Reviews by TGAlan

65

What happened?

TGAlan | July 11, 2013 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

Duke Nukem Forever. 15 years in the making and yet here I am, considering if it couldn't have used a couple of more years in development. The truth is though, 5-10-15-20 years it wouldn't have mattered. The problem here isn't lack of development, it's the direction of the development.

All the fluff is there though. Playing this game you will never doubt that this is a Duke game. Scantily clad women are everywhere and you will rarely walk more than ten feet between the various pop culture references, jokes and other nonsense. If anything Gearbox deserves some credit for getting that part of the franchise right. The humor is there, the silliness, the crazy. What they got wrong, is the mechanics.

Playing Duke Nukem Forever is like playing every FPS made in the last 10 years. Gearbox certainly did. They added every cheesy feature the genre has ever experimented with. You got your vehicle sections, your turret sections, your button mashing quick-time events and so on and so forth. Any sense of the fast paced, old school style of FPS that made Duke Nukem 3D the icon it is today is long gone. Instead we have a Duke that's become old and arthritic. This Duke isn't the badass Duke of old. This Duke leans on stamina bars, regenerating health, limited weapon slots, scripted events and linear maps.

Instead of the sprawling maps of Duke 3D, that had you running, jumping, flying and swimming all over the place, looking for secrets and keycards you play through entirely linear and fully scripted sequences and fights you do not allow you to progress until you've killed what the game wants you to kill and listened to whatever irrelevant dialog the game wants you to listen to. The entire experience is slow and dull and there is little to look forward to besides the naked ladies and the occasional proper joke.

Duke Nukem 3D was a masterpiece of adolescent insanity, of old school fast paced shooting, of innovative map design. Duke Nukem Forever has captured the adolescent part but lost everything else in the shuffle. What's left is a mediocre shooter with a bunch of nudes thrown around.

Duke Nukem Forever is not a very good game. It's a game that doesn't stay true to it's old school roots doesn't even compare to the original. Even by modern standards it brings nothing new to the table, just a bunch of rehashed concepts and ideas. Nothing is new, nothing is better than what's been already done.

All in all. For those that have been waiting, hoping for a good old school style shooter, this ain't it. And for those that just want a decent modern shooter to pass the time, this ain't it either. They might get the crude humor right but everything else, just ain't Duke.

90

ONE WORD: CHALLENGE

TGAlan | July 11, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

If I would choose a word to describe this game, I wouldn't choose hard or impossible.. I would choose frustrating! (But I still love this game :) ) The music is nice, the stages are challenging, the controls aren't bad, but sometimes them simply don't work or you get stuck on the floor for no reason (Sometimes causing your death). Super Meat Boy is one of the best, if not, the best platform game I've played in the last years. I got addicted to it, I couldn't stop playing until I get 100% of the game! If you want a challenge and to get angry, buy it now!

80

Cool for a moment

TGAlan | July 11, 2013 | Review of Zombie Driver

Zombie Driver is an fun easy going game that allows you to race, and smash, and shoot the crap out of tons of zombies. It's a simple, top down playing game. Nothing fancy, no bells and whistles, but has some online leadboards.

90

Really amazing

TGAlan | July 11, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Blood Money

Incredible game part of an incredible saga. I enjoyed the hitman saga very much and i love those games with complete freedom and so many ways to kill your enemies and complete the levels. The soundtrack is amazing too.

95

MUST BUY

TGAlan | July 11, 2013 | Review of Mafia II

This game takes you back in time to the 60's when mafia ruled the cities and there was polices that you could bribe with money. This game is like gta but better if you like sandbox games like gta saints row etc. this is a must buy.

75

I think is better on co-op

TGAlan | July 11, 2013 | Review of Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light

I must say I haven't played co-op, only solo, so my opinion is based only on the solo experience. I'm pointing this out because this game looks like it is a lot of fun with co-op. Even playing solo I enjoyed myself with this game, the puzzles weren't very challenging but were enough to keep me entertained. The action parts were less fun than the puzzles, but they still managed to entertain, especially the boss fights. I guess it's a game worth a look, but not at full price.

85

Really fun and crazy

TGAlan | July 11, 2013 | Review of Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days

Kane and Lynch 2 is a good game, unfortunately it was not appreciated by the critics, has a very innovative camera mode to be an action game in the third person, brings a lot to the game visuals and also helps to placing in scenarios and situations that the game offers.

