentially and you can play each level however you want as there are so many ways to beat a level. Use your guns, your towers, your own strategies to win. Really, just have fun and get ready for a challenge. There are some areas that will leave you grinding out the win and that makes it awesome.

82

Play this game like it's a TV show

Supraballs | June 19, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake

Seriously, if you play one episode every few nights, you will really appreciate this game. It's dark and gloomy and it isn't very long at all, but it really does move like a show. You finish one chapter and the next recaps and throws you in the mix, again, like a show. Play the game at night as well for the right feel of the game as that is really how it was meant to be played. The combat is decent and just know if you play this, choose the easiest setting because if you don't, the enemies are damage sponges and you will hate this. It's a cool atmosphere with a cool story and I recommend it.

70

Hey, I laughed...

Supraballs | June 19, 2013 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

And that's really what this game is about. Are you coming for actual good gameplay here? Not me. Duke Nukem is known for his wisecracks and complete chauvinism when it comes to the ladies. There are some cool spots to this game and to be really honest, I don't think the game is that bad. It's really short, offers very little challenge and some humorous spots. If you are into that, you'll find this to be fine. However, this game did take way too long to come out and should have been much better. Duke was finally put into an awesome graphics engine where he should have had awesome success, but it didn't happen. There was a serious missed opportunity here, but again, the game is decent, just give it a shot.

80

Casual Poker at its finest

Supraballs | June 19, 2013 | Review of Poker Night at the Inventory

You really don't come to this game to play poker first off. You come to this game because of the characters and their conversations. Telltale absolutely nails character development in their games and this one is no exception. With Tycho, Heavy, Max and Strong Bad, you are in for a real treat. I have always loved Strong Bad and his humor is spot on in this game too. You can go through this game in just an hour or two, or you can stay for awhile and enjoy the convo, it's your call. Enjoy some poker, some good laughs and have fun!

95

Done right for the PC

Supraballs | June 14, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA)

Gearbox actually kept their word: They said they would optimize this game for the PC and they did. It runs like a glove on here and I wouldn't play it any other way. Whether you are a keyboard and mouse or a controller player, this game just follows up the first one perfectly. It's got the length again, the customization, more characters now and a robust amount of gun choices again. You're back in Sanctuary, which looks a little different this time around but man, it's still a sight to behold. It just runs so crisp on the PC and comes highly recommended. I loved the first one for its ability to turn Diablo into a FPS and it sticks to this formula again and hits it perfectly. A sequel better be on the pipeline!

92

One of my favorite FPS games, period.

Supraballs | June 13, 2013 | Review of Borderlands

I gotta admit, I'm a sucker for Diablo-like games and Borderlands is no exception. There is loot galore with millions of combinations in the game for your guns. It is very lengthy and if you get all the DLC for this game, you will invest over 20 hours at a minimum. I beat everything and didn't even reach level 50, so be prepared to do some long hours if you want to experience the entire game. That said, I love the art style, the characters and Scooter is one of the funniest character ever in a game. It's hard for me to find anything I really hate about this game. This is perfect for when you get yourself ready for Borderlands 2 and just get ready for an awesome ride through a game.

75

Very unique melee-RPG

Supraballs | June 13, 2013 | Review of Dead Island

This game was a great time for me and I loved that it offered something different. The pros behind this are a robust leveling system, as well as a nice crafting system too. There's also some pretty good characterization in the game and it definitely has its challenges for the player. It's pretty lengthy too so be ready to invest some time into the game. The cons are in the fact that the levels and map is similar throughout the entire game. You are on an island and you will feel like it. There is also way too many skippable areas in the game and I wanted to see more required exploration in some areas. You can beat this without seeing half of the entire game. Also, it's zombies, which we are all so familiar with. However, if you love zombie games, this is a must buy. I happen to really enjoy them so I can justify this purchase. If not, skip this.

96

Masterpiece

Supraballs | June 13, 2013 | Review of Trine

I love all of the Trine games, but if you want to see where it all started, you gotta get this game. It's got puzzles, combat, strategy, the whole nine. I'll say it is the most beautiful game I have played graphics wise and has amazing glows and texture. You are crazy if you don't buy this game and you'll enjoy the narration and characters. The game is completely full of life.

85

Beautiful and drifty...

Supraballs | June 10, 2013 | Review of GRID

I love this arcade style of racers. With the market saturated with plenty of racing games featuring real cars, what makes this one stand out? I'd say presentation.

