Reviews by YYS1995

85

Great

YYS1995 | Sept. 14, 2013 | Review of Brink

Great Shooter, especially if you love playing team-based shooters. The game offers the player a unique FPS experience, instead of crashing through the stages like normal FPS games, Brink requires the player to really take into account multi-player cooperation and the clearing of multiple objectives at the same time. The stages are not that easy, but with great graphics and fun (the combat in the game is fast and very chaotic).The game-play itself is very balanced, you get to choose from different classes to play as, each with its own unique traits that could help (especially if you are playing multi-player with friends, you might want to take different classes to complement each other) . Overall, a great game especially with friends. Get it.

85

Wicked

YYS1995 | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of Shadowrun Returns

Shadow run is one of those fresh,innovative and deeply addictive strategic games out there, with a twist. You play amid the background of a fantasy world, where magic and your modern day world technology co-exist. This gives the player much room to express his imagination, as he is not confined to either of the elements. We get the best of both worlds here. The gameplay controls are similar to that of XCOM , well, which should not be too difficult to master. But in certain scenarios, you do not get complete view of the map, inserting in an element of luck and instinct. The graphics in game are also visually worthy, in fact, rather good. However, the drawback about this game would be that the player is not able to do manual saves at the moment... so you have to sit down and finish a mission before the autosave kicks in. On a whole, a great game that all should try.

80

Nostalgia

YYS1995 | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of DuckTales: Remastered

Ducktales Remastered is a nostalgia trip from start to end. Gameplay is faithful to the original. Graphics and audio are remastered from scratch, but maintain the same theme.The story that is crafted around the insanity of the original game's structure hits all the right chords of a DuckTales cartoon with fantastic writing and voice acting, and every cut scene can be skipped with two button presses for those who aren't interested. In short anyone who is a fan of 2D action platformers should be checking out DuckTales.

85

Great Fun. Especially with friends.

YYS1995 | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of Magicka: Collection

Magicka is a solid action adventure title with a clever spellcasting mechanic that will provide hours of entertainment for gamers. If players play the co-op mode, people get insane fun running around and "accidentally" teamkilling and trying their best at remembering a certain spell when surrounded by mobs.The rich, luscious colors somehow make the world a lot more believable, but i dislike the isometric viewpoint this game has. This is definitely a must-buy game, but it really needs to be experienced to get how much fun it is.

80

Awesome Adaptation

YYS1995 | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of The Thirty Nine Steps

I've read the book, so when I learnt that there was a game adaptation of the book, I jumped to the chance and got it. The game guides you, in an interactive manner through the story. You get chances to immerse yourself in the story, through beautifully crafted interactive features. The producers really gave attention to tiny details, to bring out the story. They did justice to the book. There are simply actions to complete . but NO difficult puzzles to complete. You play as a reader, not as a character. Imagine the book turning into an interactive movie. With you in control, to go through it at your own pace. The subtitles and voice overs given are great!. Awesome game, for lovers of the book and those that want to get to know the book. 8/10

72

Worthy

YYS1995 | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of Supreme Commander: Gold Edition

Want a fast paced, immersive strategic game? Look no further. This game puts you in control of various factions, vying for ultimate control. Great game for strategy cum science fiction fans out there. This game gives the player very indepth control of units, specifically when it comes to controlling them up close. (Yes, this game allows from close up zooms) However, it must be noted that this game's graphics are not the best, it certain aspects, such as the designs of units, is rather disappointing. Overall, a worthy game to be played. 7/10

100

Just GET IT.

YYS1995 | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of Tropico 4: Collectors Bundle

The moment i saw that this was out as a bundle, i immediately got it. Firstly. It is one of those strategy games that puts you in absolute control right down from the building blocks of the city to the mechanics behind it. (YOU GET TO BE A DICTATOR) i know, this might seem cheesy but honestly, there are not many games out there that lets you run the world. That is, the in-game world though. By far, this game incorporates all the aspects of a excellent strategy-cum building game. One of my all time favourites. And what has been done here would be to bundle the DLCs togther, so that you get the complete experience (I noticed that the Propaganda expansion DLCs is missing though) GET IT. AWESOME GAME 10/10

85

Awesome Strategy Game.