The only downside is how short the srtory mode is and unfortunately the multiplayer is not working as it should be (seems to use the classic host system.)

history is not the most elaborate but it is entertaining and does the job, unlike the first kane and lynch here try to give more plot twists also show various facets of the crazy characters we possibly did not see in the first game.

Unlike the first we dont have have an stealth system or whatever you call it, but our friend here is really smart and very useful if you have difficulty in low, generally is an added challenge when having to cure it if it falls. Generally adds more realism to the game.

It is appreciated that the controls have been polished, and correct annoying bugs with the coverage that had the previous game. Besides this new Kane and Lynch has a very good variety of weapons that you can enjoy in all modes, also highlighting the cooperative where we can play the story mode with a friend, this works well.

For its fun gameplay, crazy situations, and for being a good third person shooter game deserve this note.

80

Decent game...

TGAlan | July 11, 2013 | Review of Alien Breed 2: Assault

Alien Breed is A decent game. It's alot of fun co-op as any game with it usually is. It's made with the unreal engine but with the view so far out it's hard to really admire the graphics you would normally be enjoying in say A FPS made with the unreal engine. The main problem I think with the game is the view/controls, most of the games now-a-days let you change the view with say A joystick and on the fly. With this game (and the 1st and 3rd games of the series) you have to bring the crosshair/cursor to the edge of the screen to change the view which it's terrible compared to the other ways of doing it. But the alien breed series is something to check out as it's got A decent overall game. The story didn't really do anything for me but the gameplay is what makes it worth the purchase (if you can get use to the camera system that is).

75

Better than i expected

TGAlan | July 11, 2013 | Review of Alien Breed: Impact

The experience exceed the expectation. I thought it was going to be real horrible but it is not bad just hard. Yes but it is hard so i might stop after a while. This game is better than swarm in reborn during game for coop and ammo u can get more but bad at too many hordes of aliens and finding the torch to achieve objective is hard. I got what i paid for. I like the ammo finding and more ammo and credit to upgrade and to get more ammo. I did not like the fast hordes too quickly. I would recommend my friend if they like aliens killing and top down shooter.

65

Inferior to the first one

TGAlan | July 7, 2013 | Review of Painkiller: Redemption

Very clingy, and really inferior to the first installment in the series. Redemption is a dull attempt at make money of a solid franchise, and it shows: outdated visuals, frustrated gameplay, lots of bugs and an overall absence of fun. Not recommended.

90

HERE COMES THE BOOM

TGAlan | July 7, 2013 | Review of Beat Hazard

Ever since I purchased and tried it, this game was very addictive. The two of its greatest features - costumizable tracks and visual effects / colours that actually change based on the music you play - can provide many hours as fun ; same thing goes for the Co-Op part. Overall, "Beat Hazard" is a pretty interesting one to play.

90

Oldie but Goodie

TGAlan | July 7, 2013 | Review of Painkiller: Black Edition

Old, odd, funny, awesome game!, it is a shooter with no other target than killing creatures like skeletons and zombies on the graveyard. Multi-player option is very funny if you are playing with your friends and the music during the whole game makes this game epic.

85

Reminds me to Unreal Tournament, really cool

TGAlan | July 7, 2013 | Review of Nexuiz

Nexuiz is an astounding graphical demonstration of what a top-notch engine could manage to do with the current technology. The game itself is a classic "Unreal Tournament-esque" action FPS, not bad at it: the gameplay surely feels the same way the old Quake-clones felt back in the days, and it's really fun to play. I recommend it to the fan of the genre.

80

Awesome but lack of player base... :(

TGAlan | July 7, 2013 | Review of Lead and Gold

Lead and Gold is an on-line only (no main-single player or campaign) team-based game. For what it is, it's actually a lot of fun but has only a few different maps and game modes. The real problem with Lead and Gold is its player base... or lack there of. If you're able to find a populated server with some people to play with, you're sure to enjoy yourself, but good luck with that at this point.

85

Loved it the MP... but now there's nobody :(

TGAlan | July 7, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R. 3

F.E.A.R. 3 is a fun and well polished shooter, if you're looking for a fun casual experience like Call of Duty, but do not mistake it for a F.E.A.R.. The gameplay has now become a mix of Parkour and fast paced gunfights, the goal being to make the highest score by replaying the same levels, over and over.

