Reviews by YugTaht

89

Brings you into a whole new world

YugTaht | Nov. 26, 2013 | Review of Mirror's Edge (NA)

I got Mirror's edge for PC when it was still expensive for console. It's a great game. At first, you might feel alil dizzy and confused because it is SUPER first-person view, but you get used to it. Story: Tbh, I haven't finished it myself, and it's not because I don't enjoy it, mainly because I've been busy. So far, the story is interesting and with meaning. And it doesn't feel that far off from our own world, so it's nice to see that it is in line with reality. Gameplay: Once again, confusing and hard to adapt to. Once you get a few minutes in though you will pick up everything you need to know and be wall running everywhere. The game is very realistic too (as annoying as that is) -- falling from a two floor drop will make you grunt and take damage (as any normal person would). The graphics are great, make sure you can take this baby up to high quality settings for the best experience. Overall: Very good game, enough to convince me to get Mirror's Edge 2 (whenever it finally comes out).

75

Decent puzzle games

YugTaht | Nov. 26, 2013 | Review of Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light

Played this puzzle game with my gf, who picked it up for cheap online during a halloween sale. This game is very fun puzzle wise, and some puzzles even get fustrating because that's how hard they are (if you want to 100% the game). Personally, I don't really follow the story-line and am not that interested in it. The camera work in this game may get annoying as both players have to share the SAME screen, there's no split or "your own screen," you both share the same screen. So maneuvering around may be difficult. The puzzles do NOT get easier if you are on co-op, the puzzles are the same but modified slightly depending if you're playing solo or co-op; allowing you to complete it solo if you wish, but if you had a 2nd person, then you must divi-up the tasks. Graphics are pretty standard, for a top view game, graphics aren't usually the best IMO, but it doesn't need to be to keep you entertained because you'll always be running from a giant spike ball or a wave of fire coming up behind you.

92

FREE ROAM ZOMBIE WORLD -- need I say more?

YugTaht | Nov. 26, 2013 | Review of Dead Rising 2

This game gave me hours of fun. I bought this for me and my girlfriend (both zombie lovers) and we’ve lost CHUNKS of time just playing this game. The most interesting part, we weren’t even playing campaign mode! No spoilers – so at one point in the game you can forego the regular story line and just explore the game on your own – COMPLETELY FREE ROAM, it was the best. Ever wanna bust into a mall and try on random clothing? How about drive show-case cars through the atrium of a mall? All of that possible in Dead Rising 2. The game will feel slow at first, you level up as you progress through the game and you become stronger and faster. The weapon selection in this game is endless – EVERYTHING is a weapon, pick up some newspaper and you can go beating up on zombies (although I don’t recommend it). The graphics are decent, nothing super HD but it doesn’t need to be. Replay value, it has lots. Again, either by going through the story line once again, choosing not to save some survivors or just doing whatever you want in a zombie apocalyptic world, all achievable with this game. Recommend a friend to play co-op with as running amuck in a mall is more fun as a team.

78

GORE GALORE!

YugTaht | Nov. 26, 2013 | Review of Killing Floor

If you like to shoot wave after wave of zombies, this is the game for you. If you like to shoot wave after wave of zombies with a group of friends, this is the game for you and your friends. Teams go up to 8 (I think? It’s a lot) and the name of the game is zombie survival for 10 waves. Zombies get progressively harder and more aggressive and there are abundant classes to choose from as a character. Burn the zombies to a crisp as a pryo or be the hero and keep your team’s health up as a medic. The controls work as any FPS would work, although the game motion feels kind of slow. There is no running, you’re default set to be running and even then it seems pretty slow. There IS NO CROSSHAIR, you’ve been warned. Straight up, looking down the barrel through the iron sights so it is something you have to get used to and adapt. No campaign mode, just straight survival either solo or with a team. Great fun if you’ve got a bunch of mates to play with but if not, there are a bunch of servers online with random, friendly public servers anyways. Pick it up on sale if you see it, probably next Halloween for sure.

85

Simple and fun. Makes me thirsty too.

YugTaht | Nov. 25, 2013 | Review of Puddle

Puddle is a very simple yet fun puzzle game. At times it is annoying but that might be due to my lack of skill at the game itself, not a pitfall of the game. The game focuses on a lot of science stuff (basic science anyways) and the goal is to get a cup of water through a level and into a tube, at the end of the level. Easy at first, just tilting left and right it gets harder when you have to go through fields of fire (and avoid evaporating!) to doing 360 rotations. The fluids even vary from plain water to antifreeze that kills plants (the ground you flow on!). The graphics are very vivid and beautiful and the music/sound effects add to the mesmerizing atmosphere. Getting this game as a gift made this even better for me. This game also motivates you to not just complete the level, but to re-play each level so that you can finish with ALL your water (gold rank). I would recommend this game if it's on sale (or get a friend to buy for you like me :P).

90

This game is insanely infuriating. But fun.

YugTaht | Nov. 25, 2013 | Review of The Binding of Isaac

As the title suggests, this game is infuriating. BUT - that's not to say that I haven't had hours of fun with it. Binding of Isaac is one of the best indie games that I've bought (actually, one of the first and reason why I'm now into indie games). The animations of the game are very cute and fun, the story is unusual and kinda twisted (exactly what they were going for) and the narration is perfect for the game setting (beginning/ending cutscene). Controls take a few seconds to get used to, there is no way to change the key bindings (I don't think) so you just have to get used to it or stop playing. I got used to it, and once I got past accidentaly pressing all the keys out of panic, it was fine. 2D shooter, where you run from room to room shooting monsters ranging from house flies to a huge mutation of pink mass. There is no real strategy, until you learn all the items (there are lots) and pick ups (also lots) and selectively use each one in specific senarios. You just go and shoot - no save points -- you go as far as you can. Each room (and thus playthrough) are never the same, monster in one room may not necessarily be in the same room or even the same level! I especially fell in love with the soundtrack of the game and soon found myself to be the owner of the soundtrack and listening to it on a regular basis. Once you beat the game, you unlock hidden levels, furthering the replay value (and of course, fury). If this game is on sale, I recommend picking it up. Check out the gameplay before you purchase and commit, as I know some who got it but didn't like it and thus it collects dust in their virtual games library.

100

ENDLESS CO-OP FUN

YugTaht | Nov. 21, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA)

I was never into the BL series of games but I got hooked fast! The story line itself is hilarious, all characters will drop funny lines here and there (most from the bad guys). Obviously the game will be more fun with friends and a full team of 4, but that's not to say that you can't fully enjoy the game solo either. The campaign has huge replay value, unlocking a new difficulty level each time you finish the game (up to 2 more difficulties) which is more than enough to keep you entertained. And if you're an achievement hunter and or grinder, this game will satisfy all of that for you (I myself haven't even levelled up max or got all achievements, and I played through the game 3 times! (Although, I DID get the level upgrade DLC so my max level is 72 -- SO HARD TO GET TO, but will be so rewarding). And if that's not enough, BL2 has tons of DLC to add-on if you're just tired of the regular story or want new characters.

92

ENDLESS CO-OP FUN

YugTaht | Nov. 20, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA)

I am new to this series, actually this game entirely, haven't played BL1 yet (although I do have it). It is super fun. First off, it has a great story line, witty humor lines dropped here and there. Playing story mode solo is super fun on it's own, but playing with friends is where it shines. The game DOES get harder with more people in your game, but that's what makes it more fun. This game also has tons of DLC to go along with it, so if you're ever bored of running through the game's story mode, go pick up another one! To me, the replay value of this game is great -- constantly trying to level up to be the biggest badass of all.