Reviews by Wormy

82

Incredibly fun

Wormy | Dec. 26, 2012 | Review of Killing Floor

I was surprised how much I enjoyed my time with Killing Floor. Left 4 Dead never really stuck with me and I'm definitely not a fan of the Zombies mode from Call of Duty games. The gameplay isn't too dissimilar but the persistent perks and leveling system is one thing that appeals to me that those other games don't have.

Although I spent most of my time playing single player, you'll definitely need to enlist the help of other players when on higher difficulty levels. If you're not playing as a team you can be overwhelmed by a swarm of zeds in seconds.

One thing lets the game down is how it looks. At times it can feel like a mod and the menus are awful and clunky.

86

Same formula with a couple of tweaks

Wormy | July 6, 2012 | Review of LEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes DNS

Travellers Tales have been steadily pumping out Lego games ever since Lego Star Wars became a hint, but since the first Lego Batman they really haven't changed a whole lot. This game tries to inject some life back into the series and it does so quite successfully.

The biggest change is that the characters now talk rather than mumble jibberish like they did in previous games. I was ready to hate this but the dialogue is quite well written and it helps them tell an original story.

Another big claim this game makes is an open world. However this isn't wholly accurate. The hub, featured in previous games, has definitely expanded a lot and now contains a lot more to do between levels but once you load into a level it's the same linear paths as before.

Gameplay is as great as always and there's a lot more variety in the playable characters this time around with the addition of other DC heroes including Superman. I'd definitely recommend picking this up if you're a fan of the previous games.

72

Lacking in features

Wormy | July 4, 2012 | Review of Worms Crazy Golf

I was really excited when I heard that Team 17 were making Worms Crazy Golf. I've always been a big fan of the Worms games because of both their mechanics and their quirky style. But the best part of those games is the multiplayer, something which isn't a strength with this game as it only features offline multiplayer for up to 4 players. Online multiplayer really would have helped create lasting appeal.

That aside, the game plays pretty much how you would expect from a Worms/golf hybrid. Aim your shot and set your power just like you would fire a rocket launcher in the core Worms games. There are also coins and crates to pick up on the way to the hole.

Some of the challenges can get a bit frustrating as you work your way towards the end of the single player and the physics didn't react how I expected on a couple of occasions.

It's worth nothing that they have also added another 18 hole course with a Carnival setting for free.

66

Nice Concept

Wormy | June 22, 2012 | Review of Quantum Conundrum

Quantum Conundrum's core dimension-shifting mechanic is definitely a nice idea and makes for some very clever puzzles but the writing of the game really lets it down. Conceived by Kim Swift, one of the brains behind Portal it's clear that they've tried to recreate some of buzz around the original game but the jokes are poor and the narrator (John de Lancie) does not deliver them particularly well. However, the game does have a very striking visual style that works well with the tone of the game. The puzzles are definitely this games strong point but the fun disappears when precision first person platforming is involved. Overall it's a fun little game with a couple of weak points and a tone much more suited to a younger audience.

92

The Best Question Pack

Wormy | June 21, 2012 | Review of Who wants to be a Millionaire: South Park DLC

This DLC pack stands out from the rest of the Who wants to be a Millionaire DLC due to the aesthetics of the contestant and the audience being pulled right out of South Park. They're animated faithfully (read: terribly) and some fan favourite characters show up as phone a friends. In depth knowledge of the show is definitely needed to make it all the way to a million as there are some pretty obscure questions later on. 500 questions is enough to ensure there won't be repeats for a very long time.

A must buy for a South Park super fan!

87

Make sure you know what you're gettting in to

Wormy | June 17, 2012 | Review of Dear Esther DNS

Dear Esther is not a game, it's a first person story; one that is told exceptionally well. Essentially it is a remake of a free Half Life 2 mod with overhauled visuals and audio. There's very little for you to do in the game: you must explore a haunting island while a narrator chimes in whenever you trigger certain events. I can't talk in detail about the story as that's were the bulk of the enjoyment comes from but you can get through it in about an hour if you don't spend time exploring on your own. If this only sounds mildly intriguing then I would recommend downloading the Half Life 2 mod as it is an experience that should not be missed.

75

Large improvement on Episode 1

Wormy | May 22, 2012 | Review of Sonic the Hedgehog 4 : Episode II

Episode 1 was a mess when it came out, no dancing around it. Thankfully Sonic Team have learnt from there mistakes and created a decent addition to the 2D Sonic games. Gameplay is as always with the addition of some double team moves between Sonic and Tails. They don't really add a whole lot to the game and they seem like an excuse to shoehorn Tails in there. The music is fantastic, sounds like it has been pulled straight from the 90's. There's a reason this is called "Episode 2" and not Sonic 5, it's a short game with only four zones. I'd say pick it up on sale if you're a fan of the series. If you're not a fan, stay away. There is nothing revolutionary going on here.

43

Monotonous Gameplay

Wormy | May 22, 2012 | Review of Bus Simulator 2

Despite the title being "Bus Simulator 2" the description reveals that it is "Bus Simulator 2009" and boy does it show. You will not enjoy driving around an almost lifeless city covered in terrible textures. As for the gameplay I'd say it does manage to capture the life of a bus a driver. Unfortunately bus drivers lead boring lives. If you want to pass the missions you'll entirely at the passengers whim which leads to an incredibly tedious gameplay experience. There is an option to free roam the city but there's nothing worth seeing to justify this. This game might be enjoyed by some people, just make sure you know what you're getting in to.

80

Unique experience

Wormy | May 20, 2012 | Review of Waveform

Based on screenshots of this game I was expecting a side scrolling shooter but what I got was definitely much more unique and enjoyable. Using your mouse you alter the wavelength and amplitude of the wave in order to collect items and avoid hazards. When I first started playing I struggled with the controls for a few minutes but once you get your head around them the challenge comes from the slew of mechanics and devious level design. The soundtrack is also incredibly catchy! This game is a must for anybody wanting a game like nothing they have played before.

100

Still worth playing

Wormy | Jan. 3, 2012 | Review of Streets of Rage™

Streets of Rage was one of the games that came with my Mega Drive back in the day and was one of the first games I ever completed. I was worried that my nostalgia would not hold up but after playing it again I realised why I liked it so much. The music instantly took me back and while the graphics certainly aren’t up to today’s standard, they don’t look that bad. You’ll probably be able to breeze through it within an hour but you’ll probably have so much fun you won’t mind playing it again and again. Buy it.