Interestingly, the campaign can be played in co-op, but this makes the game a little too easy, so I would recommend to finish the game in solo first. The game also features some very original multiplayer game modes. In F*king Run, up to six players are tasked to escape from an ever advancing fog of death, while the players are being pursued by an increasing number and tougher enemies. This game mode is exceptionally fun and challenging. Contractions is a survival mode tasking the players to barricade themselves from waves of possessed enemies. Unfortunately, nowadays it's impossible to find anybody playing multiplayer games or the cooperative campaign.

85

SP & CO-OP = AWESOME

TGAlan | July 7, 2013 | Review of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

It is an incredible game, offers countless hours of fun. Besides being a fantastic story that hooks you, the cooperative mode is great and has a lot of mission training, etc.. Anyway is a story with a plot worthy of the best movie of holliwood

80

GrEAt title

TGAlan | July 7, 2013 | Review of Bulletstorm dns

This is a great, mindless, good looking game. The skill point system works very well and is rather satisfying. The game has its flaws but since it tries some new things, it really doesn't matter.

As much as this game has been maligned, I finally found it for <$10 a while back and found it to be very fun. It's a shooter and doesn't try to be anything but a shooter. It was fun, had gratuitous violence, interesting and slightly intricate combat mechanics. It was easily worth my time and money and when I just want to kill it is a good game to fire up and have some shameless fun. The only thing I found annoying was the over the top vulgarity and graphic, senseless gore. I know what I'm playing. I don't need it rammed down my throat every two seconds. Other than that though a solid shooter.

If you like FPS, this really won't let you down so long as you turn your brain off while playing it.

85

Pretty fun title

TGAlan | July 7, 2013 | Review of Call of Duty: Black Ops

This is a great, mindless, good looking game. The skill point system works very well and is rather satisfying. The game has its flaws but since it tries some new things, it really doesn't matter.

If you like FPS, this really won't let you down so long as you turn your brain off while playing it.

95

Welcome to Pandora!

TGAlan | July 7, 2013 | Review of Borderlands Game of the Year Edition

Awesome gameplay. I generally stay away from MMO games but the one player option means I can have the individual experience I prefer but share it with my friends when I choose. This is the only game in years I have continued to play long enough to finish. Love the quest MMO interface.

75

Another FPS, but fun

TGAlan | July 7, 2013 | Review of Brink Nexway

Just another shooter, I preordered this game hoping it was going to be everything it was supposed to be but there really were not that many new game mechanics in it or they were not utilized as much as they should have been. The Co-Op was pretty fun and some of the challenges were quite frustrating but in a shooter I want it to be a bit frustrating. I played the game for a while with some friends but then kind of abandoned it when it didn't hold up to what I was expecting.

80

Enjoyable

TGAlan | July 7, 2013 | Review of Aliens: Colonial Marines

The experience meet my expectation. I am currently playing it and plan to play 10-30hrs of it for 2 weeks on steam. This game better than previous game in Aliens series. It is because it has coop and better matchmaking. It is more action than previous aliens and fun. I felt i got what i paid for because it is fun and exciting than most of my game. I like the coop mode and many multiplayer modde. The co-op is fun because I have friends to help me. I dislike is the matchmaking is not as good as it should be. The drop-in drop out was not what I thought it meant because I was thinking l4d2 or something like that with AI. Otherwise it is not bad. I would recommmend my friends that want it to buy it because it is better than you think.

100

I want NOW the next season

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead: 400 Days

What a great introduction for next season's group. And the hint at the end was AWESOME. It seems things from Issue #70 and forth will come in the upcoming season. And it was awesome seeing so many Easter eggs from Season 1. Looking forward to the next season!

100

I've waited so many time for this... ♥

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | Review of Sonic Generations

This is a Sonic game we've been waiting years for!

The gameplay is smooth and responsive - as you'd want from a proper Sonic game.

The Modern Sonic finally feel like it should - he's fast, responsive, easy to navigate and gives a lots of fun. Classic Sonic stages are as good as always :>

Levels ale awesome (well, most of them - I've hated Planet Wisp, but all the others are really great!). All lvls are based on classic Sonic stages with all their unique mechanics.

