Reviews by Trollfaceyomama

75

Nice Casual Game!

Trollfaceyomama | March 30, 2014 | Review of Last Knight: Rogue Rider Edition

This game is actually suprisingly fun to play on the PC. While I understand it is a mobile port, the added content, improved graphics, and friendly Dev all make it worth while.

It is a nice casual game to pick up and play for 15-30 min during breaks.

One thing to watch out for though is how often the screen shakes. It shakes a lot to simulate riding a horse. Something I found to counter this shaking is to actually ride a real horse while playing the game. Works great.

69

Solid first effort!

Trollfaceyomama | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of Ethan: Meteor Hunter

While the game does boast 50 playable levels, the art and overall look of the game left a little to be desired. Other games in the genre tend to create a magical world for you, the player, to get lost in. This is not the case with Ethan. There is basically no story as to why you must navigate this frightening place. You are a mouse, but you could just as easily a lobster or a magical toothbrush. Combine these factors with virtually no in-game sound beyond the noises the killing machines make, and you are left with thoughts of what might have been. However, the game is a solid first effort and I am looking forward to Seaven’s follow-up.

80

Amazing - A Must for FPS Lovers!

Trollfaceyomama | Nov. 9, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 4 (EU)

The most complete multiplayer FPS game out there. Audio, graphics, level design and levolution is just top class. 64-players epic battles with jets, boats and other vehicles!

Single player 6/10 I enjoyed it, but to be honest it wasn't action packed. There were moments in the scripted story that were amazing, and I really loved it, but the actual game-play was terrible. I played on normal, and the ai was pathetic. I enjoyed how they tried to flank me every now and then, but it was like shooting fish in a bucket, completely without a point and felt like a grind to the next action packed story. It was a better movie, even though the story-line wasn't really that comprehensible, than it was a fps.

I'll give it an 8 because I'm nice and I really want updates so I can play this damn thing. In the future, please try to fix all these bugs before release, not everyone is as forgiving as me.

80

Familiar but Great!

Trollfaceyomama | Oct. 26, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham Origins

A very familiar game but one that still manages to build on one of the greatest games ever made. Arkham Origins may not add to much to the mechanics department but what it does add works. The story is fantastic and maybe the best of the series. The graphics aren't groundbreaking but they are still very beautiful. The gameplay is tight and riveting. Everything just comes together. If you had any fun with the other games in the series, you do not want to miss this incredible game.

90

Amazing Pack of Great Games!

Trollfaceyomama | Sept. 7, 2013 | Review of Best of Square Pack

I owned all but one of these games already (Hitman: Absolution) but I bought the pack anyway because I enjoy giving away Steam games and I find that Steam Keys, like the ones provided, are the perfect way to do it. All the games are great and worth a purchase but at 23.74 it's a steal. GMG, doing it right.

84

Amazing Accomplishment by Creative Assembly!

Trollfaceyomama | Sept. 3, 2013 | Review of Total War: Rome II Emperor Edition

I waited years for this and I am being rewarded! Although the AI is still as stupid as a donkey, the game is great! A mod or patch soon too come will fix the donkey AI! And now that they support modders, I am sure the game will be greater than ever! The vanilla game is only meant to be played in the beginning! Looking forward to the Lord of the Rings mod they will make for this! 10/10

89

Fantastic!!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 29, 2013 | Review of FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn Digital Collector's Edition

This game has come a long way from the fiasco that was version 1.0. Overall, Square Enix has done a great job completely remaking the game and optimizing everything that failed in the first. And aside from the server issues during Early Access and the 1017 errors as of launch this game couldn't be any better.

You can call me a fanboy or just not agree with what I'm saying, that's fine. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and this happens to be mine. I've been playing since 1.0 but didn't play it for long because it did suck big time. When I heard about FFXIV:ARR I was excited and hoped they would do a better job this time around. They have.

The game is better in almost every way. The graphics are almost as good and don't kill your system like 1.0 did. Most people couldn't run the old game. The optimizations have worked out wonderfully. I can safely say that it's one of the besting looking MMORPG's out. People seem to mistake that for best looking game but that's not the case. This is right up there with TERA in terms of beautiful MMO graphics. By the way, I am running on maximum settings with 60+ fps. Perks of building your own extreme gaming PC.

The quest system is much improved and everything just feels more fluid. There is a lot of text to read but that's pretty standard. They do a pretty good job of defining what you need to do and it all isn't just fetch or kill quests. I think the most a quest has ever had me kill is 5 of a particular monster. I'm currently a 26 Marauder. My only gripe is I wish all the dialogue was all voice acted but as it stands only select in game cutscenes are voice acted. The ones that are are pretty well done too, some of the voices fit the characters while there are others that don't.