It's got a great arcade feel to it, it feels fast, but it takes some skill to hit your drifts and turns right. I wouldn't say there are any other gimmicks to it besides that. Play this thing from the driver's POV because it was really optimized to include that feature and it feels really good when you're playing. That's a feature currently removed from Grid 2 and I'm telling you, you get to see a real experience and true difference because of it. Fun game and if you enjoyed any of the Dirt games, you would enjoy this too.

90

Hardest game ever

Supraballs | June 10, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

If you want an extreme challenge, and I mean, a real challenge to the point that your hands will sweat just trying to get the perfect timing, then this is your game. It's a gem in the fact that it puts your reflexes and precision to the test. You will die, a lot and that's a fact. Do not play this with keyboard and mouse as that will frustrate you even more, but instead, use a controller as I really believe that's how this game was meant to be played. It's actually a very short game too, but because you die so much and have to repeat so many times, it ends up being a bit longer.

I envy anybody who can beat this game thoroughly and it's the biggest reward ever for your gamer pride if you can beat this. Again, play this game because the developers did an awesome job but stay for the challenge and the reward.

90

It's like a movie...

Supraballs | June 10, 2013 | Review of Max Payne 3

And you are in control of the characters. Well, mainly Max, but it's very cool to see the story unfold. It feels very cinematic and has some pretty good length to it. You get to the see the evolution of Max in this one as he has fallen on the hardest times. Characterization is the best way to describe this game and the formula is pretty familiar. It's action packed, lots of guns are used and the bullet time is still there. Just know this is a huge install, so have plenty of gigs on your PC for this one. Just like mentioned above, the voice acting is superb, but I still love me some bullet time. There is nothing like diving into the battle and working over the enemies in slow time. It doesn't get old to me and it probably won't get old for you either!

94

Such an awesome 2-d MOBA

Supraballs | June 8, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts

I love this game. It takes the MOBA and condenses it down to 2-d graphics and gives you 3v3 rather than 5v5 combat. You get a lot of little tweaks to make to your characters which give them some style and the rest is traditional in a MOBA sense. You got your turrets, the base you destroy at the end and then crushing your opponents, naturally. It plays on the controller too if you want to go that route and runs great even on the most basic computers. This indie game deserves our support as the developers are still working on content and there are plenty more characters to come! Buy this and don't look back!

90

Nice to see some additional content

Supraballs | June 2, 2013 | Review of SimCity Amusement Park Pack (NA)

Sim City needs a bit of a makeover. It had a rough launch, it still has some problems and a nice remedy to this is some new content. This stuff is really cool and you can build this thing to whatever your desires are. Want to make it small? Large? Want to practically make your whole city an amusement park? Well, you can do that too. The sounds are excellent in this pack as well, which is something I never thought I'd say when reviewing this content. Give it a go and hope they release more content like this!

90

This game would be a gamechanger...

Supraballs | May 28, 2013 | Review of Binary Domain

If it weren't for the horrendous AI and dialogue. I actually like the story and the robots you fight are awesome looking. If you want a direct comparison, it's just like Gears of War, except with robots. I love GoW so this purchase was a no-brainer for me. It's nonstop action and the best thing about it for me, is it is very short. I think I went through it in 4 1/2 hours and loved it. I loved it so much that I can look past the AI and dialogue. The AI problems are having your own partners run right through your line of fire and not being in decent position ever and the dialogue is completely "bro'd out". Besides that, get this and love it. It's great.

85

What a bundle of total opposites, but it works!

Supraballs | May 28, 2013 | Review of Bully & Manhunt Pack

Bully is the best game Rockstar ever put out on PC. Seriously, I put it higher than the GTAs. It's the ultimate sandbox experience and I just wish it had automatic controller support. The game is ridiculously good and just does an amazing job with characterization. That's something Rockstar has always been good at though and just know that Bully is no exception. As for Manhunt, what a brutal game. It's violent and not for the easy stomach. It was good at the time, but doesn't hold up much anymore. If you buy this, get it primarily for Bully, an amazing game.

90

Awesome co-op experience

Supraballs | May 28, 2013 | Review of Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light

I actually love this game and really love the top-down approach it has. It reminds me a bit of Torchlight without the loot system and the co-op is the only way to play this game. Seriously--if you play yourself, you're not going to enjoy this as much. It's got some decent length to the game but it's Tomb Raider. Expect to go through some puzzles and fight enemies and that's it. Story comes second here. Enjoy this though and buy it while it is cheap nowadays!