YYS1995 | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of Men of War: Assault Squad Cap

RTS of WW2. You get beautifully crafted RTS maps, with troops and units. [The developers gave attention to the design and details of the units and troops, I liked it] Fluid control of units given to players, with on-screen instructions if you get stuck. Awesome RTS, but a hard one. You need good map control, micromanagement of almost EVERYTHING on the map, if not you are likely to lose. A very good RTS game for you to spend time on, it is not easy to complete this game, i took weeks, but it was really stimulating and rewarding process. Great game, definitely recommended.

75

Enjoyable

YYS1995 | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of Stealth Bastard Deluxe

This game provides the player with great puzzles (some of which are of a rather difficult level) The game itself forces the player the take into account stealth elements (otherwise it would not be called Stealth Bastard, right? ). Now here comes the hard part. You have to balance the stealth game play... and solve the puzzles together, at the same time. The controls are easy to use, that said, you may need help tinkering about the first few stages to get the hang of it... but it should not be too difficult. The graphics itself are okay.. for an indie game. But I got some bugs on certain levels with the graphics (it started flashing), so windows 7 users might want to take note...it may not run all the well that smoothly. 7/10

88

The almighty one

YYS1995 | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of Reus

Decent "God" game...allowing you to play as the "giants" or rather, control the giants... thereby control the lives of the teeny-weeny humans. You decide the rise and falls of civilisation. Funny game, allowing you to be in control. The gameplay starts of small... but at the end...well, let's just say it feels good to play god (in the game) . The mechanics of the game are easy to understand (if I can get it you can too), rather user friendly. Besides, this game requires low computer specifications to run... so you can play it on your older computers.

100

AWESOME GAME. 10/10

YYS1995 | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead & 400 Days DLC Pack

When I got this game, I absolutely loved it. And why is that so? This game has an awesome storyline (even more so if you are a fan of the walking dead series) and excellent gameplay. When it comes to gameplay, this game is one of those storyline-cum-action interactive games. You get to solve situations (timed ones too! so you cant dilly-dally but make a decision on the spot) and these decisions affect OTHER decisions in the game. Hence, you are very much in control of certain aspects of the game, such as loyalty towards other characters, which results in slightly varying storylines. I absolutely recommend this game [buy it, why are you wasting time with reviews] especially so if you love games with good gameplay and a excellent storyline. .

85

Thrilling Horror FPS

YYS1995 | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R Pack

I'm sure many out there have played FPS games. Now this is one thrilling, dark horror FPS. The graphics and sounds within the game are really scary (at least to me) , lives up to the name of Fear. During the game...periods of silence may be broken by sudden screams and before you know it (if you fail to react quickly enough) it may be a game over for you. It is a fast paced horror FPS that leaves you on the edge of your seat , so be careful not to fall off. This pack provides FEAR 2 , which allows for co-opt and multi player modes with the online community (quite active, you do not need to worry about a dead game)

85

Europa Universalis III

YYS1995 | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of Europa Universalis III Collection

Firstly, it must be clarified that Europa Universalis III is one of those deep strategy titles. In this game, you get the chance to well, rewrite history. I got this game when it was out sometime back..and it did not disappoint me. Pity I did not get this bundle back then... would have saved me so much $. In sum, if you love strategy games, one that needs deep thought and imagination, this game is suitable for you. Thumbs UP , seriously.

90

Awesome Strategy Game.

YYS1995 | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of Civilization Pack

Now. This game is SO addicting, you'll likely to spend hours (not couple, maybe a few hundred on it) playing it. Civilization V is one of the best released, not to mention that this pack over here offers you additional DLCs to further expand your gameplay. You get excellent graphics (oh yes, loved them) and awesome in-game gameplay controls (Hexagram style is in the house!) The original pack already offers a multitude of opportunities for the player to fufill his potential as a master strategist, and the additional DLCs provided in this pack simply serve to extend the range of scenarios and various gameplay styles. In certain scenarios, the AI does not put up much of a challenge (it gives the player a "break) but in others, gives them hell ( some of them are hard, VERY HARD. trust me on this) In essence, this game gives awesome gameplay that will get you hooked on for weeks or even months (you'll get your money worth on this pack). Why are you still reading my review? Get it. Experience it. Thumbs up, 9/10

85

Totally wicked.