Graphics are very good, but could be better. While Modern Sonic Stages looks top notch, some of the Classic Sonic ones looks old-ish.

Soundtrack is AWESOME! It includes both original songs from previous Sonic games as well as new ones and covers.

And game have a massive replayability - A lot of unlocks (concept graphics and songs), bonus stages, Score-farming, Achievments, main levels have optional routes with bonuses - I'm still playing this game, even if I've beaten it quite a time ago :>

To sum things up - if you loved old Sonic Games and hated what Sega did with their greatest franchise - BUY IT! It's the best sonic that's been out in years! It's also good choice if you enjoy skill-based fast platformers or Score Attack competition.

95

Just like the old times... AWESOME

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | Review of Sonic CD

If you want any of the classic Sonic games on Steam, consider this one your priority. Sega's previous PC ports have been competent but nothing special and this one was the start of them taking things a little more above and beyond. The entire game was rebuilt from the ground up by Christian "Taxman" Whitehead and has some incredible new features. HD resolutions with full widescreen capability, both the original Japanese and alternate English soundtracks, online scoreboards and even a playable version of Tails that never existed in the original version. It's a very high quality remaster of a classic game, the only negative thing I can warn you about (if you can even call it negative) is that the game is a little different from other Sonic games in that it has some more emphasis on platforming. You can't go fast all the time, but when you do, hoo boy.

96

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil 6

I think this is the best game ever on Resident Evil series this far. Graphics are awesome and the gameplay is fun and addicting. Also you can play the story mode with friends or by yourself. If you like zombie shooting games, i highly recommend this game for you

90

Fun puzzle game

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | Review of Lucius Cap

Lucius is a fun puzzle game combined with demonic references.You are the son of Lucifer and must kill people for him.It has very clever puzzles that can take up a lot of your time but whenever you finish a puzzle you get the feeling that it was so obvious.The story is good and keeps you guessing but the game is rather short if you finish the puzzles fast.The cinematics are satisfying.But the game ends on a cliffhanger which leaves the story unresolved.

90

Superb Facial Expressions!

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | Review of L.A. Noire Capsule

L.A. Noire is very climatic game. It has got extremely interesting story with lots of memorable characters. Facial expressions and movements of peoples are absolutely amazing. Sound is really good too. Unfortunately this game have poor optimisation, so I had to play with low/mid settings. Anyway graphics on max settings is good. Additionally I think car chases would be more realistic. Moreover this game stands out of present games, because it demands a bit of thinking - especially at interviewing suspects.

80

Just for fans.

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | Review of Jurassic Park: The Game

This is a good game, it's great for fans of the JP series and a wonderful title to get stuck in and play. However, the game does have a few things holding it back. First of all the presentation fo the game, menu's, cut scenes and overall animation seem lacking, not so much stuck in the past but more along the lines of not very well refined. Secondly one of the biggest pitfalls about this game would have to be the QTE's (Quick Time Events) and how they are set out in the game. It's felt like less of a fun thing to do and more of a chore. A good example of how QTE events should be handled would have been Shenmue I and II. The visuals and graphics are very nice and I can't really fault them, obviously not ground breaking graphics but the theme fits and the atmosphere is spot on. The sounds are also quite nice, and if everything else was on par we'd be up for a great game. Overall, it's fun to play, it does have a lot to answer for but please try a demo or play at a friends house before buying, I wouldn't buy this again.

85

DAT NARRATION <3

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | Review of Dear Esther

First of all, I love the narration. But that's not what i'm here talking about, the game is very good, (technically not a game, is more of a interactive book narrated, where you can move yourself) It's a very complex game, you need to be smart to understand it. I may not know what's the meaning behind it, but what I understood from my perspective is that this "game" means: "GoodBye, Cruel World".

80

Really cool Tower Defense

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | Review of Sanctum

Sanctum has a very awesome and unique take on tower defense. Since its FPS it actually requires a lot of strategy on your own, you build towers to help but you have your own gun to do damage as well. While playing you need to decide if you want to upgrade your towers or your guns. The levels get progressively harder just like a normal tower defense game. Found it boring playing solo so you should try finding friends to play with.

So basically to sum this up, if you like tower defense games and FPS games then you'll definitely like this game as its a lot of fun!