50

I wanted to like this more

Supraballs | May 28, 2013 | Review of SpellForce 2: Faith in Destiny

I really did, as I actually liked the first game when it came out. The problem is that for a relatively newer game, this should be a lot cleaner looking. Was this made in DOS or something? I'm not one of those guys who is obsessed with graphics, but these need a tremendous upgrade. The game will last you a few hours at most and you'll get a cool blend of RTS and RPG, which is nice, but other than that, it offers very little. Enemy variety isn't big and well, this would be cool if it weren't coming out back in 2012. Big turnoff now and needs some improvement for the series to continue on.

60

Nothing special, but a good addition if you're a fan of the game

Supraballs | May 28, 2013 | Review of SpellForce 2 - Faith in Destiny Scenario Bundle

Unfortunately, the pack doesn't change the fact that the resolution for this game is not that great, but this game is deep and adds even more depth with these scenarios. You'll add a few extra hours with these scenarios and if you enjoy running through the game, give these scenarios a try. It's a timesink so be prepared! And know that they're decent and not required to get the gist of the game.

70

Off the Record is better, but still fun

Supraballs | May 27, 2013 | Review of Dead Rising 2

This is zombie madness with TONS of zombies on screen. I'd call this game a slasher to be really honest because you just plow through zombies and keep on moving. By the end of the campaign, you'll have run through probably tens of thousands of zombies, no joke. That part is pretty fun. As for the story, it's a snore. Play this game in co-op and don't think about the story. Play this because you want to destroy some zombies and that's it.

81

I was impressed

Supraballs | May 27, 2013 | Review of Sonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing

I didn't think much of this game at the time and thought, "Oh, another Mario Kart wannabe." It's actually a pretty fun game and worth the money. Now, the new one is out now and if you had to buy just one, get the new one. This was good at the time, but now, it's far inferior to the other Sonic Racing game. This one is straight kart racing on pretty linear tracks. It uses a gamepad which is awesome and puts 8 racers on at once. I liked it, and think it holds up well enough to the new one.

100

This is flawless and the best racing game on the PC

Supraballs | May 27, 2013 | Review of Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed

Somebody mentioned that this game is better than Mario Kart and a better "Mario Kart" game and they are absolutely right. This is the new standard and whenever they make a sequel, they will have some crazy high expectations to meet. I'd recommend this to anybody and from everybody I've talked to, I don't know one person who doesn't like this game. The mechanics are flawless, the racing is perfect, the powerups are on the spot. Seriously, buy this and don't look back--best racer, period.

80

Remember the whale chasing you?

Supraballs | May 27, 2013 | Review of Sonic Adventure DX

This is a game of nostalgia. I will admit I don't think it holds up entirely too well on the PC, but if you know what you're going in for, then this is a prize. The graphics are decent now (at one time, these were top of the line) but the gameplay is all the same. And by the way, this is a pretty long game and you will be spending a lot of time mastering it and completing everything. It's hard to put down once you get started and there are plenty of awe-inspiring moments in this game. Again, if you can get past the graphics, you will really enjoy it.

95

Masterpiece

Supraballs | May 27, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown (NA) -

It's hard to find new games that I would call games of the generation, but this one takes it for those of us still under 30. Firaxis is pretty amazing when it comes to turn-based games, and this one is no exception. If you know their formula, you will love this game. I love it and love the scope of the game, the atmosphere and the challenge it presents. If you want to really experience this game, play it at a normal or higher difficulty and really get ready to use your brain. Highly recommended and matter of fact, just buy it. It'll be worth it.

85

One of the first scary FPS I played

Supraballs | May 27, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R -

This game freaks me out at spots. Maybe it was the atmosphere, but I always found this game freaky. I think if you go look for videos online of some of the scariest games made, this one will come up somewhere. I'd recommend this for anybody who is interested in playing through the entire FEAR series and is looking to be frightened. If you want to get the full experience, play it at night with headphones. It adds a whole new element and makes the game very enjoyable. It holds up pretty well now too for being an older game. The other FEAR games are nowhere near as good as this one.

90

Do you like necromancer characters?

Supraballs | May 25, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Mechromancer Pack

If so, get this without hesitation. You get your minions and if you want to have those on your side, get this. I absolutely love Borderlands and I'd get anything they threw out at me, but if I were being unbiased, this character is unique from the others and offers something very different. She is the most difficult to use in the game, but if you want that challenge, she's perfect. I'd highly recommend her to those who want another challenge and have already went through the game.

