Reviews by TomWeise62305

80

It's not RE4, but it's still a very solid 3rd person shooter.

TomWeise62305 | Jan. 26, 2014 | Review of Resident Evil 5

As a follow up to RE4, Resident Evil 5 disappoints. When judged on its own merits it's a very solid 3rd person action game. In my personal opinion, RE4 is one of the best games ever created. It has fantastic shooting, audio, visuals (for 2005 Gamecube standards), incredible pacing, great set pieces and also plenty of great meat n' potatoes gameplay. Resident Evil 5 doesn't stray too far from what made RE4 so great, but unfortunately just about every change that was made was for the worst. Visually it's a large step up from RE4; I'd say it looks quite a bit better than RE6 that came out years later. The basic controls are virtually unchanged besides the addition of strafing. You can't move and shoot which I never saw as an issue in RE4. It means that you have to think on your feet and watch your back as well as practice crowd control. The addition of coop is a huge plus for some people, but I'd much rather have a great single player experience which RE5 sacrifices for its coop ability. Coop also means you now have a real time inventory which is extremely annoying to navigate while in the middle of a battle. Your AI partner is also an imbecile. Any remnants of horror from past RE's are gone in RE5. Save rooms with typewriters are replaced by checkpoints. The merchant is gone and you now buy supplies in between missions. There are a lot more guns this time around but there's little incentive to use them all because most are rendered useless when a higher specced one becomes available. In RE4 there's a reason why you might want to use any of the 5 handguns because of their different attributes and special abilities. Now piercing and critical headshot percentage are general attributes that most guns can have. The attributes of the guns in RE4 made you think about what was best for the scenario and your own play style rather than just picking the one with the highest damage. The story goes off the deep end in RE5 as well, I'll just leave it at that. Most enemies from RE4 have been carried over into RE5 yet some like the sewer bugs and regenerators are gone now which were probably some of the tensest parts from RE4. Overall RE5 feels very familiar to RE4 yet has nowhere near the same impact RE4 had in 2005. It's still a solid action shooter because of its similarities but I would never regard it as a modern classic like RE4.

82

Somewhat underrated; still a very solid stealth game.

TomWeise62305 | Jan. 26, 2014 | Review of Hitman: Absolution

I'll be honest, I'm not a huge fan of the Hitman series. That said, I have completed each game in the series at least once. My personal favorite classic Hitman is Contracts. Absolution is visually outstanding. Maxed out, it is among my personal 10 top games visual speaking. It's also very reasonably optimized which isn't necessarily surprising considering porting work was done by Nixxes. The game has no mouse acceleration, re-bindable keys and a slew of graphics and general game options. Unfortunately there is no option to increase FOV which would have been welcomed considering how tight the camera can get. It is true, gameplay wise this is a much more linear Hitman experience. In my personal opinion this isn't that big of an issue. I thought the previous Hitman games were perhaps a bit vague as to what options are at your disposal to complete a mission. This may be what attracts the purists to the series, but it made for a LOT of trial and error for me. I personally like the disguise system over the previous games as it leads to some tense moments and it's much more clear when a disguise is going to fail. I wish the levels weren't segmented as they are though. The levels look great and are varied. I do wish you could select your loadout but I understand they wanted this game to be more story driven than previous entries and it wouldn't jive with the narrative. I guess my biggest gripe would be the fact that there isn't that much in the way of assassinations. A number of levels have you simply sneaking from point A to point B with no actual target to take out. The game's stealth has changed from more of the "hiding in plain sight" from the older games to a more traditional avoiding line of sight with the nerfed disguise system. The disguises could use some work as it's still stupid to have a disguise broken even though it covers your face entirely. Overall though, I'd say that Absolution is a more linear yet very well paced Hitman with core gameplay not too far removed from the older games in the series. I can understand why some fans may not like it as much, but it was probably my personal favorite in the series.