YYS1995 | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of Shadowrun Returns

Shadow run is one of those fresh,innovative and deeply addictive strategic games out there, with a twist. You play amid the background of a fantasy world, where magic and your modern day world technology co-exist. This gives the player much room to express his imagination, as he is not confined to either of the elements. We get the best of both worlds here. The gameplay controls are similar to that of XCOM , well, which should not be too difficult to master. But in certain scenarios, you do not get complete view of the map, inserting in an element of luck and instinct. The graphics in game are also visually worthy, in fact, rather good. However, the drawback about this game would be that the player is not able to do manual saves at the moment... so you have to sit down and finish a mission before the autosave kicks in. On a whole, a great game that all should try.

90

Amazing Game (even so with friends) 9/10

YYS1995 | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of Payday 2 4 Pack

Payday 2. Oh...how life is to be a villain. Not just any villain we haver over here .. a big, bad one. You get to engage in criminal activities (in the game, of course) robbing banks, destroying infrastructure (now that's a re-laxer) and stealing various items... just like the criminal in the real world. With this 4-pack, you get to team up with your best buddies and be the best criminal squad you think you can be. Awesome fun with friends! -The pack being offered at a discounted price on Greenmangaming offers you and your friends an awesome but slightly cheaper pack then you would get elsewhere , such as buying it on the steam platform. Great game, get it!

80

Fresh

YYS1995 | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of King Arthur Collection

King Arthur is an awesome game... mixing in historical elements (we seldom see King Arthur/Medieval themes being incorporated into such strategic games) together with a comprehensive strategic background (it's a good game with a mix of different elements, reminds me of Tropico to a certain extent) but with average graphics. Not too bad a game, in fact, rather enjoyable (and rare) medieval strategic game. Fresh.

80

Classic Strategy

YYS1995 | Sept. 10, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings Complete

One of Paradox's firsts games. This game offers a different perspective unlike other strategy games. You play a medieval family, rising through the ages. So instead of an overlord, you are playing the perspective of one changing history and yet still part of it. This game requires deep thinking... to be able to carefully strategize as a simple misstep would really affect the gameplay onwards. Being an old game, the graphics are simply, in 2D. But the storyline and gameplay itself really makes up for the poorer graphics (bear in mind, it is an old game).. Really and awesome game, especially if you are an avid player of strategic titles.

95

Bigger, Better than its predecessors.

YYS1995 | Sept. 10, 2013 | Review of Ray man Legends

Now. Ubisoft outdid themselves when the made Legends. You get improved graphics, multiple characters to play on and a very interesting (fresh, i must add) storyline. Being a long fan of Rayman, I absolutely loved this version - Rayman Legends. Not to worry, not to worry, this game is GREAT for newbies to the RAYMAN universe. In fact, it gives you a positive experience of Rayman, They gameplay itself, provides an amazing 3D experience (not like other crappy 3D games out there), the producers this time made sure to give us players a visual treat. Thumbs up! Try it, You will not be disappointed.

100

AWESOME GAME. 10/10

YYS1995 | Sept. 10, 2013 | Review of Tropico 4: Collectors Bundle

The moment i saw that this was out as a bundle, i immediately got it. Firstly. It is one of those strategy games that puts you in absolute control right down from the building blocks of the city to the mechanics behind it. (YOU GET TO BE A DICTATOR) i know, this might seem cheesy but honestly, there are not many games out there that lets you run the world. That is, the in-game world though. By far, this game incorporates all the aspects of a excellent strategy-cum building game. One of my all time favourites. And what has been done here would be to bundle the DLCs togther, so that you get the complete experience (I noticed that the Propaganda expansion DLCs is missing though) GET IT. AWESOME GAME 10/10

95

Awesome Strategy Game.

YYS1995 | Sept. 10, 2013 | Review of Civilization Pack

Now. This game is SO addicting, you'll likely to spend hours (not couple, maybe a few hundred on it) playing it. Civilization V is one of the best released, not to mention that this pack over here offers you additional DLCs to further expand your gameplay. You get excellent graphics (oh yes, loved them) and awesome in-game gameplay controls (Hexagram style is in the house!) The original pack already offers a multitude of opportunities for the player to fufill his potential as a master strategist, and the additional DLCs provided in this pack simply serve to extend the range of scenarios and various gameplay styles. In certain scenarios, the AI does not put up much of a challenge (it gives the player a "break) but in others, gives them hell ( some of them are hard, VERY HARD. trust me on this) In essence, this game gives awesome gameplay that will get you hooked on for weeks or even months (you'll get your money worth on this pack). Why are you still reading my review? Get it. Experience it. Thumbs up, 9/10

