Reviews by Zharwyn

86

A nice little treat!

Zharwyn | July 4, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead: 400 Days

400 Days is a great DLC but sadly it is quite short. It takes a little over an hour to finish but just as the main game it has replay value. The DLC introduces new characters and let's you get to know them a little. It's a pre-lude to season two so your choices will carry over and affect the story there. It leaves you wanting more, though. Voice acting is top notch, no surprise there, the graphics and gameplay mechanics are identical to the main game. The suspense is there. If you loved the original The Walking Dead game and can't wait until season two comes out, then get this little treat!

93

Awesome RPG!

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

I love this game game. There is SO much to do! Skyrim was by far one of my favorite games of 2011. It's a beautiful game and with mods it can become even more stunning. The main story is interesting enough. It also has dragons. Lots of them.

I love to search all the nooks and crannies to make sure that I don’t miss anything of interest. In Skyrim I found myself straying far away from the main quest, many many times. After completing the main quest I still have a lot of things left to do in Skyrim on my main save. I have been tempted to create a new character and go a completely different route.

I’m sure I will have many more hours to enjoy in Skyrim as I tend to pick up the game once in a while and get lost in it. This is a game you can come back to time and time again and get lost in for hours and hours.

I picked up the collector’s edition when it was released and I haven’t regretted it once. Even though the game has a tremendous amount of bugs you find yourself looking past them a lot. The game is gorgeous and there are so many ways to shape your character, with modding for the PC, the possibilities are endless!

85

Very intriguing.

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | Review of Dear Esther DNS

Most definitely a must-buy for people that are interested in interactive story-driven games. The beautiful environments and the ghost story makes up for the lack of gameplay, it's almost more like a movie. Although when it comes to concepts like these (and there are but a few) less is more in my opinion. It may seem short but since dialogue and other parts of the game are randomized, you may get a different feeling the second playthrough.

Sit back and enjoy a beautiful game with an interesting story.

82

Intriguing.

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line dns

This game was one of the hidden gems of 2012. However, I didn't play it until 2013. I regret waiting, because it is worth a playthrough. While the gameplay is pretty average at its best, it's not what makes the game worth playing. Play this game for the experience, because of the story. I can't guarantee that it will be the joyride of your life, simply because it's not a game you play to have fun. The game can make you feel downright uncomfortable and appalled. Don't let this discourage you, though.

The campaign is quite short but it sucks you in. It takes about 5 hours to complete. If this makes you doubt getting the game you then I can safely say that it has some replay value. There are 50 achievements and some are based on the choices you make while you play. There is even a co-op mode. I can't say anything about the multiplayer, since I didn't try it out, although I reckon it might be quite dead.

96

Best Fantasy-RPG.

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | Review of Dragon Age: Origins (EU)

Dragon Age: Origins was the game that set the bar for me when it comes to fantasty RPGs. It is, without a doubt, one of my favorite games ever. The story is compelling, extremely dark and well-thought through. There wasn't a moment when I felt the game was bad, even if it has a few frustrating parts. It takes you on an incredible journey and let's you make very hard decisions along the way. Even though the combat can feel a little clunky at times, it doesn't hurt the rest of the game. You have intriguing companions and interesting ways to expand your friendships with them. It has great replay value if you are interested to see how the game's world will treat you as a different race, class and with different choices. I recommend this game 110%.

96

Amazing.

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider Overflow

This remake of Tomb Raider hits the spot - and it hits the spot good. As a girl growing up with the old games I find myself extremely relieved that this game exceeded my expectations, to the fullest. And Lara finally has normal boobs! I love this game. I loved every moment of it and I can truly say that it's been a long time since I felt this passionately for a game.

The visuals are stunning. It is a gorgeous game. The scenery is beautiful and the details are remarkable. The way Lara changes throughout the game, the wounds, scars and scratches, it all adds to the experience. Even her clothes takes a beating! This makes the game a lot more immersive. There is a lot to discover and many different ways to explore.

The main story and characters are interesting, however nothing beats Lara's own story that is (not very subtly) being told, a story of how she became the Lara Croft we've all grown used to. The sound and voice acting is superb and it is used well. You can hear the panic in Lara as she struggles through her adventure and how she overcomes her fears, which is made in a very delicate way.

