Reviews by Xibalba

80

Doom style action Roguelike

Xibalba | Aug. 12, 2013 | Review of Teleglitch: Die More Edition

Teleglitch: Die More Edition is a roguelike top-down shooter that was first released late last year and has since been given an extended edition on Steam. Taking place in an abandoned military research complex in space, your objective is to explore and find a way off the planet all while trying to stay alive against the hordes of enemies that cover the planet. Using keyboard and mouse controls, picking up items and shooting weapons is straightforward and fairly intuitive. However, ammo is incredibly scarce, forcing you to scavenge for every item you can find and combine them into makeshift weapons in order to survive.

73

Nice Cyberpunk settings

Xibalba | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Remember Me

Acceptable fighting system, good story, AWESOME panorama, very good graphics, but It felt SO INCREDIBLY LIMITING. Every minute of playing I encountered a door I couldn't open, a ledge I couldn't grapple on, a 30cm box I could jump above, and on and on and on. I liked the concept, but I really couldn't stand the fact that the whole game was made a corridor. Acceptable game nonetheless. The Neo Paris panorama was gorgeous, the graphics when maxed out were gorgeous, and the music awesome. If only I didn't feel I was in a very long cage the whole time I played it..

65

Decent Rts stronghold/ageofempire alike

Xibalba | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Citadels

Citadels seems to be inspired by the Settlers and Stronghold series mostly. You can build up your economy, refine materials, build defensive towers and walls, train troops and attack your opponent. Each element of the gameplay is unfortunately pretty basic and unfinished, though. The base for a promising game may be in place but it's like the developer didn't have the resources to finish it. It also contains some glaring bugs and glitches (i.e. peasants getting stuck idle while constructing because of poor pathfinding, glitchy selection boxes making unit selection difficult...) that suggest that this game should have remained in development much longer.

75

a nice came back of 90's fps

Xibalba | Aug. 3, 2013 | Review of Rise of the Triad

Very, very challenging. Oldschool level design including keycard hunts and deadly obstacles. Super fast movement speed. No regenerating health. Unlimited ammo, no reloading required (just like in the original). Collectables and hidden areas. Gore galore. Awesome remakes of old songs, including the ability to listen to the classic versions. Tons of graphics options.

No manual saving. Poor A.I. that doesn't always react to your presence. Small enemies that blend in too well with the environments. Widespread performance issues (frame rate drops and stuttering). Mouse smoothing that can't be disabled through the menus (plus when it's disabled via config edits, the movement still doesn't feel quite right).

A fun game that stays true to the original in many ways but also lacks polish. It's fast, furious, and challenging, but makes one wonder just how great it could have been had the developers spent more time optimizing the performance and kept a classic "save anywhere, anytime" system.

96

Epic Fps collection

Xibalba | Aug. 3, 2013 | Review of DOOM Classic Complete

DOOM Classic Complete is a decent collection if you're a fan of the series or a first-person enthusiast, Sure, the graphics are old, and decrepit, but the level of action, and replayability is the awesome even now one of the best pc milestone

90

Great and solid FPS

Xibalba | Aug. 3, 2013 | Review of Quake IV

I have to say I like it more than doom 3. They sorta messed up the engine while trying to improve it in some ways but didn't hurt is all the way. Gameplay was pretty fun and was intense right from the start. If you say it's boring you probably didn't play it on medium difficulty or highter. Makes it more fun. The game is let down by the poorly designed vehicle sections and some overly difficult areas. However, it's oozing cinematic flair, thanks largely to superb voice acting, and has a lovely plethora of weapons to create hell with, so it's not all bad. Just be expected to be clicking that quickload button quite a bit towards the end of the game

89

Really nice classic fps

Xibalba | Aug. 3, 2013 | Review of Doom 3

Level design is gorgeous and interesting with countless creative touches and detail. Sound quality is also excellent and quite spooky. The monsters are fun to fight and a few parts made me jump in my seat, although they are a little too easy. I understand some people getting bored with it after a few levels but overall it was a rewarding experience and one of my favorites

75

Fun and nice visual

Xibalba | July 27, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider

As an action/adventure game released after the Uncharted series, this of course takes a lot from those games and actually improves on certain aspects. I haven't encountered any set pieces on the scale of Uncharted yet, but the more personal story and the larger focus on realism make the action a lot more tense, regardless of it not being quite as flash as Nathan Drake's adventures.

