Reviews by Xgoesrawr

80

A nice ending.

Xgoesrawr | Jan. 28, 2014 | Review of Assassins Creed Revelation

Assassins Creed Revelations is the ending of the Ezio story and it brings back Altair as a playable character for a few missions.

In this game you get a hook that helps improve climbing up buildings but other than that everything is pretty much the same as it was in Assassins Creed Brotherhood.

They added a tower defense (mini game I guess?) to defend your assassin dens. You play it once and if you want to trigger another attack you have to upset the Templars. It was interesting but I'm not sure why they added this.

The game could've been longer but I had fun while it lasted. I still wouldn't recommend playing Revelations if you haven't played the games before it however.

80

A good continuation.

Xgoesrawr | Jan. 28, 2014 | Review of Assassin’s Creed® Brotherhood Deluxe Edition Other

Assassins Creed Brotherhood continues the story of Ezio and starts pretty much exactly where Assassins Creed 2 ends.

In this game you can recruit citizens into assassins. This means you can summon them to assist in combat; or you can send them off on missions. They also added kill streaks which improved combat.

The length of this game is shorter than AC2.

I recommend this only if you've played the two games before it.

84

Fun but has some bugs.

Xgoesrawr | Dec. 31, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

This game is fun as you can just hop into a server and have a good time however I do recommend completing the training first.

It is incredibly satisfying to win a fight by chopping their head off.

The weapon unlock system is currently bugged as you need a certain amount of kills to unlock something but it resets every time you play. I'm hoping the developers fix this soon.

I recommend this game even with the bugs and flaws it has because its still fun.

74

Good but...

Xgoesrawr | Dec. 31, 2013 | Review of Tropico Reloaded Cap

Tropico is the game that started an awesome city builder franchise.

Tropico 2 is pretty unique when it comes to the Tropico series. They tried to be different from the first game because in this one you build and manage a pirate island. I remember being able to build different ships and send them off but they didn't always return.

If you've played Tropico 3 or 4 then you'll notice that these games are missing some features such as cars and roads.

The newer games are definitely better but Tropico 2 remains to be unique and fun to this day.

88

A fun open world game.

Xgoesrawr | Dec. 31, 2013 | Review of Mafia II

Mafia 2 is a fantastic game with good voice acting, nice music and a great story.

The gun fights were fun and the driving controls are well done.

There is a few downsides in this game as it has a big open world to explore but there isn't much to do except for the main story. Also the game will not last you very long as you can complete it in a day.

Overall its a great game and is worth playing.

95

A really good game.

Xgoesrawr | Dec. 28, 2013 | Review of Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (NA)

Dragon Age is easily one of the best RPG games out there.

A single play through of this game will last you a pretty long time and because there is multiple endings you'll want to play it more than once.

The expansion ('Awakening') had some nice things that I wished the main game had. As for the other DLCs I really liked the "Return to Ostagar" and "Leliana's Song" as they had the better stories.

This game is a must have for anyone who likes RPGs.

90

Many Isaacs will be lost.

Xgoesrawr | Dec. 28, 2013 | Review of The Binding of Isaac

This game is easily one of the best indie games I've ever played. It is hard at first but once you learn what the enemies do and unlock some things it becomes easier.

It doesn't take very long to complete a single play through but there is a lot of replayability and everything is randomized each time you play.

I also recommend buying the DLC (Wrath of the Lamb) because it adds about 70% more content to the game.

82

Really good game.

Xgoesrawr | Aug. 30, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

The way the story is told is pretty unique. There is a good amount of weapons that you can choose from and just when you think you have a cool weapon you find something even better.

I thought the artwork was good and I enjoyed the music so much I ended up buying the soundtrack.

There was a few disappointing things like the fact there wasn't much replay value but don't let that stop you from playing Bastion.

77

Another great co-op game.

Xgoesrawr | Aug. 30, 2013 | Review of Magicka

This game is meant to be played with friends. You can combine spells and 'accidentally' get your friends killed or you can laugh while they are mysteriously pushed off a cliff.

While there were plenty of fun spells to use I felt that certain ones were simply just too strong.

I had a lot of fun with this game and recommend it but not for the single player.

74

Fun but extremely short.