63

Slightly above average survival horror

TomWeise62305 | Jan. 26, 2014 | Review of Afterfall Insanity Extended Edition

This game reminds me of a clunky mix of Dead Space, post RE4 Resident Evil, and some Mad Max. It has a heavy melee focus. There are guns but ammo is very scarce. The melee combat is unfortunately the worse of the two types of combat featured. It's passable but much more clunky than most recent games. The shooting is pretty much identical to any other UE3 based 3rd person shooter. The visuals are also pretty typical of a UE3 game and do a reasonable job though they are nothing outstanding. Audio is fairly good as far as SFX and music are concerned. The voice acting ranges from decent to pretty bad. The game has some decent atmosphere but is rarely scary. The first half of the game is spent in a shelter corridor crawling in Dead Space fashion. The second half turns into something much more interesting when you get out of the shelter. There are occasional puzzles but they almost never require and actual thinking and at times vague about what you are supposed to be doing. My play-through clocked in at about 6 hours which is fine in my opinion. The combat, visuals, audio and story are just good enough to make you keep playing. The game is undeniably clunky, particularly the animations. It does have pretty good pacing and some interesting story bits. The funny thing is that the quirks of this game kept me interested enough to see it to the end when I've still never completed DS2 or 3 despite owning them. I'd say it's worth a purchase as long as you what you're getting into.

90

One of the few genuinely scary games.

TomWeise62305 | Jan. 21, 2014 | Review of Condemned: Criminal Origins

This is a fantastic psychological horror game. The story is about tracking down a serial killer who you've been framed as. The combat is primarily melee based with very limited ammo for guns. The combat is simple but satisfying and visceral. The levels are great and contribute to the atmosphere greatly. The enemy AI is pretty decent and they will regroup to ambush you when they've taken too much damage which can lead to some great unscripted scares. Visually the game has aged well and still looks somewhat contemporary even though it's going on 8 years old. Audio design is good with great sound effects, atmospheric background noise and good them music. It's a shame Condemned 2 never saw a PC release even though the original is quite a bit better.

70

I want to like it more but it's just so clunky.

TomWeise62305 | Jan. 21, 2014 | Review of METAL GEAR RISING: REVENGEANCE

This game is a decent PC port on the technical side of things. Supports up to 1080p with marginally better IQ than the consoles versions with little to no frame drops. Unfortunately it's capped at 60fps which is a bummer for us 120hz users. A game like this would benefit greatly from increased framerate. Gameplay wise it's a pretty typical hack n' slash besides blade mode. My biggest is issue is the absolutely horrendous camera. Half the time, it goes wherever it wants without user input. It auto center when you don't want it to. The FOV is way too low for a hack n' slash to the point where you can't even see enemies from the sides coming to attack you. The camera wouldn't be so bad if you didn't need to "aim" the analog stick towards enemies to parry their attacks. The camera having a mind of its own makes parrying ten times harder than it should be. Also, the lock on button doesn't work particularly well either and still contributes to enemies sneaking up on your sides. The bosses and larger enemies can be a bit on the cheap side as well making them less fun to fight than normal soldiers. Graphically the game is average at best which wouldn't be so bad if the framerate was at least uncapped. I'm far from the best hack n' slash player, but for me this game ended up being every bit as frustrating as it was fun.

80

Underrated; One of the better games in the series

TomWeise62305 | Jan. 21, 2014 | Review of DmC: Devil May Cry

While I've played every game in the Devil May Cry series, I wouldn't necessarily call myself a hardcore fan. I enjoy 3rd person hack n' slashes but I never been particularly skilled at them. Maybe it's because of this that I can enjoy the game so much while the diehards trash it to hell and back (no pun intended).

The visuals are fantastic as well as level design. The platforming manages to be enjoyable which is unusual for this type of game. The combat for the most part is typical DMC where you mix melee and guns to form spectacular combos. The devil bringer functionality from DMC4 is carried over though not called the same thing. The new Dante doesn't bother me at all, in fact I may like the new design more.

The game is very well optimized as well with no framerate cap so 120hz users can rejoice. The game is all around fast and fluid which is surprising given that it targeted 30fps on consoles. My main gripes with the gameplay are the lack of a lock on button and separating your melee weapons to two separate buttons.

The game is maybe a bit too easy, but you can obviously increase difficulty. I honestly don't get what makes people hate on this game so much. It's easily better than DMC4 and DMC2. I'd arguably say it's better than the original DMC. Only DMC3 I would say is definitively better than this entry.