Definitely get this if you're a PC Gamer that hasn't played the Uncharted series and still get it if you have. It takesa lot from other games and isn't the Tomb Raider we are used to playing, the characterization is weak and TressFX kills performance. Yet the game is still worth it for overall story, Lara's character development, tense action sequences and impressive gameplay.

69

a good try

Xibalba | July 27, 2013 | Review of Dark

Well, it's not a triple A title, and the end product does show that. It's not as well polished nor is the art/voice acting spectacular. But from a small developer, I thought they did quite well. I don't normally play stealth games, and was looking for a casual RPG when I ran across this. I though the story was decent compared to some of the crap that gets toted around in games. The character development could have been done a lot better, I really didn't feel much attachment to any of them. As far as RPG elements are concerned, some basic character building is there, but you wind up unlocking most of the powers by the end anyways, so it's just a timing thing. I would recommend it to others, I felt it had a lot of potential but was either limited by time or too small a budget to really hash it out. A bigger focus on character development and AI would really have made this a great game

60

more of the same round 2

Xibalba | July 27, 2013 | Review of Company of Heroes 2

Winter is a unique element that brings a lot of change with it. Do you rush an attack before the storm hits or do you bunker down and wait it out? Better yet, what if you prepare your troops for the storm with transports and fire and attack while your enemy is unaware? Knowing how to make use of storms is often the difference between victory and defeat.

The optimism for PC is nowhere near its predecessor. The campaign story is written by a guy who only watched a few Soviet Union documentaries. But the game is still playable and you can have fun in it.

80

Nice fps\rts online game

Xibalba | July 4, 2013 | Review of Natural Selection II

Very fun game made with lot of effort from the developers, was made by a handful of dedicated people with an ENORMOUS modding community behind their back every step of the way. New content will be continuously released (including combat mode from ns1) on a monthly/weekly basis including: maps, models and skins, game types, etc. one of the best FPS with a mix of rts online of the last years. really hard and rewarding game

71

Nice Game

Xibalba | May 4, 2013 | Review of Mars: War Logs

This game caught me by surprise, and it has been a really pleasant surprise The story is interesting. I like that it is not "omg save teh wurld!" in its scope. Mars is about as dystopian as setting come, and what you do will likely not ultimately SAVE anyone for good because at the end of the day,there will still be too many thirsty, and not enough water, and little prospect for escape or giant leaps in quality of life. Graphics/animation: I am not a discerning consumer of fine graphics. I like for characters to look good, and this game succeeds in that. They focused on character faces, which I think is a strong choice. The lighting works well andthe textures on characters are pretty good. I have not even looked at the environmental tetures closely. Some of the animations are a tad wonky All in all I think they did really well. I certainly have no problem recommending this game given the $20 price point. It is very good in places and I consider it to be a really solid effort.

85

In the Escher universe

Xibalba | March 30, 2013 | Review of The Bridge

The Bridge is a 2D logic puzzle game that forces the player to reevaluate their preconceptions of physics and perspective. Not very difficult until the end of the game, but beautiful to look at and very satisfying to play. I'm playing with a gamepad on PC, and it works very well Overall, The Bridge manages to avoid crossing that fine line between challenging and frustrating, making you work to solve each puzzle without wanting to break your keyboard/pad

90

Welcome to Rap...ehm Colombia!!!