Things to do are plentiful in this game. Want to quest, sure, go ahead. Want to craft? You can do it all on one character. FATE's are frequent and award nice experience and GC seals when you get that far. Leves are a fun diversion though I wish you weren't restricted to the allowance you're given. And you only gain 3 every 12 hours real life time. The story missions have been great too. Lot's of lore and character development to discover. Another great diversion are the Logs you have access to. Hunting Logs have you kill monsters for super bonus experience. It's all a nice way to help you level up.

The only real issue I've had with the game so far is just the server issues which are doing much better than they were at the start of Early Access. Despite those issues I have given this game a 10/10 because it is everything I wanted and more. And the beauty is that it can only get better from here! They have so many wonderful plans for the future and even near future! So stick with it guys, I will, and I guarantee it will be a blast!

81

Fun & Great Price!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 21, 2013 | Review of Eets

What an unexpected surprise, this game is really fun (with crazy characters) and has a nice touch of "Lemmings" and "The Incredible Machine" gameplay, Worth every cent.

83

Awesome Game!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 21, 2013 | Review of Stardrive

I specifically checked for multilayer before buying and noted from their home site that it would be added after launch. I then checked that regular updates were being made. There are bugs, but compared to EA's track record, this game is perfect at launch!

I thought Sins would be better than what it was, and was looking for a GalCIV multiplayer for the wife and myself (since Stardock punked out and wouldn't release one!). This game is not quite there yet but well on it's way. Thanks Zero, look forward to a long and happy relationship with this game.

87

Bring back so many memories!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of DuckTales: Remastered

This game is a gem to anyone who played and was a fan of the original "DuckTales" on the NES. Most the "critic" reviews come from people who are 18-24 years old and didn't grow up with the game. Most complain about "corny" jokes, bad controls and a simple storyline, guess what? That was DuckTales!

As far as gameplay, it's exactly like the original but really nails the core mechanics of the game while also introducing the player to a true DuckTales story line. It handles the EXACT same way as the original game, so don't expect to use the joystick to maneuver yourself. The game is actually challenging offering only four hearts/3 lives per stage. If you die, you go back to the map selection screen.

80

Solid Game!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of SBK X Superbike World Championship

I got this game because the physics in the MotoGP series has been going downhill quickly since '06. The bikes seem to handle in a realistic way (yes, I have a sportbike), and the adjustments make a big difference in the handling. The graphics are not as flashy as the MotoGP games, but the gameplay is solid. It's difficult enough to keep me interested, but I don't have the same interest in the riders or the bikes that I have of the MotoGP series. Maybe MotoGP 2011 will have more to offer

82

Oldie but Goodie!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Project Snowblind CAP

This game is truly FUN. It gets the action, weapons, and atmosphere right but it falls short in the same way most new games do; its too short. You can play through it in about 8-10 hours and thats if you take your time. The graphics are a little rusty as well, great if it came out in 2002, but definately tailored to what the PS2 can handle. I'd recommend buying it

82

Excellent!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Just Cause

OK so the controls could have done with a bit more work and I really miss gamepad support but this game is FUN. The map is huge with no loading screens and the draw distence is stunning. First impressions make for a comparison to San Andreas and it fails but after a couple of hours you see it in it's own right and there are many ways it puts GTA to shame. It's hard to understand the negative reviews unless people are basing their judgments on the demo, I can only say that the retail is way better with most of the irritations ironed out. Excellent game.

85

Truly Astonishing!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Thief: Deadly Shadows

I have never seen a game use light the way Deadly Shadows does, nor have I seen such realistic environments rendered on the fly. For those who can get it to work well on their systems, this is an astounding visual experience. Features a memorable protagonist, a great setting, and some very interesting missions. It also happens to suffer from a variety of miscellaneous, minor flaws. These are unfortunate, since Thief: Deadly Shadows is great game, for the most part.

81

Fun!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Beatbuddy: Tale of the Guardians

Beatbuddy: Tale of the Guardians is a fun new approach for the action-platform genre. The amazing soundtrack is complimented by the gorgeous hand painted levels in a unique combination that will make you come back even after a full playthrough.

Whether you just want to listen to some cool music or dive in to help our hero save the world of Symphonia, This game is a must-play for every fan of the genre.

85

An RPG Gem!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Realms of Arkania: Blade of Destiny

Realms of Arkania is a complex RPG. It comes with a steep learning curve and daunting complexity which scares away probably all but the most dedicated RPGers.

