Reviews by WolfeClawz

95

The True Heisting Experience

WolfeClawz | June 15, 2014 | Review of Payday 2

Payday 2 elaborated upon all of the innovative things that the original game did, making this a polished, solid first person shooter that should provide you with countless hours of gameplay. Choose to take on jobs alone with or without bots, or team up with your friends to get the job done co-operatively.

The skill trees allow you to mix it up with a variety of different skill sets, giving you the chance to play the game the way you want to, whether that's by going in guns blazing, being the technical mastermind, being as quiet as possible or a combination of all three. This allows for a whole bunch of unique heisting possibilities.

A must-have for those that are looking for something new in the FPS genre.

95

Easiest Purchase Ever

WolfeClawz | June 15, 2014 | Review of Portal Bundle

Both Portal games in a bundle as cheap as this? It's almost a joke.

Taking into consideration the unique approach to the puzzle genre, as well as the mystery of the characters involved in the story, it'd be insane for anyone to pass out on an opportunity such as this. Both games are optimised well, meaning they should run relatively well on most modern computers, and the graphical fidelity (particularly in Portal 2) is incredible and immersive.

It's difficult to sum up these two gaming gems, so I highly recommend purchasing this bundle and getting confused at the intriguing puzzles!

87

A Massive Improvement

WolfeClawz | June 14, 2014 | Review of Battlefield 3

Battlefield 3 uses the incredible power of the Frostbite engine to bring an all new fresh experience that is both beautifully crafted and a hell of a lot of fun. With the realistic gunplay and the variety of vehicles (ranging from bikes, jeeps, planes and helicopters in true Battlefield style) it's unlikely you'll get bored of this title, namely the multiplayer.

The singleplayer feels like a generic military shooter with nothing much being added at all, making it the low point of this game, however if you get past that, this game will last you quite some time.

80

Unique Fable

WolfeClawz | June 14, 2014 | Review of Fable III

Whilst Fable III has changed the core gameplay of the previous Fable installments and replaced it with something different, that doesn't stop it from being a unique game on it's own. With the beautiful new graphics and storyline, Fable III feels like a solid game that will keep you entertained for quite some time, whether it's done alone or with a friend.

91

Fresh Entry

WolfeClawz | June 14, 2014 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell - Blacklist

Blacklist brings even more unique gadgets and features into the Splinter Cell series, giving the player even more of a variety of ways to approach a situation.

The environments are beautifully designed, with the graphics bringing each area to life in 60 frames per second. On that note, the port is handled very well unlike some of the ones we've had of the previous titles such as Double Agent.

Once again, Ubisoft brought back Spies vs Mercenaries, a multiplayer gamemode that combines third and first person perspectives with unique objectives for each side. This time, however, it comes back with fresh design, graphi

Thanks to all of this, I give Blacklist a score of 91.

95

A Unique Specimen, Indeed...

WolfeClawz | June 7, 2014 | Review of Killing Floor

Killing Floor has evolved from the old, loveable mod that it started off as into the gritty, blood-covered standalone you see before you! With Unreal graphics and unique, varied gunplay, KF truly is the pinnacle of gorey, atmospheric first person shooters.

You're given the choice of multiple classes, ranging from Sharpshooter to Medic and Assault to Firebug, giving you access to different weapons for different prices with the addition of buffs and faster reload speeds. Killing Floor introduces a variety of messed up, horrific creatures ranging from the basic Clot to the raging Flesh Pound, so you'll need to work with others to be effective against them all.

Speaking of working together, I can highly recommend that you have friends that you can play Killing Floor with, as it's the best way to enjoy the game. That, and it can be relatively difficult to do alone without teamwork. Each class has it's own benefits, so mixing and matching with other people to create the ultimate team is almost essential.

Killing Floor has taken away hundreds of hours of my life, so maybe you should start catching up. I give it a 95/100.