Xibalba | March 30, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite Post

BioShock Infinite is an artistic masterpiece. Beautiful, suspenseful, and haunting at times; it captures a blending of history and myth to create something both wonderfully unique and familiar. Ambiance:This is where the game really shines. Story: As we all come to expect from Irrational, the plot of this game is bursting with rich parallels, powerful emotional imagery and an ending (brilliantly foreshadowed throughout) that will leave you both satisfied and begging for more.

89

Great and Awesome Platformer

Xibalba | March 18, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

Fantastic gameplay, outstanding music, beautifully gritty environments, and a really solid "arcade feel" to the theme. Suggested to play with a pad. This game will kick your ass repeatedly and you'll probably die a few thousand times before completing the game, but for some reason no matter how much you die, you keep coming back for more punishment.

90

One of the best 3D platforming game

Xibalba | March 17, 2013 | Review of Psychonauts

This 3D platforming game is superb from its creative and colorful levels to its complex and conflicted characters, as the boy Raz, you learn eight different psychic abilities for combat and exploration that range from floating around to burning things. Very original and fun game. I know some complained about the controls, but I used a standard keyboard+mouse setup and it played great. The design came off with a nice balance between weird and realism, and has a maturity to it that most games I've played

85

Great Reboot

Xibalba | March 17, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider Steam

As far as a 3rd person action/adventure game goes this is very good, as far as a Tomb raider game goes it's not too bad but it could be a lot better. From the perspective of a reboot from a great series this is certainly a nice breath of fresh air and there is a lot great things that has been put into this game: The environments and visuals are some of the best I've seen in a 3rd person game let a lone an action game for current generation technology.However I do feel that this game is missing something, it's missing the Indianna Jones style tomb/booby traps explorations we all grew to love in a Tomb Raider game. A decent game and deserves a respectable score, however if you're looking for the true Tomb Raider feel you may be left slightly dissapointed

89

A good third person shooter

Xibalba | Feb. 27, 2013 | Review of Binary Domain Complete Pack

Is a third-person shooter video game developed and published by Sega. The game is set in Tokyo in the year 2080 and features innovative enemy AI technology. The player can issue commands to their squad mates either by using buttons or voice via headset A major part of the game is the Consequence System. Trust plays a part in the story mode on how the squad views the player. Their opinion of the player is based on how the player performs and treats team members. This affects both the storyline and the gameplay, where the characters behave differently depending on trust levels.Great and interesting story

86

Very nice concept and game

Xibalba | Jan. 15, 2013 | Review of Tiny & Big: Grandpa's Leftovers

The game play is innovative and unique and the story is, while a bit shallow, enjoyable. The comic style art was flawlessly executed. The game simply looks good. From the open areas bright areas to the enclosed dark ones, the art style never fails to deliver. Visually, the game is really nice, The soundtracks fit in perfectly with the game. I enjoyed almost every track. You can choose the paths the developers created for you and drag a block here and cut a block there or have some fun, explore and be creative.

84

Visual Novel

Xibalba | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of To The Moon Cap

Good storytelling of the old adventure games and a deep and immersing experience, there is very little gameplay in the game, but the little there is you want out of the way as quickly as possible so as to get back to the story really awesome with a nice and good looking graphic

78

Funny game

Xibalba | Dec. 22, 2012 | Review of Quantum Conundrum

This game is very fun and I would recommend it to anyone who loves a good puzzle. Probably because Quantum Conundrum's developer is Kim Swift, which was one of the minds behind the first Portal, this game actually feels like a casual version of Portal. Instead of targeted teleports and strange substances though, our weapon of choice influences ("shifts") the whole environment, making everything ultra-heavy, ultra-light, super-slow-motion, or gravity-inverted. It's actually quite fun. Like Portal, all puzzles are divided in rooms, and a sarcastic voice follows you throughout your gameplay.