I usually find myself struggling with the latest AAA games when it comes to gameplay but this game is well optimized. I rarely found myself annoyed or confused with the controls which was very welcomed.

Overall, this is a great game. It is an adventure and it will amaze you. It's stunningly beautiful, compelling and it's a game done right. Even the AI is more than decent and might give you a challenge or two.

Without a doubt, I highly recommend this game. Get it.

100

A masterpiece!

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

This game is so worth it. Telltale did this right, it's a phenomenal game. The gameplay is a lot like a point and click adventure. It also has some quicktime events, but not too many. It's unlike a lot of adventure games and it won't let you get stuck on puzzles because they are extremely logical and simple. This is great because it keeps the player's attention and let's the player enjoy the story rather than being frustrated with illogical puzzles.

The story is why you would want to play this game. You will love some characters and you will hate some. You will be the person deciding some of their fate. The choices you make have consequences, they change the outcome and tailor the story for you unlike many others. You might find yourself wondering if you could have done something different a lot, which might even make you want to replay the game again to see what happens if you "do or don't". But always remember there are consequences to everything you do. Whether you'll like it or not. Trying to please everyone might evem come and bite you in the ass in the end.

The suspense in this game is incredible. You're always worried what might happen around the next corner or at the end of a latter or even behind that alley.. The tension, the atmosphere, sucks you in.

The voice acting is top notch. The visuals are clever and unique, Telltale chose to go with the more comic approach which is logical because The Walking Dead are originally comic books. You might even run into a familiar face or two, whether it's from the TV series or the comics I won't tell.

This game deserves all the hype it has gotten, it deserves to be played. Even if you don't like (point and click) adventure games, don't let this discourage you. The game is loved for a reason by all kinds of people. It is one of the best games I have ever played.

100

Game of the Year 2013.

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

Irrational Games developed a masterpiece, in my opinion. Bioshock Infinite has been praised tremendously in the media for all the right reasons. It is a game that was really hard for me to put down from start to finish. I usually find myself feeling a little claustrophobic when playing FPS games but with Infinite this was not the case.

You are Booker DeWitt and you've come to the flying city of Colombia to bring back a girl to New York. This girl is Elizabeth and you'll soon find out that she's very special. Of course it doesn't turn out to be as easy as Booker expected and you're soon in the middle of havoc. There are a lot of twists during the game and some might shock and confuse you. The story is very enjoyable and getting to know the two characters during their banters has you longing for more. The story took me about 14 hours to play through but I am one of those people who explore every nook and cranny that I can find (and still didn't find all there is to find!).

The sound and music in the game fits. The soundtrack of the game is lovely. The voice acting is fantastic and so is the art style. You will believe that a flying city is a possibility, especially the first time you walk into the city and explore. There are skylines, flying houses and districts. Columbia, or all of the game, is well detailed. The game starts out as very bright which may hurt your eyes so don't be afraid to lower the brightness. To me the brightness (after altering it a little) was really welcomed because so many games are dark these days.

The gameplay is one of the reasons I loved the game. It's very familiar to how the gameplay in Bioshock is but now with somewhat of a twist. Apart from having different vigors (powers) you will also have a hook where you can jump onto sky-lines and use that as an advantage to either evade foes or simply strike them down from them. Then there's Elizabeth who can open tears and conjure different things that can aid you in battle. You will be thankful for Elizabeth many a time while playing the game.

It was a real joy playing this game. I never expected to enjoy it as much as I did and I found myself playing through most of the game on a free day - it was really hard to put down!

85

A lot of bang for a lot of buck.