91

Beautifully Crafted Sandbox World

WolfeClawz | June 7, 2014 | Review of Fallout 3: Game of the Year Edition

Fallout 3 revamped the Fallout series, bringing it into 3d and expanding it's world into something that is dark, gritty and a hell of a lot of fun. Whilst it does lack in a variety of areas in comparison with modern titles, it still keeps many fans of the series coming back for more.

The VATS system is unique and innovative, yet is just a slow motion alternative to regular combat (but that doesn't make it any less awesome). The arsenal you are given to defend yourself with throughout Fallout's vast world are both devastating and rad (no pun intended).

If you're new to the series, Fallout 3 can easily be jumped into without much knowledge of the previous games, but if you get the chance, the older entries are definitely worth trying. All in all, Fallout 3 gets a 91.

76

Brilliant Point and Click

WolfeClawz | May 31, 2014 | Review of Time Gentlemen Please! and Ben There Dan That! Special Edition Double Pack

Set in an abstract universe in which all corners are explored, these two games both have such quirky and unique concepts that are sure to draw you in as you play through it. Another great aspect of the game is the humour, which is displayed through the two developers who act as the main protagonists, which in itself is a seemingly unique twist.

For fans of point and click games, this is a must have title, especially considering you get two games for such a small price.

78

An Incredible Mess

WolfeClawz | May 31, 2014 | Review of Goat Simulator

Whilst the game appears to be a buggy and glitchy mess, it's meant to be in every regard as that simply adds to the hilarity. It's rather hard to hate what Goat Simulator is, as it's essentially a rushed project to make what was originally a joke, come to life.

In my opinion, the only downside to this has to be the fact that after exploring all of the hidden treasures and going everywhere there is to go, there isn't much left to do, which may severely hinder replayability for a lot of people. However, it's quite easy to get around 10 hours or so in the game if you're entertained easily.

Despite the short time of development, Coffee Stain Studios (Oddly enough, the very same people who created Sanctum and more recently, A Story About My Uncle) created a physics based sandbox mess-around-a-thon that will definitely be remembered for years to come.

80

Fresh Idea, Great Execution

WolfeClawz | May 31, 2014 | Review of Lead and Gold

Lead and Gold does a brilliant job of taking a third person shooter and throwing into the wild west, with 4 classes to choose from and some great features. There are quite a few game modes that should be able to keep you entertained for a while, however the population is dwindling, so it may be difficult to find a server.

Despite this, if you do get in you'll find that the game will satisfy your need for a new TPS with it's strategy and simplistic yet charming art. Definitely worth how little it costs.

95

Nailed it!

WolfeClawz | April 5, 2014 | Review of Counter Strike: Global Offensive

The new Counter-Strike game we all wanted. Despite only jumping in to the CS series with Global Offensive, it has taught me everything that is needed to play all the previous titles as well, clearly stating it hasn't steered away from the original essence of the game.

For me, Counter-Strike serves as the true definition of "Easy to learn, hard to master", as whilst many newcomers to the series (such as myself) can learn the basics easily and have fun with it, those that have come from a heavy CS background can take the knowledge from the previous games and apply it to this one.

I can easily recommend this game for players who want to jump in and have fun, as well as those that want to have a go at the competitive scene to test their skills against the pros.

82

Hidden Gem

WolfeClawz | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line

What looks like a boring third person shooter on the outside is actually a game that has surprised countless gamers with it's in-depth story, characters and mature take on modern shooter titles we see today.

Whilst the game remains relatively linear, it makes up for it with regular twists and incredible art direction. The graphics are nothing to behold, however thanks to the unique environments and attention to level structure, the player is kept immersed.

The gunplay in this game is rather stale, so if you're expecting new mechanics or features to pop out and make it more interesting, you may be disappointed. Despite this, it's not bad enough to make you want to stop playing, because the story should grip you enough to make you want to continue playing.

Not much can be said about this title without revealing too much, so I'll keep it short and say that if you have the money, definitely try and pick this up if you're looking for an interesting twist.