95

WELCOME TO RAPTURE

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | Review of BioShock

A game that allows you to be immersed in its atmosphere. If you enjoy a good story line in a steam punk late 50' style with a critic on our society you will love this game! The game shows us that humans can not contoll too much power on a single person and what happens if greed and power come together.

90

Not like Oblivion, but awesome.

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

Ah, so this is possibly the most absolute over-hyped game of all time. If it didn't have dragons or a dark aesthetic, I truly believe people wouldn't have slobbered all over it. A good game but it's far more retread than anything else.

If you played an Elder Scrolls game this is very much the same thing that you previously saw. Which for most is a great thing.

The gameplay is refined but still clunky. The graphics are very much retreads of Oblivion, only with snow and more gray. The main quest story-line is still disappointing, short and borderline stupid. However, it is far better than Oblivion's no doubt. It just falls terribly short of its own potential.

The music is still strong but a little more moody and they still didn't have the bright idea to make more dungeon ambients and music. So, it falls short is the same areas, as always, but succeeds in the same areas as always too. Town and field music is awesome and the theme is great too.

If you loved the side quests in Oblivion, you'll be in heaven here. There's tons of quests. The only problem is that you're left doing quests that mean absolutely nothing because the world is not a persistent one. Your actions, outside of very FEW quests, mean nothing. So, any role playing in this game is largely in your own self-deluded silly head rather than in the game. Which obviously works for most, but if you want to see your actions play out in the game, forget it.

Now that it's been a while since release and the DLC is finished and disappointingly lazy, we're left with a game that is different than Oblivion, but not by much. It's a shame that the game didn't pursue to expand on gameplay and quests more.

If you want much of the same, awesome. You'll love this game, rightfully so. If you're expecting more evolution and revolution... buy it on sale.

92

Worth the time.

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

When you see the "Deus Ex : Human Revolution" title you can only think at two aspects : First Person Shooter and Role Playing-Game. Combining both with stealth elements, it is, without any doubt, a must-play for the lovers of the genre. Good graphics, good sound, intriguing gameplay. Just play it, it's definitely worth the time.

83

I loved that strange language LOL

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | Review of Magicka

And yet another indie game that made its way into the light and now it is appreciated by the players. A first look into the Magicka universe will make you play it more and more and, as you do that, the fun won't cease to appear. In your journey you get to choose from a variety of elements and making the right combination at the right time will clearly be rewarding. What I loved most about this game was the strange language the characters use and the challenging aspect, since the enemies won't simply leave a fight until they (or you) are done.

85

Better than GTA? Probably.

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs Pack

Great game with a great story line, graphics, game play. The story line is realy great if you will play just a story line then you will see that story is like in action movie. I played sleeping dogs for 30 h and i still want to play it again and again because it is better than GTA for me.

95

Masterpiece...

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line

A game that took everyone by surprise, this excellent third-person/over-the-shoulder shooter places you in a unique environment and excellent story.

Fans of 2K's Bioshock series will fall in love with this game.

I really can't express my love for this game without spoiling it, please, do yourself a favor and buy it now.

95

For the full experience: FRIENDS!

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | Review of Killing Floor

Nice game for play with your friends,a dynamic and very scary. If you are an amateur zombie apocalypse, if you like, shoulder to shoulder with his friends, cut into pieces zombies, it's game for YOU and and your friends!

89

I loved the story!

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

Having played Bioshock 1 & 2 in the space of a few weeks it was infinite's turn. The graphics in this are stunning at times (mainly due to the lighting used) The combat is pretty poor which is a shame, most combat takes place in arenas and isn't very well executed. The saving grace is the story and gets quite interesting as you progress. while i really missed rapture and found Columbia not as interesting, Bioshock infinite is a worthy addition and is worth a play

80

I miss this game.

TGAlan | July 3, 2013 | Review of Stellar Impact

Really sucks that I can't find a game anymore. This game was AWESOME and had so much potential and if it was only advertised a bit more it could have been a sleeper hit. Me and my friend played this often together. WTB Stellar Impact 2.

97

Welcome back, Lara

TGAlan | June 29, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider

What can I say about my candidate to Game of the Year? Superb graphics, superb story, superb gameplay, superb voice acting, superb performance, superb controls, superb port... overall superb. In every single way.

A worthy reboot of one of my favorite franchises ever. If you ask me, this is Lara Croft as she would be in the modern world. And as she should be in the modern world.

