Reviews by Thoosa

72

Good, but not as good as I expected

Thoosa | Nov. 17, 2013 | Review of Contrast

I was keeping a close eye on this platformer, I loved the trailers, so I pre ordered it from steam. Well, not as good as I thought it will be surely sums it up. But I still love the french vibe and the decent graphics and because I am a platformer maniac, playing everything from Giana Sisters to Deadlight I am pretty sure it will take some of my time away. The story is pretty decent so far, but I guess it won t take a long time to finish it, it feels like I am already close to the end after only a few hours spent in. So, if you are interested in the french vibe and in decent puzzles, hop on the train.

80

Surprisingly entertaining

Thoosa | Nov. 17, 2013 | Review of Tropico 4

I got this game as a gift. So... I do not really like simulations and city building games, so I was not really into trying it any time soon, until one rainy night I decided to install it after I had a really bad raid in WoW. And I have to say, it is deeply satisfying to watch over the world of the tropical island and to be a little bit of a... well, dictator :) I think the graphics could have been better, but it still looks kinda good in a matter of speaking. I think I am gone spend a really long time with this game :)

85

Just great

Thoosa | Nov. 17, 2013 | Review of Call of Juarez®: Gunslinger

I love old the good old Wild West, and I really enjoyed Gun. But I did not expect CoJ: Gunslinger to be this good. The story and the twists on it are interesting, meeting the famous outlaws is refreshing and the gameplay is a fast paced shoot them up. I really dig the visuals, they are great, and the game is really cheap for what it actually offers. So, if you like such games as this one, you should totally grab it.

90

Great tactical game

Thoosa | Oct. 9, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown

I will not lie, I won this game. But I was pleasantly surprised, when i found out it is actually really great and I spent around 30 hours in it already. The gameplay is fun, I love the base building, but obviously, the main reason is the tactical gameplay the missions provide for you. You have 4 classes of soldiers, every with different roles in a mission. It is really up to you to make great moves and come out victorious. The ever enhancing aliens are becoming more resilient as the game goes on, so you will never become a good and it will always be challenging. The only thing that bothered me were sudden fps drops after you return to your base, mainly when the cutscenes do appear.

95

My favourite RPGs

Thoosa | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Gothic Complete Collection

Gothic 1,2 and 3 in one package?! Plain awesomeness. Gothic 1 is probably the best RPG I have ever played. Of course, nowadays, the graphics are really terrible, and one may hate the game for it. Sadly, that would be a big mistake. The story, the gameplay and the characters are great, i replayed the game at least 4 times to get into every possible class type and to see the story from different angles. Gothic 2 is almost as good as the first one in the series. The story is great, the gameplay did not really change, the world got bigger and the threats as well. And now to the black sheep... honestly, I like it. I heard many times how big of a disappointment it was for many Gothic fans, but I like it, I love the story and the characters... but even I do have a problem with how easy the game became. While it was a challenge to overcome most of the enemies in the first 2 games, in Gothic 3 even the biggest enemies where quite easy to defeat. But still, it is a good game. To put it in numbers: Gothic 1 100% Gothic 2 95 % Gothic 3 90 %

65

A disappointment

Thoosa | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Guild Wars 2: Heroic Edition

I bought this game right when it came out, back in I guess it was September last year. Honestly, I am still regretting the money i spent on it. The game was over - hyped and I was watching everything I could about it. I was really really pumped to get into it, so I installed it and... Well, personally, I thought it was mediocre at best. I was through many MMOs in the past, spent a few years in WoW, a year or so in LoTRO and even in SWTOR. But I only spent a few days in GW2, trying to find out what was almost everyone seeing in it. Where was the revolutional combat ? I mean, it was not appealing at all to me. Sure, there are no monthly subscription fees, but what to do in a game that bores you to death ? Everything I have seen in it was done better before. Maybe it got better after the initial release, but I probably will not be able to force myself to get back into it.

85

A must have for a metal fan

Thoosa | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Brutal Legend

How to start this one... It is... Well, honestly, I found out about this game a few weeks ago. Not really knowing what am I really going into, I bought it and... I am really surprised how much fun it is. If you like rock and metal music you will likely enjoy the soundtrack, the stellar voice acting led by Jack Black (yeah, Tenacious D all the way!) and even a good old lead singer of, arguably, one of the best metal groups off all time makes an appearance. The stylized world is fascinating, the combat is enjoyable and the story is gorgeous. Like I said, a must have for a metal/rock music fan.

85

The 80s are coming

Thoosa | Sept. 5, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

A great tribute to everything from the 80s. Of course, the graphics are really really old nowadays, but it is just really fun to play. It is violent, with a good story, like from an 80s movie and references to the film industry, which i will not spoil, you have to see them on your own. I have had fun playing this game, but I felt like it kind of lacked something and a few things were irritating (like the fact you can not swim, it was just terrible). But anyway, a great game and the few glitches were fixed in the follow up on this game.

90

For me, it is the best GTA

Thoosa | Sept. 5, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

First of all, let me say something. I never spent as much time in a single player game (mainly single player if you will) as in GTA: SA. Hundreds of hours, ultimately doing everything I could. I was playing around, doing every mission, every thing that I ran into. Sure, you can say, the story was mediocre, but I loved it. The characters where really something, you can either hate them or love them, but there surely are. And the titular character is a great as well. I liked Tommy from GTA: VC, but CJ is just better. A great free world game guys, I recommend it.

100

A sequel that made me buy the first one

Thoosa | Sept. 5, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

Yes, the title says it all. I played Arkham City before I managed to get my hands on Arkham Asylum and I have to say, I still think it is even superior to the first one in the series. While I enjoyed the first game, I really did, the scope of the second one, made it just a bit better. You can follow the main storyline, you do not have to care about the supporting missions after all. You will definetely run through the game really quickly, but man! The side missions are fantastic, mainly if you are a comic fan just as I am. Batman has an exceptional rogue gallery and you will meet many of them thanks to this. 10/10, I spent at least 70 hours in it and I will surely return to this awesome game again.

98

What a comic buff has to say about this

Thoosa | Sept. 5, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

As a fan of DC Comics I always waited for a good game about one of my favourite characters. And honestly, it was worth the wait. One of the best games that I ever played, with a really great storyline, great boss fights, combos and if you are looking to waste some more time, with awesome stuff hidden all over, that gives you quite a lot awesome artworks of the titular detectives rogue gallery. The combat is a treat, if you really find yourself enjoying it, like I did, you can spend hours fighting waves of enemies to become the ultimate fighting machine in the arena modes. I just love the game.

80

Great story

Thoosa | Aug. 18, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake

But this does not mean everything. Honestly, i am 15 hours in, i guess i homing on the end and i am driven just by the story, the gameplay is kinda repetetive, the controls are not that good. But, man, the story is a piece of art, it would function so well as a TV series. But anyway, the game is definetely worth every penny if you like good storytelling. And who does not, right ? :)

85

Worse than the first one, but still definetely worth the time

Thoosa | Aug. 18, 2013 | Review of Mafia II

Packed with action and a good story, which is usually bashed by many people, but it is certainly good. Even though, it is advertised usually as a sandbox action like GTA, do not be mistaken: This is not the truth. The game itself lacks almost anything to do besides the main story, but of course, if you like to drive in you stylish vehicles, doing nothing except listening to stylish music from the 40th to 60th, go ahead. The DLCs are fine aswell, but nothing spectacular. Jimmy is worth the price, but Joes Adventure, just lack cut scenes except for the main missions, and it gets repetetive and boring too soon.