90

Beautifully Large Open World

WolfeClawz | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of Just Cause 2

Just Cause 1, as a kid, was one of the greatest games I'd ever played. The open world and large array of possibilities were all new things I'd never witnessed in games other than the first few GTA's. Of course, I wanted more action, so when this game was released and I played it for the first time, I knew instantly that the devs had created a masterpiece.

Just Cause 2 will bring you hours of action and adventure with it's expansive open world, tons of vehicles for both land, air and sea as well as the huge array of weaponry. Furthermore, hop on the Just Cause 2 Multiplayer mod to share the experience with your friends. Crashing planes into your friends has never been this fun!

79

Great game, moderate port

WolfeClawz | Feb. 17, 2014 | Review of Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas 2

Whilst the gameplay of RBSV2 is solid and refines the experience of it's predecessors, it's a shame to have to say that the PC port of this game isn't the best. With limited FOV (That can't be changed through .ini files or tweaks of any kind) and a variety of other problems, you're definitely not going to get the best experience on this platform.

Putting this aside, however, chances are you'll still be able to easily complete the singleplayer and play multiplayer without much hassle. The controls may take some getting used to if you aren't familiar with the Vegas branch of Rainbow Six games, however when you get that down, the cover based shooting really stands out in comparison to other titles.

For how cheap it goes now, I can highly recommend this game if you don't mind an low FOV. I just had more fun on the console version.

80

One Mechanic, Endless Fun

WolfeClawz | Feb. 17, 2014 | Review of VVVVVV

For a game that focuses purely on the single mechanic of reversing gravity on yourself, this game still manages to throw new challenges at you every step of the way. While there are times in which you'll feel like slamming your face against the keyboard, when you do eventually come out on top you'll be extremely satisfied and cry tears of happiness.

The art style is simplistic which really helps the player to focus on the task at hand and the music is simply phenomenal and varied. VVVVVV is a must have, especially with the price being so low.

76

Not the best port

WolfeClawz | Feb. 17, 2014 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Double Agent

Double Agent, as a game, is a very welcome addition to the series, however the PC port is definitely lacking in terms of stability. There are many missions in which bugs are present, including some that prevent the player from continuing altogether, however there are fixes located online.

To put it simply, if you own a console, I can highly suggest that you buy it for that instead unless you are willing to put up with a few hours of frustration. If you can, then you are left with a brilliant game with great stealth elements and a surprising amount of freedom.

78

Dark, Realistic RPG Experience

WolfeClawz | Feb. 17, 2014 | Review of The Witcher II: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition

The Witcher 2 redefines the RPG experience, bringing a mature, realistic approach by throwing you into the mind of Geralt once again. This time, however, the game focuses more on combat, ensuring the player has more freedom through his/her movements and that there's more variety in terms of attacks. From my experience with the game, I can highly recommend it due to the stunning visuals and unique, mature gameplay and story.

90

Beautifully refined

WolfeClawz | Feb. 17, 2014 | Review of Sanctum 2

Whilst Sanctum 1 laid down an interesting and fun concept with the idea of tower defence from a first person shooter perspective. Sanctum 2 builds upon this, refining the experience beautifully with great graphical fidelity and bunch more content. With new weapons, characters, towers, enemies, traits and loads more, Sanctum 2 becomes an incredible experience for both singleplayer and multiplayer matches.

83

Ragdoll Galore

WolfeClawz | Feb. 17, 2014 | Review of Max Payne 3

I've had a lot of fun playing Max Payne 3 with friends. The multiplayer is fantastic, offering a good amount of different game modes (My favourite being Deathmatch In Heaven) and a variety of different weaponry and abilities. Diving out of windows and making a bunch of cinematic moments is a great feeling that probably won't get old any time soon.

The story mode is just as good. Many argue that the amount of cutscenes within the game really spoil the immersion, however if you're a long time lover of Max Payne as a character, then chances are it won't bother you all that much and you'll be shooting enemies in slow motion in no time.

