Reviews by Zniper

70

Good game, overall

Zniper | June 29, 2011 | Review of Cities in Motion dns

Cities in Motion is a more or less ”classic” tychoon, which puts you in the boots of a transport engineer who need to take care of the whole transport system of a specific town.

What is great at this game is the gameplay, with its intuitive mechanics. Though it is recommended to have a little experience with other games like this, it is not that hard to learn how the things are going on in this game. In my case (by the way, I was ”almost” completely a newbie), things went pretty well: in 30 minutes I was able to provide a fast-paced transport system for a medium-sized city.

However, the major drawback is the... boredom. Well, after 8-10 hours of playing, I can could tell that, by far, the metro systems are the best trasnport method around (in this game, of course). This is not a good thing at all. Knowing that a way is much shorter than the others, makes you use almost always that specific way.

Finally, Cities in Motion is a good game, with no huge drawbacks or minuses. Definitely worth a few hours from your life.

90

Good old fun, but not so old

Zniper | June 27, 2011 | Review of Super Meat Boy

Given the great old platformer games (games which any fan of the genre should have played), anyone can say that this game is a very tiny spot, unremarkable with the naked eye. At least at the first look. WRONG!

Super Meat Boy is a great indie game, with platformer influences, which combines brilliant gameplay mechanics with even greater level design. Although, from a certain point, this game will keep away most players due to its difficulty (which difficulty, gets even higher in The Dark World - a dark alternative to any level, unlockable of course), especially if you are playing with your keyboard. From my experience with this game, a gamepad can make miracles.

95

Fallout 3 meets Looney Toons - Brilliant!

Zniper | June 27, 2011 | Review of Borderlands

If you are seeking for endless, mindlessor whatever-ness fun, this is the game for you!

The idea is simple: you are placed in a post-apocalyptic ”universe”... and I think thet everyone knows what comes next. Exactly, you shoot monsters. Also, I have to remark the brilliant idea (which is not quite original, but it is very well implemented): a shooter with a level-up and perk system! What else do you need?

Finally, considering its douzens of playable hours, great gameplay and graphics (shellshading does its job), I can not find any major drawbacks at this game. Play it now!

70

Good additions, average game overall

Zniper | June 27, 2011 | Review of Aion: Assault on Balaurea

First of all, if you liked Aion (the original I mean), you will probably like Aion: Assault on Balaurea even more. For the MMO vets, despite its strong points (like graphics, certain mechanics of gameplay, et cetera), it is most likely that this game will not satisfy their ”urge”.

70

Good simulation game

Zniper | June 23, 2011 | Review of Drive a Steam Train

Although "Drive a Steam Train" can not be compared with the Trainz Simulator series, it is quite a good game for whoever dreams about driving trains.

With a pretty good tutorial (actually better than other train-simulation-games' tutorials), this game will place you into the locomotive of 3 steam trains, which are pretty detailed for a game like this. Also, the whole railway is enough detailed for you to remark England's landscapes from the time of steam locomotives.

Overall, given the well-done tutorial, this game is recommended to anyone who likes and /or wants to play a simulation of driving steam trains, but is also a beginner. The game will not stress you with huge pages of shortcuts and commands, but if you want it, you can raise the simulation bar anytime.

85

Should not be missed by any HoMM fan

Zniper | June 23, 2011 | Review of Kings Bounty: The Legend

Oh, HoMM... Before playing this game, I had this urge to play the whole series again - just in time for King's Bounty to be released! And I said: why not? After all, looks like a good clone of the classics. But... surprise!

King's Bounty - The Legend isn't just a clone of any HoMM game. No. Ok, it borrowed some mechanics and ideas, but the producers did an amazing job merging all these ideas together. And what a result! With douzens of hours of possible playtime and lots of content, if you liked the HoMM franchise, you can not dislike this game. What are you waiting for? Go and play it!

95

Not exactly original, but great!

Zniper | June 23, 2011 | Review of Painkiller Black Edition DNS

Painkiller. Painkiller is the type of game which, once you started to play it, you will hardly give up on it. Despite the fact that it's gameplay mechanics, and even the story, are not quite new and original, this game will hold you in front of the computer for good hours.

Also, given it's story, you are not that motivated to play throughout the whole game, but who cares?! You sometimes need just a gun and plenty of enemies to shoot at! Oh, and Painkiller has plenty of them...

70

Mindless fun - great after long sessions of adventure games

Zniper | June 23, 2011 | Review of Just Cause 2

Just Cause 2 is, like anyone who saw a few screenshots of it thinks, a pretty much mindless action game, but with lots of content and funny moments along its course.

Despite the fact that you get a pretty simple storyline to get throughout the whole game, its good points (especially gameplay - although not ”very” original) lower the balance in the games favour.'

Probably the strongest point of Just Cause 2 is the sandbox world - which is H.U.G.E. You need hndreds of hours of playtime to get through the whole world. But this has its downside - boredom. I got bored after 8-10 hours of exploring, which is fine, but not enough.