80

A good post-apocalyptic game

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas DNS

The player takes control of "the Courier", who is hired by a delivery service to take an unknown package across the Mojave Desert to "The Strip" but intercepted, shot in the head, and left for dead by a mysterious man who steals the package. Fallout: New Vegas is not a direct sequel to Fallout 3 what add this fallout? Companion behavior and tasks are controlled using the new "companion wheel", removing the need to enter conversation to give commands. The quantity of factions prompted developers to reintroduce the reputation system The Vault-Tec Assisted Targeting System, or "V.A.T.S.", returns with the addition of several V.A.T.S.-specific attacks

and tons of secondary quests

68

American Revolution

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Assassin's Creed III: Deluxe Edition DNS

Slightly better then Revelations, declining story, bugs and broken mechanics. I really thought it was going to be turned around with this latest installment but I was very disappointed. the combat seems much more simplified, great graphic and artistic recreation of the american revolution, really arcade and funny Naval quests ( better of the tower defence from revelation)

76

A good Lovecraftian horror

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Darkness Within 2: The Dark Lineage

Impressive engine upgrade over the original first; moody soundtrack and good use of ambient sound,rarely utilises its new physical freedom being inspired by the works of H.P. Lovecraft storyline is intriguing and the puzzles are logical as well as challenging

79

Experimental Dream

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Dear Esther DNS

Dear Esther is an experimental first-person "adventure" game developed by thechineseroom, first released in June 2008 as a free mod for the Source engine, the game was completely remade in new source engine between 2009 and 2011 for a commercial release in February 2012 there is no action or typical interaction in this game, only great good looking graphic and sounds in this oniric-island

90

One of the best hybrid game

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Dark Messiah Might & Magic

First-person action game with role-playing elements developed by Arkane Studio. The player controls Sareth, the apprentice of the wizard Phenrig, after he is sent to the city of Stonehelm to accompany an expedition trying to retrieve a powerful artifact known as The Skull of Shadows The game emphasizes environmental combat, using scripted traps or terrain features. include cutting ropes to release heavy objects, kicking enemies over a cliff or into a bed of spikes, and breaking support beams to collapse a structure and crush enemies underneath.

91

One of the best recent-Rpg

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Dragon Age: Origins (EU)

One of the best recent RPGs I've ever played. Great graphics, gripping story, lots of choices and very fun combat reminds games like Baldur's gate A must have for any RPG enthusiast

91

Great King Sim/strategy game

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Crusader Kings Complete DNS

One of the best and the brightest paradox title: difficult, exciting and very satisfying in every part. the main goal is to help your lineage to survive, write a story about your family. It is strange for a strategic game but every character lives...your wife, your sons, your ancestors, your enemies. This is a tale engine about a family. Your family. The political system is very complex and the backbone of the game, it's all about relations between members of your family/vassals, not so much about war and conquests. Very deep game

87

Great Looking Rpg

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

It is the fifth installment in The Elder Scrolls action role-playing video game series. Skyrim's main story revolves around the player character's efforts to defeat Alduin, a Dragon who is prophesied to destroy the world. Set two hundred years after Oblivion, the game takes place in the fictional province of Skyrim (really great and looking good nordic region) nonlinear gameplay traditional in the Elder Scrolls series the player can explore an open world on foot or on horse, and fast-travel to cities, towns, and dungeons a lots of secondary quests but really shot main story

85

One of the best indie

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Bastion Cap

Bastion is an exceptionally fun and memorable Indie action/adventure with The game layout and pacing are good, always allowing players to get back into the action with little slowdown. The way the story unfolds with a commentator commentating on events and the players actions is original and provides some good context to the story. There even are some nice touching moments in the story and atmosphere which may start to pull the emotion strings a little. The graphics and music are very good featuring a nice art style with an original mix of western and anime. The weapons and game play are very fun and its great to have challenges that give the player the chance to get good at all weapons while being rewarded. Bastion is one of the most inspiring, deep and meaningful games in years.