The gunplay is something that needs to be mentioned in it's own paragraph. It tops pretty much every other third person game out there (Aside from GTA V as it's pretty much the same, if not better) and focuses heavily on the realistic impact of the rounds an-Ok, I just love watching ragdolls, I won't lie.

You can get this game for relatively cheap now, so I wouldn't hesitate.

77

Surprising

WolfeClawz | Feb. 17, 2014 | Review of Mafia II

First going into this, I wasn't expecting much in terms of innovation, however after playing it for a few hours, I was instantly surprised at just how incredible the game is, mainly in terms of both atmosphere and gunplay.

Driving around the city and abiding the law really lets you get a good sense of the city. You have people walking along, socializing and doing their everyday tasks whilst the day goes on as per usual. However, should you choose to release the evil within, the sounds of gunfire echoes through the streets as you drop person after person, screams falling short and sirens getting ever so closer. Rockstar really delivered in terms of immersion, and for that, I'm sure everyone is thankful.

The world isn't all that big, but the first time that you venture through it, there's plenty to see and explore. Compared to Rockstar's other titles such as GTA, it's nothing special, but if you're focused on completing the story, it won't be too much of a problem at all.

Overall, the game is beautiful, though it won't deliver if your intent is to find a vast, open world sandbox game. If you are, however interested in both the story and gunplay, I can happily recommend this to you.

79

Classic Horror

WolfeClawz | Feb. 17, 2014 | Review of Doom® 3 BFG Edition

Whilst those that played the original DOOM games may be slightly disappointed with what DOOM 3 brung to the table, one still cannot deny that DOOM 3 was a very innovative title and way ahead of it's time in terms of graphical fidelity.

There are scary moments, there are action-packed moments and among that, a crap ton of gore. Chances are, if you're a fan of survival horror, you'll have a good time with DOOM 3.

75

One of the best

WolfeClawz | Feb. 17, 2014 | Review of Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

Even compared to the newer Call of Duty games, this is still by far one of my favourite titles within the series. It focuses on simplistic gameplay and at the time, it was something new that not many game companies had developed upon.

To this day, it continues to be a game that I can jump into and have fun on, which is why it gets a nice rating of 75

97

Simplicity at it's finest

WolfeClawz | Feb. 17, 2014 | Review of Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons

Taking a glance at this game, you may wonder as to why it is seen as such a popular, highly rated title? Well, I assure you that if you buy this game for the measly £10 it's asking for, you will not be disappointed.

Similar to games such as Dear Esther, it focuses heavily on storyline and interpretation. The characters within this fictional universe do not speak any known language, but rather focus on incomprehensible gibberish to display their emotions. You may think that this seriously detracts from the experience, but it's always nice to try and interpret the situation at hand. Leaves a bit to the imagination, you know?

The controls within this game are incredibly simplistic, yet throughout the game you are repeatedly thrown into new, exciting situations that force you to think before you act. Furthermore, it should be said that playing with a keyboard is not at all bad, however a controller is still recommended highly in order to fully enjoy the game.

Not much can be said without spoiling the game, but what I can say is that for £10 (or your national equivalent), this game is a serious steal. Lock yourself within your room and play through it in one sitting. You won't be disappointed.

76

Great experience, but doesn't stay true

WolfeClawz | Feb. 16, 2014 | Review of Resident Evil 5

I'd be lying if I said that I didn't have fun while playing through this game with my friend, but at the same time, I feel as though it lacked in terms of being a true Resident Evil game.

Comparing this to it's predecessors, it isn't very scary at all. Sure, it has it's tense moments, but nothing really SHOCKS you as you'd expect it to. Resident Evil 4 felt like a great balance between gunplay and horror. Resident Evil 5 on the other hand feels as though they focused more on refining the gunplay in comparison to wanting to scare the player.

There's honestly nothing wrong with this, however as a long-term player of the original games, it's disappointing seeing this entry lack what was truly unique to the franchise.