As you follow the game you can see how the Lara Croft we all loved is born. I can't wait for the sequel! And the sequel to that sequel! And the sequel to the sequel of that sequel! And the- well, you catch my drift.

Final word: this game should be the Game of the Year. It's earned my vote.

85

AMAZING combat system!

TGAlan | June 29, 2013 | Review of Zeno Clash

An excellent and original mix between fight and shooting, with a superb art which got it nominated for 'Excellence in Visual Art' at the Independent Games Festival, and with good reason. Like sci-fi and fantasy? Like brutal combat? Then what are you waiting for?

90

Another Masterpiece of Telltale

TGAlan | June 29, 2013 | Review of Back to the Future: The Game

A sequel to everybody's favorite time-travelling trilogy, with a story worthy of the name of "Back to the Future". See Marty and the Doc again in a whole new adventure set in the 1920s. See new alternate realities. And this time you get to actually help Marty to restore the timeline!

Another superb game by Telltale.

87

ART

TGAlan | June 29, 2013 | Review of Trine

A charming story of three unrelated people suddenly linked together by a mysterious artifact known as the Trine.

With an EXCELLENT graphics engine, perfect 3D art for a sidescreen platformer, and excellent playability. The story is amazing, with a wonderful voice acting, a magical soundtrack, and the game mechanics are innovative and easy to learn. Full of secrets of course, like a good platformer should be.

This is what I call ART.

75

Interesting game...

TGAlan | June 29, 2013 | Review of InMomentum

inMomentum is a game where you must run from start to finish. But it's not just a racing game; you must solve little puzzles on the way to get to the finish line.

Amazing visuals and a very good gameplay. Interesting concept for a just-run game.

95

Best Medieval game i ever played

TGAlan | June 29, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is the best of the best in medieval multiplayer arena games. Shoot, pierce, hack, slash, stab or decapitate your way through your objective.

It also uses Steamworks for multiplayer, achievements and stats, so it's cool enough, and even excels in it, for an indie game to get a 5-star score.

90

True Pirates

TGAlan | June 29, 2013 | Review of Tales of Monkey Island

Worthy of the name of Monkey Island, this new installment will bring Captain Guybrush Threepwood, Mighty Pirate™ to the shores of a mysterious island in the center of the Caribbean, part of a big archipelago, where a new mystery will arise. What is LeChuck up to now? What lies at the doorstep of death itself and beyond? And what does this all have to do with a sponge? You'll know soon enough when you purchase this must-have pack of three-headed adventure which comes in a cozy 5 episode series for your convenience and enjoyment! And if you need any other Monkey Island game or related accessories, come to Stan's!

80

Short, but funny

TGAlan | June 29, 2013 | Review of DLC Quest

An excellent parody of today's gaming industry, with a message hidden beneath the humor, a message that foretells - and very accurately - how gaming industry is becoming with all games being chopped and sold in parts - known as DLCs - in order to get more money. A sad truth, packed in an excellent and fun platformer full of references to pop culture stuff, memes, jokes, and game, movie and comic references.

85

Really good spin-off

TGAlan | June 29, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake's American Nightmare

Awesome spin-off of an awesome game. I hope Sam Lake and the guys at Remedy keep doing little stories like this one from time to time just to keep Alan Wake alive until they decide to make Alan Wake 2 (which I hope they do soon). It is less dark than the original installment but that's good, because it is another story to tell, with another mood. The idea of bringing Alan back, at least for a while, through the TV show Night Springs is awesome. If they made more like this with other stories that would be awesome.

90

Awesome story and "TV" style

TGAlan | June 29, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake

A masterpiece and one of the best games I've had the pleasure of playing. Long, with a compelling story, an excellent gameplay, and a great setting. This game reminds me a lot of what Alone in the Dark made me feel about 15 years ago. I never thought a game could make me feel that way again. It has everything a game of the genre needs, and more. It even includes a great soundtrack witin it, ranging from songs from famous artists, iconic songs, and songs made exclusively for the game! And it is based in episodes, just like a TV series, it even has a briefing of the previous episode going like "Previously in Alan Wake...", a GREAT touch for a game like this because it totally has a story that is better when coming in an episodic package. I repeat, once again, one of the best games I've played in my life, and I hope there's more of Alan Wake in the future, because it is a franchise that has a lot to offer.