RoA uses a unusual character system where you don't just get 7 positive stats (strength, dexterity, wisdom etc.), but also 7 negative stats (superstition, claustrophobia, curiosity, acrophobia, avarice, necrophobia, violent temper), all with direct effects on gameplay. It's just one of the factors which makes the game more intriguing. These games are also noted for their realism. This includes the partys hunger and thirst, as well as the effects of weather and terrain on movement. It's probably the most accurate CRPG ever in terms of adventurers health problems. Your characters will become sick if they aren't dressed properly for the climate they pass through. They will get sick if they sleep on the ground. They will get sick if they get wet. They will get sick if they don't get enough sleep. They will get sick if attacked by undead. Their wounds will get infected if they don't stop and take care of them after each combat.

Realms of Arkania games are as much RPG as you can get. It's not your standard run of the mill action-RPG, it's RPG pure. There's a reason why they've gotten published by Sir Tech, who are responsible for the Wizardry games. They require patience and commitment, much like all great games of its kind. But it rewards you with that special experience, that keeps lingering in the back of your head for a lot of time after you played it.

84

Real Emotions in this Game!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Papo & Yo

Papo & Yo is an extremely personal work like only few others in the industry. It is a clear message to the industry: games can be more than space marines. Games can be more, games can be autobiographical using game mechanics as a tool for addressing a message. A beautiful game.

90

Great Fun!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Magicka

Remarkable example of a remarkable game. Unique and successful game play and controls that blow you away. Humorous story line with numerous easter eggs. Fun and extremely challenging ( but still possible) single player action packed game play, even better when played with up to 4 friends. A virtual "Hack n Slash" but with spells and "Magicks", the combination of 8 different "elements" which all can create different unique spells by certain combinations add to the fun.

81

Masterpiece!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of LA Noire

This game has the best face animations of characters you can see in a video game, thanks to a newly developed "face mimics motion capturing technology", which belongs to Rockstar Games. Period. Besides that, the story is strong, gameplay is enhanced with so much fun, graphics are mostly stunning, sounds and musics, that mirrors the NOIR theme of that era, is just amazing. Do not hesitate on buying this game.

94

Really Enjoyable Game!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 5, 2013 | Review of Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed 4 Pack

Very very impressed with this game, picked it up with this pack from GMG and it was an absolute steal. The graphics are absolutely lush (although the graphics options are lacklustre in the options, but it isn't too demanding I suppose) and the sound design is equally as impressive. Gameplay also feels surprisingly strong whether with a pad or keyboard, and it is one of those rare gems that supports PC splitscreen so props to SEGA for the inclusion of that. In terms of longevity it is great value for money in terms of content over 20 tracks, you nearly double your roster of racers via the campaign and the campaign itself is pretty damn long and has varied game modes ie not just races. TL:DR One of, if not the best arcadey racers on PC

96

Astounding Classic!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 3, 2013 | Review of Max Payne

Max Payne is one of the greatest examples of a developer taking a video game seriously, and that they, too, can be a form of art. With it's amazing writing, top-notch voice acting, and one of the best combat systems in a PC game at the time, it's easy to see why Max Payne was such a hit.

84

Really Great!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 3, 2013 | Review of Bully: Scholarship Edition

This was easily one of my favorite games on my Ps2, and i really enjoyed playing it on the PC as well. The Scholarship Edition adds a few new missions (Nothing major), some new school classes and improved graphics (As compared to the Ps2 version). I found the story enjoyable, and i loved the atmosphere surrounding the game. The game is best played with an Xbox 360 controller, but the Keyboard controls are fine as well.

89

One of my favourite!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 3, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

his is my very first GTA, so admittedly I hold it in particularly high regard since it was what initially drew me into the series. At first I thought the game was going to be hopelessly stupid, but there is honestly a lot of hilarious and thoughtful satire/comedy in the game that proved my initial assumptions dead wrong. Vice City had some features that were highly lacking in other GTAs to come, like the ability to buy businesses and strip-clubs, and other types of properties such as garages for stolen vehicles, among other things. The game's story and characters weren't especially memorable, and definitely weren't as good as what you'll find in newer GTAs, but they were definitely acceptable quality.

A more relevant attraction to Vice City, for me though, was the terrific variety of radio stations in the game, and the hilarious nature of the game's social commentary. Rockstar did a terrific job of making the game entertaining to both thoughtful individuals, as well as people who just want some short-term fun going nuts and blowing things up, and the diversity and size of the audience they have attracted to the Grand Theft Auto series is a testament to that fact.

I highly recommend this game! Granted, the graphics are dated, but if you can look past the graphical flaws, you'll find a gem here. If you can't look past the graphics, give some of the newer GTA games a try. They're all wonderfully enjoyable.

