Reviews by Vlady

30

Utter Garbage

Vlady | Jan. 14, 2014 | Review of Rise of the Triad

I bought this game based on user reviews and made a huge mistake. I couldn't find any redeeming qualities in this one. It has graphics and effects that look 5+ years old. Animations that look 10+ years old and AI that looks 15+ years old. Yet, it manages to have very poor performance and huge FPS drops even after extensive patching. The Bad: - weak gunplay, over reliance on projectile RPG weapons (of which you can carry only one at a time). All other weapons (and there are only few) feel useless. You also have a pistol (useless) and what looks like MP40 (feels like a pea shooter) with infinite bullets. - bullet sponge enemies (if you use any weapons with actual bullets) - overwhelming amount of tedious platforming. The game practically devolves into a tedious, bouncy platformer in many levels, where you have to precisely land on tiny discs or die in a fiery pit. You can get a Rayman or Super Mario game if you are interested in platforming games, not a first person shooter. This is what finally killed it for me. - enemies blend into backgrounds and it's very hard to see them, even after they start shooting! I was squinting all of the time. It was literary headache inducing. The Good: Can't think of anything. There is a multiplayer, but I couldn't bother with it, cause I uninstalled after 3 hours of playing this nauseating single player first person platforming duck shooter.

70

If you want to play Brink get the Complete Pack

Vlady | Dec. 29, 2013 | Review of Brink Complete Pack

Great customization, decent progression system, solid gunplay and class variety. However, overall map design is lacking cause of many choke points and as a result matches often end up in a boring stale mate. You should also be aware that there isn't a real single player campaign, but just missions with bots which are the same as in multiplayer, so get this only if you enjoy team based FPS games. There is a small dedicated community of skilled players so you should be able to find matches. Also parkour is jolly I guess. Complete pack is the one to buy. You don't wanna buy just the base game, cause everyone else that plays it, already has all the maps. Personally I couldn't get into it.

85

Great First Person Combat

Vlady | Dec. 29, 2013 | Review of Dark Messiah Might & Magic

I was glued to the screen until I finished this game. One of the best fist person melee combat systems that I've ever seen. Very precise, responsive and visceral. It blows Elder Scrolls games out the water when it comes to gameplay. The story might be typical generic fantasy gibberish with light RPG elements, but the atmosphere and combat is superb. The age of the game shows, but it's still not ugly and should run well on any system by now.

80

Great game even by today's standards

Vlady | Dec. 23, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R

Intense and atmospheric shooter. Stellar AI that will put to shame some of the brand new FPS games. Admittedly enemies can get stuck in weird positions and act derpy at times but they still behave like real humans most of the times. Lighting effects and physics still look very good even today. Sound effects are also great. Level design is very intricate and maze like, though environments are very repetitive. Enemy variety is also lacking, but that makes sense story wise. Play it for mysterious and haunting atmosphere and you will love it

90

Awesome racing game

Vlady | Dec. 23, 2013 | Review of Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed

I was totally surprised by this one. Don't get fooled by that trailer or the "kiddie" graphics. The game is quite challenging and deep if played on harder difficulties. It has lots of tracks, different racing events, progression system, unlockable characters and mods...it really packs a punch. Track design is incredible and the sense of speed and control is just amazing. Very fluid and enjoyable. You could potentially sink dozens of hours playing this. Unfortunately there are also a few gripes that I have: sub par PC port, keyboard controls are not that good, UI could be a lot better, menu layout is not well organized and the announcer is very annoying at times. (there is a voice in the background that narrates your every move while browsing the game menu)

80

Better then most of MMO's out there

Vlady | Dec. 23, 2013 | Review of Guild Wars 2: Heroic Edition

Beautiful looking game that has some of the best mechanics in the entire mmorpg genre. The best thing about it is that it lacks most of the tedium and busy work that is so typical for these types of games. It works in such a way that it is impossible to kill steal, ninja loot, steal resources etc. thus the griefing and frustration is minimal. Also, there is no monthly subscription so you can play at your own pace as you see fit. It does get a little stale as you get closer to the end game, but that is the problem that I have with all mmorpgs in general. Overall a very enjoyable experience with nice customization options and class variety. It doesn't require you to put your real life on hold like some other similar games and can almost be played and enjoyed as single player game.

80

Outdated by today's standards but still great

Vlady | Nov. 18, 2013 | Review of Spellforce: Platinum Edition

Was one of my favorite games when I first started with PC gaming. It's a unique hybrid of RPG and RTS. I'm yet to see the game that fuses those two genres is such a seamless and enjoyable way. Both elements are deep, rewarding and addictive. Heroes that you control can level up, get new skills and acquire new loot that comes from drops and mission rewards. Campaign is lengthy albeit slow paced so you should get dozens of hours of gaming out it.

Graphics are ugly, but if you keep the camera zoomed out, it doesn't hurt your eyes. UI is a bit clunky and voice acting cringe worthy, but the overall experience is excellent.

65

Solid game that gets old really quickly

Vlady | Nov. 18, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts

As someone who isn't big fan of MOBA games I though that this would be nice change of pace and mechanics from typical isometric moba games like DOTA and LoL. The game sure can be fun and is definitely more accessible and easier then those big boys of moba genre, but I was bored of it rather quickly. Mechanics are something that should be familiar to veterans of these types of games, but they still require learning and adjusting. It has a nice and clean art style and music, hectic combat and should run well on your grandma's toaster, but it's rather unbalanced I can recommend this title only to die-hard fans of the genre, who got sick of their moba of choice. My point is that if you don't enjoy these games, Awesomenauts won't change your mind, and if you do, then you should go play DOTA.

90

Great Arcade Shooter

Vlady | Nov. 18, 2013 | Review of Call of Juarez®: Gunslinger

Excellent game for a fair price. Though extremely linear and straightforward the game offers great gun-play and and satisfying campaign with top notch voice acting that captures the spirit of the wild west. On top of that you get addictive high paced arcade mode where you need to chain combo kills and rush through levels. There isn't much of variety when it comes to weapons and enemies but guns still feel great and combat is sharp and fluent. It's short but has a decent replay value, unlockable skills and guns, and different difficulty levels . I finished the game 3 times and without getting bored.