80

Very Good Survivor Horror, Heavily Influenced by RE and SH

TomWeise62305 | Jan. 6, 2014 | Review of Dementium II HD

This is probably the first "true" new survivor horror game I've played in years. The game is heavily influenced by Resident Evil and Silent Hill. It has limited ammo, key items, documents to read, logical puzzles, occasional backtracking and some generally good atmosphere. The music in particular is very good (well, except for the battle theme which gets a little old after a while). This was a nostalgia trip back to my PS1 days playing the classic RE's and SH1. It isn't exactly a carbon copy of those games and does have some unique things that sets it apart such as the story. The graphics are more than acceptable considering its DS roots, though it could use perhaps a noise filter to make it not look so "clean." It's not what I would call scary, but it does have some decent atmosphere. My only real complaint would be some of the enemy sounds are a bit odd sounding rather than intimidating. If you're a classic survivor horror fan, it's highly recommended.

52

Worst Main Entry In The Resident Evil Series

TomWeise62305 | Jan. 6, 2014 | Review of Resident Evil 6

I've been a fan of the series since RE2 on the PS1 and have played every main entry and nearly all of the spin-offs too. For me personally this is by far the worst main entry in the series; I even enjoyed quite a few of the spin-offs far more than this. I'm a primarily single player focused gamer, so the main thing I was looking forward to were the campaigns. Unfortunately all 4 of them range from terrible to simply mediocre. Contrary to most people, I actually enjoyed Chris' campaign the most because it actually seemed to embrace the action focused gameplay mechanics. Generally speaking, his campaign had the largest levels and most room to manoeuvre. Leon's campaign was pretty bad. Very linear with tight corridors and annoying scripted zombie encounters. Jake's campaign is sort of like Chris' and Leon's combined and also has some larger levels with at least some amount of exploration. Ada's would probably be my least favorite. Generally speaking though, all of the campaigns are heavily scripted and linear with generous amounts of QTEs and absolutely no horror. I actually like the controls and the advanced dodges you can perform, but they're virtually useless during the campaigns. I enjoyed the Mercenaries much more than the campaigns as I felt that the controls were more set up for that type of play experience. I hope Capcom do a 180 with the next entry in the series.

82

Brings back some of that classic RE feel with modern features

TomWeise62305 | Dec. 13, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil: Revelations

Rather than go into story or characters (which you probably already know about if you're even remotely interested in the game) I'll write about how this stacks up compared to other recent RE's as well as the classic RE's and how it stands as a PC game. First off, optimization was fine on my end as should be expected from a game that originally debuted on 3DS. It even looks half decent visually although nothing special. Unfortunately the only AA available is FXAA though you can force some proper AA with an Nvidia card. Graphics settings besides resolution have next to no difference in performance. It does support 120hz monitors and framerates up to 120fps which is great. Mouse acceleration was present on release but it has since been patched and is 99% perfect now; not as if you need particularly good aim to play anyway. Keys are rebindable too. Obviously it has controller support as well. It does have a pretty narrow FOV which can be fixed with a third party program. All in all, a pretty solid effort as far as PC games are concerned. I've been a fan of the RE series since RE2 and have played every main entry in the series and nearly all of the spinoffs. In my personal opinion, RE4 was the peak of the series. It managed to merge most of what made RE great with an at the time fresh action focus in a horror game with exceptional pacing. It went downhill from there. RE5 was an above average action game but threw out what was left of the classics games entirely. And well, RE6 is pretty much terrible as an RE and as a game in general. Revelations mixes a good amount of the exploration and decent scares from the earlier games with the over the shoulder play style of the newer entries. The setting of being on a boat is cool even if it's unoriginal (even for the series). The earlier levels have a proper amount of scare factor although it does get more action oriented later on. Overall the campaign is quite good and lasts about 10 hours for a single playthrough. Raid mode is probably the most extensive "mini-game" of any entry in the series. You can easily dump 50+ hours in Raid mode and it can be played coop unlike the campaign. Overall, Revelations is way better than RE6 and I'd even say it's a better RE game than RE5 although 5 is definitely more polished. In my opinion, it's a step in the right direction for the series.