72

Worthy to be played. 7/10

YYS1995 | Sept. 10, 2013 | Review of Supreme Commander: Gold Edition

Want a fast paced, immersive strategic game? Look no further. This game puts you in control of various factions, vying for ultimate control. Great game for strategy cum science fiction fans out there. This game gives the player very indepth control of units, specifically when it comes to controlling them up close. (Yes, this game allows from close up zooms) However, it must be noted that this game's graphics are not the best, it certain aspects, such as the designs of units, is rather disappointing. Overall, a worthy game to be played. 7/10

85

Best of the MoW series.

YYS1995 | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Men of War: Assault Squad Cap

RTS of WW2. You get beautifully crafted RTS maps, with troops and units. [The developers gave attention to the design and details of the units and troops, I liked it] Fluid control of units given to players, with on-screen instructions if you get stuck. Awesome RTS, but a hard one. You need good map control, micromanagement of almost EVERYTHING on the map, if not you are likely to lose. A very good RTS game for you to spend time on, it is not easy to complete this game, i took weeks, but it was really stimulating and rewarding process. Great game, definitely recommended.

80

Great Adaptation. Excellent.

YYS1995 | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of The Thirty Nine Steps

I've read the book, so when I learnt that there was a game adaptation of the book, I jumped to the chance and got it. The game guides you, in an interactive manner through the story. You get chances to immerse yourself in the story, through beautifully crafted interactive features. The producers really gave attention to tiny details, to bring out the story. They did justice to the book. There are simply actions to complete . but NO difficult puzzles to complete. You play as a reader, not as a character. Imagine the book turning into an interactive movie. With you in control, to go through it at your own pace. The subtitles and voice overs given are great!. Awesome game, for lovers of the book and those that want to get to know the book. 8/10

70

Average Game, but fresh storyline.

YYS1995 | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth

You get adventure coupled with FPS in this game. But the FPS gameplay is poor, in my opinion [You do not get the typical amo, amo sticks, health indicators] Shabby FPS, in my opinion. However, this game takes into account other aspects of an adventure game such as "sanity levels" , which give makes this game challenging and fresh. You get to see H. P. Lovecraft's intriguing work back in action. You take on the role of PI Jack Walters to find missing individual in the dark town... full of secrets. You embark on a journey, trying to unmask these secrets [The gameplay is fresh, I liked the storyline] An average game, good for a raining weekend afternoon.

95

Takes COD to a whole NEW level. [A couple of spoilers,be warned]

YYS1995 | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

This is a great game. The single player allows one new and a variety of missions, some of which reflect missions from older CoD games. You get excellent graphics, storyline [that comes like a roller-coaster ride with ups,downs,twists and turns] - it must be noted. You have certain scenarios with rather high levels of violence [*Hint Hint - No Russian] that involves a massacre which is nicely portrayed. The multiplayer modes are great, when I tried it out the servers were rather active [So you do not have to worry about a dead game] Get this game if you like FPS games, especially if you are a fan of the CoD series ! [you do not need to be an old player of the CoD series to get this, this serves as an excellent intro to the CoD series on its own]

100

The Walking Dead. 9/10

YYS1995 | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead & 400 Days DLC Pack

When I got this game, I absolutely loved it. And why is that so? This game has an awesome storyline (even more so if you are a fan of the walking dead series) and excellent gameplay. When it comes to gameplay, this game is one of those storyline-cum-action interactive games. You get to solve situations (timed ones too! so you cant dilly-dally but make a decision on the spot) and these decisions affect OTHER decisions in the game. Hence, you are very much in control of certain aspects of the game, such as loyalty towards other characters, which results in slightly varying storylines. I absolutely recommend this game [buy it, why are you wasting time with reviews] especially so if you love games with good gameplay and a excellent storyline. .

85

Europa Universalis III

YYS1995 | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Europa Universalis III Collection

Firstly, it must be clarified that Europa Universalis III is one of those deep strategy titles. In this game, you get the chance to well, rewrite history. I got this game when it was out sometime back..and it did not disappoint me. Pity I did not get this bundle back then... would have saved me so much $. In sum, if you love strategy games, one that needs deep thought and imagination, this game is suitable for you. Thumbs UP , seriously.