86

One of the best old school game

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Painkiller Black Edition DNS

Bloody massacre coupled with unusual weapons. One of the first big titles with Havok physics. A mix of horror and fast action gameplay, Painkiller is gory and atmospheric, but really all it is is just action. The Purgatory setting and in fact the idea of fighting demons is very great. and remaind a games like Doom-Quake must have for al llovers of goods FPS shooters

80

Good old Platform Style

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Alice: Madness Returns (EU)

Amazing visuals. I believe the visuals alone could tell the story, it's extremely atmospheric, and it handles it self amazingly on all fronts. I absolutely adore and enjoyed this game

86

Oniric Dream

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Botanicula

Endless joy and a micro world full of wonders awaits you on an adorable puzzle/adventure to save mother nature's life. Great visuals and stylization with breathtaking sounds and music from DVA band. Do not even think about missing this outstanding piece of art from the Amanita Design makers of Machinarium!

85

Nice collection of solid old style FPS

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Doom 3 BFG Edition Pre

Contains 5 games Doom, Doom 2, Doom 3, Doom 3 exp ROE,new campaign Doom 3 The Lost Missions, still good looking id Tech 4 engine updated in HD graphics if you love doom you must take this if you are looking for a good and solid linear fps you are in the good place

86

Amazing steampunk stealth-game

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Dishonored Nexway

Good and wonderful level design from the Half-Life 2 City 17 creator Viktor Antonov, not very balanced powers, nice use of the gadgets , many and different approching of the objectives and your playing style. the decisions\your playing style in game change the city of Dunwall the only bed in this title is the short playthrough about 6 hours for finish it

75

Good stealth-action game

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Hitman: Absolution PRE

Great looking game, with a nice and solid graphic but i am a longtime fan of stealth games and I always though Hitman was one of the best series of the genre. But this was a major step back from the series. Instinct Mode-linear levels kill the exploration and others "sandbox" things from the original series, nice how work the disguise system, another step back is the planification of the mission completely removed in this title.

86

Medieval Butchery

Xibalba | Dec. 14, 2012 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare PRE

Stunning graphic,and combat animation with the possibility to chop enemy arms, heads or legs , battlecry and other things for plunge in a medieval battlefield or siege very nice game if you wanna play melee combat, the ranged combat its not very nice instead you can play in first person view or third. suggested for having fun with friends online

95

Best Superhero-Action game

Xibalba | Dec. 13, 2012 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year -

explore the new city of Arkham, use the famous gadgets of the bat-detective,affronts the best villains of the DC world of batman, nice and stunning combat animation with combo system. a must have game for all lovers of the bat and for action game

86

Tropical paradise

Xibalba | Dec. 13, 2012 | Review of Far Cry 3

An amazing and stunning visuals and a funny gameplay The combat system allows you to play the game your own way, whether it be like rambo or a silent assassin, the open world reminds me of a GTA but in first person view

79

Great linear fps

Xibalba | Sept. 12, 2012 | Review of Metro 2033 PRE

Is a first-person shooter video game with survival horror elements, based on the novel Metro 2033 by Dmitry Glukhovsky The story takes place in post-apocalyptic Moscow, mostly inside the metro system of the city, is a great atmosphere game with some nice elements like stealth, and a sort of moral choices that give points to lead in different endings.

90

Truly one of the best mature Plot for a third-person shooter

Xibalba | Sept. 11, 2012 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line dns

I suggest to you to play this game not much for what it offer in the gameplay side (a third-person shooter with emphasis on cover and "squad-based tactics" nothing of new in this side) but for the plot and the story inspired by Joseph Conrad's novella Heart of Darkness and for some characters seem to come out from the movie Apocalypse Now. Another great thing is the soundtrack some good Alt. Rock. This game will prove yourself

86

Lovecraftian adventure

Xibalba | Sept. 7, 2012 | Review of Darkness Within: In Pursuit of Loath Nolder

Is a first-person 3D adventure-horror thriller videogame. It takes place in an imaginary "Lovecraftian" place called Wellsmoth. As detective, Howard E. Loreid, players are tasked to solve the murder of Clark Field, a wealthy man involved in the occult. Its not a canonical adventure game, the players can use a unique inventory system called ‘thinking screen' which allows to collect and examine items, and thoughts. Clues can also be researched, combined or used for discover more of the plot.