Xgoesrawr | Aug. 30, 2013 | Review of DLC Quest

DLC Quest is a funny but very short game. I enjoyed the music and the artwork was nice.

The game play was a bit repetitive after awhile because all you really do is jump and collect coins. I think that more combat would've helped as they give you a weapon but you barely get a chance to use it.

I recommend this game for the right price but don't expect a long game or any replay value.

83

A good enjoyable sequel.

Xgoesrawr | Feb. 9, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origin

This game tries to have frightening moments but you can tell when they're coming however it still got me a few times.

The story isn't perfect but I didn't mind and I found the voice acting to be good. It also has a welcomed graphics increase from the first game so that is a plus.

Also the AI in FEAR games are well done as they do some crazy stuff which can make combat quite fun.

I have to say its worth playing.

81

Fun in co-op.

Xgoesrawr | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Titan Quest

Its a good game for both co-op and singleplayer however I found it to be more fun in co-op.

I like that there is a lot of possible class combos.

There is a few downsides however as it can be repetitive and pretty unbalanced at times. I have heard there is a fan patch to fix things but I've never tried it.

I'd suggest playing this one with friends for a better experience.

77

A real expansion.

Xgoesrawr | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Titan Quest Immortal Throne

This expansion adds a lot of content to the game. There is nothing special you have to do to access it as it'll just start up after you complete the base games story.

The game play remains the same but you get ten more levels, more areas to explore, artifacts and a few other good things such as new enemies to fight.

If you enjoyed the base game there is no reason to not have this expansion.

92

Welcome back to Tropico.

Xgoesrawr | Jan. 22, 2013 | Review of Tropico 4 DNS

Tropico is one of my favorite simulation game series.

At first I was a bit disappointed by Juanito (the radio host of Tropico 3) not being in the game but after awhile I got used it.

I liked that they added the ability to import goods to your island as the previous Tropicos didn't have that.

The difficulty level however seems to have decreased as its much easier than Tropico 3 because there is really no time limit in which you have to complete anything.

If you like city builders you should get this game.

89

One of the best collections out there.

Xgoesrawr | Sept. 6, 2012 | Review of The Stronghold Collection [Capsule]

Stronghold 1: The game that started a fun castle building franchise that didn't take itself too seriously. Don't be fooled by the graphics as its an amazing game. The voice acting is still enjoyable to this day.

Crusader: This is the one I've spent the most time playing out of this collection. It added a few things the original game didn't have such as skirmish mode.

Stronghold 2: Its a pretty fun game. The honor system was different and I think the estate system could've been better. The graphical update from the first game and Crusader was very welcomed.

Legends: I admittedly haven't played this one too much.

This collection is amazing and is worth playing.

90

A great co-op game.

Xgoesrawr | Sept. 6, 2012 | Review of Killing Floor

When it comes to co-op games this is one of the best I've ever played.

The perk leveling system kept me busy for a long time. There is a lot of maps in this game and the class system is well done. As much as I've played this game the voice acting never gets old.

The community is pretty friendly however I wouldn't recommend jumping into the hardest difficulties right away because the higher your perk level is the more damage you do and gain a better discount on weapons.

And best of all they still update this game with new content.

I really recommend this game.

74

Nice addition to the game.

Xgoesrawr | Sept. 5, 2012 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization V - Civilization and Scenario Pack - Polynesia

I liked seeing Polynesia as a playable civilization in the game. They allow you to cross water early game which can be good for expanding and pretty amazing depending on the map. They have a pretty strong early game but sadly the Maori warriors are replaced with swordsmen so quickly.

The scenario however is honestly not that great. You're on a huge archipelago map facing three AI civs and to win it you need to be the first to complete all 3 social policy trees. Its a pretty easy scenario.

Its a neat DLC, adds possibilities to the game but its also over priced.

82

Good but not what I expected.

Xgoesrawr | Sept. 5, 2012 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

When I first played Civ 5 it was odd because I was used to Civ 4 having huge stacks of units on a single tile. The ranged units were also an interesting change for game play.

The research advancement seemed way to fast. It didn't seem to want me to use swordsmen because by the time I'd have a few of them I'd have musket men researched. I even tried messing with game speed and had about the same results.

There was a few things that felt missing from the main game that the expansion adds. I also didn't like how they handled the DLC but that is another story.