80

Classic Game!

Trollfaceyomama | Aug. 3, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto III

ALL modern sandbox games owe their very existence to this revolutionary game. It's not just the fact that it has advanced from top-down 2D to 3rd-person 3D gameplay, but the actual game in itself deserves its own merit, let alone what it has done for gaming. There's as many missions as there are on GTA IV, but there's greater variety in the missions with more variety in the difficulty too. Liberty City isn't visually impressive, and Shoreside Vale can be confusing to navigate through at the best of times. But everything else is done so well. It's fun to play in and out of missions. The only issue is that there's almost as little to do here as there is in GTA IV. You can't really spend money on anything but weapons. But a 6 star wanted level will get a tank to come after you. Hidden packages (of which there are 100) aren't difficult to find, but not too easy either. There is an incentive for getting them: for every 10 you find a weapon is delivered to your safehouse on every island. Even now this game is good. For 2001/2002, this was years ahead of its time.

65

No Story Related Content here

Trollfaceyomama | July 31, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite: Clash in the Clouds

The combat mechanics in Bioshock Infinite were widely lamented by critics and users alike as the worst element of the game. Gunplay and vigors were complained about as being clunky and an obstacle, but worth putting up with in order to experience the story and the characters. Meanwhile, purchasers of the game have been complaining that DLC is slow to come, though many defended the time frame because they had been led to believe by Irrational Games that all DLCs would be story-based (this only made sense as the game lacks multiplayer).

So the first DLC finally drops and it's a hackneyed horde mode containing no story elements and a focus on gunplay and vigors, the two elements of the game most lacking. Worse still, this $5 DLC is considered part of the Season Pass. It's clear this was a quick and dirty cash in by Irrational in order to placate the people complaining that they are taking too long to get DLC out the door.

Someone from Irrational Games, I can't remember whom at the moment, once stated that they had enough content cut from the game which could have constituted a full second game. It seemed implied that this content would end up being the story DLC. Given this lackluster first effort, I find myself wondering: Where's all that extra "cut" content? Were they just blowing smoke to sucker people into buying Season Passes?

Once again we see why buying Season Passes for vaguely promised content sight unseen is a bad idea.

85

Enjoyable!

Trollfaceyomama | July 30, 2013 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VII

I never played Final Fantasy 7 on the original PlayStation, as I didn't grow up with one. So, I wasn't able to enjoy it exactly as it was meant to be played. However, this port is great, despite common criticism. While the graphics are rather dated and the default controls can be awkward, investing in tweaking your controls to your fitting make playing this a much better experience. I won't go too far into plot but I can say that it brings you in nicely and the characters are easy to connect with. Also, the combat system is very easy to figure out.

72

Not Bad

Trollfaceyomama | July 30, 2013 | Review of Dark

If you enjoy challenging stealth and figuring out patrol routes in the most efficient killing manner possible, you will love this game. I happen to like a challenge (most of the complaints below are from people who don't, btw) so restarting a checkpoint 15 times before I got it just right was OK. As it happens, if you choose your abilities wisely, you can make it MUCH easier, so those poor peeps who hated on this really missed out on it getting easier with skillful progression. It never crashed, never had poor framerates, and I found it thoroughly enjoyable. If you liked the hard levels of thief and still found that to be a great game, you will probably like this. Also, one more note about checkpoints in general, i HATE them. However, they give you 2 freebie anytime saves that you can use between those checkpoints. Don't be silly about when you use them, and you will get the hang of it. It isn't Dishonored, but that's actually a good thing, IMO. That game was incredibly easy, even on hard. This game, however, when you choose hard it IS hard.

84

Great Sequel!

Trollfaceyomama | July 30, 2013 | Review of Company of Heroes 2

This game has got to be game of the year. Honestly nearly everything about this game makes me want to squeal with delight. The graphics looks incredible especially on those snow maps, the gameplay is just as good as the original with intense battles, mircoing and management. The sound and the atmosphere make you feel like you are there, seriously it is that incredible. There are a ton of new features like cold tech and true sight which add so much more depth and strategy to the game.

Take for instance true sight where units vision radius is now blocked by objects such as tall wall as and hedges. This now enables players to set up sick ambushes which can decide the fate of the game,

This game does have a few problems with crashing searching for a game and a few balance issues. Furthermore there are some features that are not currently implemented. However all these issues will be resolved with time as with every game on start up has it's issues. You have got to remember that coh2 has had a crazy development cycle having to deal with the demise of THQ and with the limited resources they had. It's unbelievable with what the team at Relic have achieved.

