Reviews by ZinZano

92

Somehow better than the 1st

ZinZano | July 30, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 2 (NA)

This game is overall impressive leaving me in awe at almost every decision I made. The Story is both epic and amazing, one of the best stories I've seen in a video game.If you are looking for a more traditional RPG where a large portion of your game time is spent sifting through piles of loot and armour looking to max all your characters, then this game is not for you, because it is an ACTION RPG, with heavy emphasis on the action in this case. I took a long break between playing Mass Effect 1 and 2, but after finishing this game, I'm ready to start Mass Effect 3.

80

I feel bad that I enjoyed this so much

ZinZano | May 24, 2013 | Review of Manhunt Capsule

Be warned, this game can get really dark. I enjoyed it so much though, it got me questioning my morals. All that aside though, I really enjoyed everything the game had to offer.

If you like stealth based games such as Splinter Cell, you're going to enjoy Manhunt. Fantastic atmosphere and gritty realism makes this one of the best stealth games around. It will literally have you on the edge of your seat at times.

I think they could have worked on the story a little more as it did get boring near the end. It lacks in characters, and is mainly dependent on killing scenes.

82

It feels good going back to school

ZinZano | May 20, 2013 | Review of Bully: Scholarship Edition DNS

This game virtually has it all for an Sandbox game: Constant humour, excellent fighting system, well scripted storyline, a fully interactive and enjoyably world and of course, the prefects/police.

Engaging and gleeful of spirit, this game sucks you right in like Rockstar's other smash hit, the GTA franchise...this time though, this gamer feels not one lick of moral uneasiness as I rewrite my high school memories through Jimmy's relentless wedgies and poundings.

Although it was a little easy, the main game clocks in a good time for completion and there are almost unlimited amounts of side games with great rewards. In fact, the side games and missions were some of the most fun i had in this game. Unlike other games, these aren't just a throw away waste of time and are very rewarding.

90

Sleeper hit

ZinZano | May 17, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Limited Edition

I don't know where to start but they made a fantastic job with this game. Starting with beautiful and colorful looking city of Hong Kong made on a fantastic graphic engine.

Story wise it's very solid, with a very interesting story that keeps you entertained a lot. The characters are somewhat memorable and some even remarkable, and most are very charismatic.

This game has lot to offer, great combat and shooting gameplay, beautiful yet detailed gameplay. The only thing I can complain is the game is too good to be only 12-14 hours long, I really hope I could do more in the city. Dating missions feel like it is only half-done. Nevertheless, this is one of those games you must play in your lifetime.

65

You'll enjoy it...I guess

ZinZano | May 16, 2013 | Review of Ninja Blade

Ninja Blade is an example of one of the problems that plagues PC gaming. Albeit a good and enjoyable game, it gets frustrating when a console developer ports their game to the PC without making any modifications to make it work on the platform.

i understand the need to want to bank on the easy money, but with PC gaming gaining traction once again, it has become unacceptable to come out with sub-par ports.

In terms of the actual gameplay, Ninja Blade is a very fun and enjoyable games with great fighting and boss battles. I got it for free during one of GMG's promotions so I don't have much to complain about.

90

Just get over the technical flaws and play this game!

ZinZano | May 13, 2013 | Review of Alpha Protocol

Picked this game up on the cheap. Very surprised. WELL worth it to me. Many people felt there were quirks with it, but once you figure it out it gets pretty fun pretty fast.

Any game that makes you think twice about killing, and later regret it needs to be played by any and all gamers. The stealth is in the top lists, character variety is awesome. And if you really like looking deep into something, you'll see an underlying philosophical theme of loyalty, orders, and "the mission".

The choices and consequences in this game are very well done which gives this game a great amount of replay values. I personally think this game is the best game Obsidian ever made. if you values the choices and consequences in the RPG and good story telling in video games, this is a game you must play.

94

Bethesda has another golden franchise on their hands

ZinZano | May 10, 2013 | Review of Dishonored

The game play is absolutely great but the story is not smooth. The combat system feels like a mixture of Skyrim and Deus Ex H R. There are many dilemmas that the player must decide and many hidden places to explore.

The developers struck a PERFECT balance between open-world gameplay and story-driven gameplay, and allows the player to make use of the environment like I've never seen in any game.

Whether Bethesda decides to make a sequel to this or leave it as a stand-alone game, I will be happy either way. I can't wait to play the DLC!

90

The Legend of Zelda for PC....WHAT?!?!?!?!

ZinZano | May 6, 2013 | Review of Darksiders

A great action adventure game, you play as one of the four horsemen in a war between the three kingdoms, heaven, hell and humanity. Think of this game as a combination of Diablo II and Legend of Zelda and you'll get a good idea of what it's like. I like very much this game cause it has good mood (not many games is about the conflict between heaven and hell), comabt is very satisfied. Graphic is nice Only Black Throne frustrated me (too much thinking, less fighting) but I don't like many riddles. There are a few negatives, however. The game drags on a bit at the end, sending you through the same environments a couple more times on artifact-hunts, but it does give players a chance to find a few more hidden secrets with their new tools. Also, I found the puzzles and combat quite easy, with rare and annoying spikes in difficulty at 2 or 3 points in the game. The camera is also a bit picky. It usually stays at just the right angle, and the cinematic lock-on camera is fantastic, but you'll still find yourself missing the occasional jump or ledge when the camera randomly pivots behind a rock or into a wall. Also, don't even bother with the block and counter-attack moves. Darksiders is by FAR the most UNDERRATED game this gen! Its an amazing game.. I dont know why some people hate it, i recommend every "REAL" game to buy this AMAZING game

90

Sit back, relax and have fun!