90

Dream with open eyes

Xibalba | Sept. 7, 2012 | Review of Amerzone: The Explorer's Legacy

One of the best first-person adventure game designed by Benoît Sokal knowing for adventure game like syberia 1-2 and others. Takes the role of a journalist on a quest in a fictional universe to help and sace a rare species of magical birds. i suggest this game for all lovers of adventure and who want to dive in this unique atmosphere.

89

Great Survival adventure game

Xibalba | Sept. 5, 2012 | Review of Penumbra Black Plague

Penumbra black plague is a first person horror game, the sequel of Penumbra Overture, two greats survival horror for pc. Use an advanced physics engine for the resolution of riddles, you can interact with a lot of elements and objects. Must have for all lovecraftian fans and horror games in general

87

One of the best fantasy Turn-based game

Xibalba | Sept. 5, 2012 | Review of Disciples II: Gold Edition

Turn-based game with a enjoyable story and a lot of races with different plots, units, buildings and heroes. Each of the races have a different campaign. With the gold edition you have too the 3 exp Dark Prophecy Gallean's Return Rise of the Elves will add new races and campaigns. Nice.

90

Yo-ohoh Yo oh!

Xibalba | Sept. 3, 2012 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2

The best with Rome of the total war series. Stunning graphic support the dx 9 and 11. with this game we are now in the Sengoku period, was a time of social upheaval, political intrigue, and nearly constant military conflict that lasted roughly from the middle of the 15th century to the beginning of the 17th century in Japan, we can choose all the major clans of that period like Oda, Tokugawa ,Uesugi ,Takeda and much more. use the deadly ninjas and the lethal beauty gensha for help to raise your clan among the other. turn- based campaign and real-time resolution of the conflicts with large amount of units in the battlefield

91

Best rpg in the last years

Xibalba | Sept. 3, 2012 | Review of The Witcher II: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition

well-constructed story with a mature plot. you choose your own path, and your actions determine the plot of your adventure. Depends on your choose during the game,you can complete different missions and location. The graphic engine are awesome but require a good graphic card. use the witcher's gadgets like two sword. one for men the other for monsters, alchemy for buff your characteristics and traps, bombs for kill the abomination hidden in the kingdom of Temeria

87

Best WW2 RTS

Xibalba | Sept. 3, 2012 | Review of Men of War: Assault Squad Cap

best rts on WW2. very nice maps all the elements on the map are completly destructible, units are detailed very nice, particularly the vehicles. nice micromanagements of the troops liks formation and position also you can direct fire all the units. this stand alone "expansion" its suggested to play only for the multiplayer

96

Cyberpunk Masterpiece

Xibalba | Aug. 30, 2012 | Review of Deus Ex: Game of the Year Edition DNS

One of the best mix of FPS and RPG where you can choose different approaches on the objectives and for complete the levels. Very intriguing plot with different endings. One of the best gameplay and soundtrack in the history of the videogame.

95

Must-have game

Xibalba | Aug. 30, 2012 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum

One of the best superhero and action game ever made. Animations are awesome, good looking graphic and nice voice acting, if you like batman you must have this game. Also you can use the famous batman's gadgets. Really good game.

95

One of the Best Game!

Xibalba | Aug. 23, 2012 | Review of Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition (EU)

One of the best game ever i have played. Greatest design of levels,armors, weapons,npc and monster/bosses, minimalist plot with a deep lore. With the pc version you will have PVP online matchmaking system for coop too, drawback for me is the Games for Windows Live