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | Review of Max Payne 3

While it's not the best game of the Max Payne trilogy, it's still an enjoyable game. Don't have too high expectations of the game and you'll have a fairly good time playing it. Max has turned a little chubby and extremely depressed, self-loathing and self-pitying since we last saw him and is drinking his miserable life away while being a bodyguard in Saõ Paulo. The single player story is fairly short, it took me 9 hours to complete and it's not all that great of a story. It's decent. Game play is much of the same. The bullet time is a lot of fun to use and you will need it. Mr. Drunkard Payne finds himself far too often overwhelmed by bad guys who wants him dead. This isn't very new for him, though. You will find yourself flowing through various of bad guys over and over again while getting Max high on painkillers - so it's not that very different from what we're used to with a Max Payne game. The game can however become rather repetitive so keep that in mind. There are a few annoyances such as a shaky camera from time to time and random weird color schemes. But the game looks really good but the noir theme that was in the first two games is lacking and you're following Max Payne in a whole different kind of atmosphere (and story). The game has A LOT of cut scenes, too. I don't mind them but for some people constant cut scenes are a bore, so I thought it would be good to add. Max Payne is a rather action packed game and will give you a few entertaining hours if you look past some of its flaws. The DLC for the game is for multiplayer and I can't say how active that is since I never tried it once.

80

Incredibly fun!

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | Review of Sniper Elite V2

Even if I'm not the greatest sniper, I still love sniping and sniping games! Sniper Elite V2 was a fun little treat to play, quite enjoyable. It's third-person as you move around but you'll find yourself looking through your scope most of the time. It looks pretty decent, I noticed a few glitches here and there but nothing major nor anything game breaking. The game doesn't have the most interesting story but it holds up good enough. This is a game that's all about the game play which makes it understandable that the story is lacking a bit.

You're an awesome sniper and you're job is to be sneaky and snipe your way through German and/or Russian soldiers while getting to your objectives. The sneaky part is harder than it sounds. The sniping rifles are the main characters in this game, the rest of the guns are not quite as powerful but they do the trick, if you aim right. There are a lot of things to take into account to make the perfect shot count.

The use of sound is quite important in this game, you sometimes will see an indicator on your top-right when a large sound can mask your shots. Trying to time this right was pretty fun, since if your shots are heard the enemy might notice your position rather fast. The AI isn't perfect, I found them running into obstacles and getting stuck once in a while, which was pretty funny but takes away a little of the challenge.

I had a lot fun with the game though and I recommend it, it's about 8-9 hours long. The game also has a co-op mode that can add a few extra hours.

78

Short but pretty awesome.

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | Review of The Darkness II dns

The Darkness II is a short (single player campaign is about 5-6 hours) and gory but a rather fun game. The story is somewhat depressing but it also sets the mood for it. You're meant to feel Jackie's rage - and he will rage, a lot. The plot has some rather interesting twists, which made it enjoyable. The game is cartoon-styled, much like Borderlands and The Walking Dead. I really like the way the game looks and it makes the gory details seem less.. gross. The gameplay is really fun, you earn points on being creative that you can spend on upgrading your abilities, in the end you might feel like you're almost invincible. Since the Darkness is vulnerable in the light you have to stay out of it, which can be a challenge sometimes. I love the game play, the demon arms are a fun addition and saves the game from becoming just a generic shooter. You also have a companion that you can throw around, he deserves it for calling you "Monkey"! There are some extra side-missions with co-op and a new game+ mode as well that might earn the game a bit more replay value. Since it's a short game you should keep in mind if you are considering to buy it.

90

Excellent!

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | Review of Deponia

Deponia is a standard point and click adventure with a lot of witty humor. It’s not a very long game but it has an interesting story and it will give you a few laughs. You play as Rufus, who is a self-centered lowlife and his main goal is to get out of the dump Deponia to live in Elysium. Somehow along the way things go wrong of course. The puzzles aren’t too hard to understand and some puzzles even have an option to skip them. I thought the voice acting was pretty good and the game has some clever cartoony visuals. If you like point and click adventures games you definitely should play Deponia.

70

Story makes up for clunky game play.

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | Review of Game of Thrones

This RPG isn't the best in the world but it is decent, especially in terms of story. That's where the game shines, if anything. The story is meant to be somewhat canon from what I have gathered and it's well written, it is grim and intriguing. If you are a fan of the books and the TV show, this game will probably be something for you. It's somewhat of a prequel. The main characters are new but you will meet some familiar faces while you are strutting around in Westeros. It's quite a linear game with a few side quests and a DLC quest, it took me 24 hours to finish the game and that's not counting the DLC. Some of your choices throughout the game might have consequences, which is always a plus.