ZinZano | April 30, 2013 | Review of Just Cause 2

Utterly enjoyable. Gameplay is so much fun, when you get the hang of it. Jumping around with your grapplehook and parachuting from tree to tree to avoid gunfire is just one of the many aspects of this game that makes it awesome.

It is true it gets repetitive and the sensation of the copy paste brush gets on to you after some hours, but it is without a doubt a fun game. as a game should be.

One note: I did go buy an Xbox360 controller because that is the only controller this game recognizes. So, I used the controller for driving and flying and the mouse/keyboard for running around/fighting and parachuting! I can hardy wait until Just Cause 3 comes out...

84

Not the usual Hitman game, but great nonetheless

ZinZano | April 25, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Absolution - Professional Edition (NA) Overflow-

I found that initially I was ticked off that the game didn't allow me to save how I wanted. After an hour of play I didn't care. The check points were evenly spaced to allow for trial an error with out much punishment.

The cover system was smooth, the combat system was ok. Allowed for great variation even with out using firearms. If a person cannot play this game on easy and dies continually it's not the games fault you're just bad at this game. I died maybe 7 times through out the whole game. It was easy. Blood money was the only well made hitman game. The others were clunky. I loved them but they were horribly clunky. I felt this change in direction could have been how i wanted hitman to be all along. I wanted that greater interaction. I wanted smoother transitions between hunting, hiding and execution of the target. I hated waiting 15 minutes around corridors for soldiers to move out of the way in uninteresting environments. (Hitman 2) This is not the same as Blood money. It has changed game play style and sometimes that can cause reactions and have a backlash from people who cannot handle experimentation in a franchise. However there is nothing deeply wrong with this game. Visually its pleasing. The game play moves more fluidly and it feels like an execution. The story line doesn't add or detract from this game in my opinion. Its there. It was really all about doing the task and finding a way to do it through experimentation.

If you start on easy it's not hard at all. Compared to the other Hitmans where it was always hard even on easy. I am convinced that this was a good move for Hitman and that if you could bring the current game mechanics inline with more of the old games ability to plan hits, Hitman will continue to be a vibrant franchise. The hitmans story was average, the gameplay was involved allowing players to perform tasks how they wished. Problem is hitman never really did have a storyline that was delivered exceptionally well. It was ok. It certainly was very interesting conceptually. I felt this game did make me more interested in the storylines compared to the previous onces with the exception of the original.

I would not have wanted this game in any other way. It was what I wanted in a Hitman game.

95

Work of art

ZinZano | April 23, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

A work of art and if you play it that is what you should be expecting. Game play wise it doesn't do much new, but what it does do it does well. Mechanically it is a strong action RPG with a few nice touches such as a decent selection of varied weapons all of which are fully upgradable, the ability to pick your own difficulty by worshiping certain gods, a home base which can be upgraded throughout the course of the game, and a spirit (drink not ectoplasm) based system which lets you tailor the main character to your own tastes. The game itself is focused almost completely on having you fight through levels and upgrade various things so you can fight through more levels, while this might sound boring to some the constant stream of upgrades keep it fresh as you unlock new weapons and abilities which keeps you wondering what the next reward will be. As stated previously though if you play this game from a purely mechanical view point you will be disappointed, in fact if you can't appreciate anything but the core mechanics of a game knock about 2 or 3 points off of the score now, while they are strong enough that the game aspect never feels boring they are by no means revolutionary. Where this game shines is the presentation, everything from the narration and story, to the art and music is completely top notch and experiencing more of it is what really drove the game forward for me. All of the levels appear to be hand painted affairs which rival the art in games such as Braid and Capsized, they consist of parts of a once prosperous but now shattered floating city, the parts of which literally fall into place as you explore the landscape, an effect which doesn't seem to get old. As you explore the levels the narrator, a husky sounding southern gentleman, explains what you are seeing and how the word used to be, occasionally commenting upon your own actions which really brings you into the game, and I spent a good while trying out different things (such as purposely throwing myself off of a platform) just to see how he would respond. The music is brilliant as well, generally very western sounding (as in wild west) mixed with more contemporary beats and occasionally an almost bangra flavor, the stand out tracks for me though were they 3(ish) songs which sound beautiful and are also very relevant to the characters and their stories. The story itself was good enough to make me invest in the characters and the world and had enough subtle twists that I found it genuinely interesting and cared about how the characters would be effected by the unfolding events.

There were only two things which really bugged me, the first was the 3D models of the main character and the enemies, though adequate I felt they stood out like sore thumb against the beautiful backdrops of the broken world, and the second was the ease with which you could fall of platforms in some situations, however as the game is quite forgiving this wasn't really a massive problem.

Overall if your eyes and ears work and you can enjoy a game based on its being beautiful as well as being a good game mechanically then this one is definitely for you.