Reviews by Takeshi_K

70

Interesting concept but lacks in execution

Takeshi_K | Dec. 3, 2013 | Review of Remember Me

Remember Me could have been a much better game, and I was really hoping.

The story and characters never really manage to get under my skin, to make me care about them. That wouldn't be a problem if the combat wasn't so flawed. It wants you to make these crazy combos, and that's actually a cool idea. Even cooler that you can customize them. But it doesn't work when they're being put to practical use in combat. It's hard to do a combo, when you have an enemy going for you after three button inputs. In Batman it wasn't a problem since you could just jump over the enemy or counter them. But you are able to do neither of those things in RM.

It doesn't help that it's incredibly linear without Uncharted-level of quality. Plus the text everywhere is just a major pain since it makes you think there is something over there to interact with. Also, the camera keeps lovering when I am in combat making it hard to keep my depth of field.

86

One of the best action adventure games of 2013

Takeshi_K | Dec. 3, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider

Tomb Raider is back in style. It's gritty, realistic and incredibly exciting. Not being a fan of the old games, this one caters so much to my taste. Uncharted comes to mind when I think of the imfluences. The story isn't the strongest about this time. It's the puzzles (although there could be more), the action and the ability to fully explore.

Two complaints though; a linear path sort of. It wasn't an open world which I would have enjoyed more. Also, the crafting system was incredibly simplified. Even more than FC3's was.

But all in all, an amazing game with a few things that could be fixed for a sequel which I hope comes.

84

Not quite Rocksteady love, but that's all right

Takeshi_K | Dec. 3, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham Origins

It's still goddamn Batman. The core gameplay mechanics are intact, and so it's still quite the action and adventure game. A few things has been tweaked, but only things that helps build on the game. Arguably, things that Rocksteady could implement in their next-gen Batman game.

The only complaint is that the gap from City to Origins isn't as ground-breaking as the gap from Asylum to City. One might so that it's a good thing, and I am a firm believer of that. WB Montreal aren't Rocksteady, so I am all right with this minor upgrade.

There is still a strong story, new gameplay mechanics to try out, and exciting new side missions to take on.

70

I was honestly hoping for more

Takeshi_K | Dec. 3, 2013 | Review of Assassins Creed III

Watching the various trailers and gameplay demos, I was definitely hoping this entry would shake up things more. But once again I was disappointed in an AC game.

The story this time could be very interesting and gripping, but bad gameplay mecanics and incredibly tedious game design just bogs it down. Missions that involve running around a small area warning houses of impending troops, stealth missions and worst of all; "listen in on a conversation" missions. It's hard to believe that the developers actually think that it is an interesting gameplay mechanic.

The best aspect of this game is the naval combat. The only thing that would make me come back after I've beaten the game. Not surprising that the next game was exactly that.

90

One of the best games of 2011

Takeshi_K | Dec. 27, 2012 | Review of Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition (EU)

Dark Souls is hard. It will beat you to the ground and stomp all over your dead body. But it is through that defeat that you will become victorious in the end. It's trial-and-error, it's very hard in the beginning before you get used to the combat mechanics and various gameplay options. However, the feeling of accomplishment is really amazing. Few games will make your hands sweat during this age of gaming, and even fewer will make you look like a complete maniac when you do beat one of the game's bosses. Additionally, the game is crazy addictive. You'll put the game away for a few hours and before you know it you'll be wanting to go back in. The PC port is decent. For singleplayer at least I've only had a few issues. It's quite laggy in some places. It probably helps with a proper gaming rig. Also, I did get disconnected from GFWL once, but I returned to where I had been disconnected once I launched the game again.

90

Great introduction for new MMO player

Takeshi_K | Dec. 25, 2012 | Review of Guild Wars 2: Heroic Edition

I've only tried a few hours of TERA before sinking over 60 hours into GW2 and I was completely hooked for weeks. The dynamic events were exiting, the story was okay. At first it was getting new gear that motivated me to play it, then it was the amazing collaboration of players that just amazed me. And then finally the prospect of fighting epic monsters. Sadly, I've lost the interest for now though I plan to resume playing at some point.