The combat in this game is where the game suffers. It felt a bit clunky sadly. The game tries to approach a tactical system that we've seen in Mass Effect and Dragon Age, but it falls a bit flat. I constantly found myself waiting impatiently for the energy bar to fill up so I could use abilities. There are different classes and a lot of abilities to chose from, different talent trees and skill points. However, to me it didn't mean much in the end, I simply lacked the interest in what to skill because of the combat system.

What I found great with the game is that when you meet familiar faces you will also hear familiar voices, this is because the actors and actresses from the TV show voice acted in the game. This is a plus because a lot of the other voice acting wasn't up to par most of the time. The visuals aren't great but they're not horrible either. The characters look stale and the lip syncing doesn't make sense most of the time. The game can feel pretty sometimes and it's wonderful to explore known and unknown parts of Westeros, but don't expect the graphics to be as stunning as the TV show - they are quite outdated.

I recommend this game if you are a fan of the books and/or the TV show, especially if you have the patience to endure a below average combat system, simply to enjoy the story.

25

Major disappointment.

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | Review of Aliens: Colonial Marines

Never have I been so disappointed with a game like I have with Aliens: Colonial Marines. The disappointment is up to par with the ending of Mass Effect 3, which saddens me greatly because I am a huge fan of the Alien franchise. I was extremely happy to see that a canon Aliens game was in the making and after 6 years this pile of junk was released. For people who haven't been up to date with this game you may ask: It can't be that bad, can it?

Yes, it can. It IS that bad. With false advertising and the out-sourcing made by Gearbox, this is a product that went completely FUBAR. The graphics are outdated, the game looks incredibly bad and the cut scenes are terrible. The single player story is 5 hours short and stupid (especially the twists). It's also a generic shooter with incredibly bad AI. Your AI teammates keeps missing their shots, shooting into walls AND standing in front of turrets when they shouldn't. They sometimes stop following you and suddenly morph to your location when you reach checkpoints. Even the 3+ gigabyte patch couldn't save this game.

What they got right, however, was the Alien queen and the music in the game. The music is actually superb and I was happy that at least SOME Alien-feeling was present in the game since 40 minutes into the game it feels more like a really bad Call of Duty copy. A plus is that you can play co-op campaign, however, it's an easy game so you probably won't have much trouble if you're two (let alone four) playing the game. I also heard that the multiplayer is where the game shines but since I am not into multiplayer I never tried it.

This is one of the worst AAA titles that I have ever witnessed. You are better of playing the first Aliens vs Predator game than this one. But it does have co-op and it can bring a few laughs because of the horrible design of the marines and aliens (and the game in general).

80

Great hack and slash!

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | Review of Darksiders

Darksiders is an action adventure hack'n'slash type of game. You play as War, one of the Four Horsemen. Not a lot known is about the Horsemen, they're meant to bring the Apocalypse, so this game has an interesting take. The story isn't bad, it's very likable but perhaps a bit forgettable in the end. I felt like I was more enjoying the gameplay than the story itself. You don't really get to know the main character, which makes it harder to connect to him.

The gameplay is a blast and very much alike God of War/Devil May Cry. Combat is enjoyable and you have different abilities that you can buy/upgrade. It has a lot of platforming. You have different weapons, some of them can level up. You also use your weapons to solve puzzles. The puzzles are clever and not that hard to solve, a lot of them involves timing. The game also has a few references that you might find familiar. The first real big boss can be a pain in the ass but once you get past you will see that the rest of them are easier.

The game is meant to be played with a controller so I can strongly advice you to play with one. However, aiming with ranged weapons are a bit harder with a controller and can complicate things along the way. If you find yourself having trouble with aiming then I suggest that you use your mouse and keyboard when needed.

The art style is very fantasy-esque. The game looks good and plays good. The voice acting is pretty okay as well. It's a little outdated by now but it still looks rather pretty. The bosses are huge and they look pretty awesome, it's very satisfying to take them down!

I really liked this game and can warmly recommend it, it has a few frustrating parts but none that really ruins the experience. It's not a long game but it's not very short either.