On another note Relic knows how to listen to it's community and treat them well. Many of the new features and balance changes have been the result of Relic discussing with the community. I have had the pleasure of touring the relic studios this past weekend and let me tell you when they say they have "stuff in the pipe line after launch" let me tell you they HAVE FRICKEN AMAZING STUFF. This game has got the potential to rival SC2 if it is given the break that it desperately needs.

Finally I would just like to say that the community behind this game is like no other. Everyone is there for each other (apart from a few trolls) and willing to help you out if your having trouble or if you would like to engage in some serious strategy

95

Amazing!

Trollfaceyomama | July 30, 2013 | Review of Cities in Motion 2: Trekking Trolleys

This game is, by leaps and bounds, the best city simulation game to come out in a while. Great AI pathing, impressive graphics, persistent sims, so many choices for transit it boggles the mind, and I could go on.

The initial learning curve is hard to get over, but it's well worth it. The tutorial wasn't done very well and doesn't really teach you how to jump head first into the first scenario. I recommend watching at least 1 youtube video on metros and reading up on reddit or another social media site to get past the curve.

Be prepared to dream about placing bus stops, trolley lines, and underground metros after the initial 10 hours or so of gameplay.

82

Great!

Trollfaceyomama | July 29, 2013 | Review of Ring Runner: Flight of the Sages Cap

An amazingly addictive, beautiful, and unique asteroid shooter with some Rpg upgrade elements.

The good: Zany story, with many fun, geeky physics references. Tons of upgrades and full control of your button layouts. The art and music are a large step above most 2D space shooters. Many ship styles with actual differences in play.

The bad. It takes quite a while to unlock the ability to change ships, mod them, and have access to the store or research. (But you'll be making plenty of money before you do at least. It does also teach you the ship classes.) The Upgrade interface is fairly clunky, but manageable. The research is done in real time or with Plex, the game's currency, and the research only unlocks plans in the store. (Yeah, you must buy them once you research them...)

The bottom line: This has kept me happily shooting away all weekend and shows no signs of stopping. It's minor flaws don't hurt it one bit. This is a thoroughly fun game that you NEED to get if you ever enjoyed Beat Hazard, Altitude, or any asteroid style 2D shooter. (Note: I've only played the single player so far.)

80

Suspense at it's best!

Trollfaceyomama | July 26, 2013 | Review of The Raven: Legacy of a Master Thief - Deluxe Season Pass

This is a sexy and suspenseful point-and-click whodunit.

The Raven: Legacy of a Master Thief is a three-part game, the first chapter of which has come out. It revolves around the lives of a motley group of passengers aboard a train bound for Venice who are peripherally involved in the exploits of a copycat thief who successfully purloins one of two stunningly valuable gemstones. The second gemstone is aboard the train.

You play as a constable who at first attempts to guard the gemstone but becomes embroiled in a murder investigation that may or may not be related. Only you can unearth the clues to get to the bottom of this mystery.

Without question, the story, characters, and setting are what make this title. It sits on the border between game and interactive movie, so don't expect a lot in the way of puzzle solving.

Pros include a great musical score, believable and well-performed voice acting, a nice and simple interface, and well utilized tools such as the diary and inventory.

Cons include a few bugs that were patched out this morning I tested them to make sure. Also, the dialog sometimes wonders from the animation in a way that is highly noticeable.

If you are into whodunit mysteries, this game is a must. I adored it. It has a few graphics problems, but the game is solid. I played the first chapter in six hours; subsequent chapters come out in August and September. Just be sure to save occasionally just in case I didn't find all the bugs.

88

I am enjoying it presently!

Trollfaceyomama | July 26, 2013 | Review of Citadels

The graphics look pretty nice, and the game runs smoothly and I dont have an extreme gaming PC. The game mechanics are awesome, I havent played the previous strongholds but I think I will pick them up because this style of gameplay is great. Maybe its to hard for some people, but it isnt to complicated. The campaign is pretty good, I have reached the 7th mission and the first level isnt great but right after that from level 2 onwards the game really picks up. I tried multiplayer and it works fine contrary to what other people have said. There are plenty of matches in the browser and the games run fine. I really cant find many flaws, this is actaully a pretty damn good strategy castle game.

79

Really Enjoyable

Trollfaceyomama | July 26, 2013 | Review of Teleglitch: Die More Edition

Very tense and compelling top-down shooter. It has a survival horror feel to it with scarce resources and plenty of enemies. The difficulty is high, with permadeath and only being able to save at the end of a level. I would highly recommend this game if you like fast paced, tense action and difficult games that reward fast reflexes and resource management.