80

Great way to finish the trilogy

Takeshi_K | Dec. 25, 2012 | Review of Mass Effect 3

Mass Effect 3 unfortunately isn't the game I was hoping for. I was hoping for more RPG customization when it came to combat instead of only having choices and consequences as the RPG elements.

The combat is more direct and aggressive which suits the franchise. There's good moments for the characters we've followed for years and the voice acting is as impeccable as ever. The graphics are okay for this generation although titles such as The Witcher 2 and Uncharted 3 really makes it painful just how far behind the Bioware are in utilizing new technology. Still the graphics do what they must.

All in all, it was a joy to play the game despite my disappointments.

80

Much better than the first game

Takeshi_K | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Darksiders II

The first Darksiders didn't overwhelm me. I had just finished playing all of the God of War games, and to be honest, Darksiders felt like a bad copy.

The sequel is a different case. It's got RPG elements which are very addictive. The environments are far greater in scope and the puzzles so far are fun while being manageable. The combat is also a lot more fun this time around.

The PC port is about as good as the first game. It runs worse than Sleeping Dogs while looking worse. There's a limited amount of graphic settings which is what I miss the most. Even turning a lot of it off it still lags.

Still I am enjoying it much so if you can look past some issues there's some very epic fun to be had. Much like last year's LOTR: War in The North.

80

Giving you the ultimate feeling of being a predator

Takeshi_K | Dec. 13, 2012 | Review of Crysis 2: Maximum Edition (EU)

I was very impressed with Crysis 2. The gameplay had been tidied up from Crysis and Crysis: Warhead. The graphics were great even though many complain about Crysis 2 taking two steps back in terms of graphics. The story was excellent though ending was a bit disappointing. It didn't have as approachable areas as Far Cry 3 or the first Crysis games, but it did have enough to make you feel like a predator. Taking out your enemies one by one without them knowing where you are.

It's sad that they didn't add maps where you can have fun taking down enemies stealthy.

All in all, a very solid FPS for those who like a mix of action and stealth.

85

Amazing open-world game set in Hong Kong

Takeshi_K | Dec. 13, 2012 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Limited Edition

I'm half asian so this game interests me more than GTA or Saints Row. I definitely didn't expect an AAA-title from this game. More like a downloadable game like I Am Alive.

It's got the same great battle system Batman has. The story is very good and there's tons of things to discover. The DLC isn't that interesting although Nightmare in North Point is all right.

Also, the PC version is VERY good. Props to Square Enix for putting effort into it. I'm definitely hopeful for a sequel.

75

Mixed experience

Takeshi_K | Dec. 13, 2012 | Review of The Lord of the Rings: War in the North

LOTR WITN isn't a bad game, but sadly one that could have been much better if the studio had gotten more development time and resources.

The combat itself is very satisfying and fun. Even after finishing the game you may feel like playing it again just because getting better loot is so satisfying. Co-op is not handled very well sadly and putting equipment on for the other two characters is way too complicated. You can't in-game equip, you have to go back to the main menu to do this.

All in all, good fun to be had if you're willing to tolerate a few issues. Also, works best on nVIDIA cards.

88

How Batman should be made

Takeshi_K | Dec. 9, 2012 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year -

Arkham Asylum is one of those games where I've been thinking about how cool it would be to have such a game, but I never expected it to be made. And then Rocksteady goes and makes it, and simply blow the rest of us away. It's different from Arkham City because it has a much simpler and concentrated one. If you are a fan of TAS, then definitely check this game out. If you are simply a fan of high quality action-adventure games then definitely also.Personally played through it several times because of how good it is. The gritty settting, amazing voice acting and addicting gameplay. Play it, you won't be disappointed.

92

Best superhero game

Takeshi_K | Dec. 9, 2012 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year -

Batman: Arkham City has it all.

An amazing storyline. Really feels like something out of Batman: The Animated Series - just 10x. Great gameplay, flying around AC is just super fun. Charatcers and voice acting - this is where the game really excels. So many interesting characters and sooo good voice acting. Delicious for a TAS fan.

I personally felt like a kid on Christmas when I was playing this game when it got out on October last year. One of the best experiences playing a video game.