50

This had potential but...

Supraballs | May 25, 2013 | Review of Krater - Collector's Edition

It simply has way too many gamebreaking features. It's missing a lot of balance and honestly, controlling multiple characters in this game simply does not work. ARPGs are a blast to me, but this one misses on so many fronts. There are parts where it shows promise and the environments are cool at first, but then you realize later that it is completely the same throughout the entire game. If they had more variance in this game, I'd call it a sleeper hit, but for now, it's not working out for me. Proceed with caution.

80

Dare I say, charming?

Supraballs | May 25, 2013 | Review of Hell Yeah Complete Pack

The humor in this is fun and it adds a great layer to the already crazy environments and characters. It's a rabbit and it is sinister. I actually enjoy the DLC as it adds a new element to the game and makes it longer, which is what I wanted after I played the game. The main game is pretty short and full of lots to do. You'll meet some crazy stuff throughout so go in with an open mind and be ready for a laugh. You're definitely not in this for the story.

70

Get this and pass up on DR2

Supraballs | May 25, 2013 | Review of Dead Rising 2: Off the Record

This fixes a lot of the flaws and essentially patches the first DR2. Yes, it's different of course, but like the reviews listed on here, it's just DR2 with Frank and making a few changes. The zombies are still there, the crazy weapons, the confined buildings with tons of interactables, all there. For the right price, this game is fun and worth it, but if you are debating between this and DR2, get this.

90

We need more of these on the PC

Supraballs | May 25, 2013 | Review of Super Street Fighter 4: Arcade Edition

Capcom did a tremendous job with this port and bringing it to the PC was a step in the right direction for fighting games. You know how these games work but is it worth it? I believe it is because the netcode is great for me and I grew up on these games. Street Fighter on the PC is better than no Street Fighter and to me, this is where it all started. The Arcade Edition adds a lot to this game and if you happen to have the first SFIV, you gotta upgrade. Too many additional things that you are missing out on if you don't.

90

Simply awesome

Supraballs | May 25, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil 5

Resident Evil 5 was my second RE game after 4. RE4 is one-of-a-kind and can never be duplicated in my eyes, but man, RE5 brought out the big guns in this one. I was impressed with the graphics and I played the whole game in co-op, which I think is the only way to play this. If you play it by yourself, it won't be as great. The AI is awful and will definitely give you a bad opinion. If you have a friend to play with, you are in for a ride and will experience what I believe is one of the best co-op experiences I've had in the last few years. Get a friend, play this and love it.

75

Just shoot everything

Supraballs | May 25, 2013 | Review of Painkiller: Black Edition

Yep, that explains this game. It's fun in the fact that there are lots of enemies and as mentioned in another review, it does have a Serious Sam feel to it. This is where it all began and if you want to play this game where it all started, this is it.

65

Could use some improvement, but fun if you enjoy the series

Supraballs | May 25, 2013 | Review of Painkiller: Redemption

I like games that aren't that great. I'll say this falls perfectly into that category. It's a shoot-em-up and you'll get to experience some dark and demented places in the game, but it is incredibly repetitive and stale. I like the new Painkiller much better but if you want to follow the series, give this game a go. Don't expect anything mind blowing though as it's a typical shooter.

80

Flawed, but long and exciting

Supraballs | May 25, 2013 | Review of Alpha Protocol

Obsidian holds a special place in my heart for creating some of the most story driven games with a lot of character and I think this one adds up nicely to their collection. There are plenty of flaws, especially in the scaling of the weapons, but when it comes to the story, it is unique and engaging. The fact that there are TONS of different ways to play this game and come to the end, it's highly recommended for somebody who wants to experience a story. It's like playing through a very long novel and if you like that, you'll like this game.

100

The only way to play BF3

Supraballs | May 25, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3 Premium Service (NA)

This is one of those services you must have to experience the full BF3 game. It comes with tons of maps and content and is highly recommended if you want to play this game for awhile. They add maps that are more close quarters, more open to flying, etc. Simply enough, if you want to play for a long time and get the FULL experience, get this pack.

90

Exactly what the first version should have been

Supraballs | April 29, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization V: Gods & Kings

So, Gods & Kings adds exactly what needed to go into this game. Now, it's the perfect Civ 5 and only leaves bigger hopes for the next expansion due out in the upcoming months. Highly recommend this game and know that if you weren't too keen on Civ 5 when it first came out, it's right where it needs to be with this expansion.