It can be fun but I enjoyed Civ 4 more.

87

A fun game!

Xgoesrawr | Sept. 5, 2012 | Review of Battlefield: Bad Company 2 (NA)

The single player campaign: It took me by surprise as I hadn't played the first bad company. The characters were pretty humorous. If I remember correctly it took me around 6 hours to complete and I enjoyed every bit of it.

The multiplayer: Its just a lot of fun. I enjoyed rush mode and felt it was a great addition to the game series. Sadly the population of the multiplayer has dropped quite a bit since Battlefield 3 is out however there is still a decent amount of servers full daily.

Finally the graphics were pretty however I recommend disabling bloom as there is A LOT of it used in this game.

85

The third game in an amazing series.

Xgoesrawr | Sept. 5, 2012 | Review of Mass Effect 3 (NA) dns

I have no complaints about the graphics as they were shiny. The voice acting was once again great but I was a little disappointed that certain crew members didn't have many lines.

As for companions I had the Prothean DLC so I'm unsure what happens without him but I do admit he was interesting. I enjoyed the crew members stories and liked how they ended for the most part.

I think its worth mentioning that the quest tracking was a step backwards from the previous games.

The only thing I really disliked was the ending however I haven't replayed to see if the "extended cut" DLC changes my opinion on it.

Its a fun game but the ending should've been better.

89

Amazing Sequel.

Xgoesrawr | Aug. 22, 2012 | Review of Mass Effect 2 (NA) dns

The second game in an amazing series.

Your companions are more interesting than the first game and I felt they developed as characters better. The voice acting was once again amazing.

This game had a lot of improvements such as the inventory system and ship layout. I was very happy about that. The combat system also improved and was much more enjoyable than the first game.

I did not enjoy scanning planets for resources. If you skip scanning a planet you may miss a side mission so its best to scan every single planet. Probably the worst part of the game. The hacking and bypass mini-games also get tiring after awhile but its not a game breaker by any means.

Its a great game overall.

88

Shogun 2 is greatness.

Xgoesrawr | Aug. 22, 2012 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2

This game is great and has good music.

Multiplayer quick battle matchmaking: Its very punishing on new players because of veteran units gaining more stats however if you keep at it you'll eventually have those veteran units. I've played this part of the game the most as its very fun. Only thing I wouldn't recommend is having a normal Shogun 2 army fighting a Fall of the Samurai army.

Single player campaign: Takes quite a few hours to complete a single campaign. Realm divide is just plain annoying and wasn't expected the first time I ran into it and sadly the higher difficulties aren't as enjoyable because you're stuck defending the whole game. If you don't mind preparing for realm divide it can be fun.

Co-op Campaign: I've only completed maybe three of these. You can share units with your friend in battles so they have something to do other than watch the fight which is nice.

Only real complaint about this game is the loading times. (An example of this is the start up load screen takes about 2 minutes every time.) Other than that its an amazing game and I recommend it.

82

Good co-op.

Xgoesrawr | Aug. 12, 2012 | Review of Borderlands Game of the Year Edition dns

This game is fun with friends however it can feel repetitive at times.

It has a nice mix of RPG and FPS with a few interesting talents. The weapon drops and stats are random you so may have to grind a little bit to get something good later on.

The main story was alright. As for DLCs I feel that the Mad Moxxi DLC didn't add much to the game other than a bank for storage which isn't a bad thing. The zombie island DLC was good and the General Knoxx DLC was also good. Still working to beat the Claptrap DLC so can't comment on it.

Overall I'd recommend it but play with friends for a better experience.

91

Amazing game.

Xgoesrawr | Aug. 12, 2012 | Review of Mass Effect (NA) dns

This game started an amazing series and is one of my favorites.

The story is good plus easy to understand, graphics were nice and voice acting was enjoyable. I liked the companion system it worked pretty well and the companions themselves were each awesome in their own way.

Combat of the game is indeed duck and cover but it worked out nicely.

There is plenty of customization when it comes to picking out which weapons/armor you want yourself or your companions to use, plus lots of mods (or addons) for those weapons and armor. I unfortunately found myself selling alot of the items I'd find as they were either duplicates or stuff that I already have better versions of.

Bioware did good with Mass Effect and I really recommend this game.